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Thishandbook has been written in an informal stylefor easy reading. Asyou read, you will
find information on the knowledge, skills, abilities and attitudes you need to drive safely.

You will also find general licensing requirements, some basic traffic laws, explanations of
signs and signals, material on driving under the influence and defensive driving tips. The
knowledge test for your Nevada license is based on the information in this manual.

However, this handbook does not give the exact wording of traffic laws and it does not

discussall of them. For specificlaws, pleaserefer to the Nevada Revised Statutes. NRS copies
areavallableinthepubliclibraries.

Key Changes In This Edition
September 2006 Revisions

Updated information relating to roundabouts, providing
information on how to navigate your vehicle, large truck or
bicycle in a roundabout.

Updated DMV Office location addresses.
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1 GETTING YOUR NEVADA
DRIVER’S LICENSE

This chapter explains what is necessary to obtain a Nevada driver’s license, the tests you are
required to take, our license classification system and other general information about Nevada’s
requirements.

You need a Nevada driver’s license if you live or work in Nevada (with the exception of border state
employees) and you want to drive on our streets and highways. Drivers moving into Nevada from
another state must apply for a license within 30 days after becoming a resident.

To get a Nevada license, you will need to complete an application form (DLD1) and visit your local
full-service DMV office. You must also be at least 16 years old and provide proof of your full legal
name, age and social security number, if one has been issued to you.

A Nevada driver’s license is valid for 4 years and expires on your birthday.

If you are under 18 years old, a parent or legal guardian must co-sign your application.

Licenses or identification cards issued to international students or instructors are valid for 1 year
and may be extended with acceptable documents.
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New Nevada Residents

A resident of Nevada can have only one driver’s license. If you have a license or identification card from
another state, you must surrender it to get a license to drive here.

Your vision will be tested when you apply for your Nevada driver’s license. All other tests may be waived
if all of these criteria apply:

o You have had no more than 2 moving violations in the past 4 years, and have not had your license
suspended, revoked or cancelled.

You have no restrictions to your driving privilege that may require re-evaluation.

o You are 25 years of age or older.

You have a valid license from another state of the same license class for which you are applying
for in Nevada.

You do not need a Nevada license if you are:

o An active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and you have a valid license from your home
state.
o A non-resident, such as an out-of-state student, tourist or seasonal resident. But, if you want to

drive in Nevada, you must be at least 16 years old, have a valid license from your home state and
comply with Nevada traffic and financial responsibility laws.

Note: All driver records are checked through the national Problem Driver Pointer System. If your
driving privilege is currently suspended, revoked, cancelled or denied in another state, you will not be

allowed a Nevada license until the out-of-state issue is resolved.




Documents You Will Need

For Name and Age
If you were born within the United States, you must present one of the following:

e State-issued Birth Certificate (may be a certified copy)
e U.S. Passport

e Military ID

* Report of Separation from the Military (DD214)

» Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood

If you were born outside of the United States, you must also present the original or a certified copy of
one of the following:

e Certificate of Naturalization
» Certificate of Citizenship
e Permanent Resident Card

 Temporary Resident Card

» Consular Report of Birth Abroad

e U.S. Passport

* Alien Registration Receipt Card (I-551)

* Arrival/Departure Record affixed to your Visa (1-94) It you have any questiqns about
. Refugee Travel Document documents you need to bring when you

«  Resident Alien Card apply, please contact the Department
of Motor Vehicles phone room at one of
the following phone numbers:

Questions?

For Social Security Number Verification

. . Reno/Sparks/Carson City
* Social Security Card, or (775) 684-4DMV

’ nglf’ frt . entificati A with th Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4DMV
ut-or-state license or raentrication cara wi e Rural Nevada (877) 368-7828

Social Security Number on it

. . . You may also visit our website at
The following is a list of documents not accepted www.dmvnv.com

as proof of name and age:

* Hospital-issued Birth Certificates

* Driver’s license or identification cards from other
U.S. States, U.S. Territories or foreign counties

* Foreign Birth Certificates

* Border Crossing Card

* Consular Identification Cards

Alternative documents accepted as evidence of name, age and social security number
may be accepted only with supervisor approval.




Testing

To drive safely, you need good eyesight and coordination, a sound knowledge and understanding of
Nevada's traffic laws, understanding of road signs, common sense and skill in handling your vehicle in
any given situation.

Vision Testing

Your vision will be checked to make sure you can see well enough to drive safely. If you need glasses
or contact lenses to drive, such a restriction will be placed on your driver’s license.

Knowledge Testing

Your understanding of highway signs and markings, traffic laws and safe driving practices will be
tested. This is done using either the automated testing equipment or with a paper test. If you have
problems reading or understanding the written test, you may request the oral examination. Testing
for the Basic C license and motorcycle license is also available in Spanish.

Skills Testing

Your ability to drive your vehicle safely in a variety of traffic situations will be tested. When you come
in for your road test, the driver’s license examiner will check the following:

* Vehicle registration and license plates
¢ Evidence of insurance card
¢ Headlights, taillights, brake lights and turn signals

* Horn
e Seat belts
e Tires

* Windshield wipers

The vehicle must be in safe condition and all equipment must be in good working order, including
your brakes, speedometer and muffler. The vehicle should also have a safe and clean seating area
beside the driver for the examiner.

Passengers and animals are not allowed in the vehicle during the road test.
You will be tested on such things as preparing to drive, entering traffic, lane use, speed control, turns,
parallel/angle parking, and backing up, stopping, passing and attention to traffic situations. You may

be requested to demonstration stopping on a grade. You will not be asked to violate any traffic laws,
and you will be penalized if you do.

Cellular phone usage during a drive test will result in automatic failure.




Young Drivers

Did You Know. ..

People 16 to 20 yers old had the highest fatality and
injury rates per 100,000 population.

NHTSA, Traffic Safety Facts 2004

If you are under 18 years of age and applying for a Nevada driver’s license or instruction permit, a
parent or guardian must co-sign your application. You will need to sign an affidavit stating that you
understand the following:

Your license may be:

e Suspended for 90 days if a blood, breath or urine test indicates 0.02 percent but less than
0.08 percent by weight of alcohol in your blood.

* Revoked for 90 days for any court finding of driving under the influence of alcohol or a
controlled substance.

* Suspended or issuance delayed for up to two years for:
— Placing graffiti on or defacing public or private property;
— Any criminal activity involving alcohol or a controlled substance;
— Using, possessing, selling or distributing a controlled substance; or
— Purchasing, consuming or possessing an alcoholic beverage.

e Suspended, or issuance delayed for up to one year for handling or possessing a firearm or

having a firearm under your control in violation of NRS 202.300. For a second offense, your
license will be suspended, or issuance delayed, for two years.

e Suspended for 30 days to 6 months, or issuance delayed for 30 days, if found to be in a need
of supervision because of habitual truancy. For a second offense, your license will be
suspended for 60 days to 1 year or issuance of your license will be delayed for 60 days.

When you apply for a driver’s license, you will be required to present a Certificate of Completion of a
course in driver’'s education and a Beginning Driver Experience Log, DMV Form DLD-130, that
documents the dates and times of your behind-the-wheel experience.

Nevada teens are required to complete 50 hours of supervised experience behind the wheel, 10 of
which must be completed at night. You must document this on the official DMV form.

The only exception to the driver education requirement is in rural areas where a course is not offered
within a 30-mile radius of the minor’s residence. In this case, the teen must complete 100 hours of
behind-the-wheel experience in lieu of a driver education course.

Minors must also remain free of any at-fault accidents, moving violation convictions and any type of
alcohol or drug conviction for six months prior to receiving a driver license.




Instruction Permits

A Nevada instruction permit is valid for one year and you must carry the permit with you when you
are driving. To obtain an instruction permit, you must:

* Be at least 15 Y years old;

e Complete an application;

¢ Provide proof of your full legal name, age and social security number, if a social security
number has been issued to you;

* Pass a vision test; and

* Pass a knowledge test about Nevada'’s traffic laws, highway signs, markings and safe driving
practices.

The following restrictions apply:

Class C Instruction Permit
(Passenger Car/Pickup Truck)

When you are driving you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who:

* |Is 21 years of age or older;
* Has at least one year of licensed driving experience; and
* |s seated beside you.

Class M or M-Z Instruction Permit
(Motorcycle or Moped)

You must be in direct visual supervision of a licensed motorcycle driver, 21 years of age or older, who
has at least one year of driving experience. You must:

¢ Drive in daylight hours only;
e Carry no passengers; and
* Not drive on limited access highways or freeways.

Instruction Permit Requirements

You must hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months prior to applying for a driver’s license if you
are under the age of 18.

Passenger Restrictions and Curfews
If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age when they receive their driver’s license, they will not be allowed
to carry passengers under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first 90 days.
Additionally, a minor shall not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m.

unless he/she is driving to or from a scheduled event. This curfew remains in effect until the driver
turns 18, regardless of when the driver’s license was issued.




Driver’s License Classifications

Vision and knowledge tests are required for all license classifications. A road test may also be
required in the specific type of vehicle you want to be licensed to drive. For example, if you have a
Class C license and also want to be able to drive a motorcycle, you need to pass a written test on
motorcycle laws and practices, and a drive test on operating your motorcycle.

You may only operate a moped if you have a Nevada driver’s license (any classification) or you may
apply for a license that will allow you to operate a moped only.

Note: Commercial drivers must pass additional knowledge and skills tests. Please refer to the
Commercial Drivers License Handbook.

Class A - Combination vehicles - Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) over 26,000 pounds,
trailer over 10,000 pounds.

& (=5 _ !
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Class B - Single vehicle - Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) over 26,000 pounds; may tow a
vehicle under 10,000 pounds.

Class C - Cars, vans, pickups; may tow a vehicle 10,000 pounds or less.
Combination of vehicles may not exceed 70 feet.

o S e

M - Motorcycle or moped.

Restrictions

Your driver’s license may have certain restrictions on it, if needed, for you to drive safely. The most
common restrictions are:

* Restriction A — Driver needs to wear glasses or contact lenses

* Restriction C — Additional rearview mirrors

* Restriction D — Daylight driving only

* Restriction M — Yearly vision examination

* Restriction N — Yearly medical letter

¢ Restriction O — Yearly driving test

¢ Restriction X — Other restrictions not defined in Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 483.350

or 483.360




Endorsements

Various commercial and non-commercial vehicle endorsements may be needed, depending on the type
of vehicle you want to drive. Additional tests are necessary for these endorsements.

J - Class C vehicle; may tow a vehicle over 10,000 pounds GVWR.

N
) N

R - Class C vehicle; may tow a combination of vehicles less than 10,000 pounds GVWR.

<. ,qﬁ&-n
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F - Commercial license exemption for:

* Firefighters while operating fire equipment.
* Farmers — employees or family members while transporting supplies within 150 miles to and
from the farm, if not:
¢ Employed as a common or contract motor carrier, or
* Transporting placarded amounts of hazardous materials.
e Military — if driving military vehicles on active military duty.

ommercial Driver’s License (CDL)

Drivers of commercial motor vehicles have to meet strict licensing requirements and pass additional
knowledge and skills tests.

A commercial motor vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle or
combination of motor vehicles used in commerce to transport
passengers or property if the motor vehicle has a GVWR or GCWR of
26,001 pounds or more, is designed to carry 16 or more passengers,
including the driver, or is carrying hazardous materials.

For more information about Nevada’'s CDL program and licensing
requirements, please refer to the Commercial Driver License Handbook.
Specially trained CDL staff are also available to assist you in Field
Services offices statewide and in our CDL testing centers in Las Vegas, Sparks and Elko.




otorcycle Instruction Permit and License ————————————

A motorcycle instruction permit is valid for one year. It allows you to practice driving when you are
accompanied by, and in direct visual supervision of, a licensed driver who:

* Has a valid motorcycle license;
* Is at least 21 years old; and
* Has at least one year of driving experience.

If you want an instruction permit for driving a motorcycle, you must:

* Be at least 15% years old;

* Pass a vision test;

* Pass a general driver’s license knowledge test; and
* Pass the motorcycle knowledge test.

Passing an approved motorcycle safety course may be substituted for the motorcycle tests.
For more information on these courses, please call the Nevada Motorcycle Safety Program at
1-800-889-8779 or visit its website at www.nevadarider.com

When driving with a motorcycle instruction permit, you may drive during daylight hours only. You
may not carry passengers or drive on freeways or other high-speed roadways.

If you want a Nevada motorcycle driver’s license you must:
(NRS 486.071)

* Be at least 16 years old;

* Pass a vision test;

* Pass a general driver’s license knowledge test;

* Pass a motorcycle knowledge test; and

* Pass the Motorcycle Operators Skills Test (MOST).

The motorcycle drive test includes a pre-trip inspection. You need to know and understand your
motorcycle’'s controls and equipment such as the choke, gear-shift, brakes, spark arrester, starter,
throttle, ignition and clutch.

The examiner will also check the turn signals and horn. Your drive test will include normal starts and
stops, quick stops, turns and other maneuvers. When driving your motorcycle, you are required to
wear a helmet. If your motorcycle does not have a windshield or screen, you should wear a protective
face shield or goggles.

Note: If you are surrendering a valid motorcycle license, or a valid driver’s license with a
motorcycle endorsement from another state the road test may be waived.

Motorcycle handbooks are available at all DMV locations and on the DMV website at www.dmvnv.com.




Renewals

The expiration date is on the front of your driver’s license.

You may be required to pass a vision test, a knowledge test and an on-road driving skills test.
Renewal testing is used to re-evaluate driving knowledge, skills and abilities and to determine
appropriate restrictions.

Nevada does not automatically extend the license expiration date for military personnel. Active duty
military personnel who are temporarily out-of-state may renew a Nevada license through the mail.

Change of Address or Name

Under Nevada law, you are required to notify us of any address or name change within 30 days.
When you need to change the address on your driver’s license or identification card, you can do so by going
to your local DMV office or through the mail.

If you choose to request an address change by mail, you can download the Change of Address Application
(DLD22) off of our website, www.dmvnv.com, have the form faxed to you by calling one of our Fax On
Demand numbers or contact the DMV phone room and request a form be mailed to you.

Fax On Demand phone numbers:

Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4368, option 4
Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4368
Rural Nevada/Out-of-state 1-877-368-7828 toll free

DMV Phone Room numbers:

Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4368, option 4, option 5
Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4368, option 6

Rural Nevada/Out-of-State 1-877-368-7828, option 6 toll free

Address changes must be completed in person if you hold a commercial driver’s license.

If you need to change your name on your license or identification card, you will be asked to complete an
application and provide acceptable legal documentation reflecting your name change.

Restricted License

What are termed “restricted” licenses may be issued under special circumstances to:
e Drivers who are 14 or older and have demonstrated family hardship, or who need to drive to
and from school; and
e Individuals who have served required suspension or revocation periods.

Additional information and applications are available at your local DMV office.




If you lose your driver’s license, or it is ruined or stolen, you need to apply for a duplicate license
immediately. When you go to the DMV office, you will be asked to provide proof of your name and
your date of birth. You can do this with one of the documents found on page 7 or on our website at
www.dmvnv.com. Alternate documents may be approved by an office supervisor. Please refer to
“Documents You Will Need” in this manual for a list of acceptable documents.

dentification Cards

Identification cards are valid for four years and expire on your birth date. If you want a Nevada
identification card, you must:

e Provide your current residence address in Nevada;

e Complete an application;

e Be at least 10 years old;

e Be a Nevada resident or seasonal resident; and

e Provide proof of your full legal name, age and social security number, if one has been issued to
you.

Note: The issuance of an identification card will automatically surrender your driving privileges or an
identification card issued from another state whether the card is in your possession or not. This does not
apply if you are a Seasonal Resident identification card applicant.

If you are cited for a traffic violation while holding a Nevada identification card, citations and demerits
will be applied to “future driving privileges” and the same rules and penalties will apply to you as
apply to driver’s license holders. If you receive 12 or more demerits in a 12-month period, you will be
required to reinstate your driving privileges before you are eligible to receive a driver’s license.

If you need to obtain a duplicate card or update information on your identification card, please
contact your local DMV office at one of the numbers listed in Chapter 11 of this handbook.

rgan Donors

. . . NEVADA _
The Department of Motor Vehicles and the University of Nevada School of D 2
Medicine are working together to give applicants for driver’s licenses, driver’s R L UUD [
license renewals, and identification cards the opportunity to become an organ B A Organ Bomar |-

donor or to make a monetary donation to the anatomical gift account.

You have the option of having “Organ Donor” listed on your driver’s license or ID card when it is first
issued, upon renewal or upon a change of address.

Donors should also obtain a card that specifies their desires in accordance with the federal Uniform
Anatomical Gift Act.

When you agree to become an organ donor, the DMV will ask whether you wish to donate $1 or more
to the state’s Anatomical Gift Account. The funds are forwarded to the University of Nevada School of
Medicine for educational programs on the importance of organ and tissue donation. If enough money
is donated, the account can also provide financial assistance to those in need of a transplant.

DMV accepts donations during the licensing process and through the purchase of Organ Donor
license plates. You can also donate directly through the School of Medicine.




Fees

The following DRIVER’S LICENSE fees will be charged:

(@ g T T = I [ To1=T o =7 PPN $21.25
L 1y U Tox o) o o 1T o o 1 PP $21.25
(O = TaTo oo il o F= U o 1 PP $7.25
Change of address STICKEI ... ... e $0.00
Change of address With NewW PhOtO ... e $2.25
(D10 o] FTo= | (=Yl [ o7 T PP $16.25
RENMEWAL ..ottt et e e e e et e e e aanaas $21.25
Renewal By Mail ... e $19.00
Extension of license or identification card for

International Students and International INStruCtOrS...... ..o, $8.25

If you are 65 years of age or older:

Original license or renewal Of lICENSE ... oo $16.25
Renewal DY Mail ... e $14.00

The following IDENTIFICATION CARD fees will be charged:

Original, duplicate OF FENEWAL ....... ..o e $11.25
(O = TaTo oo il o F= U o 1 PP $6.25

If you are 65 years of age or older:

Original OF AUPIICATE . ... iue it e e e e e e et e e e e e e e anes $6.25
] TV Y P $2.25

If you are under 18 years of age:
Original, renewal or dUPlICAte ..... ... e $5.25

Commercial Driver’s License Fees

Original or transfer that requires knowledge and skills teStS..........coiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiins $86.25
Original or transfer that requires knowledge tests ONly ... $56.25
[ 10 o] [To7= | PP $21.25
Change of INFOrMAatION ......couiiii e e e e e e e e e e e enaes $11.25
WX [0 [=To B =T 0T [o] §7=T o o TCT o | PSP $16.25
Renewal that requires knowledge tesSts ONlY ... e $56.25
Renewal that requires knowledge and sKills teStS ..o, $86.25
L 1y U oa o] o o 1T o 1 PP $56.25
Driving skills test to add or remove a restriction or endorsement ...........c..oooiiiiiiiiininanen. $30.00
Reinstatement for alcohol or controlled substance related offense ...........ccccoviviiiiiiiinnne. $86.25
Reinstatement of any other OffENSe ... $56.25

Note: A reinstatement fee is required after any license suspension, revocation or cancellation.

A $35.00 Victims Fee is applied if there is a DUI conviction.
Fees are subject to change.

Reinstatement of a CDL also requires payment of non-CDL reinstatement fees.



BUCKLE UP

Seat belts are your best protection against injury or death if you are in a vehicle crash. In 2005, more
than 25 percent of highway fatalities in Nevada were people who were NOT wearing their seat belts.
This is a 17 percent reduction from 2002 statistics.

In Nevada, seat belts aren’t just a good idea they are the law.

e If your car is a 1968 model or newer, it must have lap-type seat belts for passengers in the
front seat.

e Ifitis a 1970 model or newer, it must have lap-type seat belts for each passenger of the
vehicle. It must also have shoulder harnesses for use in the front seat.

* The driver and any passengers age 6 and older must wear safety belts if the vehicle is
equipped with them. Children under age 6 and who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in an
approved child restraint system.

¢ Never hold a child on your lap or buckle yourself and a child into a single safety belt, and
never buckle two children into a single safety belt.

Things to remember...

Never leave a child under the age of 7 in avehicle unattended if the conditions present a significant
risk to the health and safety of that child unless the child is being supervised by and within sight of a
person at least 12 years old.

A person who violates the above is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Booster seats and belt-positioning seats are designed to elevate or position a child so as to allow them
to be safely secured with a seat belt. If you are traveling with children, ask yourself:

. Is your child restraint system approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation in
accordance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards?

. Is your seat appropriate for the size and weight of the child? and;

. Has the seat been installed safely and securely and in accordance with the installation

instructions provided by the manufacturer or in another manner approved by the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration?




Traveling with Babies and Children

Always buckle up infants facing the rear of the cars.

Babies must not ride facing forward until they are 1 year old
and weigh at least 20 pounds. The rear-facing safety seat
supports baby’s head protecting the neck and spine from
injury in most crashes.

Teach children to ride buckled up in the back seat.

The back seat generally is the safest place in the car. Older
children may ride in the front if necessary, but the vehicle
seat should be moved back as far as possible. To protect the
head from contact with a rapidly inflating air bag, use a child
restraint with a complete harness system or a properly fitted
vehicle shoulder/lap belt. Passengers who are not buckled
up or who sit too close to air bags can suffer serious injuries,
even in a minor collision or a sudden stop.

Never put an infant in the front seat if the car has a
passenger side air bag.

In a crash, the air bag explodes from the dashboard at 200
mph, smashing through the safety seat into the back of the
baby’s head. Safe driving depends on you, on your skill, your
knowledge, your abilities and your attitudes.

4 STEPS FOR KIDS

) ad)




DRIVING SAFELY

Getting Ready To Drive

Before you start the engine:

e Adjust the driver’'s seat so you can reach the controls comfortably and can see.
e Make sure the windshield and windows are clean.

e Buckle up! And make sure your passengers do too.

e Check your attitude. Are you calm and in control of yourself?

e Check the rear and side mirrors and make sure they are properly adjusted.

When you turn on the engine:
*  Check fuel level and warning lights.

¢ Adjust the volume on your stereo system. Can you hear normal traffic sounds? If not,
reduce the volume so you can hear them.

¢ If needed, turn on headlights, turn signal and windshield wipers.
Before you move your vehicle:

e Stop, look and listen for traffic, bicyclists and for pedestrians.




The Rules of the Road

The rules of the road are the traffic laws and driving practices that mean safe driving for all of us.
These rules include:

. Signs, signals and highway markings
. Right of way

. Controlling speed

. Freeway driving

. Stopping
. Signaling, turning, lane changes and passing
. Parking

Signs, signals and highway markings are used alone and in combination to control traffic and make
safe driving easier.

Signs, Signals and Markings

Signs

Signs have three purposes: they regulate, warn and inform. The shapes and colors of highway signs
have special meanings. This helps you understand the message quickly.

Standard colors:

o Red — no, do not or stop
e Green — direction or guidance REGULATORY GUIDE

o Yellow or yellow green — general warning

o White — regulatory, law or rule

. Orange — road construction or repair warning

. Blue — driver services, such as food and lodging
. Brown — recreation and scenic areas information

Standard shapes:

* Octagon (8 sides) — STOP

¢ Diamond — warning

¢ Rectangle — traffic regulations or directions to
drivers

¢ |nverted triangle — yield right of way

* Pennant — no passing

¢ Pentagon (5 sides) — school zones and school
crossings

* Circle — railroad crossing ahead

* Crossbuck (X) — actual railroad crossing

* Shield — route marker

RAILROAD

RAILROAD
CROSSING




Stop signs mean you must:

e Come to a full stop behind the crosswalk, stop line or stop sign. If your view
of the cross street is blocked, slowly move forward to determine when it is
safe to proceed. If no signs or markings exist, treat the intersection as if it
had Yield signs. You must slow down and stop, if necessary, at the point
nearest the intersection where you have a view of approaching traffic on
the through highway.

*  Give right of way to pedestrians and to any cross traffic before moving
forward.

At a 4-way stop, you must wait for vehicles within the intersection, and for those who reach
the intersection before you do, to go first. Wait your turn!

Yield signs mean the same as stop signs except you may proceed without coming
to a full stop, if it is safe to do so. You must:

¢ Slow down as you come to the intersection.

¢ Give the right of way to pedestrians and through
traffic.

SPEED

Regulatory signs are rectangular and have a white background. They inform LIMIT

you of traffic laws and regulations. You must obey these signs. 5 O

Warning signs are yellow, diamond-shaped, with black letters and symbols. They
tell you there are special conditions or hazards ahead.

Railroad crossing signs warn you that you need to slow down and that you may

have to stop for a train. The crossbuck (X) marks the actual location of the train '9
tracks. You should look both ways when approaching the crossing and always stay Q7
clear of the tracks when a train is approaching. (o)

/INTERSTATE \

Route signs and markers are usually shaped like a shield, but there are different
shapes and colors. These signs show U.S., Interstate and state route numbers.

BE
PREPARED
TO STOP

Construction and maintenance signs are used to notify drivers of
possible danger in or near work areas. Most signs used in highway
and street work areas are diamond-shaped. Cones, drums and
barricades are used to alert you and to guide you safely through work
areas. For night work, they may be equipped with warning lights.
When used, you must slow down and follow the direction of the

ROAD

posted signs and any construction flaggers that may be present. CLOSED [ 7]
Violating posted signs in contruction and maintenance zones o —
results in increased traffic fines.




Signals

Traffic signals control traffic at intersections. Combinations of traffic and pedestrian signals, signs,
pavement markings and other traffic control devices may be used in some situations.

When traffic control lights are not working, you must come to a full stop before proceeding
through the intersection. After yielding to pedestrians and to other vehicles that have already
stopped or are in the intersection, you may proceed with caution.

A red light means STOP. You must come to a complete stop before you reach the intersection. Stop
your vehicle behind the crosswalk or stop line. If there is not a stop line or crosswalk, stop before
entering the intersection. Remain stopped until the light turns green. Where not prohibited by signs,
a right turn may be made on a red light after coming to a complete stop, when motor and pedestrian
traffic is clear, and it is safe to proceed.

A yellow light means CAUTION. A steady yellow light is a warning that the light will be turning red. If
you have not entered the intersection, you must stop. If you are already in the intesection, you
should continue moving and clear it safely. DO NOT speed up to “beat the light.”

A green light means GO. You may proceed through an intersection in the direction indicated by the
signal if the road is clear. Make sure you look right and left for oncoming traffic.

* A flashing red light means
that you must come to a
full stop. You may go
only when the road is
clear and you have the
right-of-way. The signal
has the same meaning as
a stop sign.

¢ A flashing yellow light means
you may go ahead, but
proceed with caution.

* A yellow arrow means the
signal is going to change to
red and warns you to clear
the intersection.

* A red arrow means you
cannot make the
movement shown by the
arrow. The red arrow may
be shown alone or with
another signal. Unless
entering the intersection
to make a movement
allowed by another signal,
drivers facing a red arrow
must stop.

* Agreen arrow means
you may go in the
direction shown by the
arrow, but you must
yield to pedestrians,
bicycles and traffic
already in the
intersection. When a
green turn arrow is
showing, the turn is
protected from other
traffic.

You may make a left turn at a red light only when you are turning from a one-way street onto another
one-way street that has traffic moving to the left. You must signal, come to a complete stop, and yield
right of way to pedestrians and all other traffic that is moving as directed by the signal.

You may make these turns unless a sign, arrow signal or police officer directs you not to turn.




Pedestrian Crossing

Pedestrians crossing at an intersection must also obey traffic signals.

Did you
Walk and Don’t Walk Signals Know...
More than 25 percent of
Walk/Don’'t Walk signals are special stop and go lights for pedestrians killed in
pedestrians. If these signals are in place, pedestrians are to obey Nevada during 2005
them. This may also be indicated by a lighted pedestrian figure or were killed while
hand symbol in the signal. walking in an

A red light means do not cross unless a pedestrian signal or police officer directs otherwise.

A yellow light means caution. It warns you the light is changing from green to red. The
purpose of the yellow light is to allow vehicles already in the intersection to proceed safely.

Pedestrians facing a yellow light must not start across the street unless a crosswalk signal or
police officer so directs them.

A green light means you may go straight ahead, turn right or turn left, unless a sign
forbids the turn.

Pedestrians facing a green light may cross the intersection, unless a pedestrian signal or police
officer directs otherwise. If a crosswalk is marked, pedestrians are to use the marked area.

Pedestrians facing a green turn arrow are not to cross unless a
pedestrian signal or police officer allows them to do so.

intersection.

WALK means pedestrians facing the signal may cross the
street or highway in the direction of the signal.

DON’T WALK, if flashing, means the signal is changing. Pedestrians may not start across the

roadway. However, if you are partly across when this begins flashing, you may continue to
the sidewalk or safety island.

DON’T WALK, if constant, means pedestrians are not to cross.

Drivers and pedestrians are both responsible for safe use of our roadways. Drivers should

always be prepared to yield to pedestrians.




Highway Markings

Highway markings like signs warn, regulate, and inform. Markings are white and yellow, and each
type of line has a special meaning.

* Broken or dashed white lines are used to mark traffic lanes on roads which have more than
one lane moving in the same direction. You should drive within these lanes and not straddle
the lines. Passing is permitted when it is safe to do so. See picture (A) below.

e Solid white lines are used in several ways. When solid white lines separate lanes of traffic
moving in the same direction, do not change lanes or pass. If the line on your side of the road
is solid, you may not pass. If a solid white line is used in conjuction with a broken or dashed
white line and the broken or dashed line is on your side of the road, you may pass when safe
to do so. See picture (B) below. A solid white line is also used to mark the edge of the
highway as well as the boundary between a
travel lane and a highway shoulder.

* Yellow lines separate lanes of traffic moving in
opposite directions.

* Broken or dashed yellow lines mean you may
pass when it is safe to do so.

e Solid yellow lines indicate that you are not to
cross over or pass. A solid yellow line is also
used to mark the left edge on multi-lane divided

highways.
BROKEN LINE SOLIDAND DOUBLE
* Double white or double yellow lines mean (A) BROKENLINE SOLIDLINE
you cannot pass if the lines on your side are (B) ©

solid. See picture (C) to the right.

* Crosswalk lines are marked by solid white lines or various patterns. Always stop your
vehicle before the crosswalk. At some intersections, especially in small towns or in residential
areas, crosswalks may not be marked. You still must yield to pedestrians in the intersection.

e Stop lines are the wide white lines painted across a
traffic lane where you must stop before you enter the
intersection. You should be able to see traffic coming
from all directions.

e Dotted white lines may either indicate an extension of
a lane line through an intersection, or may indicate
exit-only lanes on a freeway.

e Center lanes for left turns appear on many streets and
roads. Most are marked on each side by solid yellow
and broken yellow lines. You may cross these lines
only to make a left turn onto or from the highway.
These are not travel lanes and may not be used for
passing. You may not travel more than 200 feet in a
center turn lane before making a left-hand turn and
you may not travel more then 50 feet in a center lane
after making a left-hand turn onto the highway before
merging with traffic. [NRS 484.305 (3)]

CENTER TURN LANE




Railroad Crossings

Traffic control systems for railroad crossings may include signals, signs, lights and markings. When
you see the round railway crossing sign, slow down, be ready to stop, and remember:

* To look both ways, even if there is no stop sign or signal that a train is coming.

e |f there is a stop sign at the crossing you must stop. If a train is coming you must stop at
least 15 feet from the tracks.

* Even if there is no stop signal and no train is coming, passenger buses and trucks
carrying flammable or dangerous materials must stop.

* Do not shift gears while crossing the tracks.

e If you are stopped at a crossing where there is more than one set

of tracks, wait until you have a clear view in both directions
before you start across.

* Trains cannot stop in time to miss cars.

e It is difficult to accurately judge the speed of a moving train.

* A crossbuck sign indicates the location of a train crossing and
means you must yield to trains.

e If a gate is lowered, you may not proceed around it even if no
train is visible.

e |If the signal lights are flashing you must stop. You may proceed if no train is visible or it
is safe to cross.

* |f you get stuck on the tracks, leave your vehicle immediately and notify the local law
enforcement or railroad authorities.

School Areas

Traffic controls in school zones may include a combination of signs, signals, markings and school
crossing guards. Violating the direction of a school crossing guard is a misdemeanor in the state of

Nevada.

In school zones the speed limit is either 15 or 25 mph. SCHOOL
These speed limits are in effect on school days from half an

hour before school begins to half an hour after school ends, SPEED
unless otherwise posted. LIMIT
Some areas may use flashing yellow lights to tell you when 15
the speed limit is in effect. During hours students are

actually in classes, these lights may be turned off; if so, the —
speed limit then reverts to that posted for non-school 0AM
hours. TO 5:30 P.M.

Signs and signals clearly show these speed limits and designate the hours when the
speed limit is in effect, or that the speed limit is in effect when children are present.

Slow down and watch for children!




Rig ht-of-Way

Right-of-way rules help traffic move smoothly through intersections. They emphasize courtesy,
common sense and cooperation. Failure to yield the right-of-way is the major cause of accidents
in Nevada.

Generally, right-of-way means the right of one vehicle to go before another one.
The term also applies to pedestrians and bicycle riders. Nevada law does not
really give anyone the “right-of-way” — it only says who must yield. Even when
you may legally have the right-of-way, you must do everything possible to avoid
an accident.

e At an intersection where there are no traffic signs or signals, the vehicle
on your right should usually go first. If you have the right-of-way and
others yield it to you, proceed through the intersection with caution.

e A vehicle already in the intersection has the right-of-way over others just
getting there.

e A vehicle going straight ahead, and that is already in the intersection,
has the right-of-way over one turning left. After yielding (and properly
signaling) the vehicle turning left then has the right-of-way.

e Vehicles entering a main road from a minor road, private road or
driveway must yield to the right-of-way to all traffic on the main road and
to pedestrians.

Other right-of-way rules are:

e The right-of-way must be given to emergency vehicles approaching from any direction when
they are sounding a siren or using their flashing lights. You must immediately drive to the
right side of the road clear of any intersection, and stop until the emergency vehicle has
passed.

e At a 4-way stop, the driver reaching the intersection first gets to go first,
after stopping completely.

e When entering a freeway you yield right-of-way to traffic on the freeway.

You may enter only when it is safe to do so. ﬂ

e Yield right-of-way to bicyclists who are riding on a bike path or lane.

e Yield to funeral processions, and let the vehicles with headlights on pass
as a group.

Pedestrian Right-of-Way Rules

e Pedestrians in crosswalks and at intersections have the right-of-
way over vehicles.

¢ A blind person who is on foot and using a guide dog or other service
animal or is carrying a white cane or walking stick has the right-of-
way on a highway, street or road in this state. A driver must yield
the right-of-way, come to a full stop if necessary, and take
precautions before proceeding to avoid accident or injury. (NRS
484.328)




ontrolling Speed

Nevada has a Basic Rule for driving at a “reasonable or proper” speed. This means that in addition to
any posted speed limits you must consider:

e The amount and type of traffic. .
e The weather and the distance you can see. Did You Know...
e The condition of the road surface; that is,
whether it is dry, wet, icy or snow-covered. Driving too slowly can
e The type of road: also be unsafe. Not
— whether it is flat and straight or steep only can this cause
and curvy. traffic to stack-up — it may
— whether it is wide or narrow. also cause other drivers to
become impatient and attempt
It also means that you are never to drive at a speed that passing when it is not safe.
endangers you or anyone else. Depending upon conditions, When there are two or more
the safe speed may be considerably less than the posted speed lanes of traffic moving in the
limit. same direction, slower traffic
must move to the right and
EXAMPLES OF SPEED LIMITS IN NEVADA allow other drivers to pass.
ST 14] o] o [ School zones
25 mph ..o Business and residential areas and school zones
45 mph ..o Reduced speed areas going into towns
65 mph ..o, Urban freeways, rural highways
70 mph ..o Rural interstate freeways

Remember: Speed limits are set for normal driving conditions. When bad weather makes it hard to see or
makes the road slick, you need to adjust your speed.

Most people who speed do so to save time. Let’s look at how much or how little time is actually saved.

To travel 5 miles:
At 70 mph takes 4 minutes, 17 seconds. Savings over 60 mph=43 seconds.
At 60 mph takes 5 minutes. Savings over 55 mph=27 seconds.
At 55 mph takes 5 minutes, 27 seconds.

To travel 15 miles:
At 70 mph takes 12 minutes, 51 seconds. Savings over 60 mph=2 minutes, 9 seconds.
At 60 mph takes 15 minutes. Savings over 55 mph=1 minute, 22 seconds.
At 55 mph takes 16 minutes, 22 seconds.

The next time you want to speed ask yourself:
Why am | in a hurry?
Does it really matter?

Is it worth endangering myself and others?

And consider...If you are stopped and given a ticket, it will cost you both time and money!




Freeway Driving

Freeways are usually our safest roads. Access is limited, traffic moves in the same direction without
stops, and there are no intersections, sharp curves, traffic signals or railroad crossings. Even so, you
need good driving knowledge, skills and attitudes to get to your destination safely.

Before you start, plan your route. If you are not sure of the way, study a map. Know the entrances
and exits you will need to take. Also, check your gas gauge!

Entering a Freeway

* Be sure you are using the on ramp when you enter the
freeway. Signs will say “Do Not Enter” and “Wrong Way” SEARCH
if you have made a mistake. 2010 30

seconds

* Using the merge or acceleration lane, look for an oI (MorE
opening in traffic, signal and accelerate to or near the !
speed of freeway traffic. Do not stop before merging
unless absolutely necessary; a stop can mean a slow
and dangerous start into fast moving traffic and can
affect traffic behind you.

¢ As you enter from a merging lane, you yield to traffic
already on the freeway. If you are already traveling on
the freeway, watch for merging traffic and adjust your
speed to allow safe and smooth merges.

e Driving speeds are frequently faster on freeways than
on other highways, even though they may have the
same posted speed limits. This is because there are
fewer stop-and-go situations. Stay with the flow of
traffic.

* Freeways have several lanes in each direction. On
these roads, you should leave the extreme left lane for
faster traffic. Remember, lane hopping is always 2o AL
dangerous, annoys other drivers, increases the risk of Adjust Speed
accidents and seldom saves time.

IDENTIFY

e Stay alert! Be prepared for rapid changes in road @
conditions and traffic flow. Search much farther down
the road...at least 20 to 30 seconds.

¢ Watch traffic all around you. Be aware of other drivers who are changing lanes, passing or
slowing down.

e Use your mirrors and look quickly over your shoulder before changing lanes. Use your
signals to let other drivers know your plans, and watch for their signals.




amp Meters and
High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes =————————————

If a freeway entrance is equipped with ramp meters and they are switched on, you must:

e Pull up to the stop line and stop on red.

e Be alert. The signal will change more rapidly than a signal
at an intersection.

e Wait for the green light.

e When the light turns green, proceed along the ramp and
merge onto the freeway safely.

Some freeway entrance ramps have more than one travel lane, and
each lane is controlled by its own ramp meter. Motorists are encouraged to use both lanes, and to
abide by the ramp meter signal controlling their lane of travel.

Some metered freeway ramps have High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) bypass lanes. These lanes are
marked with a diamond on the pavement and are not metered. If you are in a carpool of two or more
people, you may use the HOV ramp meter bypass lane without stopping.

Exiting a Freeway

Most freeway exits have a special lane for you to use before you reach the exit ramp. Avoid slowing
down on the freeway itself. Wait until you are in the deceleration lane. Then slow gradually until
your speed matches the posted exit ramp speed.

* Look ahead for signs telling you about the exit you want and the lane you need to use.
* Check in front, behind and to the side for traffic. Signal and move into the proper lane a mile
or more before the exit. Most exits are numbered to help you quickly spot the one you want to

take. These numbers are also usually listed on the major freeway signs.

* |f you miss the exit ramp, never turn around or back up. Go to the next exit; get back on the
freeway in the opposite direction and return to the exit you want.




Automatic Braking Systems (ABS)

ABS stands for anti-lock braking system. Antilock brakes prevent skidding and allow drivers to steer
during an emergency braking situation. You can find out whether your car has ABS by looking for a
lighted ABS symbol on the dashboard right after starting the engine, checking the owner’'s manual or
asking the dealer. You will know your ABS is not working if the ABS symbol stays lighted on the
dashboard long after the car has started. The conventional brakes will continue to work even when
ABS does not. If this happens, follow the traditional lessons learned for emergency braking or
stopping situations.

There are two types of ABS, 4-wheel ABS and rear-wheel anti-lock brakes.

It is easy to use 4-wheel ABS once you know how. In simple terms, all you have to do is brake and
steer. That is, you should push the brake pedal down hard, hold it down firmly and steer in the
direction you want the car to go.

You should not turn the steering wheel hard or jerk it in one direction. You can maintain control by
steering where you want to go. You need to check that traffic is clear when you decide where to steer
and you must remember to steer back into the original lane as soon as the hazard is cleared. Also,
you must avoid jerking the wheel too far as this can cause the vehicle to end up in the emergency
stopping lane or shoulder of the road.

Many drivers have learned that the correct way to stop in an emergency situation where traction is
lost and the vehicle slides is by pumping the brakes. While this may be correct with conventional
brakes, with 4-wheel ABS it's different. In an emergency situation, ABS pumps the brakes
automatically for the driver at a much faster rate than the driver ever could.

Four-wheel ABS works like this: Whenever the vehicle’s computer detects that one or more wheels are
locking, ABS begins to pump the brakes to avoid locking. All drivers need to do is press down hard on
the brake pedal, hold it down and steer out of danger.

Rear wheel anti-lock brakes are found only on some light trucks. They prevent the rear wheels from
locking up so the back end of the vehicle does not skid sideways. However, the front wheels can still
lock up and cause the driver to lose steering control. If this happens, you should let up on the brake
pedal just enough to allow the front wheels to start rolling again to regain steering control.

Drivers should be aware that removing steady pressure from the brake pedal or pumping the brakes
will disengage, or “turn off” the ABS.




topping

The ability to judge how much time and space you need to stop your vehicle is a major part of safe
driving. The rear-end collision is the number one crash type on Nevada’'s streets and highways.

Your stopping distance depends upon many factors, such as:

e The type and weight of the vehicle you are driving.
e Your speed.

e The condition of the tires and brakes.

e The surface of the road.

e Your reaction time.

e How alert or how tired you are.

e The weather.

To stop your vehicle, three things must occur:

e You have to see and understand the reason for stopping.
e Your brain has to send a message telling your foot to step on the brake pedal.
e Your foot has to move to the brake pedal and push down.

The amount of time it takes from when you see that you need to stop until you step on the brakes is
called reaction time. Reaction time increases as driving decisions become more complex or when
unexpected events occur. Highway safety studies show normal reaction times are 2 to 2.5 seconds.

Stopping your vehicle also involves braking time and distance.

e Braking time is how much time it takes for the brakes and friction between the road and
tires to stop your vehicle.
e Braking distance is how far your vehicle travels during this time.

The most important point for any driver to remember is that if you double your speed -- say from
30mph to 60mph -- your braking distance does not become twice as long, it becomes four times as
far.

Stopping distances on a wet highway may be more than double those on dry pavement. Be especially
careful during the first rain of a season because the mixture of oil and water on the pavement is very
dangerous. Stopping distances on packed snow and ice are greatly increased. For example, if you are
going 30 mph, your stopping distance on ice would be 373 feet, well over the length of a football field.

Most cars will begin to lose traction and “hydroplane” between speeds of 35 and 55 mph in heavy
rainfall. When this happens, you lose control of your vehicle. Slow down.

STOPPING DISTANCE AND TIME
For a typical passenger car with perfect 4-wheel brakes, dry pavement, level road, 2.5 second reaction time

[ 25 || 92 Ft. | 347 | el 126.7 Ft. (4.40 seconds)
| 35 || 128 Ft. | 68Ft | mimmsew 196 Ft. (5.14 seconds)
[ 45 || 165 Ft. | 1125 Ft. | . 277.5 Ft. (5.90 seconds)
[ 55 || 202 Ft. ] 168 Ft. | G, 370 Ft. (6.66 seconds)
| 65 || 238 Ft. | 256 Ft. | e 494 Ft.
MPH Reaction Distance Braking Distance (7.86 seconds)




Defensive Driving Tips

Giving yourself time and space to stop is easier if you use these defensive driving guidelines:

Look ahead at least 12 seconds. This means at a minimum
you look ahead to where your vehicle will be 12 seconds from
now.

To figure how far this is, choose a fixed object in front of you
and begin counting, “one thousand one, one thousand two,
etc.” until the front of your vehicle passes the object. If you
have not reached “one thousand twelve,” you need to be
looking farther ahead. For example, at 30 mph you should see
a little over a block ahead.

The 12-second rule allows you to watch traffic patterns and
react to changes. When you are driving at freeway speeds you
need to look ahead at least 20 to 30 seconds.

Stay behind at least 2 seconds. If you are driving 40 mph or
less stay at least 2 seconds behind the vehicle in front of you.
This is a minimum following distance. Most driving
instructors recommend up to 4 seconds. To figure this, start
counting “one thousand one” when the rear of a vehicle ahead
passes a fixed point such as a sign. If you reach the sign
before you have counted “ one thousand two” you are following
too closely.

Remember, the 2-second rule is a minimum following
distance. As your speed increases, so does the time and
distance required for you to stop. For example, if you are
traveling at 55 mph you would need almost 7 seconds to stop
with perfect brakes and ideal road conditions. So, at highway
speeds or at any speed when streets and roads are slippery and
visibility is reduced, allow a safe distance between you and the
next vehicle.

Give yourself room to maneuver. In traffic, this involves the
speed you are traveling and your lane position. You want to be
between the clusters of vehicles in front of and behind you.
You also want to choose a lane position that allows you the
most options for movement.

Intersections. When approaching an intersection it is
important to look in all directions. You should look left, right
and left again just before entering the intersection.
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What To Do If You Are Stopped By Law Enforcement

Moving violations are the most common reason that a vehicle is stopped. Some examples include
speeding offenses, failure to stop at a light or sign, failure to use a signal or failure to drive within the
marked lanes. It is not uncommon for a driver to be in violation of the law without knowing it.
Courtesy and safety concerns are other reasons an officer might stop your car.

So what do you do when you see red lights flashing in the rearview mirror? Pull over and stop!
Drivers who are stopped by law enforcement officers are recommended to follow these instructions:

e Stop your vehicle as far out of the lane of traffic as possible. Stay in your vehicle, and if you
are stopped at night, turn on the interior light. Good lighting assists good communication. If
you leave the vehicle, you subject yourself and the
officer to danger from nearby traffic.

e Keep your hands in plain view at all times,
preferably on the steering wheel and refrain from
making any sudden movements. Wait for the officer
to request your license, registration and evidence of
insurance.

e Officers are trained to ask for identification first, and
provide an explanation of why you were stopped second. Provide the documents requested,
then give the officer a chance to explain why you were stopped. This will speed the process.
Remember, in most cases, the officer is in uniform and is displaying a badge and name tag.
You have the advantage of knowing with whom you are dealing, the officer does not. Extend
the courtesy by presenting the requested paperwork promptly and without an argument.

< Don’'t argue the citation with the officer. If you think that the citation was wrongly issued, the
proper procedure is to request a hearing through the court system or attend the hearing for
which you received notification.

Racial Profiling

“Racial profiling” means reliance by a peace officer upon the race, ethnicity or national origin of a
person as a factor in initiating action when the race, ethnicity or national origin of the person is not
part of an identifying description of a specific suspect for a specific crime. (NRS 289.820)

If, based on the above definition, you feel you are a victim of racial profiling during a routine stop, you
may report your concerns to the law enforcement agency in which the officer works. You may want to
have the following information available when you make your report: Date, time and location of the
incident, the name of the officer involved, and a badge number if possible; any witness contact
information and a copy of the citation if one was issued.




Rou ndabouts

A roundabout is a large circular area in the middle of an
intersection meant to control the right-of-way of vehicles.
Entering traffic must yield the right-of-way to the traffic i
circulating within the roundabout and decrease speeds while
traveling in one direction with traffic already in the
roundabout. It is a traffic management tool that moves traffic
through an intersection without the aid of traffic signals and
may decrease the traffic volume as well.

IS

Roundabouts should not be confused with traffic circles, which
are much larger with higher speeds and have multiple lanes
for entering and exiting the circle.

How To Drive In A Roundabout

Slow down.

Yield. Wait for a gap in the traffic, those in the roundabout have the right-of-way.
One way. All vehicles in the roundabout travel in ONE DIRECTION - to the right.
Exit. Use your turn signal, and exit the roundabout.

PONPE

In multi-lane roundabouts, traffic in the inside or left lane has the right-of-way over traffic in the
outside or right lane. Drivers in the right lane must yield to a vehicle in the left lane that is exiting.
However, all drivers must exercise due care to avoid a crash. If you miss your exit, continue around
until you reach the exit again.

Bicyclists:

1.

If you are comfortable riding in traffic, take the lane and circulate with the vehicles making
sure to yield to traffic in the circle when entering.

2. Ride at the speed of the circular roadway to discourage cars from wanting to pass you.

3. Use hand signals when exiting the roundabout.

4 If you are unsure about using the roundabout, dismount and walk your bike in the designated
crosswalks.

Trucks:

1. Drive on the circulatory roadway, except large commercial trucks and trailers are permitted to
use the truck apron provided to negotiate the tight turning radius.

2. Drive (usually with just the rear wheels) on the raised pavement of the truck apron to
navigate more easily.

3. Cars should not use the truck apron.

Pedestrians:

1. Stay in the designated crosswalks at all times.
2. Never cross to the central island.
3. Watch for cars; you have the right-of-way, but always pay attention.




ignaling, Turning, Lane Changes and PassSing =———

Signaling

Using signals to tell others that you are going to change lanes, turn, slow down, stop or park is
common courtesy, it is also the law. Most vehicles have turn signal lights; brake lights are required
equipment. Hand and arm signals can also be used.

Note: If the turn signals or brake lights on your car are temporarily out of order you need to use
hand signals.

()
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e Left turn — Extend left arm horizontally out of open window.
* Right turn — Extend left arm, with elbow bent, at about a 90-degree angle.
¢ Slowing or stop — Extend left arm downward, with palm of hand to the rear.

Turning
To make safe and legal turns you must do the following:

* Make sure you are in the correct lane well ahead of time.

* Look ahead, behind and to each side of your vehicle.

* Be aware of other drivers and pedestrians.

e Signal your turn at least 100 feet ahead (about 10 car lengths) on city streets and 300 feet (30
car lengths) on open highways.

* Watch for and obey traffic signals, signs and pavement markings that direct your movement.

¢ Allow time and space to make your turn safely. Slow down.

* Yield the right-of-way to pedestrians and other traffic.

e Steer through the turn and accelerate to the speed of traffic. Be sure your turn signal is off
after you enter the flow of traffic.

Note: Many crashes are caused by drivers making turns. When turning, be especially aware of
pedestrians and bicyclists, as well as other vehicles. Before making your turn, look one more time
in each direction.




When turning right, you must be in the extreme right-hand travel
lane or a lane designated for right turns. If a single lane is provided
to be used only for turning, you may only enter the lane if you are
making a right turn, and may not travel through an intersection
while driving in the right-turn lane. Turn into the right-hand lane of
the roadway you are entering, or the lane designated for the turn. If
you then need to change lanes, signal and proceed carefully to the
next lane when you are well away from the intersection.

When turning left, keep your wheels pointed straight ahead until you
actually start to turn. On a 2-way road use the lane just to the
right of the center line, and complete the turn into the traffic lane
closest to you going in your intended direction. Do not attempt to
change lanes until you can do so safely.

Lane changes
When you want to change lanes:

* Use your rear and side-view mirrors to check traffic.

* Signal 100 feet (10 car lengths) on city streets, 300 feet (30 car lengths) on highways or
freeways, before changing lanes.

* Check blind spots by looking over your shoulder and change lanes when traffic is clear.
* Do not change lanes in an intersection.

AREA YOU CAN SEE AREA YOU CAN SEE

THROUGH WITHOUT
REARVIEW MIRROR MOVING YOUR HEAD

U-Turns

In Nevada, U-turns are generally allowed on any road when they can be made safely. They are
specifically not allowed:

* Anytime a traffic sign or signal prohibits them;

* In a business district, except at an intersection or an appropriate opening on a divided
highway;

e On curves; or

* Near a grade where there is less than 500 feet of visibility in both directions.

* You should also be aware that local authorities and the Nevada Department of Transportation
may prohibit U-turns at any location within their respective jurisdictions.




Passing Another Vehicle

Safe passing rules depend on the type of street or highway you are using. However, you should never
exceed the speed limit to pass and you may never use the shoulder of the road to pass.

Passing is not safe...

On two-lane roads

* On two-lane roads where traffic moves in opposite directions
you may pass on the left only when: —
— You can see clearly ahead and there is no immediate
oncoming traffic;
— There is a broken yellow line on the highway or when the
broken yellow line is in your lane; and

— It is safe to do so. ﬁ7
* When passing on a two-lane road, turn your left signal light on

100 feet ahead in business or residential areas, or 300 feet
ahead in other areas. After you have passed, pull back into \\
your lane when you can see the vehicle you passed in your
rear-view mirror.
* You must not pass on a two-lane road:
— When coming to a curve or the top of a hill where you
cannot see far enough ahead to be sure it is safe;
— At a street crossing or within 100 feet of it;
— At a railroad crossing or within 100 feet of it;
— Where there is a double solid yellow line on the highway;
or
— Where there are signs prohibiting it.
*  When another vehicle comes up behind yours and signals to
pass, move to the right in your travel lane and let it pass.
Never speed up when another vehicle is passing you.

On multi-lane streets and highways

You may pass vehicles traveling in the same direction on the left if there are no signs or highway
markings that indicate passing is not allowed, and it can be done safely. Remember to signal, check
your mirrors for any traffic and look over your shoulder before moving out of your lane. Never pass to
the left of a driver who is making or signaling a left turn.

You may pass on the right if the street or highway is clearly marked for two or more lanes of traffic
moving in the same direction you are, but only when passing is safe. Passing on the right is very
dangerous if the other driver does not see you and decides to change lanes. Again, remember to
signal, check your mirrors and look over your shoulder to check your blind spots before you change
lanes. Never pass on the right when doing so would result in driving off the paved portion of the
highway.

Passing Bicyclists

The driver of a motor vehicle may only overtake and pass a bicyclist if he can safely do so without
endangering the person riding the bicycle. However, remember that traveling in a marked bicycle lane

is prohibited.




Passing Parked Vehicles

o If you are driving past parked vehicles, stay alert!
o Watch for any sign that a vehicle may be pulling out in front of you, such as:
— Turn signal is on
— White backup lights are on
— Red brake lights are on
— Exhaust is coming from the tailpipe
e« Watch for pedestrians, bicyclists and skateboarders trying to cross between parked cars.
*  Watch for vehicle doors opening in front of or beside you.

Parking

Here are some general rules about parking safely and legally.

* Whenever you park and leave your vehicle, turn off the engine and set the parking
(emergency) brake.

e Before opening your door to get out, look carefully for bicycles and other vehicles.

* Lock your vehicle and take the keys.

Note: Steering Wheel Locking Device — Never turn your vehicle’s ignition to the “lock”
position while it is still in motion. This will cause the steering to lock if you try to turn
the steering wheel, and you will lose control of your vehicle.

*  Your vehicle should face in the direction that normal traffic flows.

* The legal parking position is with the front and rear wheels within 18 inches of the curb.

* Your vehicle should be visible for 200 feet (about 20 car lengths) in each direction.

* When a roadway has no curb or other barrier, and there are no other signs or markings
giving instruction, you should park parallel to the road.

¢ If you must stop on a highway:
—  Park with all four wheels well off the pavement, if possible.
—  Leave enough space for other vehicles to pass safely.
— Use your parking lights or 4-way flashers if visibility is poor, or if it is between sunset

and sunrise.

* When you have to use emergency parking areas on highways and freeways, always use your

4-way flashers or parking lights.

International Symbol of Access

This symbol, that appears on reserved parking signs, placards and license plates, is the
international symbol of access for persons with disabilities. Parking spaces marked with
this symbol may only be used when the person (to whom the valid disabled placard or
license plate were issued) are either operating, or being transported in, the vehicle.

It is illegal for anyone else to park in spaces marked by this symbol. The minimum fine
for doing so has been raised from $100 to $250. (NRS 484.408)




Parallel Parking

Parallel parking areas are still common in many Nevada communities. Parallel parking is a driving
skill that requires both patience and practice. Here is how you do it when there is only one space open
between two cars.

1. As you approach the parking space, check the traffic beside and behind you. If the driver
behind you is far enough away to stop or move around you safely, put on your turn signal to
show you are preparing to park.

2. Make sure the space is big enough ;

for your vehicle (about 5 feet longer
than your car). Pull up beside the

car parked immediately in front of e —
your chosen space. Your car should Ml e

be about 2 or 3 feet away from the
one beside you and your rear
bumpers should be lined up across

from each other. See A. _—
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3. Shift to reverse, check your mirrors e —— - L
and look over your shoulder for traffic

behind and beside you, and slowly

back up, turning the steering wheel

all the way to the right. (These
instructions are for parking on the

right side.) See B. l;

Turn Wheels Right

4. When the back of your front seat is in
line with the rear bumper of the car
you are parking behind, straighten the
wheels by steering smoothly and
quickly to the left. See C. Keep your @
speed slow. If you do not straighten
your front wheels, you end up with
your right rear wheel hitting the curb.
If you turn your steering wheel too far
to the left, your right front fender may
hit the car you are parking behind. @

Turn Whedls Left

Turn Wheels Right

5. Continue to back up slowly until your front fender just clears the other car’s left bumper.

6. Looking over your right shoulder, back slowly, turning the steering wheel to the left and stop
before touching the vehicle behind you.

7. Shift to drive. Move slowly forward, turn your steering wheel to the right to straighten the wheels,
and center your car in the space. You should be about 18 inches from the curb. See D.

8. When you are correctly positioned, stop, shift to park (in an automatic transmission car) or
reverse (in a manual transmission car) and set the parking brake.




Parking on a Hill

DOWNHILL

When parking on a hill, turn your front tires so o

that if your vehicle should start to roll, it will move
away from traffic or into the curb.

When your vehicle is headed downhill, turn your
front tires toward or into the curb or road shoulder.

When headed uphill and there is a curb, turn your

toward the road shoulder. Always set your parking
brake.

x

front tires away from the curb. When headed
uphill and there is no curb, turn your front tires

UPHILL UPHILL
WITH CURB  WITHOUT CURB

als

. TURN WHEELS TURN WHEELS TURN WHEELS
No Parking Allowed TO CURB

You may not park your car in any of the following places:
e Within an intersection.
* On a crosswalk or sidewalk.

* Alongside any street repair where you would block traffic.

¢ Within 30 feet of a traffic signal or stop sign.

¢ In front of private or public driveways.

* In or on a bridge, overpass, underpass or tunnel.
* In a direction opposite the flow of traffic.

e Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.

* In a space reserved for the handicapped unless you have the

special license plate or window placard that entitles you to use

the space.

* Wherever parking is prohibited by signs or curb markings.

e Within a bicycle lane (unless your vehicle is disabled).

Colored Curb Markings

Colored curb markings mean that parking is controlled:

*  White usually indicates you are allowed a very short stop only to take on or let off passengers,

or to drop mail in a mailbox.

* Green allows you to park for a limited time. The amount of time is usually shown on a sign.

* Yellow means a loading zone and rules depend on local laws.

* Red means no stopping, standing or parking; local laws apply.

* Blue designates handicapped parking areas.

In an Emergency

FROM CURB TORIGHT

NO

PARKING
ANY
TIME
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If you have car trouble, move to the shoulder or emergency stopping area as soon as you safely can.

Turn on your 4-way flashers to warn other traffic. If possible, it is better to stay in or near your car on

the far side from passing traffic. Walking along a freeway is dangerous. If you stay with your car a
Nevada Highway Patrol trooper will stop to help you. DO NOT STOP ON A FREEWAY EXCEPT FOR

AN EMERGENCY.

N



SPECIAL DRIVING CONDITIONS

Your ability to adjust to different driving conditions is very important. You also need to recognize
when conditions are too dangerous to risk driving at all.

N ight Driving

Driving at night is always more difficult than daytime driving and it is more hazardous. At night you
cannot see as far, as soon or as much. The glare from oncoming headlights also adds to the difficulty.
You can make your night driving safer in these ways:

e Always drive within the range of your headlights.
e Keep your speed in control and within posted speed limits.

* Do not look directly into the headlights of oncoming vehicles; look down and to the right side
of your lane.

e Use the road edge line or centerline for a guide.

e Keep your windshield clean, inside and out.

* Never wear sunglasses when driving at night.

e At night pedestrians are difficult to see — be aware.

Legally, you must use your headlights from a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise.

Headlights are also required because of insufficient light and anytime persons or vehicles cannot be

clearly seen at a distance of 1,000 feet. Using your headlights is advised whenever you are driving in
rain, snow or fog. Headlights are also required when directed by an official traffic control device.

¢ Use high beams in open country at night. Change to low beams at least 500 feet before any
oncoming vehicles and 300 feet before any vehicle you are following.

* You may flash the headlights to warn a driver ahead you intend to pass.
¢ Keep headlights clean.
* You should not drive with just the parking lights on.




riving in Bad Weather

Nevada’'s weather is notoriously unpredictable. Sudden wind, rain and snowstorms create especially
hazardous conditions. Winter driving in many parts of the state means using roads that may be icy or
snow-packed.

The most important thing you need to do when driving in bad weather is slow down. Remember,
stopping distances on slippery roads may be 2 to 10 times greater than on dry pavement. And, if
there is fog, or if it is raining or snowing, you will not be able to see as well as you would normally.
Remember that other drivers will be having the same difficulties.

Give other drivers plenty of space and pay special attention to the taillights on vehicles in front of you.
When driving on snow and ice:

* Use all-weather radial tires, snow tires or chains. Even properly equipped vehicles may slide
on ice or snow-packed roads.

*  Get the feel of the roadway; start out very slowly then gently test your brakes to find out how
well you can stop. Start slowing down long before you come to an intersection or turn.

* Keep a safe distance.

* Reduce speed. There is no such thing as a completely safe speed on snow and ice. Each city
block or stretch of highway may be different, depending upon sun, shade, amount of sanding
and other conditions.

* Avoid sudden changes in speed or direction. In general, gentle braking (using a slow light
touch and release pattern) will allow you to slow down and stop safely. However, if your
vehicle has an antilock braking system (ABS), a firm, continuous pressure on the brake pedal
is needed to activate the antilock feature. Please refer to your vehicle owner’'s manual.

e Keep windows and windshield clear.

* Allow yourself plenty of extra time to get to your destination.

Note: Studded snow tires may only be used from October 1 through April 30.

Skidding

In most cases, skidding happens on ice or packed snow, but it can also occur on wet pavement or on
graveled roads. Skidding means your vehicle’s tires have lost traction. Different types of braking and
steering systems, and vehicles with 4-wheel drive or front-wheel drive, respond in different ways.
Please consult your vehicle owner’'s manual for specific information on skid recovery.

riving Emergencies

Safe handling of driving emergencies such as blowouts, brake failure, a stuck gas pedal and near
misses with other vehicles, requires special knowledge and skills.

Vehicles’ features and operating procedures vary greatly from one manufacturer to another. Your
vehicle owner’'s manual is the best source for information on mechanical system failures. Please take
the time to become familiar with your vehicle’'s safety materials and specific features.

The following tips may help you deal with some situations. In all emergencies, stay calm and use
common sense.




Brakes Fail

Try pumping the brake pedal. If the brakes still do not respond:

* Use the emergency parking brake.
* |If possible, shift to a lower gear. To prevent wear on the brakes, use a lower gear when you
are driving downhill for long stretches.

Wet Brakes

After driving through deep water you should test your brakes. They may pull to one side or not hold
at all. To dry the brakes, put your car in low gear, drive slowly and lightly apply the brakes. Test
them about every 200 feet, continuing until braking action returns to normal.

Windshield Wipers Fail

If the wipers fail in heavy rain or snow, slow down, roll the window down and put your head outside
SO you can see. Move your car to the right (if possible) off the highway and stop as soon as possible.

Accelerator (Gas Pedal) Sticks

Quickly press your foot hard against the pedal and release. This may unstick or release it. If not:

e  Shift to neutral;
e  Apply the brakes; and
e Pull off the highway to the right (if possible) and stop.

Headlights Fail

Slow down and pull off the roadway as soon as you can. Sometimes, when headlights fail, parking
lights, turn signals or 4-way flashers will still work and can be used to guide you safely to the side of
the road.

Fire

If smoke comes from under the hood, slow down, pull off the road and turn the ignition off
immediately. Use extreme caution when opening the engine hood. If you do not have a chemical fire
extinguisher, you can smother a fire by using sand or dirt. DO NOT USE WATER because burning
gasoline will float on water and spread the fire. If you have no way to stop the fire, or if it gets out of
control, move well away (at least 100 feet) from your vehicle.

Steering Fails

* If you suddenly lose steering control, ease up on the accelerator.

* If your car continues to hold the lane, slow down and then gently apply the brakes. Use your
4-way flashers to warn other drivers!

* If your vehicle heads off the road or toward another vehicle or a pedestrian, apply the brakes
quickly, using maximum pressure.




Oncoming Vehicle in Your Lane

If you see a vehicle coming toward you in your lane, slow down, sound your horn, flash your
headlights and pull as far to the right as you safely can. Do not swing into the lane the approaching
vehicle has left because the other driver may suddenly realize their mistake and turn back into the
proper lane.

Running Off the Pavement

Running off the highway can result in an extremely serious single vehicle crash. This type of
“accident” accounts for a high number of fatalities in Nevada. Driver fatigue, inattention and speeding
are all major factors in these crashes.

If your vehicle drifts onto the shoulder or if you are forced off the road:

e Stay calm.
e Take your foot off the accelerator. If you brake, do so carefully.
*  Grip the steering wheel firmly.

* Do not try to swerve back onto the pavement. Instead, stay on the shoulder until you have
your vehicle completely under control, and then gently ease back onto the road.

Blowouts

A blowout (when a tire suddenly loses air) can throw a vehicle out of control. Use the following tips for
safe recovery:

* Grip the steering wheel firmly.

e Ease up on the gas pedal to slow down. Do not hit the brakes!

* Look for a safe place to pull off, and signal your intent to move off the highway.

* When you are sure your vehicle is under control and you have slowed down, gently use the
brakes to stop.

* Make sure your vehicle is safely off the roadway and use parking lights or flashers to warn
other drivers.

Flooded Engine

If your vehicle engine is flooded:
* Do not pump the gas pedal. Instead, press the pedal to the floor, and run the starter steadily

for short intervals (10 -15 seconds).
* When the engine starts, release the gas pedal.

Disabled Vehicle

e If possible, get all four wheels off the roadway.
e Use parking lights, flashers or flares to warn other drivers.
* Have the vehicle towed as soon as possible.




ips for Driving in a Flash Flood

Nevada’'s dry climate creates an ideal situation for flash flooding to occur, particularly during the
summer months. Drivers need to use extra caution when driving during a summer storm, spring
thaw or prolonged rains.

More than half of all flash flood fatalities are auto-related and less than one inch of water can cause a
driver to lose control of his or her car. Additionally, most vehicles can float in two feet of water or less.
Finally, only six inches of water traveling at a high rate of speed can push a car off the road.

If you encounter a flooded roadway, don’t attempt to drive through it. Turn around and seek an
alternate route or wait until the water subsides. Although it may look like just a few inches of water
on the roadway, you have no idea if the road has washed away underneath providing a hazardous
situation for drivers. It is also difficult to determine the depth of floodwaters.

If your vehicle stalls in rising flood water, and you can safely do so, abandon it immediately and seek
higher ground. Rapidly rising water may engulf the vehicle and its occupants and sweep them away.
Once vehicles begin to float they move toward deep, faster-moving water where escape is even more
dangerous and top-heavy vehicles may roll over. Deaths often occur because people mistakenly
believe that vehicles provide protection from rising, swiftly moving waters.

However, if you find yourself in this situation you must make a judgment call about whether you can
make it to higher ground or if you would be better off remaining with your vehicle. The only sure
safety rule is to turn around and avoid flooded roadways in the first place.

Additional guidelines:

* Be especially cautious at night when it is harder to recognize flood dangers.

* Avoid already flooded areas and areas subject to sudden flooding. Do not attempt to cross
flowing streams or water flowing over the roadway.

e If you are driving and come upon rapidly rising waters, turn around and find another route.
Move to higher ground away from streams, creeks and flood control channels.

e If your route is blocked by floodwaters or barricades, find another route. Barricades are put
up by local officials to protect people from unsafe roads. Never drive around barricades.
Driving around them can be a serious risk.




H ighway Work Zones

Work zones are identified with orange signs, cones and barrels. Work zones are hazardous areas for
both workers and motorists. Stay alert. Often, lanes narrow and the road is not smooth. Sometimes
cars must come to a complete stop. Use extra caution when approaching cars ahead since they may
be stopped. Flaggers and pilot cars are often used to control traffic. Do not move any barriers or
signs to cross over a road that is closed to traffic. Doing so is illegal and you will be subject to double
penalties for work-zone violations.

Fines for speeding double in work zones! Black and white speed limit
signs are regulatory. Orange speed limit signs are advisory and indicate
slower, safer speeds. If time is a concern, consider another route or start
your trip earlier.

Visibility in a work zone may be reduced, especially at night. Be alert and
do not drive when you are tired. Watch for other drivers who may be
sleepy.

* Whenever you see orange signs, slow down, watch for equipment
and people working on the road.

e Be aware of flaggers working to direct traffic and follow their
instructions for everyone’s safety.

e  Merge carefully and cooperatively.

Traffic control in work zones provides additional safety for those who are working. It is also meant to
protect and reduce risks to motorists traveling through the work zone. For everyone’s sake, be
careful, obey the signs and arrive safely.

Approaching a Stopped Emergency Vehicle

Drivers in Nevada have certain duties when approaching a stopped emergency vehicle making use of
flashing lights. In the absence of direction by a peace officer, the driver of a vehicle approaching a
stopped emergency vehicle must:

* Decrease the vehicle speed to a speed that is reasonable and proper and less than the posted
speed limit.

*  Proceed with caution.

* Be prepared to stop; and

* If possible, drive in a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which the emergency vehicle is

stopped unless the roadway, traffic, weather or other conditions make doing so unsafe or
impossible.




SHARING THE ROAD

ommercial Vehicles

Over 200,000 crashes occur between cars and commercial vehicles each year. Many of these crashes
could be avoided by keeping these points in mind:

Large commercial vehicles cannot maneuver like a car or other smaller vehicles.

Large commercial vehicles have much larger blind spots than smaller vehicles.
Large commercial vehicles take more time and space to slow down or stop.
drivers.

Most crashes between large commercial trucks and other smaller cars are caused by the car

In commercial vehicle and small car accidents, the people in cars are much more likely to be
killed or injured than the driver of the commercial vehicle.
What is a No-Zone?

0-ZONE
The “No-Zone” is the area around large commercial trucks or buses where
cars “disappear” into blind spots. If truck drivers cannot see you, the
possibility of a collision is greatly increased. These blind spots are the
Side No-Zone, Rear No-Zone and Front No-Zone areas. The right-side
turns!

blind spot is doubly dangerous because trucks and buses make wide right
Side No-Zones

NO-ZON

Do not “hang out” on either side of trucks or buses!

NO-ZONE |
Trucks and buses have big No-Zones (blind spots) on both sides. They are

much larger than your car’s blind spots. If you cannot see the driver’s

face in the side view mirror, he or she cannot see you. If that driver needs
to swerve or change lanes for any reason, the chances of a collision are
greatly increased.

NF-ZONE | /




Front No-Zones

Pass safely!

You could get “rear ended” by a large commercial truck or bus if you “cut in front” too soon after
passing, then immediately slow down. If you do this, truck and bus drivers may be forced to slam on
their brakes. They need nearly twice the time and distance to stop as cars. So, when passing, look
for the whole front of the commercial truck or bus in your rear-view mirror before pulling in front, and
then do not slow down!

Rear No-Zones

Avoid tailgating!

Unlike cars, large commercial trucks and buses have huge No-Zones directly behind them. The truck
or bus driver cannot see your car there, and you cannot see what is going on beyond the truck or bus.
If the truck or bus driver brakes or stops suddenly, you have no place to go and could end up running
into them.

Pay close attention!
Never pass behind a commercial truck that is backing up! Hundreds of motorists and pedestrians are

killed or injured each year by ignoring trucks that are backing up. The truck drivers cannot see
smaller vehicles or people directly behind them and may not see you cutting in behind them.

Wide Right Turns

Avoid the “squeeze play”!

Large commercial truck and bus drivers sometimes need to swing wide to the left in order to safely
make a right turn, or swing wide to the right to safely make a left turn. They cannot see cars directly
behind or beside them. Trying to “squeeze” in between the commercial vehicle and the curb is an
invitation to disaster!

otorcycles

Motorcyclists have the same rights and the same responsibilities as other drivers. However, there are
special situations and conditions we all need to be aware of so we can safely share the road with
them.

* Motorcycle operators have the right to use a complete traffic lane. Two motorcycles may
share a lane.

* Because of their smaller size, motorcycles are less visible and may appear to be farther away
than they really are.

e It is difficult for other drivers to judge how fast a motorcycle is going.

* Motorcycles may be forced from their position on the road by strong winds or a rough road
surface.

* Turn signals are not self-canceling on most motorcycles. Before you make a lane change or
turn that depends on what a motorcycle’s path is, be sure you know what a motorcyclist is
doing.

* Watch for clues, such as operators or passengers turning their heads to look behind, or
operators beginning to lean or tilt their motorcycles.




e If you are coming up behind a motorcycle, slow down sooner than you
would for another vehicle. Leave plenty of space.

¢ Always dim your headlights when approaching a motorcycle. Because
motorcyclists balance as well as steer their vehicles, the blinding effect
of your high beams can be far more dangerous to them than to drivers
of cars or large commercial trucks.

* Bad weather and slippery roads can present real problems for
motorcyclists. Allow even more following distance when it is raining or
when the road is slippery.

Motorcycle operators require a special endorsement to their Nevada driver’s
license. If you want additional information, please contact your local DMV
office and ask for a copy of the Motorcycle Handbook. You may also visit the
DMV website at www.dmvnv.com.

School Buse

You are required to stop for school buses that are loading or unloading students. Buses have flashing
red lights that signal you to stop. On divided highways, you need to stop when the school bus is
traveling in the same direction you are. On all other roadways, including multi-lane roadways with no
barrier, traffic in each direction must stop to allow students to move safely off the roadway. You may
proceed only after the bus driver has turned off the flashing red lights.

Nevada law allows school bus drivers to report violations to the school district and the Department of
Motor Vehicles. When this occurs, the registered owner of the vehicle will be sent a warning letter
explaining the seriousness of the violation.

BOTH CARS
MUST STOP

SCHOOL BUS LOADING
AND UNLOADING




Bicycles

The number of people using bicycles for transportation and
recreation is increasing. Cyclists must obey the same rules
and regulations as other types of vehicles. The safe
interaction between bicyclists and motorists is the
responsibility of both parties. Motorists are not allowed to
intentionally interfere with the movement of a person lawfully
operating a bicycle; bicyclists may not intentionally interfere
with the movement of a motor vehicle.

* Cyclists may ride in a traffic lane, staying as far to
the right as practicable unless preparing to turn or
overtake another vehicle.

* Cyclists must obey all traffic signs and signals and
must use hand signals to let others know what they plan to do.

e At intersections, motorists must yield to cyclists as they would for other vehicles and
pedestrians.

* When passing a cyclist, a motorist or other cyclist may do so only when it does not endanger

the cyclist.
*  Motorists must yield the right-of-way to a cyclist on a bicycle path or in a bike lane.

Motorists may not stop, park or drive on a designated bicycle path or lane unless they are
entering or leaving an alley or driveway, performing official duties, directed by a police officer
or an emergency situation exists.

Inexperienced riders, especially children, require special courtesy and care. They may not
always follow traffic rules. Be especially careful around these riders and expect the
unexpected.

Be Especially Cautious...

When turning at an intersection or driveway, check both ways for cyclists.
Never speed up to pass a cyclist just before you make a turn.
When parked on the street, check to your rear for cyclists before you open your car door.

When you pass a cyclist, allow at least 3 to 4 feet of clearance. If possible, change lanes
before you pass.
Check both ways for cyclists when backing out of a driveway or parking lot.

All Cyclists Should...

Obey the law.

Wear a helmet.

Wear brightly colored clothing.
Keep bikes in good repair.

Cyclists Must Not...

Ride on the wrong side of the road.
Wear a headset (headphones, cellular phone ear piece, etc.) when riding.
Ride at night without required lights and reflectors.

Remember... Motorists and cyclists have an equal right to use our roadways
and need to be mutually courteous and cooperative.

\



Passengers in the Bed of a Truck

If you live in Nevada, and if you are under the age of 18, you may not ride on the bed of a flatbed
truck or within the bed of a pickup truck if the truck is being driven on a paved highway. The
exception to this is if you are being driven in a parade authorized by a local authority, or if the vehicle
is being used in the course of farming or ranching.

Pedestrians

As a motorist, you must watch for pedestrians on streets and highways. You should be especially
careful when children are present. Motorists are required to exercise due care to avoid a collision with
a pedestrian; pedestrians must not place a motorist in the position that it is impossible to avoid a

collision.

* Drivers must exercise proper caution upon observing a pedestrian on or near a highway,
street or road within or near a school zone or within a marked or unmarked crosswalk.
Pedestrians have the right-of-way when crossing at an intersection. Drivers are obligated to
yield to pedestrians who are attempting to cross the road.

* Be particularly aware and careful of pedestrians at intersections. Watch for pedestrians at
stop signs, traffic signals and around transit stops.

* When a traffic signal turns green, drivers must yield to persons who are still crossing the
street.

e If there is a sidewalk, pedestrians should use it. If there is no sidewalk, pedestrians should
walk on the side of the road facing the traffic.

Safe Walking Tips

* Use crosswalks. If the crosswalk has a signal, obey it.

* A flashing “Don’t Walk” means do not cross. If you are in the intersection when a signal
starts flashing, finish crossing.

* Before crossing, look left, right and left again for oncoming or turning traffic. Establish eye
contact with drivers who slow down or stop to ensure the driver is yielding the right-of-way to
you.

* Whenever possible, wear brightly colored clothing when walking to alert drivers to your

presence.
¢ If walking at night, carry a flashlight and use reflective materials to help drivers see you.

Remember...courtesy and cooperation will greatly enhance pedestrian safety!




INSURANCE AND
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

In Nevada, all motorists must comply with mandatory insurance and financial responsibility laws.

Nevada law establishes minimum amounts of liability insurance which you must carry when you drive
or own a vehicle. You are required to carry proof of liability insurance in your vehicle.

Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry a minimum coverage of $15,000 for
bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or
more persons in any one accident; and $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in
any one accident. Coverage must be reported and provided by an insurance company authorized to do
business in the State of Nevada.

The State of Nevada requires that all registered motor vehicles be covered by liability insurance. The
Department of Motor Vehicles has established an Insurance Verification Program (I\VP) to identify
uninsured motorists and enhance the public safety of Nevada residents. Through the use of computer
programs in partnership with licensed Nevada insurance companies, we have been very successful in
identifying registration records where insurance has been terminated and no new policy has been
issued. If your registration is suspended for a lapse of insurance and new coverage is not obtained,
you will be required to pay a $250.00 reinstatement fee for each registered vehicle covered by that
insurance.

The financial responsibility laws also apply to accidents, and include the following provisions:

* If you are in an accident that is investigated by law enforcement, your insurance information
and a description of damages or injuries will be sent to our financial responsibility section by
the investigating officer.

* If you are in an accident that is not investigated by law enforcement and the accident causes
$750 or more in damages or anyone is injured, you must, within 10 days complete and send a
Report of Accident Form (SR-1) to:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles

Central Services Division-Financial Responsibility Section
555 Wright Way

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400

* You must complete the accident report form (SR-1) if you are either the driver or the
registered owner of the vehicle.
* The accident report form must be filed even if you are the only one involved in an accident.




* You can get a report form from any DMV office, the Nevada Highway Patrol or a local law
enforcement agency.
* For any accident, our Financial Responsibility Section determines:
— Who was at fault;
— If all vehicles or drivers were insured; and
— The total amount of liability.
* If you are at fault and do not have liability insurance:
— Your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration may be suspended;
— You will have to post a deposit with the DMV to cover the costs of the accident; or
— You must make arrangements with the other parties to pay for damages or injuries.

If you do not report an accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles, your driver’s license
and/or your vehicle registration may be suspended.

If you are involved in a traffic accident you must:

e  Stop.

* Get medical help for the injured.

* Warn traffic.

* Notify law enforcement.

* Exchange your name, address, driver’s license number, registration and insurance
information with other drivers involved.

e If the accident involves an unattended vehicle or other property, you must give the owner this
information either in person or by leaving a note.

For more information regarding financial responsibility laws, please call (775) 684-4368.

SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility

Some drivers may be required to file a Form SR-22, as a condition of reinstatement. The period of
coverage begins when you actually reinstate and you need only to file this form once. Do not purchase
this coverage until you have met all other reinstatement requirements and are ready to apply for your
license.

The SR-22 is a form of liability insurance on a driver’s license that allows the Department to monitor
the insurance of a suspended and/or revoked driver record through paperwork received from the driver’s
insurance company. The cost of this insurance is dependent upon the structure of the insurance
company.




¥4% YOUR DRIVING RECORD

In Nevada getting a driver’s license is a privilege. Once you have your license, you need to continue to
drive safely, obey the rules and respect the rights of other drivers. If you do not, your license may be
suspended, revoked or cancelled.

Information about traffic accidents and convictions becomes part of your driving record. Even traffic
violations that occur in other states are added to your Nevada driving record.

Most violations are reportable to your insurance company for 3 years. DUl-related convictions stay on
your record for 7 years.

emerit Point System

As part of our driver improvement program, we have a demerit point system. That is, traffic law
violations are assigned a point value. When we receive a conviction notice from a court, the offense is
entered on your driver record and points are assigned. Demerit points are counted during a 12-
month period.

e If you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your license will be suspended.

¢ |If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by
completing a traffic safety course. The school must be one of those approved by DMV. You
may attend traffic school only once in a 12-month period to remove points from your record.

e Attending traffic safety school removes a maximum of 3 demerit points. However, the record
of the conviction remains part of your driving history.

Note: Conviction of major traffic offenses, such as DUI or causing substantial bodily harm, by
itself will result in your license being revoked. These offenses are not assigned demerit points.

When your driving record and total points show you may be having trouble driving safely, you will be
contacted by our license review section.




The following is a partial list of traffic violations, showing the demerit points that are assigned to your
driving record:

RECKIESS AFIVING ..vieieiii e e e e e e e e e eenen 8
L= T =1 1= SIS o | YT o T 6
Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident ................ 6
FOHOWING 100 CIOSEIY ..uoneiii e e e e e e e e 4
Failure to yield right-0f-Way ........ccoiiiiii e 4
Failure to yield 10 @ PEAESIIIAN . ...vuie e e eae e aeans 4
Disobeying traffic signal or StOp SIgN .....oeiniiii e 4
Impeding traffic, driving t00 SIOWIY ..o 2
Failure to dim headlights ..o e e aeaas 2
Speeding
1-10 mph over posted HMIT ... e e e e 1
Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions...................... 2
11-20 mph over posted TIMit ... e 3
21-30 mph over posted lIMiIt ... e 4
31-40 mph or more over posted lIMit .......cooiiiiii e 5
41 mph or more over the posted speed liMit .........ccooiiiiiiiiiii e, 6

Note: If you have a Commercial Driver’s License, there are additional penalties for some traffic
violations, and additional demerit points may be assigned.

It is against the law to give false information when applying
for your Nevada driver’s license. It is also illegal to alter your license in any way,
to lend it to someone else or to use another person’s license.




DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Alcohol is a mind-altering drug that works as a sedative. It changes the way you think and act. It
affects judgment and coordination. In 2005, it was a factor in over 37 percent of Nevada’'s highway
deaths.

Usually, the term drugs refers to controlled substances, such as marijuana or cocaine, that are illegal.
However, the term can also apply to prescription and over-the-counter medications. There are many
drugs such as tranquilizers, sleeping pills, cold and allergy medicines, and pain medications that can
affect your driving ability.

The effects of any drug can vary significantly from one person to another, and can also vary in the
same person at different times.

Taking more than one drug at a time is particularly dangerous because each one
can add to the impact of the other. This is especially true when one of the drugs
is alcohol.

Nevada laws on driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs are tough.
Under these laws, there are two types of penalties:

* Administrative, which is an action taken against a driver by the Nevada
Department of Motor Vehicles, regardless of the court findings.
* Criminal, which is action taken by the court system.

SETTING LIMITS
SAVING LIVES

If an officer suspects you are driving under the influence, you will be asked to
take blood, breath or urine tests. These tests are given to determine if you have
used alcohol or drugs. You cannot refuse the tests. An officer may direct that blood samples be
drawn even on a first offense.

Under Nevada’s lllegal Per Se Law, if chemical tests show an alcohol concentration of .08 percent or
more, or any detectable amount of a controlled substance, your driving privilege will be revoked. If
you are under the age of 21 and a chemical test shows an alcohol concentration of .02 percent, but
less than .08 percent, your driving privilege will be suspended. This is an administrative penalty and
the officer can take your license immediately.

Note: Even though an alcohol concentration of .08 percent is used as a guide, you can be
arrested and convicted with a lower level.

Anytime you lose your license, you can ask for an administrative hearing through the Department of
Motor Vehicles.
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Penalties for DUI

Administrative

lllegal Per Se (.08 alcohol concentration or detectable amount of controlled substance)

Driver’s license is revoked for 90 days.
May be required to file an SR-22, Proof of Financial Responsibility (See Chapter 6 for an
explanation of this insurance coverage)

lllegal Per Se (.02 alcohol concentration for drivers under 21 years of age)

Driver’s license is suspended for 90 days.
May be required to file an SR-22, Proof of Financial Responsibility (See Chapter 6 for an
explanation of this insurance coverage)

Criminal

First DUI offense:

Driver's license revoked for 90 days. After half the revocation period has been
completed a restricted license may be issued.

Jail sentence of 2 days to 6 months, or 96 hours of community service.

Fine of $400 to $1000.

Payment of tuition for DUI school; average cost is $150.

May be ordered to attend a program of treatment when the concentration of alcohol in
your blood or breath is .08 or more.

Second DUI offense within 7 years:

Driver’s license revoked for 1 year; not eligible for restricted license.
Jail sentence or residential confinement of 10 days to 6 months.
Fine of $750 to $1000.

100 to 200 hours of community service.

Possible vehicle registration suspension.

May be ordered to attend a program of treatment or be placed under clinical
supervision of a treatment facility for treatment for up to one year.

Subsequent DUI offense within 7 years:

Driver’s license revoked for 3 years; a restricted license may be issued; contact your
local DMV office for more information.
Prison sentence of 1 to 6 years.

Fine of $2000 to $5000.

Possible vehicle registration suspension.

You Drink & Drive.

Driver’s license revoked for 3 years.
Prison sentence of 2 to 20 years.
Fine of $2000 to $5000.

DUI causing death or serious injury: you L
e

If you have a Commercial Driver’s License,
any detectable amount of alcohol can affect
your driving privilege. More severe DUI
penalties also apply, including lifetime
disqualification from commercial driving.




DUI Laws for Young Drivers

Tough DUI laws also apply to young drivers. A licensed driver under the age of 18, found by juvenile
court to have been driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, will have his or
her license revoked for 90 days. The DUI will be part of the driver's record for 7 years.

A driver under the age of 18 who is found by juvenile court to have been driving under the influence,
or a driver under the age of 21 who is convicted of a DUI, will be required by the court to undergo
evaluation for alcohol or drug abuse. The judge may, based upon the evaluation report, order alcohol
or drug treatment for the offender.

Other DUI Laws

Nevada’'s open container law makes it illegal to have alcoholic beverages, which have been opened, in
the driver or passenger areas when a vehicle is being driven. It does not apply to the living quarters of
motor homes or house trailers, or to the passenger areas of commercial buses, limousines or taxis.

If you are found guilty of a DUI offense and you had passengers under the age of 15 in the vehicle you
were driving, the court will consider that as an aggravating factor in determining your sentence.

If you plead guilty or are found guilty of DUI (alcohol or drugs) and a chemical test was conducted, the
court will impose an additional $60 fine to cover the costs of the chemical analysis.

lues That A Driver May Be Under The Influence
Or Impaired

Knowing what to look for in another driver’s behavior may keep you from being a DUI victim. If you
see a driver doing any of the following, watch out! These are all clues to driving under the influence of
alcohol or drugs:

e Making a turn too widely

e Using two lanes, straddling the centerline

* Almost hitting someone or something Did you

e Weaving or drifting from one side of the lane or road to another Know...

e Driving off the road, or going straight through turn lanes

e Driving too slowly for the speed limit and traffic conditions In 2002, 171

e Stopping in traffic without a reason people were Killed in

. Icohol-related crashes.
e  Following too closel a
g y That equates to 45

* Driving with the tires on the lane markers or centerline percent of all fatalities
e Erratic braking (riding the brakes, using brakes for no reason — 4 percent over
or braking in an uneven, jerky way) national figures.
e Driving into oncoming traffic
* Responding slowly to traffic signals
e Sudden changes in speed
e Turning abruptly or illegally
e Driving at night with headlights off

* Swerving to correct course
Note: You can report a suspected drunk driver or any highway emergency on a cellular phone
anywhere in Nevada by dialing *NHP (*647)




LICENSE SUSPENSIONS
AND REVOCATIONS

You may lose your Nevada driving privileges and your license under certain circumstances.

Licenses are not automatically reinstated following suspension or revocation. You must reapply at a
full service DMV office, meet reinstatement requirements and pay the required reinstatement fees.

Examples of driver’s license suspensions and revocations are listed below. Juveniles may also have
license issuance delayed for some offenses.

Point Suspension — When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points against your license in a
12-month period.

Driving Under the Influence — If breath, blood or urine tests reveal you are driving under the
influence of drugs or alcohol or if you are convicted of DUI.

Failure to Appear — If you receive a traffic ticket and do not pay the fine on time or do not
appear as required.

No Insurance — If you are found to not be carrying the necessary liability insurance; driver’s
license and vehicle registration plates are suspended.

Security Deposit — If an accident occurs with more than $750 in damage (personal injury or
property damage) and you do not have liability insurance; driver’s license and vehicle
registration plates are suspended.

Failure to Maintain — If you are required to provide proof of financial responsibility because of
a license suspension or revocation and do not do so.

Child Support — If you are in arrears in court-ordered child support payments.
Graffiti — If you are found guilty of a graffiti violation.
Firearms — If a juvenile is found guilty of certain offenses related to firearms.

Alcohol and Drugs — If a juvenile is found guilty of buying, drinking or possessing alcohol; or
using, possessing, selling or distributing any controlled substance.

\



NEW NEVADA RESIDENT
VEHICLE REGISTRATION
REQUIREMENTS

You must register your vehicle(s) within 60 days of establishing residency in Nevada or at the time
you obtain your driver’s license, whichever occurs earlier. A minimum fine of $250 may be imposed
for failing to register your vehicle within the required time period.

Required original documents:
* Most recent registration certificate.
*  Qut-of-state license plates.
* Nevada Emission Control Inspection Certificate (smog check) in certain areas of Clark and

Washoe counties. For exempt areas, please refer to NAC 445B.593 and 445B.594. (not
required for motorcycles)
* Nevada Vehicle Identification Number Inspection Certificate (completed at a DMV office).
* Certificate of Ownership/Title, unless held by a lienholder. If ownership is not changing, the
owner has the option of retaining the out-of-state title document.
Full legal name must match on the registration, ownership/title certificate and evidence of insurance.

Liability Insurance Information

The State of Nevada requires that all vehicles actively registered be continually insured by an
insurance company authorized to do business in this state. An Evidence of Insurance Card,
furnished by the insurance company, must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Nevada law requires coverage in amounts of at least: Additional
*  $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person; informat_ion may
e $30,000 for bodily injury to or destruction of property; and be obtained by

visiting the DMV
website at
www.dmvnv.com

e $10,000 for injury or destruction of property of others.

If you cancel your insurance and do not obtain new insurance, you must
cancel your Nevada vehicle registration and surrender your license plates.

Emission Control Certificate (Smog Check)

A passing emission certificate is required in Clark and Washoe Counties for gasoline-powered vehicles
of model year 1968 and newer, with the exception of motorcycles, alternative-fueled vehicles
(compressed natural gas (CNG) or propane), restored vehicles that are driven less that 2,500 miles
annually and new vehicles that have been registered more than two years.

A passing emission certificate is required in Clark and Washoe Counties for diesel-powered vehicles of
model year 1968 or newer with a GVWR of 10,000 Ibs. or less and new vehicles that have been
registered more than two years.

N



OFFICE LOCATIONS

Full service offices process all types of driver’s license transactions. Additionally, some of the offices
have travel teams that provide service to rural locations on certain days of each month. Express
offices process renewals, duplicates and name changes.

The business hours for all offices are Monday through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
“*” Indicates extended hours on Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

City Address Travel Team For:

Carson City 555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400
(775) 684-4DMV

Elko 3920 Idaho Street

Elko, Nevada 89801-4970

(775) 753-1126 ...ceeeeieeiiei e Jackpot, Wells, Wendover
Ely 178 N. Avenue F

P.O. Box 150088
Ely, Nevada 89301-0248
(775) 289-1620

Fallon 973 W. Williams Street
Fallon, Nevada 89406-2602
(775) 423-4316

Hawthorne 1085 Highway 95, Suite B
P.O. Box 2093
Hawthorne, Nevada 89415
(775) 945-4424

Henderson* 1399 American Pacific Drive
Henderson, Nevada 89074-8806
(702) 486-4DMV

Las Vegas* 8250 W. Flamingo Road
Las Vegas, Nevada 89147-4112
(702) 486-4DMV




City Address Travel Team For:

Las Vegas* 2701 E. Sahara Avenue
Las Vegas, Nevada 89104-4170
(702) 486-4DMV

Laughlin P.O. Box 32908
3030 S. Needles Highway, Suite 900
Laughlin, Nevada 89028-2908
(702) 298-3100

Mesquite 330 N. Sandhill Boulevard, Suite H
Mesquite, Nevada 89027
(702) 346-8673

Minden 1694 County Road
Minden, Nevada 89423-4405
(775) 782-0200

North Las Vegas* 7170 N. Decatur Blvd.
Las Vegas, Nevada 89131-2798
(702) 486-4DMV

Pahrump 1780 E. Basin Ave.
Pahrump, Nevada 89060-4605
(775) 727-4141

Reno* 305 Galletti Way
Reno, Nevada 89512-3824
(775) 684-3500

Reno Express Old Town Mall
4001 S. Virginia Street

Sparks Express Silver State Shopping Center
790 N. McCarran Boulevard

Tonopah 1137 S. Main Street, Suite C-8
P.O.Box 511

Tonopah, Nevada 89049-0511
(775) 482-6329

Winnemucca 3505 Construction Way

Winnemucca, Nevada 89445-3155

(775) 623-6515 ...ccoeieiiieiieieieeeee e Battle Mountain, Lovelock
Yerington 215 W. Bridge Street, No. 9

Yerington, Nevada 89447-2570
(775) 463-3146




Commercial Driver’s License Offices

Carson City 555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0600
(775) 684-4368

Elko 3920 Idaho Street
Elko, Nevada 89801-4970
(775) 753-1126

Ely 178 N. Avenue F
Ely, Nevada 89301-0248
(775) 289-1620

North Las Vegas 4110 Donovan Way
North Las Vegas, Nevada 89030-7512
(702) 486-5655

Sparks 810 E. Greg Street
Sparks, Nevada 89431-6534
(775) 688-2535

Winnemucca 3505 Construction Way
Winnemucca, Nevada 89445-3155
(775) 623-6515

Administrative Offices

Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400
(775) 684-4ADMV

Visit our website at: .M

Nr vada Department of Motor Vehicles _ :
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You're just a click away
- from being first in line

Renew your

registration and license

Look on your renewal notice for an access

code. It will allow you to renew your
You can also use your registration on line, even if you're late.
access code to renew your You can renew your driver license too.
registration by phone. L og on to www.dmvnv.com and you're
Call (877) 368-7828. just aclick away from being first in line.
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