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Key Changes in This Edition

   
 

•	 Page 11 – Changed the designation of various restrictions to match 
new regulations.

•	 Page	12	–	Deleted	the	R	endorsement	and	changed	the	definition	
of the J endorsement to match new regulations.

•	 Towing – Added a new chapter on towing vehicles.
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This chapter explains what is necessary to obtain a Nevada driver’s license, the tests you are required 
to take, our license classification system and other general information about Nevada’s requirements.

You need a Nevada driver’s license if you live or work in Nevada (with the exception of border state 
employees) and you want to drive on our streets and highways. Drivers moving into Nevada from 
another state must apply for a license within 30 days after becoming a resident.

To get a Nevada license, you will need to complete an application form and visit your local full-service 
DMV office.  You must also be at least 16 years old and provide proof of your full legal name, age and 
Social Security Number if one has been issued to you.

A Nevada driver’s license is valid for four years and expires on your birthday unless immigration 
documents are presented as evidence of your name and date of birth. If immigration documents are 
used, the expiration of your driver’s license will coincide with the departure date on your immigration 
documents, or one year if no date is provided on your immigration documents. At no time will a 
driver’s license or identification card be valid for more than four years. (NRS 483.290)

If you are under 18 years old, a parent who has custody, or a legal guardian, or other person 
authorized by NRS 483.300 must co-sign your application. The co-signer shares liability for any 
damages caused by the minor’s negligence or willful misconduct while driving.

1 GETTING YOUR NEVADA 
DRIVER’S LICENSE
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Questions?
If you have any questions about documents you need to bring when you apply, please 
visit the Department of Motor Vehicles’ web site at www.dmvnv.com.

You may also contact us at one of the following phone numbers:

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4DMV 
Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4DMV 
Rural Nevada (877) 368-7828

New Nevada Residents
A resident of Nevada can have only one driver’s license. If you have a license or identification card from 
another state, you must surrender it to get a license to drive here.

Your vision will be tested when you apply for your Nevada driver’s license. All other tests may be waived 
if all of these criteria apply:

• You have had fewer than 3 moving violations in the past 4 years, and have not had your license 
suspended, revoked or cancelled.

• You have had no DUI convictions within the past 7 years.
• You have no restrictions to your driving privilege that may require re-evaluation.
• You have a valid license from another state of the same license class for which you are applying 

for in Nevada.
• You are age 21 or older.

You do not need a Nevada license if you are:

• An active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and you have a valid license from your home 
state.

• A non-resident, such as an out-of-state student, tourist or seasonal resident. But, if you want to 
drive in Nevada, you must be at least 16 years old, have a valid license from your home state 
and comply with Nevada traffic and financial responsibility laws.

Note: All driver records are checked through the national Problem Driver Pointer System and the 
Commercial Driver’s License Information System. If your driving privilege is currently suspended, 
revoked, cancelled or denied in another state, you will not be allowed a Nevada license until the out-of-
state issue is resolved. You may qualify for an identification card during this period.

See Chapter 10 on vehicle registration for information on obtaining your Nevada license plates.
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Documents You Will Need 

Evidence of Full Legal Name and Date of Birth

If you were born within the United States, you must present one of the following:

• State-issued Birth Certificate (original or certified copy)
• U.S. Passport (valid or expired less than one year)
• U.S. Military Identification
• Original Report of Separation from the Military (DD-214)
• U.S. Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood

If your name is different from what is presented on one of the above documents, you will be asked to 
present legal documentation reflecting your name change. This may include of a marriage certificate, 
divorce decree, adoption records or court order. Documents must be originals or certified copies.

If you were born outside of the United States, you must present the original or a certified copy of one 
of the following:

• Certificate of Naturalization
• Certificate of Citizenship
• Permanent Resident Card
• Temporary Resident Card
• Consular Report of Birth Abroad
• U.S. Passport
• Resident Alien Card or I-551 Receipt
• Valid Foreign Passport stamped “Processed for I-551”
• Arrival/Departure Record (I-94) with Visa or Passport
• Permit to Reenter the U.S.
• Refugee Travel Documents

The following is a list of documents not accepted as proof of name and age:

• Hospital-issued Birth Certificates
• Driver’s license or identification card from other U.S. States, U.S. Territories or foreign 

countries
• Foreign Birth Certificates
• Border Crossing Cards
• Consular Identification Cards

Evidence of Social Security Number 
You must present one of the following. All documents must be originals. 

• Social Security Card
• W-2, 1099, 1099A, federal income tax return or other IRS correspondence with number listed
• Paystub with number listed or other employment records
• U.S. Military Identification with number listed
• U.S. Military DD-214 Report of Separation
• U.S. Veteran Identification Card
• Evidence of No Social Security Number

Alternative documents accepted as evidence of name, age and social security number may require 
supervisory approval.
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Testing 

To drive safely, you need good eyesight and coordination, a sound knowledge and understanding of 
Nevada’s traffic laws, understanding of road signs, common sense and skill in handling your vehicle in 
any given situation.

Vision Testing 

Your vision will be checked to make sure you meet the minimum vision standards.  If you need glasses 
or contact lenses to drive, a restriction will be placed on your driver’s license.

Knowledge Testing

Your understanding of highway signs and markings, traffic laws and safe driving practices will be 
tested.  This is done using either the automated testing equipment or with a paper test.  If you have 
problems reading or understanding the written test, you may request an oral examination.  Testing for 
the Basic C license and motorcycle license is also available in Spanish. 

A fee is charged for all initial knowledge and/or skills tests administered. An additional fee is charged 
for any retests needed before you can get your license.

Skills Testing

Your ability to drive your vehicle safely in a variety of traffic situations will be tested.  When you come 
in for your road test, the driver’s license examiner will check the following:

• Vehicle registration and license plates
• Evidence of insurance card
• Headlights, taillights, brake lights and turn signals
• Horn
• Seat belts
• Tires
• Windshield wipers

The vehicle must be in safe operating condition and all equipment must be in good working order, 
including your brakes, speedometer and muffler.  The vehicle should also have a safe and clean 
seating area beside the driver for the examiner.

Passengers and animals are not allowed in the vehicle during the road test.

You will be tested on such things as preparing to drive, vehicle control, entering traffic, lane use, 
speed control, turns, parallel/angle parking, and backing up, stopping, passing and attention to traffic 
situations.  You may be requested to demonstrate stopping on a grade. You will not be asked to violate 
any traffic laws, and you will be penalized if you do. 

A fee is charged for all initial knowledge and/or skills tests administered. An additional fee is charged 
for any retests needed before you can get your license.

Use of a cellular phone during a drive test will result in automatic failure.
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Young Drivers 

If you are under 18 years of age and applying for a Nevada driver’s license or instruction permit, a 
parent or guardian must co-sign your application. You will need to sign an affidavit stating that you 
understand the following:

Your license may be:

• Suspended for 90 days if a blood, breath or urine test indicates at least 0.02 percent but less 
than 0.08 percent by weight of alcohol in your blood.

• Revoked for 90 days for any court finding of driving under the influence of alcohol or a 
controlled substance.

• Suspended or issuance delayed for up to two years for:
 — Placing graffiti on or defacing public or private property; 
 — Any criminal activity involving alcohol or a controlled substance;
 — Using, possessing, selling or distributing a controlled substance; or
 — Purchasing, consuming or possessing an alcoholic beverage.

• Suspended, or issuance delayed for up to one year for handling or possessing a firearm or 
having a firearm under your control in violation of NRS 202.300. For a second offense, your 
license will be suspended, or issuance delayed, for two years.

• Suspended for 30 days to 6 months, or issuance delayed for 30 days, if found to be in need of 
supervision because of habitual truancy. For a second offense, your license will be suspended 
for 60 days to 1 year or issuance of your license will be delayed for 60 days.

• Suspended for a period of not less than 6 months but not more than 2 years if found guilty of 
participating in or organizing an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway.

When you apply for a driver’s license, you will be required to present a Certificate of Completion of a 
course in driver’s education and a Beginning Driver Experience Log, DMV Form DLD-130. The dates 
and times of your behind-the-wheel experiences should be noted in this log as they occur. This log 
must be completed in blue or black ink before arriving for your drive test. You may obtain the log on 
the DMV web site at www.dmvnv.com.

Nevada teens are required to complete 50 hours of supervised experience behind the wheel, 10 of 
which must be completed at night. You must document this on the official DMV form. Please refer to 
Chapter 4 of this handbook for information about driving at night.

There are three options for meeting your driver’s education requirements: 

1. Take driver’s education at any locally offered and DMV-approved school;
2. Take driver’s education online with a DMV-approved school; or
3. If you are not within 30 miles of a DMV-approved school, and it is not possible for you to 

access the internet for a driver’s education class, you would need to complete 100 hours of 
behind-the-wheel driving experience, 10 hours of which must be completed in the dark. If you 
are applying for a motorcycle license, all 100 hours of driving experience must be completed 
during daylight hours only. Please refer to Chapter 4 of this handbook for information about 
night driving.

Minors must also remain free of any at-fault accidents, moving violation convictions and any type of 
alcohol or drug conviction for six months prior to receiving a driver’s license.
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Instruction Permits 

A Nevada instruction permit is valid for one year and you must carry the permit with you when you 
are driving.  To obtain an instruction permit, you must:

• Be at least 15½ years old;
• Complete a driver’s license application;
• Provide proof of your full legal name, age and Social Security Number, if a number has been 

issued to you;
• Pass a vision test; and
• Pass a knowledge test about Nevada’s traffic laws, highway signs, markings and safe driving 

practices.
• Have a parent or guardian available to authorize issuance.

The following restrictions apply:

Class C Instruction Permit
(Passenger Car/Pickup Truck)

When you are driving you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who:

• Is 21 years of age or older;
• Has at least one year of licensed driving experience; and
• Is seated beside you.

Class M or M-Z Instruction Permit
(Motorcycle or Moped)

You must be in direct visual supervision of a licensed motorcycle driver, 21 years of age or older, who 
has at least one year of driving experience.  You must:

• Drive in daylight hours only;
• Carry no passengers; and
• Not drive on limited access highways or freeways.

Instruction Permit Requirements

You must hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months prior to applying for a driver’s license if you 
are under the age of 18.

Passenger Restrictions and Curfews 

If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age when they receive their driver’s license, they will not be allowed 
to carry passengers under the age of 18, except for immediate family members, for the first 6 months 
(NRS 483.2523).

Additionally, a minor shall not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless 
he/she is driving to or from a scheduled event. This curfew remains in effect until the driver turns 18, 
regardless of when the driver’s license was issued.
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Driver’s License Classifications 

Vision and knowledge tests are required for all license classifications. A road test may also be required 
in the specific type of vehicle you want to be licensed to drive.  For example, if you have a Class C 
license and also want to be able to drive a motorcycle, you need to pass a written test on motorcycle 
laws and practices, and a drive test on operating your motorcycle.

You may only operate a moped if you have a Nevada driver’s license (any classification) or you may 
apply for a license that will allow you to operate a moped only.

Note: Commercial drivers must pass additional knowledge and skills tests. Please refer to the 
Commercial Driver’s License Handbook.

Class A – Combination vehicles – Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) over 26,000 pounds, 
trailer over 10,000 pounds.

Class B – Single vehicle – Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) over 26,000 pounds;  
may tow a vehicle under 10,000 pounds.

Class C – Cars, vans, pickups; may tow a vehicle 10,000 pounds or less.
Combination of vehicles may not exceed 70 feet.

Class M – Motorcycle or moped

Restrictions 

Your driver’s license may have certain restrictions on it, if needed, for you to drive safely.  The most 
common restrictions are:

• Restriction B —  Driver needs to wear glasses or contact lenses
• Restriction F —  Additional rearview mirrors
• Restriction G —  Daylight driving only
• Restriction 6 —  Yearly vision examination
• Restriction 7 —  Yearly medical letter
• Restriction 8 —  Yearly driving test
• Restriction JN —  Instruction Permit
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Endorsements 

Various commercial and non-commercial vehicle endorsements may be needed, depending on the type 
of vehicle you want to drive.  Additional tests are necessary for these endorsements.

J – Class C vehicle; may tow vehicle(s) over 10,000 pounds GVWR.

F – Commercial License exemption for:

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)

Drivers of commercial motor vehicles have to meet strict licensing requirements and pass additional 
knowledge and skills tests.

A commercial motor vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle or 
combination of motor vehicles used in commerce to transport 
passengers or property if the motor vehicle has a GVWR or GCWR of 
26,001 pounds or more, is designed to carry 16 or more passengers, 
including the driver, or is carrying hazardous materials.

For more information about Nevada’s CDL program and licensing 
requirements, please refer to the Commercial Driver’s License 
Handbook.  Specially trained CDL staff are also available to assist you 
in Field Services offices statewide and in our CDL testing centers in Las 
Vegas, Sparks and Elko.

In Class C vehicle, may tow a vehicle (GVWR) or a combination of vehicles (GCWR) of more than 
10,000 pounds. The combination of vehicles may not exceed 70 feet in length or have a combined 
weight rating or a combined weight that exceeds 26,000 lbs. If the combination of the towing vehicle 
and the towed vehicle(s) exceed 26,000 lbs., a Class A license is required.

• Firefighters while operating fire equipment.
• Farmers — employees or family members while transporting supplies within 150 miles to and 

from the farm, if not:
 — Employed as a common or contract motor carrier, or
 — Transporting placarded amounts of hazardous materials.

• Military — if driving military vehicles on active military duty.
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Motorcycle Instruction Permit and License 

A motorcycle instruction permit is valid for one year. It allows you to practice driving when you are 
accompanied by, and in direct visual supervision of, a licensed driver who:

• Has a valid motorcycle license;
• Is at least 21 years old; and
• Has at least one year of driving experience.

If you want an instruction permit for driving a motorcycle, you must:

• Be at least 15½ years old;
• Pass a vision test;
• Pass a general driver’s license knowledge test; and
• Pass the motorcycle knowledge test.

When driving with a motorcycle instruction permit, you may drive during daylight hours only. You 
may not carry passengers or drive on freeways or other high-speed roadways.

If you want a Nevada motorcycle driver’s license, you must: 
(NRS 486.071)

• Be at least 16 years old;
• Pass a vision test;
• Pass a general driver’s license knowledge test;
• Pass a motorcycle knowledge test; and
• Pass the Motorcycle Operators Skills Test (MOST).

The motorcycle drive test includes a pre-trip inspection. You need to know and understand your 
motorcycle’s controls and equipment such as the choke, gear-shift, brakes, spark arrester, starter, 
throttle, ignition and clutch.

The examiner will also check the turn signals and horn. Your drive test will include normal starts and 
stops, quick stops, turns and other maneuvers. When driving your motorcycle, you are required to 
wear a helmet. If your motorcycle does not have a windshield or screen, you should wear a protective 
face shield or goggles.

Note: If you are surrendering a valid motorcycle license, or a valid driver’s license with a 
motorcycle endorsement from another state, the road test may be waived. 

Motorcycle handbooks are available at all DMV locations and on the DMV web site at www.dmvnv.
com.

Passing an approved motorcycle safety course may be substituted for the motorcycle tests. 

For more information on these courses, please call the Nevada Motorcycle Safety Program at 
1-800-889-8779 or visit its web site at www.nevadarider.com.
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Renewals

The expiration date is on the front of your driver’s license. Although a renewal notice is mailed to the 
address on file, it is your responsibility to renew on or before your expiration date.

You may be required to pass a vision test, a knowledge test and an on-road driving skills test. Renewal 
testing is used to re-evaluate driving knowledge, skills and abilities and to determine appropriate 
restrictions.

Nevada does not automatically extend the license expiration date for military personnel. Active duty 
military personnel who are temporarily out-of-state may renew a Nevada license through the mail.

Restricted License

What are termed “restricted” licenses may be issued under special circumstances to:

• Drivers who are 14 or older and have demonstrated family hardship, or who need to drive to 
and from school; and

• Individuals who have served required suspension or revocation periods.

Additional information and applications are available at your local DMV office.

Change of Address or Name
Under Nevada law, you are required to notify the DMV of any address or name change within 30 days.

Address Changes
When you need to change the address on your driver’s license or identification card, you can do so by 
going to your local DMV office or through the mail. Address changes must be completed in person if you 
hold a commercial driver’s license.

If you choose to request an address change by mail, you can download the Change of Address 
Application (DLD-22) from our web site, www.dmvnv.com, have the form faxed to you through our 
automated Fax On Demand service or contact the DMV Phone Room and have a form mailed to you.

Telephone numbers: 
Las Vegas Area   (702) 486-4368    
Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4368 
Rural Nevada/Out-of-state (877) 368-7828 toll free 
Choose Option 1 for fax on demand or Option 6 for the phone room.

Name Changes
Name changes on a driver’s license or identification card must be made in person at a local DMV office.  
You will be asked to complete an application and provide acceptable legal documentation reflecting your 
name change.



15

Duplicate License

If you lose your driver’s license, or it is ruined or stolen, you need to apply for a duplicate immediately. 
When you go to the DMV, it is best to bring as much identification documentation as possible. This 
will help confirm your identity and speed up the process. The DMV may use your existing record and 
photograph currently on file when necessary. See “Documents You Will Need” in this chapter.

Identification Cards

A Nevada identification card is valid for four years and expires on your birthday unless immigration 
documents are presented as evidence of name and date of birth. If immigration documents are used, 
the expiration will coincide with your departure date or one year if no date is listed. If you want a 
Nevada identification card, you must:

• Be at least 10 years old;  
• Complete an application; and
• Present the proof of identity as outlined under “Documents You Will Need” in this chapter.

Note: The issuance of an identification card will automatically surrender your driving privileges 
or an identification card issued from another state whether the card is in your possession or 
not. This does not apply if you are a Seasonal Resident identification card applicant.

If you are cited for a traffic violation while holding a Nevada identification card, citations and demerits 
will be applied to “future driving privileges” and the same rules and penalties will apply to you as 
apply to driver’s license holders. If you receive 12 or more demerits in a 12 month period, you will be 
required to reinstate your driving privileges before you are eligible to receive a driver’s license.

If you need to obtain a duplicate card or update information on your identification card, please contact 
your local DMV office at one of the numbers listed in Chapter 11 of this handbook.

Organ Donors

The Department of Motor Vehicles and the University of Nevada School of 
Medicine work together to give applicants for driver’s licenses and identification 
cards the opportunity to become organ donors or to make a monetary donation 
to the Gift of Life Fund.

You have the option of having “Organ Donor” listed on your driver’s license or ID card when it is first 
issued, upon renewal or upon a change of address. Donors should also obtain a card that specifies 
their desires in accordance with the federal Uniform Anatomical Gift Act.

A family member of the donor who is a medically suitable recipient and resides in Nevada will receive 
the anatomical gift directly. If there is no suitable family member, the gift will be passed to the 
appropriate organ donor bank or organization.

When you agree to become an organ donor, the DMV will ask whether you wish to donate $1 or more 
to the state’s Anatomical Gift Account. The funds are forwarded to the University of Nevada School of 
Medicine for educational programs on the importance of organ and tissue donation. If enough money 
is donated, the account can also provide financial assistance to those in need of a transplant.

The DMV accepts donations during the licensing process and through the purchase of Organ Donor 
license plates. You can also donate directly through the School of Medicine.
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Fees

Driver’s license and identification card fees will be charged according to established Nevada state law.  
Fees are subject to change. Current fees are available on the DMV website at www.dmvnv.com.

A fee is also charged for all initial knowledge and/or skills tests administered for a non-commercial 
license. An additional fee may be charged for any retests.

The following DRIVER’S LICENSE fees will be charged:

Original license ............................................................................................................................... $22
Instruction permit........................................................................................................................... $22
Change of name ................................................................................................................................ $8
Change of address ............................................................................................................................ $3
Duplicate license ............................................................................................................................ $17
Renewal .......................................................................................................................................... $22
Reinstatement fee for alcohol or controlled substance related offense ............................................ $120
Victim fee for alcohol or controlled substance related offense .......................................................... $35
Reinstatement fee for any other offense ........................................................................................... $75

If you are 65 years of age or older:

Original, duplicate or renewal of license .......................................................................................... $17

The following IDENTIFICATION CARD fees will be charged:

Original, duplicate or renewal ......................................................................................................... $12
Change of name ................................................................................................................................ $7

If you are 65 years of age or older:

Original or duplicate ......................................................................................................................... $7
Renewal ............................................................................................................................................ $3

If you are under 18 years of age:

Original, renewal or duplicate ........................................................................................................... $6

Commercial Driver’s License Fees

Original or transfer that requires knowledge and skills tests ........................................................... $87
Original or transfer that requires knowledge tests only .................................................................... $57
Duplicate ........................................................................................................................................ $22
Change of information .................................................................................................................... $12
Added endorsement ........................................................................................................................ $17
Renewal that requires knowledge tests only .................................................................................... $57
Renewal that requires knowledge and skills tests ............................................................................ $87
Instruction permit........................................................................................................................... $57
Driving skills test to add or remove a restriction or endorsement ..................................................... $30

Notes: Any license suspension, revocation or cancellation requires payment of the 
reinstatement fee, the fee for an original license and any applicable testing fees. 

Reinstatement of a CDL requires payment of the non-CDL reinstatement fee.
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BUCKLE UP2
Seat belts are your best protection against injury or death if you are in a vehicle crash. In 2005, more 
than 25 percent of highway fatalities in Nevada were people who were NOT wearing their seat belts. 
This is a 17 percent reduction from 2002 statistics.

In Nevada, seat belts aren’t just a good idea; they are the law.

• If your car is a 1968 model or newer, it must have lap-type seat belts for passengers in the 
front seat.

• If it is a 1970 model or newer, it must have lap-type seat belts for each passenger of the 
vehicle. It must also have shoulder harnesses for use in the front seat.

• The driver and any passengers age 6 and older must wear safety belts if the vehicle is equipped 
with them.

• Children under age 6 and who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in an approved child 
restraint system (NRS 484B.157). Failure to restrain children under age 6 and weighing less 
than 60 pounds may result in fines, community service and or the suspension of your driver’s 
license.

• Never hold a child on your lap or buckle yourself and a child into a single safety belt, and never 
buckle two children into a single safety belt.

Unattended Children and Pets

Never leave a child age 7 or younger unattended in a vehicle if the conditions present a significant 
risk to the health and safety of that child unless the child is being supervised by, and within sight of, a 
person at least 12 years old.  (NRS 202.575)

It is illegal to leave a dog or cat unattended in a vehicle during periods of extreme heat or cold. Law 
enforcement, firefighters and other officials may use reasonable force to rescue the animal. (NRS 574.195)

Violations of these laws are misdemeanor offenses.
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Traveling with Babies and Children

Booster seats and belt-positioning seats are designed to elevate or position a child so as to allow them 
to be safely secured with a seat belt. If you are traveling with children, ask yourself:

• Is your child restraint system approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation in 
accordance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards?

• Is your seat appropriate for the size and weight of the child? and;
• Has the seat been installed safely and securely and in accordance with the installation 

instructions provided by the manufacturer or in another manner approved by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration?

Always buckle up infants facing the rear of the cars.

Babies must not ride facing forward until they are 1 year old and 
weigh at least 20 pounds. The rear-facing safety seat supports 
baby’s head protecting the neck and spine from injury in most 
crashes.

Teach children to ride buckled up in the back seat.

The back seat generally is the safest place in the car. Older 
children may ride in the front if necessary, but the vehicle 
seat should be moved back as far as possible. To protect the 
head from contact with a rapidly inflating air bag, use a child 
restraint with a complete harness system or a properly fitted 
vehicle shoulder/lap belt. Passengers who are not buckled up 
or who sit too close to air bags can suffer serious injuries, even 
in a minor collision or a sudden stop.

Never put an infant in the front seat if the car has a 
passenger side air bag.

In a crash, the air bag explodes from the dashboard at 200 mph, 
smashing through the safety seat into the back of the baby’s head. 
Safe driving depends on you, your skill, your knowledge, your 
abilities and your attitude.
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Getting Ready to Drive

Before you start the engine:

•	 Adjust	the	driver’s	seat	so	you	can	reach	the	controls	comfortably	and	can	see.
•	 Make	sure	the	windshield	and	windows	are	clean.
•	 Buckle	up!	And	make	sure	your	passengers	do	too.
•	 Check	your	attitude.	Are	you	calm	and	in	control	of	yourself?
•	 Check	the	rear	and	side	mirrors	and	make	sure	they	are	properly	adjusted.

When you turn on the engine:

•	 Check	fuel	level	and	warning	lights.
•	 Adjust	the	volume	on	your	stereo	system.	Can	you	hear	normal	traffic	sounds?	If	not,	reduce	

the	volume	so	you	can	hear	them.
•	 If	needed,	turn	on	headlights,	turn	signal	and	windshield	wipers.

Before you move your vehicle:

•	 Stop,	look	and	listen	for	traffic,	bicyclists	and	for	pedestrians.

Cell Phones and Texting

The	use	of	a	cellular	phone	or	other	handheld	wireless	communications	device	
to	engage	voice	communications	is	prohibited	unless	the	device	is	used	with	a	
hands-free	accessory.

The	use	of	a	cellular	phone	or	other	handheld	wireless	communications	
device	to	manually	send,	read,	search	the	Internet,	or	to	engage	in	non-voice	
communications	with	another	person,	including	texting,	electronic	messaging	
and	instant	messaging	is	prohibited.

You	may	use	the	device	to	report	an	emergency	if	stopping	the	vehicle	would	be	inadvisable,	
impractical	or	dangerous.

3 DRIVING SAFELY

NO
PHONE
ZONE



20

The Rules of the Road

The	rules	of	the	road	are	the	traffic	laws	and	driving	practices	that	mean	safe	driving	for	all	of	us.	
These	rules	include:

•	 Signs,	signals	and	highway	markings
•	 Right	of	way
•	 Controlling	speed
•	 Freeway	driving
•	 Stopping
•	 Signaling,	turning,	lane	changes	and	passing	
•	 Parking

Signs,	signals	and	highway	markings	are	used	alone	and	in	combination	to	control	traffic	and	make	
safe	driving	easier.

Signs, Signals and Markings

Signs

Signs	have	three	purposes:	they	regulate,	warn	and	inform.	The	shapes	and	colors	of	highway	signs	
have	special	meanings.	This	helps	you	understand	the	message	quickly.

Standard	colors:

•	 Red	—	no,	do	not	or	stop
•	 Green	—	direction	or	guidance
•	 Yellow	or	yellow	green	—	general	warning
•	 White	—	regulatory,	law	or	rule
•	 Orange	—	road	construction	or	repair	

warning
•	 Blue	—	driver	services,	such	as	food	and	

lodging
•	 Brown	—	recreation	and	scenic	area	

information

Standard	shapes:

•	 Octagon	(8	sides)	—	STOP
•	 Diamond	—	warning
•	 Rectangle	—	traffic	regulations	or	directions	

to	drivers
•	 Inverted	triangle	—	yield	right	of	way
•	 Pennant	—	no	passing
•	 Pentagon	(5	sides)	—	school	zones	and	

school	crossings
•	 Circle	—	railroad	crossing	ahead
•	 Crossbuck	(X)	—	actual	railroad	crossing
•	 Shield	—	route	marker

REGULATORY NO PASSING GUIDE

GUIDE

SCHOOL

GUIDE

YIELD

WARNING

STOP

RAILROAD

RAILROAD
CROSSING
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Stop signs	mean	you	must:

•	 Come	to	a	full	stop	behind	the	crosswalk,	stop	line	or	stop	sign.	If	your	view	
of	the	cross	street	is	blocked,	slowly	move	forward	to	determine	when	it	is	
safe	to	proceed.	If	no	signs	or	markings	exist,	treat	the	intersection	as	if	it	
had	Yield	signs.	You	must	slow	down	and	stop,	if	necessary,	at	the	point	
nearest	the	intersection	where	you	have	a	view	of	approaching	traffic	on	the	
through	highway.	

•	 Give	right	of	way	to	pedestrians	and	to	any	cross	traffic	before	moving	
forward.

At a 4-way stop, you must wait for vehicles within the intersection, and for those who reach the 
intersection before you do, to go first. Wait your turn!

Yield signs	mean	the	same	as	stop	signs	except	you	may	proceed	without	coming	
to	a	full	stop,	if	it	is	safe	to	do	so.	You	must:

•	 Slow	down	as	you	come	to	the	intersection.
•	 Give	the	right	of	way	to	pedestrians	and	through	traffic.

Regulatory signs	are	rectangular	and	have	a	white	background.	They	inform	you	
of	traffic	laws	and	regulations.	You	must	obey	these	signs.

Warning signs	are	yellow,	diamond-shaped,	with	black	letters	and	symbols.	They	
tell	you	there	are	special	conditions	or	hazards	ahead.

Railroad crossing signs	warn	you	that	you	need	to	slow	down	and	that	you	may	
have	to	stop	for	a	train.	The	crossbuck	(X)	marks	the	actual	location	of	the	train	
tracks.	You	should	look	both	ways	when	approaching	the	crossing	and	always	
stay	clear	of	the	tracks	when	a	train	is	approaching.

Route signs and markers	are	usually	shaped	like	a	shield,	but	there	are	different	
shapes	and	colors.	These	signs	show	U.S.,	Interstate	and	state	route	numbers.

Construction and maintenance signs	are	used	to	notify	drivers	of	
possible	danger	in	or	near	work	areas.	Most	signs	used	in	highway	
and	street	work	areas	are	diamond-shaped.	Cones,	drums	and	
barricades	are	used	to	alert	you	and	to	guide	you	safely	through	
work	areas.	For	night	work,	they	may	be	equipped	with	warning	
lights.	When	used,	you	must	slow	down	and	follow	the	direction	of	
the	posted	signs	and	any	construction	flaggers	that	may	be	present.

Violations in construction and maintenance zones result in 
increased traffic fines.
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Signals

Traffic	signals	control	traffic	at	intersections.	Combinations	of	traffic	and	pedestrian	signals,	signs,	
pavement	markings	and	other	traffic	control	devices	may	be	used	in	some	situations.	

When traffic control lights are not working, you must come to a full stop before proceeding 
through the intersection. After yielding to pedestrians and to other vehicles that have already 
stopped or are in the intersection, you may proceed with caution.

A	red	light	means	STOP.	You	must	come	to	a	complete	stop	before	you	reach	the	intersection.	Stop	
your	vehicle	behind	the	crosswalk	or	stop	line.	If	there	is	not	a	stop	line	or	crosswalk,	stop	before	
entering	the	intersection.	Remain	stopped	until	the	light	turns	green.	Where	not	prohibited	by	signs,	
a	right	turn	may	be	made	on	a	red	light	after	coming	to	a	complete	stop,	when	motor	and	pedestrian	
traffic	is	clear,	and	it	is	safe	to	proceed.

A	yellow	light	means	CAUTION.	A	steady	yellow	light	is	a	warning	that	the	light	will	be	turning	red.	If	
you	have	not	entered	the	intersection,	you	must	stop.	If	you	are	already	in	the	intersection,	you	should	
continue	moving	and	clear	it	safely.	DO	NOT	speed	up	to	“beat	the	light.”

A	green	light	means	GO.	You	may	proceed	through	an	intersection	in	the	direction	indicated	by	the	
signal	if	the	road	is	clear.	Make	sure	you	look	right	and	left	for	oncoming	traffic.

•	 A	flashing	red	light	means	
that	you	must	come	to	a	
full	stop.	You	may	go	only	
when	the	road	is	clear	and	
you	have	the	right-of-way.	
The	signal	has	the	same	
meaning	as	a	stop	sign.

•	 A	flashing	yellow	light	
means	you	may	go	ahead,	
but	proceed	with	caution.

•	 A	red	arrow	means	
you	cannot	make	the	
movement	shown	by	the	
arrow.		The	red	arrow	may	
be	shown	alone	or	with	
another	signal.	Unless	
entering	the	intersection	
to	make	a	movement	
allowed	by	another	signal,	
drivers	facing	a	red	arrow	
must	stop.

•	 A	yellow	arrow	means	the	
signal	is	going	to	change	to	
red	and	warns	you	to	clear	
the	intersection.

•	 A	flashing	yellow	arrow	
means	you	must	yield	
to	oncoming	traffic	and	
pedestrians.	You	may	
complete	the	turn	when	it	is	
safe	to	do	so.

•	 A	green	arrow	means	you	
may	go	in	the	direction	
shown	by	the	arrow,	but	you	
must	yield	to	pedestrians,	
bicycles	and	traffic	already	
in	the	intersection.	When	a	
green	turn	arrow	is	showing,	
the	turn	is	protected	from	
other	traffic.

You	may	make	a	left	turn	at	a	red	light	only	when	you	are	turning	from	a	one-way	street	onto	another	
one-way	street	that	has	traffic	moving	to	the	left.	You	must	signal,	come	to	a	complete	stop,	and	yield	
right	of	way	to	pedestrians	and	all	other	traffic	that	is	moving	as	directed	by	the	signal.

You	may	make	these	turns	unless	a	sign,	arrow	signal	or	police	officer	directs	you	not	to	turn.
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Pedestrian Crossing

Pedestrians	crossing	at	an	intersection	must	also	obey	traffic	signals.

•	 A	red light	means	do	not	cross	unless	a	pedestrian	signal	or	police	officer	directs	otherwise.

•	 A	yellow light	means	caution.	It	warns	you	the	light	is	changing	from	green	to	red.	The	
purpose	of	the	yellow	light	is	to	allow	vehicles	already	in	the	intersection	to	proceed	safely.	
	
Pedestrians	facing	a	yellow	light	must	not	start	across	the	street	unless	a	crosswalk	signal	or	
police	officer	directs	them.

•	 A	green light means	you	may	go	straight	ahead,	turn	right	or	turn	left,	unless	a	sign	forbids	
the	turn.	
	
Pedestrians	facing	a	green	light	may	cross	the	intersection,	unless	a	pedestrian	signal	or	police	
officer	directs	otherwise.	If	a	crosswalk	is	marked,	pedestrians	are	to	use	the	marked	area.	
	
Pedestrians	facing	a	green	turn	arrow	are	not	to	cross	unless	a	pedestrian	signal	or	police	
officer	allows	them	to	do	so.

Walk and Don’t Walk Signals

Walk/Don’t	Walk	signals	are	special	stop	and	go	lights	for	pedestrians.	If	these	signals	are	in	place,	
pedestrians	are	to	obey	them.	This	may	also	be	indicated	by	a	lighted	pedestrian	figure	or	hand	
symbol	in	the	signal.

•	 WALK	means	pedestrians	facing	the	signal	may	cross	the	
street	or	highway	in	the	direction	of	the	signal.

•	 DON’T	WALK,	if	flashing,	means	the	signal	is	changing.	
Pedestrians	may	not	start	across	the	roadway.	However,	if	
you	are	partly	across	when	this	begins	flashing,	you	may	
continue	to	the	sidewalk	or	safety	island.

•	 DON’T	WALK,	if	constant,	means	pedestrians	are	not	to	
cross.

Drivers and pedestrians are both responsible for safe use of our roadways. Drivers should always 
be prepared to yield to pedestrians.

Did You 
Know...
More than 25 
percent of 
pedestrians 
killed in Nevada 
during 2005 were killed 
walking in an intersection.
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Highway Markings 

Highway	markings	like	signs	warn,	regulate,	and	inform.	Markings	are	white	and	yellow,	and	each	
type	of	line	has	a	special	meaning.

•	 Broken	or	dashed	white	lines	are	used	to	mark	traffic	lanes	on	roads	which	have	more	than	
one	lane	moving	in	the	same	direction.	You	should	drive	within	these	lanes	and	not	straddle	
the	lines.	Passing	is	permitted	when	it	is	safe	to	do	so.	See	picture	(A)	below.

•	 Solid	white	lines	are	used	in	several	ways.	When	solid	white	lines	separate	lanes	of	traffic	
moving	in	the	same	direction,	do	not	change	lanes	or	pass.	The	only	exception	to	this	is	a	white	
line	separating	a	High	Occupancy	Vehicle	(HOV)	lane	on	a	freeway.	You	may	cross	to	enter	or	
exit	the	HOV	lane.	A	solid	white	line	is	also	used	to	mark	the	edge	of	the	highway	as	well	as	the	
boundary	between	a	travel	lane	and	a	highway	shoulder.

•	 Yellow	lines	separate	lanes	of	traffic	moving	in	
opposite	directions.

•	 Broken	or	dashed	yellow	lines	mean	you	
may	pass	when	it	is	safe	to	do	so.	See	(B).

•	 Solid	yellow	lines	indicate	that	you	are	not	
to	cross	over	or	pass.	A	solid	yellow	line	is	
also	used	to	mark	the	left	edge	on	multi-lane	
divided	highways.

•	 Double	yellow	lines	mean	you	cannot	pass	if	
the	lines	on	your	side	are	solid.	See	picture	(C)	
to	the	right.

•	 Crosswalk	lines	are	marked	by	solid	white	lines	or	various	patterns.	Always	stop	your	vehicle	
before	the	crosswalk.	At	some	intersections,	especially	in	small	towns	or	in	residential	areas,	
crosswalks	may	not	be	marked.	You	still	must	yield	to	pedestrians	in	the	intersection.

•	 Stop	lines	are	the	wide	white	lines	painted	across	a	
traffic	lane	where	you	must	stop	before	you	enter	the	
intersection.	You	should	be	able	to	see	traffic	coming	
from	all	directions.

•	 Dotted	white	lines	may	either	indicate	an	extension	
of	a	lane	line	through	an	intersection,	or	may	indicate	
exit-only	lanes	on	a	freeway.

•	 Center	lanes	for	left	turns	appear	on	many	streets	
and	roads.	Most	are	marked	on	each	side	by	solid	
yellow	and	broken	yellow	lines.	You	may	cross	these	
lines	only	to	make	a	left	turn	onto	or	from	the	highway.		
These	are	not	travel	lanes	and	may	not	be	used	for	
passing.	You	may	not	travel	more	than	200	feet	in	a	
center	turn	lane	before	making	a	left-hand	turn	and	
you	may	not	travel	more	then	50	feet	in	a	center	lane	
after	making	a	left-hand	turn	onto	the	highway	before	
merging	with	traffic.	[NRS	484.305	(3)]

BROKEN
LINE
(A)

SOLID AND
BROKEN LINE

(B)

DOUBLE
SOLID LINE

(C)

YES

YES

NO

NO

NO

CENTER TURN LANE



25

Railroad Crossings

Traffic	control	systems	for	railroad	crossings	may	include	signals,	signs,	lights	and	markings.	When	
you	see	the	round	railway	crossing	sign,	slow	down,	be	ready	to	stop,	and	remember:

•	 To	look	both	ways,	even	if	there	is	no	stop	sign	or	signal	that	a	train	is	coming.
•	 If	there	is	a	stop	sign	at	the	crossing	you	must	stop.	If	a	train	is	coming,	you	must	stop	at	least	

15	feet	from	the	tracks.
•	 Even	if	there	is	no	stop	signal	and	no	train	is	coming,	passenger	buses	and	trucks	carrying	

flammable	or	dangerous	materials	must	stop.

School Areas

Traffic	controls	in	school	zones	may	include	a	combination	of	signs,	signals,	markings	and	school	
crossing	guards.		Violating	the	direction	of	a	school	crossing	guard	is	a	misdemeanor	in	the	state	of	
Nevada.

In	school	zones	the	speed	limit	is	either	15	or	25	mph.		
These	speed	limits	are	in	effect	on	school	days	from	half	an	
hour	before	school	begins	to	half	an	hour	after	school	ends,	
unless	otherwise	posted.

Some	areas	may	use	flashing	yellow	lights	to	tell	you	when	
the	speed	limit	is	in	effect.		During	hours	students	are	
actually	in	classes,	these	lights	may	be	turned	off;	if	so,	
the	speed	limit	then	reverts	to	that	posted	for	non-school	
hours.

Signs	and	signals	clearly	show	these	speed	limits	and	designate	the	hours	when	the	
speed	limit	is	in	effect,	or	that	the	speed	limit	is	in	effect	when	children	are	present.		

Slow down and watch for children!

•	 If	the	signal	lights	are	flashing,	you	must	stop.	You	may	proceed	if	no	train	is	visible	or	it	is	
safe	to	cross.

•	 If	you	get	stuck	on	the	tracks,	leave	your	vehicle	immediately	and	notify	the	local	law	
enforcement	or	railroad	authorities.

•	 Never	park	your	vehicle	within	50	feet	of	the	nearest	rail	of	a	railroad.

•	 Do	not	shift	gears	while	crossing	the	tracks.
•	 If	you	are	stopped	at	a	crossing	where	there	is	more	than	one	set	of	

tracks,	wait	until	you	have	a	clear	view	in	both	directions	before	you	
start	across.

•	 Trains	cannot	stop	in	time	to	miss	cars.
•	 It	is	difficult	to	accurately	judge	the	speed	of	a	moving	train.
•	 A	crossbuck	sign	indicates	the	location	of	a	train	crossing	and	means	

you	must	yield	to	trains.
•	 If	a	gate	is	lowered,	you	may	not	proceed	around	it	even	if	no	train	is	

visible.
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Right-of-Way 

Right-of-way	rules	help	traffic	move	smoothly	through	intersections.	They	emphasize	courtesy,	
common	sense	and	cooperation.	Failure to yield the right-of-way is the major cause of accidents 
in Nevada. 

Generally,	right-of-way	means	the	right	of	one	vehicle	to	go	before	another	one.	
The	term	also	applies	to	pedestrians	and	bicycle	riders.	Nevada	law	does	not	
really	give	anyone	the	“right-of-way”	—	it	only	says	who	must	yield.	Even	when	
you	may	legally	have	the	right-of-way,	you	must	do	everything	possible	to	avoid	
an	accident.

•	 At	an	intersection	where	there	are	no	traffic	signs	or	signals,	the	vehicle	
on	your	right	should	usually	go	first.	If	you	have	the	right-of-way	and	
others	yield	it	to	you,	proceed	through	the	intersection	with	caution.

•	 A	vehicle	already	in	the	intersection	has	the	right-of-way	over	others	just	
getting	there.

•	 A	vehicle	going	straight	ahead,	and	that	is	already	in	the	intersection,	
has	the	right-of-way	over	one	turning	left.	After	yielding	(and	properly	
signaling)	the	vehicle	turning	left	then	has	the	right-of-way.

•	 Vehicles	entering	a	main	road	from	a	minor	road,	private	road	or	
driveway	must	yield	the	right-of-way	to	all	traffic	on	the	main	road	and	to	
pedestrians.

Other	right-of-way	rules	are:

•	 The	right-of-way	must	be	given	to	emergency	vehicles	approaching	from	any	direction	when	
they	are	sounding	a	siren	or	using	their	flashing	lights.	You	must	immediately	drive	to	the	right	
side	of	the	road	clear	of	any	intersection,	and	stop	until	the	emergency	
vehicle	has	passed.

•	 At	a	4-way	stop,	the	driver	reaching	the	intersection	first	gets	to	go	first,	
after	stopping	completely.

•	 When	entering	a	freeway	you	yield	right-of-way	to	traffic	on	the	freeway.	
You	may	enter	only	when	it	is	safe	to	do	so.

•	 Yield	right-of-way	to	bicyclists	who	are	riding	on	a	bike	path	or	lane.
•	 Yield	to	funeral	processions,	and	let	the	vehicles	with	headlights	on	pass	

as	a	group.

Pedestrian Right-of-Way Rules

•	 Pedestrians	in	crosswalks	and	at	intersections	have	the	right-of-way	
over	vehicles.

•	 Although	pedestrians	have	the	right-of-way	in	a	crosswalk	and	at	
intersections,	vehicles	don’t	always	stop.	Before	you	step	off	the	
curb,	make	certain	cars	in	both	directions	have	stopped.	Don’t	put	
yourself,	or	anyone	else,	in	the	position	for	a	potential	crash.	

•	 A	blind	person	who	is	on	foot	and	using	a	guide	dog	or	other	service	
animal	or	is	carrying	a	white	cane	or	walking	stick	has	the	right-
of-way	on	a	highway,	street	or	road	in	this	state.	A	driver	must	
yield	the	right-of-way,	come	to	a	full	stop	if	necessary,	and	take	
precautions	before	proceeding	to	avoid	accident	or	injury.	(NRS	
484.328)
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Controlling Speed 

Nevada	has	a	Basic	Rule	for	driving	at	a	“reasonable	or	proper”	speed.	This	means	that	in	addition	to	
any	posted	speed	limits	you	must	consider:

•	 The	amount	and	type	of	traffic.
•	 The	weather	and	the	distance	you	can	see.
•	 The	condition	of	the	road	surface;	that	is,	whether	it	is	

dry,	wet,	icy	or	snow-covered.
•	 The	type	of	road:

	— whether	it	is	flat	and	straight	or	steep	and	curvy.
	— whether	it	is	wide	or	narrow.

It	also	means	that	you	are	never	to	drive	at	a	speed	that	
endangers	you	or	anyone	else.	Depending	upon	conditions,	
the	safe	speed	may	be	considerably	less	than	the	posted	speed	
limit.

EXAMPLES	OF	SPEED	LIMITS	IN	NEVADA

15	mph	............... School	zones
25	mph		.............. Business	and	residential	areas	and	school	zones
35	mph
45	mph		.............. Reduced	speed	areas	going	into	towns
55	mph
65	mph		.............. Urban	freeways,	rural	highways
70	mph		.............. Rural	interstate	freeways

Remember:	Speed	limits	are	set	for	normal	driving	conditions.	When	bad	weather	makes	it	hard	to	see	
or	makes	the	road	slick,	you	need	to	adjust	your	speed.

Most	people	who	speed	do	so	to	save	time.	Let’s	look	at	how	much	or	how	little	time	is	actually	saved.

To	travel	5	miles:

At	70	mph	takes	4	minutes,	17	seconds.	Savings	over	60	mph	=	43	seconds.
At	60	mph	takes	5	minutes.	Savings	over	55	mph	=	27	seconds.
At	55	mph	takes	5	minutes,	27	seconds.

To	travel	15	miles:

At	70	mph	takes	12	minutes,	51	seconds.	Savings	over	60	mph	=	2	minutes,	9	seconds.
At	60	mph	takes	15	minutes.	Savings	over	55	mph	=	1	minute,	22	seconds.
At	55	mph	takes	16	minutes,	22	seconds.

The	next	time	you	want	to	speed	ask	yourself:

Why	am	I	in	a	hurry?
Does	it	really	matter?
Is	it	worth	endangering	myself	and	others?

And consider: if you are stopped and given a ticket, it will cost you both time and money!

Did You Know...
Driving too slowly 
can also be unsafe. 
Not only can this 
cause traffic to 
stack up — it may 
also cause other 
drivers to become impatient 
and attempt passing when it is 
not safe. When there are two 
or more lanes of traffic moving 
in the same direction, slower 
traffic must move to the right 
and allow other drivers to pass.
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Freeway Driving 

Freeways	are	usually	our	safest	roads.	Access	is	limited,	traffic	moves	in	the	same	direction	without	
stops,	and	there	are	no	intersections,	sharp	curves,	traffic	signals	or	railroad	crossings.	Even	so,	you	
need	good	driving	knowledge,	skills	and	attitudes	to	get	to	your	destination	safely.

Before	you	start,	plan	your	route.	If	you	are	not	sure	of	the	way,	study	a	map.	Know	the	entrances	and	
exits	you	will	need	to	take.	Also,	check	your	gas	gauge!

Entering a Freeway

•	 Be	sure	you	are	using	the	on	ramp	when	you	enter	the	
freeway.	Signs	will	say	“Do	Not	Enter”	and	“Wrong	Way”	
if	you	have	made	a	mistake.

•	 Using	the	merge	or	acceleration	lane,	look	for	an	opening	
in	traffic,	signal	and	accelerate	to	or	near	the	speed	
of	freeway	traffic.	Do	not	stop	before	merging	unless	
absolutely	necessary;	a	stop	can	mean	a	slow	and	
dangerous	start	into	fast-moving	traffic	and	can	affect	
traffic	behind	you.

•	 As	you	enter	from	a	merging	lane,	you	must	yield	to	
traffic	already	on	the	freeway.	If	you	are	already	traveling	
on	the	freeway,	watch	for	merging	traffic	and	adjust	your	
speed	to	allow	safe	and	smooth	merges.

•	 Driving	speeds	are	frequently	faster	on	freeways	than	on	
other	highways,	even	though	they	may	have	the	same	
posted	speed	limits.	This	is	because	there	are	fewer	stop-
and-go	situations.	Stay	with	the	flow	of	traffic.

•	 Freeways	have	several	lanes	in	each	direction.	On	these	
roads,	you	should	leave	the	extreme	left	lane	for	faster	
traffic.	Remember,	lane	hopping	is	always	dangerous,	
annoys	other	drivers,	increases	the	risk	of	accidents	and	
seldom	saves	time.

•	 Stay	alert!	Be	prepared	for	rapid	changes	in	road	
conditions	and	traffic	flow.	Search	much	farther	down	
the	road	–	at	least	20	to	30	seconds.

•	 Watch	traffic	all	around	you.	Be	aware	of	other	drivers	
who	are	changing	lanes,	passing	or	slowing	down.

•	 Use	your	mirrors	and	look	quickly	over	your	shoulder	before	changing	lanes.	Use	your	signals	
to	let	other	drivers	know	your	plans,	and	watch	for	their	signals.

SEARCH
20	to	30
seconds
or	more

IDENTIFY
GAP
Adjust	
Speed
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Ramp Meters and High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes 

If	a	freeway	entrance	is	equipped	with	ramp	meters	and	they	are	switched	on,	you	must:

•	 Pull	up	to	the	stop	line	and	stop	on	red.	

•	 Be	alert.	The	signal	will	change	more	rapidly	than	a	signal	at	an	
intersection.

•	 Wait	for	the	green	light.	

•	 When	the	light	turns	green,	proceed	along	the	ramp	and	merge	
onto	the	freeway	safely.

Some	freeway	entrance	ramps	have	more	than	one	travel	lane,	and	each	lane	is	controlled	by	its	
own	ramp	meter.	Motorists	are	encouraged	to	use	both	lanes,	and	to	abide	by	the	ramp	meter	signal	
controlling	their	lane	of	travel.

Some	metered	freeway	ramps	have	High	Occupancy	Vehicle	(HOV)	bypass	lanes	also	known	as	carpool	
lanes.	These	lanes	are	marked	with	a	diamond	on	the	pavement	and	are	not	metered.	If	you	are	in	a	
carpool	of	two	or	more	people,	you	may	use	the	HOV	ramp	meter	bypass	lane	without	stopping.	

Exiting a Freeway

Most	freeway	exits	have	a	special	lane	for	you	to	use	before	you	reach	the	exit	ramp.	Avoid	slowing	
down	on	the	freeway	itself.	Wait	until	you	are	in	the	deceleration	lane.	Then	slow	gradually	until	your	
speed	matches	the	posted	exit	ramp	speed.

•	 Look	ahead	for	signs	telling	you	about	the	exit	you	want	and	the	lane	you	need	to	use.

•	 Check	in	front,	behind	and	to	the	side	for	traffic.	Signal	and	move	into	the	proper	lane	a	mile	
or	more	before	the	exit.	Most	exits	are	numbered	to	help	you	quickly	spot	the	one	you	want	to	
take.	These	numbers	are	also	usually	listed	on	the	major	freeway	signs.

•	 If	you	miss	the	exit	ramp,	never	turn	around	or	back	up.	Go	to	the	next	exit,	get	back	on	the	
freeway	in	the	opposite	direction,	and	return	to	the	exit	you	want.	

ONE
CAR
PER

GREEN
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Anti-Lock Braking Systems 

ABS	stands	for	anti-lock	braking	system.	Anti	lock	brakes	prevent	skidding	and	allow	drivers	to	steer	
during	an	emergency	braking	situation.	

You	can	find	out	whether	your	car	has	ABS	by	looking	for	a	lighted	ABS	symbol	on	the	dashboard	
right	after	starting	the	engine,	checking	the	owner’s	manual	or	asking	the	dealer.	

You	will	know	your	ABS	is	not	working	if	the	ABS	symbol	stays	lighted	on	the	dashboard	long	after	
the	car	has	started.	The	conventional	brakes	will	continue	to	work	even	when	ABS	does	not.	If	this	
happens,	follow	the	traditional	lessons	learned	for	emergency	braking	or	stopping	situations.

There	are	two	types	of	ABS,	4-wheel	ABS	and	rear-wheel	anti-lock	brakes.

It	is	easy	to	use	4-wheel	ABS	once	you	know	how.	In	simple	terms,	all	you	have	to	do	is	brake	and	
steer.	That	is,	you	should	push	the	brake	pedal	down	hard,	hold	it	down	firmly	and	steer	in	the	
direction	you	want	the	car	to	go.

You	should	not	turn	the	steering	wheel	hard	or	jerk	it	in	one	direction.	You	can	maintain	control	by	
steering	where	you	want	to	go.	You	need	to	check	that	traffic	is	clear	when	you	decide	where	to	steer	
and	you	must	remember	to	steer	back	into	the	original	lane	as	soon	as	the	hazard	is	cleared.	Also,	you	
must	avoid	jerking	the	wheel	too	far	as	this	can	cause	the	vehicle	to	end	up	in	the	emergency	stopping	
lane	or	shoulder	of	the	road.

Many	drivers	have	learned	that	the	correct	way	to	stop	in	an	emergency	situation	where	traction	is	lost	
and	the	vehicle	slides	is	by	pumping	the	brakes.	While	this	may	be	correct	with	conventional	brakes,	
with	4-wheel	ABS	it’s	different.	In	an	emergency	situation,	ABS	pumps	the	brakes	automatically	for	
the	driver	at	a	much	faster	rate	than	the	driver	ever	could.

Four-wheel	ABS	works	like	this:	Whenever	the	vehicle’s	computer	detects	that	one	or	more	wheels	are	
locking,	ABS	begins	to	pump	the	brakes	to	avoid	locking.	All	drivers	need	to	do	is	press	down	hard	on	
the	brake	pedal,	hold	it	down	and	steer	out	of	danger.

Rear	wheel	anti-lock	brakes	are	found	only	on	some	light	trucks.	They	prevent	the	rear	wheels	from	
locking	up	so	the	back	end	of	the	vehicle	does	not	skid	sideways.	However,	the	front	wheels	can	still	
lock	up	and	cause	the	driver	to	lose	steering	control.	If	this	happens,	you	should	let	up	on	the	brake	
pedal	just	enough	to	allow	the	front	wheels	to	start	rolling	again	to	regain	steering	control.

Drivers	should	be	aware	that	removing	steady	pressure	from	the	brake	pedal	or	pumping	the	brakes	
will	disengage,	or	“turn	off”	the	ABS.
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Stopping 

The	ability	to	judge	how	much	time	and	space	you	need	to	stop	your	vehicle	is	a	major	part	of	safe	
driving.	The	rear-end	collision	is	the	number	one	crash	type	on	Nevada’s	streets	and	highways.

Your	stopping	distance	depends	upon	many	factors,	such	as:

•	 The	type	and	weight	of	the	vehicle	you	are	driving.
•	 Your	speed.
•	 The	condition	of	the	tires	and	brakes.
•	 The	surface	of	the	road.
•	 Your	reaction	time.
•	 How	alert	or	how	tired	you	are.
•	 The	weather.

To	stop	your	vehicle,	three	things	must	occur:

•	 You	have	to	see	and	understand	the	reason	for	stopping.
•	 Your	brain	has	to	send	a	message	telling	your	foot	to	step	on	the	brake	pedal.
•	 Your	foot	has	to	move	to	the	brake	pedal	and	push	down.

The	amount	of	time	it	takes	from	when	you	see	that	you	need	to	stop	until	you	step	on	the	brakes	
is	called	reaction	time.	Reaction	time	increases	as	driving	decisions	become	more	complex	or	when	
unexpected	events	occur.	Highway	safety	studies	show	normal	reaction	times	are	2	to	2.5	seconds.

Stopping	your	vehicle	also	involves	braking	time	and	distance.

•	 Braking	time	is	how	much	time	it	takes	for	the	brakes	and	friction	between	the	road	and	tires	
to	stop	your	vehicle.

•	 Braking	distance	is	how	far	your	vehicle	travels	during	this	time.

The	most	important	point	for	any	driver	to	remember	is	that	if	you	double	your	speed	—	say	from	30	
mph	to	60	mph	—	your	braking	distance	does	not	become	twice	as	long,	it	becomes	four	times	as	far.

Stopping	distances	on	a	wet	highway	may	be	more	than	double	those	on	dry	pavement.	Be	especially	
careful	during	the	first	rain	of	a	season	because	the	mixture	of	oil	and	water	on	the	pavement	is	very	
dangerous.	Stopping	distances	on	packed	snow	and	ice	are	greatly	increased.	For	example,	if	you	are	
going	30	mph,	your	stopping	distance	on	ice	would	be	373	feet,	well	over	the	length	of	a	football	field.

Most	cars	will	begin	to	lose	traction	and	“hydroplane”	between	speeds	of	35	and	55	mph	in	heavy	
rainfall.	When	this	happens,	you	lose	control	of	your	vehicle.	Slow	down.

92 Ft. 35 Ft.

128 Ft. 68 Ft.

165 Ft. 113 Ft.

238 Ft.

202 Ft. 168 Ft.

256 Ft.

127 Ft. (4.40 seconds)

494 Ft.
(7.86 seconds)

196 Ft. (5.14 seconds)

278 Ft. (5.90 seconds)

370 Ft. (6.66 seconds)

25

35

45

55

65
MPH Perception and Reaction Distance Braking Distance

STOPPING DISTANCE AND TIME
For a typical passenger car with perfect 4-wheel brakes, dry pavement, level road, 2.5 second reaction time.
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Defensive Driving Tips 

Giving	yourself	time	and	space	to	stop	is	easier	if	you	use	these	defensive	driving	guidelines:

• Look ahead at least 12 seconds.	This	means	at	a	minimum	
you	look	ahead	to	where	your	vehicle	will	be	12	seconds	from	
now.	
	
To	figure	how	far	this	is,	choose	a	fixed	object	in	front	of	
you	and	begin	counting,	“one	thousand	one,	one	thousand	
two,	etc.”	until	the	front	of	your	vehicle	passes	the	object.	If	
you	have	not	reached	“one	thousand	twelve,”	you	need	to	be	
looking	farther	ahead.	For	example,	at	30	mph	you	should	see	
a	little	over	a	block	ahead.	
	
The	12-second	rule	allows	you	to	watch	traffic	patterns	and	
react	to	changes.	When	you	are	driving	at	freeway	speeds	you	
need	to	look	ahead	at	least	20	to	30	seconds.

• Stay behind at least 2 seconds.	If	you	are	driving	40	mph	or	
less	stay	at	least	2	seconds	behind	the	vehicle	in	front	of	you.	
This	is	a	minimum	following	distance.	Most	driving	instructors	
recommend	up	to	4	seconds.	To	figure	this,	start	counting	“one	
thousand	one”	when	the	rear	of	a	vehicle	ahead	passes	a	fixed	
point,	such	as	a	sign.	If	you	reach	the	sign	before	you	have	
counted	“one	thousand	two,”	you	are	following	too	closely.	
	
Remember,	the	2-second	rule	is	a	minimum	following	distance.	
As	your	speed	increases,	so	does	the	time	and	distance	
required	for	you	to	stop.	For	example,	if	you	are	traveling	at	
55	mph,	you	would	need	almost	7	seconds	to	stop	with	perfect	
brakes	and	ideal	road	conditions.	So,	at	highway	speeds	or	at	
any	speed	when	streets	and	roads	are	slippery	and	visibility	
is	reduced,	allow	a	safe	distance	between	you	and	the	next	
vehicle.

• Give yourself room to maneuver.	In	traffic,	this	involves	the	
speed	you	are	traveling	and	your	lane	position.	You	want	to	
be	between	the	clusters	of	vehicles	in	front	of	and	behind	you.	
You	also	want	to	choose	a	lane	position	that	allows	you	the	
most	options	for	movement.

• Intersections.	When	approaching	an	intersection	it	is	
important	to	look	in	all	directions.	You	should	look	left,	right	
and	left	again	just	before	entering	the	intersection.

SEARCH
12	seconds	or	more
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5	seconds	or	more
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What To Do If You Are Stopped By Law Enforcement 

Moving	violations	are	the	most	common	reason	that	a	vehicle	is	stopped.	Some	examples	include	
speeding	offenses,	failure	to	stop	at	a	light	or	sign,	failure	to	use	a	signal	or	failure	to	drive	within	
the	marked	lanes.	It	is	not	uncommon	for	a	driver	to	be	in	violation	of	the	law	without	knowing	it.	
Courtesy	and	safety	concerns	are	other	reasons	an	officer	might	stop	your	car.

So	what	do	you	do	when	you	see	red	lights	flashing	in	the	rearview	mirror?	Pull	over	and	stop!	Drivers	
who	are	stopped	by	law	enforcement	officers	are	encouraged	to	follow	these	instructions:

•	 Stop	your	vehicle	as	far	out	of	the	lane	of	traffic	
as	possible.	Stay	in	your	vehicle,	and	if	you	are	
stopped	at	night,	turn	on	the	interior	light.	Good	
lighting	assists	good	communication.	If	you	leave	
the	vehicle,	you	subject	yourself	and	the	officer	to	
danger	from	nearby	traffic.

•	 Keep	your	hands	in	plain	view	at	all	times,	
preferably	on	the	steering	wheel	and	refrain	from	
making	any	sudden	movements.	Wait	for	the	
officer	to	request	your	license,	registration	and	
evidence	of	insurance.

•	 Officers	are	trained	to	ask	for	identification	first,	and	provide	an	explanation	of	why	you	were	
stopped	second.	Provide	the	documents	requested,	then	give	the	officer	a	chance	to	explain	
why	you	were	stopped.	This	will	speed	up	the	process.	Remember,	in	most	cases,	the	officer	is	
in	uniform	and	is	displaying	a	badge	and	name	tag.	You	have	the	advantage	of	knowing	with	
whom	you	are	dealing;	the	officer	does	not.	Extend	the	courtesy	by	presenting	the	requested	
paperwork	promptly	and	without	an	argument.

•	 Don’t	argue	the	citation	with	the	officer.	If	you	think	that	the	citation	was	wrongly	issued,	the	
proper	procedure	is	to	request	a	hearing	through	the	court	system	or	attend	the	hearing	for	
which	you	received	notification.

Racial Profiling

“Racial	profiling”	means	reliance	by	a	peace	officer	upon	the	race,	ethnicity	or	national	origin	of	a	
person	as	a	factor	in	initiating	action	when	the	race,	ethnicity	or	national	origin	of	the	person	is	not	
part	of	an	identifying	description	of	a	specific	suspect	for	a	specific	crime.	(NRS	289.820)

If,	based	on	the	above	definition,	you	feel	you	are	a	victim	of	racial	profiling	during	a	routine	stop,	
you	may	report	your	concerns	to	the	law	enforcement	agency	in	which	the	officer	works.	You	may	
want	to	have	the	following	information	available	when	you	make	your	report:	Date,	time	and	location	
of	the	incident;	the	name	of	the	officer	involved,	and	a	badge	number	if	possible;	any	witness	contact	
information	and	a	copy	of	the	citation	if	one	was	issued.	
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Roundabouts 

A	roundabout	is	a	large	circular	area	in	the	middle	of	an	intersection	meant	to	control	the	right-of-way	
of	vehicles.	It	is	a	traffic	management	tool	that	moves	traffic	through	an	intersection	without	the	aid	of	
traffic	signals	and	may	decrease	the	traffic	volume	as	well.

Entering	traffic	must	yield	the	right-of-way	to	the	traffic	circulating	within	the	roundabout	and	
decrease	speed	while	traveling	in	one	direction	with	traffic	already	in	the	roundabout.

How To Drive In A Roundabout

1.	 As	you	approach,	choose	which	lane	to	use	as	you	would	for	any	other	intersection.	Use	the	
left	lane	to	turn	left,	complete	a	U-turn	or	go	straight.	Use	the	right	lane	to	turn	right	or	go	
straight.

2.	 Yield.	Those	in	the	roundabout	have	the	right-of-way.	Wait	for	a	gap	in	the	traffic.
3.	 All	vehicles	in	the	roundabout	travel	in	ONE	DIRECTION	–	counterclockwise.
4.	 Never	change	lanes.	If	you	are	in	the	inside	lane	and	miss	your	exit,	you	must	continue	around	

until	you	reach	the	exit	again.	
5.	 Use	your	right	turn	signal	when	exiting.

Trucks:

1.	 Drive	on	the	circulatory	roadway,	except	
large	commercial	trucks	and	trailers	
are	permitted	to	use	the	truck	apron	
provided	around	the	center	island	to	
negotiate	the	tight	turning	radius.

2.	 Drive	(usually	with	just	the	rear	wheels)	
on	the	raised	pavement	of	the	truck	
apron	to	navigate	more	easily.

3.	 Cars	should	not	use	the	truck	apron.

Bicyclists:

1.	 If	you	are	comfortable	riding	in	traffic,	
take	the	lane	and	circulate	with	the	
vehicles	making	sure	to	yield	to	traffic	in	
the	circle	when	entering.

2.	 Ride	at	the	speed	of	the	circular	roadway	
to	discourage	cars	from	wanting	to	pass	
you.

3.	 Use	hand	signals	when	exiting	the	
roundabout.

4.	 If	you	are	unsure	about	using	the	
roundabout,	dismount	and	walk	your	
bike	in	the	designated	crosswalks.

Pedestrians:

1.	 Stay	in	the	designated	crosswalks	at	all	times.
2.	 Never	cross	to	the	central	island.
3.	 Watch	for	cars;	you	have	the	right-of-way,	but	always	pay	attention.
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Signaling, Turning, Lane Changes and Passing 

Signaling

Using	signals	to	tell	others	that	you	are	going	to	change	lanes,	turn,	slow	down,	stop	or	park	is	
common	courtesy,	it	is	also	the	law.	Most	vehicles	have	turn	signal	lights;	brake	lights	are	required	
equipment.	Hand	and	arm	signals	can	also	be	used.

Note: If the turn signals or brake lights on your car are temporarily out of order you need to use 
hand signals.

•	 Left	turn	—	Extend	left	arm	horizontally	out	of	open	window.
•	 Right	turn	—	Extend	left	arm,	with	elbow	bent	upward,	at	about	a	90-degree	angle.
•	 Slowing	or	stop	—	Extend	left	arm	downward,	with	palm	of	hand	to	the	rear.

Turning

To	make	safe	and	legal	turns	you	must	do	the	following:

•	 Make	sure	you	are	in	the	correct	lane	well	ahead	of	time.
•	 Look	ahead,	behind	and	to	each	side	of	your	vehicle.
•	 Be	aware	of	other	drivers	and	pedestrians.
•	 Signal	your	turn	at	least	100	feet	ahead	(about	10	car	lengths)	on	city	streets	and	300	feet	(30	

car	lengths)	on	open	highways.
•	 Watch	for	and	obey	traffic	signals,	signs	and	pavement	markings	that	direct	your	movement.
•	 Allow	time	and	space	to	make	your	turn	safely.	Slow	down.
•	 Yield	the	right-of-way	to	pedestrians	and	other	traffic.
•	 Steer	through	the	turn	and	accelerate	to	the	speed	of	traffic.	Be	sure	your	turn	signal	is	off	

after	you	enter	the	flow	of	traffic.

Note: Many crashes are caused by drivers making turns. When turning, be especially aware of 
pedestrians and bicyclists, as well as other vehicles. Before making your turn, look one more time in 
each direction.

LEFT
TURN

RIGHT
TURN

STOPPING
or SLOWING
ABRUPTLY
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When	turning	right,	you	must	be	in	the	extreme	right-hand	travel	
lane	or	a	lane	designated	for	right	turns.	If	a	single	lane	is	provided	
to	be	used	only	for	turning,	you	may	only	enter	the	lane	if	you	are	
making	a	right	turn,	and	may	not	travel	through	an	intersection	
while	driving	in	the	right-turn	lane.	Turn	into	the	right-hand	lane	of	
the	roadway	you	are	entering,	or	the	lane	designated	for	the	turn.	If	
you	then	need	to	change	lanes,	signal	and	proceed	carefully	to	the	
next	lane	when	you	are	well	away	from	the	intersection.

When	turning	left,	keep	your	wheels	pointed	straight	ahead	until	you	
begin	to	actually	complete	the	turn.	On	a	2-way	road	use	the	lane	
just	to	the	right	of	the	center	line,	and	complete	the	turn	into	the	
traffic	lane	closest	to	you	going	in	your	intended	direction.	Do	not	
attempt	to	change	lanes	until	you	can	do	so	safely.

Lane changes

When	you	want	to	change	lanes:

•	 Use	your	rear	and	side-view	mirrors	to	check	traffic.
•	 Signal	100	feet	(10	car	lengths)	on	city	streets,	300	feet	(30	car	lengths)	on	highways	or	

freeways,	before	changing	lanes.
•	 Check	blind	spots	by	looking	over	your	shoulder	and	change	lanes	when	traffic	is	clear.
•	 Do	not	change	lanes	in	an	intersection.

U-Turns

In	Nevada,	U-turns	are	generally	allowed	on	any	road	when	they	can	be	made	safely.	They	are	
specifically	not	allowed:

•	 Anytime	a	traffic	sign	or	signal	prohibits	them;
•	 In	a	business	district,	except	at	an	intersection	or	an	appropriate	opening	on	

a	divided	highway;
•	 On	curves;	or
•	 Near	a	grade	where	there	is	less	than	500	feet	of	visibility	in	both	directions.
•	 You	should	also	be	aware	that	local	authorities	and	the	Nevada	Department	

of	Transportation	may	prohibit	U-turns	at	any	location	within	their	respective	
jurisdictions.

Left	Mirror

Right	Mirror

Rear	Mirror

Blind	Spot

Blind	Spot
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Passing Another Vehicle

Safe	passing	rules	depend	on	the	type	of	street	or	highway	you	are	using.	However,	you	should	never	
exceed	the	speed	limit	to	pass	and	you	may	never	use	the	shoulder	of	the	road	to	pass.

Passing is not safe...

On	two-lane	roads

•	 On	two-lane	roads	where	traffic	moves	in	opposite	directions	
you	may	pass	on	the	left	only	when:
	— You	can	see	clearly	ahead	and	there	is	no	immediate	
oncoming	traffic;

	— There	is	a	broken	yellow	line	on	the	highway	or	when	the	
broken	yellow	line	is	in	your	lane;	and

	— It	is	safe	to	do	so.

•	 When	passing	on	a	two-lane	road,	turn	your	left	signal	light	
on	100	feet	ahead	in	business	or	residential	areas,	or	300	
feet	ahead	in	other	areas.	After	you	have	passed,	pull	back	
into	your	lane	when	you	can	see	the	vehicle	you	passed	in	
your	rear-view	mirror.

•	 You	must	not	pass	on	a	two-lane	road:
	— When	coming	to	a	curve	or	the	top	of	a	hill	where	you	
cannot	see	far	enough	ahead	to	be	sure	it	is	safe;

	— At	a	street	crossing	or	within	100	feet	of	it;
	— At	a	railroad	crossing	or	within	100	feet	of	it;
	— Where	there	is	a	double	solid	yellow	line	on	the	highway;	
or

	— Where	there	are	signs	prohibiting	it.
•	 When	another	vehicle	comes	up	behind	yours	and	signals	

to	pass,	move	to	the	right	in	your	travel	lane	and	let	it	pass.	
Never	speed	up	when	another	vehicle	is	passing	you.

On	multi-lane	streets	and	highways

You	may	pass	vehicles	traveling	in	the	same	direction	on	the	left	if	there	are	no	signs	or	highway	
markings	that	indicate	passing	is	not	allowed,	and	it	can	be	done	safely.	Remember	to	signal,	check	
your	mirrors	for	any	traffic	and	look	over	your	shoulder	before	moving	out	of	your	lane.	Never	pass	to	
the	left	of	a	driver	who	is	making	or	signaling	a	left	turn.

You	may	pass	on	the	right	if	the	street	or	highway	is	clearly	marked	for	two	or	more	lanes	of	traffic	
moving	in	the	same	direction	you	are,	but	only	when	passing	is	safe.	Passing	on	the	right	is	very	
dangerous	if	the	other	driver	does	not	see	you	and	decides	to	change	lanes.	Again,	remember	to	signal,	
check	your	mirrors	and	look	over	your	shoulder	to	check	your	blind	spots	before	you	change	lanes.	
Never	pass	on	the	right	when	doing	so	would	result	in	driving	off	the	paved	portion	of	the	highway.

Passing Bicyclists

When	passing	a	cyclist,	a	motorist	must	move	into	the	lane	to	the	left	if	more	than	one	lane	for	traffic	
in	the	same	direction	exists	and	doing	so	is	reasonably	safe.

If	an	adjacent	lane	does	not	exist,	pass	to	the	left	of	the	bicycle	at	a	safe	distance	which	must	be	not	
less	than	three	feet.	The	motorist	may	not	move	back	to	the	right	until	the	vehicle	is	safely	clear	of	the	
bicycle.	Traveling	in	a	marked	bicycle	lane	is	prohibited.
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Passing Parked Vehicles

•	 If	you	are	driving	past	parked	vehicles,	stay	alert!
•	 Watch	for	any	sign	that	a	vehicle	may	be	pulling	out	in	front	of	you,	such	as:

	— Turn	signal	is	on
	— White	backup	lights	are	on
	— Red	brake	lights	are	on
	— Exhaust	is	coming	from	the	tailpipe

•	 Watch	for	pedestrians,	bicyclists	and	skateboarders	trying	to	cross	between	parked	cars.
•	 Watch	for	vehicle	doors	opening	in	front	of	or	beside	you.

Parking

Here	are	some	general	rules	about	parking	safely	and	legally.

•	 Whenever	you	park	and	leave	your	vehicle,	turn	off	the	engine	and	set	the	parking	(emergency)	
brake.

•	 Before	opening	your	door	to	get	out,	look	carefully	for	bicycles	and	other	vehicles.
•	 Be	sure	you	have	your	keys	then	lock	your	vehicle.

Note: Steering Wheel Locking Device — Never turn your vehicle’s ignition to the “lock” 
position while it is still in motion. This will cause the steering to lock if you try to turn 
the steering wheel, and you will lose control of your vehicle.

•	 Your	vehicle	should	face	in	the	direction	that	normal	traffic	flows.
•	 The	legal	parking	position	is	with	the	front	and	rear	wheels	within	18	inches	of	the	curb.
•	 Your	vehicle	should	be	visible	for	200	feet	(about	20	car	lengths)	in	each	direction.
•	 When	a	roadway	has	no	curb	or	other	barrier,	and	there	are	no	other	signs	or	markings	giving	

instruction,	you	should	park	parallel	to	the	road.
•	 If	you	must	stop	on	a	highway:

	— Park	with	all	four	wheels	well	off	the	pavement,	if	possible.
	— Leave	enough	space	for	other	vehicles	to	pass	safely.
	— Use	your	parking	lights	or	4-way	flashers	if	visibility	is	poor,	or	if	it	is	between	sunset	and	
sunrise.

•	 When	you	have	to	use	emergency	parking	areas	on	highways	and	freeways,	always	use	your	
4-way	flashers	or	parking	lights.

Colored Curb Markings

Colored	curb	markings	mean	that	parking	is	controlled:

•	 White	usually	indicates	you	are	allowed	a	very	short	stop	only	to	take	on	
or	let	off	passengers,	or	to	drop	mail	in	a	mailbox.

•	 Green	allows	you	to	park	for	a	limited	time.	The	amount	of	time	is	usually	
shown	on	a	sign.

•	 Yellow	means	a	loading	zone	and	rules	depend	on	local	laws.
•	 Red	means	no	stopping,	standing	or	parking;	local	laws	apply.
•	 Blue	designates	handicapped	parking	areas.
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Parallel Parking

Parallel	parking	areas	are	still	common	in	many	Nevada	communities.	Parallel	parking	is	a	driving	
skill	that	requires	both	patience	and	practice.	Here	is	how	you	do	it	when	there	is	only	one	space	open	
between	two	cars.

1.	 As	you	approach	the	parking	space,	check	the	
traffic	beside	and	behind	you.	If	the	driver	behind	
you	is	far	enough	away	to	stop	or	move	around	
you	safely,	put	on	your	turn	signal	to	show	you	are	
preparing	to	park.

2.	 Make	sure	the	space	is	big	enough	for	your	vehicle	
(about	5	feet	longer	than	your	car).	Pull	up	beside	
the	car	parked	immediately	in	front	of	your	chosen	
space.	Your	car	should	be	about	2	or	3	feet	away	
from	the	one	beside	you	and	your	rear	bumpers	
should	be	lined	up	across	from	each	other.	See	A.

3.	 Shift	to	reverse,	check	your	mirrors	and	look	over	
your	shoulder	for	traffic	behind	and	beside	you,	and	
slowly	back	up,	turning	the	steering	wheel	all	the	
way	to	the	right.	(These	instructions	are	for	parking	
on	the	right	side.)	See	B.

4.	 When	the	back	of	your	front	seat	is	in	line	with	the	
rear	bumper	of	the	car	you	are	parking	behind,	
straighten	the	wheels	by	steering	smoothly	and	
quickly	to	the	left.	See	C.	Keep	your	speed	slow.	If	
you	do	not	straighten	your	front	wheels,	you	end	
up	with	your	right	rear	wheel	hitting	the	curb.	If	
you	turn	your	steering	wheel	too	far	to	the	left,	your	
right	front	fender	may	hit	the	car	you	are	parking	
behind.

5.	 Continue	to	back	up	slowly	until	your	front	fender	just	clears	the	other	car’s	left	bumper.
6.	 Looking	over	your	right	shoulder,	back	slowly,	turning	the	steering	wheel	to	the	left	and	stop	

before	touching	the	vehicle	behind	you.
7.	 Shift	to	drive.	Move	slowly	forward,	turn	your	steering	wheel	to	the	right	to	straighten	the	

wheels,	and	center	your	car	in	the	space.	You	should	be	about	18	inches	from	the	curb.	See	D.
8.	 When	you	are	correctly	positioned,	stop,	shift	to	park	(in	an	automatic	transmission	car)	or	

reverse	(in	a	manual	transmission	car)	and	set	the	parking	brake.

Parking on a Hill

When	parking	on	a	hill,	turn	your	front	tires	so	that	if	your	
vehicle	should	start	to	roll,	it	will	move	away	from	traffic	or	
into	the	curb.	

When	your	vehicle	is	headed	downhill,	turn	your	front	tires	
toward	or	into	the	curb	or	road	shoulder.

When	headed	uphill	and	there	is	a	curb,	turn	your	front	
tires	away	from	the	curb.	When	headed	uphill	and	there	
is	no	curb,	turn	your	front	tires	toward	the	road	shoulder.	
Always	set	your	parking	brake.

DOWNHILL
UPHILL

WITH CURB
UPHILL 

WITHOUT CURB

TURN	
WHEELS	
TO	CURB

TURN	
WHEELS	

FROM	CURB

TURN	
WHEELS	
TO	RIGHT
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No Parking Allowed

You	may	not	park	your	car	in	any	of	the	following	places	(NRS	484.399):

•	 On	a	sidewalk.
•	 In	front	of	a	public	or	private	driveway.
•	 Within	an	intersection.
•	 Within	15	feet	of	a	fire	hydrant	in	a	place	where	parallel	parking	is	

permitted,	or	20	feet	of	a	fire	hydrant	if	angle	parking	is	permitted.
•	 On	a	crosswalk	or	within	20	feet	of	a	crosswalk.
•	 Within	30	feet	of	a	traffic	control	signal	at	the	side	of	a	highway.
•	 Within	50	feet	of	the	nearest	rail	of	a	railroad.
•	 Within	20	feet	of	a	driveway	entrance	to	any	fire	station	and,	on	the	

side	of	a	highway	opposite	the	entrance	to	any	fire	station,	within	75	
feet	of	that	entrance.

•	 Next	to	or	opposite	any	highway	construction	zone.
•	 Next	to	any	vehicle	already	parked	on	the	side	of	the	highway	(double	

parking).
•	 On	any	bridge	or	other	elevated	structure	or	within	a	highway	tunnel
•	 In	a	space	reserved	for	the	handicapped	unless	you	have	the	special	

license	plate	or	window	placard	that	entitles	you	to	use	the	space.
•	 Wherever	parking	is	prohibited	by	signs	or	curb	markings.
•	 Within	a	bicycle	lane	(unless	your	vehicle	is	disabled).

In an Emergency

If	you	have	car	trouble,	move	to	the	shoulder	or	emergency	stopping	area	as	soon	as	you	safely	can.	
Turn	on	your	4-way	flashers	to	warn	other	traffic.	If	possible,	it	is	better	to	stay	in	or	near	your	car	
on	the	far	side	from	passing	traffic.	Walking	along	a	freeway	is	dangerous.	If	you	stay	with	your	car	a	
Nevada	Highway	Patrol	trooper	will	stop	to	help	you.	DO	NOT	STOP	ON	A	FREEWAY	EXCEPT	FOR	AN	
EMERGENCY.

International Symbol of Access

This	symbol,	that	appears	on	reserved	parking	signs,	placards	and	license	
plates,	is	the	international	symbol	of	access	for	persons	with	disabilities.	
Parking	spaces	marked	with	this	symbol	may	only	be	used	when	the	person	
(to	whom	the	valid	disabled	placard	or	license	plate	were	issued)	are	either	
operating,	or	being	transported	in,	the	vehicle.

It	is	illegal	for	anyone	else	to	park	in	spaces	marked	by	this	symbol.	The	
minimum	fine	for	doing	so	has	been	raised	from	$100	to	$250.	(NRS	
484.408)
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Your ability to adjust to different driving conditions is very important. You also need to recognize when 
conditions are too dangerous to risk driving at all.

Night Driving

Driving at night is always more difficult than daytime driving and it is more hazardous. At night you 
cannot see as far, as soon or as much. The glare from oncoming headlights also adds to the difficulty. 
You can make your night driving safer in these ways:

• Always drive within the range of your headlights.
• Keep your speed in control and within posted speed limits.
• Do not look directly into the headlights of oncoming vehicles; look down and to the right side of 

your lane.
• Use the road edge line or center line for a guide.
• Keep your windshield clean, inside and out.
• Never wear sunglasses when driving at night.
• At night pedestrians are difficult to see – be aware.

Legally, you must use your headlights from a half hour after sunset until a half hour before sunrise. 
Headlights are also required because of insufficient light and anytime persons or vehicles cannot be 
clearly seen at a distance of 1,000 feet. Using your headlights is advised whenever you are driving in 
rain, snow or fog. Headlights are also required when directed by an official traffic control device.

• Use high beams in open country at night. Change to low beams at least 500 feet before any 
oncoming vehicles and 300 feet before any vehicle you are following.

• You may flash the headlights to warn a driver ahead you intend to pass.
• Keep headlights clean.
• You should not drive with just the parking lights on.

4 SPECIAL DRIVING CONDITIONS
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Driving in Bad Weather

Nevada’s weather is notoriously unpredictable. Sudden wind, rain and snowstorms create especially 
hazardous conditions. Winter driving in many parts of the state means using roads that may be icy or 
snow-packed.

The most important thing you need to do when driving in bad weather is slow down. Remember, 
stopping distances on slippery roads may be 2 to 10 times greater than on dry pavement. And, if 
there is fog, or if it is raining or snowing, you will not be able to see as well as you would normally. 
Remember that other drivers will be having the same difficulties.

Give other drivers plenty of space and pay special attention to the taillights on vehicles in front of you. 
When driving on snow and ice:

• Use all-weather radial tires, snow tires or chains. Even properly equipped vehicles may slide on 
ice or snow-packed roads.

• Get the feel of the roadway; start out very slowly then gently test your brakes to find out how 
well you can stop. Start slowing down long before you come to an intersection or turn.

• Keep a safe distance.
• Reduce speed. There is no such thing as a completely safe speed on snow and ice. Each city 

block or stretch of highway may be different, depending upon sun, shade, amount of sanding 
and other conditions.

• Avoid sudden changes in speed or direction. In general, gentle braking (using a slow light touch 
and release pattern) will allow you to slow down and stop safely. However, if your vehicle has 
an anti lock braking system (ABS), a firm, continuous pressure on the brake pedal is needed to 
activate the anti lock feature. Please refer to your vehicle owner’s manual.

• Keep windows and windshield clear.
• Allow yourself plenty of extra time to get to your destination.

Note: Studded snow tires may only be used from October 1 through April 30. Tires with 
retractable studs are allowed any time of year but the studs may be extended or engaged only 

during dates indicated.

Skidding

In most cases, skidding happens on ice or packed snow, but it can also occur on wet pavement or 
on graveled roads. Skidding means your vehicle’s tires have lost traction. Different types of braking 
and steering systems, and vehicles with 4-wheel drive or front-wheel drive, respond in different ways. 
Please consult your vehicle owner’s manual for specific information on skid recovery.

Driving Emergencies

Safe handling of driving emergencies such as blowouts, brake failure, a stuck gas pedal and near 
misses with other vehicles, requires special knowledge and skills.

Vehicles’ features and operating procedures vary greatly from one manufacturer to another. Your 
vehicle owner’s manual is the best source for information on mechanical system failures. Please take 
the time to become familiar with your vehicle’s safety materials and specific features.

The following tips may help you deal with some situations. In all emergencies, stay calm and use 
common sense.
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Brakes Fail

Try pumping the brake pedal. If the brakes still do not respond:

• Use the emergency parking brake.
• If possible, shift to a lower gear. To prevent wear on the brakes, use a lower gear when you are 

driving downhill for long stretches.

Wet Brakes

After driving through deep water you should test your brakes. They may pull to one side or not hold 
at all. To dry the brakes, put your car in low gear, drive slowly and lightly apply the brakes. Test them 
about every 200 feet, continuing until braking action returns to normal.

Windshield Wipers Fail

If the wipers fail in heavy rain or snow, slow down, roll the window down and put your head outside so 
you can see. Move your car to the right (if possible) off the highway and stop as soon as possible.

Accelerator (Gas Pedal) Sticks

Quickly press your foot hard against the pedal and release. This may free or release it. If not: 

• Shift to neutral;
• Apply the brakes; and
• Pull off the highway to the right (if possible) and stop.

Headlights Fail

Slow down and pull off the roadway as soon as you can. Sometimes, when headlights fail, parking 
lights, turn signals or 4-way flashers will still work and can be used to guide you safely to the side of 
the road.

Fire

If smoke comes from under the hood, slow down, pull off the road and turn the ignition off 
immediately. Use extreme caution when opening the engine hood. If you do not have a chemical fire 
extinguisher, you can smother a fire by using sand or dirt. DO NOT USE WATER because burning 
gasoline will float on water and spread the fire. If you have no way to stop the fire, or if it gets out of 
control, move well away (at least 100 feet) from your vehicle.

Steering Fails

• If you suddenly lose steering control, ease up on the accelerator.
• If your car continues to hold the lane, slow down and then gently apply the brakes. Use your 

4-way flashers to warn other drivers!
• If your vehicle heads off the road or toward another vehicle or a pedestrian, apply the brakes 

quickly, using maximum pressure.
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Oncoming Vehicle in Your Lane

If you see a vehicle coming toward you in your lane, slow down, sound your horn, flash your 
headlights and pull as far to the right as you safely can. Do not swing into the lane the approaching 
vehicle has left because the other driver may suddenly realize their mistake and turn back into the 
proper lane.

Running Off the Pavement

Running off the highway can result in an extremely serious single-vehicle crash. This type of 
“accident” accounts for a high number of fatalities in Nevada. Driver fatigue, inattention and speeding 
are all major factors in these crashes.

If your vehicle drifts onto the shoulder or if you are forced off the road:

• Stay calm.
• Take your foot off the accelerator. If you brake, do so carefully.
• Grip the steering wheel firmly.
• Do not try to swerve back onto the pavement. Instead, stay on the shoulder until you have your 

vehicle completely under control, and then gently ease back onto the road.

Blowouts

A blowout (when a tire suddenly loses air) can throw a vehicle out of control. Use the following tips for 
safe recovery:

• Grip the steering wheel firmly.
• Ease up on the gas pedal to slow down. Do not hit the brakes!
• Look for a safe place to pull off, and signal your intent to move off the highway.
• When you are sure your vehicle is under control and you have slowed down, gently use the 

brakes to stop.
• Make sure your vehicle is safely off the roadway and use parking lights or flashers to warn 

other drivers.

Flooded Engine

If your vehicle engine is flooded:

• Do not pump the gas pedal. Instead, press the pedal to the floor, and run the starter steadily 
for short intervals (10 –15 seconds).

• When the engine starts, release the gas pedal.

Disabled Vehicle

• If possible, get all four wheels off the roadway.
• Use parking lights, flashers or flares to warn other drivers.
• Have the vehicle towed as soon as possible.
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Tips for Driving in a Flash Flood

Nevada’s dry climate creates an ideal situation for flash flooding to occur, particularly during the 
summer months. Drivers need to use extra caution when driving during a summer storm, spring thaw 
or prolonged rains.

More than half of all flash flood fatalities are auto-related, and less than one inch of water can cause a 
driver to lose control of his or her car. Additionally, most vehicles can float in two feet of water or less. 
Finally, only six inches of water traveling at a high rate of speed can push a car off the road.

If you encounter a flooded roadway, don’t attempt to drive through it. Turn around and seek an 
alternate route or wait until the water subsides. Although it may look like just a few inches of water 
on the roadway, you have no idea if the road has washed away underneath providing a hazardous 
situation for drivers. It is also difficult to determine the depth of floodwaters.

If your vehicle stalls in rising flood water, and you can safely do so, abandon it immediately and seek 
higher ground. Rapidly rising water may engulf the vehicle and its occupants and sweep them away. 
Once vehicles begin to float they move toward deep, faster-moving water where escape is even more 
dangerous and top-heavy vehicles may roll over. Deaths often occur because people mistakenly believe 
that vehicles provide protection from rising, swiftly moving waters. 

However, if you find yourself in this situation you must make a judgment call about whether you can 
make it to higher ground or if you would be better off remaining with your vehicle. The only sure safety 
rule is to turn around and avoid flooded roadways in the first place.

Additional guidelines:

• Be especially cautious at night when it is harder to recognize flood dangers.

• Avoid already flooded areas and areas subject to sudden flooding. Do not attempt to cross 
flowing streams or water flowing over the roadway.

• If you are driving and come upon rapidly rising waters, turn around and find another route. 
Move to higher ground away from streams, creeks and flood control channels.

• If your route is blocked by floodwaters or barricades, find another route. Barricades are put up 
by local officials to protect people from unsafe roads. Never drive around barricades. Driving 
around them can be a serious risk.
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Highway Work Zones

Work zones are identified with orange signs, cones and barrels. Work zones are hazardous areas for 
both workers and motorists. Stay alert. Often, lanes narrow and the road is not smooth. Sometimes 
cars must come to a complete stop. Use extra caution when approaching cars ahead since they may be 
stopped. Flaggers and pilot cars are often used to control traffic. Do not move any barriers or signs to 
cross over a road that is closed to traffic. Doing so is illegal and you will be subject to double penalties 
for work-zone violations.

Fines for speeding double in work zones! Black and white speed limit signs are 
regulatory. Orange speed limit signs are advisory and indicate slower, safer 
speeds. If time is a concern, consider another route or start your trip earlier.

Visibility in a work zone may be reduced, especially at night. Be alert and do 
not drive when you are tired. Watch for other drivers who may be sleepy.

• Whenever you see orange signs, slow down, watch for equipment and 
people working on the road.

• Be aware of flaggers working to direct traffic and follow their 
instructions for everyone’s safety.

• Merge carefully and cooperatively.

Traffic control in work zones provides additional safety for those who are working. It is also meant to 
protect and reduce risks to motorists traveling through the work zone. For everyone’s sake, be careful, 
obey the signs and arrive safely.

Approaching a Stopped Emergency Vehicle

Drivers in Nevada have certain duties when approaching a stopped 
emergency vehicle making use of flashing lights. These apply to all types of 
emergency vehicles including tow trucks.

In the absence of direction by a peace officer, the driver of a vehicle 
approaching a stopped emergency vehicle must:

• Decrease the vehicle speed to a speed that is reasonable and proper 
and less than the posted speed limit.

• Proceed with caution.
• Be prepared to stop; and
• If possible, drive in a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which 

the emergency vehicle is stopped unless the roadway, traffic, weather 
or other conditions make doing so unsafe or impossible.

When passing stopped 
emergency vehicles, 
slow to less than the 
posted limit and move 
into a non-adjacent lane.
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Commercial Vehicles

Over 200,000 crashes occur between cars and commercial vehicles each year. Many of these crashes 
could be avoided by keeping these points in mind:

• Large commercial vehicles cannot maneuver like a car or other smaller vehicles.
• Large commercial vehicles have much larger blind spots than smaller vehicles.
• Large commercial vehicles take more time and space to slow down or stop.
• Most crashes between large commercial trucks and other smaller cars are caused by the car 

drivers.
• In commercial vehicle and small car accidents, the people in cars are much more likely to be 

killed or injured than the driver of the commercial vehicle.

What is a No-Zone?

The “No-Zone” is the area around large commercial trucks or buses where cars “disappear” into blind 
spots. If truck drivers cannot see you, the possibility of a collision is greatly increased. These blind 
spots are the Side No-Zone, Rear No-Zone and Front No-Zone areas. The right-side blind spot is 
doubly dangerous because trucks and buses make wide right turns!

Side No-Zones

Do not “hang out” on either side of trucks or buses!

Trucks and buses have big No-Zones (blind spots) on both sides. They are much larger than your car’s 
blind spots. If you cannot see the driver’s face in the side view mirror, he or she cannot see you. If that 
driver needs to swerve or change lanes for any reason, the chances of a collision are greatly increased.

5 SHARING THE ROAD
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Front No-Zones

Pass safely!
You could get “rear ended” by a large commercial truck or bus if you “cut in front” too soon after 
passing, then immediately slow down. If you do this, truck and bus drivers may be forced to slam on 
their brakes. They need nearly twice the time and distance to stop as cars. So, when passing, look for 
the whole front of the commercial truck or bus in your rear-view mirror before pulling in front, and 
then do not slow down!

Rear No-Zones

Avoid tailgating!
Unlike cars, large commercial trucks and buses have huge No-Zones directly behind them. The truck 
or bus driver cannot see your car there, and you cannot see what is going on beyond the truck or bus. 
If the truck or bus driver brakes or stops suddenly, you have no place to go and could end up running 
into them.

Pay close attention!
Never pass behind a commercial truck that is backing up! Hundreds of motorists and pedestrians 
are killed or injured each year by ignoring trucks that are backing up. The truck drivers cannot see 
smaller vehicles or people directly behind them and may not see you cutting in behind them.

Wide Right Turns

Avoid the “squeeze play”!
Large commercial truck and bus drivers sometimes need to swing wide to the left in order to safely 
make a right turn, or swing wide to the right to safely make a left turn. They cannot see cars directly 
behind or beside them. Trying to “squeeze” in between the commercial vehicle and the curb is an 
invitation to disaster!

Motorcycles

Motorcyclists have the same rights and the same responsibilities as other drivers. However, there are 
special situations and conditions we all need to be aware of so we can safely share the road with them.

• Motorcycle operators have the right to use a complete traffic lane. Per NRS 486.351 (3), 
“Motorcycles and mopeds may, with the consent of the drivers, be operated no more than two 
abreast in a single traffic lane.”  Without the consent of the driver, motorcycles couldn’t ride 
side by side and would have to remain in a staggered formation.

• Because of their smaller size, motorcycles are less visible and may appear to be farther away 
than they really are.

• It is difficult for other drivers to judge how fast a motorcycle is going.
• Motorcycles may be forced from their position on the road by strong winds or a rough road 

surface.
• Turn signals are not self-canceling on most motorcycles. Before you make a lane change or 

turn that depends on what a motorcycle’s path is, be sure you know what a motorcyclist is 
doing.

• Watch for clues, such as operators or passengers turning their heads to look behind, or 
operators beginning to lean or tilt their motorcycles.

• If you are coming up behind a motorcycle, slow down sooner than you would for another 
vehicle. Leave plenty of space.
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• Always dim your headlights when approaching a motorcycle. Because 
motorcyclists balance as well as steer their vehicles, the blinding effect of 
your high beams can be far more dangerous to them than to drivers of cars 
or large commercial trucks.

• Bad weather and slippery roads can present real problems for 
motorcyclists. Allow even more following distance when it is raining or 
when the road is slippery.

Motorcycle operators require a special endorsement to their Nevada driver’s 
license. If you want additional information, please contact your local DMV office 
and ask for a copy of the Motorcycle Handbook. You may also visit the DMV web 
site at www.dmvnv.com.

School Buses

You are required to stop for school buses that are loading or unloading students. NRS 484.357 
requires a driver to stop at any location for a school bus displaying a flashing red light signal. You may 
not attempt to overtake or proceed past the school bus until the bus driver has turned off the flashing 
red lights. There is an exception to this rule; on divided highways, you need to stop only when you are 
traveling in the same direction as the school bus. 

Nevada law allows school bus drivers to report violations to the school district and the Department 
of Motor Vehicles. When this occurs, the registered owner of the vehicle will be sent a warning letter 
explaining the seriousness of the violation.

BOTH CARS
MUST STOP

SCHOOL BUS LOADING
AND UNLOADING
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Bicycles 

The number of people using bicycles for transportation and recreation is increasing. Cyclists must 
obey the same rules and regulations as other types of vehicles. The safe interaction between bicyclists 
and motorists is the responsibility of both parties. 

Motorists who cause even a minor collision with a bicycle or pedestrian or who intentionally interfere 
with the movement of a bicycle may be charged with reckless driving. Penalties include a driver license 
suspension. Bicyclists may not intentionally interfere with the movement of a motor vehicle.

• Cyclists may ride in a traffic lane, staying as far to the right 
as practicable unless preparing to turn or overtake another 
vehicle.

• Cyclists must obey all traffic signs and signals. If a cyclist 
chooses to cross an intersection in a crosswalk, he should 
dismount and cross as a pedestrian.

• Bicyclists must use hand signals to let others know what they 
plan to do. The operator is required to give a hand signal one 
time unless the bike is in a designated turn lane or if safe 
operation requires the rider to keep both hands on the bicycle. 
The cyclist may use his right arm to signal a right turn. 

• At intersections, motorists must yield to cyclists as they would for other vehicles and 
pedestrians.

• When passing a cyclist, a motorist must move into the lane to the left if more than one lane for 
traffic in the same direction exists and doing so is reasonably safe.

• If an adjacent lane does not exist, pass to the left of the bicycle at a safe distance which must 
be not less than three feet. The motorist may not move back to the right until the vehicle is 
safely clear of the bicycle.

• Motorists must yield the right-of-way to a cyclist on a bicycle path or in a bike lane.
• Motorists may not stop, park or drive on a designated bicycle path or lane unless they are 

entering or leaving an alley or driveway, performing official duties, directed by a police officer or 
an emergency situation exists.

• Inexperienced riders, especially children, require special courtesy and care. They may not 
always follow traffic rules. Be especially careful around these riders and expect the unexpected.

Be Especially Cautious...

• When turning at an intersection or driveway, check both ways for cyclists. 
• Never speed up to pass a cyclist just before you make a turn.
• When parked on the street, check to your rear for cyclists before you open your car door.
• Check both ways for cyclists when backing out of a driveway or parking lot.

All Cyclists Should...

• Obey the law.
• Wear a helmet.
• Wear brightly colored clothing.
• Keep bikes in good repair.

Cyclists Should Not...

• Ride on the wrong side of the road.
• Wear a headset (headphones, cellular phone ear piece, etc.) when riding.
• Ride at night without required lights and reflectors.

Remember – Motorists and cyclists have an equal 
right to use our roadways and need to be mutually 
courteous and cooperative.
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Passengers in the Bed of a Truck

If you live in Nevada, and if you are under the age of 18, you may not ride on the bed of a flatbed truck 
or within the bed of a pickup truck if the truck is being driven on a paved highway. The exception to 
this is if you are being driven in a parade authorized by a local authority, or if the vehicle is being used 
in the course of farming or ranching.

Pedestrians

As a motorist, you must watch for pedestrians on streets and highways. You should be especially 
careful when children are present.

Motorists are required to exercise due care to avoid a collision with a pedestrian; pedestrians must not 
place a motorist in the position that it is impossible to avoid a collision. Motorists who cause even a 
minor collision with a pedestrian may be charged with reckless driving.

• Drivers must exercise proper caution upon observing a pedestrian on or near a highway, street 
or road, within or near a school zone or within a marked or unmarked crosswalk. Pedestrians 
have the right-of-way when crossing at an intersection. Drivers are obligated to yield to 
pedestrians who are attempting to cross the road.

• It is illegal for motorists to overtake any vehicle that is slowing down or stopped until the 
motorist slows down enough to determine why the other vehicle has slowed or stopped.

• Be particularly aware and careful of pedestrians at intersections. Watch for pedestrians at stop 
signs, traffic signals and around transit stops.

• A crosswalk exists anywhere two streets intersect, even at a “T” intersection. A crosswalk exists 
even if it is not painted or marked. 

• When a traffic signal turns green, drivers must yield to persons who are still crossing the 
street. Pedestrians have the right of way over motorists making a right-hand turn. 

• If there is a sidewalk, pedestrians should use it. If there is no sidewalk, pedestrians should 
walk on the side of the road facing the traffic.

• Vehicles yielding to a pedestrian should wait until the pedestrian has crossed into the lanes 
going in the other direction before proceeding.

• If a crossing guard is present, motorists must wait until the guard is completely out of the 
crosswalk before proceeding. 

Safe Walking Tips

• Use crosswalks. If the crosswalk has a signal, obey it.
• A flashing “Don’t Walk” means do not cross. If you are in the intersection when a signal starts 

flashing, finish crossing.
• Before crossing, look left, right and left again for oncoming or turning traffic. Establish eye 

contact with drivers who slow down or stop to ensure the driver is yielding the right-of-way to 
you.

• Whenever possible, wear brightly colored clothing when walking to alert drivers of your 
presence.

• If walking at night, carry a flashlight and use reflective materials to help drivers see you.

Remember – Courtesy and cooperation will greatly enhance pedestrian safety!
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6 TOWING

Non-commercial class C drivers may tow a single vehicle or a combination of vehicles with a gross 
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or less and a total length of no more than 70 feet.

This chapter is meant to provide class C drivers some general information on towing.  For further 
information on towing or for those who wish to obtain a J endorsement, read the Nevada Non-
Commercial A and B, J Endorsement Study Guide.  The study guide can be found on the DMV website 
at www.dmvnv.com.

Loading and Securing a Trailer

Loading a Trailer 

This section tells you about loading your trailer safely whether it is a travel trailer, fifth wheel, horse 
trailer, or other type of trailer. All drivers must understand some basic loading safety rules. If you load 
a trailer wrong, it can be a danger to others and to yourself. Other highway users can hit or be hit by 
items that come loose, or the inside of your trailer can be damaged during a quick stop or crash. 

Weight and balance 

It is important to know the weight and balance of your loaded trailer. Overloading can have bad effects 
on steering, braking and speed control. Overloaded vehicles have to go very slowly on upgrades. 
Worse, they may gain too much speed on downgrades. Stopping distance increases and brakes can fail 
when forced to work too hard. 

Here are some definitions of weight you should know: 

•	 Gross	vehicle	weight	(GVW)	— The total weight of a single vehicle plus its load. 
•	 Gross	combination	weight	(GCW) — The total weight of a powered unit plus trailer(s) plus the 

load. 
•	 Gross	combination	weight	rating	(GCWR) — The weight specified by the manufacturer of a 

vehicle as the combined loaded weight of that vehicle and a trailing vehicle. 
•	 Axle	weight — The weight transmitted to the ground by one axle or one set of axles. 
•	 Tire	load — The maximum safe weight a tire can carry at a specified pressure. This rating is 

stated on the side of each tire. 
•	 Suspension	systems — Suspension systems have a manufacturer’s weight capacity rating. 
•	 Coupling	device	capacity — Coupling devices are rated for the maximum weight they can pull 

and/or carry. 
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Don’t be top-heavy. The height of the vehicle’s center of gravity is very important for safe handling. 
The higher the “center of gravity” (items piled up high or heavy items on top) means it is easier to turn 
over. It is very important to distribute the load or cargo so it is as low to the ground as possible. Put 
the heaviest items under the lightest parts or in the lower storage compartments. Rolling over is also 
more likely in curves, if you have to swerve to avoid a hazard, or turns. There are two things that a 
driver can do to prevent a rollover. They are: (1) Go slow around turns; and (2) Keep the cargo as close 
to the ground as possible. 

Balance the weight. Improper weight balance can make vehicle handling unsafe. Too much weight on 
the steering axle can make steering difficult and cause damage to the steering axle and tires. Under-
loaded front axles (caused by shifting the weight too far to the rear) can make the steering axle weight 
too light to steer safely. Also, too little weight on the driving axles can cause poor traction and the 
drive wheels may spin easily. During bad weather, the vehicle may not be able to maintain balance. If 
you have too much weight on one side of the trailer, it could cause it to rollover, especially on turns. 
On flatbed trailers, there is also a greater chance that the load will shift to the side or fall off. 

Securing a Trailer 

Ball and Hitch Coupler 

The ball and hitch coupler is used on many types of trailers. This type of hitch is composed of a ball 
attached to the towing vehicle and a coupler at the end of the tongue or A-frame assembly at the front 
of the trailer. A load distributing hitch is used for heavier models such as utility trailers, boat trailers, 
and travel trailers. Load distributing hitches use special equipment to distribute the tongue load to all 
axles of both the tow vehicle and the trailer. This helps stabilize the tow vehicle. 

It is important to ensure the ball attachment is locked into the mounting attachment of the towing 
vehicle with the pin and clip or other locking device, the ball is seated firmly in the coupler, and the 
coupler safety latch is secured in the down position. Also ensure the safety chains are attached, the 
electric lines are firmly seated and locked in place, but the chains and lines are not tangled, pinched, 
or dragging. All components of the ball and hitch coupling should be present and not missing or 
broken. The trailer tongue should also not be bent, cracked, or otherwise damaged. 

Fifth Wheel Hitch 

This type of hitch is mounted to the bed of a truck and is used with a fifth wheel trailer. The fifth 
wheel trailer has a kingpin at the end of the coupling unit on the front of the trailer. It is a very stable 
assembly, so not as much attention is given to balance and weight distribution. A disadvantage to this 
type of hitch is that it takes up most of the space in the bed of the truck, and the remaining space 
behind the hitch assembly must be kept clear for turning corners. 

Before you back under the trailer, make sure the trailer brakes are locked. It is important to make 
sure the locking lever is locked after the jaws close around the kingpin. If the locking lever is not 
locked, the coupling is not right and should be fixed before driving the coupled unit. Also make sure 
the mounting assembly is not loose or missing any parts and the kingpin is not bent. The mounting 
assembly must be solidly attached. 

Ensure the electric lines are connected and not chafed, spliced, or worn and are not tangled, pinched, 
or dragging. The platform should not have any cracks or breaks in the structure that supports the fifth 
wheel skid plate, and there should be no space between the upper and lower fifth wheel coupling. The 
trailer should be lying flat on the fifth wheel skid plate. Make sure the fifth wheel plate is greased as 
required to prevent steering problems. If equipped with a release arm, make sure it is in the engaged 
position and the safety latch is in place. To unlock the fifth wheel, pull the release handle to the open 
position.   
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Inspecting your trailer 

As part of your pre-trip inspection, check for overloads, poorly balanced weight, and items that are 
not secured correctly. Also check that all outside storage compartment doors are latched securely or 
locked. The truck and trailer connection should be tested for security by pulling gently forward in low 
gear against the locked trailer brakes and then looking at the connection. The electric lines and chains 
from the car, truck, or RV to the trailer should be secured, but with enough slack for turns. 

Inspect the trailer and the load securing devices again within 50 miles after beginning an extended 
trip. Make any adjustments needed and inspect again after you have driven for 3 hours or 150 miles. 
It would also be wise to inspect the trailer during every break you take throughout the drive.

Towing Safely

•	 Be Aware of Your Surroundings — To be a safe driver, you need to know what’s going on all 
around your vehicles. Not using your eyes properly is a major cause of accidents.

•	 Use Your Mirrors — It’s important to know what is going on behind and to the sides of your 
vehicle. You need to use your mirrors to be aware of traffic and to check your vehicle. Check 
your mirrors more often in special situations.

•	 Signal Your Intentions — Other drivers can’t know what you are going to do until you tell them. 
Signaling what you intend to do is important for safety, and it’s the law. 

•	 Communicate Your Presence — Other drivers may not notice your vehicle even when it’s in plain 
sight. Let them know you’re there to help prevent accidents.

The effect of vehicle weight on stopping distance 

The heavier the vehicle, the more work the brakes must do to stop it and the more heat they absorb. 
However, brakes, tires, springs, and shock absorbers on heavy vehicles are designed to work best 
when the vehicle is fully loaded. Actually empty trucks require greater stopping distances, because 
they have less traction. Also, an empty truck can bounce and lock up its wheels, giving poorer 
braking.

Managing Space 

To be a safe driver; you need space all around your vehicle. When things go wrong, space gives you 
time to think and to take action. To have space available when something goes wrong, you need to 
manage your space. While this is true for all drivers, it is especially important for large vehicles. They 
take up more space and require more space for stopping and turning.

Backing with a Trailer 

When backing a single vehicle, you turn the top of the steering wheel toward the direction you want to 
go. When backing with a trailer, you turn the steering wheel in the opposite direction. Once the trailer 
starts to turn, you must turn the wheel the other way to follow the trailer. 

Because you cannot see everything behind your vehicle, backing up is always dangerous. Avoid 
backing whenever you can. When you park, try to park so you will be able to pull forward when you 
leave. 

When you do have to back up with a trailer, try to position your vehicle so you can back in a straight 
line. Additionally, here are a few simple safety rules: 
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•	 Look at your path — Look at your line of travel before your begin. Get out and walk around the 
vehicle. Check your clearance to the sides and overhead in and near the path your vehicle will 
take. 

•	 Back slowly — Always back as slowly as possible. That way you can easily correct any steering 
errors. You also can stop quickly if necessary. 

•	 Use the mirrors — The mirrors will help you see whether the trailer is drifting to one side or the 
other. 

•	 Correct drift immediately — As soon as you see the trailer getting off course, correct it by 
turning the top of the steering wheel in the direction of the drift. 

•	 Use driver-side backing — Back and turn toward the driver’s side whenever possible especially 
on a curved path. Back to the driver’s side so you can see well. Backing toward the right side 
is very dangerous because you can’t see as well. If you back and turn toward the driver’s side, 
you can watch the rear of your vehicle by looking out the side window. Use driver-side backing 
even if it means going around the block to put your vehicle in this position. The added safety is 
worth it. 

•	 Pull forward — When backing a trailer, make pull-ups to reposition your vehicle as needed. 
•	 Use a helper — Use a helper when you can. There are blind spots. The helper should stand 

near the back of your vehicle where you can see them. Before you begin backing, work out a 
set of hand signals that you both understand. Agree on a signal for “STOP.” 

Right turns 

Here are some rules to help prevent right-turn crashes: 

• Turn slowly to give yourself and others more time to avoid problems. 
• If you are driving vehicles that cannot make the right turn without swinging into another lane, 

turn wide as you complete the turn. Keep the rear of your trailer close to the curb. This will 
stop other drivers from passing you on the right.  See Figure 1 below. 

• Don’t turn wide to the left as you start the turn. A following driver may think you are turning 
left and try to pass you on the right. You may crash into the other vehicle as you complete your 
turn. See Figure 2 below. 

• If you must cross into oncoming traffic to make a turn, watch out for vehicles coming toward 
you. Give them room to go by or stop. However, don’t back up for them because you might hit 
someone behind you.

Figure 1 Figure 2

Left turns 

On a left turn, make sure you have reached the center of the intersection 
before you start the left turn. If you turn too soon, the left side of your 
vehicle may hit another vehicle because of off-tracking. 

If there are two turning lanes, always take the right hand turn lane. Don’t 
start in the inside lane because you may have to swing right to make the 
turn. Drivers on your right may be hard for you to see. You may crash into 
them.
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Space needed to cross or enter traffic 

Be aware of the size and weight of your vehicle when you are crossing or entering traffic. Here are 
some important things to keep in mind: 

• Because of slow acceleration and the space large vehicles require, you may need a much larger 
gap to enter traffic than you would in a car. 

• Acceleration varies with the load. Allow more room if your vehicle is heavily loaded. 
• Before you start across a road, make sure you can get all the way across before traffic reaches 

you. 

Space overhead 

Hitting overhead objects is a danger. Make sure you always have overhead clearance. 

• Don’t assume that the height posted at bridges and overpasses are correct. Repaving or packed 
snow may have reduced the clearances since the heights were posted. 

• The weight of a vehicle changes its height. An empty trailer is higher than a loaded one. Going 
under a bridge when you were loaded does not mean that you can do it when you are empty. 

• If you doubt you have enough space to pass under an object, go slowly. If you aren’t sure 
you can make it, take another route. Warnings may or may not be posted on low bridges or 
underpasses. 

• Some roads can cause a vehicle to tilt. There can be a problem clearing objects along the edge 
of the road, such as signs or trees. Where this is a problem, drive a little closer to the center of 
the road. 

• Before you back into an area, get out and check for overhanging objects, such as trees, 
branches, or electric wires. It’s easy to miss seeing them while you are backing. (Also check for 
other hazards at the same time) 

Space Underneath

Many drivers forget about the space under their vehicles. That space can be very small when a vehicle 
is heavily loaded. Railroad tracks can stick up several inches. This is often a problem on dirt roads 
and in unpaved yards where the surface around the tracks can wear away. Don’t take a chance on 
getting hung up halfway across. Drainage channels across roads can cause the end of some vehicles to 
drag. Cross such depressions carefully.

Towing Multiple Vehicles

Combination of Vehicles 

Combinations of vehicles are usually heavier, longer, and require more driving skills than single 
vehicles or truck/trailer combinations. This means that drivers of combinations of vehicles need more 
knowledge and skill than drivers of single vehicles. In this section, we talk about some important 
safety factors that apply specifically to combinations of vehicles. 

When towing a combination of vehicles, the heaviest vehicle must always be in the first position 
behind the towing vehicle. The lighter vehicle should be in the rear. 

Vehicles with trailers have a dangerous “crack-the-whip” effect which increases with multiple trailers. 
When you make a quick lane change, the crack-the-whip effect can turn a trailer over. There are many 
accidents where only the trailer has overturned. 



57

“Rearward amplification” causes the crack-the-whip effect. Th3e figure below shows eight types of 
combination vehicles and the rearward amplification each has in a quick lane change. Rigs with the 
least crack-the-whip effect are shown at the top and those with the most are at the bottom. Rearward 
amplification of 2.0 in the chart means that the rear trailer is twice as likely to turn over as the truck. 
You can see that triples have a rearward amplification of 3.5. This means you can roll the last trailer of 
triples 3.5 times as easily. 

Steer gently and smoothly when you are pulling trailers. Trailers flip over from quick steering moves 
more easily than many vehicles.
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Brake early 

Control your speed whether fully loaded or empty. Large 
combination vehicles that are empty take longer to stop than 
when they are fully loaded. When lightly loaded, the very stiff 
suspension springs and strong brakes give poor traction and 
make it very easy to lock up the wheels. Your trailer can swing 
out and strike other vehicles. Your vehicle can jackknife very 
quickly. See Figure 4-2. 

In any combination rig, allow a lot of following distance and look 
far enough ahead so you can brake early. Don’t be caught by 
surprise and have to make a “panic” stop. 

Prevent trailer skids 

When the wheels of a trailer lock up, the trailer will tend to 
swing around. This is more likely to happen when the trailer is 
empty or lightly loaded. This type of jackknife is often called a 
“trailer jackknife.” This is shown to the right.

Recognizing the skid 

The earliest and best way to recognize that the trailer has started 
to skid is by seeing it in your mirrors. Any time you apply the 
brakes hard; check the mirrors to make sure the trailer is 
staying where it should. Once the trailer swings out of your lane, 
it is very difficult to prevent a jackknife. 

Stop using the brake 

Release the brakes to get traction back. Do not use the trailer hand brake (if you have one) to 
straighten out the rig. This is the wrong thing to do, since it is the brakes on the trailer wheels that 
caused the skid in the first place. Once the trailer wheels grip the road again, the trailer will start to 
follow the vehicle and straighten out. 
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In Nevada, all motorists must comply with mandatory insurance and financial responsibility laws.

Nevada law establishes minimum amounts of liability insurance that you must carry when you drive 
or own a vehicle. You are required to carry proof of liability insurance in your vehicle.

Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry a minimum coverage of $15,000 for 
bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or 
more persons in any one accident; and $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in 
any one accident. Coverage must be reported and provided by an insurance company authorized to do 
business in the State of Nevada.

The State of Nevada requires that all registered motor vehicles be covered by liability insurance. The 
Department of Motor Vehicles has established an Insurance Verification Program (IVP) to identify 
uninsured motorists and enhance the public safety of Nevada residents. Through the use of computer 
programs in partnership with licensed Nevada insurance companies, we have been very successful 
in identifying registration records where insurance has been terminated and no new policy has been 
issued. If your registration is suspended for a lapse of insurance and new coverage is not obtained, 
you will be required to pay a $250.00 reinstatement fee for each registered vehicle covered by that 
insurance.

The financial responsibility laws also apply to accidents, and include the following provisions:

• If you are in an accident that is investigated by law enforcement, your insurance information 
and a description of damages or injuries will be sent to our financial responsibility section by 
the investigating officer.

• If you are in an accident that is not investigated by law enforcement and the accident causes 
$750 or more in damages or anyone is injured, you must, within 10 days, complete and send a 
Report of Accident Form (SR-1) to:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Central Services Division — Financial Responsibility Section
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400

• You must complete the accident report form (SR-1) if you are either the driver or the registered 
owner of the vehicle.

• You can get a report form from any DMV office, the Nevada Highway Patrol, a local law 
enforcement agency or the DMV web site at www.dmvnv.com.

7 INSURANCE AND  
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
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• For any accident, our Financial Responsibility Section determines:
 — Who was at fault;
 — If all vehicles or drivers were insured; and
 — The total amount of liability.

• If you are at fault and do not have liability insurance:
 — Your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration may be suspended;
 — You will have to post a deposit with the DMV to cover the costs of the accident; or
 — You must make arrangements with the other parties to pay for damages or injuries.

SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility

Some drivers may be required to file a Form SR-22, as a condition of reinstatement. The period of 
coverage begins when you actually reinstate and you need only to file this form once. Do not purchase 
this coverage until you have met all other reinstatement requirements and are ready to apply for your 
license.

The SR-22 is a form of liability insurance on a driver’s license that allows the Department to monitor 
the insurance of a suspended and/or revoked driver record through paperwork received from the 
driver’s insurance company. The cost of this insurance is dependent upon the structure of the 
insurance company.

For more information regarding financial responsibility laws, please call or email the DMV.

What To Do in a Crash

• Stop.
• Get medical help for the injured.
• Warn traffic.
• Notify law enforcement.
• Fender bender? Move to the shoulder. If there is damage only to a vehicle or other property 

(no injuries), your vehicle is obstructing traffic and the vehicle can be moved safely, move the 
vehicle to a location that does not obstruct traffic and then return to the scene.

• Exchange your name, address, driver’s license number, registration and insurance information 
with other drivers involved.

• If the accident involves an unattended vehicle or other property, you must give the owner your 
name, address, driver’s license number, registration and insurance information, either in 
person or by leaving a note.

If you do not report an accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles, your driver’s license and/or your 
vehicle registration may be suspended.
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In Nevada getting a driver’s license is a privilege. Once you have your license, you need to continue 
to drive safely, obey the rules and respect the rights of other drivers. If you do not, your license may be 
suspended, revoked or cancelled.

Information about traffic accidents and convictions becomes part of your driving record. Even traffic 
violations that occur in other states are added to your Nevada driving record.

Most violations are reportable to your insurance company for 3 years. DUI-related convictions stay on 
your record for 7 years.

Demerit Point System

As part of our driver improvement program, we have a demerit point system. That is, traffic law 
violations are assigned a point value. When we receive a conviction notice from a court, the offense is 
entered on your driver record and points are assigned. Demerit points are counted during a 12-month 
period.

• If you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your license will be suspended.
• If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by 

completing a traffic safety course. The school must be one of those approved by DMV. You may 
attend traffic school only once in a 12-month period to remove points from your record.

• Attending traffic safety school removes a maximum of 3 demerit points. Points will be removed 
when the school reports completion for credit. However, the record of the conviction remains 
part of your driving history.

Note: Conviction of major traffic offenses, such as DUI or causing substantial bodily harm, by 
itself will result in your license being revoked. These offenses are not assigned demerit points.

When your driving record and total points show you may be having trouble driving safely, you will be 
contacted by our license review section.

8 YOUR DRIVING RECORD
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The following is a partial list of traffic violations, showing the demerit points that are assigned to your 
driving record:

Reckless driving ............................................................................................ 8
Careless driving ............................................................................................ 6
Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident .............. 6
Following too closely...................................................................................... 4
Failure to yield right-of-way ........................................................................... 4
Failure to yield to a pedestrian ...................................................................... 4
Disobeying traffic signal or stop sign ............................................................. 4
Impeding traffic, driving too slowly ................................................................ 2
Failure to dim headlights .............................................................................. 2

Speeding

1-10 mph over posted limit............................................................................ 1 
11-20 mph over posted limit .......................................................................... 2
21-30 mph over posted limit .......................................................................... 3
31-40 mph or more over posted limit ............................................................. 4
41 mph or more over the posted speed limit .................................................. 5
Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions ................... 2

Note: If you have a Commercial Driver’s License, there are additional penalties for some traffic 
violations, and additional demerit points may be assigned.

It is against the law to give false information when applying for your Nevada driver’s license. 
It is also illegal to alter your license in any way, to lend it to someone else or to use another 
person’s license.

www.dmvnv.comwww.dmvnv.com

Visit www.dmvnv.com for an online driver 
history printout and complete lists of demerit 
points, violation codes and court information.
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9 DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

Alcohol is a mind-altering drug that works as a sedative. It changes the way you think and act. It 
affects judgment and coordination. In 2005, it was a factor in over 37 percent of Nevada’s highway 
deaths.

Usually, the term drugs refers to controlled substances, such as marijuana or cocaine, that are illegal. 
However, this term can also apply to prescription and over-the-counter medications. There are many 
drugs such as tranquilizers, sleeping pills, cold and allergy medicines, and pain medications that can 
affect your driving ability.

The effects of any drug can vary significantly from one person to another, and can also vary in the 
same person at different times.

Taking more than one drug at a time is particularly dangerous because each one 
can add to the impact of the other. This is especially true when one of the drugs 
is alcohol.

Nevada laws on driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs are tough. 
Under these laws, there are two types of penalties:

•	 Administrative, which is an action taken against a driver by the Nevada 
Department of Motor Vehicles, regardless of the court findings.

•	 Criminal, which is action taken by the court system.

If an officer suspects you are driving under the influence, you will be asked to 
take blood, breath or urine tests. These tests are given to determine if you have 
used alcohol or drugs. You cannot refuse the tests. An officer may direct that 
blood samples be drawn even on a first offense.

Under Nevada’s Illegal Per Se Law, if chemical tests show an alcohol concentration of .08 percent or 
more, or any detectable amount of a controlled substance, your driving privilege will be revoked. If you 
are under the age of 21 and a chemical test shows an alcohol concentration of .02 percent, but less 
than .08 percent, your driving privilege will be suspended. This is an administrative penalty and the 
officer can take your license immediately.

Note: Even though an alcohol concentration of .08 percent is used as a guide, you can be 
arrested and convicted with a lower level.

Anytime you lose your license, you can ask for an administrative hearing through the Department of 
Motor Vehicles.
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Penalties for DUI 

• Administrative - Illegal Per Se Action

.08 alcohol concentration or detectable amount of controlled substance in your blood (or .04 or 
more but less than .08 if you hold a commercial driver’s license), you will receive:

 — Driver’s license is revoked for 90 days.
 — May be required to file an SR-22, Proof of Financial Responsibility. See Chapter 6.
 — Criminal penalties may be imposed.

.02 alcohol concentration for drivers under 21 years of age
 — Driver’s license is suspended for 90 days.
 — May be required to file an SR-22, Proof of Financial Responsibility. See Chapter 6.
 — Criminal penalties may be imposed.

• Criminal

First DUI offense:
 — Driver’s license revoked for 90 days. After half the 

revocation period has been completed a restricted license may be issued.
 — Jail sentence of 2 days to 6 months, or 96 hours of community service.
 — Fine of $400 to $1,000.
 — Payment of tuition for DUI school; average cost is $150.
 — May be ordered to attend a program of treatment when the concentration of alcohol in your 

blood or breath is .08 or more.

Second DUI offense within 7 years:

 — Driver’s license revoked for 1 year; not eligible for restricted license.
 — Jail sentence or residential confinement of 10 days to 6 months.
 — Fine of $750 to $1,000.
 — 100 to 200 hours of community service.
 — Possible vehicle registration suspension.
 — May be ordered to attend a program of treatment or be placed under clinical supervision of 

a treatment facility for treatment for up to one year.

Subsequent DUI offense within 7 years:

 — Driver’s license revoked for 3 years; a restricted license may be issued; contact your local 
DMV office for more information.

 — Prison sentence of 1 to 6 years.
 — Fine of $2,000 to $5,000.
 — Possible vehicle registration suspension.
 — May be ordered to attend a program of treatment for a minimum of 3 years.

DUI causing death or serious injury:

 — Driver’s license revoked for 3 years.
 — Prison sentence of 2 to 20 years.
 — Fine of $2,000 to $5,000.

If you have a Commercial Driver’s License, any detectable amount of alcohol can affect your 
driving privilege. More severe DUI penalties also apply, including lifetime disqualification from 
commercial driving.



66

DUI Laws for Young Drivers

Tough DUI laws also apply to young drivers. A licensed driver under the age of 18, found by juvenile 
court to have been driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, will have his or her 
license suspended for 90 days. 

A driver under the age of 18 who is found by juvenile court to have been driving under the influence, 
or a driver under the age of 21 who is convicted of a DUI, will be required by the court to undergo 
evaluation for alcohol or drug abuse. The judge may, based upon the evaluation report, order alcohol 
or drug treatment for the offender.

Other DUI Laws

Nevada’s open container law makes it illegal to have alcoholic beverages, which have been opened, in 
the driver or passenger areas when a vehicle is being driven. It does not apply to the living quarters of 
motor homes or house trailers, or to the passenger areas of commercial buses, limousines or taxis. 

If you are found guilty of a DUI offense and you had passengers under the age of 15 in the vehicle you 
were driving, the court will consider that as an aggravating factor in determining your sentence.

If you plead guilty or are found guilty of DUI (alcohol or drugs) and a chemical test was conducted, the 
court will impose an additional $60 fine to cover the costs of the chemical analysis.

Clues That A Driver May Be Under The Influence or Impaired

Knowing what to look for in another driver’s behavior may keep you from being a DUI victim. If you 
see a driver doing any of the following, watch out! These are all clues to driving under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs:

• Making a turn too widely
• Using two lanes, straddling the center line
• Almost hitting someone or something
• Weaving or drifting from one side of the lane or road to 

another
• Driving off the road, or going straight through turn lanes
• Driving too slowly for the speed limit and traffic conditions
• Stopping in traffic without a reason
• Following too closely
• Driving with the tires on the lane markers or center line
• Erratic braking (riding the brakes, using brakes for no 

reason or braking in an uneven, jerky way)
• Driving into oncoming traffic
• Responding slowly to traffic signals
• Sudden changes in speed
• Turning abruptly or illegally
• Driving at night with headlights off
• Swerving to correct course

Note: You can report a suspected drunk driver or any highway emergency on a cellular phone 
anywhere in Nevada by dialing *NHP (*647)

Did You 
Know...
In 2005, 
159 people 
were killed in 
alcohol-related 
crashes. That equates to 
37 percent of all fatalities 
– two percent under 
national figures.
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11 LICENSE SUSPENSIONS 
AND REVOCATIONS

You may lose your Nevada driving privileges and your license under certain circumstances. Licenses 
are not automatically reinstated following suspension or revocation. You must: 

• Reapply at a DMV office;
• Present the documents required for Evidence of Name, Date of Birth and Social Security 

Number as listed in Chapter 1 of this manual; and
• Meet any other reinstatement requirements and pay the required reinstatement fees.

Examples of driver’s license suspensions and revocations are listed below. License issuance may be 
delayed for some juvenile offenses.

•	 Point Suspension — When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points against your license in a 
12-month period.

•	 Driving	Under	the	Influence — If breath, blood or urine tests reveal you are driving under the 
influence of drugs or alcohol or if you are convicted of DUI.

•	 Collision with a Bicyclist or Pedestrian — If you cause a collision with a person riding a bicycle 
or a pedestrian.

•	 Failure to Appear — If you receive a traffic ticket and do not pay the fine on time or do not 
appear as required.

•	 Security Deposit — If an accident occurs with more than $750 in damage (personal injury 
or property damage) and you do not have liability insurance; driver’s license and vehicle 
registration plates are suspended.

•	 Failure to Maintain Insurance
 — If you are required to provide proof of financial responsibility because of a license 

suspension or revocation and do not do so, or;
 — If you are cited by law enforcement and convicted of failure to maintain insurance, or;
 — If you have repeated lapses in vehicle liability coverage.

•	 Child Support — If you are in arrears in court-ordered child support payments.

•	 Graffiti — If you are found guilty of a graffiti violation.

•	 Firearms — If a juvenile is found guilty of certain offenses related to firearms.

•	 Street Racing — If you are found guilty of participating in, or organizing, an unauthorized speed 
contest on a public highway.

•	 Alcohol and Drugs — If a juvenile is found guilty of buying, drinking or possessing alcohol; or 
using, possessing, selling or distributing any controlled substance.



6868

11 NEW NEVADA RESIDENT
VEHICLE REGISTRATION
REQUIREMENTS

You must register your vehicle(s) within 60 days of establishing residency in Nevada or at the time you 
obtain your driver’s license, whichever occurs earlier. 

Required original documents:
• Most recent registration certificate.
• Out-of-state license plates.
• Nevada Evidence of Insurance card.
• Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report (smog check) in certain areas of Clark and Washoe 

counties. For exempt areas, please refer to NAC 445B.593 and 445B.594.
• Nevada Vehicle Identification Number Inspection Certificate (completed at a DMV office, any 

authorized DMV agency or by a law enforcement officer).
• Certificate of Ownership/Title, unless held by a lienholder. If ownership is not changing, the 

owner has the option of retaining the out-of-state title.
Full legal name must match on the registration, ownership/title certificate and evidence of insurance.

Liability Insurance Information
Out-of-state insurance is not accepted. You must either notify your insurance carrier that you have 
moved or purchase a new policy in Nevada. The State of Nevada requires that all vehicles actively 
registered be continually insured by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state. An 
Evidence of Insurance Card, furnished by the company, must be carried in the vehicle at all times.

Nevada law requires coverage in amounts of at least:
• $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person;
• $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons; and
• $10,000 for injury or destruction of property of others.

If you cancel your insurance and do not obtain new insurance, you must cancel your Nevada vehicle 
registration and surrender your license plates on the same day.

Emission Control Vehicle Inspection Report (Smog Check)
A passing Vehicle Inspection Report is required in Clark and Washoe Counties for most gasoline-
powered vehicles of model year 1968 and newer. The following vehicles are exempt: motorcycles, new 
vehicles on their first or second registration (in any state), hybrid-electric vehicles that are up to five 
model years old, alternative-fueled vehicles (compressed natural gas or propane) and restored vehicles 
that are driven less that 2,500 miles annually and registered with special license plates.

A passing Vehicle Inspection Report is required in Clark and Washoe Counties for diesel-powered 
vehicles of model year 1968 or newer with a GVWR of 14,000 lbs. or less. New vehicles are exempt on 
their first or second registration (in any state).
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12 OFFICE LOCATIONS

Carson City   
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0400 
(775) 684-4DMV

Elko    
3920 Idaho Street 
Elko, Nevada 89801-4970 
(775) 753-1126

Ely    
178 N. Avenue F 
P.O. Box 150088 
Ely, Nevada 89315 
(775) 289-1620

Fallon    
973 W. Williams Street 
Fallon, Nevada 89406-2602 
(775) 423-4316

Hawthorne   
1085 Highway 95, Suite B 
P.O. Box 2093 
Hawthorne, Nevada 89415 
(775) 945-4424

Henderson*   
1399 American Pacific Drive 
Henderson, Nevada 89074-8806 
(702) 486-4DMV

Las Vegas - East*   
2701 E. Sahara Avenue 
Las Vegas, Nevada 89104-4170 
(702) 486-4DMV

Las Vegas - West*   
8250 W. Flamingo Road 
Las Vegas, Nevada 89147-4112 
(702) 486-4DMV 

Laughlin 
P.O. Box 32908 
3030 S. Needles Highway, Suite 900 
Laughlin, Nevada 89028-2908 
(702) 298-3100

Mesquite   
550 W. Pioneer Blvd. Suite 120 
Mesquite, Nevada 89027-4778 
(702) 346-8673

North Las Vegas*  
7170 N. Decatur Blvd. 
Las Vegas, Nevada 89131-2798 
(702) 486-4DMV

Pahrump   
1780 E. Basin Ave. 
Pahrump, Nevada 89060-4605 
(775) 727-4141

Reno*     
305 Galletti Way 
Reno, Nevada 89512-3824 
(775) 684-4DMV

Tonopah   
1137 S. Main Street, Suite C-8 
P.O. Box 511 
Tonopah, Nevada 89049-0511 
(775) 482-6329

Winnemucca   
3505 Construction Way 
Winnemucca, Nevada 89445-3155 
(775) 623-6515

Yerington   
215 W. Bridge Street, No. 9 
Yerington, Nevada 89447-2570 
(775) 463-3146

The business hours for all offices are Monday through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
* extended hours on Saturday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
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Commercial Driver’s License Offices

Carson City   
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0600 
(775) 684-4368

Elko 
3920 Idaho Street 
Elko, Nevada 89801-4970 
(775) 753-1126

North Las Vegas 
4110 Donovan Way 
North Las Vegas, Nevada 89030-7512 
(702) 486-5655

Sparks 
810 E. Greg Street 
Sparks, Nevada 89431-6534 
(775) 688-2535

Winnemucca 
3505 Construction Way 
Winnemucca, Nevada 89445-3155 
(775) 623-6515

Administrative Offices

Carson City   
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0900 
(775) 684-4549

www.dmvnv.comwww.dmvnv.com
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ABS Education Alliance   American Automobile Association  American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators  
Federal Highway Administration  Motorcycle Safety Foundation  National Highway Traffic Safety Administration  Na-
tional Safety Council  National Traffic Safety Institute  Nevada Department of Transportation  Nevada Highway Patrol  
Northern Nevada Literary Council  U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carriers, Nevada Division

Renew your registration
and driver license

Look on your renewal notice for an access 
code. It will allow you to renew your 

registration online even if you’re late. You 
can renew your drive license too. Log on 

to www.dmvnv.com and you’re just a click 
away from being first in line.

  from being first in line 
You’re just a click away 
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