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  Communicating by Mail with the Department 
If you are writing or sending information to one of the 
Department's Revenue Officers, or Tax Examiners, or other 
staff, please use the mailing address of the appropriate office.  
If you are filing your sales and use tax return, please use the 
envelope the Department provided because it is addressed 
directly to the bank. 
 

 
2003 LEGISLATIVE SESSION 

The 2003 Legislative Session was scheduled to end on 
June 2, 2003, however, they went into Special Session.  
Legislative updates on current taxes, new taxes and 
other changes to Nevada Revised Statutes can be 
viewed at the Nevada State Legislature’s website at 
http://leg.state.nv.us.   

 
WASHOE COUNTY SALES TAX INCREASE 

Effective July 1, 2003, the sales/use tax rate in Washoe 
County will increase by 1/8 percent to a total rate of 7 
3/8%.  All vendors selling in, or delivering into, that 
county on or after that date must collect and report 7 
3/8% sales tax on their taxable sales. Existing 
construction contracts entered into and signed prior to 
July 1, 2003 are exempt from the 1/8 percent increase, if 
an exemption letter is obtained from the Department of 
Taxation. Contact the Carson City office of the 
Department of Taxation for more information.  (775) 687-
4820.  

 
EFFECTIVE JUNE 25, 2003 

NEW MAILING ADDRESSES FOR 
SALES/USE TAX AND BUSINESS TAX 

RETURNS AND REMITTANCES 
 

For Sales/Use Tax Returns and Remittances 
 P O Box 52609 
 Phoenix, AZ 85072-2609 
For Business Tax Returns and Remittances 
 P O Box 52635 
 Phoenix AZ 85072-2635 

 



 

TOBACCO SALES COMPLIANCE CHECKS 
EXPLAINED 

AG Brian Sandoval wants the public and retailers to  
be aware of and support the process 

 
Carson City—The Attorney General’s Office, 

under the supervision of Senior Deputy Attorney General 
John Albrecht, conducts compliance checks on retail 
stores that sell tobacco to enforce the state law 
prohibiting the sale of tobacco to minors.  In the interest 
of awareness on the part of the public and affected 
retailers, Attorney General Brian Sandoval offers the 
following clarification of the compliance check process:  

First, encourage clerks to verify age: wise 
employers do, and we provide training and materials, but 
the public—as customers—can help, too, by being 
patient during the little time it takes for a clerk to verify 
age, and recognizing a necessary task well done by 
mentioning to the clerk that their effort to do so is 
appreciated. 

Compliance checks are fair and not 
deceptive:  all retail outlets that sell tobacco products 
are checked for compliance at least twice each year.  
When a compliance check is conducted, a youth 
between the ages of 15 and 17½ enters a store and 
asks to purchase a particular brand of cigarettes, 
smokeless tobacco, or a cigar.  The youth will respond 
with his or her true age if asked for it by store personnel.  
If asked for a photo ID, the youth will either: present their 
own photo ID with their true age, say they do not have 
an ID with them, or simply say they do not have an ID.  
At no time will the youth lie. 

If a clerk sells a tobacco product to the under 
age youth, the investigator supervising the compliance 
check will enter the establishment and issue a citation to 
the clerk.  This may require interrupting the work routine 
in your store for a short period of time.  The supervising 
investigator will be willing and available to answer any 
questions you or your staff may have regarding the 
compliance check and citation. 

You get the results, positive or negative: 
whether or not a citation is issued, you will receive a 
copy of the report with the results of the compliance 
check.  This way, you can use positive report(s) to 
praise and encourage other employees to verify age 
prior to sales. 

The report will be mailed to you, or you may 
choose to have it faxed to you.  If you wish to receive 
compliance check reports by fax, simply send a fax to 
the Retail Tobacco Enforcement Unit at (775) 688-1844, 
with the following information: your fax number, the 
name of the person to address report(s) to, and a list of 
the physical addresses of all stores that you own or 
supervise. 

Failing to comply can be expensive: the 
maximum fine for selling tobacco to a minor is $500.00, 
plus court costs.  The local justice of the peace will 
ultimately decide on the amount of the fine.  Other costs 
to consider are the time and expense of obtaining and 
training another employee if a clerk resigns or is 
terminated by you. 

Free training materials and in-store signs are 
available from the WE CARD program at 1-800-934-
3968, or on the Internet at: http://wecard.org, where a 
free, web-based training program is available for your 
store staff, as well. 

If you have any further questions regarding this 
enforcement program, please call John Albrecht, Senior 
Deputy Attorney General, at (775) 688-1872. 

 
NEW FREIGHT REGULATION 

Effective August 5, 2002, the Nevada Tax Commission 
adopted a permanent regulation concerning the 
taxability of freight charges.  When a retailer charges his 
customer for freight in connection with a retail sale of 
tangible personal property, he must collect sales tax on 
the charge unless: (1) he separately states the freight 
charge on his invoice, and (2) the customer accepts title 
to the property before the retailer/common carrier 
physically delivers the property to the customer. The 
customer will be deemed to have accepted title to the 
property prior to its delivery only if the retailer and 
customer have executed a written agreement clearly 
stating their intention that title should pass to the 
customer prior to delivery.  Absent such a written 
agreement, the retailer is responsible for collecting sales 
tax on the freight charge, even if the retailer has 
separately stated the charge on his invoice.  

 
SUCCESSOR’S LIABILITY 

Taxpayers are reminded if you are purchasing an 
existing business, be aware of successor’s liability, NRS 
360.525.  Be sure to request a “certificate of amount 
due” for any tax or fee administered by the Department.  
If you don’t take this action, you may become personally 
liable for the payment of any taxes due from the prior 
owner up to the extent of the consideration paid for the 
business or stock of goods, valued in money. 

 
MOVING OR SELLING BUSINESS 

Please remember to advise the Department of business 
location changes and changes in ownership of your 
business which includes forming a corporation.  A new 
or a revised application with the owner’s signature is 
required to update our records and ensure you have the 
appropriate permit.  In addition, if you’re selling your 
business, you’re responsible for filing any required 
sales/use or business tax returns to cover all of the time 
that your business was in operation.  Contact your local 
Department of Taxation office for forms or returns and 
please ask for help if needed.  You may also visit our 
website at http://tax.state.nv.us for this information. 
 
 

HOLIDAY CLOSURES 
The Department of Taxation offices will be closed the 
following days in the third quarter of 2003: 

 
Friday, July 4, 2003 – 4th of July 
Monday, Sept 1, 2003 – Labor Day 


