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PREFACE

The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has prepared this guide to assist Nevada Automobile
Wreckers and Tow Car Operators when conducting business with the Department. It was
created as an informational and instructional reference, and attention to the detailed information
and examples will ensure proper completion of forms required to register and/or title vehicles in
the State of Nevada.

Implementation of requirements as outlined in this guide and attention to detail when completing
forms will be beneficial to you, your customers and the Department. Documents properly
prepared and submitted will ensure that our records are correct. This allows the Department to
respond to inquiries from consumers, vehicle industry members and law enforcement with up to
date, accurate information.

If you have any suggestions that may help improve this guide, please provide them in writing to:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Research and Development Division
Vehicle Programs

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711
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AUTOMOBILE WRECKER OPERATIONS

WRECKER AND SALVAGE POOL INFORMATION

“Wrecker” defined. “Automobile Wrecker” means a person licensed by the department
who dismantles, scraps, processes or wrecks vehicle subject to the registration laws of
Nevada. NAC 487.010.1

“Salvage Pool” defined. “Salvage Pool” means a business which obtains motor vehicles
from:

1. Insurers and self-insurers for sale on consignment or as an agent for the insurer
or self-insurer if the vehicles are acquired by the insurer or self-insurer as the
result of a settlement for insurance; or

2. Licensed vehicle dealers, rebuilders, lessors or wreckers for sale on
consignment. NRS 487.400.2

Wrecker and Salvage Pool require separate licenses and fees.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

1. Application for Business License. (DS237) Application must be completed in full
and signed by a principal of the business.

2. Personal History Questionnaire completed by each principal or corporate officer
being listed on the license application.
3. Authorization for Release of Information form signed by each principal or

corporate officer. Release must be notarized or signature witnessed by an
authorized DMV representative.

4. Child Support Information form completed and signed by each principal.
5. Licensee Acknowledgement form. (DS308)
6. A surety bond or deposit in lieu of bond in the amount of $50,000.

7. If applying for wrecker or salvage pool plates, an insurance certificate showing
automobile liability coverage. See insurance information sheet.

8. Non-refundable license application fee of $300.
9. City or County business license.

10.  Fictitious Firm Name Filing.
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11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Copy of Certificate of Incorporation and Corporate filing, with names of the
officers, filed with the State of Nevada, Secretary of State’s Office, if applicable.

The federal identification number of the business.

An established place of business, with a permanently enclosed building located
on at least one-half acre. The business location must be surrounded by a
screened fence at least six feet tall.

A permanently affixed display sign with the name of the business in lettering
eight inches high, formed by lines that are at least one inch wide. Sign must be
clearly legible from the center of the nearest street or roadway.

Two color photographs that clearly show the exterior of the business to include
the display sign.

It is unlawful for any person to dismantle, scrap, process or wreck any vehicle without
first applying for and obtaining a license for that operation from the Department. NRS
487.050.1.

No person may operate a salvage pool without first applying for and obtaining a license
for that business from the Department. NRS 487.410.1.

Additional Information

Wreckers Only - I.D. cards may be obtained, which authorizes a licensed wrecker to
bid to purchase a vehicle from an operator of a salvage pool. A licensed wrecker may
obtain two cards annually for his business at a fee of $50 each card. 1.D. cards expire
April 30" of each year for which it was issued. NRS 487.070(2)(3).
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ACQUIRING VEHICLES

Nevada automobile wreckers may acquire vehicles in the following manner:

1.

2.

By direct purchase, with the owner providing title documents.

By direct purchase, with an automobile wrecker providing a salvage title, non-
repairable vehicle certificate or junk certificate.

By direct purchase, with an insurance company or its agent providing a salvage
title, non-repairable vehicle certificate or junk certificate.

By direct purchase, with a salvage pool providing salvage title, non-repairable
vehicle certificate or junk certificate.

Through receipt of a vehicle removed from public or private property at the
request of an enforcement agency, owner, or person in lawful possession of the

property.
Lien Process.

Junk Cetrtificate.

ACQUIRING PARTS OF PARTIAL VEHICLES

When an automobile wrecker acquires parts of a vehicle through purchase or exchange,
a bill of sale from the owner of the parts must be maintained.

1.

If a vehicle that has been partially dismantled is acquired, a written statement
from the owner, listing those parts that have previously been removed is
required.

If the part includes the frame or other major component, a salvage title may be
required.

DETERMINING AN ENTIRE VEHICLE OR PARTIAL VEHICLES

1.

Whenever an entire salvage vehicle is sold to any person by a licensed
automobile wrecker, the automobile wrecker shall deliver a properly endorsed
salvage title to the buyer for such an entire salvage vehicle.

A salvage vehicle shall be deemed an entire salvage vehicle:

€) If all the following essential components are included and identifiable as
coming from the same salvage vehicle:
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(1)

The cowl assembly;

(2)  The floor pan assembly;

(3) The passenger compartment;

(4)  The rear clip assembly; and

(5)  The roof assembly; and

(b) In addition to the essential components required pursuant to paragraph

(a):

(2) If the salvage vehicle was manufactured with a conventional frame,
the conventional frame is included and identifiable as coming from
the same salvage vehicle;

(2) If the salvage vehicle was manufactured with a unibody, the
complete front inner structure is included and identifiable as coming
from the same salvage vehicle;

3) If the salvage vehicle is a truck which was manufactured with a
conventional frame, the conventional frame and the truck cab
assembly are included and identifiable as coming from the same
salvage vehicle; and

4) If the salvage vehicle is a truck which was manufactured with a
unibody, the complete front inner structure and the truck cab
assembly are included and identifiable as coming from the same
salvage vehicle.

3. A salvage vehicle that does not satisfy the requirements of subsection 2 is

deemed a part or parts of an entire salvage vehicle.

Revised April 2008
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GUIDELINES

Always type or print in black or dark blue ink.

The owner’s full legal name and address information must be recorded on registration
and title documents exactly as it reads on the owner’s driver’s license.

Ensure the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), year, make, odometer readings and
registered owner and legal owner information are consistent on all documents.

Signatures must always be handwritten, unless waived by the Department because the
submittal is done by electronic means. A printed release will not be accepted unless
accompanied by a notarized or witnessed statement (from the person in question)
stating that the signature is a legal signature.
Do not use correction fluid or correction tape.

Do not alter any information on documents.

A release should be the same, as it appears on title documents, i.e., Elizabeth should
sign as Elizabeth.

All documents must be originals, unless certified to be true copies of the original
document.
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IMPORTANCE OF ACCURACY

The Department of Motor Vehicles uses the VIN as the primary identifier for entry and
retrieval of records. It is therefore critical that all documents are completed using the
correct VIN.

TO AVOID ERRORS:
° Ensure the entire VIN is used at all times.

. Ensure the VIN is entered or recorded legibly and accurately. It is best to use
block letters.

o If the VIN is handwritten, try to avoid the following most common errors:
LETTER MAY BE MISTAKEN FOR
B 13 or8
D 0
G 6orC
J Torlor5
R K
S 5
Y 4o0rH
U Y orV
Z 2ora7onaline

“I” and “1” are often confused. The letter “I” is rarely used in a VIN. The number 9
and/or 4 can also be confused if not written legibly.

The letter “O” is never used in a VIN, with the exception of state assigned VINs, such as
those that are assigned by the states of Colorado (i.e., COLO123456) or Missouri
(DRO0O000OMO or DRMVB0000000000MO).
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VEHICLES IDENTIFICATION NUMBER INFORMATION

Since 1954, American automobile manufacturers have used a Vehicle Identification
Number (VIN) to identify and describe a vehicle.

Since 1981, all manufacturers of vehicles sold in the United States are required to use a
standardized 17-digit VIN structure. When the Department is provided with a vehicle
with an 18-digit VIN, the VIN will be verified before the vehicle information is entered.

Variations exist in the location of a VIN and in the systems used for a VIN; they may
vary by year of manufacture and between manufacturers.

A VIN should always be verified by a physical inspection of the vehicle.

VIN SCHEMATIC/DESCRIPTION

Position | Description

1-3 Manufacturer Identifier

4 Restraint System Type

5 Manufacturer Specification

6 Line, Series, Body Type

7-8 Engine Type

9 Check Digit

10 Model Year

11 Assembly Plant

12-17 Production Sequence Number

1% Character: Identifies the country in which the vehicle was manufactured,
i.e., USA (1 or 4), Canada (2), Mexico (3), Japan (J), Korea
(K), England (S), Germany (W), Italy (2).

2" Character: Identifies the manufacturer, i.e., Audi (A), BMW (B), Buick
(4), Cadillac (6), Chevrolet (1), Chrysler (C), Dodge (B), Ford
(F), GM Canada (7), General Motors (G), Honda (H), Jaguar
(A), Lincoln (L), Mercedes Benz (D), Mercury (M), Nissan
(N), Oldsmobile (3), Pontiac (2 or 5), Plymouth (P), Saturn
(8), Toyota (T), VW (V), Volvo (V).

3" Character: Identifies the vehicle type or manufacturing division.

4™ to 8" Characters:  Identifies vehicle features such as body style, engine type,
model, series, etc.

9™ Character: Identifies the VIN accuracy as a check digit.

10™ Character: Identifies the model year, i.e., 1988 (J), 1989 (K), 1990 (L),
1991 (M), 1992 (N), 1993 (P), 1994 (R), 1995 (S), 1996 (1),
1997 (V), 1998 (W), 1999 (X), 2000 (Y), 2001 (1), 2002 (2),
2003 (3). 2004 (4), 2005 (5), 2006 (6), 2007 (7), 2008 (8),
2009 (9), 2010 (A), 2011 (B), 2012 (C), 2013 (D), 2014 (E),
2015 (F).2016 — 2029 use G thru X — 2030 (Y), and 2031-
2039 use digits 1 thru 9.
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11" Character: Identifies the assembly plant for the vehicle.
12" to 17™Characters: Identifies the sequence of the vehicle for production as it
rolled off of the manufacturer’'s assembly line.

If a manufacturer produces less than 500 vehicles per year, the VIN characters along
with the third, fourth and fifth characters of the fourth section shall uniquely identify the
manufacturer, make and type of motor vehicle. (Title 49 CFR, Section 565.6 Content
Requirements)

ATTEMPT TO CONTACT

If the Department of Motor Vehicles requires evidence of an “Attempt to Contact” the
owner or lienholder of a vehicle, you must do the following:

. Write to the owner of record asking them to sign the enclosed documents (Bill of
Sale, Application for Duplicate Title, etc., depending on the requirements) in front
of a Notary or to contact you. Caution: Do not mail original ownership
documents that are in your possession. Mail photocopies of the ownership
documents.

. If you need a signature on an original document, and it is a secure document
(i.e., Secure Power of Attorney, Title) a photocopy is not acceptable.

. Send the letter by “Certified Mail — Return Receipt Requested.” Keep the
payment receipt, issued to you by the Post Office, with your records. Retain
copies of everything you mail.

. If the letter is returned with a forwarding address filed with the U.S. Postal
Service, resend the letter to the forwarding address by “Certified Mail — Return
Receipt Requested.”

. If the letter is returned to you as “Undeliverable,” do not open it; or

. If you receive a signed Post Office Receipt showing the letter was received and
fifteen (15) days have passed since the date of receipt:

o] Bring all documents for the vehicle, along with the returned letter or the
signed receipt, to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

o] At that time, the Department of Motor Vehicles may be able to assist you
with the vehicle registration and titling of the vehicle.

. If the former owner(s) contact you and provide you with the necessary
signatures, the receipt or returned letter is not needed.
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. Prior to being issued a vehicle registration or title, you may need to have a
vehicle identification number inspection completed on the vehicle.

MOTOR HOME

Motor homes are vehicles described as permanently attached to a self-propelled chassis
and are designed for use as temporary living quarters. Nevada Revised Statutes defines
three types of motor homes.

Note: The legal maximum width of a recreational vehicle is 102 inches excluding mirrors,
lights and other devices required for safety; and an awning and any hardware used to
attach the awning, but it cannot extend beyond any mirror.

Mini motor home (NRS 482.066): A vehicular-type unit designed for temporary living

quarters for travel, camping or recreational use, which is:

1. A structure attached permanently on a self-propelled chassis; or

2. A portable unit designed to be affixed permanently to a truck chassis with cab, which
is designated as a mini motor home by the manufacturer.

Motor home (NRS 482.071): A structure:

1. Attached permanently to a self-propelled motor vehicle chassis;
2. Designed as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational or camping use; and
3. When assembled for the road, having a maximum body width of 102 inches.

Chassis-mount camper (NRS 482.0151):
A portable unit designed to be permanently affixed to a truck chassis and cab, and so
constructed as to provide temporary living quarters for travel, camping or recreational use.

In all cases, the chassis/frame number is used as the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
The make of the vehicle is the motor home name, not the chassis/frame manufacturer.

Example: Winnebago makes the Itasca and Fleetwood makes the Tioga. The makes
are therefore Itasca and Tioga; Winnebago and Fleetwood are not used.

The vehicle year is established by the manufacturer on the vehicle’s original documentation.

In all cases, the vehicle length must be included on the registration and title documents as
part of the vehicle description.

Recreational park trailer (NRS 482.1005) means a vehicle, which is primarily designed to
provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or seasonal use and which:

1. Is built on a single chassis mounted on wheels;
2. Has a gross trailer area not exceeding 400 square feet in the set-up mode; and
3. Is certified by the manufacturer as complying with Standard No. A119.5 of the

American National Standards Institute.
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Note: The Department will issue a title only for recreational park trailers because they are
over 102 inches in width. Moving a recreational park trailer requires a special movement
permit issued by the Department of Transportation.

NOTARIES PUBLIC

A licensed Nevada dealer’s signature is not required to be acknowledged by a notary
public on documents that the dealer must file with the Department, except in regard to
deposit in lieu of bond. Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 482.3275

If a document must be notarized, the provisions of NRS 240.010 through 240.150 must
be followed.

A notary public may not perform any act authorized by NRS 240.065 if he or she:

1. Executed or is named in the instrument acknowledged or sworn to;

2. Will receive directly from a transaction relating to the instrument any commission,
fee, advantage, right, title or interest, property or other consideration in excess of

the authorized fees; or

3. Is related to the person whose signature is to be acknowledged or sworn to as a
spouse, sibling, or lineal ancestor or descendant.
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SECTION Il

OWNERSHIP DOCUMENTS

AND FORMS
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NEVADA TITLE
NRS 482.285 and 482.400

There are currently several valid styles of Nevada Certificates of Title (Form RD-2) in
circulation. For the purpose of this guide, only the three most recent styles will be
addressed (Revisions 1/06, 10/01, and 10/96).

The registered owner or seller must sign the certificate of title exactly as the name
appears on the face of the certificate of title.

. If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and they are joined by “and,”
the signature of each owner or seller is required.

. If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and they are joined by
“and/or” or “or,” only one of the owner’s or seller’s signature is required.

. If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and not joined by “and” or
“and/or” or “or”, the signature of each registered owner or seller is required. The
Department considers no name indicator as “and” in these cases.

. If the registered owner or seller information is in the name of a business, the
name of the business must appear along with the signature of an authorized
business representative.

Buyer information must be completed indicating exactly how the new Certificate of Title
is to read, using the buyer’s full legal name as it appears on their driver’s license.
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
(FORM RD-2)
REVISION 1/06 (FRONT)

1. Vehicle Information: The vehicle identification number, year, make, model and
vehicle body.

2. Title Number: The number assigned at the time the title is created.

3. Date Issued: The date the title was issued.

4, Odometer Miles: The reading indicated on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus.

5. Fuel Type: The type of fuel the vehicle uses.
6. Sales Tax Paid: Nevada does not print this information at this time.
7. Empty Weight: The actual weight of the vehicle when empty.

8. Gross Weight: The maximum recommended weight of the vehicle when full
(passengers, luggage, etc.).

9. GVWR: The gross vehicle weight rating (the weight of the vehicle plus the
vehicle’s useful or maximum-load).

10.  Vehicle Color: The color of the vehicle. Nevada does not capture the vehicle
color at this time.

11. Odometer Brand: The actual status of the odometer reading.

A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the
vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.

B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the
odometer is capable of showing.

C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual
mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may
have been installed).

D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption
gualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Brands: The description of a vehicle that applies. When more than one brand
applies, those brands will be listed:

Flood Damage
Lemon Law Buyback
Non-Rebuildable
Non-U.S. Vehicle

Not Street Legal
Rebuilt

Total Loss
Reconstructed
Specially Constructed

Owner(s) Name and Address: The name and address of the person or persons
the Certificate of Title is issued to.

Lienholder(s) Name and Address: The name and address of the legal owner of
the vehicle who holds the security interest if different from number 13.

Lienholder(s) Release: All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder
require a release of lien to transfer ownership. The lienholder or authorized
agent of the lienholder must complete this section. The signature of the
lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are required to
complete the release. |If the lienholder is a business, the business name must
appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of the business.

Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer(s): Record the registered owner’s full
legal name exactly as it appears on the customer’s driver’s license, identification
card, or business license. This is the name that will be recorded on the vehicle
registration certificate and Certificate of Title when created. @ Customers
purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business are not required to present their business
license.

Note:
e If the registration is to read “doing business as” enter “DBA” preceding the
business name.
e If the vehicle is leased, the words “Lessee” and “Lessor” must be included
prior to the full legal name
e If there is more than one Lessee, separate the Lessees with a semi-colon

Nevada Driver’'s License, ldentification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:
Enter the number based on the document presented during the purchase
transaction. The DMV will use these numbers to ensure the full legal name of
the owner is placed on the registration and title.
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18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24,

Note:

e If the customer does not have a Nevada driver’'s license or identification
card, “No Nevada DL or ID” must be printed in the registered owner’'s
information area.

e Customers purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business that does not have a
FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number), enter “No FEIN.”

e Do not enter or use the customer’s social security number.

And/Or: If the registration and title are in more than one name, the appropriate
box must be marked to indicate “and” or “or.” Using “and” will require all persons
on the title to sign the title to release interest in the vehicle. “Or” will allow for one
person to sign the title to release interest in the vehicle, if there are two or more
recorded owners.

Odometer Reading: The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it shows
on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths. The seller(s) must
complete the Odometer Statement to the best of their knowledge.

Odometer Declaration: If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage of the
vehicle, one of the statements must be checked. The Certificate of Title will be
branded accordingly.

Signature and Printed Name of the Seller(s)/Agent/Dealership.

DMV issued Dealer’s License Number.

Date of Sale: The actual date ownership of the vehicle was transferred.

Signature and Printed Full Legal Name of the Buyer(s).

Note: Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title. The control number
in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not the title number. The
Department uses this number internally.
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REVISION 1/06 (BACK)

1. Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer upon
the first reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer’s business name and
business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate
of Title.

2. Dealer Only Second Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer
upon the second reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer’s business
name and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment
must be completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the
Certificate of Title.

3. Dealer Only Third Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer upon
the third reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer's business name
and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate
of Title.

4. Lienholder to be recorded: This section must be completed if the new Certificate
of Title is to reflect a security interest in the vehicle. The lienholder's name and
address must be recorded. If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in
this section.

Note: Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title. The reassignment
on the front of the title (beginning on item 16 on the front of the title) must be completed
before the Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title is completed.
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
(FORM RD-2)
REVISION 10/01 (FRONT)

1. Vehicle Information: Includes the vehicle identification number, year, make,
model, and vehicle body.

2. Title Number: The number assigned at the time the title is created. Please note;
the four digits following the dash are the technician’s identification number who
processed the title.

3. Date Issued: The date the title was issued.

4, Odometer Miles: The reading that shows on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus.

5. Fuel Type: The type of fuel the vehicle uses.

6. Sales Tax Paid: Nevada does not print this information at this time.

7. Empty Weight: The actual weight of the vehicle when empty.

8. Gross Weight: The maximum recommended weight of the vehicle when full
(passengers, luggage, etc.).

9. GVWR: The gross vehicle weight rating (the weight of the vehicle plus the
vehicle’s useful or maximum-load).

10. Vehicle Color: The color of the vehicle. Nevada does not capture the vehicle
color at this time.

11. Odometer Brand: The actual status of the odometer reading.

A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the
vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.

B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the
odometer is capable of showing.

C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual
mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may
have been installed).

D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption
gualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

Brands: The description of a vehicle that applies. When more than one brand
applies, those brands will be listed:

Flood Damage
Lemon Law Buyback
Non-Rebuildable
Non-U.S. Vehicle
Not Street Legal
Rebuilt

Salvage
Dis-Salvage

Total Loss
Reconstructed
Specially Constructed

Owner(s) Name and Address: The full legal name and address of the person or
persons the Certificate of Title is issued to.

Lienholder(s) Name and Address: The name and address of the legal owner of
the vehicle who holds the security interest, if different from number 13.

Lienholder(s) Release: All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder
require a release of lien before legal ownership can be transferred/vehicle sold.
The lienholder or his authorized agent must complete this section. The signature
of the lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are
required to complete the release. If the lienholder is a business, the business
name must appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of
the business.

Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer(s): This section must be completed
exactly as it is to appear on the new Certificate of Title; this is the first
assignment.

Odometer Reading: The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it shows
on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths. The seller(s) must
complete the Odometer Statement to the best of their knowledge.

Odometer Declaration: If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage of the
vehicle, one of the odometer disclaimer boxes must be checked. The certificate
of title will be branded accordingly.

Date of Sale: The actual date the ownership of the vehicle was transferred.

Signature, Printed Name or Company Name of the Seller(s) as it appears on the
Certificate of Title.
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21.  Signature, Printed Name Full Legal Name or Company Name of the Buyer(s).

Note: Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title. The control number
in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not the title number. The
Department uses this number internally.
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
REVISION 10/01 (BACK)

1. Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer upon
the first reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer’s business name and
business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate
of Title.

2. Dealer Only Second Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer
upon the second reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer’'s business
name and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment
must be completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the
Certificate of Title.

3. Dealer Only Third Reassignment of Title: To be completed only by a dealer upon
the third reassignment of the Certificate of Title. The dealer's business name
and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate
of Title.

4, Lienholder to be Recorded: This section must be completed if the new certificate
of title is to reflect a security interest in the vehicle. The lienholder's name and
address must be recorded. If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in
this section.

Note: Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title. The reassignment
on the front of the title (area 16 on previous page) must be completed before the Dealer
Only First Reassignment of Title is completed.
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Back of Title
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Note:

NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
(FORM RD-2)
REVISION 10/96 (FRONT)

Vehicle Information: Includes the vehicle identification number, year, make,
model, and vehicle body.

Odometer/Odometer Remarks: The reading that actually shows on the vehicle’s
odometer apparatus. The Certificate of Title will be branded as appropriate to
indicate the status of the odometer reading.

A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the
vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.

B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the
odometer is capable of showing.

C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual
mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may
have been installed).

D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption
qualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure.

MSRP: The manufacturer’'s suggested retail price and the basis for the amount
of governmental services tax imposed as part of the total registration fees. It is
also used to compute the sales tax when the vehicle is sold between private
parties.

Private party (occasional) sales that occurred December 31, 2005, or before, are
subject to occasional sales tax. However, if the private party (occasional) sale
occurred January 1, 2006, or later, no sales tax is due.

Title Number: The number assigned at the time the Certificate of Title is created.
Please note; the four digits following the dash are the technician’s identification
number who processed the title.

Issue Date: The date the Certificate of Title was issued.

Type of Title: This information will read Original, Duplicate, Non-Repairable or
Salvage.

Brand: The description of a vehicle that applies. When more than one brand
applies, those brands must be listed.

. Flood Damage
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10.

11.

Note:

Lemon Law Buyback
Non-Rebuildable
Non-U.S. Vehicle

Not Street Legal
Rebuilt

Salvage

Dis-Salvage

Total Loss
Reconstructed
Specially Constructed

Mailing Address: Indicates where the Certificate of Title is mailed.
Owner’'s Name and Address: Indicates to whom the Certificate of Title issued.
Lienholder: Indicates the legal owner of the vehicle if different from number 9.

Release of Lien: All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder require a
release of lien, before a new title can be issued or before the vehicle can be sold.
The lienholder or his authorized agent must complete this section. The signature
of the lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are
required to complete the release. If the lienholder is a business, the business
name must appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of
the business. If the lien is not released on the title, a lien release form RD-186
may be used.

The control number in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not
the title number. The Department uses this number internally.
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
REVISION 10/96 (BACK)

Assignment of Title:

1.

Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer: This information must show exactly as it
is to appear on the new certificate of title.

Odometer Declaration: The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it
appears on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths. The seller must
complete the odometer statement to the best of his or her knowledge.

Odometer Reading: If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage, one of the
statements must be checked. The certificate of title will be branded accordingly.

Date of Sale: The actual date the ownership of the vehicle was transferred.

The Signature and Printed Name of Seller.

The Signature and Printed Full Legal Name of Buyer.

Dealer Reassignment (First and Second): These assignments are for dealers
only, and they must be completed in the same manner as the assignment of title.
The dealer’s business name and business license number must be recorded.
Lienholder: This section must be completed if the new Certificate of Title is to

reflect a security interest in the vehicle. The lienholder's name and address must
be recorded. If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in this section.

Note: Any alteration or erasure voids the certificate of title.
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SALVAGE TITLE
(FORM RD2S)

Salvage Title (NAC 487.010) means a title of ownership issued by the Department to an
automobile wrecker authorizing the disposal of the vehicle identified on the salvage title.

The Department will issue a Salvage Title for a vehicle upon application to the:

Owner of the vehicle;

The person to whom the vehicle is titled;

An insurance company that acquires the vehicle as a salvage vehicle; or
A lienholder who acquires title to the vehicle.

If the Certificate of Title/Ownership is held by a lienholder, the registered owner must
notify the lienholder within 10 days that the vehicle has become a salvage vehicle. The
lienholder must, within 30 days of receiving the notice, forward the title and the
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form RD213) to the
Department.

An Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form RD213)
and all accompanying documents will be returned to the applicant if they are not
completed in full.

Salvage Title Fees:

. Licensed Nevada Automobile Wrecker No fee
. Out-of-State Automobile Wrecker $10.00
o Licensed Nevada Salvage Pool $10.00
o In-State or Out-of-State Insurance Companies $10.00
. Out-of-State Vehicle Dealers (must be registered $10.00

with a Salvage Pool)

An owner of a salvage vehicle may only sell the salvage vehicle to a salvage pool,
automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker, or a new or used automobile dealer.

The Authorization for Vehicle Restoration must be obtained prior to the vehicle being
rebuilt for vehicles five years old or newer. The vehicle must be repaired or restored to
operation, complete a RD-64 and have a branded title before the vehicle may be sold to
a person other than the businesses listed.
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Back of Salvage Title
(Revised 8-03)
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OUT-OF-STATE SALVAGE CERTIFICATES

Salvage titles issued by other states must be properly endorsed and must indicate and
document a complete “chain of ownership” for the vehicle.

Contact the Department prior to accepting documents for a salvaged or junked vehicle,
as laws from other states vary, and there may be instances where the Department must
determine whether the documents can be accepted and whether a Salvage Title can be
issued.

RETENTION OF SALVAGE VEHICLES

An insured party (registered owner) may elect to retain a vehicle that has been declared
a total loss insurance settlement. The insurance company or authorized agent must
obtain the signature of the registered owner on the Application for Salvage Title or Non-
Repairable Vehicle Certificate.

The insurance company must apply for a Salvage Title on behalf of the person who is
retaining the salvage vehicle. The vehicle may not be sold or transferred until the
registered owner has received a Salvage Title.
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APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE TITLE OR
NON-REPAIRABLE VEHICLE CERTIFICATE
(FORM RD213)

An Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form RD213)
must be submitted with properly endorsed ownership documents, including an odometer
disclosure and applicable fees.

Within two days after receipt in the Department’s Carson City office, the Department will
issue a Salvage Title for the vehicle. The Salvage Title will be mailed to the new
owner/purchaser as documented on the outstanding title documents.

Before ownership interest in a salvage vehicle may be transferred, the Department must
issue a Salvage Title. The titled owner must forward the endorsed title with an
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate to the Department
within 30 days after the vehicle becomes a salvage vehicle.

A Duplicate Salvage Title may be issued by completing an Application for Salvage Title
or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, checking the transaction type box, indicating, and
“Duplicate.”

Requests for Salvage Titles must be made through:

Attention: Salvage Unit
Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711

(775) 684-4785

(775) 684-4493 (FAX)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM RD213

1. The applicant must indicate, by checking the appropriate box, if they are:
o Insurance Company;

. Licensed Nevada Business;
. Individual Owner; or
° Out of State Wrecker.
2. Printed Name of Business, Nevada License Number, and title of person

submitting application for a business.

3. Applicant’s Full Legal Name and Date the application is being completed. The
applicant is either an individual owner or the person who is submitting the
application for a business.

4, Mailing address for where the Salvage Title will be sent.

5. Contact telephone number where the person from line 3 can be reached.

6. Signature of the person listed on line 3.

7. Vehicle Description, complete vehicle identification number, year and make.

8. If the vehicle is a Salvage Vehicle, indicate if the vehicle is a Total Loss

Insurance Settlement, Salvage Only (not Total Loss or Flood Damaged), or a
Flood-Damaged Vehicle.

9. If the Vehicle is a Non-Repairable Vehicle, indicate by checking the box.

10. Check the box if applying for a duplicate Salvage Title or a Non-Repairable
Vehicle Certificate.

Attach evidence of ownership to the application. Evidence of ownership must include a:

o] Certificate of title/ownership;
o] Salvage Title;

o] Lien Sale Affidavit; or

(o] Statement of Facts.

All future Certificates of Title issued from a Salvage Title will be branded as “Rebuilt.”

Ownership interest in a salvage vehicle may not be transferred unless the Department
has issued a Salvage Title.
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8
9

555 Wrright Way

Carson Cily, NV 89711

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) GB4-4DMV (4368)
Las Vegas area (T02) 488-2DMV (4368)

Rural Nevada or Oul of State (B77) 368-TB28

www dmvny, com

APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE TITLE OR NON-REPAIRABLE VEHICLE CERTIFICATE
NRS 487.480

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE

Check Yone: 1 O insurance Company [ Licensed Hevada Business (i.e. Wrecker, Recycier)
O

Individual Owner O] Qut of State Wreaker

Printed Name of Business 2 _ NV. Licanse Number 2

I submilted by a business positon (e, Manager, mechamc elc.) 2

Applicant Name 3 _Date 3
Last First Mi

Mailing Address 4 Talaphons Ma. | }5—
City State Lip Code

Signature of Applicant: 6

The orlginal, properly endorsed Certificate of Title, and/or other required documents, must ba attached for the
vehicle listed on this application.

WiN 7 Year ? Maka 7

Complishs Watwthiy Msntificatan Mumibar

Please check v indicating Type of Damage and Brand Pleasa chack « if duplicate:
Salvage Title: 10 [ ouplicate
[ Total Loss [ Flood Damaged

[1 Salvage Only (vehicia, ndt Total Loss of Fiood Damaged, aoouined by
Automohils Wreekor - NRE 487 100)

[ Non-Repairable Vehichs (MO FEE REGUIRED FOR CERTICATE)

A Non-Repairable Vehicle may only be processed as parls or scrap medal by a licersed aulomobile wrecker, dismaniler,
or recycler.

State law prohibits a Nan-Reparable Vehicle from being rebuill, reconstracted, of reatored for operating on the highways
of Movada

NOTE: Please include a $10.00 Salvage Title fee for cach Salvage Tithe requested, Licensed MNevada Automobile
YWrackers ane axampt from the Salvage Title fea. Thare iz NO fea charged for a “Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate”.

RO-Z213 (Rev 52007}
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NON-REPAIRABLE VEHICLE CERTIFICATE
(FORM RD2-NR)

A Non-Repairable Vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle, other than an abandoned
vehicle that:

1. Has value only as a source of parts or scrap metal;

2. Has been designated by its owner for dismantling as a source of parts or scrap
metal,

3. Has been stripped of all body panels, doors, hatches, substantially all interior
components and substantially all grill and light assemblies; or

4. Has been burned, destroyed or otherwise damaged to such an extent that it
cannot be returned to a condition which is legal for operation on the highways of
this state.

A Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate will be issued, upon application, for a vehicle as
described in the definition (follow directions for Application for Salvage Title or Non-
Repairable Vehicle Certificate, page 11-3). A Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate must be
issued before the ownership interest in a non-repairable vehicle may be transferred.

Once a vehicle has been issued a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, the vehicle may
not be registered or issued a Certificate of Title, or be restored for use on Nevada
highways.

A vehicle for which a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate has been issued may not apply
for or be issued a Salvage Title.

Transfer of ownership for a Non-Repairable Vehicle may only occur between a licensed
automobile wrecker, dismantler or recycler. A licensed automobile wrecker, dismantler
or recycler may only process a Non-Repairable Vehicle as parts or scrap metal.

A Duplicate Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate may be issued by completing an
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, checking the
transaction type box, indicating “Duplicate.”

No fee is assessed for a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate.
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Front of Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate
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Back of Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate
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SECTION Il

FORMS
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AUTHORIZATION FOR VEHICLE RESTORATION
(FORM RD-209)
NRS 487.480

As required by NRS 487.480, the Department will not issue a Certificate of Registration
or title for vehicles that have been issued a Salvage Title (if the vehicle is five years old
or newer) unless the Department has authorized the restoration of the vehicle. Form
RD-209, Authorization for Vehicle Restoration, must be completed.

The authorization to restore the vehicle must be obtained prior to the vehicle being
rebuilt. Only an authorized Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles Representative may
complete the form.

In order to register and/or title the vehicle, the Authorization for Vehicle Restoration,
Salvage Title and Certificate of Inspection/Affidavit of Vehicle Construction for Rebuilt or
Specially Constructed Vehicles (RD-64) must be provided. Additional documents may
be required as deemed necessary by the Department.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AUTHORIZATION FOR
VEHICLE RESTORATION

1. Vehicle Description: The description must include the vehicle identification
number, year, make, type, model and odometer reading.

2. Name: The name and address appearing in section 2 must be i the person in
possession of the vehicle at the time of inspection.

3. Authorized Signature: The DMV representative who inspects the vehicle must
sign and date the form to validate it.
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555 WRIGHT WAY

CARSON CITY, NV 89711

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (7T5) 684-4DMV (4368)
Las Vegas Area (T02) 486-4DMV (4368)

Rural Nevada or Out of State (877) JG8-TE28
o, MmNy, com

AUTHORIZATION FOR VEHICLE RESTORATION

FURSAMNT TO NRS 487.480

Vehicle Identification Number:

1000000000000000000

Year, 1 Make 1 Model__ 1

In Possession of

Mame 2

Type_____ 1 . Odomater 1

First hiddle

Address_

Cite
LRy

Last

State Zip Code R

I, the undersign, have inspected the above described vehicle and authorize s restoration,

Printed name_

Signature 3

~ Autharized Nevada OMY Representative

Data

RD 209 (0403)

Revised April 2008
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BILL OF SALE
(FORM RD-104)

A Bill of Sale releases interest in a vehicle, and must be accompanied by a Certificate of
Title or other ownership documents.

A Bill of Sale does not replace a Certificate of Title.

All areas of the Bill of Sale must be completed in full, and either typed or printed in ink.
They must correspond to the title or other ownership documentation.

1. The purchase price must be written out in full (i.e., one hundred dollars).

2. The purchase price must also be identified numerically (i.e., $100.00).

3 Full Legal Name of Buyer(s) should be completed exactly as it appears on the
customer’s driver’s license, identification card, or business license.

4. Nevada Driver's License, Identification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:
Enter the number based on the document presented during the purchase
transaction.

e If the customer does not have a Nevada driver’s license or identification card,
“No Nevada DL or ID” must be printed in the registered owner’s information
area.

e Customers purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business that does not have an FEIN
(Federal Employer Identification Number), enter “No FEIN.”

e Do not enter or use the customer’s social security number.

5. Indicate “AND” or “OR” between names if there is more than one owner. Using
“and” will require all persons on the title to sign the title to release interest in the
vehicle. “OR” will allow for one person to sign the title of the two or more
recorded, releasing interest in the vehicle.

6 The Bill of Sale must include the address of the buyer.

7. Buyer’s Signature must be present.

8. The Date the Buyer signed the Bill of Sale form.

9 The Bill of Sale must include a complete description of the vehicle, including the
year, make, model and vehicle identification number (VIN).

10. If no liens exist, write “NONE.” If a lien exists, record the name of the lienholder.

11.  Enter the mailing address for the lienholder.

12.  The Bill of Sale must include the name, address and signature of the seller.

13. The Seller’'s Signature must be included.

14.  The Date of Seller’s signed the Bill of Sale form.

Note: Any alteration or erasure on the Bill of Sale requires additional verification.

Revised April 2008 3 Section Il
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555 WRIGHT WAY

CARSON CITY, NV 83711

RenolSparksiGarson Gity (775) 684-2DMY (4368)
Las Vegas Area (T02) 485-20MV [4168)

Rural Nevada ar Oul of State (B77) 368-T828
ey . £

BILL OF SALE
A Bill of Sale releases interesl in 8 vehicle. A Cerlificale of Tille or other ownership documents must accompany this
fesrr,
INSTRUCTIONS

»  All areas must be completed in full,

= Complole the buyer anea oxactly as the new Certificate of Title will be printed
= I noliens exist write the word “NONE".

+  Any alierations or evasures will require additional dogumentation or verification

Please print or ype
Know all men by these pragants

That in consideration of 1 Dollars (% 2 i

and pther value consideration, the reneip-i whereo! is_r.;eTul:ry acknowledged, the undersigned (seller) does hereby sell,
transfer and deliver unto:
O and

Full Legal Name of Buyer(s) 3 Lor

BT [ Vs
Mevada Driver's License, Identification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses 4

Full Legal Name of Buyer(s) _

i s g L

Mevada Driver's License, Ientification Card Number, or FEIN for businesscs

Address _

Ere City T3 fi G

Buyer's Signature T Dateﬂ
hig right. tithe and interest in and fo the following described vehicle:

Year Make Moded

Vehicle ldentification Number

J | L |

Buyer certifies Lien in favor ur_1 0
Lienholder Address —
St State Zip Cot

City
Seller cerlifies that he is the Lawlul owner of said vehicle; that he has the right to sell the aforesaid; and that be will warrant
and defend tha title of same against the claims and demands of all parsons whomevar excapt lienhelder noled above.

e of businerss or indnidusal holding lien

Sellar's Printed Full Legal Nama

Made Lamad

Famt o=
Seller's Address ___.1_2_
—— e Lnp Cord

S 13 - o 14

FOEH (P, 1000

Revised April 2008 4 Section Il
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CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION / AFFIDAVIT OF VEHICLE
CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED,
SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED, REBUILT OR LOW SPEED VEHICLES
FORM RD-64
REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALLY
CONSTRUCTED, REBUILT TRAILERS FORM RD-223
NRS 487.110

Certificate of Inspection Affidavit of Construction for Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed,
Specially Constructed, Rebuilt or Low Speed Vehicles (Form RD-64) or Certificate of
Inspection Affidavit of Construction for Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed, Specially
Constructed, Rebuilt Trailers (Form RD-223) must be completed. In order to register or
title a vehicle for which a Salvage Title has been issued. The Certificate of Title and
other documentation, as required, must also accompany the RD-64 or RD-223.

An owner or authorized employee of a Nevada registered garageman, licensed body
shop, or rebuilder must certify that a salvage vehicle is repaired or rebuilt and must
comply with the standards published and commonly applied in the motor vehicle repair
industry.

Motorcycle repair shops must be registered with the Department.

If any safety equipment that was present in a motor vehicle at the time it was
manufactured is repaired or replaced, the equipment must be repaired or replaced to
the standards published and commonly applied in the motor vehicle repair industry.

If a motor vehicle has been in an accident and a garageman, operator of a body shop,
or rebuilder accepts or assumes control of the motor vehicle to make any repair, the
garageman or operator shall:

@) For a motor vehicle that is equipped with an airbag that has been deployed,
replace the airbag in a manner that complies with the standards set forth in 49
C.F.R. 8§ 571.208, Standard No. 208, for such equipment; and

(b) For a motor vehicle that is equipped with a seatbelt assembly which requires
repair or replacement, repair or replace the seatbelt assembly in a manner that
complies with the standards set forth in 49 C.F.R. § 571.209, Standard No. 209,
for such equipment.

A garageman or operator of a body shop who is licensed pursuant to the provisions of
chapter 487 of NRS and who performs the work required must retain a written record of
the work, including, without limitation, the date of the repair, rebuilding or replacement,
and any identifying information regarding any parts or equipment used in the repair,
rebuilding or replacement.

Revised April 2008 5 Section Il
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Nevada Highway Patrol Troopers, local police and sheriffs are considered authorized
agents of the Department and may complete a VIN inspection (RD15). However an
Authorized DMV Agency Inspector must complete the Form RD-64. An “Authorized
Nevada DMV Representative” must complete the RD-223 and RD-209. The agency
name and badge number must be recorded on the form.

Nevada Certificates of Title issued for vehicles using Form RD-64 or RD-223 will be
branded in accordance with statements made on the form by the owner.

Form RD-64 or RD-223 may also be used for inspection and VIN assignment on
Specially Constructed trailers, required mechanic’s inspections, and required
Department safety checks from “not street legal” vehicle to “street legal declarations as
applicable.

Revised April 2008 6 Section Il
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INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETING FORM RD-64

Part | - To be completed by a garageman, operator, or authorized employee of a
licensed Nevada Body Shop or rebuilder.
1. Indicate whether the vehicle is rebuilt salvage, reconstructed, specially
constructed, rebuilt, or low speed vehicle.
PART | — SAFETY INSPECTION
2. Vehicle description must be completed in full.

A. Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed, Specially Constructed, Rebuilt, or Low Speed
Vehicle
3. If items being inspected are acceptable, the applicable box must be
checked after each item is inspected.

B. MOTORCYCLE
4, If items being inspected are acceptable, the applicable box must be
checked after each item is inspected.

Note: Before signing Part D all items must be marked “Pass” indicating item is in a safe
operating condition.

C. Certification

5. Must be completed by a Nevada Registered Garage or a Licensed
Nevada Body Shop.

PART Il — AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT SALVAGE,
RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED OR LOW SPEED MOTOR
VEHICLE
6. Completed by the owner.

a. Check appropriate box for materials used.

b. Vehicle information; Year, Make, Model, Type, and number of
Axles.

C. Affiant’s printed full legal name.

d. Affiant’s address.

e. Affiant’s signature.

f. Signature must be witnessed by Authorized Nevada DMV

Representative.

PART Ill — Authorized DMV Agency Representative
7. To be completed by an Authorized Nevada DMV Agency Representative.
a. VIN and part description must be completed for all components used.
b Reason VIN assigned, if applicable.
C. Additional comments, if applicable.
d. Printed Name and Signature of Authorized Nevada DMV
e Representative - Include Employee Identification Number.
f. Date Part Il was completed.

Revised April 2008 7 Section Il
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555 WRIGHT WAY

Las Viegas Arca (T0Z) 480-4DMY (4368)
Rural Nevada or Out of State (87T7) J00-T828
e girren v com

1 CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION / AFFIDAVIT OF VEHICLE CONSTRUCTION

O Rebuilt Salvage [ Reconstructed [ Specially Constructed [ Low Speed

s INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THIS FORM ARE LOCATED ON THE REVERSE SIDE

PART! SAFETY INSPECTION
2 Must be completed by a Nevada Registered Garage, Licensed Nevada Body Shop or Rebuilder

Year Make Model Type
Vitucle Idenbhicabion Numbaer (VIN

Chack (V) Appropriaie Boxes

A. HEBLILT ¥ REL GIED
Nipbe: PARTR , 0, amd Il of this form muest alen be completed,

[iiA may apply 1o air bage. mudguards, reflactors and safety beita/shoulder hamesa onty if the fem was not original sguipmaent. N/A may apply
to glass mnd windshisid ¥ not present,  presant it must be prepar safely glass, M/A for muMlers appiies to low speed vehicles only.

PASS FAL N4 PASS FAIL PASS FAIL WA
Windshield [ O O Headlights O [ Hom O O
GideGlass [ O O Tailsghts O O  Muffier O O
Rear Glass [ O O TumSignalz [J O  Mudguards (over 26,000 Ibe) O O 0
Mirrors n O Parking Lights  [] O Windshiald Wipars Ol O
Steering O O Brake Lights | [0 Emergency Brake (] O
Air Bags Ll ] [] Brakes 1 ]  Salety Bells, Shoulder Hamess — [] R
Framd O O Refleciors (low speed veh, only) [ O o
Other [explain) O O
Heéldode Sngiang Sechdd "L il il Abvor ikl Db maliked “pasa” indicaling the ibénd ane in 4 u&mwmm.
E-. MOTORCYCLE Mobe: PARTS C, Il and 1l of this fonm misst also be completed,
WA [Turn Sigrals) is anly for motoreyches buill prior o January 1, 1973, not riginally equipped with tur si
PASS FAIL NIA PASE  FAIL PASE  FAIL
Horm O 0O Reflectors O O Brake Light O O
Headights o O Tailligiht L O Fenders ] O
Turn Signals O 0O O Mufers o O Mirrore ] O
C. Plece Print o Type
Legal Business Name
[T DIMYF Bl st Liconion oo Rgsgiatralion Mumitses

Addrass

Gty Slaly Tip Cude
By signing this documand, | cartify the dascribad molor vehicla i machanically safe 1o operate and |8 equipped with all
raquired davices par Saction A of B, necessary for safe oparation upon the highway. | funther canify that if repaired, the
passenger restraint devices (as applicable), to include seat belts andior airbags, were repaired pursuant to Thle 48 CFR
571.200, Standard 209, and Title 49 CFR 571.208, Standard 208, respectvely, and have been satisfactoly repaired 1o the

applcable standards of the manufacturer and the malor vehicle repair indusiry.
Heds: For s Specially Conalrsched Vahicly (o, kil car) | am daly waribying Bhe indagrity &f Ehe saléby squapamant

Printed Full Legal Mams of Afian o Signature and Postion ke

el | My E007)
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SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED, OR LOW SPEED MOTOR VEHICLE
The undersignad, being duly swom upon oath, deposes and says thay are the owner of the vehicle imind balow. This
vehicle was rebuili or buill from paris and matenials on hand, o pars and matersals purchased from a supplier, o a
manufactured kit purchased from a supplior, or purchased “as is” from a rebuilder, or olherwise lawfully acguired, The
affiant or registered owner makes this affidavit as part of an application o the Nevada Department of Molor Vehicles for a
Carlificale of Registration andior a Cerliicale of Titke. The undersigned will indemmify and hold harmless the State of
Nevada on account of the issuancs of a Certificale of Ragistration andior Cartificate of Titke for sakd vehicls,

E PART Wi AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED,

O vahicle was constructed from parisimaterial on hand [0 vehicle was assemibied from manufaciured kit
] Vehicie was buit from purchassd pars/matenisl recsints aischesd [0 Vekicis wns purchassd “as i froem rabuilosr

Wi Make (i a marndachmed ki) Model Ty Mo of axies
Floxio Frind or Typor
Affiant’s Full Legal Nama
(A8 apponns on Drrwors Licens ) First Middia Last
Affiant's Address

Cay Stnle Zip Coda
Affiant's Signature I
P ey g e eyl = i i
PART IN Compileted by an Authorized Nevada DMV Represantative
{ T B Commipletind an Conpursc oo wilh Pa |, Sectond &, B o C, 54 applcabila)

Naoto: Amach copies of any tle or purchass decumants, supplied by dwnbr, showing information of componants usad from ofher vehicise
YiM & Pan VIN & Part
WiN & Part = __VIN & Pari

VIN indicaled in Pari | Verified

VIM Aszignment Fes

[J Ditferent than listed in Parl | Year _Make_ _ Model_ Type .

Reason VIN assigned

Addshonal comments:

Frinted Nama of Nevadn MY AQENCY REDfEBeniatve  SonBiLes of Nevida DMy AREncy Repmsenintive BT Gewm

Instructions
* A Nevada Registered Garage, Licansed Nevada Body Shop or Rebuilder must complete Part | and Sections A, B, or G as
applicable

« Seetian "J:"mul.tbi completad for vehicles and Seetion “B for motoreycles.

+ Vohicle ownar must complota Part Il and verily with a Heveda DMV Agency Representative.

= A Nevada DMV Agency Representative must complete Part 1L

» Motlorcycle repair shops must be registered with the Department.

Important: A new form and inspection must be completed if any inspection ilems are morked foil, ot merked, [mpropsry
marked, or if corrections were made 1o the fomm.

ALL INSPECTION ITEMS MUST BE CHECKED “PASS", INDICATING THE ITEM IS BN A SAFE GPERATING CONDITION BEFORE THIS VEHICLE
CAN BE REGISTERED ANDIOR TITLED.

RIkad |Hevw E3007])
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM RD-223

To be completed by an authorized employee of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

1.

Indicate whether the trailer is rebuilt, reconstructed or specially
constructed.

PART 1 — INSPECTION

2.

o0k w

7.

If items being inspected are acceptable, check the applicable box after
each item is inspected.

Enter trailer's empty weight.

Enter Vehicle Identification Number.

Enter reason VIN was assigned.

Printed Name of Authorized Nevada DMV Representative. The
authorized Nevada DMV Representative should sign the form and include
their employee identification number.

Enter date Part Il was completed.

PART 2 — AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT, RECONSTRUCTED OR
SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED TRAILER

Completed by the person who built or rebuilt the trailer, if available.

8.
9.

10.
11.
12.
13.

Check appropriate box for materials used.

Enter the description of the trailer.

Enter Affiant’s printed full legal name.

Enter Affiant’s address.

Affiant’s signature.

Signature must be witnessed by Authorized Nevada DMV Representative.

Revised April 2008 10 Section Il



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide

CARSON CITY, NV 89711

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) GE4-4DMV (4368)
Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4DMV (4368)

Rural Novada or Out of State (877) 388-7828
warw. dmvny.com

CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION AND AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION
1 FOR A HOMEMADE OR ASSEMBLED TRAILER
O REBUILT TRAILER [ RECOWSTRUCTED TRAILER [ SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED TRAILER

CoMPLETED BY AN AUTHORIZED MEvaDa DMV REPRESENTATIVE

PART | - INSPECTION

Mote: I traiber is assembled by & perscn other than the manutacturer, all of PART 2 must also be completed.
PASS FAIL PASS FAIL FASS  FAIL
2 Brakes {if requirediover 1,500s) [ O  Tail Lights O O Tum Signals a O
Brake Lights 0O O Clearance Lights (owr 80 [ ] Reflectors o 0O
inches in Width NRS 484 581)
Marker Lights (Crer 80 Mudguards (Cver
Unladen Tradar Waight 3 inches in Width NRS 484.561) O = 26,000 |bs.) o O

** All items must be checked and in a safe operating condition before form is signed.
Pigase Print or Type

4

DAY Assigned VIN of Manulaciurer's VIN [f applcable)

Reason VIN assigned 5 v}

6 6 6 7

Prinited name of Authorzed Nev DMV Represeniative | Signature of Authonzed ey OMY Representative

AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION
PART 2 = VIN ASSIGNMENT

The undersigned, being duly swom upon oath, deposes and says they are the owner of the trailer listed below,
This traller was built from parts and materials on hand, purchased malerials from a supplier, a manufactured kit,
“as is" from a builder, or otherwise lawfully acquired. The affiant or registered owner makes this affidavit as part
of an application to the Nevada Department of Motor Viehicles for a Cerlificate of Registration andior a Certificate
of Title, The undersigned will indemnify and save harmless the State of Nevada on account of the issuance of a
Certificate of Registration andlor Certificate of Tithe for said trailer.

[0 Trailer built from materials on hand O Trailer built from purchased malterials, (receipts astached)
O Trailer was purchased “as is” from builder [0 Manufaciure Kit

9 9 9 9

Year Waka [ a manufactured Kit) No. of ades Trpe

Affiant's Full Legal Name 10

Address 1 1

City Stale Tip Code
Affiant's Legal Signature_ 1 2 .. Date_______
13 13 13 13
Printed name of Authorized Mevada DMWY Represantabwe Sagnalune of Aulhonped Mevada D Representatneg 0, Mo Drait

RD 223 {REY 11000
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ERASURE AFFIDAVIT
(RD-19)

An Erasure Affidavit (RD-19) must be completed whenever an error has been made on
Certificate of Title documents. The affidavit provides for the removal of incorrect
information.

An Erasure Affidavit (RD-19) cannot be used to correct anything having to do with
signatures, vehicle information or the mileage disclosure. The Erasure Affidavit must be
completed by the person whose name is being removed from the document. Any other
changes of information require the signature of the person taking responsibility for the
error.

When correcting information, draw a single line through the error and write the corrected
information above. Do not obliterate the information. If the correct information cannot
be placed in the appropriate area on the Certificate of Title, Manufacturer’s Certificate of
Origin or Salvage Title, it may be placed on the Erasure Affidavit.

Revised April 2008 12 Section Il
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE ERASURE

AFFIDAVIT
1. State and county where the form was completed.
2. The complete description of the vehicle, including the year, make, model and

identification number of the vehicle. The description of the vehicle must match all
corresponding documents.

3. A complete description of the reason for the change or removal of information on
the title documents.

4, The full legal name, address and signature of the person whose name is being
removed from the document. Any other change of information requires the
signature of the person taking responsibility for the error or removal of
information from the document.

If the person is representing a business, the business name and the name of the
representative must also appear (i.e., ABC Auto Sales, by Sam Jones).

5. An Erasure Affidavit must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public or
authorized Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles representative. If witnessed by
a Notary Public, the stamp and signature of the Notary Public must appear on the
affidavit. If witnessed by an authorized Department representative, the name
and validation stamp or employee identification number, as applicable, must
appear on the affidavit.

Revised April 2008 13 Section Il



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide

555 WRIGHT wWaY

CARSON CITY, NV 89711

Reno/Sparka/Carson City (T75) 684-4DMV (4368)
Las Vegas Area (T0Z) 486-4DMV (4368)

Rural Nevada (877) 368-T828

Ww dmvny.com

MNevada Departmant of Molor Vahiclas ™

ERASURE AFFIDAVIT
An individual taking full responsibility for an error, change, or removal of information on ownership
documents must complete and sign the Erasure Affidavit. If a parson is being remaoved from the
ownership documents, that individual is required to sign the affidavit. When representing a business,
the business name and the name of the authorized business representative must appear on the

affidavit.

Please print or type

il B

Year 2 Make 2 Model 2
Vehicle Identification Number 2

The undersigned, being duly swomn, states that the eror or change appea ring on the attached
ownership documents for the described vehicle was made due to: (PLEASE STATE AREA CHANGE WAS MADE N}

3

This information should not be part of the vehicle record

Affiant's Full Legal Name 4
Last First []
Address 4
Sirpal City Siate Zip Code B
Affiant’s Legal Signature 4
Subscribed and Sworn before me this 5 day of 5 mi
5

MNotary Public or Authorized Mevada DMV Reprasentative

RO [Rapw, WT00N)
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LIEN RELEASE/SATISFACTION OF LIEN

Lien Release means a written release from a person, business or financial institution on
record as having a security interest in a vehicle. The lien release must include a
complete vehicle description.

A lien release or satisfaction of lien enables a lienholder to release the security interest
in a vehicle. It may be used with the Certificate of Title or with an application for a
duplicate Certificate of Title.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM RD-186

The lien release must include:

1. A complete description of the vehicle, including the vehicle identification number,
year, make, and model,

2. The registered owner’s full legal name and address,
3. The name, address and phone number of the lienholder,
4, The printed name of the lienholder representative and their title if the lienholder is

a business, the name of the business,
5. The signature of an authorized representative of the business, and
6. The date it was signed by the lienholder.
7. Signature must be witnessed by a Notary Public or authorized Nevada DMV

representative.

Note: A Lien Release (Form RD-186) is available from the Department. However,
other forms will be accepted provided they contain the information specified above.
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DEALER REASSIGNMENT OF TITLE

Dealer Reassignment of Title (Form RD-190) is a form provided by the Department
pursuant to NRS 482.400 for use by a dealer for the transfer of ownership of a vehicle.

If a Certificate of Title is not available at the time of transfer of ownership, and it is not in
the possession of a lienholder and it has not been lost or stolen, a dealer may use a
Dealer Reassignment of Title form to transfer ownership of a vehicle.

The Dealer Reassignment of Title may also be used if the spaces on the reverse side of
the Certificate of Title have been filled in or struck through.

The first assignment area on the Certificate of Title must always be completed.
If a dealer uses a Dealer Reassignment of Title form to transfer the ownership of a
vehicle, the dealer shall, before submitting documentation concerning the transaction to

the Department:

. Write the number of the Dealer Reassignment of Title form in the upper right
corner of the reverse side of the Certificate of Title for the vehicle;

. Attach the Dealer Reassignment of Title form to the Certificate of Title; and

. Strike through any spaces on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title that
remains unfilled.

If a reassignment of title form is used, and the buyer is not a dealer, the buyer must be
provided with an opportunity to examine:

o The Certificate of Title or a photocopy of the Certificate of Title; and

. Any power of attorney for the purpose of mileage disclosure that was given to the
dealer in connection with his acquisition of the vehicle.
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POWER OF ATTORNEY
(RD-136)

A Power of Attorney is a written legal document whereby one individual conveys to
another the legal right to act on his or her behalf.

If the right to release interest in a vehicle has been conveyed to another person or firm
by Power of Attorney, the original Power of Attorney must accompany the title
document, and it must contain a complete description of the vehicle, including the
vehicle identification number, year, make, and model.

If a general Power of Attorney is used to convey an individual’s legal rights, a photocopy
attached to the title document is acceptable.

A Power of Attorney becomes null and void upon the death of the individual who
conveyed his or her rights to another.

The Power of Attorney must be exercised by the person or firm named as
representative on the form. To properly exercise the Power of Attorney, the name of the
owner must be listed prior to that of the representative.

o Example for an individual:
Sharon Smith by Jane Doe, P of A
o Example for a business:
Sharon Smith by Morrison’s Garage George Morrison, P of A

The Power of Attorney may only be exercised on the Certificate of Title or document for
which the authority was granted. Otherwise, it is null and void.

The Power of Attorney must be witnessed by a notary public or authorized Nevada
Department of Motor Vehicles employee or representative.

When the Power of Attorney is used to release ownership of a vehicle, the Certificate of
Title must be signed in the appropriate area by the individual appointed as power of
attorney.

If a specific Power of Attorney is used to release ownership of a vehicle, only certified
copies are acceptable. The following statement must be included on the certified copy:

“I hereby certify that this is a true and exact copy of the original that is being held
in our files. | further certify the original will be available during normal business
hours for review by Department of Motor Vehicles personnel if necessary.”

If a Power of Attorney is given to a business, the certification statement must include the
business stamp or the printed or typed name of the business, the signature of the
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individual authorized to act on behalf of the business and the printed or typed name of
the person certifying the copy of the specific Power of Attorney.

A general or specific power of attorney cannot be used to disclose the odometer reading
on vehicles nine years old or newer.
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VEHICLE INSPECTION CERTIFICATE AND
ODOMETER DECLARATION
(FORM RD-15)

Vehicle Inspection Certificate (Form RD-15) is a form provided by the Department and
when completed shows evidence that a vehicle inspection was completed by a DMV
inspector or an authorized representative (including law enforcement) to verify the
vehicle identification number.

Verification of the vehicle identification number (VIN) will be confirmed by a physical
inspection of the vehicle.

The physical inspection of the vehicle must be completed by a Nevada DMV employee
or authorized Nevada DMV representative.

Verification of the VIN ensures the accuracy of the information used to create a Nevada
Certificate of Title.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM RD-15

Date: Enter the date the inspection was completed.

Vehicle Description: Enter the year, make, model and type of vehicle.

Low Speed Vehicles must meet safety standards set forth in Federal Motor
Safety Standard No. 500 at 49 C.F.R. § 571.500 and if registered in Clark or
Washoe Counties must pass an emission test.

Vehicle Identification Number: Enter the complete vehicle identification number
as it appears on the vehicle. Do not use other documents to retrieve this
information. After inspecting the vehicle, compare the VIN from the vehicle to
that on the other title documents to ensure they match.

Odometer Reading: Record the odometer reading as it appears on the vehicle’s
odometer apparatus.

Cylinders/Rotor: Enter whether the vehicle has cylinders or rotors and how
many.

If the vehicle is a trailer, indicate whether the vehicle has living quarters or not.
Fuel: Select the type of fuel this vehicle is powered by, if applicable.

Remarks: Comment on any unusual circumstances encountered during the
inspection.

Authorized Officer-Inspector:  The name and signature of the authorized
individual who completed the inspection.

Badge or ID#: The badge number of the officer or employee ID of the authorized
individual who completed the inspection.

Date: Date of when the inspection was conducted.
Address: Address of the authorized individual who completed the inspection.
Agency Name: Record the name of the agency conducting the inspection.

Indicate whether the agency is law enforcement or an authorized agency such as
a licensed Nevada dealer.
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555 Wright Way

Carson Ci‘t]r, NV B3T11

RenolSparks/Carson City (775) 684-4DMV (4368)
Las Vegas Area (702) 485-4DMV (4368)

Rural Nevada or Out of State (877) 368-T828
www.dmvnv.com

IMPORTANT NOTICE: NEVADA LAW REQUIRES REGISTERED OWNERS TO MAINTAIN INSURANCE COVERAGE ON
REGISTERED VEHICLES, FROM A LICENSED NEVADA INSURANCE CARRIER TQ AVOID A 5250 FINE.

VEHICLE INSPECTION CERTIFICATE
FOR VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER VERIFICATION
(To be completed by an Authorized Nevada DMV Representative or any Law Enforcement Officer)

Please Print or Type 1 Date
| certify that | have examined the following vehicle:

2 Year Make Model Body Type

3 Federal Certification Safety Label and Emissions Label (LSVsonly) O Yes O HNo

4 venicie Identification Number

iy | NNE

5 Odometer Reading (as shown on apparatus) NO TENTHS
If the vehicle's odometer apparaius only displays five numbers. please put an X in the first box. Not all LSV will have an
cdomaler,

0O 1. The mileage stated s in excess of its mechanical imits.
O 2. The odomaler reading is not the sctual milaage, WARNING - ODDMETER DISCREPANCY
00 3. Exempt — Mode! year over 9 years old

ﬁ O Cylinders O Rotor
? If vehicle being inspected is a trailer, does il include living guarters? [ Yes [ Mo
8 Fuel: 0 Gas [0 Diesel O Propane O Electric O Other (see remarks)
9 REMARKS
: 1 U Badge or 1 1

Authorized Officer-Inspector - Printed Mame iD# LA

Authorized Officer-Inspector - Signature 10 - Date 12

(I other than DMY Inspection Station) 3

Addrass City Slate Zip Code

[1  Enforcement Agency 13

1 Agerty

(1 Nevada Authorized Agency

Agency

REHE A 180
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SECTION IV

FEES
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SALVAGE TITLE AND NON-REPAIRABLE

VEHICLE CERTIFICATE FEES
NRS 487.810

Salvage Title Fees:

Licensed Nevada Automobile Wrecker
Out-of-State Automobile Wrecker

Licensed Nevada Salvage Pool

In-State or Out-of-State Insurance Companies

Out-of-State Vehicle Dealers (must be registered
with a Salvage Pool)

No fee is assessed for a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate.

No fee
$10.00
$10.00
$10.00
$10.00

Revised April 2008 1
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TITLE FEES
NRS 482.429

A title fee must be submitted for the following transactions:

Fees:

Vehicles sold or leased to a governmental agency including city, county, state,
etc.

All unregistered vehicles.

Commercial vehicles registered by the Motor Carrier Division of the Nevada
Department of Motor Vehicles.

Lease terminations.

Vehicles being titled in a dealership’s name.

Repossessed vehicles.

Unregistered vehicles being titled to perfect a lien against the vehicle.
Applications for a duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title, unless Form RD-206 is
presented.

All private-party transfers and dealer sales.

First-time, change of ownership or duplicate certificates of title $20.00
Vehicles not physically present in or registered in Nevada $35.00

A Title Processing Fee in the amount of $8.25 must be charged on all title transactions
that include a complete change of ownership.

Examples of when a title-processing fee is charged:

Dealer sales

Private-party sales

Sale between family members

Gift transactions

Any sale or transaction that is processed involving a change of ownership
Lien sale transaction, lease assumptions and lease terms

Lease buyouts

Do not charge a Title Processing Fee for:

Salvage titles

Non-repairable vehicle certificates

Duplicate titles

Removing a lienholder

Removing a name (if one name from the original title remains on the new title)
Changing a last name if person is “one-in-the-same” (e.g., married, legal name
change)

Changing an address

Manufacturer's Statement of Origin or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin is in
the registered owner’s full legal name.
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SECTION V

LIEN SALES
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LIEN SALES

Any person who is entitled to impose a lien on a motor vehicle as provided for in
Nevada Revised Statutes 487 or 108 may, without process of law, detain the vehicle in
his possession until the sum due to him is paid. If the sum due is not paid the lien may
be satisfied by a sale. Prior to the sale, Nevada law requires the lien claimant to meet a
number of requirements.

The following information is intended to help you process a lien sale in a minimum

amount of time, while meeting all statutory requirements. Samples of letters and forms
are provided for your convenience.

DETERMINING FIRST OR SECOND LIEN
NRS 108.290

A first lien is acquired pursuant to NRS 108.315, as in the case of a lien on a motor
vehicle for charges for towing, storing, and any related administrative fees:

. For the first 30 days of the lien:

o If the amount of the lien does not exceed $1,000, it is considered a first
lien.
o If the amount of the lien is $1,000 or more, it is considered a second lien.

. After the first 30 days of the lien:

o] If the amount of the lien does not exceed $2,500, it is considered a first
o] IIlfetrr]l.e amount is $2,500 or more, it is considered a second lien.
. In all other cases, if the amount of the lien:
o] Does not exceed $1,000, it is a first lien.
o] Exceeds $1,000, it is a second lien.

Revised April 2008 1 Section V
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TOWING ABANDONED VEHICLES
NRS 487.095
NAC 487.030

Nevada licensed Automobile Wreckers and Tow Car Operators who remove abandoned
vehicles from public or private property as prescribed by NRS 487.230 may place a lien
on the vehicle for towing and storage charges.

The vehicle must be declared abandoned on public property by a law enforcement
agency or on private property by the property owner or person in lawful possession of
the private property. NRS 258.125 entitles a $50.00 fee be paid to a constable who
requests a vehicle be removed from public property after the lien has been satisfied.

Whenever a vehicle has been removed to a garage or other place as provided by NRS
487.230, the owner of the garage or the automobile wrecker who towed the vehicle has
a lien on the vehicle for the costs of towing and storing for a period not exceeding 90
days.

Nevada Administrative Code 487.030 sets towing fees at a fixed rate of $55.00,
regardless of the time of day, the distance to the vehicle or the type of equipment used
to tow the vehicle.

ABANDONED VEHICLE LIENS
NRS 487.205

Automobile wreckers and tow car operators who remove abandoned vehicles from
public or private property as prescribed by NRS 487.270 may place a lien on the vehicle
for towing and storage charges.

A vehicle must be declared as abandoned on public property by a law enforcement
agency and on private property by the property owner or person in lawful possession of
the private property.

As prescribed by NRS 706.4479, automobile wreckers and tow car operators must
make every reasonable attempt and use all resources reasonably necessary, as
evidenced by written documentation, to obtain the identity of the owner and any other
necessary information from the agency charged with the registration of the motor
vehicle in this State or any other state within:

. Twenty-one days after placing the motor vehicle in storage if the motor vehicle
was towed at the request of a law enforcement officer following an accident
involving the motor vehicle; or

o Fifteen days after placing any other motor vehicle in storage.

Revised April 2008 2 Section V



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide

The operator shall attempt to notify the owner of the vehicle by certified mail as soon as
possible, but in no case later than 15 days after identification of the owner is obtained
for any motor vehicle.

If an operator includes in his tariff a fee to be charged to the registered and legal owner
of a vehicle for the towing and storage of the vehicle, the fee may not be charged:

. For more than 21 days after placing the motor vehicle in storage if the motor
vehicle was towed at the request of a law enforcement officer following an
accident involving the motor vehicle; or

. For more than 15 days after placing any other vehicle in storage,

o Unless the operator complies with the notification requirements.

In every instance where charges are made for the towing of a vehicle, a tow bill must be
completed in full and comply with all NAC 706.420. If a licensed Nevada Automobile
Wrecker tows the vehicle; the tow bill must be in a similar format and must contain the

following information:

. Business name, address, telephone number and certificate number or DMV
business license number.

. Address of the facility where the vehicle is stored.

o Date and time of the request for towing including designations to “am” or “pm”.

. Name and address of the registered owner of the towed vehicle, if available.

. The year, make, model, vehicle identification number, license plate number and

state of issuance.
. Exact location from where vehicle was towed.

. Address of the location to which the vehicle was towed, if different from the
where the vehicle is being stored.

. The time the wrecker was dispatched to tow the vehicle and the reading of the
odometer of the tow vehicle at the beginning of the trip.

. The time of the arrival of the tow car at the site of the car to be towed and the
reading on the odometer upon its arrival.

. The time of the departure of the tow car from the site of the vehicle to be towed.
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° The time of the arrival of the tow car at the location to where the vehicle was
towed and the reading of the odometer upon its arrival.

. The total time, this passes while at the site of the towing in hours and minutes.

o The exact mileage and hourly charges.

. If an extra person was required, the time he was sent to the site and the time he
returned.

. A detailed listing of all charges and, if charges are based on time, the starting

and ending times. If more space is needed for the listing, a separate sheet of
paper must be attached to the bill and a notation made on the bill that an
additional sheet is attached. If the tow was requested by a constable, include the
$50 fee.

. The date and the time the storage of the vehicle started and ended and a
notation of whether the vehicle was stored inside a locked building or in a
secured, fenced area.

. Statement of total charges for towing.
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SAMPLE TOW BILL

PRIVATE PROPERTY ABANDONED VEHICLE RELEASE

I, the undersigned, do hereby release to

Name of automobile wrecker or tow car operator

the following vehicle:

Vehicle Identification Number

Year Make Model

License Plate Number

Expiration date State

Registered Owner(s)

Name
Address
Address City State Zip Code
Legal Owner
Name
Address
Address City State Zip Code

Address of Property the vehicle was removed from

Address

Address City State Zip Code

Name of person requesting tow

| further save and hold (business name of automobile wrecker or tow company)

harmless and direct them to remove the vehicle from my property.

Signature Date

Property Owner’s Printed Name
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LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL FOR ABANDONED
JUNK VEHICLES (RD-162)

Transmittal forms must be submitted to the nearest full service branch of the
Department of Motor Vehicles, Field Services Division. Appraisals will be completed
within 10 business days of receipt of transmittal. Only abandoned vehicles will be
appraised. Automobile wreckers or tow companies must have proof of abandonment
and have possession of the vehicle. Only those vehicles that a vehicle identification
number has been ascribed will be inspected.
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555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 88711

Rena/Sparks/Carson Cily (775) 684-4DMV (4368)
Las Viegas Area (T02) 486-4DMV (4368)

Rural Mevada or Out of State (877) 368-7828

wu.gmvnv.@m
LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL FOR ABANDONED JUNK VEHICLES

Company Name
Wrecker's DMV or Tow Company's Business License No
Address

Address City Slate Zip Code
Date Sent By
Phone ( ) - Fax ( ) -

Vehicle Information For DMV Use
Vehicle ldentification Mumber Yaar Make Lic# & Registration State
State Infa
1. ] Yes | O Ne
2. [OYes  [INo
3. COves | [JNeo
4. O ves | [INo
5. O¥es | (JNe
6. [ ¥es | (ONe
7. [IYes | (INo
8. [J¥es | [INe
9. [ves | [INo
10, O¥es | [ No
1. [ Yes | [JNo
12, CYes | [ No
13. O¥es | CJNa
14, [1¥es | [INo
15 O¥es | (I No
*** FOR OFFICIAL DMV USE ONLY ***
Date Postmarked Date Racelvad Date Completed
Techmician's Mame [[n]
Appraiser's Name [¥]
This form may be photocopied

RDNAT (R, 004
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE (RD-161)

This form is used for determining the value of vehicles declared abandoned pursuant to
NRS 487.230.

Valuation will be noted as:

. Does not exceed $200 — eligible for Junk Certificate if requested under NRS
487.260.5(e).

J $500 or less — eligible for lien sale under NRS 487.250.4.

. Exceeds $500 — eligible lien sale under NRS 108.
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JUNK CERTIFICATE (RD-161)
NRS 487.260

A Junk Certificate may be issued to a vehicle that has been appraised by the
Department at a value of $200 or less. This certificate may be issued to an automobile
wrecker or tow company who removed the vehicle. An automobile wrecker who
possesses a junk certificate may sell the vehicle to another automobile wrecker,
dismantle, scrap, crush or otherwise destroy the vehicle or sell to another automobile
wrecker. A tow company may transfer ownership to a wrecker by endorsing the junk
certificate. The automobile wrecker, within 10 days of purchase must apply for a new
junk certificate. The wrecker or tow company must keep a junk certificate on file for 2
(two) years after the vehicle has been destroyed. The records must be available for
inspection during normal business hours. A vehicle for which a junk certificate has been
issued may never be titled or registered again.

Requirements for a junk certificate:

. The vehicle must have been acquired pursuant to NRS 487.230, removal of
abandoned vehicles. Abandoned Vehicle verification must be presented by a
written tow request from law enforcement for removal on public property. A
declaration of abandonment is required from a property owner or a person in

lawful possession of the property to remove a vehicle from private property.

. Vehicles must have a vehicle identification number that can be located. Partial
vehicles or component parts are not considered a vehicle.

. Vehicles must be ruined, wrecked, dismantled or rendered inoperative.

. Vehicle must be unfit for further use in accordance with the original purpose for
which it was constructed.

. Vehicle must not be currently registered with the Department or has not been
reclaimed by the registered owner or a person having a security interest in the
vehicle within 15 days after notification pursuant to NRS 487.250.

. Vehicle has value principally as scrap that does not exceed $200.

Upon appraisal, if the vehicle meets all requirements a “Junk Certificate” may
immediately be issued.

There is no fee for a junk certificate.
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE
JUNK CERTIFICATE (RD161)
FRONT PAGE (Revised 3-2006)

Novach Depatrmeal of Moicr

558 Wright Way

Carsan City, NV BBT 11

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4DMY (4368)
Las Vegas area (102) 486-40MV (4388)

Rural Nevada or Out of State (B77) 368-TAZB
e Y, GO

|_| APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE

OR
] JUNK CERTIFICATE
Flease prinl or type
VWrecher or Tow Company: Address:
-D G!‘rﬁrﬂm Locabon Towed From: o | Avudorizang Authority;
| [] Re-Assignment Hepe. { | o
Yaar: | Make: | Body Type: | Model; | Codor | Odometer Reading:
WIN: g " License T omnel] qu Expiration State:
Flaia Nao, | Month/Year:
|
Engine Components Present Damaged Missing Body Presant Damaged Missing
and Drive Train
Engine Block O O L] Lieft Front Fender = | O
Haads O [ L1 Lefi Rear Fender Cl H| 0
CarburetorFuel Injeclor ] m L] Right Front Fender E] 0 0
Radiator i LJ (]  Right Reer Fender L] e .|
Transmission | L] O Hood O m| L]
Transter Case ] B O  Trumk LidTaiigate L] | B
Air Congiboning H O G [ M| L
. . Bumpar(s) L] U |
4 i li il i resource. 5 or more items listed s present indicale a viable resource.
Interiar Pragont Damaged Missing Framg gnd Suspensien  Present  Damaged Missing
Seals | | OO  Frame O O N
Dash g | = Drivedine(s) Ll ]
Insirumants u O | Axles) Ll L] L]
Radio C ] O Springa/Struls g
Stearmng Column O E L] = o

4 or more ilems lisied as present indicate a viable resounce.

< of more fems isled as present mdicate a viabla resource,

| cartify the vehicle described ebove was obtained in the
ondition documenied by this appraisal on the date of
inspaction

Wrecker or Tow Company Representalive  Dale

Printed Name of Wrecker or Tow Company Representative

Ramarks

I, the ungersgned, have inspected the above vahicke,
por NRS £87.240, and to the bast of my knewledge
and baliel the estimated appraised value is;

Appraised \Value:
1. O

i B

Printed Nama of Authorized Representative

Exceeds 5500.00
Between 5200.00 and 550400
Under $5200.00

Conirgl No,

RO.11 (Ras, 1005

Signatura of Authorized Representalive Date

DMV Office Addross

The Department issues the Junk Certificate if all requirements have been met.

Revised April 2008

10

Section V



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide

APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE
JUNK CERTIFICATE (RD161)

FRONT PAGE

(Revised 1-2004)

STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

[0 AFPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE
OR
[0 JUNK CERTIFICATE

WRECKERTUW COMPANY.

ADNDRESS:

DATE OF TNSFECTION: FROGF OF ABANDON. "ENT.

LCATION TIPWEDR FROM,

AUTHORIZIRG AUTHORITY:

Oyes [wo
HAR: MAEE- BOY TYPH MO, L DL OROMETER REELADIRNO:
VF.I-|IIELII1IDHN'|I'IJ~1|';].TIJN|NL-M|IEII: | | | | | | | | | | miﬂﬁ!ﬂ. O oNe O Two ﬂmﬁ%ﬂl STATL
“"'"m“:i”'f e Present Dhaimaged Migsing ey Present ramaged Minaing
ENGINE BLOCK ] a a LE:T FRONT FENDER (] O (]
HEADS O O (m| LEFT /EAR FENDER | m m ]
CARBFUEL IMJ. O o0 1 RIGHT FuONT FENDER [J O ]
RADIATOR [m] O [m] RIGHT REA» FENDER [m] 0 0
TRANSMISSION O O [m} HOOD o m) 0o
TRANSFER CASE O ] Cl TRUNK LID (| O 0
AR CONDITIONING O O ] GRILL O 0 a
BUMPER[S) O O m]
4 or more items listed as present indicate a viable resouree. § or more ems listed as preson indicate o viable resource. N
Indurier Treeem Trmma ged Minaing. Frame amd Suspemion Fresest Damaged Mining
SEATS o o | FRAME o O o
DASH ] m| a DRIVELINE{S) ] ] ]
INSTRUMENTS o O a AXLE(S) m) m} O
A o a m] SPRINGS/STRUTS O =] 0
STEERING COLUMM (m] (m| 0
4 or more ltems Hsied ux p Ternal @ wiahle r

3 ar more items listed as presont indicate a viable resouree.

I cenify that the vehicle describod ahove was oblained in the condition
documented by this appraisal om the dase of inspection

L. the undersigned, huave inspected the abowe vehicle, per NRE 457.240,
and w0 the best of my keowlbedge and belbefl the emtimared appraised
value i:

APPRAISED VALUE: 1. [ EXCEEDS $500,00

2. [ BETWEEN $200.0 and $500,00

3, [ UNDER $200,00

W [(Rarm ] ol

o 8 A

The Department issues the Junk Certificate if all requirements have been met.

Revised April 2008
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING
ASSIGNMENT OF JUNK CERTIFICATE

These instructions are valid for both versions of the Junk Certificate when completing an
assignment.

1. Printed full legal name of buyer and address.
2. Signature of buyer and date.
3. Printed name of seller and address.

4. Signature of seller and date.

Revised April 2008 12 Section V
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE
JUNK CERTIFICATE (RD-161)
BACK PAGE (Revised 3-2006)

A Junk Certificate may only be issued to an automoblle wrecker or tow car operator for a vehicle that
meets the definiion of “Junk Vehicle®" pursuanl to NRS 4B7.260. This cerlficate authorizes an
automobile wrecker 1o dismantle, scrap, crush or otherwize destroy the vehicle described on the face
of this certificate. The identified vehicle may be sold to an automobile wrecker upon assignment of

this cerificate. The vehicle may never be rabuilt, titled or registered in Nevada again.
REASSIGNMENT
Printed Full Legal Name of Buyer 1
Address 1

Al (=10 Ctata ip Gl =
Signature of Buyer 2 : Date i

Printed Nama of Sallar 3

Address 3

Addroay Gty _!"_.-..1r¢ 285 Cide

Signature of Seller 4 - Date
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE
JUNK CERTIFICATE (RD-161)
BACK PAGE (Revised 1-2004)

A Junk Certificate may only be issued to an autermobile wreecker or tow car operator for a vehi-
cle which meets the definition of “Junk Vehicle” pursuant to NRS 487.260. This certificate
authorizes an automobile wrecker to dismantle, scrap, crush or otherwise destroy the vehicle
described on the face of this certificate. The identified vehicle may be sold to an automaobile
wrecker upon assignment of this certificate. The vehicle may never be rebuilt, titled or regis-
tered in Nevada again.

FIRST REASSIGNMENT
Printed Name of Buyer.._._.

AdAress . .. ———— — ™ e,

Signature of Buyer......... S T

Printed Mame of Seller._._...

SN 5 ') - S

hwwENaa

Signature of Seller......

SECOND REASSIGNMENT
Printed Name of Buyer .

AGABES . —————————————- g T

Signature of Buyer_...... R = .. . S ———
Printed Name of Seller. ...

Address .. e B T T T

SIGNATUIE OF SBIIET oo e Date

THIRD REASSIGNMEMT

Printed Name of Buyer

AOOMBES i —————— e S
Signature of By e i RSN B = | | - S
Printed Mame of Sellar . ettt

s [ . e e e e

e LT T T = 1 Date . . .
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NOTICE OF LIEN SALE
NRS 108.310

A lien claimant is required under NRS 108.310 to give written notice to the Department
of Motor Vehicles of their lien. The notice must be given to the Department at the time
the written notice is made to the registered and legal owner of the vehicle.

The Notice must include:

1. A vehicle description which includes the:
a. Vehicle Identification Number
b. Make
C. Year
2. License plate number, if attached
a. State of issue

b. Expiration date

3. Impound date
4. Party requesting tow
5. Date, time and location of auction

A sample Notice of Lien Sale is included. You may copy the sample for your use or use
a similar format. If you do not use the sample, please include all information as listed.

The notice is to be mailed to:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Central Services and Records Division
Title Section

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711
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Business Name

NOTICE OF LIEN SALE

Address

Date

Telephone Number
Auction Location

Business License Number

VIN

YR

MAKE

LiC
PLATE #

STATE

EXPIRATION
DATE

IMPOUND
DATE

REQUESTED BY

DATE

TIME

Section V
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VEHICLES VALUED UNDER $500

If the vehicle is appraised at a value of $500 or less, the lien claimant is required to
notify the registered and legal owner by registered or certified mail. The notice must
include a statement the vehicle will be junked or dismantled or otherwise disposed of
unless the registered or legal owner response and pays the cost of removal.

Failure to reclaim the vehicle within 15 days after the notice was mailed constitutes a
waiver of interest in the vehicle.

If the registered and legal owners have waived interest in the vehicle either by failure to
respond to the notice or by written disclaimer, the Department will issue a salvage title
to the automobile wrecker who towed the vehicle or a Certificate of Title to the garage
owner if he elects to retain the vehicle and the vehicle is equipped as required by
chapter 487 of NRS.

An example of a Notice of Lien is included. You may photocopy the form or create a
form in similar format.
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NOTICE OF LIEN VEHICLE VALUED UNDER $500
Please print or type
Vehicle Identification Number

Year Make Model

License Plate Number

Expiration date State

The above-described vehicle was acquired on through
a agreement. As required by Nevada Revised Statute 108.272 this is to
inform you that demand is being made for payment of $ for services
rendered by . This sum is due on ; payment may be
made at

Below is an itemized statement of the lien costs incurred:

1. Tow charge or agreed service contract amount $ .

2. Storage fees $ , and accruing daily at the approved Public
Service Commission rate.

3. Total lien fees $

Please be advised that if payment is not received on or before
the vehicle may be sold by auction at

[la.m.[]p.m., on at
or retained by lien claimant.

Lien Claimant

Business Name

Address

Address City State Zip Code
Telephone Number ( ) -
Authorized Signature Date
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VEHICLES VALUED OVER $500 NOTICE
NRS 487.250 AND 487.270

A lien claimant must notify the registered and legal owner the vehicle has been
removed. The notice of lien must be delivered in person or by a registered or certified
letter, addressed to the last known address of each person who holds interest in the
vehicle. The notice must contain the following:

. An itemized statement, showing the sum due at the time of notice and the date
when it became due.

. A brief description of the vehicle against which the lien exists which includes:
o] Vehicle year
o] Make
o] Vehicle Identification Number
o Demand the amount of the claim as stated in the notice and of any further claim

as may accrue must be paid on or before a day mentioned.

o A statement that unless the claim is paid within the time specified the vehicle will
be advertised for sale and sold by auction. The address, date and time of
auction must be specified.

An example of an acceptable Demand for Payment is provided. You may photocopy
the example for your use or create a similar form.

Nevada Revised Statute 487.270 provides that when an abandoned vehicle has been
removed to a garage or other place for storage, the automobile wrecker or tow car
operator who towed the vehicle has a lien on the vehicle for the costs of towing and
storage for a period not exceeding 90 days. If the owner has not reclaimed the vehicle
within 45 days, the vehicle may be sold to satisfy the lien. NRS 706.4479 requires the
owner of the vehicle be notified by certified mail within 21 days if the vehicle was towed
at the direction of law enforcement following an accident or 15 days after the vehicle is
placed in storage.

If the vehicle is appraised at a value of more than $500 and is not reclaimed within 45
days, the owner of the garage or automobile wrecker may satisfy his lien, in accordance
with the provisions of NRS 108.265 to 108.360, inclusive. Before such a person may
sell the vehicle, he shall obtain a certificate pursuant to NRS 487.880, if applicable, or a
salvage title as provided in NRS 487.810.
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DEMAND FOR PAYMENT

Vehicle Identification Number

Year Make Model

License Plate Number

Expiration date State

The above-described vehicle was acquired on through
a agreement. As required by Nevada Revised Statute 108.272 this is to
inform you that demand is being made for payment of $ for services
rendered by . This sum is due on : payment may be
made at

Below is an itemized statement of the lien costs incurred:

1. Tow charge or agreed service contract amount $ .

2. Storage fees $ , and accruing daily at the approved Public
Service Commission rate.

3. Total lien fees $

Please be advised that if payment is not received on or before
the vehicle may be sold by auction at

[ lam.[ ] p.m., on at
or retained by lien claimant.

Lien Claimant

Business Name

Address

Address City State Zip Code
Telephone Number ( ) -
Authorized Signature Date
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CERTIFIED MAILING
Acceptable proofs of certified mailing are:

. The returned un-opened letter,

The green returned receipt, signed by the accepting party,

The white copy of the certified mailing, stamped by the post office, or

Log book listing certified mailings stamped by the post office.

If the notice is delivered in person a written statement is required which includes:

. Date of delivery,

. Place of delivery (complete address),

o Name of individual who accepts the notice,

. Name of individual who delivered the notice,

. Signature of person accepting the notice, and

o Signature of individual who delivered the notice.
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ADVERTISEMENT OF SALE
NRS 108.310

After the time for payment of the claim specified in the notice has elapsed and the
registered and legal owners have not satisfied the claim, an advertisement of sale must

be published once a week for 3 consecutive weeks.

The advertisement must be

published in a newspaper circulated in the place where the sale is to be held. If no
newspaper is published in that place, then the advertisement must be placed in a
newspaper published in this state that is circulated in the place the sale is to be held.

The sale must not be held less than 22 days after the first date of publication.

The advertisement must:

. Describe the vehicle.
. State the names of the registered and legal owners.
) State the date, time and place of the sale.

Example of publication

NOTICE OF SALE

Notice is hereby given to the last
Registered and Legal Owner of:
1997 Chevy Monte Carol

VIN 1H67K3ZA6999999

R/O J. Q. Smith

L/O Bank in Nevada

The vehicle described above will be sold at
a public auction to the highest bidder to
satisfy the lien incurred by name of
automobile wrecker or towing company.
The sale will be held at time including am
or pm on month/day/year at exact location
of the sale.
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AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

The newspaper that publishes the advertisement of sale must provide the lien claimant
with verification the advertisement was published and the date of publication.

EXAMPLE OF AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Attach article here STATE OF NEVADA
COUNTY OF CLARK Ss

, being first duly sworn,

deposes and says:

That she/he is a legal clerk for the LAS VEGAS GAZETTE
and THE LAS VEGAS COURIER, daily newspapers
regularly issued, published and circulated in the city of Las
Vegas, County of Clark, State of Nevada, and the
advertisement, is a true copy of which is attached, was
continuously published in the LAS VEGAS GAZETTE or
THE LAS VEGAS COURIER, on the following days:

Signed:

Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of

Notary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative
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SALE BY AUCTION
NRS 108.310

Once all statutory requirements have been met, the sale may take place. The sale must
be held at the time and date that all notices have indicated. The location must be where
the lien was acquired or if that place is unsuitable, at the nearest suitable place.

The lien claimant may satisfy his lien from the proceeds of the sale, including
reasonable charges of notice, advertisement and sale. The balance, if any of the
proceeds must be delivered, on demand to the registered and/or legal owner.

SUBMITTING LIEN SALE DOCUMENTS
NAC 108.110

The Lien Sale Affidavit and the other lien documents must be submitted to the
Department within thirty-days from the date of the sale of the vehicle. The title fees
must also be submitted with the Lien Sale Affidavit and other lien sale documents, the
standard title fee is $20, salvage title fee is $10 and the title-processing fee is $8.25.
When a licensed Nevada wrecker purchases the vehicle, give the lien packet to the
wrecker. The wrecker will submit the lien sale packet to obtain a title at a later time.

Submit Lien Sale Affidavit and other lien documents to:

Department of Motor Vehicles

Central Services and Records Division
Titles Section

555 Wright Way

Carson City, Nevada 89711

COLLECTING SALES TAX
NAC 108.110

Lien claimants must collect sales tax for the lien sale of a vehicle. For more information
regarding sales tax, contact the Department of Taxation at 775/684-2100.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (RD-147)

1.

Front of the form revised 9/2006

Select the appropriate type of ownership document that is being requested by
marking the box.

NOTE: Title fee is $28.25, Salvage Title fee is $10, and licensed Nevada wreckers

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

salvage title fee is $0.

Print or type the full legal name of the business representative who is completing
the affidavit.

Print or type the name of the business.

Print or type the DMV Business License number if your business is licensed or
registered with DMV. If you do not hold a DMV business license, enter your
Federal Employer Identification number (FEIN).

Print or type the business address.

Print or type the date the business physically acquired the vehicle.

Print or type the name of the person who authorized the services that initiated the
lien process, this also includes law enforcement.

Print or type the vehicle identification number.

Print or type the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and
number of cylinders.

Print or type the registered owners name and address.
Print or type the legal owners name and address. If there is no lien write “none”.

Select what the charges are assessed for by marking the box in front of the type
of lien.

Print or type the total of all charges that have incurred.
Print or type the date the vehicle was sold.

Print or type the amount the vehicle was sold for.

Print or type the amount of sales tax collected.

Print or type the title fee.
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18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

Print or type the total purchase price.
Print or type the purchaser’s full legal name.

Select and/or if the registration and title is in more than one name, the
appropriate box must be marked to indicate “and” or "or.”

Nevada Driver's License, ldentification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:
Enter the number from the appropriate document. Enter the DMV Business
License number if the purchaser has a business licensed or registered with DMV.
If the customer is not a business and does not have a Nevada Driver’s License or
Identification Card, write “None” on this line.

Print or type the purchaser’s address.

Print or type the new lienholder's name and address. If there is no lienholder,
write “None” on the Lienholder Name line.
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AFFIDAVIT — STORAGE LIEN, ABANDONED VEHICLE LIEN (RD-147)
Front of the form revised 9/2006

555 Wright Way

Carsan City, NV 88711

RenolSparks/Carson City (775) GB4-4DMV (43608)
Las Vegas ares (T02) 486-40DNV (4368)

Rural Nevada or Out of State (B77) 368-7828
wew dmvny.com

LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT
Type of Ownership Document Requested (Please sedect one Ntk fypa)

1 [ Tiale [] Salvage Title
Ploase Print or Type
I on behalfl of _
Vil Lyl Kl il Bcieni nil, Minbriblah™Lilrvdl Madmdai Nbse
Mevada DMV Businasa Licensa or Reglatration Numbar 4
Business Address _5 . _—
[ iy [ £ e
Certify that on the 6 day of 20 . one ?

Marre o mRO BUTORI M BETDR O T AT BT
ledt walh himuhar the vashicle describad as followa

venici genttcaton numeer (1L J I I L JC L T IO I 1]

Yoar  wef  Make LEL T Body Type Cylinders

Registered Owner(s) 10

Wade Tow

Auddrass 1“ aCy -

ASSENE [=23 hlate £ Cogw
Legal Ornwnar 1 1
Addrazs _ 1_1 B —

AT Caly ) T Tawkes
The charges assessed ara for (check all appropriale boxes)

1 2 [ Towing [ Storage [ Rapair [[] Accessories or Supplies, tolaling the sum of § 1 3

and was nol paid after due notice and demand was. given and made pursuant 1o the provisions of NRS 108270 through
108,360, Thorefone on (he 14 day of 20 . the vehicle was sold pursuant 1o the provision of
said law, al public auction for the sum of § 15 . Mevada Sales Tax Collecied S 16
Mevada title and titls processing fee 5 1? . Iharafore, tha Total Purchase Frice of 5 13

{f purcheser i3 8 licensed wrecker in tha atate of Nﬁndn do not callest title fes. Provide the lien sale packet lo th-a
licensed wreckear.)

Purchager's Full Legal Nnrna 19 H ::M 20

[ [

Mewvada Drivar's License, Identification Card Mumbar, aor FEIN for nusunmsc-.; 21

= Feremain D 3 Lroweres, o Waresicamse Lo Fionae, weie FhE |

Purghaser's Full Legal Mame 19

Mevada Driver's License. [denliicalion Card Mumbeer, or FEIN for businessas 21

L T Tt e ey e ——

Addrass 22

" Ty ) e Cada
Lignholder Name 2 - I

IF ha b’ wriie “TRONE " |

Addrass 23

Ao e = Seam Iy CToge
RO-147 (W2008) ALTERATION OR ERABURE VOIDE THIS AFFIDAVIT

(Conibmued on Reverss)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (RD-147)
Back of the form revised 9/2006

1. Print or type the odometer reading, do not include tenths of a mile.
2. Mark the appropriate box, which describes the odometer reading.
3. Select any condition that may be applicable to the vehicle.

Note: If the vehicle has been Rebuilt a Certificate of Inspection / Affidavit of
Vehicle Construction form (RD-64) must accompany the Lien Sale
Affidavit.

If the vehicle is Non-Repairable, the vehicle may only be sold to a licensed
Nevada Automobile Wrecker.

4. If none of the conditions listed apply to the vehicle, select the affirmation.

5. Select the box indicating whether the vehicle was registered or was not
registered. If the vehicle was registered (currently or expired), enter the license
plate number, expiration date, and state the vehicle was registered. If the license
plate number or expiration date is unavailable, write “None” on the corresponding

line.
6. Print or type the date the certified letter was mailed.
7. Print or type the first day the notice was published in the newspaper.
8. Print or type the name and address of the newspaper.

9. Print or type the date of the public auction.
10.  Print or type the full legal name, sign, and date the affidavit.

11. To be completed either by a notary public or an authorized Nevada DMV
representative.
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AFFIDAVIT — STORAGE LIEN, ABANDONED VEHICLE LIEN (RD-147)
Back of the form revised 9/2006

LIEN CLAIMANT'S CERTIFICATION

Feederal law requires thal you stale the mileage upon ransfor of ownership. Failure o complete or provide e felse statement
maay resull m fines andior im prisonmanl.  This vehicle was an u‘w:jlll.l'llnr'_r tramnsfor; al the time of sale the odomotor ruadlng:

Cdomater Reading (as shown on apparatus) 1 ND TENTHE

[ 1. The misage stated (s in excess of ils mechanical kmits
2 [0 2. The cdometear reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

1 3 Exempt — Moadel yaar aver § years old

To the bast of my knowladge, at tha tima of len saka this vehicla is (selsct any that may apply)
3 [] Satvage [] Finod Damaged [] Total Loss [] Rebuit [] Non-Repairable (Mon-Repairabe vehices may only be soid i0 consed
miAnmahils wsekam.
4 [ I have inspectad tha vehicls harain described and to the bast of my knowledga and information do hereby carlily and
affirm the vehicle is NOT a Salvage, Flood Damaged, TotalLoss, previously Rebuill or Non-Repairable vehicle.

The vehicle [ Was registered (curren! or expired) and the license plate number is
5 = Expiration date State
Or [ Was not registersd.
Date of Certified Mailing: 'E- day of 20
*Firsl Dalo of Newspaper Publication; T day of 20 .

Mama of Newspaper 3
Address

Lddreia [ e " Fip Gt
Public Auction Date; 9 day of 20

| heraby cerlify and affirm that all provisions of NRS 108.270 through 108360 and 487250 have been complisd with, and
make this affidavit for the purpose of satisfying the Mevada Department of Molor Vehicles that a Registration Cortificote
andfor Cerfificate of Tile for the described vehicle should be issued 1o the purchaser upon the facts stated herain, | alsa
haraby release, discharge and agree to hold hormiess the Neveda Depariment of Motor Vahicles of and from any and all
lialiity to anyone whomscaver which may anse by reason ol any contes! of the validity of the llen herain refarred to, or the
validity of the sale under said lien, or failure of Lien Glaimant o satisfy ien in (he mannar prageribed in MRS and NAC 108

Printed Full Legal Nama of Lian Claimant 1{]' o
Signature of Lien Claimeni 10 Danle _ 1']
Bubseribed and sworn io before me this [1 day of 20

11 .

Motary Publiz ar Autharized Nevada DMV Representative

NOTE: This documant must be accompanied with o comploted Vehicle Inspection Certificale (Form RD-15). Nevada
licensed wreckers, body shops, or garages do nol have 1o provide o compleled Vehicle Inspection Carificats.

Definition of Types of Liens

+ Abandoned Vehicle maans at the direction of any peace officer or with the release of a propeny cwnes who onders the
towing of storage of any vehiche

+  Wespar of a Traller Park means a mobile home park, mobile home kot or other land for rendal of spaces for railers,
mabdle homes or manufaciured homes

*  Mechanics means a garage or place for the maintenance or repair of molar vehicies, malorcycles, molor egquipmoent,
of irgiterg, Ngluding the operaler of a salvage pool

= Siorage means the sum due for the storing, malntalning, or keeping of 1he motor vahiela, moloreyele, motor
ogupmeant, or trailer

+ Tow maans tha sum due for the tewing and storing of the motor vehicle, melercyole, meler equipmaent, or trallar

*Mot required for abandoned vehicle with an appraised value under S500.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (RD-147)

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

Front of the form revised 6/2006

Select the type of lien by marking the box in front of the lien type.

Select the type of ownership document that is being requested by marking the box in
front of the ownership document.

Enter the DMV Business License number if your business is licensed or registered
with DMV. If you do not hold a DMV business license, enter your Federal Employer
Identification number (FEIN).

Enter the full legal name of the business representative who is completing the
affidavit.

Enter the name of the business.
Enter the business address.
Enter the date the business physically acquired the vehicle.

Enter the name of the person who authorized the services that initiated the lien
process, this also includes law enforcement.

Enter the vehicle identification number.

Enter the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and number of
cylinders.

Enter the registered owners name and address.
Enter the legal owners name and address. If there is no lien write “none”.

Select what the charges are assessed for by marking the box in front of the type of
lien.

Enter the total of all charges that have incurred.
Enter the date the vehicle was sold.
Enter the amount the vehicle was sold for.

Enter the amount of sales tax collected.

Enter the total purchase price.
Enter the purchaser's name and address.

Enter the new legal owner’'s name and address.
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AFFIDAVIT — STORAGE LIEN, ABANDONED VEHICLE LIEN (RD-147)

FRONT

656 Wright Way

Carson City, NV B8T11

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (T75) 684-20MV (2388)
Las Vegas aroa (702) 486-2DMV (4388)

Rural Novada of Out of State (877) J08-7824

o M. COm
LIEM SALE AFFIDAVIT

Type of Lien Type of Ownership Documant
O Tow ] mechanics Lien Plpawe peieci ane title iype
[ Siorage Lion [ Koaper of a Traider Park O Twe
(] Abandoned Vehicle Lien [ salvage Tiila 3

Mevada DMV Business License or Regisiration Mumbaear .
Ploase Print o Tyoe
| L on behalf of 5
L T T T [y p—

Business Addrass B =

s (= L) T Codw
Cariify that on tha 7 day af 20 , G 3

P e e —p—re T m——y—

laft wiin himvher the: vehicle described a5 follows:

venieio wenurcaton suener (D[ T T T IO ]

Year Wake Model Body Typa Cylincders
Registered Owner(s) 1 1

L. [FET ) [TT7]
Address __.1 1

AR (7 e T Com
Legal Cramaer 1 2
Address 1 2

AIF [="T] bre Iy Come
The charges assassed ara for (eheck appropriate boxes): 14
[ Towing O siomge [ Repair [C] Accessories or Supplies, totaling the sum of 5

and was not paikd after due natice and demand was given and made pursuant to the provisians of NRS 108 270 theough

108.360, Therelore on the day of 20 » Ihe wehiclo was sold pursuant 1o 1he provision of
said law, at public auction for the sum of B . Nevada Sales Tax Collacted 5
Meavada lille and llle processing fee 520.25, therefore, iha Total Furchase Price of § . (If purchaser
t5 & heensed wreches in the state of Nevada, do not collect ttle fae. Provide the lien sale packel to the licensod wrocker. )
] and
Purchasar's Full Legal Namsa L] ar
o Lhaks T
Purchasaer's Full Legal Mama 19 )
Faw e al
Aicreaa 1 [ ) T Code
Liznholder Name ZD
T
Addross ZD
prr— Ty T b
RO- 14T (82000) (Gontinued on Reverse)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (RD-147)

10.

11.

12.

Back of the form revised 6/2006

Enter the odometer reading; do not include tenths of a mile.

Select the state of the odometer if any of the items apply.

Enter the full legal name, signature and address of the purchaser of the vehicle.

Enter the name, signature and address of the lien claimant.

Select “Yes” or “No” for each vehicle type.

Note: If the vehicle is salvage, flood damaged, or total loss and has been Rebuilt
a Certificate of Inspection / Affidavit of Vehicle Construction form (RD-64)
must be the most current revision issued by the DMV and accompany the
Lien Sale Affidavit.

R&D: Revised. bnm
If the vehicle is Non-Repairable, the vehicle may only be sold to a licensed
Nevada Automobile Wrecker.

Select the box indicating whether the vehicle was registered or was not

registered. If the vehicle was registered (currently or expired), enter the license

plate number, expiration date, and state the vehicle was registered. If the license
plate number or expiration date is unavailable, write “None” on the corresponding
line.

Enter the date of when the certified letter was mailed.

Enter the date of first day the notice was published in the newspaper.

Enter the name and address of the newspaper.

Enter the date of the public auction.

Enter the name, signature and date of the lien claimant to certify the affidavit.

To be completed either by a notary public or an authorized Nevada DMV
representative.
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AFFIDAVIT — STORAGE LIEN, ABANDONED VEHICLE LIEN (RD-147)
BACK

LIEN CLAIMANT'S CERTIFICATION

Federal law requires that you stete the mileage upan transfer of ownership. Failure 1o complate or provide a false statement
iy resull in lines andior imprisonment.  This vehicle waes an mvoluntary transfor; of the time of sale the edometer reading:

Odomater Raeading (a& shown on apparatus) NO TENTHS
O 1. The mieage sieled is in excess of iz mechanical limits.

O 2. The odomeler resding 6 not the aclual mileage, WARMNING - DDOMETER DISCREPANCY
[0 3. Exempl - Modal year over 9 years old

For thes purpass of the odometer declaration, the ransieres is the purchaser and the ransheros is e lien claimant.

Transfares's Nama 3
Ly Rt 4] Laal
Tranglerea's Signalure _ 3
Address 3 i
[erE— =0 Leanm s o
Transferor's Name 4
= 4 Thaae L
Trangleror's Signature
Addrass 4 —
T [F ™ Ly Couw
To the besat of my knowdisdge. at ihe Hme of ben sale this vehicle s
Salvage Yas Mo Fiood Damaged [Jves [IMNe Non-Repaimable [J¥es [INa
Rebuilt Yos [ He Total Loss Ll¥es [MNo  Hor-Repairable vehices may only be soid o
W you ReDuill this vehice 3 Corificate OF knspecson | Aiave O Vehice licarrasesl auberednin wicckor

CONSANICEOn mus! AoOOmpany the Ben sile A

The vehicig [0 was registered and tha licansa plals number i@ o

6 Espiration date i State
o [0 was not registered.
Date of Certified Mailing: day of 20
“Firat Dabte of Newspapes Publcalion; _ _a day of 20
Mame of Newspapor B
Addross g

Fr e = Fdids i Cratm

Public Auctian Data; 1 u day ol 20

| certily thal afl provisions of NRS 108.270 through 108,360 and 487 250 have been complied with, and make this affidaw
for the purpose of salisfying the Nevada Depariment of Modor Viehicles that a Raegistration Cerlificate andior Certificate of
Titls for the described vehicle should be issued io the purchaser upon the facts stated hergin. | also hensby release,
discharge and agree to hold harmiess the Novada Departiment of Molor Vehicles of and from any and all liability 15 anyons
whomsoever which may arise by reason of any contast of the validity of the lion herein referred (o, or the validity of the sale
ufsdes sanic [, or fodure of Lien Clatmant to satisfy lien in the manner prescribed in NRS and NAC 108,

Printed Full Lagal Nama of Lisn Claiman _1 1

Eum&lmnm Liwer Clivirmizent 1 1 ki !

Eubscribed and swemn fo bafors ma this _ _1 z day of 20

12

MNotary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative

MNOTE: This document musi be accompanied with a comploted Vehicie inspection Certificale (Form RD-15). Nevada
licenged wreckers, body shops, o gerages do nol have 1o provide a compleled Vehicle Inspection Certificate.

*Net required for abandoned vehicle with an appraised value under $500.
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LIEN SALE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (RD-201)

The Lien Sale Registration Certification (RD-201) must be completed and given to the
purchaser of the vehicle to allow them to register the vehicle. The vehicle may not be
driven without a permit or vehicle registration. This form is not required when the
purchaser is a licensed Nevada Wrecker.

In Clark and Washoe Counties, advise the purchaser the vehicle may not be registered
until the vehicle obtains a passing emission test.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE
REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (RD-201)

1. Enter the full legal name of the business representative who completed the
affidavit.

2. Enter the name of the business.

3. Enter the business address.

4, Enter the signature and date the business representative signed this certificate.

5. Enter the date of the public auction.

6. Enter the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and number
of cylinders.

7. Enter the vehicle identification number.

8. Enter the odometer reading; do not include tenths of miles.

9. Enter the purchaser’'s name and address.

10.  Enter the purchase price of the vehicle.

11.  Enter the Nevada Sales Tax that was collected.
12.  Enter the total purchase price of the vehicle.
13.  Enter the date of sale.

14.  Enter the signature and date of the lien claimant to certify this certificate.
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LIEN SALE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (RD-201)

555 Wright Way

Carson Gity, NV 89711

Reno/Sparks/Carson City (775) 684-4DMV (4368)
Las Vagas araa (T02) 485-4DMV (4368)

Rural Navada or Out of State (B77) 368-T828
wanw dmvnv. com

LIEN SALE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION
FOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION PURPOSE ONLY

Thig decument must be used by the Lien Claimant to allow the purchaser of a vahicle to register the vehicle that was sold
al pubhc auction (pursuant to NRS and NAC 108.)
Plegse Print or Type

on behalf of 2

Wi o B

hlarres ni | ane Cusorasmn

Gty e IoCom

Dare 5

cerify under penally of perjury that | have complied with all provisions of MRS 108 and MAC 108, and have sold tha
described vehicle at public auction.

Yaar 6 Make 6 Model ﬁ Body Type E  Cylinders 6
Vehicle Identification Mumber mi_lf_ﬂ_‘mDDDDDDm[_" " " ]| " ]

Odomeater Reading (a5 shown on apparatus) MO TENTHS

[Ty

Business Address 3

Signature

NOTE: This vehicle cannol be operated without insurance and a permit or proper registration. To register this vehicle or
obtan a lempoary operation penmil, please presen this fonm o any full service branch of the Nevada Depariment of
Motor Vehicles immediately afler purchase. Clark and Washoe Counly residenls may also require a Cerlificale of
Compliance for Emission Control to register the vehicle

9 O ang
Purchasar's Name Oer
Frs [ Lag
Purchaser's Mame g_ -
[T [T r
Address 9
Aait oy N Eanir o fade
Purchase Price £ I Q
Mavada Sales Tax Collected Dale of Sale 1 3

Mevada Title and lifle procassing fee 5 '2I 2835

Tetal Purchase Price

|, thee Lian Claimant, will forwand the Lien Sala Affidavit (RD-147), logether wath Glle fees collected pursuant o NRS
482 428, and other required documents to the Department of Molor Vehicles, Central Services and Records Division, Tille
Section within thirty days from the date of the sale of the above vehicle,

Lien Claimant's Signature 1 4 Dale 1 4

This document is void if altered in any way

RO-201 { 472006 ) THIS IS NOT AN OWNERSHIP DOCUMENT
OR AUTHORITY TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE
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REQUESTS FOR EXTENSION OF TIME FOR SUBMITTING
LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT AND OTHER LIEN DOCUMENTS

If a lien claimant is unable to submit the Lien Sale Affidavit and title documents to the
Department within the statutory time frame, the lien claimant may request an extension
of time.

Extension requests must be submitted within the statutory time frame required for
submission of the Lien Sale Affidavit:

e Thirty Days from the date of sale.

A request for an extension must be submitted to an Occupational and Business
Licensing office on a Lien Sale Extension Request (Form DS-316). The request must
explain why the lien claimant is unable to submit the title documents within the
regulatory time frame. The lien claimant must sign the form. A photocopy of the Lien
Sale Affidavit must accompany the request.

An extension should be requested only when absolutely necessary and will be granted
on an exception only basis. Lien claimants are required, by regulation, to send title
documentation to the Department within the required time frame and may be subject to
an audit, administrative fine or administrative action against their business for failure to
comply.

The Lien Sale Extension Request DS-316 indicating approval or denial will be mailed to
the lien claimant. If the request is denied, the reason will be marked on the extension
form.

The sample form in this book may be photocopied for your use.
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Occupational and Business Licensing

555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
(775) 6B84-4690
wmv.ﬂmunv,mm
LIEM SALE EXTENSION REQUEST
Dt
Lign Claimani Nama: —
Maileng Address.
Business License Number (If spplicable):
Date af Sale Vehicle Year
Maka: - Vin
Reason exlension is being requested (explain in detail);
Requesied by =
Signed: aia
Signatum of busness prncinal a5 pUhadized reprasantative Tithr of Author zud Bopreseninase
Maaa:
Ewipngion requests muld B4 sudmSied within Shirly days from e clate of pale.
& Pratocopy of the Lien Sale Affidenst must secompany this farm.
Dy ol vl Bedon This line, B0ING 50 will void aalonaan request

To be complewd oy B An Deciipational Lisensing persornel only.

m] The Business and Occupational Licensing Section has granted an extension of lime in submitting this Lian Sals
Adfidavit until:

=) The Business and Occupational Licensing Section has denied an extension of time in submitting this Lien Sale
Allidavil for the following reason(s)

=] Mol submitied within the required time frame,
] A pholocopy of the Lien Sale Affidavit and Lien Sake Regisiration Cenificala was not altached
(m] A detadod explanation for the delay in submiting axtension figqueas! is required
O The reason given for the extension is nat sufficient to have an extension granted and has bean aubmited
1o Compliance Enforcement Division office
[ =] Request by or Signature line not completed.
a (811 "
Signed by E Dala: _
s =L R Lron e 1]
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AUTHORITY TO RECOVER CLAIM NOT PAID BY SALE

The remedy for enforcing the lien provided in NRS 108 does not preclude any other
remedies allowed by law for the enforcement of a lien against personal property nor bar
the right to recover so much of the lien holder’s claim as is not paid by the proceeds of
the sale of the property.

VALIDITY MAY BE CONTESTED
NRS 108.350

Nothing contained in NRS 108.270 to 108.360 precludes the owner or any other person
having an interest or equity in the property, from contesting the validity of the lien. Upon
receipt of the filing of a court document showing an interested party has contested a lien
the Department will place a “flag” on the vehicle record to prevent transfer until the court
determines the legal owner.
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SECTION VI

RECORDS SECTION
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ACCESSING MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION/TITLE
INFORMATION

The Department of Motor Vehicles is authorized to maintain an information reporting
service for driver’s license and vehicle registration and title records.

The Department’s Central Services and Records Division, Records Section in Carson
City is the only office authorized to release records.

To request records, an Application for Individual Record Information (Form IR-002) and
Affidavit (Form IR-003) must be completed and submitted to the Department. The
request must also document the requestor's legal right to the information. The
application, affidavit and any supporting documentation and fees will be forwarded and
processed by the Records Section in Carson City.

If a firm or company wishes to have an account with the Department, an Application for
Records Service (Form IR-001) and an Affidavit (Form IR-003) must be completed,
signed, notarized and submitted to the Department. A copy of the applicable business
license and/or private investigator’s license must be submitted with the application and
affidavit.

. When the account is established, the applicant will be formally notified by letter.

. The notification will include the account code number.

. Monthly-itemized statements will be sent to each account holder indicating
services rendered by the Department for the previous month.

o Payments are due within thirty days from the date of the statement.

. Inquiries will not be processed without the assigned account code number.

Nevada law prohibits the release of license plate numbers or social security numbers.

For further information or forms visit our web site at www.dmvnv.com or contact us at:

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Central Services & Records Division
Records Section

555 Wright Way

Carson City, NV 89711-0250

(775) 684-4590
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Central Services Records Section
555 Wright Way

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0250
(775) 684 - 45390

www. dmvnyv.com

APPLICATION FOR RECORDS SERVICE

Business Mame

Mailing Address.

City State Zip
Physical Address
City State Zip
Email Address
Telephorne No {__ ) _ FaxNa{_ )
Personis) Authorized to Use Account .
Type of Buginess _
Describe the type and use of infarmation you will be requesting
Credil Reference * _
Firm Mame Address Tel. Mo.
Firm Mame Address Tel. Mo,

Have you had a previous account with the records section? If yes, under what

Mame? Account No? When?

| hereby certify the above information is true and correct, and the information oblained will be used for the purpose stated
above and in accordance with the Drivers Privacy Protection Act.

It is further agreed payment an this account will be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of the billing and, if required, a
bond insuring payment of the account. *

SIGMATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

PRINTED NAME OF APPLICANT DATE

* These sections do not apply o governmental agencies.

OFFICE USE ONLY

ACCOUNT NO :

[ ea Ll A |
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Central Services Records Section
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 88711-0250
(F75) 684 - 4590

WA OMVINY.COom

APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL RECORD INFORMATION

A, Applicant’s Name

Phone #{__

Fax# ()

Address

B. INFORMATION REQUESTED (Please mark appropeiabe baox and fill out cormespanding section) :

Driver's License Information :

O  information on face of driver's license
O  Oriving record -

Full name______

Address

Driver's License No

ehicle Information -

1 vehicle Reqgistration

[  wverification

O vehicle title

O wehicle History (Specify registration or title):
O  Registration
O Tite

Full Name __

Address

Vehicle LO.No (MIMN)

Year Makea

C. FOR'WHAT PURFPOSE IS THIS INFORMATION NEEDED?

| hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the information received will not bo used for an lllegal pWpoSa OF LWarTENIEd
invasion of a particular person's privascy nor will | release or sell any information received through this application 1o any olher party

for use by such party,

| agres 1o indemnify and hold the state of Nevada, Department of Molor Vehicles its agenis and employees from any all claims,
causes of acton, or liability arising from the careless, nagligent of improper use by mysed, my agenls, of any af the information

recaived under this application.

Signature of Applicant

Date

{Request for information will not be processed without the signature of the requesting party}

R02 (RO

Revised April 2008
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Central Services Records Section
555 Wright Way

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0250
(775) 684 - 4590

www. dmvny.com

State of _ i

%
____County)

AFFIDAVIT

Being first duly sworn under penalty of parjury | heraby state:

{a) | have read. fully understand and agree to abide by the laws and regulations now in effect and hereinafter enacted
or adopted regarding the manner in which personal information from the Department of Molor Vehicles driver's
license and registration files and records may be obtained and the limited uses which are permitted,

{b) | understand that any sale or disclosure of information so obtained must be in accordance with the provisions of
this section. Specifically, that | must keep records of such sale or disclosure for five years for depariment
inspection, and that such sale or disclosure may only be for a8 use permitted under law,

{c) | understand that a record will be maintained by the depariment of any information which | request;
{d) | understand that a violation of the provisions of NRS 481.063 is a criminal offense. Specifically, that it is unlawiul
1o make a false representation to obfain any information from the department, or to knowingly obtain or disclose

any information from the fles or records of the department for any use not permitted by the provisions of this
chapter

DATED this day of

Signature of Applicant Printed Name of Applicant

Title {if applicable)

Signed and sworn (o before me this

day of

NOTARY Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative

R0 {B2002)
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Central Services Record Section
555 Wright Way

Carson City, Nevada 89711-0250
(775) 684 - 4590

www. dmyvnv.com

RECORD SECTION FEE SCHEDULE

TRANSACTION CODE SEARCH DESCRIPTION FEES
D1 DRIVER'S LICENSE INFORMATION $5.00
D2 DRIVER'S RECORD INFORMATION 37.00
D3 DRIVER'S LICENSE CLEARAMNCE LETTER 36.00
D5 ADDITIONAL MICROFILM RESEARCH $3.00
W1 VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION $5.00
Va2 VEHICLE TITLE INFORMATION $5.00
V3 VEHICLE HISTORY $7.00
52 CERTIFICATION OF DOCUMENTS 54.00
53 PHOTO COPY OF EACH PAGE $3.00
sS4 TITLE VERIFICATION LETTER 57.00

Please make checks payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles RECORDS SECTION.

* Governmantal agencies are exem pt from any frs

Revised April 2008 5 Section VI



Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide

V1—VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION

This information is limited to the current registration records, including the year, make,

expiration date, vehicle identification number and registered owner’'s name and address.

To request this information, the following must be supplied:

. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN); and

o The name of the individual or company and the corresponding address
registration.

V2—VEHICLE TITLE INFORMATION

This information is limited to the current Nevada title records, including the name of the

registered owner on the title, the name and address of the lienholder and the date the

title was created. To request this information, provide the:

. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).

V3—VEHICLE HISTORY

Upon request, research can be done to determine the first and subsequent registrations
of the vehicle in Nevada, the documents used to register the vehicle or the documents
used to title the vehicle, etc. Records are available for a ten-year period.

Customers maintaining accounts with the Department may request records by
telephone at (775) 684-4590, or toll-free within Nevada at 1-800-992-7945.
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SECTION VI

GLOSSARY/INDEX
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GLOSSARY

Abandoned vehicle (NRS 487.210) as used in NRS 487.220 to 487.300, inclusive,
unless the context otherwise requires, “abandoned vehicle” means a vehicle: 1. That
the owner has discarded; or 2. Which has not been reclaimed by the registered owner
or a person having a security interest in the vehicle within 15 days after notification
pursuant to NRS 487.250.

Appraised Value means the estimated monetary value of a vehicle based on the
condition of the vehicle utilizing publications that are common in the industry. A State of
Nevada Vehicle Appraiser or an authorized representative appraises vehicles.

Appraiser (NRS 374.112) means an authorized employee of the Department of Motor
Vehicles, a county assessor or his employee as an agent of the Department of Motor
Vehicles, a person licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles as a dealer or an
independent appraiser authorized by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Assigned VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) means a unique vehicle identification
number (VIN) assigned by a DMV inspector or authorized representative when a vehicle
is homemade or when the original VIN has been destroyed or obliterated.

Authorized inspection station (NRS 445B.710) means a station licensed by the
Department of Motor Vehicles for inspecting motor vehicles and devices for the control
of pollution for compliance with this chapter or any applicable federal regulation or
regulation of the Commission.

Authorized Representative means a person authorized by a principal of a Department
Business Licensee to conduct business with the Department on behalf of the licensee.
Some authorized representatives may be limited to only have authority to conduct
certain types of transactions.

Authorized Station (NRS 445B.720) means a station licensed by the department of
motor vehicles for inspecting motor vehicles and devices for the control of pollution

Bill of Sale means a document that releases interest in a vehicle. A Certificate of Title
or other ownership documents must accompany a Bill of Sale. The Bill of Sale must
also include a complete vehicle description.

Certificate of Inspection (Form RD-15) means a form provided by the Department and
when completed shows evidence that a vehicle inspection was completed by a DMV
inspector or an authorized representative (including law enforcement) to verify the
vehicle identification number.
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Certificate of Inspection/Affidavit of Construction for Rebuilt, Reconstructed, or Specially
Constructed Vehicle (Form RD-64) is a form provided by the Department for the
purpose of certifying, before a vehicle is issued a title; that:

(1) A vehicle has had a proper safety inspection by a Nevada Registered Garage or
Licensed Nevada Body Shop.

(2) A Nevada Registered Garage or Licensed Nevada Body Shop has attested to the
mechanical fitness of a vehicle.

(3)  An applicant declares where the parts came from on a rebuilt vehicle.

Certificate of Inspection and Affidavit of Construction for a Homemade or Assembled
Trailer (Form RD-223) means a form provided by the Department for the purpose of
certifying a trailer is equipped with all required safety items and is fit to be on public
roads before a title is issued; that:

(1) Atrailer has had a proper safety inspection by a Nevada DMV Representative.
(2)  An applicant declares where the parts came from to construct the trailer.

Certificate of Title (Form RD-2) means a document provided by the Department that
contains the information required by subsection 2 of NRS 482.245. This document is
commonly referred to as a certificate of title or ownership.

Component Part means each part contained in or upon a vehicle, including but not
limited to the engine or motor; the transmission or transaxle; the chassis, frame or load
bearing major structural equivalent thereof; any door, hood deck lid, hatch or tailgate;
any bumper; any fender or quarter panel; a cowl or firewall; a cargo compartment or
passenger compartment floor or floor panel; and any motorcycle frame, front fork or
crank case.

Crush means the compression, destruction or deformation of a vehicle.

Currently Registered means, for the purpose of issuing a junk certificate, a vehicle
which has record of an un-expired registration in any jurisdiction. For the purpose of
research it means a record of registration or ownership, expired or un-expired, in any
researched jurisdiction.

Department means the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles.

Destroy means the destruction or demolition of the vehicle beyond the point of repair or renewal.

Discard has the same meaning as ‘abandoned vehicle’ as found in NRS 487.210.

Dismantle means the removal of component parts from a vehicle for the purpose of
monetary gain.

Flood Damaged (NRS 487.740) means a motor vehicle which:
(2) Has been submerged in water to a point that the level of the water is higher than
the door sill of the vehicle and the water has entered the passenger, trunk or engine
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compartment of the vehicle and has come into contact with the electrical system of the
vehicle; or

(2) Has been acquired by an insurance company or retained by its owner or any
other person as part of the total loss settlement resulting from water damage.

Inoperable vehicle means vehicle which has been wrecked, destroyed or otherwise
damaged to such an extent that the owner, leasing company, financial institution or the
insurance company that insured the vehicle considers it uneconomical to repair the
vehicle; and because of that wreckage, destruction or other damage, which is not
repaired by or for the person who owned the vehicle at the time of the event resulting in
the damage.

Junk Certificate (NRS 482.260) means a certificate issued by the Department that
provides prima facie evidence of ownership and authorizes the disposal of a junk
vehicle.

Junk Vehicle means a vehicle, including component parts which has been discarded or
abandoned; has been ruined, wrecked, dismantled or rendered inoperative; is unfit for
further use in accordance with the original purpose for which it was constructed; is not
currently registered with the Department or has not been reclaimed by the registered
owner or a person having a security interest in the vehicle within 15 days after
notification pursuant to NRS 487.250; has value principally as scrap which does not
exceed $200.00.

Legal Owner means legal owner or lien holder who is a person (partnership, LLC or
corporation) who holds a security interest in a vehicle and whose name appears on the
certificate of title as legal owner.

Lien claimant (NAC 108.030) means any person who is entitled to a lien pursuant to
NRS 108.270 and who meets any of the following definitions:

An automobile wrecker as defined in NAC 487.010;

A body shop as defined in NRS 487.600;

A dealer as defined in NRS 482.020;

A garage as defined in NRS 487.540;

A salvage pool as defined in NRS 487.400; or

An operator of a tow car as defined in NAC 706.4024.

ok wNE

Lienholder (NRS 482.055) means a person who holds a security interest in a vehicle
and whose name appears on the certificate of title as legal owner.

Lien Sale means the sale of a vehicle by auction pursuant to NRS 108.310 to satisfy a
lien resulting from the storage, maintenance, keeping or repair of motor vehicles,
including the operator of a salvage pool, as provided in NRS 108.270.

Manufacturer (NRS 482.060) means every person engaged in the business of
manufacturing motor vehicles, trailers or semitrailers.
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Mileage (49 C.F.R. 580.3) means actual distance that a vehicle has traveled.

Mini motor home (NRS 482.066) means a vehicular-type unit designed for temporary
living quarters for travel, camping or recreational use which is a structure attached
permanently on a self-propelled chassis or a portable unit designed to be affixed
permanently to a truck chassis with cab, which is designed as a mini motor home by the
manufacturer.

Motor home (NRS 482.071) means a structure attached permanently to a self-propelled
motor vehicle chassis, designed as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational or
camping use and when assembled for the road, having a maximum body width of 102
inches.

Motor truck (NRS 482.073) means a motor vehicle designed, used or maintained
primarily for the transportation of property.

Motor Vehicle (NRS 482.075) means every vehicle as defined in NRS 482.135, which is
self -propelled.

Non-Rebuildable means a motor vehicle that cannot be rebuilt.

Non-Repairable Vehicle (NRS 487.760) means a motor vehicle other than an
abandoned vehicle, as defined in NRS 487.210, that:

(2) Has value only as a source of parts or scrap metal;

(2) Has been designated by its owner for dismantling as a source of parts or scrap
metal;

3) Has been stripped of all body panels, doors, hatches, substantially all interior
components and substantially all grill and light assemblies; or

4) Has been burned, destroyed or otherwise damaged to such an extent that it
cannot be returned to a condition which is legal for operation on the highways of this
state.

Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (RD-2NR) means a certificate printed on secure
paper using the same standard format as used on a title.

Non-U.S. Vehicle means a motor vehicle that was manufactured outside of the United
States and that was not provided with a U.S. warranty commonly referred to as a “grey-
market vehicle.”

Odometer (NRS 484.606) means an instrument for measuring and recording the total
distance, which a motor vehicle travels while in operation. The term does not include
any auxiliary odometer designed to be reset by the operator of the motor vehicle.
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Odometer Brands means odometer brands are required for vehicles nine years old or
newer. Vehicles greater than nine years old are classified “Exempt” from requirements
of Title 49. Odometer brands may be one of the following:

(1) The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.

(2) The odometer reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING - ODOMETER
DISCREPANCY

3) Exempt - Model year over 9 years old.

Odometer Disclosure Statement means a document or portion of a document that
shows the vehicle's odometer reading and contains the seller's certification and the
buyer's acknowledgment of the seller's certification that the odometer reading is correct.

Odometer Exempt means

(1) A vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight of more than 16,000 pounds.

(2)  Vehicles not subject to registration, without an odometer or not self-propelled,
such as a trailer or a vehicle that is not Street Legal.

(3) Vehicles manufactured at least ten years before January 1 of the current
calendar year, (example: vehicle transfers occurring during calendar year 2000, model
year 1990 or older vehicles are exempt).

(4) A vehicle sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United States in
conformity with contractual specifications.

Out-of-State Salvage Title or Certificate means a salvage title certificate issued by a
state other than Nevada that was issued to indicate the vehicle was damaged,
destroyed, wrecked or salvaged.

Owner (NRS 482.085) means a person who holds the legal title of a vehicle and whose
name appears on the certificate of title, and any lienholder whose name appears on the
certificate of title. If a vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or
lease thereof with or without the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions
stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested in the
conditional vendee or lessee, or if a mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession,
then the conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the
purpose of this chapter.

Property (NRS 132.285) means anything that may be the subject of ownership, and
includes both real and personal property and any interest therein.

Rebuilt vehicle (NRS 482.098) means a vehicle:

o That is a salvage vehicle as that term is defined in NRS 487.770, excluding a
nonrepairable vehicle; or
. One or more major components of which have been replaced as set forth in this

subsection. For the purposes of this subsection, the requisite major components
of a vehicle which must be replaced for a vehicle to be considered rebuilt are the:
o] Cowl assembly;

o] Rear clip assembly;
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o] Roof assembly;
o] Floor pan assembly;
o] Conventional frame coupled with one additional major component; or
o] Complete front inner structure for a unibody.
" The term does not include a vehicle for which the only change is the installation
of a truck cab assembly.
. For the purposes of this section, “replaced,” means the substitution or change in

whole of a new, used or after-market part of a vehicle.

Rebuilt Trailer means a trailer where one or more major components have been
replaced. On a trailer, a major component is the frame, axle or wiring harness.

Rebuilt Vehicle (NRS 482.098) means a vehicle: 1. That is a salvage vehicle as that
term is defined in NRS 487.770, excluding a nonrepairable vehicle; or 2. One or more
major components of which have been replaced as set forth in this subsection. For the
purposes of this subsection, the requisite major components of a vehicle which must be
replaced for a vehicle to be considered rebuilt are the: (a) Cowl assembly; (b) Rear clip
assembly; (c) Roof assembly (d) Floor pan assembly; (e) Conventional frame coupled
with one additional major component; or (f) Complete front inner structure for a unibody.

Reconstructed Trailer means any trailer that has been assembled or constructed largely
by means of essential parts, new or used, derived from other trailers or vehicles or
makes of trailers or vehicles of various names, models, or types which, if originally
otherwise constructed, shall have been materially altered by the removal of essential
parts or by the addition or substitution of essential parts, new or used, derived from
other trailers or vehicles or makes of trailers or vehicles.

Reconstructed vehicle (NRS 482.100) means any vehicle which shall have been
assembled or constructed largely by means of essential parts, new or used, derived
from other vehicles or makes of vehicles of various names, models or types, or which, if
originally otherwise constructed, shall have been materially altered by the removal of
essential parts or by the addition or substitution of essential parts, new or used, derived
from other vehicles or makes of vehicles.

Registered Owner (NRS 482.102) means a natural person, firm, corporation or
association whose name appears in the files of the Department as the person to whom
the vehicle is registered.

Salvage Pool (NRS 487.400) means a business which obtains motor vehicles from: (1)
insurers and self-insurers for sale on consignment or as an agent for the insurer or self-
insurer if the vehicles are acquired by the insurer or self-insurer as the result of a
settlement for insurance; or  (2) Licensed vehicle dealers, rebuilders, lessors or
wreckers for sale on consignment.

Salvage Title (NAC 487.010) means a title of ownership issued by the Department to an
automobile wrecker authorizing the disposal of the vehicle identified on the salvage title.
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Salvage Vehicle (NRS 487.770) means a motor vehicle that at any time has been
declared a total loss vehicle, flood damaged vehicle, non-repairable vehicle or had
“salvage” or a similar word or designation laced on any title issued for the vehicle.

Scrap means a vehicle who's appraised valued does not exceed $200.00.

Specially Constructed Trailer means any trailer that shall not have been originally
constructed under a distinctive name, make, model, or type by a generally recognized
manufacturer of trailers.

Specially constructed vehicle (NRS 482.120) means any vehicle, which shall not have
been originally constructed under a distinctive name, make, model or type by a
generally recognized manufacturer of vehicles.

Total Loss Vehicle (NRS 487.790) means a motor vehicle:

(1)  Of atype which is subject to registration; and

(2)  Which as been wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged to such an extent the
cost of repair is 65 percent or more of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately
before it was wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged. The term does not include a
non-repairable vehicle or other motor vehicle which is 10 model years old or older and
which requires only the replacement of the hood, trunk lid, grill assembly, or two or
fewer quarter panels, doors, bumper assemblies, or any combination thereof, to restore
the vehicle to its condition before it was wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged.
For the purpose of this section, the model year of manufacture is calculated based on a
year beginning on January 1 of the calendar year in which the damage occurs.

Towable tools or equipment (NRS 484.202) means
1. All tools or equipment:

(a) Mounted on wheels;

(b) Whose body does not exceed 70 inches in width;

(c) Designed for towing by a motor vehicle; and

(d) Which is not designed or used primarily for the transportation of persons or
property, but is only incidentally operated or moved upon a highway.
2. The term includes without limitation air compressors, concrete mixers, arc
welders, tarpots, engine hoists, concrete pumps, plaster mixers, mortar mixers, grout
pumps, portable conveyors, generators, log splitters, brush chippers, spray rigs, tree
spades, scissor lifts, light towers, pumps, steam cleaners, sand blasters, welders, stump
grinders, radial arm saws, sod cutters, aerators, pavement rollers, and scaffolding.

Tow Car Operator (NAC 706.4024) means the owner, manager, employee or agent of a
company operating a tow car that holds a Certificate of Public Convenience and
necessity issued by the Transportation Services Authority.

Trailer (NRS 482.125) means every vehicle without motive power designed to carry
property or passengers wholly on its own structure and to be drawn by a motor vehicle.
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Travel Trailer (NRS 482.127) means a portable structure mounted on wheels,
constructed on a vehicular-type chassis primarily designed as temporary living quarters
for recreational, camping or travel use and designed to be drawn by another vehicle and
designated by the manufacturer as a travel trailer. A vehicle is not a travel trailer if,
when equipped for highway use, it is more than 8 feet wide.

Vehicle (NRS 482.135) means every device in, upon or by which any person or property
is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway. The term does not include:

. Devices moved by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or
tracks;

. Mobile homes or commercial coaches as defined in chapter 489 of NRS; or

. Electric personal assistive mobility devices.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) means the identification number or other
distinguishing number or identification number or identification mark of a vehicle or part
of a motor vehicle that was placed or stamped on that vehicle or part by the
manufacturer pursuant to federal law or regulation, or as assigned by the Department of
Motor Vehicles.

Vehicle Inspection Certificate (Form RD-15) means a form that must be completed
following a vehicle examination by a Department inspector; a Nevada authorized agent
or a law enforcement officer to verify a vehicle identification number (VIN).

Authorization for Vehicle Restoration (Form RD-209)(NRS 487.480) means a form
provided by the Department that authorizes the restoration of a vehicle that is five years
old or newer, pursuant to subsection 2 of NRS 482.553.
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