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PREFACE 

 
 
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has prepared this guide to assist Nevada 
Automobile Wreckers and Tow Car Operators when conducting business with the 
Department.  It was created as an informational and instructional reference, and 
attention to the detailed information and examples will ensure proper completion of 
forms required to register and/or title vehicles in the State of Nevada. 
 
Implementation of requirements as outlined in this guide and attention to detail when 
completing forms will be beneficial to you, your customers and the Department.  
Documents properly prepared and submitted will ensure that our records are correct.  
This allows the Department to respond to inquiries from consumers, vehicle industry 
members and law enforcement with up to date, accurate information. 
 
If you have any suggestions that may help improve this guide, please provide them in 
writing to: 
 

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles 
Research and Development Division 
Vehicle Programs 
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, NV 89711 
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AUTOMOBILE WRECKER OPERATIONS 
 

WRECKER AND SALVAGE POOL INFORMATION 
 
“Wrecker” defined.  “Automobile Wrecker” means a person licensed by the Department 
who dismantles, scraps, processes or wrecks a vehicle subject to the registration laws 
of Nevada.  NAC 487.010. 
 
“Salvage Pool” defined. “Salvage Pool” means a business which obtains motor vehicles 
from: 
 
1. Insurers and self-insurers for sale on consignment or as an agent for the insurer 

or self-insurer if the vehicles are acquired by the insurer or self-insurer as the 
result of a settlement for insurance; or 

 
2. Licensed vehicle dealers, rebuilders, lessors or wreckers for sale on 

consignment.  NRS 487.400.2 
 
Wrecker and Salvage Pool require separate business licenses and fees. 
 
 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
 
1. Application for Business License (OBL237) completed in full and signed by a 

principal of the business. 
 
2. Personal History Questionnaire (DS242) completed by each principal or 

corporate officer being listed on the license application. 
 
3. Authorization for Release of Information (DS254) signed by each principal or 

corporate officer.  Release must be notarized or signature witnessed by an 
authorized DMV representative. 

 
4. Child Support Information (DS268) completed and signed by each principal. 
 
5. Licensee Acknowledgement form (DS308). 
 
6. A surety bond (DS262) or deposit in lieu of bond in the amount of $50,000. 
 
7. If applying for wrecker or salvage pool plates an insurance certificate showing 

automobile liability coverage.  See insurance information sheet (OBL273). 
 
8. Non-refundable license application fee of $300. 
 
9. City or County business license. 
 
10. Fictitious Firm Name Filing.
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11. Copy of Certificate of Incorporation and Corporate filing, with names of the 
officers, filed with the State of Nevada, Secretary of State’s Office, if applicable. 

 
12. The federal identification number of the business. 
 
13. An electronic mail address for the business. 
 
14. An established place of business, with a permanently enclosed building located 

on at least one-half acre.  The business location must be surrounded by a 
screened fence at least six feet tall. 

 
15. A permanently affixed display sign with the name of the business in lettering 

eight inches high, formed by lines that are at least one inch wide.  Sign must be 
clearly legible from the center of the nearest street or roadway. 

 
16. Two color photographs that clearly show the exterior of the business to include 

the display sign. 
 
 
It is unlawful for any person to dismantle, scrap, process or wreck any vehicle without 
first applying for and obtaining a license for that operation from the Department.  NRS 
487.050.1. 
 
No person may operate a salvage pool without first applying for and obtaining a license 
for that business from the Department.  NRS 487.410.1. 
 
 
 
Additional Information 
 
Wreckers Only - I.D. cards may be obtained, which authorizes a licensed wrecker to 
bid to purchase a vehicle from an operator of a salvage pool.  A licensed wrecker may 
obtain two cards annually for his business at a fee of $50 each card.  I.D. cards expire 
April 30th of each year for which it was issued.  NRS 487.070(2)(3). 

 
 
 

 
Revised June 2009 2 Section I 
 



ACQUIRING VEHICLES 
 
Nevada automobile wreckers may acquire vehicles in the following manner: 
 
1. By direct purchase, with the owner providing title documents. 

2. By direct purchase, with an automobile wrecker providing a salvage title, non-
repairable vehicle certificate or junk certificate. 

 
3. By direct purchase, with an insurance company or its agent providing a salvage 

title, non-repairable vehicle certificate. 
 
4. By direct purchase, with a salvage pool providing salvage title, non-repairable 

vehicle certificate or junk certificate. The salvage pool must also be a licensed 
wrecker or tow operator to obtain a junk certificate. 

 
5. Through receipt of a vehicle removed from public or private property at the 

request of an enforcement agency, owner, or person in lawful possession of the 
property. The lien sale process must follow pursuant to NRS 108.265 through 
108.367 inclusive. 

 
6. Lien Process. 
 
7. Junk Certificate: Issued to a licensed wrecker or tow operator. 
 
 
ACQUIRING PARTS OF PARTIAL VEHICLES 
 
When an automobile wrecker acquires parts of a vehicle through purchase or exchange, 
a bill of sale from the owner of the parts must be maintained. 
 
1. If a vehicle that has been partially dismantled is acquired, a written statement 

from the owner, listing those parts that have previously been removed is 
required.   

 
2. If the part includes the frame or other major component, a salvage title may be 

required. 
 
 
DETERMINING AN ENTIRE VEHICLE OR PARTIAL VEHICLES 
 
1. Whenever an entire salvage vehicle is sold to any person by a licensed 

automobile wrecker, the automobile wrecker shall deliver a properly endorsed 
salvage title to the buyer for such an entire salvage vehicle. 

 
2. A salvage vehicle shall be deemed an entire salvage vehicle: 
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(a) If all the following essential components are included and identifiable as 
coming from the same salvage vehicle: 

  
(1) The cowl assembly; 
(2) The floor pan assembly; 
(3) The passenger compartment; 
(4) The rear clip assembly; and 
(5) The roof assembly; and 

 
(b) In addition to the essential components required pursuant to paragraph 

(a): 
 

(1) If the salvage vehicle was manufactured with a conventional frame, 
the conventional frame is included and identifiable as coming from 
the same salvage vehicle; 

(2) If the salvage vehicle was manufactured with a unibody, the 
complete front inner structure is included and identifiable as coming 
from the same salvage vehicle; 

(3) If the salvage vehicle is a truck which was manufactured with a 
conventional frame, the conventional frame and the truck cab 
assembly are included and identifiable as coming from the same 
salvage vehicle; and 

(4) If the salvage vehicle is a truck which was manufactured with a 
unibody, the complete front inner structure and the truck cab 
assembly are included and identifiable as coming from the same 
salvage vehicle. 

 
3. A salvage vehicle that does not satisfy the requirements of subsection 2 is 

deemed a part or parts of an entire salvage vehicle. 
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GUIDELINES 
 

Always type or print in black or dark blue ink. 
  
The owner’s full legal name and address information must be recorded on registration 
and title documents exactly as it reads on the owner’s driver’s license. 
 
Ensure the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), year, make, odometer readings and 
registered owner and legal owner information are consistent on all documents.  
 
Signatures must always be handwritten, unless waived by the Department because the 
submittal is done by electronic means.  A printed release will not be accepted unless 
accompanied by a notarized or witnessed statement (from the person in question) 
stating that the signature is a legal signature. 
 
Do not use correction fluid or correction tape. 
 
Do not alter any information on documents.  
 
A release should be the same, as it appears on title documents, i.e., Elizabeth should 
sign as Elizabeth. 
 
All documents must be originals, unless certified to be true copies of the original 
document. Only certain documents can be accepted as true and exact copies. 
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IMPORTANCE OF ACCURACY 
 

The Department of Motor Vehicles uses the VIN as the primary identifier for entry and 
retrieval of records.  It is therefore critical that all documents are completed using the 
correct VIN. 

 
TO AVOID ERRORS: 

 
• Ensure the entire VIN is used at all times. 
 
• Ensure the VIN is entered or recorded legibly and accurately.  It is best to use 

block letters. 
 
• If the VIN is handwritten, try to avoid the following most common errors: 
 

LETTER MAY BE MISTAKEN FOR 
B 13 or 8 
D 0 
G 6 or C 
J T or I or 5 
R K 
S 5 
Y 4 or H 
U Y or V 
Z 2 or a 7 on a line 
 

“I” and “1” are often confused.  The letter “I” is rarely used in a VIN.  The number 9 
and/or 4 can also be confused if not written legibly. 
 
The letter “O” is never used in a VIN, with the exception of state assigned VINs, such as 
those that are assigned by the states of Colorado (i.e., COLO123456) or Missouri 
(DR000000MO or DRMVB0000000000MO). 
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VEHICLES IDENTIFICATION NUMBER INFORMATION 
 
Since 1954, American automobile manufacturers have used a Vehicle Identification 
Number (VIN) to identify and describe a vehicle. 
 
Since 1981, all manufacturers of vehicles sold in the United States are required to use a 
standardized 17-digit VIN structure.  When the Department is provided with a vehicle 
that has an 18-digit VIN, the VIN will be verified before the vehicle information is 
entered. 

 
Variations exist in the location of a VIN and in the systems used for a VIN; they may 
vary by year of manufacture and between manufacturers. 
 
A VIN should always be verified by a physical inspection of the vehicle. 
 

VIN SCHEMATIC/DESCRIPTION 
 

Position Description 
1-3 Manufacturer Identifier 
4 Restraint System Type 
5 Manufacturer Specification 
6 Line, Series, Body Type 
7-8 Engine Type 
9 Check Digit 
10 Model Year 
11 Assembly Plant 
12-17 Production Sequence Number

 
1st Character: Identifies the country in which the vehicle was manufactured, 

i.e., USA (1 or 4), Canada (2), Mexico (3), Japan (J), Korea 
(K), England (S), Germany (W), Italy (Z). 

2nd Character: Identifies the manufacturer, i.e., Audi (A), BMW (B), Buick 
(4), Cadillac (6), Chevrolet (1), Chrysler (C), Dodge (B), Ford 
(F), GM Canada (7), General Motors (G), Honda (H), Jaguar 
(A), Lincoln (L), Mercedes Benz (D), Mercury (M), Nissan 
(N), Oldsmobile (3), Pontiac (2 or 5), Plymouth (P), Saturn 
(8), Toyota (T), VW (V), Volvo (V). 

3rd Character:  Identifies the vehicle type or manufacturing division. 
4th to 8th Characters: Identifies vehicle features such as body style, engine type, 

model, series, etc. 
9th Character:  Identifies the VIN accuracy as a check digit. 
10th Character: Identifies the model year, i.e., 1988 (J), 1989 (K), 1990 (L), 

1991 (M), 1992 (N), 1993 (P), 1994 (R), 1995 (S), 1996 (T), 
1997 (V), 1998 (W), 1999 (X), 2000 (Y), 2001 (1), 2002 (2), 
2003 (3). 2004 (4), 2005 (5), 2006 (6), 2007 (7), 2008 (8), 
2009 (9), 2010 (A), 2011 (B), 2012 (C), 2013 (D), 2014 (E), 
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2015 (F).2016 – 2029 use G thru X – 2030 (Y), and 2031-
2039 use digits 1 thru 9. 

11th Character:  Identifies the assembly plant for the vehicle. 
12th to 17thCharacters: Identifies the sequence of the vehicle for production as it 

rolled off of the manufacturer’s assembly line. 
 
If a manufacturer produces less than 500 vehicles per year, the VIN characters along 
with the third, fourth and fifth characters of the fourth section shall uniquely identify the 
manufacturer, make and type of motor vehicle. (Title 49 CFR, Section 565.6 Content 
Requirements)  
 
 
 

INCOMPLETE OR INCORRECT DOCUMENTS 
 
For questions concerning incomplete or incorrect documents please contact the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, Title Section. 
 
  Department of Motor Vehicles 
  Central Services and Records Division  
  Attn: Title Section 
  555 Wright Way 

Carson City, NV  89711-0700 
  (775) 684-4810 

 
MOTOR HOME 

 
Motor homes are vehicles described as permanently attached to a self-propelled 
chassis and are designed for use as temporary living quarters.  Nevada Revised 
Statutes defines three types of motor homes. 
 
Note: The legal maximum width of a recreational vehicle is 102 inches excluding 
mirrors, lights and other devices required for safety; and an awning and any hardware 
used to attach the awning, but it cannot extend beyond any mirror. 
 
Mini motor home (NRS 482.066):  A vehicular-type unit designed for temporary living 
quarters for travel, camping or recreational use, which is: 
1. A structure attached permanently on a self-propelled chassis; or 
2. A portable unit designed to be affixed permanently to a truck chassis with cab, 

which is designated as a mini motor home by the manufacturer. 
 
Motor home (NRS 482.071):  A structure: 
1. Attached permanently to a self-propelled motor vehicle chassis; 
2. Designed as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational or camping use; and 
3. When assembled for the road, having a maximum body width of 102 inches. 
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Chassis-mount camper (NRS 482.0151):   
A portable unit designed to be permanently affixed to a truck chassis and cab, and so 
constructed as to provide temporary living quarters for travel, camping or recreational 
use. 
 
In all cases, the chassis/frame number is used as the Vehicle Identification Number 
(VIN).  The make of the vehicle is the motor home name, not the chassis/frame 
manufacturer. 
 
Example: Winnebago makes the Itasca and Fleetwood makes the Tioga.  The 
makes are therefore Itasca and Tioga; Winnebago and Fleetwood are not used. 
 
The vehicle year is established by the manufacturer on the vehicle’s original documentation. 
 
In all cases, the vehicle length must be included on the registration and title documents as 
part of the vehicle description.   
 
Recreational park trailer (NRS 482.1005) means a vehicle, which is primarily designed 
to provide temporary living quarters for recreational, camping or seasonal use and 
which: 
1.  Is built on a single chassis mounted on wheels; 
2. Has a gross trailer area not exceeding 400 square feet in the set-up mode; and 
3.  Is certified by the manufacturer as complying with Standard No. A119.5 of the 
American National Standards Institute. 
 
Note:  The Department will issue a title only for recreational park trailers because they 
are over 102 inches in width. Moving a recreational park trailer requires a special 
movement permit issued by the Department of Transportation. 
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NOTARIES PUBLIC 
 
A licensed Nevada dealer’s signature is not required to be acknowledged by a notary 
public on documents that the dealer must file with the Department, except in regard to 
deposit in lieu of bond.  Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 482.3275 
 
If a document must be notarized, the provisions of NRS 240.010 through 240.150 must 
be followed. 
 
A notary public may not perform any act authorized by NRS 240.065 if he or she: 
 
1. Executed or is named in the instrument acknowledged or sworn to; 

 
2. Will receive directly from a transaction relating to the instrument any commission, 

fee, advantage, right, title or interest, property or other consideration in excess of 
the authorized fees; or 
 

3. Is related to the person whose signature is to be acknowledged or sworn to as a 
spouse, sibling, or lineal ancestor or descendant. 
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 NEVADA TITLE 
NRS 482.285 and 482.400 

 
There are currently several valid styles of Nevada Certificates of Title (Form RD-2) in 
circulation.  For the purpose of this guide, only the three most recent styles will be 
addressed (Revisions 1/06, 10/01, and 10/96).  
 
The registered owner or seller must sign the certificate of title exactly as the name 
appears on the face of the certificate of title. 
 
• If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and they are joined by “and,” 

the signature of each owner or seller is required. 
 

• If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and they are joined by 
“and/or” or “or,” only one of the owner’s or seller’s signature is required. 

 
• If there is more than one registered owner or seller, and not joined by “and” or 

“and/or” or “or”, the signature of each registered owner or seller is required.  The 
Department considers no name indicator as “and” in these cases. 

 
• If the registered owner or seller information is in the name of a business, the 

name of the business must appear along with the signature of an authorized 
business representative. 

 
Buyer information must be completed indicating exactly how the new Certificate of Title 
is to read, using the buyer’s full legal name as it appears on their driver’s license. 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
(FORM RD-2) 

REVISION 1/06 (FRONT) 
 
 
1. Vehicle Information: The vehicle identification number, year, make, model and 

vehicle body. 
 
2. Title Number:  The number assigned at the time the title is created. 
 
3. Date Issued:  The date the title was issued. 
 
4. Odometer Miles:  The reading indicated on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus. 

 
5. Fuel Type:  The type of fuel the vehicle uses. 
 
6. Sales Tax Paid:    Nevada does not print this information at this time.  
 
7. Empty Weight:  The actual weight of the vehicle when empty. 
 
8. Gross Weight:  The maximum recommended weight of the vehicle when full 

(passengers, luggage, etc.). 
 
9. GVWR:  The gross vehicle weight rating (the weight of the vehicle plus the 

vehicle’s useful or maximum load). 
 
10. Vehicle Color:  The color of the vehicle.  Nevada does not capture the vehicle 

color at this time. 
 
11. Odometer Brand:  The actual status of the odometer reading. 
 

A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the 
vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and 
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 

 
B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the 

odometer is capable of showing. 
 
C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual 

mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may 
have been installed). 

 
D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption 

qualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 
 
12. Brands:  The description of a vehicle that applies.  When more than one brand 

applies, those brands will be listed: 
 
Revised June 2009 2 Section II 
 



• Flood Damage 
• Lemon Law Buyback 
• Non-Rebuildable 
• Non-U.S. Vehicle 
• Not Street Legal 
• Rebuilt 
• Total Loss 
• Reconstructed 
• Specially Constructed 

 
13. Owner(s) Name and Address:  The name and address of the person or persons 

the Certificate of Title is issued to. 
 
14. Lienholder(s) Name and Address:  The name and address of the legal owner of 

the vehicle who holds the security interest if different from number 13. 
 
15. Lienholder(s) Release:  All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder 

require a release of lien to transfer ownership.  The lienholder or authorized 
agent of the lienholder must complete this section.  The signature of the 
lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are required to 
complete the release.  If the lienholder is a business, the business name must 
appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of the business. 

 
16. Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer(s):  Record the registered owner’s full 

legal name exactly as it appears on the customer’s driver’s license, identification 
card, or business license. This is the name that will be recorded on the vehicle 
registration certificate and Certificate of Title when created.  Customers 
purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business are not required to present their business 
license.   

 
Note: 

• If the registration is to read “doing business as” enter “DBA” preceding the 
business name.  

• If the vehicle is leased, the words “Lessee” and “Lessor” must be included 
prior to the full legal name  

• If there is more than one Lessee, separate the Lessees with a semi-colon 
“;”. 

 
17. Nevada Driver’s License, Identification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:  

Enter the number based on the document presented during the purchase 
transaction.  The DMV will use these numbers to ensure the full legal name of 
the owner is placed on the registration and title. 
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Note: 
• If the customer does not have a Nevada driver’s license or identification 

card, “No Nevada DL or ID” must be printed in the registered owner’s 
information area.   

• Customers purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business that does not have a 
FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number), enter “No FEIN.”  

• Do not enter or use the customer’s social security number. 
 
18. And/Or:  If the registration and title are in more than one name, the appropriate 

box must be marked to indicate “and” or “or.”  Using “and” will require all persons 
on the title to sign the title to release interest in the vehicle. “Or” will allow for one 
person to sign the title to release interest in the vehicle, if there are two or more 
recorded owners.  

 
19. Odometer Reading:  The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it shows 

on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths.  The seller(s) must 
complete the Odometer Statement to the best of their knowledge. 

 
20. Odometer Declaration:  If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage of the 

vehicle, one of the statements must be checked.  The Certificate of Title will be 
branded accordingly. 

 
21. Signature and Printed Name of the Seller(s)/Agent/Dealership. 
 
22. DMV issued Dealer’s License Number. 
 
23. Date of Sale:  The actual date ownership of the vehicle was transferred. 
 
24. Signature and Printed Full Legal Name of the Buyer(s). 
 
Note:  Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title.  The control number 
in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not the title number.  The 
Department uses this number internally. 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
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REVISION 1/06 (BACK) 
 

 
1. Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer upon 

the first reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business name and 
business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be 
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate 
of Title. 

 
2. Dealer Only Second Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer 

upon the second reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business 
name and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment 
must be completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the 
Certificate of Title. 

 
3. Dealer Only Third Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer upon 

the third reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business name 
and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be 
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate 
of Title. 

 
4. Lienholder to be recorded:  This section must be completed if the new Certificate 

of Title is to reflect a security interest in the vehicle.  The lienholder’s name and 
address must be recorded.  If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in 
this section. 

 
Note:  Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title.  The reassignment 
on the front of the title (beginning on item 16 on the front of the title) must be completed 
before the Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title is completed. 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
(FORM RD-2) 

REVISION 10/01 (FRONT) 
 
1. Vehicle Information:  Includes the vehicle identification number, year, make, 

model, and vehicle body. 
 
2. Title Number:  The number assigned at the time the title is created.  Please note; 

the four digits following the dash are the technician’s identification number who 
processed the title.  

 
3. Date Issued:  The date the title was issued. 
 
4. Odometer Miles:  The reading that shows on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus. 

 
5. Fuel Type:  The type of fuel the vehicle uses. 
 
6. Sales Tax Paid:  Nevada does not print this information at this time.   
 
7. Empty Weight:  The actual weight of the vehicle when empty. 

 
8. Gross Weight:  The maximum recommended weight of the vehicle when full 

(passengers, luggage, etc.). 
 

9. GVWR:  The gross vehicle weight rating (the weight of the vehicle plus the 
vehicle’s useful or maximum-load). 

 
10. Vehicle Color:  The color of the vehicle.  Nevada does not capture the vehicle 

color at this time. 
 
11. Odometer Brand:  The actual status of the odometer reading. 
 

A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the 
vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and 
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 

 
B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the 

odometer is capable of showing. 
 
C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual 

mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may 
have been installed). 

 
D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption 

qualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 
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12. Brands:  The description of a vehicle that applies.  When more than one brand 
applies, those brands will be listed: 

 
• Flood Damage 
• Lemon Law Buyback 
• Non-Rebuildable 
• Non-U.S. Vehicle 
• Not Street Legal 
• Rebuilt 
• Total Loss 
• Reconstructed 
• Specially Constructed 

 
13. Owner(s) Name and Address:  The full legal name and address of the person or 

persons the Certificate of Title is issued to. 
 
14. Lienholder(s) Name and Address:  The name and address of the legal owner of 

the vehicle who holds the security interest, if different from number 13. 
 
15. Lienholder(s) Release:  All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder 

require a release of lien before legal ownership can be transferred/vehicle sold.  
The lienholder or his authorized agent must complete this section.  The signature 
of the lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are 
required to complete the release.  If the lienholder is a business, the business 
name must appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of 
the business. 

 
16. Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer(s):  This section must be completed 

exactly as it is to appear on the new Certificate of Title; this is the first 
assignment. 

 
17. Odometer Reading:  The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it shows 

on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths.  The seller(s) must 
complete the Odometer Statement to the best of their knowledge. 

 
18. Odometer Declaration:  If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage of the 

vehicle, one of the odometer disclaimer boxes must be checked.  The certificate 
of title will be branded accordingly. 

 
19. Date of Sale:  The actual date the ownership of the vehicle was transferred. 
 
20. Signature, Printed Name or Company Name of the Seller(s) as it appears on the 

Certificate of Title. 
 
21. Signature, Printed Name Full Legal Name or Company Name of the Buyer(s). 
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Note:  Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title.  The control number 
in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not the title number.  The 
Department uses this number internally.
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Front of Title 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
REVISION 10/01 (BACK) 

 
 
1. Dealer Only First Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer upon 

the first reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business name and 
business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be 
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate 
of Title. 

 
2. Dealer Only Second Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer 

upon the second reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business 
name and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment 
must be completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the 
Certificate of Title. 

 
3. Dealer Only Third Reassignment of Title:  To be completed only by a dealer upon 

the third reassignment of the Certificate of Title.  The dealer’s business name 
and business license number must be recorded, and the reassignment must be 
completed in the same manner as the assignment on the front of the Certificate 
of Title. 

 
4. Lienholder to be Recorded:  This section must be completed if the new certificate 

of title is to reflect a security interest in the vehicle.  The lienholder’s name and 
address must be recorded.  If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in 
this section. 

 
Note:  Any alteration or erasure voids a Nevada Certificate of Title.  The reassignment 
on the front of the title (area 16 on previous page) must be completed before the Dealer 
Only First Reassignment of Title is completed. 
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Back of Title 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
(FORM RD-2) 

REVISION 10/96 (FRONT) 
 
1. Vehicle Information:  Includes the vehicle identification number, year, make, 

model, and vehicle body. 
 
2. Odometer/Odometer Remarks:  The reading that actually shows on the vehicle’s 

odometer apparatus.  The Certificate of Title will be branded as appropriate to 
indicate the status of the odometer reading. 

 
A. Actual Mileage; the miles shown on the odometer are the exact miles the 

vehicle has been driven, required for all vehicles that are nine years and 
newer and do not meet exemptions in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 

 
B. Exceeds Mechanical Limits; the vehicle has traveled more miles than the 

odometer is capable of showing. 
 
C. Warning Odometer Discrepancy; the odometer reading is not the actual 

mileage (the odometer may have been broken or a new odometer may 
have been installed). 

 
D. Exempt; the vehicle is ten years old or older or meets the exemption 

qualifications in Title 49 Odometer Disclosure. 
 
3. MSRP:  The manufacturer’s suggested retail price and the basis for the amount 

of governmental services tax imposed as part of the total registration fees.  It is 
also used to compute the sales tax when the vehicle is sold between private 
parties.  

 
Note: Private party (occasional) sales that occurred December 31, 2005, or before, are 

subject to occasional sales tax.  However, if the private party (occasional) sale 
occurred January 1, 2006, or later, no sales tax is due. 

 
4. Title Number:  The number assigned at the time the Certificate of Title is created.  

Please note; the four digits following the dash are the technician’s identification 
number who processed the title. 

 
5. Issue Date:  The date the Certificate of Title was issued. 
 
6. Type of Title:  This information will read Original, Duplicate, Non-Repairable or 

Salvage. 
 
7. Brand:  The description of a vehicle that applies.  When more than one brand 

applies, those brands must be listed. 
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• Flood Damage 
• Lemon Law Buyback 
• Non-Rebuildable 
• Non-U.S. Vehicle 
• Not Street Legal 
• Rebuilt 
• Total Loss 
• Reconstructed 
• Specially Constructed 

 
8. Mailing Address:  Indicates where the Certificate of Title is mailed. 
 
9. Owner’s Name and Address:  Indicates to whom the Certificate of Title issued. 
 
10. Lienholder:  Indicates the legal owner of the vehicle if different from number 9. 
 
11. Release of Lien:  All Nevada Certificates of Title that show a lienholder require a 

release of lien, before a new title can be issued or before the vehicle can be sold.  
The lienholder or his authorized agent must complete this section.  The signature 
of the lienholder or the authorized agent and the date of the signature are 
required to complete the release.  If the lienholder is a business, the business 
name must appear along with the signature of an authorized representative of 
the business.  If the lien is not released on the title, a lien release form VP-186 
may be used.   

 
Note: The control number in the lower right hand corner of the Certificate of Title is not 

the title number.  The Department uses this number internally. 
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Front of Title 
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NEVADA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 
REVISION 10/96 (BACK) 

 
 
Assignment of Title: 
 
1. Full Legal Name and Address of Buyer:  This information must show exactly as it 

is to appear on the new certificate of title. 
 
2. Odometer Declaration:  The odometer reading must be recorded exactly as it 

appears on the vehicle’s odometer apparatus, excluding tenths.  The seller must 
complete the odometer statement to the best of his or her knowledge. 

 
3. Odometer Reading:  If the odometer reading is not the actual mileage, one of the 

statements must be checked.  The certificate of title will be branded accordingly. 
 
4. Date of Sale:  The actual date the ownership of the vehicle was transferred. 
 
5. The Signature and Printed Name of Seller. 
 
6. The Signature and Printed Full Legal Name of Buyer. 
 
7. Dealer Reassignment (First and Second):  These assignments are for dealers 

only, and they must be completed in the same manner as the assignment of title.  
The dealer’s business name and business license number must be recorded. 

 
8. Lienholder:  This section must be completed if the new Certificate of Title is to 

reflect a security interest in the vehicle.  The lienholder’s name and address must 
be recorded.  If there is no lienholder, “None” must be recorded in this section. 

 
Note:  Any alteration or erasure voids the certificate of title. 
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Back of Title 
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SALVAGE TITLE 
(FORM RD-2S) 

 
Salvage Title (NAC 487.007) means a certificate of title issued by the state agency 
pursuant to NRS 487.810.  
 
The Department will issue a Salvage Title for a vehicle upon application to the: 
 
• Legal owner of the vehicle; 
• The person to whom the vehicle is titled; 
• An insurance company that acquires the vehicle as a salvage vehicle; or 
• A lienholder who acquires title to the vehicle. 
 
If the Certificate of Title/Ownership is held by a lienholder, the registered owner must 
notify the lienholder within 10 days that the vehicle has become a salvage vehicle.  The 
lienholder must, within 30 days of receiving the notice, forward the title and the 
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form VP-213) to the 
Department.  
 
An Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form VP-213) 
and all accompanying documents will be returned to the applicant if they are not 
correctly completed in full. 
 
Salvage Title Fees: 
 
• Licensed Nevada Automobile Wrecker No fee 
• Out-of-State Automobile Wrecker $10.00 
• Licensed Nevada Salvage Pool $10.00 
• In-State or Out-of-State Insurance Companies $10.00 
• Out-of-State Vehicle Dealers (must be registered  $10.00 

with a Salvage Pool) 
 
An owner of a salvage vehicle may only sell the salvage vehicle to a salvage pool, 
automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker, or a new or used automobile dealer.   
 
The Authorization for Vehicle Restoration must be obtained prior to the vehicle being 
rebuilt for vehicles five years old or newer.    The vehicle must be repaired or restored to 
operation, complete a VP-64 and have a branded title before the vehicle may be sold to 
a person other than the businesses listed.   
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Front of Salvage Title 
(Revised 1-06) 
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Back of Salvage Title 
(Revised 1-06) 
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Front of Salvage Title 
(Revised 8-03)
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Back of Salvage Title 
(Revised 8-03) 
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OUT-OF-STATE SALVAGE CERTIFICATES 
 

 
Salvage titles issued by other states must be properly endorsed and must indicate and 
document a complete “chain of ownership” for the vehicle. 
 
Contact the Department prior to accepting documents for a salvaged or junked vehicle, 
as laws from other states vary, and there may be instances where the Department must 
determine whether the documents can be accepted and whether a Salvage Title can be 
issued. 
 
 
 

RETENTION OF SALVAGE VEHICLES 
 
 

An insured party (registered owner) may elect to retain a vehicle that has been declared 
a total loss insurance settlement.  The insurance company or authorized agent must 
obtain the signature of the registered owner on the Application for Salvage Title or Non-
Repairable Vehicle Certificate.   
 
The insurance company must apply for a Salvage Title on behalf of the person who is 
retaining the salvage vehicle.  The vehicle may not be sold or transferred until the 
registered owner has received a Salvage Title. 
 
An owner of a total loss salvage vehicle may sell the vehicle with the properly endorsed 
certificate of title, without making any repairs to the vehicle, only to a salvage pool, 
automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker or a new or used motor vehicle 
dealer. 
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APPLICATION FOR SALVAGE TITLE OR  
NON-REPAIRABLE VEHICLE CERTIFICATE 

(FORM VP-213) 
 

An Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (Form VP213) 
must be submitted with properly endorsed ownership documents, including an odometer 
disclosure and applicable fees. 
 
Within two days after receipt in the Department’s Carson City office, the Department will 
issue a Salvage Title for the vehicle.  The Salvage Title will be mailed to the new 
owner/purchaser as documented on the submitted title documents. 
 
Before ownership interest in a salvage vehicle may be transferred, the Department must 
issue a Salvage Title.  The titled owner must forward the endorsed title with an 
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate to the Department 
within 30 days after the vehicle becomes a salvage vehicle.   
 
A Duplicate Salvage Title may be issued by completing an Application for Salvage Title 
or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, checking the transaction type box, indicating 
“Duplicate.” 
 
Requests for Salvage Titles must be made through: 
 

Attention: Salvage Unit 
Department of Motor Vehicles 
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, NV 89711 
(775) 684-4785 
(775) 684-4493 (FAX) 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM VP-213 
 
1. The applicant must indicate, by checking the appropriate box, if they are: 

• Insurance Company; 
• Licensed Nevada Business; 
• Individual Owner; or 
• Out of State Wrecker. 

 
2. Printed Name of Business, Nevada License Number, and title of person 

submitting application for a business.  
 
3. Applicant’s Full Legal Name and Date the application is being completed.  The 

applicant is either an individual owner or the person who is submitting the 
application for a business. 

 
4. Mailing address for where the Salvage Title will be sent. 
 
5. Contact telephone number where the person from line 3 can be reached. 
 
6. Signature of the person listed on line 3. 
  
7. Vehicle Description, complete vehicle identification number, year and make. 
 
8. Indicate if the vehicle is a Total Loss Insurance Settlement, Salvage Only (not 

Total Loss or Flood Damaged), or a Flood-Damaged Vehicle. Salvage only must 
be a licensed wrecker. 

 
9. If the Vehicle is a Non-Repairable Vehicle, indicate by checking the box. 
 
10. Check the box if applying for a duplicate Salvage Title or a Non-Repairable 

Vehicle Certificate.  
 
Attach evidence of ownership to the application.  Evidence of ownership must include a: 
o Certificate of title/ownership; 
o Salvage Title; 
o Lien Sale Affidavit; or 
o Statement of Facts – Must be requested from the Department 
 
 
Ownership interest in a salvage vehicle may not be transferred unless the Department 
has issued a Salvage Title. 
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NON-REPAIRABLE VEHICLE CERTIFICATE 
(FORM RD2-NR) 

 
A Non-Repairable Vehicle is defined as a motor vehicle, other than an abandoned 
vehicle that: 
 
1. Has value only as a source of parts or scrap metal; 
2. Has been designated by its owner for dismantling as a source of parts or scrap 

metal; 
3. Has been stripped of all body panels, doors, hatches, substantially all interior 

components and substantially all grill and light assemblies; or 
4. Has been burned, destroyed or otherwise damaged to such an extent that it 

cannot be returned to a condition which is legal for operation on the highways of 
this state. 

 
A Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate will be issued, upon application, for a vehicle as 
described in the definition (follow directions for Application for Salvage Title or Non-
Repairable Vehicle Certificate, page II-3).  A Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate must be 
issued before the ownership interest in a non-repairable vehicle may be transferred. 
 
Once a vehicle has been issued a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, the vehicle may 
not be registered or issued a Certificate of Title, or be restored for use on Nevada 
highways.   
 
A vehicle for which a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate has been issued may not apply 
for or be issued a Salvage Title. 
 
Transfer of ownership for a Non-Repairable Vehicle may only occur between a licensed 
automobile wrecker, dismantler or recycler.  A licensed automobile wrecker, dismantler 
or recycler may only process a Non-Repairable Vehicle as parts or scrap metal.   
 
A Duplicate Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate may be issued by completing an 
Application for Salvage Title or Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate, checking the 
transaction type box, indicating “Duplicate.” 
 
No fee is assessed for a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate. 
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Back of Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate 
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SECTION III 
 

FORMS 
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AUTHORIZATION FOR VEHICLE RESTORATION 
(FORM VP-209) 

NRS 487.480 

 
As required by NRS 487.480, the Department will not issue a Certificate of Registration or title 
for vehicles that have been issued a Salvage Title (if the vehicle is five years old or newer) 
unless the Department has authorized the restoration of the vehicle.  Form VP-209, 
Authorization for Vehicle Restoration, must be completed. 
 
The authorization to restore the vehicle must be obtained prior to the vehicle being rebuilt.  Only 
an authorized Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles Representative may complete the form. 
 
In order to register and/or title the vehicle, the Authorization for Vehicle Restoration, Salvage 
Title and Certificate of Inspection/Affidavit of Vehicle Construction for Rebuilt or Specially 
Constructed Vehicles (VP-64) must be provided.  Additional documents may be required as 
deemed necessary by the Department.   

 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AUTHORIZATION FOR  
VEHICLE RESTORATION  

 
 
1. Vehicle Description:  The description must include the vehicle identification number, year, 

make, type, model and odometer reading.   
 
2. Name:  The name and address appearing in section 2 must be the person in possession 

of the vehicle at the time of inspection.   
 
3. Authorized Signature:  The DMV representative who inspects the vehicle must sign and 

date the form to validate it.   
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BILL OF SALE 
(FORM VP-104) 

 
A Bill of Sale releases interest in a vehicle, and must be accompanied by a Certificate of Title or 
other ownership documents. 
 
A Bill of Sale does not replace a Certificate of Title. 
 
All areas of the Bill of Sale must be completed in full, and either typed or printed in ink.  They 
must correspond to the title or other ownership documentation. 
 
1. The purchase price must be written out in full (i.e., one hundred dollars). 
2. The purchase price must also be identified numerically (i.e., $100.00). 
3. Full Legal Name of Buyer(s) should be completed exactly as it appears on the customer’s 

driver’s license, identification card, or business license.  
4. Nevada Driver’s License, Identification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:  Enter the 

number based on the document presented during the purchase transaction.  
• If the customer does not have a Nevada driver’s license or identification card, “No 

Nevada DL or ID” must be printed in the registered owner’s information area.   
• Customers purchasing a vehicle(s) for a business that does not have an FEIN 

(Federal Employer Identification Number), enter “No FEIN.”  
• Do not enter or use the customer’s social security number. 

5. Indicate “AND” or “OR” between names if there is more than one owner.  Using “and” will 
require all persons on the title to sign the title to release interest in the vehicle. “OR” will 
allow for one person to sign the title of the two or more recorded, releasing interest in the 
vehicle. 

6. The Bill of Sale must include the address of the buyer. 
7. Buyer’s Signature must be present. 
8. The Date the Buyer signed the Bill of Sale form. 
9. The Bill of Sale must include a complete description of the vehicle, including the year, 

make, model and vehicle identification number (VIN). 
10. If no liens exist, write “NONE.”  If a lien exists, record the name of the lienholder. 
11. Enter the mailing address for the lienholder. 
12. The Bill of Sale must include the name, address and signature of the seller. 
13. The Seller’s Signature must be included. 
14. The Date of Seller’s signed the Bill of Sale form. 
 
 
Note: Any alteration or erasure on the Bill of Sale requires additional verification. 

 
Revised June 2009 3 Section III 
 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 

 
Revised June 2009 4 Section III 
 

 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 

CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION / AFFIDAVIT OF VEHICLE CONSTRUCTION 
FOR REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED, 

REBUILT OR LOW SPEED VEHICLES FORM VP-64 
REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED, SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED, 

REBUILT TRAILERS FORM VP-223 
NRS 487.110 

 
Certificate of Inspection Affidavit of Construction for Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed, Specially 
Constructed, Rebuilt or Low Speed Vehicles (Form VP-64) or Certificate of Inspection Affidavit of 
Construction for Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed, Specially Constructed, Rebuilt Trailers (Form 
VP-223) must be completed in order to register or title a vehicle for which a Salvage Title has 
been issued.  The Certificate of Title and other documentation, as required, must also 
accompany the VP-64 or VP-223. 
 
An owner or authorized employee of a Nevada registered garageman, licensed body shop, or 
rebuilder must certify that a salvage vehicle is repaired or rebuilt and must comply with the 
standards published and commonly applied in the motor vehicle repair industry.     
 
Motorcycle repair shops must be registered with the Department. 
 
If any safety equipment that was present in a motor vehicle at the time it was manufactured is 
repaired or replaced, the equipment must be repaired or replaced to the standards published 
and commonly applied in the motor vehicle repair industry. 
 
If a motor vehicle has been in an accident and a garageman, operator of a body shop, or 
rebuilder accepts or assumes control of the motor vehicle to make any repair, the garageman or 
operator shall: 
     
(a) For a motor vehicle that is equipped with an airbag that has been deployed, replace the 

airbag in a manner that complies with the standards set forth in 49 C.F.R. § 571.208, 
Standard No. 208, for such equipment; and 

    
(b) For a motor vehicle that is equipped with a seatbelt assembly which requires repair or 

replacement, repair or replace the seatbelt assembly in a manner that complies with the 
standards set forth in 49 C.F.R. § 571.209, Standard No. 209, for such equipment. 
 

A garageman or operator of a body shop who is licensed pursuant to the provisions of chapter 
487 of NRS and who performs the work required must retain a written record of the work, 
including, without limitation, the date of the repair, rebuilding or replacement, and any identifying 
information regarding any parts or equipment used in the repair, rebuilding or replacement. 
 
Nevada Highway Patrol Troopers, local police and sheriffs are considered authorized agents of 
the Department and may complete a VIN inspection (VP-15).  However an Authorized DMV 
Agency Inspector must complete the Form VP-64. An “Authorized Nevada DMV Representative” 
must complete the VP-223 and VP-209.  The agency name and badge number must be 
recorded on the form. 

 
Revised June 2009 5 Section III 
 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 
 
Nevada Certificates of Title issued for vehicles using Form VP-64 or VP-223 will be branded in 
accordance with statements made on the form by the owner.   
 
Form VP-64 or VP-223 may also be used for inspection and VIN assignment on Specially 
Constructed trailers, required mechanic’s inspections, and required Department safety checks.  
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INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETING FORM VP-64 
 
Part I - To be completed by a garageman, operator, or authorized employee of a licensed 
Nevada Body Shop or rebuilder. 

1. Indicate whether the vehicle is rebuilt salvage, reconstructed, specially 
constructed, rebuilt, or low speed vehicle. 

PART I – SAFETY INSPECTION 
2. Vehicle description must be completed in full. 

 
A. Rebuilt Salvage, Reconstructed, Specially Constructed, Rebuilt, or Low Speed Vehicle 

3. If items being inspected are acceptable, the applicable box must be checked after 
each item is inspected. 

 
B. MOTORCYCLE 

4. If items being inspected are acceptable, the applicable box must be checked after 
each item is inspected. 

 
Note: Before signing Part D all items must be marked “Pass” indicating item is in a safe 
operating condition.   

 
C. Certification 

5. Must be completed by a Nevada Registered Garage or a Licensed Nevada Body 
Shop. 

 
PART II – AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT SALVAGE, RECONSTRUCTED, 

SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED OR LOW SPEED MOTOR VEHICLE 
6. Completed by the owner.   

a. Check appropriate box for materials used. 
b. Vehicle information; Year, Make, Model, Type, and number of Axles. 
c. Affiant’s printed full legal name. 
d. Affiant’s address. 
e. Affiant’s signature. 
f. Signature must be witnessed by Authorized Nevada DMV Representative.  

 
PART III – Authorized DMV Agency Representative 

7. To be completed by an Authorized Nevada DMV Agency Representative. 
a. VIN and part description must be completed for all components used. 
b. Reason VIN assigned, if applicable. 
c. Additional comments, if applicable. 
d. Printed Name and Signature of Authorized Nevada DMV 
e. Representative - Include Employee Identification Number. 
f. Date Part II was completed. 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM VP-223 
 

To be completed by an authorized employee of the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 

1. Indicate whether the trailer is rebuilt, reconstructed or specially constructed. 
 
PART 1 – INSPECTION 

2. If items being inspected are acceptable, check the applicable box after each item is 
inspected.  

3. Enter trailer’s empty weight. 
4. Enter Vehicle Identification Number. 
5. Enter reason VIN was assigned. 
6. Printed Name of Authorized Nevada DMV Representative.  The authorized Nevada 

DMV Representative should sign the form and include their employee identification 
number.  

7. Enter date Part II was completed. 
 
PART 2 – AFFIDAVIT OF CONSTRUCTION FOR REBUILT, RECONSTRUCTED OR 
SPECIALLY CONSTRUCTED TRAILER 
 
Completed by the person who built or rebuilt the trailer, if available.   
 

8. Check appropriate box for materials used. 
9. Enter the description of the trailer. 
10. Enter Affiant’s printed full legal name. 
11. Enter Affiant’s address. 
12. Affiant’s signature. 
13. Signature must be witnessed by Authorized Nevada DMV Representative. 
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ERASURE AFFIDAVIT 

(VP-19) 
 
 

An Erasure Affidavit (VP-19) must be completed whenever an error has been made on 
Certificate of Title documents.  The affidavit provides for the removal of incorrect information. 
 
An Erasure Affidavit (VP-19) cannot be used to correct anything having to do with signatures, 
vehicle information or the mileage disclosure.   
 
An individual taking full responsibility for an error, change, or removal of information on 
ownership documents must complete and sign the Erasure Affidavit.  If a person is being 
removed from the ownership documents, that individual is required to sign the affidavit.  When 
representing a business, the business name and the name of the authorized business 
representative must appear on the affidavit. 
 
When correcting information, draw a single line through the error and write the corrected 
information above.  Do not obliterate the information.  If the correct information cannot be placed 
in the appropriate area on the Certificate of Title, Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or Salvage 
Title, it may be placed on the Erasure Affidavit. 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE ERASURE 
AFFIDAVIT 

 
 
1. State and county where the form was completed. 
 
2. The complete description of the vehicle, including the year, make, model and 

identification number of the vehicle.  The description of the vehicle must match all 
corresponding documents.   

 
3. A complete description of the reason for the change or removal of information on the title 

documents.   
 
4. The full legal name, address and signature of the person whose name is being removed 

from the document.  Any other change of information requires the signature of the person 
taking responsibility for the error or removal of information from the document. 

 
If the person is representing a business, the business name and the name of the 
representative must also appear (i.e., ABC Auto Sales, by Sam Jones). 

 
5. An Erasure Affidavit must be signed in the presence of a Notary Public or authorized 

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles representative.  If witnessed by a Notary Public, 
the stamp and signature of the Notary Public must appear on the affidavit.  If witnessed 
by an authorized Department representative, the name and validation stamp or employee 
identification number, as applicable, must appear on the affidavit.  
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LIEN RELEASE/SATISFACTION OF LIEN 
 

Lien Release means a written release from a person, business or financial institution on record 
as having a security interest in a vehicle.  The lien release must include a complete vehicle 
description. 
 
A lien release or satisfaction of lien enables a lienholder to release the security interest in a 
vehicle.  It may be used with the Certificate of Title or with an application for a duplicate 
Certificate of Title. 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM VP-186 
 
The lien release must include: 
 
1. A complete description of the vehicle, including the vehicle identification number, year, 

make, and model, 
 
2. The registered owner’s full legal name and address,  
 
3. The name, address and phone number of the lienholder, 
 
4. The printed name of the lienholder representative and their title if the lienholder is a 

business, the name of the business, 
 
5. The signature of an authorized representative of the business, and 
 
6. The date it was signed by the lienholder.  
 
7. Signature must be witnessed by a Notary Public or authorized Nevada DMV 

representative.   
 
 
Note: A Lien Release (Form VP-186) is available from the Department.  However, other forms 
will be accepted provided they contain the information specified above.   
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POWER OF ATTORNEY 
 
A Power of Attorney is a written legal document whereby one individual conveys to another the 
legal right to act on his or her behalf. 
 
If the right to release interest in a vehicle has been conveyed to another person or firm by Power 
of Attorney, the original Power of Attorney must accompany the title document, and it must 
contain a complete description of the vehicle, including the vehicle identification number, year, 
make, and model. 
 
If a general Power of Attorney is used to convey an individual’s legal rights, an original or 
certified photocopy attached to the title document is acceptable. 
 
The agent of a Power of Attorney shall furnish on demand an affidavit stating the Power of 
Attorney being relied on is a true copy and that, to the best of the agent’s knowledge, the 
principal is alive and the relevant powers of the agent have not been altered or terminated. 
 
A Power of Attorney becomes null and void upon the death of the individual who conveyed his or 
her rights to another. 
 
The Power of Attorney must be exercised by the person or firm named as representative on the 
form.  To properly exercise the Power of Attorney, the name of the owner must be listed prior to 
that of the representative. 
 

o Example for an individual:   
Sharon Smith by Jane Doe, P of A 

o Example for a business:  
Sharon Smith by Morrison’s Garage George Morrison, P of A 

 
The Power of Attorney may only be exercised on the Certificate of Title or document for which 
the authority was granted.  Otherwise, it is null and void. 
 
The Power of Attorney must be witnessed by a notary public or authorized Nevada Department 
of Motor Vehicles employee or representative.  
 
When the Power of Attorney is used to release ownership of a vehicle, the Certificate of Title 
must be signed in the appropriate area by the individual appointed as power of attorney. 
 
If a specific Power of Attorney is used to release ownership of a vehicle, only certified or original 
copies are acceptable.  The following statement must be included on the certified copy: 
 

“I hereby certify that this is a true and exact copy of the original that is being held in our 
files.  I further certify the original will be available during normal business hours for review 
by Department of Motor Vehicles personnel if necessary.” 

 
If a Power of Attorney is given to a business, the certification statement must include the 
business stamp or the printed or typed name of the business, the signature of the individual 
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authorized to act on behalf of the business and the printed or typed name of the person 
certifying the copy of the specific Power of Attorney. 
 
A general or specific power of attorney cannot be used to disclose the odometer reading on 
vehicles nine years old or newer when the title is not present. 
 
When a title is not present a Secure Power of Attorney must be used to disclose an odometer 
reading on vehicles that are nine years old or newer. 
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VEHICLE INSPECTION CERTIFICATE AND 
ODOMETER DECLARATION 

(FORM VP-15) 
 
Vehicle Inspection Certificate (Form VP-15) is a form provided by the Department and when 
completed shows evidence that a vehicle inspection was completed by a DMV inspector or an 
authorized representative (including law enforcement) to verify the vehicle identification number. 
 
Verification of the vehicle identification number (VIN) will be confirmed by a physical inspection 
of the vehicle. 
 
The physical inspection of the vehicle must be completed by a Nevada DMV employee or 
authorized Nevada DMV representative. 
 
Verification of the VIN ensures the accuracy of the information used to create a Nevada 
Certificate of Title. 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM VP-15 
 
1. Date:  Enter the date the inspection was completed. 
 
2. Vehicle Description:  Enter the year, make, model and type of vehicle. 
 
3. Low Speed Vehicles must meet safety standards set forth in Federal Motor Safety 

Standard No. 500 at 49 C.F.R. § 571.500 and if registered in Clark or Washoe Counties 
must pass an emission test. 

 
4. Vehicle Identification Number:  Enter the complete vehicle identification number as it 

appears on the vehicle.  Do not use other documents to retrieve this information.  After 
inspecting the vehicle, compare the VIN from the vehicle to that on the other title 
documents to ensure they match. 

 
5. Odometer Reading:  Record the odometer reading as it appears on the vehicle’s 

odometer apparatus. 
 
6. Cylinders/Rotor:  Enter whether the vehicle has cylinders or rotors and how many. 
 
7. If the vehicle is a trailer, indicate whether the vehicle has living quarters or not. 
 
8. Fuel:  Select the type of fuel this vehicle is powered by, if applicable. 
 
9. Remarks:  Comment on any unusual circumstances encountered during the inspection. 
 
10. Authorized Officer-Inspector:  The name and signature of the authorized individual who 

completed the inspection. 
 
11. Badge or ID#:  The badge number of the officer or employee ID of the authorized 

individual who completed the inspection. 
 
12. Date:  Date of when the inspection was conducted. 
 
13. Address:  Address of the authorized individual who completed the inspection. 
 
14. Agency Name:  Record the name of the agency conducting the inspection.  Indicate 

whether the agency is law enforcement or an authorized agency such as a licensed 
Nevada dealer. 
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SECTION IV 
 

FEES 
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SALVAGE TITLE AND NON-REPAIRABLE 
VEHICLE CERTIFICATE FEES 

NRS 487.810 
 
 
Salvage Title Fees: 
 
• Licensed Nevada Automobile Wrecker No fee 
• Out-of-State Automobile Wrecker $10.00 
• Licensed Nevada Salvage Pool $10.00 
• In-State or Out-of-State Insurance Companies $10.00 
• Out-of-State Vehicle Dealers (must be registered $10.00 

with a Salvage Pool) 
 
No fee is assessed for a Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate. 
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TITLE FEES 
NRS 482.429 

 
A title fee must be submitted for the following transactions: 
• Vehicles sold or leased to a governmental agency including city, county, state, 

etc. 
• All unregistered vehicles. 
• Commercial vehicles registered by the Motor Carrier Division of the Nevada 

Department of Motor Vehicles. 
• Lease terminations. 
• Vehicles being titled in a dealership’s name. 
• Repossessed vehicles. 
• Unregistered vehicles being titled to perfect a lien against the vehicle. 
• Applications for a duplicate Nevada Certificate of Title, unless Form VP-206 is 

presented. 
• All private-party transfers and dealer sales. 
 
Fees: 
• First-time, change of ownership or duplicate certificates of title $20.00  
• Vehicles not physically present in or registered in Nevada $35.00 
 
A Title Processing Fee in the amount of $8.25 must be charged on all title transactions 
that include a complete change of ownership. 
 
Examples of when a title-processing fee is charged:   
• Dealer sales  
• Private-party sales 
• Sale between family members 
• Gift transactions 
• Any sale or transaction that is processed involving a change of ownership 
• Lien sale transaction, lease assumptions and lease terms 
• Lease buyouts  
 
Do not charge a Title Processing Fee for: 
• Salvage titles 
• Non-repairable vehicle certificates 
• Duplicate titles 
• Removing a lienholder 
• Removing a name (if one name from the original title remains on the new title) 
• Changing a last name if person is “one-in-the-same” (e.g., married, legal name 

change) 
• Changing an address 
• Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin is in 

the registered owner’s full legal name. 
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TOWING ABANDONED VEHICLES 
NRS 487.095 
NAC 487.030 

 
Nevada licensed Automobile Wreckers and Tow Car Operators who remove abandoned 
vehicles from public or private property as prescribed by NRS 487.230 may place a lien 
on the vehicle for towing and storage charges.  
 
The vehicle must be declared abandoned on public property by a law enforcement 
agency or on private property by the property owner or person in lawful possession of 
the private property.  NRS 258.125 entitles a $50.00 fee be paid to a constable who 
requests a vehicle be removed from public property after the lien has been satisfied. 

 
Whenever a vehicle has been removed to a garage or other place as provided by NRS 
487.230, the owner of the garage or the automobile wrecker who towed the vehicle has 
a lien on the vehicle for the costs of towing and storing for a period not exceeding 90 
days. 
 
Nevada Administrative Code 487.030 sets towing fees at a fixed rate of $55.00, 
regardless of the time of day, the distance to the vehicle or the type of equipment used 
to tow the vehicle. 
 
For every abandoned vehicle, a tow company or wrecker must have in their  possession 
one of the following documents as proof the vehicle quailfies as an abandoned vehicle; 
 
• For a law enforcement ordered impound of an abandoned vehicle, a law 

enforcement agency impound report identifying the vehicle as impounded as an 
"abandoned vehicle".  

 
If a vehicle is impounded for some other reason, the impound report will indicate that 
fact i.e., "impounded" or "stored" and the appropriate box on the form will be checked. 
For those categories of tow, there should be an explanation written on the form 
describing whether or not there are holds on the vehicle and the terms or conditions for 
release of that vehicle. Vehicles impounded by law enforcement or other enforcment 
agencies that are not classified "abandoned" may only be processed by a tow company 
or wrecker in accordance with the provisions of NRS 108.265 to NRS 108.367 inclusive. 
Such vehicles include but are not limited to, vehicles impounded and stored as a result 
of a traffic accident, traffic citation, arrest, or for any reason not classified as 
"abandoned". Such  impounds may NOT be reclassified or the reason for towing 
changed, to allow the vehcle to be processed as an abandoned vehicle. 

 
• If an abandoned vehicle has been towed as a result of a property owner or 

property manager's request to remove an abandoned vehicle from their private 
property, a "PRIVATE PROPERTY ABANDONED VEHICLE RELEASE" (POR) 
form is required by the Department as proof of a private property abandoned 
vehicle impound.  

 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 

 
Revised June 2009 2 Section V 
 

A DMV Appraiser may request documents from a tow company operator or wrecker to 
support their acquisition of an abandoned vehicle listed on the companies abandoned 
vehicle transmittal sheet. If such a request is made, the tow company operator or 
wrecker must provide either a “POR” or the police impound report indicating the vehicle 
was abandoned.  
 
The DMV Appraiser may request additional documents to support the tow company or 
wreckers acquisition of a vehicle. If a tow company operator or wrecker refuses or is 
unable to produce the required documents or additional supportive documents that 
support the tow company or wrecker's possession of a vehicle, the DMV Appraiser may 
refuse to appraise that vehicle.  
 
The only alternative to the law enforcement impound or private property abandoned 
vehicle release would be an order issued by a court having jurisdiction declaring a 
vehicle or group of vehicles be removed from private or public property as abandoned 
vehicles.  
 
"Private Property Abandoned Vehicle Release" or (POR) form;     
 
• The “POR” form is used by the tow company or wrecker when they are requested 

to remove an abandoned vehicle or vehicles by a private property owner or 
property manager. 

 
• With the exception of the spaces provided for "Registered and/or Legal Owner" 

information, which may not be known for abandoned vehicles, the form must be 
completed in its entirety. 

 
• The form is maintained as a record of the tow company or wreckers authorization 

to remove a vehicle from private or public property. The “POR” must be produced 
when requested by a DMV Apraiser or law enforcement officer making inquiries 
regarding the vehicle or its removal from private or public property. 
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Example of a POR: 
 

PRIVATE PROPERTY ABANDONED VEHICLE RELEASE 
 
I, the undersigned, do hereby release to _______________________________________ 

Name of automobile wrecker or tow car operator 
the following vehicle: 
 
Vehicle Identification Number 

 
 
 
Year _______________ Make ________________ Model ________________ 
 

License Plate Number  
 
Expiration date ____________________  State __________________ 
 
Registered Owner(s)  
 
Name __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ________________________________________________________________ 

Address  City State Zip Code 
 
Legal Owner  
Name __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ________________________________________________________________ 

Address City State Zip Code 
 
Address of Property the vehicle was removed from 
 
Address ________________________________________________________________ 

Address City State Zip Code 
 
Name of person requesting tow ______________________________________________ 
 
I further save and hold (business name of automobile wrecker or tow company)  
_______________________________________________________________________  
harmless and direct them to remove the vehicle from my property. 
 
Signature _____________________________________________   Date ____________ 
 
Property Owner’s Printed Name _____________________________________________ 
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ABANDONED VEHICLE LIENS 
NRS 487.205 

 
Automobile wreckers and tow car operators who remove abandoned vehicles from 
public or private property as prescribed by NRS 487.270 may place a lien on the vehicle 
for towing and storage charges. 
 
A vehicle must be declared as abandoned on public property by a law enforcement 
agency and on private property by the property owner or person in lawful possession of 
the private property. 
 
Vehicles impounded by law enforcement as a result of a traffic accident, a traffic 
violation or arrest, or received by the tow car company operator or wrecker for any other 
non-abandoned vehicle tow, may not be reclassified as abandoned vehicles regardless 
of their value.  
 
A lien associated with towing, storage and administrative fees for vehicles impounded 
under those conditions must be processed as labor liens for towing and storage in 
accordance with the provisions of NRS 108.265 to NRS 108.367 inclusive.  
 
A tow company operator or wrecker cannot declare or reclassify vehicles as 
“abandoned” as a result of a law enforcement impound for the purpose of circumventing 
the requirements of chapter 108 of the Nevada Revised Statute.   
 
As prescribed by NRS 706.4479, automobile wreckers and tow car operators must 
make every reasonable attempt and use all resources reasonably necessary, as 
evidenced by written documentation, to obtain the identity of the owner and any other 
necessary information from the agency charged with the registration of the motor 
vehicle in this State or any other state within: 
 
• 21 days after placing the motor vehicle in storage if the motor vehicle was towed 

at the request of a law enforcement officer following an accident involving the 
motor vehicle; or 

 
• 15 days after placing any other motor vehicle in storage. 
 
The tow operator or wrecker shall attempt to notify the owner of the vehicle by 
registered or certified mail as soon as possible, but in no case later than 15 days after 
identification of the owner is obtained for any motor vehicle. Pursuant to NRS 706.4477, 
if a request to tow is by the owner or agent of the owner of real property, it is presumed 
the registered owner abandoned the vehicle and is responsible for the cost of removal 
and storage. The registered owner may rebut the presumption by showing the he 
transferred his interest in the motor vehicle or prove the vehicle was stolen.   
 
If an operator includes in his tariff a fee to be charged to the registered and legal owner 
of a vehicle for the towing and storage of the vehicle, the fee may not be charged: 
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• For more than 21 days after placing the motor vehicle in storage if the motor 
vehicle was towed at the request of a law enforcement officer following an 
accident involving the motor vehicle; or 

 
• For more than 15 days after placing any other vehicle in storage, 
 
• Unless the operator complies with the notification requirements. 
 
Note: The 15 days referred to in this section under “Abandoned Vehicle Liens” should 
not be confused with, or applied to, NRS 487.210 when defining an abandoned vehicle, 
and does not qualify a vehicle as abandoned should there be no response to the notice 
sent. In order for the provisions of NRS 487.250, subsections 3 and 4 to apply, the 
vehicle must first be included on an abandoned vehicle transmittal form, be confirmed 
by a Department representative as acquired by the tow company or wrecker as an 
abandoned vehicle, then appraised by a Department representative at a value of $500 
or less.  
 
NRS 706.4468 allows the Nevada Transportation Authority to reduce any charge for 
preparing or satisfying a lien which is filed by the tow operator if the Nevada 
Transportation Authority determines that all or part of the charge is attributable to the 
operator’s failure to prepare or satisfy the lien in a timely manner.  
 
If a licensed Nevada Automobile Wrecker tows the vehicle; the tow bill must be 
completed in full and must contain the following information: 
 
• Business name, address, telephone number and certificate number or DMV 

business license number. 
 
• Address of the facility where the vehicle is stored. 
 
• Date and time of the request for towing including designations to “am” or “pm”. 
 
• Name and address of the registered owner of the towed vehicle, if available. 
 
• The year, make, model, vehicle identification number, license plate number and 

state of issuance. 
 
• Exact location from where vehicle was towed.  
 
• Address of the location to which the vehicle was towed, if different from the 

where the vehicle is being stored. 
 
• The time the wrecker was dispatched to tow the vehicle and the reading of the 

odometer of the tow vehicle at the beginning of the trip. 
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• The time of the arrival of the tow car at the site of the car to be towed and the 
reading on the odometer upon its arrival. 

 
• The time of the departure of the tow car from the site of the vehicle to be towed. 
 
• The time of the arrival of the tow car at the location to where the vehicle was 

towed and the reading of the odometer upon its arrival. 
 
• The total time, this passes while at the site of the towing in hours and minutes. 
 
• The exact mileage and hourly charges. 
 
• If an extra person was required, the time he was sent to the site and the time he 

returned. 
 
• A detailed listing of all charges and, if charges are based on time, the starting 

and ending times. If more space is needed for the listing, a separate sheet of 
paper must be attached to the bill and a notation made on the bill that an 
additional sheet is attached.  If the tow was requested by a constable, include the 
$50 fee. 

 
• The date and the time the storage of the vehicle started and ended and a 

notation of whether the vehicle was stored inside a locked building or in a 
secured, fenced area. 

 
• Statement of total charges for towing. 
 
• Of the action the registered and legal owner of the vehicle may take to recover 

his vehicle while incurring the lowest possible liability in accrued assessments, 
fees, penalties or other charges, and 

 
• Of the opportunity to rebut the presumptions set forth in NRS 487.220 and 

706.4477. 
 

 
ABANDONED VEHICLES LEFT AT SALVAGE YARD 

 
When an insurance company has relinquished all claims and interests to a vehicle, 
because of a lack of coverage, claim denial or similar reason:  
 
• The insurance company or their agent shall send a notice by means of  

registered or certified mail to the last known address of record on file with the 
Department or other State of jurisdiction of the vehicle, to the legal and registered 
owners of the vehicle, and to the salvage pool or other place of storage  of the 
vehicle indicating that the insurance company relinquishes all claims and interest 
in the vehicle; 
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• The notice sent to the registered and legal owners of the vehicle must specify the 

address of the salvage pool or other place of storage of the vehicle together with 
the conditions for the release of the vehicle. 

 
• The notice shall specify a period of time not to exceed 15 days from the date of 

receipt of the notice for the registered or legal owner’s of the vehicle to respond 
and make arrangements for removal of the vehicle from the salvage pool or other 
place of storage of the vehicle.  

    
• Should the registered or legal owner of the vehicle fail to respond to the notice, or 

should the registered or legal owner of the vehicle fail to make arrangements to 
recover the vehicle from the salvage pool or other place of storage within the 15 
days specified in the notice, the insurance company or its agent shall; 

 
o Forward a copy of all correspondence and return receipts for delivery of 

the registered or certified mail, together with verification of the legal 
address of the registered and legal owners of the vehicle, to the salvage 
pool or other place of storage of the vehicle.  

 
o Upon receipt of all documentation specified in 1. a.,  above, the salvage 

pool or other place of storage of the vehicle shall have the option to; 
 

 Dispose of the vehicle in accordance with the provisions of NRS 
108.265 to NRS 108.367, inclusive, or; 

 
 Declare the vehicle to have been abandoned on their property, and; 

 
 Have the vehicle removed by a licensed wrecker or tow company 

and processed as an abandoned vehicle in accordance with the 
provisions of NRS 487.230.   

 
• In the case of a vehicle for which there has been settlement of a claim but the 

owner retains ownership of the vehicle and the insurance company thereafter 
relinquishes all claims and interest in the vehicle, or; 

 
• The owner of the retained salvage vehicle fails to reclaim and remove or  cause 

to be removed the vehicle from the salvage pool; 
 

o It remains the insurance company’s responsibility to secure a salvage title 
for these vehicles in the name of the owner; 

 
o In the case of an “owner retained” vehicle where the owner cannot or does 

not provide the vehicle title to the insurance company, and does not 
reclaim and remove or cause to be removed the vehicle, the insurance 
company shall;  
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Process the vehicle in accordance with the procedures set forth at the 
beginning of this section under “ABANDONED VEHICLES LEFT AT 
SALVAGE YARD”. 

 
• In the case of a vehicle for which insurance claims have been settled, but for 

which no title has been secured within the specified time limit and compliance 
with NRS 487.800 is not possible.  These cases become a matter for the courts 
to determine and the following is required: 
 
o The insurance company or its agent must secure a court order requiring 

DMV to issue a salvage title in the name of the insurance company. 
 

LETTER OF TRANSMITTAL FOR ABANDONED 
JUNK VEHICLES (VP-162) 

 
Transmittal forms must be submitted to the nearest full service branch of the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, Field Services Division.  Appraisals will be completed 
within 10 business days of receipt of transmittal.  Only vehicles qualified as 
“abandoned” (NRS 487.210) will be appraised.  Automobile wreckers or tow companies 
must provide proof of abandonment and have possession of the vehicle.  Only those 
vehicles that a vehicle identification number has been ascribed and qualify as an 
abandoned vehicle will be inspected.   
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE (VP-161) 
 
This form is used for determining the value of vehicles declared abandoned pursuant to 
NRS 487.230. 
 
Valuation will be noted as: 
 
• Does not exceed $200 – eligible for Junk Certificate if requested under NRS 

487.260.5(e). 
 
• $500 or less – eligible for lien sale under NRS 487.250.4.  To qualify under the 

provisions of NRS 487.250 a vehicle must; 
 

o Be acquired as a result of an abandoned vehicle tow, and; 
o Appraised by a Department representative as having a value of $500 or 

less. 
o After the steps listed above have been completed in the order stated, the 

written notice specified in NRS 487.250 may be sent. 
 
• Exceeds $500 – eligible lien sale under NRS 108. 
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JUNK CERTIFICATE (VP-161) 
NRS 487.260 

 
A Junk Certificate may be issued for a vehicle that has been appraised by the 
Department at a value of $200 or less.  This certificate may be issued to an automobile 
wrecker or tow company who removed the vehicle.  An automobile wrecker who 
possesses a junk certificate may sell the vehicle to another automobile wrecker, 
dismantle, scrap, crush or otherwise destroy the vehicle or sell to another automobile 
wrecker.  A tow company may transfer ownership to a wrecker by endorsing the junk 
certificate. The wrecker or tow company must keep a junk certificate on file for 2 (two) 
years after the vehicle has been destroyed. The records must be available for 
inspection during normal business hours.  A vehicle for which a junk certificate has been 
issued may never be titled or registered again. 
 
 
Requirements for a junk certificate: 
 

• The vehicle must have been acquired pursuant to NRS 487.230, removal of 
abandoned vehicles.  Abandoned Vehicle verification must be presented by a 
written tow request from law enforcement for removal on public property. 

 
• Vehicles must have a vehicle identification number that can be located.  Partial 

vehicles or component parts are not considered a vehicle. A vehicle without an 
identifiable VIN should not be appraised or issued a “junk certificate” unless the 
vehicle can be identified through the confidential VIN or other means. 

 
The skeleton of a vehicle body having essentially all its major exterior and interior 
component parts removed including all identifying numbers may be considered, 
after examination by a Department representative or law enforcement officer, a 
part of a vehicle or scrap metal. A junk certificate would not be issued for such a 
part of a vehicle. 

 
• Vehicles must be ruined, wrecked, dismantled or rendered inoperative. 
 
• Vehicle must be unfit for further use in accordance with the original purpose for 

which it was constructed. 
 
• Vehicle must not be currently registered with the Department.  
 
•  If acquired by a tow company or wrecker as an abandoned vehicle and 

appraised by a Department representative at $200 or less and has not been 
reclaimed by the registered owner or a person having a security interest in the 
vehicle within 15 days after notification pursuant to NRS 487.250.  

 
Upon appraisal, if the vehicle meets all requirements a “Junk Certificate” may 
immediately be issued. 
 
There is no fee for a junk certificate. 
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE 
JUNK CERTIFICATE (VP161)  

FRONT PAGE (Revised 3-2006) 
 

 
The Department issues the Junk Certificate if all requirements have been met.
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE 
JUNK CERTIFICATE (VP161)  

FRONT PAGE (Revised 1-2004) 
 

 
The Department issues the Junk Certificate if all requirements have been met.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING  
ASSIGNMENT OF JUNK CERTIFICATE 

 
These instructions are valid for both versions of the Junk Certificate when completing an 
assignment. 
 
1. Printed full legal name of buyer and address. 
 
2. Signature of buyer and date. 
 
3. Printed name of seller and address. 
 
4. Signature of seller and date. 
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE 
JUNK CERTIFICATE (VP-161)  
BACK PAGE (Revised 3-2006) 
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APPRAISAL REPORT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE 
JUNK CERTIFICATE (VP-161)  
BACK PAGE (Revised 1-2004) 

 

 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 

 
Revised June 2009 17 Section V 
 

LIEN SALES 
 

Any person who is entitled to impose a lien on a motor vehicle as provided for in 
Nevada Revised Statutes 487 or 108 may, without process of law, detain the vehicle in 
his possession until the sum due to him is paid.  If the sum due is not paid the lien may 
be satisfied by a sale.  Prior to the sale, Nevada law requires the lien claimant to meet a 
number of requirements. 
 
The following information is intended to help you process a lien sale in a minimum 
amount of time, while meeting all statutory requirements.  Samples of letters and forms 
are provided for your convenience.   
 
 
 

DETERMINING FIRST OR SECOND LIEN  
NRS 108.290 

 
A first lien is acquired pursuant to NRS 108.315, as in the case of a lien on a motor 
vehicle for charges for towing, storing, and any related administrative fees incurred as a 
result of towing, storage, and administrative cost for a vehicle ordered impounded by 
law enforcement as a result of a traffic accident, traffic violation or arrest, or as a result 
of some other non-abandoned vehicle tow: 

 
• For the first 30 days of the lien: 
 

o If the amount of the lien does not exceed $1,000, it is considered a first 
lien. 

o If the amount of the lien is $1,000 or more, it is considered a second lien. 
 
• After the first 30 days of the lien: 
 

o If the amount of the lien does not exceed $2,500, it is considered a first 
lien. 

o If the amount is $2,500 or more, it is considered a second lien. 
 

• In all other cases, if the amount of the lien: 
 

o Does not exceed $1,000, it is a first lien. 
o Exceeds $1,000, it is a second lien. 
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NOTICE OF LIEN SALE 
NRS 108.310 

 
A lien claimant is required under NRS 108.310 to give written notice to the Department 
of Motor Vehicles of their lien.  The notice must be given to the Department at the time 
the written notice is made to the registered and legal owner of the vehicle. 
 
The Notice must include: 
 
1. A vehicle description which includes the: 
 

a. Vehicle Identification Number 
b. Make 
c. Year 

 
2. License plate number, if attached 
 

a. State of issue 
b. Expiration date 

 
3. Impound date 
 
4. Party requesting tow 
 
5. Date, time and location of auction 
 
A sample Notice of Lien Sale is included.  You may copy the sample for your use or use 
a similar format.  If you do not use the sample, please include all information as listed. 
 
The notice is to be mailed to: 
 

Department of Motor Vehicles  
Central Services and Records Division 
Title Section 
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, NV 89711 
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VEHICLES VALUED UNDER $500 
 
If the vehicle is appraised at a value of $500 or less, the lien claimant is required to 
notify the registered and legal owner by registered or certified mail.  The notice must 
include a statement the vehicle will be junked or dismantled or otherwise disposed of 
unless the registered or legal owner respond and pay the cost of removal. 
 
Failure to reclaim the vehicle within 15 days after the notice was mailed constitutes a 
waiver of interest in the vehicle. 
 
If the registered and legal owners have waived interest in the vehicle either by failure to 
respond to the notice or by written disclaimer, upon receipt of proper documentation the 
Department will issue a salvage title (value over $201 but less than $500) or junk 
certificate (value under $200) to the automobile wrecker who towed the vehicle or a 
Certificate of Title to the garage owner if he elects to retain the vehicle and the vehicle is 
equipped as required by chapter 487 of NRS. 
 
An example of a Notice of Lien is included.  You may photocopy the form or create a 
form in similar format. 
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NOTICE OF LIEN VEHICLE VALUED UNDER $500 

Please print or type 
Vehicle Identification Number 

 
 
Year _______________ Make ________________ Model ________________ 
 

License Plate Number  
 
Expiration date ____________________  State __________________ 
 
The above-described vehicle was acquired on ____________________________ through 
a __________ agreement.  As required by Nevada Revised Statute 108.272 this is to 
inform you that demand is being made for payment of $___________ for services 
rendered by ______________.  This sum is due on ______________; payment may be 
made at ___________. 
 
Below is an itemized statement of the lien costs incurred: 
1. Tow charge or agreed service contract amount $___________________. 
2. Storage fees $___________________, and accruing daily at the approved Public 

Service Commission rate. 
3. Total lien fees $___________________. 
 
Please be advised that if payment is not received on or before _____________________ 
the vehicle may be sold by auction at __________________________________________

 a.m.  p.m., on __________________________ at ___________________________ 
or retained by lien claimant. 
 
Lien Claimant ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Name __________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ________________________________________________________________ 

Address  City State Zip Code 
 
Telephone Number (___________)  ___________ - _______________ 
 
Authorized Signature _____________________________________  Date ____________ 
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VEHICLES VALUED OVER $500 NOTICE 
NRS 487.260 AND 487.270 

 
A lien claimant must notify the registered and legal owner the vehicle has been 
removed.  The notice of lien must be delivered in person or by a registered or certified 
letter, addressed to the last known address of each person who holds a security interest 
in the vehicle.  The notice must contain the following: 
 
• An itemized statement, showing the sum due at the time of notice and the date 

when it became due. 
 
• A brief description of the vehicle against which the lien exists which includes: 
 

o Vehicle year 
o Make 
o Vehicle Identification Number 

 
• Demand the amount of the claim as stated in the notice and of any further claim 

as may accrue must be paid on or before a day mentioned. 
 
• A statement that unless the claim is paid within the time specified the vehicle will 

be advertised for sale and sold by auction.  The address, date and time of 
auction must be specified.  

 
An example of an acceptable Demand for Payment is provided.   You may photocopy 
the example for your use or create a similar form. 
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DEMAND FOR PAYMENT 

 
Vehicle Identification Number 

 
 
Year _______________ Make ________________ Model ________________ 
 

License Plate Number  
 
Expiration date ____________________  State __________________ 
 
The above-described vehicle was acquired on ____________________________ through 
a __________ agreement.  As required by Nevada Revised Statute 108.272 this is to 
inform you that demand is being made for payment of $___________ for services 
rendered by ______________.  This sum is due on ______________; payment may be 
made at ___________. 
 
Below is an itemized statement of the lien costs incurred: 
1. Tow charge or agreed service contract amount $___________________. 
2. Storage fees $___________________, and accruing daily at the approved Public 

Service Commission rate. 
3. Total lien fees $___________________. 
 
Please be advised that if payment is not received on or before _____________________ 
the vehicle may be sold by auction at __________________________________________

 a.m.  p.m., on __________________________ at ___________________________ 
or retained by lien claimant. 
 
Lien Claimant ____________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Name __________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ________________________________________________________________ 

Address  City State Zip Code 
 
Telephone Number (___________)  ___________ - _______________ 
 
Authorized Signature _____________________________________  Date ____________ 
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CERTIFIED MAILING 
 
Acceptable proofs of certified mailing are: 
 
• The returned un-opened letter, 
 
• The green returned receipt, signed by the accepting party, 
 
• The white copy of the certified mailing, stamped by the post office, or 
 
• Log book listing certified mailings stamped by the post office. 
 
 
If the notice is delivered in person a written statement is required which includes: 
 
• Date of delivery,  
 
• Place of delivery (complete address), 
 
• Name of individual who accepts the notice, 
 
• Name of individual who delivered the notice, 
 
• Signature of person accepting the notice, and 
 
• Signature of individual who delivered the notice. 
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ADVERTISEMENT OF SALE BY PUBLIC AUCTION 
NRS 108.310 

 
After the time for payment of the claim specified in the notice has elapsed and the 
registered and legal owners have not satisfied the claim, a “Public Auction Sale” 
advertisement must be published once a week for 3 consecutive weeks.  The 
advertisement must be published in a newspaper circulated in the place where the sale 
is to be held.  If no newspaper is published in that place, then the advertisement must 
be placed in a newspaper published in this state that is circulated in the place the sale is 
to be held. 
 
The sale must not be held less than 22 days after the first date of publication. 
 
The advertisement must: 
 
• Describe the vehicle. 

 
• State the names of the registered and legal owners. 

 
• State the date, time and place of the sale. 
 
 
 

Example of publication 
 

 

NOTICE OF SALE 
 
Notice is hereby given to the last 
Registered and Legal Owner of: 
1997 Chevy Monte Carol 
VIN 1H67K3ZA6999999 
R/O J. Q. Smith 
L/O Bank in Nevada 
 
The vehicle described above will be sold at 
a public auction to the highest bidder to 
satisfy the lien incurred by name of 
automobile wrecker or towing company.  
The sale will be held at time including am 
or pm on month/day/year at exact location 
of the sale. 
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AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 
 
The newspaper that publishes the advertisement of sale must provide the lien claimant 
with verification the advertisement was published and the date of publication. 
 
 
 

EXAMPLE OF AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 
 
 AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 
Attach article here STATE OF NEVADA 

COUNTY OF CLARK       ss 
 
____________________________, being first duly sworn, 
deposes and says: 
 
That she/he is a legal clerk for the LAS VEGAS GAZETTE 
and THE LAS VEGAS COURIER, daily newspapers 
regularly issued, published and circulated in the city of Las 
Vegas, County of Clark, State of Nevada, and the 
advertisement, is a true copy of which is attached, was 
continuously published in the LAS VEGAS GAZETTE or 
THE LAS VEGAS COURIER, on the following days: 
___________________________ 
___________________________ 
___________________________ 
 
Signed:  _____________________________________ 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of 
_______________, ___________ 
 
_____________________________________________ 
Notary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative 
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SALE BY PUBLIC AUCTION 
NRS 108.310 

 
Once all statutory requirements have been met, the Public Auction sale may take place.  
The sale must be held at the time and date that all notices have indicated.  The location 
must be where the lien was acquired or if that place is unsuitable, at the nearest 
suitable place. 
 
The lien claimant may satisfy his lien from the proceeds of the sale, including 
reasonable charges of notice, advertisement and sale. The balance, if any of the 
proceeds must be delivered, on demand to the registered and/or legal owner. 
 

 
 

SUBMITTING LIEN SALE DOCUMENTS 
NAC 108.110  

 
The Lien Sale Affidavit and the other lien documents must be submitted to the 
Department within thirty-days from the date of the sale of the vehicle.  The title fees 
must also be submitted with the Lien Sale Affidavit and other lien sale documents, the 
standard title fee is $20, plus an $8.25 processing fee. The salvage title fee is $10. 
When a licensed Nevada wrecker purchases the vehicle, give the lien packet to the 
wrecker.  The wrecker will submit the lien sale packet to obtain a title at a later time. 
 
Submit Lien Sale Affidavit and other lien documents to: 
 

Department of Motor Vehicles 
Central Services and Records Division 
Titles Section 
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, Nevada 89711 

 
 
 

COLLECTING SALES TAX 
NAC 108.110 

 
Lien claimants must collect sales tax for the lien sale of a vehicle.  For more information 
regarding sales tax, contact the Department of Taxation at 775/684-2000. 



Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide  
 

 
Revised June 2009 28 Section V 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Front of the form revised 9/2006 

 
1. Select the appropriate type of ownership document that is being requested by 

marking the box.   
 
NOTE:  Title fee is $28.25, Salvage Title fee is $10, and licensed Nevada wreckers 

Salvage Title fee is $0. 
 
2. Print or type the full legal name of the business representative who is completing 

the affidavit. 
 
3. Print or type the name of the business. 
 
4. Print or type the DMV Business License number if your business is licensed or 

registered with DMV.  If you do not hold a DMV business license, enter your 
Federal Employer Identification number (FEIN). 

 
5. Print or type the business address. 
 
6. Print or type the date the business physically acquired the vehicle. 
 
7. Print or type the name of the person who authorized the services that initiated the 

lien process, this also includes law enforcement.  
 
8. Print or type the vehicle identification number. 
 
9. Print or type the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and 

number of cylinders. 
 
10. Print or type the registered owners name and address.   
 
11. Print or type the legal owners name and address.  If there is no lien write “none”. 
 
12. Select what the charges are assessed for by marking the box in front of the type 

of lien. 
 
13. Print or type the total of all charges that have incurred. 
 
14. Print or type the date the vehicle was sold. 
 
15. Print or type the amount the vehicle was sold for. 
 
16. Print or type the amount of sales tax collected. 
 
17. Print or type the title fee. 
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18. Print or type the total purchase price. 
 
19. Print or type the purchaser’s full legal name. 
 
20. Select and/or if the registration and title is in more than one name, the 

appropriate box must be marked to indicate “and” or ”or.” 
 
21. Nevada Driver’s License, Identification Card Number, or FEIN for businesses:  

Enter the number from the appropriate document.  Enter the DMV Business 
License number if the purchaser has a business licensed or registered with DMV.  
If the customer is not a business and does not have a Nevada Driver’s License or 
Identification Card, write “None” on this line. 

 
22. Print or type the purchaser’s address. 
 
23. Print or type the new lienholder’s name and address.  If there is no lienholder, 

write “None” on the Lienholder Name line. 
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LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Front of the form revised 9/2006 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Back of the form revised 9/2006 

 
 
1. Print or type the odometer reading, do not include tenths of a mile.   
 
2. Mark the appropriate box, which describes the odometer reading. 
 
3. Select any condition that may be applicable to the vehicle.   
 

Note: If the vehicle has been Rebuilt a Certificate of Inspection / Affidavit of 
Vehicle Construction form (VP-64) must accompany the Lien Sale 
Affidavit. 

 
If the vehicle is Non-Repairable, the vehicle may only be sold to a licensed 
Nevada Automobile Wrecker. 
 

4. If none of the conditions listed apply to the vehicle, select the affirmation. 
 

5. Select the box indicating whether the vehicle was registered or was not 
registered.  If the vehicle was registered (currently or expired), enter the license 
plate number, expiration date, and state the vehicle was registered.  If the license 
plate number or expiration date is unavailable, write “None” on the corresponding 
line. 

 
6. Print or type the date the certified letter was mailed. 
 
7. Print or type the first day the notice was published in the newspaper. 
 
8. Print or type the name and address of the newspaper. 
 
9. Print or type the date of the public auction. 
 
10. Print or type the full legal name, sign, and date the affidavit. 
 
11. To be completed either by a notary public or an authorized Nevada DMV 

representative.   
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LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Back of the form revised 9/2006 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Front of the form revised 6/2006 

 
1. Select the type of lien by marking the box in front of the lien type. 
 
2. Select the type of ownership document that is being requested by marking the box in 

front of the ownership document.   
   
3. Enter the DMV Business License number if your business is licensed or registered 

with DMV.  If you do not hold a DMV business license, enter your Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN). 

 
4. Enter the full legal name of the business representative who is completing the 

affidavit. 
 
5. Enter the name of the business. 
 
6. Enter the business address. 
 
7. Enter the date the business physically acquired the vehicle. 
 
8. Enter the name of the person who authorized the services that initiated the lien 

process, this also includes law enforcement.  
 
9. Enter the vehicle identification number. 
 
10. Enter the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and number of 

cylinders. 
 
11. Enter the registered owners name and address.   
 
12. Enter the legal owners name and address.  If there is no lien write “none”. 
 
13. Select what the charges are assessed for by marking the box in front of the type of 

lien. 
 
14. Enter the total of all charges that have incurred. 
 
15. Enter the date the vehicle was sold. 
 
16. Enter the amount the vehicle was sold for. 
 
17. Enter the amount of sales tax collected. 
 
18. Enter the total purchase price. 
 
19. Enter the purchaser’s name and address. 
 
20. Enter the new legal owner’s name and address. 
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LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
FRONT 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
Back of the form revised 6/2006 

 
 
1. Enter the odometer reading; do not include tenths of a mile.   
 
2. Select the state of the odometer if any of the items apply. 
 
3. Enter the full legal name, signature and address of the purchaser of the vehicle. 
 
4. Enter the name, signature and address of the lien claimant. 
 
5. Select “Yes” or “No” for each vehicle type.   
 

Note: If the vehicle is salvage, flood damaged, or total loss and has been Rebuilt 
a Certificate of Inspection / Affidavit of Vehicle Construction form (VP-64) 
must be the most current revision issued by the DMV and accompany the 
Lien Sale Affidavit.    

 
 If the vehicle is Non-Repairable, the vehicle may only be sold to a licensed 

Nevada Automobile Wrecker. 
 

6. Select the box indicating whether the vehicle was registered or was not 
registered.  If the vehicle was registered (currently or expired), enter the license 
plate number, expiration date, and state the vehicle was registered.  If the license 
plate number or expiration date is unavailable, write “None” on the corresponding 
line. 

 
7. Enter the date of when the certified letter was mailed. 
 
8. Enter the date of first day the notice was published in the newspaper. 
 
9. Enter the name and address of the newspaper. 
 
10. Enter the date of the public auction. 
 
11. Enter the name, signature and date of the lien claimant to certify the affidavit. 
 
12. To be completed either by a notary public or an authorized Nevada DMV 

representative.   
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LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT (VP-147) 
BACK 
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LIEN SALE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (VP-201) 
 
The Lien Sale Registration Certification (VP-201) must be completed and given to the 
purchaser of the vehicle to allow them to register the vehicle.  The vehicle may not be 
driven without a permit or vehicle registration.  This form is not required when the 
purchaser is a licensed Nevada Wrecker. 
 
In Clark and Washoe Counties inform the purchaser the vehicle may not be registered 
until the vehicle obtains a passing emission test. 
 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING LIEN SALE  
REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (VP-201) 

 
1. Enter the full legal name of the business representative who completed the 

affidavit. 
 
2. Enter the name of the business. 
 
3. Enter the business address. 
 
4. Enter the signature and date the business representative signed this certificate. 
 
5. Enter the date of the public auction. 
 
6. Enter the vehicle description including year, make, model, body type and number 

of cylinders. 
 
7. Enter the vehicle identification number. 
 
8. Enter the odometer reading; do not include tenths of miles. 
 
9. Enter the purchaser’s name and address. 
 
10. Enter the purchase price of the vehicle. 
 
11. Enter the Nevada Sales Tax that was collected. 
 
12. Enter the total purchase price of the vehicle. 
 
13. Enter the date of sale. 
 
14. Enter the signature and date of the lien claimant to certify this certificate. 
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LIEN SALE REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION (VP-201) 
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REQUESTS FOR EXTENSION OF TIME FOR SUBMITTING  
LIEN SALE AFFIDAVIT AND OTHER LIEN DOCUMENTS 

 
If a lien claimant is unable to submit the Lien Sale Affidavit and title documents to the 
Department within the statutory time frame, the lien claimant may request an extension 
of time.  
 
Extension requests must be submitted within the statutory time frame required for 
submission of the Lien Sale Affidavit: 
 

• Thirty Days from the date of sale. 
 
A request for an extension must be submitted to an Occupational and Business 
Licensing office on a Lien Sale Extension Request (Form OBL-316).  The request must 
explain why the lien claimant is unable to submit the required documents within the 
regulatory time frame.  The lien claimant must sign the form.  A photocopy of the Lien 
Sale Affidavit must accompany the request. Refer to NAC 108.120. 
 
An extension should be requested only when absolutely necessary and will be granted 
on an exception only basis.  Lien claimants are required, by regulation, to send title 
documentation to the Department within the required time frame and may be subject to 
an audit, administrative fine or administrative action against their business for failure to 
comply. 
 
The Lien Sale Extension Request OBL-316 indicating approval or denial will be mailed 
to the lien claimant.  If the request is denied, the reason will be marked on the extension 
form. 
 
The sample form in this book may be photocopied for your use. 
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AUTHORITY TO RECOVER CLAIM NOT PAID BY SALE 
 
The remedy for enforcing the lien provided in NRS 108 does not preclude any other 
remedies allowed by law for the enforcement of a lien against personal property nor bar 
the right to recover so much of the lien holder’s claim as is not paid by the proceeds of 
the sale of the property. 
 
 
 

VALIDITY MAY BE CONTESTED 
NRS 108.350 

 
Nothing contained in NRS 108.270 to 108.360 precludes the owner or any other person 
having an interest or equity in the property, from contesting the validity of the lien.  Upon 
receipt of the filing of a court document showing an interested party has contested a lien 
the Department will place a “flag” on the vehicle record to prevent transfer until the court 
determines the legal owner. 
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RECORDS SECTION 
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ACCESSING MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION/TITLE 
INFORMATION 

 
 
The Department of Motor Vehicles is authorized to maintain an information reporting 
service for driver’s license and vehicle registration and title records. 
 
The Department’s Central Services and Records Division, Records Section in Carson 
City is the only office authorized to release records. 
 
To request records, an Application for Individual Record Information (Form IR-002) and 
Affidavit (Form IR-003) must be completed and submitted to the Department.  The 
request must also document the requestor’s legal right to the information.  The 
application, affidavit and any supporting documentation and fees will be forwarded and 
processed by the Records Section in Carson City. 
 
If a firm or company wishes to have an account with the Department, an Application for 
Records Service (Form IR-001) and an Affidavit (Form IR-003) must be completed, 
signed, notarized and submitted to the Department.  A copy of the current business 
license and/or private investigator’s license must be submitted with the application and 
affidavit. The Department may request additional supporting documents. 
 
• When the account is established, the applicant will be formally notified by letter. 
• The notification will include the account number. 
• Monthly-itemized statements will be sent to each account holder indicating 

services rendered by the Department for the previous month. 
• Payments in full are due within 21 days from the date of the statement. 
• Inquiries will not be processed without the account number and verification the 

requestor is an authorized user on the account. 
 
Nevada law prohibits the release of license plate numbers or social security numbers. 
 
For further information or forms visit our web site at www.dmvnv.com or contact us at:  
 

Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles 
Central Services & Records Division 
Records Section 
555 Wright Way 
Carson City, NV 89711-0250 
(775) 684-4590 
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V1—VEHICLE REGISTRATION INFORMATION 
 
This information is limited to the current registration records, including the year, make, 
expiration date, vehicle identification number and registered owner’s name and address.  
To request this information, the following must be supplied: 
 
• A completed application, affidavit and any supporting documents that the 

Department may require must accompany a request unless you have established 
an account with the Records Unit. 

 
 
V2—VEHICLE TITLE INFORMATION 
 
This information is limited to the current Nevada title records, including the name of the 
registered owner on the title, the name and address of the lienholder and the date the 
title was created.  To request this information, the following must be supplied: 
 
• A completed application, affidavit and any supporting documents that the 

Department may require must accompany a request unless you have established 
an account with the Records Unit. 

 
 
V3—VEHICLE HISTORY 
 
Upon request, research can be done to determine the first and subsequent registrations 
of the vehicle in Nevada, the documents used to register the vehicle or the documents 
used to title the vehicle, etc.   
 
Customers maintaining accounts with the Department may request records by 
telephone at (775) 684-4590, or toll-free within Nevada at 1-800-992-7945. By fax at 
(775) 684-4899 or by mail at: 
 
 Department of Motor Vehicles 
 Central Services Records Division 
 555 Wright Way 
 Carson City, Nevada  89711-0250 
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GLOSSARY 
 
 

Abandoned Vehicle (NRS 487.210) as used in NRS 487.220 to 487.300, inclusive, 
unless the context otherwise requires, “abandoned vehicle” means a vehicle:  1. That 
the owner has discarded; or 2. Which has not been reclaimed by the registered owner 
or a person having a security interest in the vehicle within 15 days after notification 
pursuant to NRS 487.250. 
 
Appraised Value means the estimated monetary value of a vehicle based on the 
condition of the vehicle utilizing publications that are common in the industry.  A State of 
Nevada Vehicle Appraiser or an authorized representative appraises vehicles. 
 
Appraiser (NRS 374.112) means an authorized employee of the Department of Motor 
Vehicles, a county assessor or his employee as an agent of the Department of Motor 
Vehicles, a person licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles as a dealer or an 
independent appraiser authorized by the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 
Assigned VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) means a unique vehicle identification 
number (VIN) assigned by a DMV inspector or authorized representative when a vehicle 
is homemade or when the original VIN has been destroyed or obliterated. 
 
Authorized inspection station (NRS 445B.710) means a station licensed by the 
Department of Motor Vehicles for inspecting motor vehicles and devices for the control 
of pollution for compliance with this chapter or any applicable federal regulation or 
regulation of the Commission. 
 
Authorized Representative means a person authorized by a principal of a Department 
Business Licensee to conduct business with the Department on behalf of the licensee.  
Some authorized representatives may be limited to only have authority to conduct 
certain types of transactions. 
 
Authorized Station (NRS 445B.720) means a station licensed by the department of 
motor vehicles for inspecting motor vehicles and devices for the control of pollution 
 
Bill of Sale means a document that releases interest in a vehicle.  A Certificate of Title 
or other ownership documents must accompany a Bill of Sale.  The Bill of Sale must 
also include a complete vehicle description. 
 
Certificate of Inspection (Form VP-15) means a form provided by the Department and 
when completed shows evidence that a vehicle inspection was completed by a DMV 
inspector or an authorized representative (including law enforcement) to verify the 
vehicle identification number. 
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Certificate of Inspection/Affidavit of Construction for Rebuilt, Reconstructed, or Specially 
Constructed Vehicle (Form VP-64) is a form provided by the Department for the 
purpose of certifying, before a vehicle is issued a title; that:   
(1) A vehicle has had a proper safety inspection by a Nevada Registered Garage or 
Licensed Nevada Body Shop.   
(2) A Nevada Registered Garage or Licensed Nevada Body Shop has attested to the 
mechanical fitness of a vehicle.  
(3)  An applicant declares where the parts came from on a rebuilt vehicle. 
 
Certificate of Inspection and Affidavit of Construction for a Homemade or Assembled 
Trailer (Form VP-223) means a form provided by the Department for the purpose of 
certifying a trailer is equipped with all required safety items and is fit to be on public 
roads before a title is issued; that:  
(1)  A trailer has had a proper safety inspection by a Nevada DMV Representative.   
(2) An applicant declares where the parts came from to construct the trailer.  
 
Certificate of Title (Form RD-2) means a document provided by the Department that 
contains the information required by subsection 2 of NRS 482.245.  This document is 
commonly referred to as a certificate of title or ownership. 
 
Component Part means each part contained in or upon a vehicle, including but not 
limited to the engine or motor; the transmission or transaxle; the chassis, frame or load 
bearing major structural equivalent thereof; any door, hood deck lid, hatch or tailgate; 
any bumper; any fender or quarter panel; a cowl or firewall; a cargo compartment or 
passenger compartment floor or floor panel; and any motorcycle frame, front fork or 
crank case. 
 
Crush means the compression, destruction or deformation of a vehicle. 
 
Currently Registered means, for the purpose of issuing a junk certificate, a vehicle 
which has record of an un-expired registration in any jurisdiction.  For the purpose of 
research it means a record of registration or ownership, expired or un-expired, in any 
researched jurisdiction. 
 
Department means the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 
Destroy means the destruction or demolition of the vehicle beyond the point of repair or 
renewal. 
 
Discard has the same meaning as ‘abandoned vehicle’ as found in NRS 487.210. 
 
Dismantle means the removal of component parts from a vehicle for the purpose of 
monetary gain. 
 
Flood Damaged (NRS 487.740) means a motor vehicle which:   
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(1) Has been submerged in water to a point that the level of the water is higher than 
the door sill of the vehicle and the water has entered the passenger, trunk or engine 
compartment of the vehicle and has come into contact with the electrical system of the 
vehicle; or  
(2)  Has been acquired by an insurance company or retained by its owner or any 
other person as part of the total loss settlement resulting from water damage. 
 
Inoperable Vehicle means vehicle which has been wrecked, destroyed or otherwise 
damaged to such an extent that the owner, leasing company, financial institution or the 
insurance company that insured the vehicle considers it uneconomical to repair the 
vehicle; and because of that wreckage, destruction or other damage, which is not 
repaired by or for the person who owned the vehicle at the time of the event resulting in 
the damage. 
 
Junk Certificate (NRS 482.260) means a certificate issued by the Department that 
provides prima facie evidence of ownership and authorizes the disposal of a junk 
vehicle. 
 
Junk Vehicle means a vehicle, including component parts which has been discarded or 
abandoned; has been ruined, wrecked, dismantled or rendered inoperative; is unfit for 
further use in accordance with the original purpose for which it was constructed; is not 
currently registered with the Department or has not been reclaimed by the registered 
owner or a person having a security interest in the vehicle within 15 days after 
notification pursuant to NRS 487.250; has value principally as scrap which does not 
exceed $200.00. 
 
Legal Owner means legal owner or lien holder who is a person (partnership, LLC or 
corporation) who holds a security interest in a vehicle and whose name appears on the 
certificate of title as legal owner. 
 
Lien claimant (NAC 108.030) means any person who is entitled to a lien pursuant to 
NRS 108.270 and who meets any of the following definitions: 
1. An automobile wrecker as defined in NAC 487.010; 
2. A body shop as defined in NRS 487.600; 
3. A dealer as defined in NRS 482.020; 
4. A garage as defined in NRS 487.540; 
5. A salvage pool as defined in NRS 487.400; or 
6.  An operator of a tow car as defined in NAC 706.4024. 
 
Lienholder (NRS 482.055) means a person who holds a security interest in a vehicle 
and whose name appears on the certificate of title as legal owner. 
 
Lien Sale means the sale of a vehicle by auction pursuant to NRS 108.310 to satisfy a 
lien resulting from the storage, maintenance, keeping or repair of motor vehicles, 
including the operator of a salvage pool, as provided in NRS 108.270. 
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Manufacturer (NRS 482.060) means every person engaged in the business of 
manufacturing motor vehicles, trailers or semitrailers. 
 
Mileage (49 C.F.R. 580.3) means actual distance that a vehicle has traveled. 
 
Mini motor home (NRS 482.066) means a vehicular-type unit designed for temporary 
living quarters for travel, camping or recreational use which is a structure attached 
permanently on a self-propelled chassis or a portable unit designed to be affixed 
permanently to a truck chassis with cab, which is designed as a mini motor home by the 
manufacturer. 
 
Motor home (NRS 482.071) means a structure attached permanently to a self-propelled 
motor vehicle chassis, designed as a temporary dwelling for travel, recreational or 
camping use and when assembled for the road, having a maximum body width of 102 
inches. 
 
Motor truck (NRS 482.073) means a motor vehicle designed, used or maintained 
primarily for the transportation of property. 
 
Motor Vehicle (NRS 482.075) means every vehicle as defined in NRS 482.135, which is 
self -propelled. 
 
Non-Rebuildable means a motor vehicle that cannot be rebuilt. 
 
Non-Repairable Vehicle (NRS 487.760) means a motor vehicle other than an 
abandoned vehicle, as defined in NRS 487.210, that:   
(1) Has value only as a source of parts or scrap metal;   
(2)  Has been designated by its owner for dismantling as a source of parts or scrap 
metal;   
(3) Has been stripped of all body panels, doors, hatches, substantially all interior 
components and substantially all grill and light assemblies; or   
(4) Has been burned, destroyed or otherwise damaged to such an extent that it 
cannot be returned to a condition which is legal for operation on the highways of this 
state.  
 
Non-Repairable Vehicle Certificate (RD-2NR) means a certificate printed on secure 
paper using the same standard format as used on a title. 
 
Non-U.S. Vehicle means a motor vehicle that was manufactured outside of the United 
States and that was not provided with a U.S. warranty commonly referred to as a “grey-
market vehicle.” 
 
Odometer (NRS 484.606) means an instrument for measuring and recording the total 
distance, which a motor vehicle travels while in operation. The term does not include 
any auxiliary odometer designed to be reset by the operator of the motor vehicle. 
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Odometer Brands means odometer brands are required for vehicles nine years old or 
newer.  Vehicles greater than nine years old are classified “Exempt” from requirements 
of Title 49.  Odometer brands may be one of the following:   
(1) The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.   
(2) The odometer reading is not the actual mileage.  WARNING - ODOMETER 
DISCREPANCY    
(3) Exempt - Model year over 9 years old.  
 
Odometer Disclosure Statement means a document or portion of a document that 
shows the vehicle's odometer reading and contains the seller's certification and the 
buyer's acknowledgment of the seller's certification that the odometer reading is correct. 
 
Odometer Exempt means  
(1) A vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight of more than 16,000 pounds.   
(2) Vehicles not subject to registration, without an odometer or not self-propelled, 
such as a trailer or a vehicle that is not Street Legal.   
(3) Vehicles manufactured at least ten years before January 1 of the current 
calendar year, (example: vehicle transfers occurring during calendar year 2000, model 
year 1990 or older vehicles are exempt).   
(4) A vehicle sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United States in 
conformity with contractual specifications. 
 
Out-of-State Salvage Title or Certificate means a salvage title certificate issued by a 
state other than Nevada that was issued to indicate the vehicle was damaged, 
destroyed, wrecked or salvaged. 
 
Owner (NRS 482.085) means a person who holds the legal title of a vehicle and whose 
name appears on the certificate of title, and any lienholder whose name appears on the 
certificate of title. If a vehicle is the subject of an agreement for the conditional sale or 
lease thereof with or without the right of purchase upon performance of the conditions 
stated in the agreement and with an immediate right of possession vested in the 
conditional vendee or lessee, or if a mortgagor of a vehicle is entitled to possession, 
then the conditional vendee or lessee or mortgagor shall be deemed the owner for the 
purpose of this chapter.   
 
Property (NRS 132.285) means anything that may be the subject of ownership, and 
includes both real and personal property and any interest therein.  
 
Rebuilt Vehicle (NRS 482.098) means a vehicle: 
• That is a salvage vehicle as that term is defined in NRS 487.770, excluding a 

non-repairable vehicle; or 
• One or more major components of which have been replaced as set forth in this 

subsection. For the purposes of this subsection, the requisite major components 
of a vehicle which must be replaced for a vehicle to be considered rebuilt are the: 
o Cowl assembly; 
o Rear clip assembly; 
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o Roof assembly; 
o Floor pan assembly; 
o Conventional frame coupled with one additional major component; or 
o Complete front inner structure for a unibody. 

 The term does not include a vehicle for which the only change is the installation 
of a truck cab assembly. 

• For the purposes of this section, “replaced,” means the substitution or change in 
whole of a new, used or after-market part of a vehicle. 

 
Rebuilt Trailer means a trailer where one or more major components have been 
replaced. On a trailer, a major component is the frame, axle or wiring harness. 
 
Reconstructed Trailer means any trailer that has been assembled or constructed largely 
by means of essential parts, new or used, derived from other trailers or vehicles or 
makes of trailers or vehicles of various names, models, or types which, if originally 
otherwise constructed, shall have been materially altered by the removal of essential 
parts or by the addition or substitution of essential parts, new or used, derived from 
other trailers or vehicles or makes of trailers or vehicles. 
 
Reconstructed Vehicle (NRS 482.100) means any vehicle which shall have been 
assembled or constructed largely by means of essential parts, new or used, derived 
from other vehicles or makes of vehicles of various names, models or types, or which, if 
originally otherwise constructed, shall have been materially altered by the removal of 
essential parts or by the addition or substitution of essential parts, new or used, derived 
from other vehicles or makes of vehicles. 
 
Registered Owner (NRS 482.102) means a natural person, firm, corporation or 
association whose name appears in the files of the Department as the person to whom 
the vehicle is registered. 
 
Salvage Pool (NRS 487.400) means a business which obtains motor vehicles from:  (1) 
insurers and self-insurers for sale on consignment or as an agent for the insurer or self-
insurer if the vehicles are acquired by the insurer or self-insurer as the result of a 
settlement for insurance; or   (2) Licensed vehicle dealers, rebuilders, lessors or 
wreckers for sale on consignment. 
 
Salvage Title (NAC 487.010) means a title of ownership issued by the Department to an 
automobile wrecker authorizing the disposal of the vehicle identified on the salvage title.  
 
Salvage Vehicle (NRS 487.770) means a motor vehicle that at any time has been 
declared a total loss vehicle, flood damaged vehicle, non-repairable vehicle or had 
“salvage” or a similar word or designation laced on any title issued for the vehicle. 
 
Scrap means a vehicle who’s appraised valued does not exceed $200.00. 
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Specially Constructed Trailer means any trailer that shall not have been originally 
constructed under a distinctive name, make, model, or type by a generally recognized 
manufacturer of trailers. 
 
Specially Constructed Vehicle (NRS 482.120) means any vehicle, which shall not have 
been originally constructed under a distinctive name, make, model or type by a 
generally recognized manufacturer of vehicles. 
 
Total Loss Vehicle (NRS 487.790) means a motor vehicle:  
(1) Of a type which is subject to registration; and  
(2) Which as been wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged to such an extent the 
cost of repair is 65 percent or more of the fair market value of the vehicle immediately 
before it was wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged. The term does not include a 
non-repairable vehicle or other motor vehicle which is 10 model years old or older and 
which requires only the replacement of the hood, trunk lid, grill assembly, or two or 
fewer quarter panels, doors, bumper assemblies, or any combination thereof, to restore 
the vehicle to its condition before it was wrecked, destroyed, or otherwise damaged.  
For the purpose of this section, the model year of manufacture is calculated based on a 
year beginning on January 1 of the calendar year in which the damage occurs.  
 
Towable tools or equipment (NRS 484.202) means  
1.  All tools or equipment: 
      (a) Mounted on wheels; 
      (b) Whose body does not exceed 70 inches in width; 
      (c) Designed for towing by a motor vehicle; and 
      (d) Which is not designed or used primarily for the transportation of persons or 
property, but is only incidentally operated or moved upon a highway. 
2. The term includes without limitation air compressors, concrete mixers, arc 
welders, tarpots, engine hoists, concrete pumps, plaster mixers, mortar mixers, grout 
pumps, portable conveyors, generators, log splitters, brush chippers, spray rigs, tree 
spades, scissor lifts, light towers, pumps, steam cleaners, sand blasters, welders, stump 
grinders, radial arm saws, sod cutters, aerators, pavement rollers, and scaffolding. 
 
Tow Car Operator (NAC 706.4024) means the owner, manager, employee or agent of a 
company operating a tow car that holds a Certificate of Public Convenience and 
necessity issued by the Transportation Services Authority. 
 
Trailer (NRS 482.125) means every vehicle without motive power designed to carry 
property or passengers wholly on its own structure and to be drawn by a motor vehicle. 
 
Travel Trailer (NRS 482.127) means a portable structure mounted on wheels, 
constructed on a vehicular-type chassis primarily designed as temporary living quarters 
for recreational, camping or travel use and designed to be drawn by another vehicle and 
designated by the manufacturer as a travel trailer.  A vehicle is not a travel trailer if, 
when equipped for highway use, it is more than 8 feet wide. 
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Vehicle (NRS 482.135) means every device in, upon or by which any person or property 
is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway. The term does not include: 
• Devices moved by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or 

tracks; 
• Mobile homes or commercial coaches as defined in chapter 489 of NRS; or 
• Electric personal assistive mobility devices. 
 
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) means the identification number or other 
distinguishing number or identification number or identification mark of a vehicle or part 
of a motor vehicle that was placed or stamped on that vehicle or part by the 
manufacturer pursuant to federal law or regulation, or as assigned by the Department of 
Motor Vehicles.   
 
Vehicle Inspection Certificate (Form VP-15) means a form that must be completed 
following a vehicle examination by a Department inspector; a Nevada authorized agent 
or a law enforcement officer to verify a vehicle identification number (VIN).  
 
Authorization for Vehicle Restoration (Form VP-209)(NRS 487.480) means a form 
provided by the Department that authorizes the restoration of a vehicle that is five years 
old or newer, pursuant to subsection 2 of NRS 482.553. 
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