
Driving on a Revoked License
You will be arrested.
Minimum 30 days of jail time or 60 days of 
house arrest.
$500 to $1,000 possible fi ne.
License revoked for one additional year.
Plea bargaining and suspended sentences 
are prohibited.

Repeat DUIs
Off enders who have been convicted of a 

felony DUI once will face felony charges on all 
subsequent arrests. Misdemeanor DUIs com-
mitted more than seven years after a prior of-
fense may be treated as a fi rst off ense.

A second misdemeanor DUI within a seven-
year period carries a longer jail sentence, a higher 
fi ne, a one-year driver’s license revocation and no 
restricted license.

A third DUI within a seven-year period is a 
felony with a minimum prison term of one year 
and a license revocation of three years.

Your Records
Records of a DUI arrest and/or conviction re-

main in criminal history fi les for the rest of your 
life.  Criminal convictions are public records.

Convictions and license revocations remain 
on your full DMV record for the rest of your 
life.  DUIs and other traffi  c off enses are reported 
to insurance companies and most employers for 
three years, to other state DMVs for ten years 
and to law enforcement and courts indefi nitely.

A revoked driver’s license that is not reinstat-
ed will remain revoked indefi nitely. You will not 
be able to obtain a license in any other state.
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Know The Law

Th e Offi  ce of Administrative Hearings has 
three offi  ce locations in Nevada.  Administrative 
Law Judges (ALJs) also travel to other areas as 
needed.

Carson City/Reno (775) 684-4572
555 Wright Way in Carson City

Las Vegas (702) 486-4940
2701 East Sahara Avenue

Elko (775) 753-1239
3920 East Idaho Street

Statewide Toll Free Number
1-800-992-0900, ask for 684-4572

Written requests should be directed to:

Department of Motor Vehicles
Offi  ce of Administrative Hearings
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0960
Fax: (775) 684-4569

Th is brochure funded by the Nevada Offi  ce of Traffi  c Safety
Revised April 2006

Contact Us

www.dmvnv.comwww.dmvnv.com
See what you can do online at www.dmvnv.com

Driver’s License
DUI Revocation 

hearings

Offi  ce of Administrative Hearings
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles



Administrative hearings are conducted in 
the same manner as civil or criminal trials. An 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) presides over 
the hearing and renders a decision.

Hearings are open to the public and recorded.
During the hearing:

Witnesses testify under oath.
Witnesses may be cross-examined.
Th e ALJ may consider physical evidence.
Th e ALJ must consider all appropriate 
statutes, regulations and case law.
Appropriate dress is expected.
Abusive or disruptive behavior or any sign 
of intoxication will cause the ALJ to termi-
nate the hearing.

Th e ALJ will issue a written decision, usually 
within 30 days.

Your temporary license will remain valid 
until the ALJ’s written decision is received and 
processed by the DMV.  Copies are also sent to 
you and your attorney.

Th e ALJ’s decision is fi nal and binding. It may 
be appealed to a District Court and then to the 
Nevada Supreme Court.
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Th e Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 
has revoked your driver’s license under admin-
istrative authority granted by the Nevada State 
Legislature.

You have the right to appeal your license revo-
cation by requesting a hearing before the Offi  ce 
of Administrative Hearings.

If you request a hearing, the Nevada DMV 
will run a national check of your driving re-
cord.  If you have no other active revocations 
or suspensions, you will be cleared to receive a 
temporary driver’s license or receive a stay action 
as appropriate.

Th e temporary license must be obtained from 
a DMV full service offi  ce.  It is similar to a nor-
mal license and contains your photograph.

Th e Offi  ce of Administrative Hearings will 
schedule your hearing after it has received your 
request and the documentation of your arrest.  
You will be notifi ed by mail. Th e offi  ce will issue 
subpoenas to the arresting offi  cer and other par-
ties as appropriate.

You may represent yourself or retain an attor-
ney at your own expense.  Th e arresting offi  cer 
will testify on the facts of your arrest and test 
results.

Th e scope of a DUI administrative hearing 
is limited to the issue of whether you, at the 
time of the test, had a concentration of alcohol 
of 0.08 or more in your blood, breath or urine, 
or whether you had a detectable amount of a 
controlled and/or prohibited substance as deter-
mined by a chemical test. 

Your Rights At The Hearing What’s Next

If the ALJ rules in your favor (rescinds the 
revocation), you will be cleared to obtain a per-
manent driver’s license from the DMV as long 
as you are otherwise eligible.

Your license status will continue to be listed 
as temporary until you physically receive a new 
license from the DMV.

If the ALJ rules against you (affi  rms the 
revocation), you will be mailed a separate notice 
which lists the beginning and ending dates of 
your revocation.  You must surrender your tem-
porary license at a Nevada DMV offi  ce prior 
to the beginning date. In most cases, the DMV 
will issue an identifi cation card if requested.

If this is your fi rst DUI off ense, you may ap-
ply for a restricted driver’s license after one-half 
of your revocation period has passed. 

Reinstatement of your driving privilege is not 
automatic. Your license will remain revoked un-
til you physically receive a new driver’s license.

To regain your license, you must:
Wait until the end of all revocation peri-
ods.
File SR-22 insurance coverage or other 
proof of fi nancial responsibility.
Apply for a license, pass the written and 
vision tests and, if required, a driving test.
Pay the appropriate administrative and 
civil fees. 

If you move out of state, you may obtain a 
clearance letter and receive a license in your new 
state.  You will have to pay Nevada reinstate-
ment fees and civil assessments.  

Contact the DMV at (775) 684-4368.
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