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AUTOMOBILE MEDICAL PAYMENTS INSURANCE 
 

Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 687B.145 (3) requires insurers of passenger cars, as 
defined by NRS 482.087, to offer a minimum of $1,000 coverage for the payment of reasonable 
and necessary medical expenses arising from an automobile accident.  

 
 Several insurers operating in Nevada have offered medical payments coverage that is 

excess of other medical insurance coverage.  Such excess coverage does not meet the 
requirements of NRS 687B.145 (3).  These insurers must offer a minimum of $1,000 primary 
medical payments coverage and make applicable filings with the Division. 

 
Commencing with passenger car filings received on and after January 31, 2004, the 

Commissioner will disapprove rules, rates, offer forms, and coverage forms that offer excess 
medical payments coverage to comply with NRS 687B.145 (3).  Excess coverage may be 
offered, but only in addition to the $1,000 primary coverage or when primary coverage is 
rejected by the policyholder.   

 
The medical payments coverage offer must be on a form approved by the Commissioner.  

It is strongly suggested that any rejection of medical payments coverage be signed by the named 
insured.  Each renewal must include a copy of the form offering medical payments coverage. 
 

 
 
 
 
     _______________________________________ 
     ALICE A. MOLASKY-ARMAN 
     Commissioner of Insurance 
 
 
 


