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Nevada Regional Reference Map
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How To Use These Regulations

1. First, review the General Statewide Regulations including seasons, hours, limits, etc.
on pages 4-9.

2. Then, consult the reference map above to find the area in which you are interested in
fishing -- Western, Eastern, or Southern Regions.

3. Turn to the appropriate Region Section and review both the Region General Regula-

tions and the Special Regulations for that area.
If fishing in a Wildlife Management Area, review pages 24-25.
Text in green bolded italics marks where changes in regulations have occurred.
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General Statewide Regulations

LICENSE AND FEES REQUIREMENTS

(The license year is March 1 through the last day of the following February)
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: All persons fishing are subject to the license requirements listed below. Except for some
“interstate waters,” (Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Colorado River and Lakes Mead and Mohave - see below), anglers
12 years of age and older are required to obtain and possess a license to fish. Nonresident anglers under 12 years of
age are not required to have a license, but the number of fish taken by such nonresident anglers must not exceed 50
percent of the limit as provided by law. (For instance, if the limit is five, these young anglers may take only two fish.)
TROUT STAMP: While fishing in Nevada, any person who takes or possesses trout must carry on his person a state
Trout Stamp affixed to his fishing license and validated by his signature in ink across the face of the stamp. The
Trout Stamp fee is $10.

EXCEPTIONS: While fishing in Nevada, youth under the age of 12, or any persons fishing under the authority of a
valid short-term permit to fish or during a consecutive day validly added to that permit, are not required to obtain a
Trout Stamp. A Trout Stamp is not required to fish on free fishing day.

SECOND ROD STAMP: Only one combination of hook, line and rod may be used by a person at any one time unless
the person purchases, in addition to his fishing license or short-term fishing permit, a “Second Rod Stamp” which
allows the person to use a second combination of hook, line and rod. The Second Rod Stamp must be signed and
affixed to the license or permit and is valid for the period specified. A person, regardless of age, must first obtain a
valid fishing license or short-term fishing permit before he can use a Second Rod Stamp. The Second Rod Stamp fee
is $10.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR INTERSTATE WATERS

LAKE TAHOE and TOPAZ RESERVOIR - persons under 16 years of age are not required to have a fishing license.
Persons 16 years of age or older must have either a Nevada fishing license and a Trout Stamp; a Nevada short-term
fishing permit, or a California fishing license.

LAKE MEAD, LAKE MOHAVE, and the COLORADO RIVER- Persons under the age of 14 are not required to have a
fishing license or permit to fish in these waters.

When fishing from the Nevada shore of Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, or the Colorado River, persons 14 years of
age or older must possess one of the following:

D A Nevada fishing license; or

(2) A Nevada short-term fishing permit; or

3 An Arizona fishing license with a Nevada Special Use Stamp; or

4 A Nevada, nonresident Colorado River Special fishing license; or

©) An Arizona “Class E” (Colorado River) fishing license with a Nevada Special Use Stamp.

When fishing these waters from a boat, other floating device, or from the Arizona shoreline, persons 14 years
of age or older must possess one of the following:

(D A Nevada fishing license with an Arizona Special Use Stamp; or

(2) A Nevada short-term fishing permit with an Arizona Special Use Stamp; or

3 An Arizona fishing license with a Nevada Special Use Stamp; or

4 A Nevada, nonresident Colorado River Special fishing license with an Arizona Special Use Stamp; or
(5 An Arizona “Class E” (Colorado River) fishing license with a Nevada Special Use Stamp.

The fee for the Arizona Special Use Stamp is $3 and it is valid from March 1 through the last day of the following
February.

The fee for the Nevada nonresident Colorado River Special fishing license is $21 and it is valid from March 1
through the last day of the following February. The only Nevada waters that can be fished with this license are Lake
Mead, Lake Mohave and the Colorado River below Davis Dam to the Nevada state line.

In addition to a Nevada fishing license or a Nevada nonresident Colorado River Special fishing license, a Nevada
Trout Stamp is required to take or possess trout while fishing these waters from the Nevada shore or from a
boat or other floating device.



General Statewide Regulations

RESIDENT LICENSES AND PERMITS

Qualifications for Resident Licenses. For the purpose of issuing and using resident licenses or permits, a person is
considered to be a resident of the State of Nevada if he is a citizen of, or is lawfully entitled to remain in the United States, and
during the six months preceding his application to the Division for a license or permit, he was domiciled in this state; was
physically present in this state except for temporary absences; and did not purchase or apply for any resident license, tag or
permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province. A resident license or permit issued by this state is void if the
person to whom it was issued establishes his domicile in, and obtains any privilege or entitlement conditional on
residency from another state, country or province.

A person who is not domiciled in Nevada but who is attending an institution of higher learning in this state as a
full-time student is eligible for a resident license or permit if, during the six months preceding his application to the Division for
a license or permit, he was physically present in Nevada except for temporary trips outside the state, and did not purchase or
apply for any resident license, tag or permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province.

[ Annual Fishing License- for persons 16 years of age or older $21.00

u Junior Fishing License- for persons 12 through 15 years of age $ 5.00

| Senior Fishing License- for persons 65 years of age or older with $ 5.00
5 years of continuous Nevada residency

| Combination Hunting and Fishing License- for persons 16 years of age or older $39.00
(Parental signature required at time of purchase for persons 16-17 years of age)

u Junior Combination Hunting and Fishing License- for persons $ 8.00
12 through 15 years of age (Parental signature required at time of purchase)

u Senior Combination Hunting and Fishing License- for persons 65 years of age $ 8.00
or older with 5 years of continuous Nevada residency

u Short-Term Fishing Permit: valid until midnight of day specified $ 7.00
Each consecutive day added to a Short-term Permit to Fish $ 2.00

(must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased)

u Serviceman Fishing License- For Nevada resident servicemen on $ 6.00
active duty who are stationed outside of Nevada

u Disabled Veteran Combination Hunting and Fishing License Free
for veterans who reside in Nevada and have incurred a service-connected
disability which is considered 50% or more by the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs, and who have received a specific discharge from service.
License is available only from the Division of Wildlife

u Disabled Person Fishing License- for persons with a severe $ 5.00
physical handicap. License is available only from the Division of Wildlife

[ | Disabled Person Combination Hunting and Fishing License $ 8.00
for persons with a severe physical handicap. License is available
only from the Division of Wildlife

[ | Indian Fishing and Hunting License- for resident Indians Free
with a certificate of eligibility. License is available
only from the Division of Wildlife

NONRESIDENT LICENSES AND PERMITS

u Annual Fishing License- For persons 16 years of age or older $51.00
u Junior Fishing License- For persons 12 through 15 years of age $ 9.00
u Colorado River Fishing License- For persons 14 years of age or older $21.00
u Short-Term Fishing Permit - Valid until midnight of day specified $12.00
u Each consecutive day added to a Short-Term Permit to fish $ 4.00

(must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased)
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General Statewide Regulations

LIMITS

“Limit” means the maximum number of game fish
(which includes bull frogs) that may be lawfully taken
and reduced to possession by a person in one day.
The “Limit” includes fish caught in Nevada which have
been processed or preserved and are stored at any loca-
tion. Fish that are caught and immediately released back
to the water alive are not considered to be reduced to
possession or part of the limit. A person shall not reduce
fish to possession if he already has a number of fish in
possession (including that held in freezer, creel, cooler,
etc.) which equals or exceeds the limit of the water
being fished.

Limits for individual counties are specified under each
Region’s General Regulations. Limits for waters
which have special limits or restrictions are listed
under each Region’s Special Regulations.

POSSESSION LIMIT VS. DAILY LIMIT?

In this state, there is no distinction between a “daily”
limit and a “possession” limit. There is simply a
“limit.” There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily” limits to
establish a “possession” limit. An angler may not have
more than one limit in possession. For example, if an
angler fishes one body of water where the limit is four
trout and takes his limit, he may not then move to a body
of water where the limit is two trout and keep any more
fish. If he wants to keep fish from the water with the
lower limit of two, he should fish there first, then move
to the other water and catch the two additional fish to
reach the limit of four. Likewise, if an angler fishes the
same body of water two days in a row, he may not take
the limit the first day then go back and keep fish again
the second day unless he has first consumed or given away
some portion of his first day’s catch.

SIZE LIMIT

Unless otherwise -
noted under Region
General Regulations
or Region Special
Regulations, there is no size limit. Where size limits do
apply, this shall mean the total length of the fish includ-
ing the head and tail, measured as illustrated in the dia-
gram.

TUee LamuiIe

FILLETING FISH

Where size limits apply, fish may not be filleted before
transport. Where no size limits apply, fish may be

filleted before transport if the fillets are kept in one piece
so that the total number of fish may be determined.

SEASONS AND HOURS

Unless otherwise noted under Region Special Regula-
tions, the season is open year around and fishing hours
are any time of the day or night. Where specified, “open
season” includes the first and last day designated.

METHODS OF FISHING

Except as noted under “Unprotected Fish” and “Spear-
fishing” below, fish may be taken only with hook and line
attached to rod or reel and closely attended in the man-
ner known as angling. Unless a person has a valid sec-
ond rod stamp, only one combination of hooks, line, and
rod may be used at any one time. No more than three
baited hooks, nor more than three fly hooks, or two lures
or plugs irrespective of the number of hooks or attractor
blades attached thereto, may be attached to the line. Some
waters have further restrictions.

SPEARFISHING

Persons may spearfish for unprotected fish in all Nevada
waters except Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake. Persons may
spearfish for striped bass in Lake Mead and Lake Mohave
from Cottonwood Cove to the cable below Hoover Dam.
Spearfishing for striped bass is prohibited in that portion
of Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis Dam
and from Davis Dam down river to the Nevada state line.
In lakes Mead and Mohave and the Colorado River sys-
tem, spearfishing is prohibited within 1/2 mile of any
dock or swimming area. When spearfishing, a person
must display, within 100 feet, an appropriate diver’s flag.
A mechanical spearing device may be used only under
the surface of the water, and the spear must be attached

to the device by a lanyard.

"~ ARTIFICIAL LURES

“ARTTFICIAL LURES” means any device with a hook or

hooks attached which is made partly or entirely of rub-

ber, wood, metal, glass, plastic or feathers.

Only artificial lures may be used in the following

waters:

1. Crittenden Reservoir in Elko County.

2. The Collection Ditch at Ruby Lake NWR in Elko County.

3. Hinkson Slough on the Mason Valley Wildlife Man-
agement Area in Lyon County.

4. Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka County.



General Statewide Regulations

ARTIFICIAL LURES WITH SINGLE BARBLESS
HOOKS

A “single barbless hook” means a fish hook having one
point, manufactured without barbs or on which the barbs
have been bent completely closed or filed off. Double or
treble hooks having a common shank are not a single
barbless hook even when the barbs are closed or filed off.
When single barbless hooks are required, only one single
barbless hook may be attached to each hook eye or ring
of the lure.

Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks may
be used in these waters:

[ ] Spooner Lake in Douglas County.

[ ] Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County.

[ | Hobart Reservoir, its tributaries and Franktown
Creek downstream to Red House.

[ ] Truckee River and diversion ditches and tribu-

taries above the I-80 bridge, which is upstream
from Crystal Peak Park to the California State

line.
] Catnip Reservoir in Washoe County.
[ ] South Fork of the Humboldt River from the

access causeway for the Lucky Nugget subdivi-
sion upstream to Lee.

| East Walker River from 1/4 mile above the
confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to 1/2 mile be-
low the confluence of the East Walker River and

Red Wash Creek.
[ ] Beaver Dam Creek in Lincoln County.
[ ] Schroeder Reservoir in Lincoln County.

USING FISH FOR BAIT

Please see pages 8-9. Game fish and protected species
of fish may not be used as bait.

CHUMMING

“Chumming” means placing fish, parts of fish, or other
material upon which fish feed, in the water for the
purpose of attracting fish to a particular area so that
they may be taken. Chumming is prohibited in Lake
Tahoe, Topaz Lake, Crittenden Reservoir, Spooner Lake,
and the entire Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

ICE FISHING

For the purposes of ice fishing, holes cut through the ice
must not exceed 10 inches in diameter.

UNPROTECTED FISH

Unprotected fish are all species not classified as game or
protected (game fish are listed below.) Unprotected fish
may be taken by bow and arrow, hook and line, dipnet,
cast net, minnow seine or minnow trap, and, except where
prohibited, by spear.

COLDWATER GAME FISH (see page 20)

Coldwater game fish are: Bonneville cutthroat trout,
Lahontan cutthroat trout, Snake River (Yellowstone)
cutthroat trout, Kokanee salmon, Atlantic salmon, brook
trout, brown trout, bull trout, lake trout, rainbow trout,
redband trout, mountain whitefish, and any hybrid thereof.

WARMWATER GAME FISH (see page 21)

Warmwater game fish are: northern pike, black bull-
head, brown bullhead, channel catfish, white catfish,
striped bass, white bass, largemouth black bass, small-
mouth black bass, spotted bass, black crappie, white
crappie, yellow perch, Sacramento perch, bluegill sun-
fish, green sunfish, redear sunfish, walleye, and any
hybrid thereof.

PROTECTED FISH & AMPHIBIANS

Protected fish and amphibians are those species listed in
NAC 503.065, 503.075 and 503.067. There is no open
season on fish or amphibians classified as protected. For
alist of protected fish and amphibians, check our website

at http://www.ndow.org/wild/animals/protected.shtm.

BULLFROGS

Any person 12 years of age or older must possess a
Nevada fishing license when taking bullfrogs. Bullfrogs
may be taken by hook and line, gig, spear, bow and
arrow, or by hand. The limit for bullfrogs is 15 in all
counties except Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln and Nye
where the take is unlimited. Season is open year around
anytime of the day or night in waters that are open to
fishing or frogging.

CRAYFISH

A fishing license is not required to take crayfish by
hand or trap. There is no limit on crayfish but they
may not be taken for commercial purposes.



General Regulations: Bait

THE CAPTURE, TRANSPORT AND USE OF BAIT

Any person possessing a fishing license or permit, or otherwise exempted from such licenses, may capture, transport
and use bait for fishing or personal consumption except that the use of game fish or protected species of fish for bait
is prohibited. Aquatic bait (such as live unprotected amphibians, crayfish, clams and snails) may be used only in the
water from which it is taken. Aquatic bait and live bait fish (live unprotected species of freshwater fish) may be
transported from one river basin to another or from one area of this state to another only as provided in the
appropriate regional regulation as noted below. Any bait obtained from a licensed dealer in live bait fish must be
accompanied by a currently dated receipt issued by that dealer.
NOTE: Artificial lure-only waters are listed on page 6-7.

Western Region

In the Carson River Basin from Quilici Dam (12 miles
below Dayton) above Lahontan Reservoir downstream
to and including Lahontan Reservoir, the Carson River
below Lahontan Dam and all of the waters within
Lahontan Valley, Churchill County: only Lahontan
redside (shiner), speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, moun-
tain sucker, mosquitofish, carp, tui chub, Sacramento
blackfish, fathead minnows and Paiute sculpin may be
used as live bait fish. Fish used as live bait may be
taken only from the Carson or Truckee River Basins in
Carson City or Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Storey or
Washoe Counties or purchased only from a dealer who is
licensed in this state and authorized to sell live bait fish
for use in the Carson River Basin.

In the area of the Carson River Basin from the boundary
between California and Nevada to Quilici Dam: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), speckled dace, Tahoe sucker,
mountain sucker and mosquitofish may be used as live
bait fish. Fish used as live bait may be taken only from
the Carson River above Quilici Dam or purchased from a
dealer who is licensed in this state and authorized to sell
live bait fish for use in the Carson River Basin.

In the Humboldt River Basin from Stahl Diversion Dam
(near Golconda, Humboldt County) to and including
Rye Patch Reservoir, the Pitt-Taylor and Chimney Res-
ervoirs, the Humboldt River below Rye Patch Dam and
all waters of the Humboldt River in Lovelock Valley,
Pershing and Churchill counties: only Lahontan redside
(shiner), tui chub, speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, moun-
tain sucker, Sacramento blackfish, fathead minnows and
carp may be used as live bait fish. Fish used as live bait
in this area may only be taken from the Humboldt River
and its tributaries or purchased from a dealer who is
licensed in this state and authorized to sell live bait fish
for use in the Humboldt River Basin.

In the waters of Lake Tahoe and its tributaries located
in Carson City, Douglas and Washoe Counties: only

Lahontan redside (shiner), tui chub, Tahoe sucker,
mountain sucker, Paiute sculpin and speckled dace may
be used as live bait fish. Fish used here as live bait may
be taken only from, and must be native to, Lake Tahoe
and its tributaries.

In the main Walker River from the bridge of the S.P
Railroad near Wabuska, downstream to and including
Weber Reservoir and the lower Walker River down to
and including Walker Lake: only Lahontan redside
(shiner), tui chub, speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, moun-
tain sucker, carp and mosquitofish may be used as live
bait. Fish used as live bait here may only be taken from
the Walker River Basin in Lyon or Mineral County or
purchased from a dealer who is licensed in this state and
authorized to sell live bait fish for use in the Walker
River Basin. The use of fish as bait, whether alive or
dead, or parts thereof, is prohibited in the ponds and
sloughs of the Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area
and the Fort Churchill Cooling Ponds.

In the lower Truckee River Basin which includes the
Truckee River and its tributaries from below the I-80
bridge located upstream from Crystal Peak Park in Verdi,
downstream including Paradise Ponds, Virginia Lake,
and Washoe Lake and Fernley Wildlife Management
Area, to, but excluding Pyramid Lake: only Lahontan
redside (shiner), speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, moun-
tain sucker, Paiute sculpin, mosquitofish, tui chub,
fathead minnows and carp may be used as live bait
fish. Fish used as live bait may only be taken from the
Truckee River or its tributaries or be purchased from a
dealer licensed in this state and authorized to sell live
bait fish for use in the Truckee River Basin.

In the Truckee River upstream from the I-80 bridge,
which is above Crystal Peak Park in Verdi to the Califor-
nia state line, only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used. Only one single barbless hook may

Continued on page 9



THE CAPTURE, TRANSPORT AND USE OF BAIT

Continued from page 8
be attached to each hook eye or ring of the lure. In all other waters of this region, the capture, possession while fishing
or the use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive, or parts thereof, other than preserved salmon eggs is prohibited.

Eastern Region

Within this region, which includes Elko, Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties, while fishing in this region, the
possession or use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive or any parts thereof except for preserved salmon eggs, is
prohibited. Other aquatic bait (live, unprotected salamanders, waterdogs, frogs, crayfish, clams and snails may
be used only in the water from witch it is taken. See pages 8-9 for more regulations on the use of bait fish.

Southern Region

In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the Colorado River located in Clark County, only golden shiner, fathead minnow,
mosquitofish, red shiner, threadfin shad, carp and goldfish may be used as live bait fish. Other forms of aquatic and
animal life, such as the waterdog, grasshopper, earthworm and crayfish may also be used as bait. A licensed person
may purchase live baitfish from a licensed bait dealer in Arizona, California or Nevada, or he may for his own use,
take such baitfish with a dipnet, a cast net with a radius not exceeding three feet from horn to leadline, a seine not
exceeding 10 feet in length and four feet in width, or a minnow trap not exceeding 12 inches in width, 12 inches in
depth and 24 inches in length. In all other waters of this region the capture, possession while fishing or use
of fish as bait, whether dead or alive, or parts thereof, other than preserved salmon eggs is prohibited.

Reglas de la Pesca

Una licencia o un permiso de corto plazo es requerido
para cualquier persona que tiene 12 afios o mas
cuando estdn pescando en la mayoria de las aguas de
Nevada. Los excepciones son:

* Lake Tahoe y el Depdsito Topaz donde la edad
minima es 16 afos; y

e El sistema del Rio Colorado (Lake Mead, Lake
Mojave, y el Rio Colorado) donde la edad minima
es 14 afios.

Por el sistema del Rio Colorado, un “sello de uso
especial” de Nevada o Arizona puede que sea requerido
en ciertas circunstancias.

Para calificar para una licencia de caza o pesca de
“residente” de Nevada, hay que:

* Ser un ciudadano de los Estadoes Unidos o
tener derecho legal para permanecer en los Estados
Unidos;

* Ha vivido continuamente en Nevada, excepto
ausencias temporales, para un periodo de 6 meses
antes de de comprar una licencia de “residente” o
permiso; y

* No ha aplicado para o comprado una licencia
de “residente” para pesca, caza, o desvio en un
otro estado durante el periodo de 6 meses en lo
que se ha vivido en Nevada.

Mientras pescando para la trucha en la mayoria de las
aguas de de Nevada, una persona debio haber
comprador un sello de “trucha”, firmado, y fijado a su
licencia de pesca. Un sello de trucha no es requerido
para una persona que tiene menos de 16 afios en Lake
Tahoe o Topaz Lake, una persona que tiene menos de
14 afios en el sistema del Rio Colorado, una persona
que tiene menos de 12 afios en otras aguas de Nevada,
0 una persona que pesca bajo la autoridad de un
permiso a corto plazo.

Con pocos excepciones, una persona solo puede coger
peces de “caza” con un anzuelo y sedal fijado a un
carrete que estd bien atendido por esa persona. Se
puede usar un arpon para pescar para perca rayada en
Lake Mead y partes particulares de Lake Mojave y el
Rio Colorado.

Es prohibido coger o intentar pesca de “caza” con un
red, trampas, o sedales “puestos”.

Es illegal pescar con una segunda combinacién de
anzuelos, sedales, y carretes, a menos que tenga un
“sello de segundo sedal”. El sello tiene que ser firmado
y fijado a la licencia de pesca. Es prohibido para una
persona pescar con mas de dos combinaciones de
anzuelo, sedal, y carrete.

Para cada masa de agua en el estado, hay “limites” del
numero de peces que se puede coger y ser poseidos por
un pescador.

Es prohibido usar partes de peces de caza para cebo.

Una vez que una persona haya cogido y tiene un limite
de pescado, no se puede coger mas pescado para
completar su limite o el limite de un otra persona.

Barcos

Hay que tener un aparato personal de flotacion (PFD o
chaleco salvavidas) del tamafio aproriado, aprobado
por el Guardacostas de los Estados Unitos, para cada
persona en el barco.

En barcos que miede 16 pies y mds, tiene que haber un
aparato de flotacién tirable ademas de los aparatos
requeridos que todos llevan.

Un nifio que tiene menos de 12 afios tiene que llevar un
chaleco salvavidas de tamafo aproriado cuando el
barco estd en curso, a menos que el nifio estd en un
lugar completamente incluido en el barco.

Es illegal manejar un barco de motor o vela mientras
estar bajo la influencia de licor o droga embriagador.
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The Western Region includes the nine counties of northwestern Nevada: Carson City, Churchill, Dou-
glas, Humboldt, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey and Washoe. Several popular fishing waters are
located within this region including Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Walker Lake, Pyramid Lake, and
the Truckee, Carson and Walker River systems. Waters that are popular for warmwater species are
Lahontan, Chimney and Rye Patch Reservoirs, Humboldt River, Washoe Lake, Mason Valley Wildlife
Management Area and several canals and drains in the Lahontan Valley.

Map by Marsha Cardinal
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Western Region General Regulations

SEASONS AND LIMITS

Within the Western Region the following general WESTERN REGION LIMITS: ) .

fishing seasons, hours, limits, and regulations ap- Except as n<')te.d under “Special Regulations” on pages
ply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “WEST. ~ 12-13, the limits are as follows:

ERN REGION SPECIAL REGULATIONS” on pages 12-
13. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Region Special Regulations then the General
Regulations shall apply.)

Humboldt County:

The limit is 10 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 5 may be black bass and 5 may
be walleye.

WESTERN REGION GENERAL SEASONS/HOURS:

Open year around, any hour of the day or night. Carson City, Douglas County, Mineral County, Storey

County and Washoe County:

POSSESSION LIMIT VS. DAILY LIMIT? The limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
In this state, there is no distinction between a  warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may
“daily” limit and a “possession” limit. There is sim-  be black bass.

ply a “limit.” There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily”

limits to establish a “possession” limit. An angler =~ Churchill County and Lyon County:

may not have more than one limit in possession. For The limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
example, if an angler fishes one body of water where =~ warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may
the limit is four trout and takes his limit, he may not be black bass and 5 may be walleye.

then move to a body of water where the limit is two

trout and keep any more fish. If he wants to keep fish Pershing County:

from the water with the lower limit of two, he should ~ The limit is 10 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of
fish there first, then move to the other water and catch ~ which not more than 5 may be black bass, 5 may be
the two additional fish to reach the limit of four. Like- walleye, and 5 may be white bass or white bass hy-
wise, if an angler fishes the same body of water two brids which are over 14 inches in length. White bass
days in a row, he may not take the limit the first day =~ or white bass hybrids under 14 inches may be included
then go back and keep fish again the second day unless in the 15 warmwater game fish limit.

he has first consumed or given away some portion of =~ ARTIFICIAL LURE WATERS: See Page 7.

his first day’s catch. BAIT REGULATIONS: See pages 8-9.

CLOSED WATERS

In the Western Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

Carson City Mineral County
Marlette Lake, its tributaries and outlet stream. Rose Creek Confluence from the diversion pipe downstream
Douglas County to Walker Lake and Walker Lake within a 100-yard radius of
Lake Tahoe within the boat launch area, inside the jetty at the inflow.
the Cave Rock boat ramp, north end, Glenbrook Creek from Storey County
Lake Tahoe to Hwy 50, Topaz Lake within the jetties of Five Mile Reservoir, and Truckee River from Derby Dam down-
Topaz Marina. stream 1,000 feet.
Humboldt County Washoe County
All tributaries to Summit Lake. All waters of the Sheldon Marlette Lake, its tributaries and outlet stream (Marlette Creek).
Antelope Range except Big Springs Reservoir and Third Creek and its tributaries from Lake Tahoe to the Mt.
Dufurrena Ponds. Washburn, Riser, Crowley, Line Canyon Rose Highway No. 431. Incline Creek and its tributaries from
and Sage creeks in the Montana Mountains. Andorna and Lake Tahoe to Ski Way and the Mt. Rose Highway No. 431.
Eightmile creeks in the Santa Rosa Range. Coleman Creek Wood Creek from Lake Tahoe to the Mt. Rose Highway No.
and North Fork Battle Creek in the Blackrock Mountains. 431. Lake Tahoe within a 200-yard radius of the mouths of
Rodeo Creek in the Bilk Creek Mountains, Donnelly Creek Third, Incline and Wood creeks. A 500-yard radius from Sand
in the Calico Range. Harbor boat ramp. Five Mile Reservoir: Truckee River from
Derby Dam downstream 1,000 feet.

11



Western Region Special Regulations

PLEASE CHECK SPECIAL REGULATIONS BELOW

BIG SPRINGS RESERVOIR in Humboldt County: Sea-
son is open the second Saturday in May through the last
day of February, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout.

BILK CREEK RESERVOIR in Humboldt County: Sea-
son is open year around any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout.

BLUE LAKES in Humboldt County: Season is open the
second Saturday in June through November 15, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. Only boats without
motors are permitted and area is closed to vehicular traf-
fic.

CATNIP RESERVOIR, TRIBUTARIES AND OUTLET
STREAM in Washoe County: Season is open September
1 through November 15, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is O trout, catch and release fishing only. Only
artificial lures with single barbless hooks may be
used.

EAST WALKER RIVER in Lyon County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout, 10 mountain whitefish and 15 warmwater game
fish of which not more than 5 may be black bass except
in that portion of the East Walker River which is from %
mile above the confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to %2 mile below the
confluence of the East Walker River and Red Wash Creek
which is catch and release fishing only. Only artificial
lures with single barbless hooks may be used.

FORT CHURCHILL COOLING POND COOPERATIVE
MANAGEMENT AREA in Lyon County: Szeason is open
the second Saturday in February through September 30,
1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is 15
game fish of which not more than 2 may be black bass.
Minimum size for black bass is 14 inches. Fishing is

prohibited from the center dike and posted areas.
Wading or the use of boats and other floating devices is
prohibited.

HOBART RESERVOIR AND TRIBUTARIES AND
FRANKTOWN CREEK DOWNSTREAM FROM HOBART
RESERVOIR TO RED HOUSE in Washoe County: Sea-
son is open May 1 through September 30, 1 hour before
sunrise to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is 5 trout, only one
of which is longer than 14 inches. Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.

KNOTT CREEK RESERVOIR in Humboldt County: Sea-
son is open from the second Saturday in June through
November 15. Limit is 1 trout, minimum size 18 inches.
Hours are any time of the day or night. Only artificial
lures with single barbless hooks may be used. Boats
must be operated at a speed that leaves a flat wake.

LAHONTAN RESERVOIR, CARSON RIVER and all wa-
ters in Lahontan Valley, plus the Carson River downstream
of Dayton in Churchill and Lyon counties: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night except for the
Lahontan Dam spilling pool (bowl) which is closed to
fishing. Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may be
walleye, and 5 may be black bass. However in accor-
dance with the Nevada State Health Division advisory
(see below), the Division of Wildlife recommends no
consumption of fish from Lahontan Reservoir, the
Carson River below Dayton, and all waters in Lahon-
tan Valley due to elevated mercury levels found in game
fish and carp. NOTE: Stillwater NWR is closed to fish-
ing due to health advisory.

LAKE TAHOE and tributaries in Washoe, Douglas, and
Carson City Counties: Season is open year around, 1 hour
before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset, except for the fol-
lowing closed areas: Within 200 yard radius of the mouths

Continued on page 13

Health Advisory

The Nevada State Division of Health is advising consumers to refrain from eating fish caught from the Carson
River in the vicinity of Dayton downstream to, and including the Lahontan Reservoir, and all waters in the
Lahontan Valley. Stillwater NWR is closed to fishing due to health advisory.

Studies performed by the State Division of Environmental Protection and the State Division of Wildlife have shown
that a public health problem exists due to elevated levels of mercury in game fish and carp from these waters.
Consumption of mercury can cause neurological damage.

12



Western Region Special Regulations

Continued from page 12

of Third, Incline, and Wood Creeks; a 500 yard radius
from Sand Harbor Boat Ramp; and within the boat launch
area inside the jetty at Cave Rock Boat Ramp. Limits are
5 game fish of which not more than 2 may be mackinaw
(lake trout).

LIBERTY POND in Churchill County: Season is open year
around, hours park is open to public use. Limit is 5 game
fish.

MASON VALLEY WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA in
Lyon County: Season is open the second Saturday in Feb-
ruary through September 30, any hour of the day or night
on the following waters: Bass, Crappie, North Ponds,
Beaver Slough, and that portion of the Walker River
within the Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area. Limit
is 5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of which not
more than 2 may be black bass. Minimum size for black
bass is 14 inches. HINKSON SLOUGH: Same season as
above; 1 imit is 2 trout and 15 warmwater gamefish of
which not more than 2 may be black bass. Minimum size
for trout is 16 inches, minimum size for black bass is 14
inches. EASTSIDE WATERFOWL SERIES PONDS: Season
is open Aug. 16- Sept. 30, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of which
not more than 2 may be black bass, minimum size for
black bass is 14 inches. All other waters of the Mason
Valley Wildlife Management Area are closed.

ONION VALLEY RESERVOIR in Humboldt County: Sea-
son is second Saturday in June through November 15,
any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

ROSS GOLD POND in Carson City: Season is open year
around, hours when park is open to public use. Limit is 3
game fish.

RYE PATCH RESERVOIR AND HUMBOLDT RIVER in
Pershing County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 25 game fish of which not
more than 5 may be trout, 5 may be walleye, 5 may be
black bass and 5 may be white bass or white bass hybrids
over 14 inches. White bass or white bass hybrids under
14 inches may be included in the 25 game fish limit.

SPOONER LAKE in Douglas County: Season is open year
around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset.
Catch and release fishing only. Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.
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TOPAZ CANAL AND WEST WALKER RIVER in Douglas
County: Season is open year around any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may be
black bass.

TOPAZ LAKE in Douglas County: Season is open January
1 through September 30, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours
after sunset, except for the area within the jetties of To-
paz Marina which is closed to fishing. Limit is 5 trout,
10 mountain whitefish and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 5 may be black bass.

TRUCKEE RIVER, ITS DIVERSION DITCHES AND
TRIBUTARIES above the I-80 bridge, which is upstream
from Crystal Peak Park (in Verdi), to the California state
line in Washoe County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 2 trout and 10 moun-
tain whitefish. Minimum size for trout is 14 inches. Only
artificial lures with single barbless hooks may be
used.

TRUCKEE RIVER AND TRIBUTARIES from below the I-
80 bridge which is upstream from Crystal Peak Park in
Verdi in Washoe and Storey counties. Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except for the area
within 1,000 feet downstream of Derby Dam which is
closed to fishing. Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain white-
fish, and 15 warmwater gamefish of which not more than
5 may be black bass.

WEST WALKER RIVER in Douglas and Lyon counties:
Season is open year around any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may
be black bass.

WASHOE COUNTY URBAN PONDS: Sparks Marina Pond,
Davis Creek Pond, Paradise Pond, Virginia Lake, Idlewild
Ponds, Rancho San Rafael Pond, and Wilson Commons:
Season is open year around, hours when parks are open
to public use. Limit is 5 game fish, of which not more
than 2 may be black bass.

WASHOE LAKE in Washoe County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 10 game
fish of which not more than 5 may be catfish. (Scripps
Wildlife Management Area is closed to trespass February
1 through June 30.)
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The Eastern Region includes the four counties of northeastern Nevada- Elko, Eureka, Lander and White Pine.
Popular fishing waters include Wildhorse, Wilson, Willow Creek, Jakes Creek, Crittenden, Illipah, Silver Creek
and South Fork reservoirs, Groves Lake, Bassett Lake, Cave Lake, Ruby Lake, other high mountain lakes and

several streams located throughout the area.
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Eastern Region General Regulations

SEASONS AND LIMITS

Within the Eastern Region the following gen-
eral fishing seasons, hours, limits, and regula-
tions apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed
under “Eastern Region Special Regulations”
below and on pages 16-17. (If the water in which
you intend to fish is not listed under the Eastern Region
Special Regulations then the General Regulations shall

apply.)

EASTERN REGION GENERAL SEASONS/HOURS: Open
year around, any hour of the day or night.

POSSESSION LIMIT VS. DAILY LIMIT?

In this state, there is no distinction between a “daily”
limit and a “possession” limit. There is simply a
“limit.” There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily” limits to
establish a “possession” limit. An angler may not have
more than one limit in possession. For example, if an
angler fishes one body of water where the limit is four
trout and takes his limit, he may not then move to a body
of water where the limit is two trout and keep any more
fish. If he wants to keep fish from the water with the
lower limit of two, he should fish there first, then move
to the other water and catch the two additional fish to
reach the limit of four. Likewise, if an angler fishes the
same body of water two days in a row, he may not take
the limit the first day then go back and keep fish again
the second day unless he has first consumed or given away
some portion of his first day’s catch.

CLOSED WATERS

EASTERN REGION LIMITS: Except as noted under “Spe-
cial Regulations” below and on pages 16-17, the limits
are as follows:

Elko, Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties- LAKES
AND RESERVOIRS: the limit is 5 trout, and 15 warm-
water game fish of which not more than 10 may be black
bass, and 4 may be northern pike.

Elko and White Pine Counties - STREAMS AND RIV-
ERS: The limit is 10 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more than 10 may
be black bass, and 4 may be northern pike. No bull
trout are allowed in possession.

Eureka and Lander County- STREAMS AND RIVERS:
the limit is 10 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 10 may be black bass.

BAIT REGULATIONS: While fishing in this region, the
possession or use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive
or any parts thereof except for preserved salmon eggs,
is prohibited. Other aquatic bait may be used only in the
water from which it is taken. See pages 8-9 for more
regulations on the use of bait fish.

ARTIFICIAL LURE WATERS: See pages 6-7.

County.

In the Eastern Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

Elko County
In Ruby Valley, fishing is prohibited in hatchery rearing, brood and spring ponds of Gallagher Hatchery; in
Cave Creek west of the county road; and on Franklin Lake Wildlife Management Area.

White Pine County
Cold Creek Spring (Spring Pond) and Creek above Cold Creek Reservoir in the Diamond Range in White Pine

Eureka County
Tonkin Springs Creek (Denay Creek) from origin to its confluence with Tonkin Springs Reservoir.




Eastern Region Special Regulations

PLEASE CHECK SPECIAL REGULATIONS BELOW

ANGEL LAKE AND INLET AND OUTLET STREAMS in
Elko County: Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

CAVE LAKE AND CAVE CREEK, STEPTOE CREEK, TAIL-
INGS CREEK, CLEVE CREEK AND WHITE RIVER in
White Pine County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. On Cave Lake, boats
must be operated at a speed which leaves a flat wake and
in no case exceeds 5 nautical miles per hour.

CLEVE CREEK in White Pine County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout.

COMINS LAKE in White Pine County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, the
limit on black bass is 0 (catch and release only), no limit
on northern pike (unlimited possession.) See page 25 for
vessel restrictions.

CRITTENDEN RESERVOIR in Elko County: Season is
open year around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours after
sunset. Limit is 1 trout and 5 black bass. Minimum size for
trout is 17 inches. Only artificial lures may be used. No
overnight camping allowed. No waterskiing.

DRY CREEK RESERVOIR in Elko County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more than 10
may be black bass.

GROVES LAKE, KINGSTON CREEK, and BIG CREEK
in Lander County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. Only boats without
motors and boats with electric motors are permitted.

ILLIPAH RESERVOIR AND CREEK in White Pine County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout. Flat wake restrictions for boats.

JARBIDGE RIVER, WEST FORK and EAST FORK and
TRIBUTARY STREAMS in Elko County: Season isopen
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limitis 5 trout
and 10 mountain whitefish, except the possession of bull
trout is prohibited. All captured bull trout must be re-
leased immediately. (Please report the capture of bull
trout to NDOW Eastern Region Office).

MARYS RIVER AND TRIBUTARY STREAMS in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 5 trout.

RUBY LAKE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Elko and
White Pine counties: Refuge is open 1 hour before sun-
rise to 2 hours after sunset. Season is open year around in
all areas except as posted. From Jan. 1 - June 14 the
limit is 3 trout and 5 black bass. Minimum size for black
bass is 10 inches. For June 15 - Dec. 31 the limit is 3
trout and 10 black bass. Minimum size for black bass is
10 inches. Those areas of the Collection Ditch that are
open to fishing may be fished with artificial lures only.
Chumming is prohibited. It is unlawful to clean or fillet
fish within the boundaries of the Ruby Lake National
Wildlife Refuge. For boating regulations (see page 29 for
federal boating regulations) contact the Refuge Manager.
The Gallagher Hatchery rearing, brood and spring ponds,
and Cave Creek on the west side of the County Road are
closed to fishing.

RUBY MOUNTAIN HIGH LAKES (except for Angel Lake)
in Elko County: Season is open year around, any hour of
the day or night. Limit is 10 trout. (The limit for Angel
Lake and its inlet and outlet streams is 5 trout.)

SILVER CREEK RESERVOIR AND SIIVER CREEK in
White Pine County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout and 10 black
bass. Boats are permitted but must be operated at a
speed which leaves a flat wake and in no case exceeds
5 nautical miles per hour.

SMITH CREEK RESERVOIR, including inlet and outlet
streams in Lander County: Season is open year around,
any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

SNAKE MOUNTAIN HIGH LAKES in White Pine County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 10 trout.

SOUTH FORK RESERVOIR AND THE SOUTH FORK
OF THE HUMBOLDT RIVER from the Lucky Nugget
subdivision causeway downstream to its
confluence with the Humboldt River in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limits are: 5 trout and 15 warmwater game
fish of which not more than 1 may be black bass (mini-
mum size for black bass is 15 inches), except for March

Continued on page 17

16



Eastern Region Special Regulations

Continued from page 16

1 through June 30 when only catch and release fish-
ing is allowed for black bass.

SOUTH FORK OF THE HUMBOLDT RIVER FROM THE
LUCKY NUGGET SUBDIVISION ACCESS CAUSEWAY UP-
STREAM TO LEE in Elko County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 1 trout.
Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks may
be used.

STEPTOE CREEK in White Pine County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout.

TAILINGS CREEK, CLEVE CREEK AND in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 5 trout.

TONKIN SPRINGS RESERVOIR in Eureka County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout. Artificial lures only. Stream above res-
ervoir is closed to fishing.

WHITE RIVER in White Pine County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout.

WILDHORSE RESERVOIR AND ALL INLET AND OUT-
LET STREAMS including Penrod Creek up to the bridge
below the Gold Creek Ranger Station in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limits are 5 trout, unlimited yellow perch, 10 mountain
whitefish and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 1 may be black bass (minimum size for black bass
is 15 inches) except from March 1 through June 30
when only catch and release fishing is allowed for the
black bass.

WILLOW CREEK RESERVOIR in Elko County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is
5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 10 may be black bass. Minimum size for black bass
is 11 inches.

WILLOW CREEK POND AND RESERVOIR including in-
let and outlet streams in Lander County: Season is open
year around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours after sun-
set. Limit is 5 trout.

WILSON SINK RESERVOIR ITS OUTLET AND INLET
STREAM UP TO STATE ROUTE 11 in Elko County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish and 10 black
bass. Minimum size for black bass is 11 inches.

When fishing waters in the Jarbidge River
drainage area it is essential to be able to differentiate
between rainbow trout and the threatened bull trout.
The most common trout you will find is the rainbow
trout. Rainbow trout have a light colored background
with a pink to red colored stripe across the side of the
body. In addition, there is black spotting over the
body, tail fin and dorsal fin. Bull trout have light col-
ored spots scattered over a dark (olive-green color)
background. The fins have no black spotting.

The possession of bull trout is prohibited. All
captured bull trout must be immediately released un-
harmed! Please notify the Division of Wildlife Eastern
Region Office in Elko of any bull trout that you catch
and release. The Elko NDOW office phone number is
(775) 777-2300. Watch for NDOW signs in the Jarbidge
area.

Identify Your Catch in the Jarbidge

ATTENTION
TROUT ANGLERS
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Please consider notifying the Nevada Division of Wildlife, Eastern Region, at 60 Youth
Center Road in Elko, of any bull trout that you may catch and release. Call (775) 777-2300,
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Southern Region General Reference Map
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The Southern Region includes the four counties of southern Nevada: Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln and Nye. Major
fishing waters within this region include Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, the Colorado River, Eagle Valley Reservoir, Echo
Canyon Reservoir and the reservoirs on Kirch Wildlife Management Area. A number of small streams in northern Nye

County provide wild trout fishing and a few are stocked with hatchery-reared rainbow trout.
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Southern Region General Regulations

SEASONS AND LIMITS

Within the Southern Region the following gen-
eral fishing seasons, hours, limits and regula-
tions apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed
under “SOUTHERN REGION SPECIAL REGU-
LATIONS” on page 22.

(If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Southern Region Special Regulations then
the General Regulations shall apply.)

SOUTHERN REGION GENERAL SEASONS/HOURS:
Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

POSSESSION LIMIT VS. DAILY LIMIT?

In this state, there is no distinction between a
“daily” limit and a “possession” limit. There is
simply a “limit.” There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily”
limits to establish a “possession” limit. An angler
may not have more than one limit in possession. For
example, if an angler fishes one body of water where
the limit is four trout and takes his limit, he may not
then move to a body of water where the limit is two
trout and keep any more fish. If he wants to keep fish
from the water with the lower limit of two, he should
fish there first, then move to the other water and catch
the two additional fish to reach the limit of four. Like-
wise, if an angler fishes the same body of water two

days in a row, he may not take the limit the first day then
go back and keep fish again the second day unless he has
first consumed or given away some portion of his first
day’s catch.

LIMITS:
Except as noted under “Southern Region Special Regula-
tions” on page 22, the limits are as follows:

Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln, and Nye counties: the limit
is 10 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of which not
more than 10 may be black bass.

BAIT REGULATIONS:

In the waters of Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, and the Colo-
rado River located in Clark County, only golden shiner,
fathead minnow, mosquitofish, red shiner, threadfin shad,
carp and goldfish may be used as live bait. Other forms
of unprotected aquatic and animal life, such as the
waterdog, grasshopper, earthworm and crayfish may also
be used as bait. In all other waters of this region the
capture, possession while fishing or use of fish as bait,
whether dead or alive, or parts thereof, other than pre-
served salmon eggs is prohibited. See pages 8-9 for more
regulations on the use of bait fish.

ARTIFICIAL LURE WATERS: See page 7.

CLOSED WATERS

In the Southern Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

ASH SPRINGS outflow through the River Ranch to beginning of the concrete ditch, in Lincoln County.

LAKES MEAD & MOHAVE AND THE COLORADO RIVER areas as posted closed to access immediately above and
below Hoover and Davis Dams; and except as otherwise posted by the National Park Service, those waters within
the flat wake buoys at the following marinas and harbors: Overton Beach, Echo Bay Resort, Callville Bay Marina,
Las Vegas Wash, Lake Mead Marina, Cottonwood Cove, and Hemenway Harbor in Clark County.

CRYSTAL SPRINGS and outflow for one half mile to beginning of the concrete ditch, in Lincoln County.

KIRCH WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA, Hot Creek to its confluence with Adams-McGill Reservoir; Sunnyside
Creek above Sunnyside/Adavin County Road crossing in Sec. 36 T 7N, R61E in Nye County.

VETERANS MEMORIAL PARK, Boulder City, all waters except the Boulder City Urban Fishing Pond.
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Southern Region Special Regulations
PLEASE CHECK SPECIAL REGULATIONS BELOW

BEAVER DAM CREEK in Lincoln County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout. Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks
may be used.

BOULDER CITY URBAN FISHING POND in Clark
County: Season is open year around and hours are when
park is open to public use. Limit is 3 game fish.

CARPENTER CREEK in Clark County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 2 trout.

COLD CREEK POND AND COLD CREEK in Clark County:
Season is open year around any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 3 game fish.

COLORADO RIVER BELOW DAVIS DAM in Clark County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night
except in areas as posted. Limit is 10 trout, 6 black bass,
10 striped bass and 25 catfish. Minimum size for black
bass is 13 inches. No limit on other game fish. Bait restric-
tions-see page 9. Spearfishing restrictions-see page 23.

EAGLE VALLEY RESERVOIR AND THE STREAM ABOVE
AND BELOW THE RESERVOIR, in Lincoln County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout.

ECHO CANYON RESERVOIR in Lincoln County: Season
is open year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit
is 5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish of which not
more than 10 may be black bass.

KIRCH WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA in Nye County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night,
except for Dacey and Tule Reservoirs and the upper portion
of Adams-McGill, Cold Springs, and Haymeadow Reser-
voirs as posted, which are open to fishing August 16 through
February 14. Hot Creek to its confluence with Adams-McGill
Reservoir is closed year around to fishing and a 100-yard
radius around the inflow from Hot Creek to Dacey and
Adams-McGill Reservoirs is closed to fishing January 1
through April 1. Limit is 5 trout, 10 black bass, and 15
other warmwater game fish. Minimum size for black bass
is 10 inches. Boat restrictions-see page 25.

LAKE MEAD in Clark County: Season is open year around,
any hour of the day or night, except in areas as posted.
Limit is 5 trout, 6 black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and
20 striped bass. No limit restriction on other game fish.
Bait restrictions-see page 9. Tackle and striped bass
spearfishing restrictions-see page 23.

LAKE MOHAVE in Clark County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night, except in areas as
posted. Limit is 10 trout, 6 black bass, 25 catfish and 15
crappie. No limit on striped bass less than 20 inches total
length. Daily and possession limit on striped bass 20 inches
total length or longer is 20 fish. No limit restriction on
other game fish.

LORENZI PARK POND in Clark County: Season is open
year around and hours are when the park is open to pub-
lic use. Limit is 3 game fish.

MUDDY (MOAPA) RIVER SYSTEM in Clark County:

Season is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout, 6 black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and
20 striped bass. No limit restriction on other game fish.

NESBITT LAKE (KEY PITTMAN WILDLIFE MANAGE-
MENT AREA) in Lincoln County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except the portion
above the old fence line as posted closed to trespass Feb-
ruary 15 through August 15 and closed to fishing during
waterfowl season. Limit is 10 black bass and 10 bull-
heads. See boat restrictions on page 25.

PAHRANAGAT NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE in Lin-
coln County: Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night except North Marsh which is closed to fish-
ing during the waterfowl hunting season. Limit is 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5 may be
black bass.

SCHROEDER RESERVOIR AND BEAVER DAM CREEK
in Lincoln County above and below the reservoir: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout. Only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used. Only boats without motors are
permitted.

SUNSET PARK POND in Clark County: Season is open
year around and hours are when park is open to public
use. Limit is 3 game fish.

TULE LAKE AT FLOYD LAMB STATE PARK in Clark
County: Season is open year around and hours are when
park is open to public use. Limit is 3 game fish.

VIRGIN RIVER AND MUDDY (MOAPA) RIVER SYS-
TEMS in Clark County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 6 black bass, 25
catfish, 15 crappie and 20 striped bass. No limit on other
game fish.
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Tackle and Spearfishing Restrictions

In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave or the Colorado River, the use of more than two hooks for bait or flies is prohibited.
--Using a spear or bow and arrow to take unprotected fish is prohibited within one-half mile of any dock or swimming
area.

--Licensed fishermen may take striped bass by spear except within one-half mile of any dock or swimming area.
Spearfishing for striped bass is prohibited in Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis Dam and from Davis Dam
down-river to the Nevada State line.

--Each unattended live box or stringer containing fish must have a water resistant identification legibly bearing the
name, address and number of the fishing license of the person using and storing fish in the box or stringer. Where
several persons use the same box or fish stringer; each person shall attach his own identification to the box or stringer.
(Nevada Administrative Code 503.590)

Laughlin Area
Special Camping, Fishing Access Regulations Apply:

The following activities are prohibited within the Laughlin boating and fishermen’s access area, in Clark

County:

| Camping in any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle;

| Erecting a tent or structure for the purpose of sleeping or living in it;

| Parking any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle or otherwise blocking or restricting the
access of a person or vessel, to the boat ramp;

| Parking a bus hired to carry passengers or a semi-trailer anywhere within the access area;

| Parking a motor vehicle in the access area in a location other than a designated parking space; or

| Being under the influence of a controlled substance or an intoxicating liquor, or consuming an intoxi-

cating liquor.

Life Jackets

THEY FLOAT. YOU DONT.

/ A Public Safety Message from the National Safe Boating Campaign

Y 722 @ # MEt P&cm

Metropofitan Property and Cosualty Insurance Company

and Affiliat i
ates, Warvick,RI 97010068 (axp0 100}
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Wildlife Management Area Regulations

Wildlife Management Areas

The Division of Wildlife maintains several areas throughout the state which are known as Wildlife Management
Areas (WMA’s). These areas are managed specifically for their wildlife values. Fishing is provided on some of the

areas and anglers are subject to the following regulations.

Vehicular Travel (NAC 504.115)

Vehicular travel within a WMA may be controlled so as
not to impact area management and for safe and ben-
eficial use of the area by both the public and the wild-
life. Within a Wildlife Management Area, it is prohib-
ited to operate a motor vehicle off an interior road or
trail that is designated for vehicular travel; or on an
interior road or trail that is marked as closed to vehicu-
lar travel.

Removal (NAC 504.110)

Persons may be removed from a WMA for disorderly
conduct, intoxication or any other conduct which en-
dangers the area, other persons, or wildlife and live-
stock.

Littering

The Division may deny further use of a WMA to any o )
person who abuses or litters the area. Flyfishing at Comins Lake, Steptoe Valley WMA

Photo by Laura Richards

Additional WMA regulations are listed on page 25.

NEVADA ANGLER QUESTIONNAIRE

The Nevada Division of Wildlife uses an annual angler questionnaire to determine
anglers use and harvest trends for Nevada’s fishable waters. At the end of each year
questionnaires are sent out to 10 percent of the licensed anglers. The answers that are
returned provide the Division of Wildlife with an estimate of total angler use on each
water and the estimated total fish harvest from all waters of the state. This data is also
used to determine fish stocking needs to maintain adequate fish populations for the
future.

Please keep a record of your Nevada fishing experiences since you may receive a ques-
tionnaire at the end of the year asking where you fished, how many times you fished
and how many fish you caught. This record will assist in providing accurate data and a
well managed fishery program. Thank you for your assistance.
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Wildlife Management Area Regulations

WMA
(White Pine
Co.)

Comins Lake

and sunset. During
other hours flat wake
restriction in effect.

. Use of
Area HeciEs ey Trespass Use of Vessels Campfires Camping
Water and Bonfires
Vessels are prohibited
on all ponds. Vessels
Trespass prohib- are allowed on the ' )
ited from March | portion of the area Pe'rm'ltted Pe.rm.ltted
Overton WMA | Lake Mead’ 1 through Aug 1 inundated by Lake within the rest within the rest
(Clark Co.) | Honeybee on Honeybee Mead, except thaton | and trails and trails
Pond, Pond and Center | Overton Hunt Days, area. ared.
Center Pond Pond. vessels may be used
only by persons
authorized to hunt
waterfowl.
Trespass prohib-
D R .| ited from Feb. 15
Doy e oo 1 o | e |
Kirch Cold Springs > | in th'e upper Flat wake restriction in Pgrrrptted Pe'm1‘1tted
WMA and portion of Adams- | effect. Vessels. may not w1th1n the within the
(Nye Co.) Havmeadow McGill, Cold exceed 5 nautical miles | David Deacon | David Deacon
Resy:;VOirs and I.S:Iprings, c:;md per hour. Campground. | Campground.
> < aymeadow
Adams—McGﬂl R eg:rlv oirs, and
Reservoir. all of Dacey and
Tule Reservoirs.
Trespass prohib-
Key Pittman ited from Feb. 15 | Flat wake restriction in
WMA Nesbitt Lake Fhrough Aug.15 | effect. Vessels may not | Not permitted.| Not permitted.
(Lincoln Co.) n th? portion of | exceed 5 nautical
Nesbitt Lake miles per hour.
north of the old
fence line.
. All vessels are prohib-
Hinkson tl"rzs;f)ass pllzro]ljl 12_5 ited from Feb. IiS
Mason Valley Slough, North gle rom Feb. through Aug. 15 each Permitted in Permitted in
Pond, Bass rough Aug. 15 Hink: those sites those sites
WMA , in the eastern year, except on Hin son : '
(Lyon Co.) Pond, Beaver ortion of the Slough, Bass, Crappie demggated for des1ggated for
Slough, por and North Pond, Beaver | camping. camping.
Crappie Pond, |™Mam developed Slough and the Walker
Walker River | Pond area, as River. Flat wake
posted. L
restriction in effect.
Steptoe Waterskiing autho-
Valley rized between 11 a.m. | Not permitted. | Not permitted.
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Nevada Boating Regulations

The following information provides a summary of some of the boating laws and regulations for Nevada anglers who
use boats. Safe boating in Nevada starts with knowing Nevada’s boating regulations. Anglers who boat have to
follow the same guidelines as any other boater on Nevada’s waters, and this section of Fishing Seasons and Regula-
tions outlines those requirements. All boats in Nevada are required to carry safety equipment appropriate to the type
and size of vessel used, and every boater should know and practice safe boating, including learning the rules of the
water. To learn more about boating in Nevada, contact NDOW and request a Nevada Boater’s Handbook. To learn
more about boating on the web, visit Nevada’s safe boating web site: www.boatnevada.org.

Reduced Speed Areas (NAC 488.455)

1. On the following waters, a vessel must be oper-
ated at a speed that leaves a flat wake, but in no
case may a vessel be operated at a speed in excess
of 5 nautical miles per hour:

(a) Bassett Lake in White Pine County

(b) Cave Lake in White Pine County

(c) Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County

(d) Jakes Creek Reservoir in Elko County

(e) Onion Valley Reservoir in Humboldt County

() Wayne E. Kirch Wildlife Management Area in Nye County
(g) The lagoon south of Laughlin in Clark County within
Section 33, T 32 S. R. 66E. M.D.B.&M., as marked with
signs or buoys, or both

(h) Likes Lake in Churchill County

(i) The Pitt Taylor Arm of Rye Patch Reservoir in Pershing
County

(§) llipah Reservoir in White Pine County

(k) Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area in Lyon
County

(1) Upper Wall Canyon Reservoir in Washoe County

(m) Echo Canyon Reservoir in Lincoln County

(n) Silver Creek Reservoir in White Pine County

(0) Key Pittman Wildlife Management Area in Lincoln County
2. All boat harbors and other areas designated by
buoys on any of the following waters are zones in
which a vessel must be operated at a speed that
leaves a flat wake, but in no case may a vessel be
operated at a speed in excess of 5 nautical miles per
hour:

(a) Lake Mead National Recreation Area in Clark County
(b) South Fork Reservoir in Elko County

(c) Wildhorse Reservoir in Elko County

(d) Lake Tahoe, Zephyr Cove, Cave Rock, Round Hill
Pines Beach and Glenbrook Bay in Douglas County, Sand
Harbor, Incline Village General Improvement District Boat
Ramp and Crystal Shores West in Washoe County

(e) Washoe Lake State Park & the County Boat Ramp in
Washoe County

(f) Walker Lake State Recreation Area and Sportsmen’s
Beach in Mineral County

(g) Lahontan Reservoir, Churchill Beach, and North Shore
Marina in Churchill County; Silver Springs Beach in Lyon
County

(h) Rye Patch Reservoir, Rye Patch Dam Access in Persh-
ing County

(i) Topaz Lake, Boat Ramps in Douglas County

(j) Colorado River, adjacent to Harrah’s Casino in Laughlin
in Clark County

(k) Big Bend of the Colorado River State Recreation Area
in the lagoon used for launching boats in Clark County.

Boating Prohibited Areas (NAC 488.465)

Vessels are prohibited in areas which are designated
by signs or buoys as follows:

1. Within the Lake Mead National Recreation Area;

2. On the Colorado River:

(a) Below Davis Dam; and

(b) The swimming area of Harrah’s Casino in Laughlin;
3. On Lake Tahoe at:

(a) The main beaches at Sand Harbor and Divers’ Cove
within Lake Tahoe State Park;

(b) The swimming area of the Incline Village General
Improvement District and Burnt Cedar Beach;

(c) The swimming area of Galilee at the Episcopal Camp
and Conference Center;

(d) The swimming area of the Lakeridge General Im-
provement District;

(e) The swimming area of the Glenbrook Homeowner’s
Association;

(f) The swimming area of the Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe;
(g) The swimming area of the Zephyr Cove Marina;

(h) The swimming area of Crystal Shores West; and

(i) The swimming and beach area adjacent to Nevada
Beach described in 33CFR 162.215.

4. At the dam and swim beach at the state recreation
area in Rye Patch Reservoir;

5. At Lahontan Reservoir Dam;

6. At South Fork Reservoir Dam;

7. At Wildhorse Reservoir Dam,;

8. At Eagle Valley Dam at Spring Valley State Park;

9. At Chimney Reservoir Dam in Humboldt County;

10. At the county swim beach at Topaz Lake; and

11. At the swimming area and dive area at Sparks Ma-
rina Park.
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Nevada Boating Regulations

Boating Restrictions in Wildlife
Management Areas (NAC 488.467)

(See page 25 for table of restrictions.)

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, use of
vessels is restricted in the following Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas:
(a) In the Overton Wildlife Management Area, located in
Clark County, vessels are prohibited on all ponds. Vessels
are allowed on the portion of the area inundated by Lake
Mead, except that on Overton Hunt Days, vessels may be
used only by persons authorized to hunt waterfowl.
(b) ...In the Humboldt Wildlife Management Area, lo-
cated in Churchill and Pershing Counties:

(1) All vessels are prohibited on the ponds in the

Humboldt and Toulon Sink areas 5 days before

the opening day of the waterfowl season.

(2) Airboats are prohibited on the Humboldt Sink

until 1 hour after the legal shooting time on the

opening day of the waterfowl season.

(3) Airboats are prohibited on the Toulon por-

tion of the area during the waterfowl season.
(c) In the Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area, lo-
cated in Lyon County, all vessels are prohibited from Feb-
ruary 15 through August 15 of each year, except on:

(1) Hinkson Slough;

(2) Bass Pond;

(3) Crappie Pond;

(4) Beaver Slough;

(5) The Walker River; and

(6) North Pond.
(d) In the Fort Churchill Cooling Pond Cooperative Wild-
life Management Area, all vessels and floating devices,
except for vessels used by employees of the Sierra Pacific
Power Company in the performance of their official du-
ties, are prohibited on the pond.
2. The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to vessels
owned, operated and used for official purposes by the
division.
3. For the purposes of this section, a vessel is being used
if the vessel: (a) is upon the waters of this state, includ-
ing, without limitation, if it is tied or fastened to a dock,
mooring or shore; and (b) is not aground on the shore.

Anchoring/Mooring Vessels (NRS 488.265)

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a person
shall not anchor or moor a vessel in such a position as to
obstruct a passageway ordinarily used by other vessels.
As used in this subsection, a “passageway ordinarily used
by other vessels” includes:

(a) A river channel or the entrance to a harbor or ma-
rina; and
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(b) That area within a 100-yard radius of a boat ramp
built and maintained with public money.

2. A person may anchor or moor a vessel in an area
designated for that purpose by the commission and
marked at the corners with yellow can buoys. The buoys
must emit a flashing yellow light from sunset to sunrise.

Areas Limited to Boats Without Motors
& Boats with Electric Motors (NAC 488.470)

1. Only vessels without motors are permitted on the fol-
lowing waters:

Waters County
(a) Angel Lake Elko

(b) Blue Lakes Humboldt
(c) Schroeder Reservoir Lincoln
(d) Spooner Lake Douglas
(e) Marlette Lake Washoe

2. Only vessels without motors and vessels with electric
motors are permitted on the following waters:

(a) Groves Lake Lander

(b) Sparks Marina Park Washoe
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Nevada Boating Regulations

Nevada Boating Laws Updated

By: C. Douglas Nielsen

ver the last two years, Nevada boating
O law has been significantly changed,

mostly affecting children and young
adults. Some laws were already in effect, and
several took effect Jan. 1, 2003. New rules man-
date education for some Nevadans, require life
jackets for children under the age of 12 and raise
the legal age for operating a personal water craft
(PWC) to 14 years old.

Officials with the Nevada Division of Wild-
life, the state’s boating safety agency, feel the new
requirements have already saved many lives and
will continue to do so into the future. “We an-
ticipate a significant improvement in boating
safety on waters throughout the state, especially
through the mandatory education process. Some
boaters may see this as an inconvenience, but the
life saved as a result of this program could be
their very own or that of someone they love,” said
Fred Messmann, NDOW’s state boating law ad-
ministrator.

Lifejackets For Kids Under 12

Children under the age of 12 are now re-
quired to wear a life jacket when under way on a
vessel unless in an enclosed cabin. In addition,
all passengers on a personal watercraft, regard-
less of their age, are also required to wear a life
jacket when their boat is under way. According
to the new statute, “a vessel is ‘under way’ if it is
adrift, making way, or being propelled, and it is
not aground, made fast to the shore, or tied or
made fast to a dock or mooring.”

Nevada joins 37 other states that require
children to wear life jackets, including the neigh-
boring states of Arizona, California and Utah.
According to the U.S. Coast Guard, more than
700 people die in boating accidents every year.
Of those, 90 percent are not wearing a life jacket
at the time of death.

Mandatory Boater Education

Beginning Jan. 1, 2003, boaters who were
born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 are required to
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complete a boater education course before oper-
ating a boat on Nevada’s interstate waters. This
requirement applies only to operators using a mo-
torboat with a motor exceeding 15-horsepower.
Nevada’s interstate waters include Lake Mead, Lake
Mohave, the Colorado River from Davis Dam south
to the California state line, Lake Tahoe and Topaz
Lake.

This brings the total number of states re-
quiring some kind of boater education to 30, in-
cluding the neighboring states of Idaho and Or-
egon. Arizona and California do not yet require
boating education.

The Nevada law requires operators to carry
proof of completion of a boater education course
when on interstate waters. Only those courses
approved by the National Association of State Boat-
ing Law Administrators (NASBLA) will meet
Nevada’s education requirement. Currently, ap-
proved courses include NDOW’s home study course,
Boat Nevada, as well as the agency’s Internet
course at www.boatnevada.org, and those taught
by the Coast Guard Auxiliary or the U.S. Sail &
Power Squadrons. Boaters who wish to challenge
the course will be able to do so through a proc-
tored exam. Boaters will be required to submit
proof of course completion to NDOW.

Some boaters are exempt from the boater
education requirement including: licensed Coast
Guard operators, U.S. or Canadian; buyers of a
new or used boat for up to 60 days; boat renters
who receive instruction from a licensed livery op-
erator; and nonresidents over 18-years of age who
meet the education requirements in their home
state. Operators must carry their certificate or
other documentation proving they are eligible for
an exempted status.

Legal Age To Operating a PWC Raised

In another change affecting younger boat-
ers, the age at which young people can begin op-
erating personal watercraft has been raised from
12 to 14 years, also beginning Jan. 1, 2003.



Safety Tips Every Boater Should Know

By: Edwin Lyngar
The sky is blue and the air is warm. A fisherman hauls a trout over the stern of his 16-foot pleasure boat.
Without warning, the fisherman loses his balance, and falls into frigid waters. Contrary to what many
anglers think, most boating accidents happen without warning, during calm weather, and when least ex-
pected. Even if a boater only uses his or her vessel for fishing, boating safety should always be foremost. If you learn the
rules of the water and ensure the boat is properly outfitted, you can avoid turning a fun outing into a nightmare.

Unlike operating a car, boats follow no lines in the road. Aside from some restricted zones and channels, a boat
can go in any direction at any time. This freedom can be a very enjoyable aspect of boating, but it can also bring
dangers. Occasional boaters and boaters who do not know the rules of the water can cause serious accidents. Piloting
a boat can be more complicated than driving a car, so boaters and fisherman should learn a few basic navigation rules
before hitting the lake.

In addition to piloting, the “skipper” of the boat is also responsible for ensuring the boat is outfitted with all
required safety equipment. First, each passenger aboard a boat must have a properly fitted, Coast Guard approved life
jacket. Children under 12 must wear the life jacket at all times while the vessel is under way, unless they are in an
enclosed cabin. Regardless of age, it is a good idea for all passengers to wear life jackets.

Just as life jackets are required, every motorboat must carry a Coast Guard approved fire extinguisher. For larger
vessels, more than one fire extinguisher may be required. For more complete details on specific sizes and types of
extinguishers required, check the Nevada Boating Handbook, available at wildlife offices statewide.

Carrying the right gear is critical, but ensuring the gear is loaded safely is just as important. In addition to safety
equipment, fishing trips require a lot of gear and tackle, so when loading a boat, make sure the weight is evenly
distributed. Too much weight on one side of the boat will make the craft unsteady, and boaters should never exceed the
weight of gear and people the boat is rated to hold. The capacity plate, visible to the operator of the vessel, has all the
information a skipper needs to load a boat safely.

To learn more about boating safety or to sign up for a boater education course in your area call the Division of
Wildlife, or learn all about boating on the web by visiting Nevada’s safe boating web site: www.boatnevada.org.

By wearing a life jacket, knowing the rules of the water and carrying all the right safety equipment, an angler can
go a long way toward ensuring a safe and successful trip.

Federal Boating Regulations

Informational Note: The following areas are subject to
Federal Regulations in addition to the general provisions
of the Nevada Boat Act, which include rules for registra-
tion, equipment, and operation. Please contact refuge
managers for descriptions of restricted zones and/or motor
and speed regulations prior to your visit. Regulations are
subject to change.

Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (775) 725-3417

Boats without motors (except electric motors) are permit-
ted on the Upper Lake, Middle Ponds, and Lower Lake.
The North Marsh is closed to boating, including float tubes.
Upper Lake is closed to all boating during the water-
fowl season.

Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (541) 947-3315

Big Springs Reservoir, Dufurrena Ponds and Catnip
Reservoir: Anglers may bank fish, fish by wading, or use
nonmotorized boats, boats with electric motors, float tubes
and similar flotation devices only.
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Stillwater National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (775) 423-5128

Special boating regulations are now in effect at
Stillwater NWR. Contact refuge manager before
operating a boat in this area. Fishing is not allowed.

Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (775) 779-2237

North of Brown Dike:

No boats permitted. Float tubes permitted in Unit 21 as
posted.

South of Brown Dike (South Marsh):

January 1 through June 14: Boats prohibited. Float
tubes permitted at Main Boat Landing, as posted; at Narciss
Boat Landing, as posted; and at mouth of

Collection Ditch at west end of Brown Dike, as posted.
June 15 through July 31: ONLY motorless

boats, float tubes and boats with electric

motors are permitted. Boats with gas motors prohibited.
August 1 through December 31: Motorless boats, float
tubes and boats propelled by motors with 10 h.p. or less
are permitted.



Sport Fish Restoration Fund Pays for Boater Access

By: Mark Warren

at weighs over one ton and resembles a short

Wl;quatty houseboat? If you answered floating

restrooms, go to the head of the class. An

idea that originated in our neighboring state of Utah

on Lake Powell, floating restrooms have moved down-

stream, so to speak. Four such facilities will soon be
found on Lake Mead.

Sewage concerns in Lake Powell from the thou-
sands of boaters utilizing that lake for everything from
water skiing to fishing led to the construction of the
first floating restroom. These give boaters an opportu-
nity to use a facility or dump their porta-potties with-
out having to return to one of the marinas, which might
be miles away:.

Costing $150,000 each, these way stations will
soon be installed strategically around Lake Mead for
boater’s convenience. Due to the increasing number of
boaters utilizing Lake Mead, there is a growing con-
cern that sections of the lake might experience health
issues associated with the improper disposal of human
waste. Jim Holland, Lake Mead’s National Park Ser-
vices’ Planner, estimates over a quarter of a million
boating use days annually, and says in the near future,
porta-potties will be required on all boats that are spend-
ing at least one night on the lake.

The floating restrooms were purchased utilizing
a 25 percent-75 percent match of state to federal money
from the Sport Fish Restoration Program. Money is
collected via an excise tax on fishing equipment, which
is then reverted back to the states for fisheries projects.
Fifteen percent of this money is required to be spent on
boating access projects, approximately $600,000 dol-
lars of federal money and $200,000 of state money. The
state portion is usually derived from motorboat fuel
taxes.

The restroom project was completed as one of
last year’s boating access projects. This fiscal year’s
(July 1, 2002 through June 30, 2003) boating access

Strategically placed floating
restrooms help to make boating
outings more enjoyable.
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projects include resurfacing launch ramps at Lake Mead.
The lake has dropped more than 56 vertical feet over the
past several years, exposing crumbling asphalt ramps
that have been underwater for over 20 years.

Other projects include a fish cleaning station at
Cave Lake, boat ramp extensions at Wildhorse and Rye
Patch Reservoirs, a boat parking lot extension at Rye Patch
Reservoir, new restrooms, access road improvements and
picnic cabafias at South Fork Reservoir, new floating docks
at Wilson Reservoir and Washoe Lake, and a recondi-
tioning of the Walker Lake boat launching facility. NDOW
also is financially supporting (75 percent) Douglas County
in their endeavors to remodel the boating facility at To-

paz Lake, which will include a new ramp, breakwater,
access road, restrooms and fish cleaning station. New
RV hookups are also planned for Topaz, but they will be
paid for entirely by the county.

Anglers can appreciate their tax dollars when they
see and are able to use these types of facilities, making
boating better for Nevadans.

Photos courtesty of the
National Park Service




Try the Sport of “Underwater Hunting”

By: Jon Sjoberg

you might like to try spearfishing. For one thing,
you’ll have to swim to pursue the sport of “underwa-
ter hunting.” Scuba gear and a spearing device are used,
and the spear is connected to a lanyard for easy retrieval.

Most anglers may not connect spearfishing with
sport fishing Nevada, but opportunities abound in Lake
Mead and Lake Mohave on the Colorado River in south-
ern Nevada. NDOW regulations allow spearfishing for
striped bass in designated areas of those reservoirs. Al-
though anglers can spearfish for unprotected fish spe-
cies, such as carp, in all waters of the state except for
Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake in northern Nevada, game
fish cannot be taken except with hook and line as speci-
fied in the regulations for the individual water or county.

The special regulations for Lake Mead and Lake
Mohave allow spearfishing for striped bass on Lake
Mohave from Cottonwood Cove, east of Searchlight,
upstream to below Hoover Dam, and anywhere on Lake
Mead, except within one-half mile of any dock or desig-
nated swimming area. Areas that are normally closed
to all angling, such as the area immediately above and
below Hoover Dam and the no-wake zones within mari-
nas, are of course, also off limits.

Possession limits for striped bass taken by
spearfishing are the same as for other methods of an-
gling. For Lake Mead, this is 20 striped bass with no
size restrictions; for Lake Mohave there is no limit on
striped bass under 20 inches in total length, but a 20
fish limit on stripers over 20 inches.

Dive shops in the Las Vegas Valley report that so
far, spearfishing is popular only with a small number of
divers. Dive shops in the area sell between 15 and 20
spear guns per year and divers are quiet about their sport,

If you’d like to try a new way of looking at fishing,

although there is the classic spearfishing, “big-fish” tale
of the striper the size of the state of Vermont. (This leg-
end has never been corroborated.) In the past, when this
sport was first permitted in southern Nevada, most dive
shops publicized spearfishing derbies and had fair to good
turnout, but the fad has waned. Hopefully, as the valley
grows and the number of divers increases, the sport will
regain popularity and divers will realize the potential
for enjoyment and the chance to take home several nights
of fish dinners without having to bait a hook!

Anglers can also take advantage of the opportu-
nity to take unprotected fish species by spearfishing as
well. Throughout most of Nevada, carp is the most likely
species encountered, however in Lake Mead, the recent
invasion of the unprotected, exotic blue tilapia provides
another opportunity. Tilapia are native to northern Af-
rica and are raised commercially as a food fish. Tilapia
in excess of four pounds have been taken from Lake Mead
in the past few years, with spearfishing anglers having
particularly good success in shallow water areas of the
lake’s Boulder Basin, around Saddle Island and coves
along the basin’s north shoreline. Anglers should be aware
that when underwater, smaller tilapia could closely re-
semble black crappie, a game fish species that cannot
be taken by spear.

When spearfishing, an appropriate diver’s flag must
be displayed within 100 feet of the diver(s), and a me-
chanical spearing device may only be used under the
water surface, with the spear attached to the device by a
lanyard.

So if you're in the mood for a truly unique fishing
opportunity, pick up a spear gun, and try the sport of
“underwater hunting.”

Basic Tips for Spearfishing

B Remember, the only species that you can spearfish
in Nevada are striped bass (subject to the specific
geographic areas identified in NDOW’s regulations)
and unprotected fish species. All other game fish
are off limits!

B  When spearfishing, enter the water quietly, and
avoid giant stride and back roll entries, especially
in shallow water.

B Remember, fish can out-swim you and jerky mo-
tion frightens them.

B For safety reasons, you should always hold your
gun down, until within range for a shot. Then
smoothly bring the gun on target by extending the
gun and sighting along the spear shaft before shoot-

ing. Again, avoid rapid and jerky motions, which
will frighten the fish.

B Swim parallel to a wary fish’s path; avoid eye
contact until within range; then calmly turn, aim,
and shoot.

B Use vegetation, rock outcrops, wreckage, or
baitfish for cover. Look under ledges. Use a flash-
light to peer into holes and crevices.

B Lay down a stringer of already taken fish, swim
away for a few minutes and then come back to
it. The stringer of fish sometimes draws other
fish.

B Be patient. Even with careful techniques it can
be difficult to get your first fish. Don’t give up!
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r--------------------------------------1
: (Please Print Neatly) :
: Kind of fish caught Date caught :
I Weight Ibs. oz. Length (total) inches Girth inches I
I Water where caught Specific location (i.e. cove or landmark) I
|
I in County, Nevada. I
I Type of Tackle Lure or bait I
I Name of Angler Age :
I Mailing Address I
I City State Zip Code Phone I
: Measurements witnessed by: :
I 1. Name Address I
| |
I 2. Name Address I
: ENTER YOUR FISH - IT MAY BE A TROPHY! :
| NEVADA’S TROPHY FISH PROGRAM |
| The following minimum weight qualifications are established for the various species of fish in the Nevada Trophy Fish |
| Program. Each entry which meets the minimum qualifications will receive a Trophy Fish Certificate. The largest entry of the |
] Year for each species will receive a Record Nevada Fish Certificate. Trophy Fish Plaques will be awarded to those entries that I
I establish a new state record. I
| For a fish to be considered in the Nevada |
| |- Largemouth Bass 5 Ibs. Trophy Fish Program the following must apply: |
2. Smallmouth Bass 3 lbs. .
15 Spotted Bass > Ibs 1. Fish must be taken legally from Nevada waters. |
4. Striped B 20 Ibs. . . . .
: 5 Wr];?tee Bazsss 5 ]bz 2. Weight is to be taken of whole fish before freezing. :
6. C 15 lbs. . . . .
1 Biﬂahea d Catfish 1 ]; 3. Length is to be measured from tip of nose to tip of tail. |
8. Ch | Catfish 10 lbs. .
I 9 W}irtlgec at?i S];S 4 lbz 4. Measurements must be witnessed by two other persons, at least I
| 10. Black Crappie 2 Ibs. one of whom must not be a relative of angler entering contest. |
I 11, White Crappie 2 Ibs. . . . L . |
| 12 Arctic Grayling 0.5 1b. 5. Angler must provide positive means of identifying the species of I
I 13. Sacramento Perch 2 lbs. fish and include an adequate photograph. (Note: All photos sub- I
14. Yellow Perch 0.5 Ib. mitted may be used in Nevada Division of Wildlife publications
| 15. Northern Pike 10 Ibs. . o . |
J 16 Kokanee Salmon 2 Ibs and on the web site unless angler specifies otherwise.) i
17. Sil Sal 5 lbs. ci1s
18 B'luvezm 23;??5}1 ! 1ts> 6. Entry must be made within calendar year of date caught to be |
J 19. Green Sunfish 0.5 1b. included in that year’s contest. I
20. Redear Sunfish 0.5 Ib. . . . .
21. Brook Trout 2 Ibs. 7. If the fish being entered is a possible Nevada State Record, |
I 22. Brown Trout 5 Ibs. fish must be weighed on a scale which has been certified as |
] 23: Cutthroat Trout 10 Ibs. accurate. The fish must be witnessed by a Nevada Division | |
24. Bull Trout 0.5 Ib. £ Wildlif 1
I 25. Mackinaw Trout 10 Ibs. o ldlite employee. I
] 26. Rainbow Trout 5 Ibs. |
27. Rainbow / Cutthroat Hybrid Trout 10 Ibs. . .
28. Tiger Trout 2 Ibs. [—— rorar Levets Mail entries and photos to: I
I 29. walleye 6 Ibs. Fisheries Bureau |
| ;? x,ﬁ Wh\;\;f_fsg e B Hyrid Slll')b- Nevada Division of Wildlife |
. 1per (White/Stripe ass Hybri S.
I 32. Tiger Muskie 5 lbs. 1100 Valley Rd. I
Reno, Nevada 89512-2817 |




RECORD FISH OF NEVADA (1968 through October 2002)

SPECIES

Bass, Largemouth
Bass, Smallmouth
Bass, Spotted
Bass, Striped
Bass, White

Carp

Catfish, Bullhead
Catfish, Channel
Catfish, White
Crappie, Black
Crappie, White
Arctic Grayling
Sacramento Perch
Yellow Perch
Northern Pike
Tiger Muskie
Salmon, Kokanee
Salmon, Silver

Bluegill Sunfish
Green Sunfish
Redear Sunfish
Brook Trout
Brown trout
Cutthroat Trout
Bull Trout
Golden Trout
Mackinaw Trout
Rainbow Trout
Bowcutt

Tiger Trout
Whitefish, Mtn.
Walleye

Wiper

LBS/0OZS

INCHES

WATER

Lake Mead
South Fork Res.
Rye Patch Res.
Lake Mohave
Lahontan Res.
Lake Mohave
Clover Creek
Lahontan Res.
Humboldt River
Lake Mead
Weber Res.
Desert Creek
Pyramid Lake
Dufurrena Ponds.
Comins Lake
Barth Pit

Lake Tahoe

Lake Mead

Lake Mead
Dufurrena Ponds
Tule Lake
Colorado River
Bull Run Res.
Cave Lake
Pyramid Lake
Jarbidge River, WF
Hidden Lakes
Lake Tahoe

Lake Mohave
Pyramid Lake
Ruby Lake Refuge
Walker River, EF
Lahontan Reservoir
Lahontan Res.

Michael R. Geary
David Bressler
Dustin Osborn
Allan S. Cole

Greg Ackerman
Larry Lee Frazier
Steven K. Bowman
Harry Stephens
Jean Bianchi

Henry Herman
Paul Trujillo
George Delich
John Battcher
Warren Todd Goodale
Kelly H. Malaperdas
Jason A. Edgar
Dick Bournique
William Musso
Charles W. Caskey
Shane Goodale

Joe Burgess

Larry Cross
Richard Baker
Dennis Mangum
Ben Barlow

Rex Schelburne
Don Capps

Robert Aronsen
Mike Soskin
Lloyd Lowery
Brian Howard
Maurice Lee Kiplan
Billy Foster

Keith Bachman

*WORLD
RECORD
LBS/OZS

22/4
10/14
10/4
67/8
6/13
75/11
8/15%
58/0
21/8
4/8
5/3
5/15
4/9%
4/3
55/1
5173
9/6
33/4

4/12
2/2
517
14/8
40/4
41/0%**
32/0
11/0
72/4
42/2
30/4%*
20/13
6/7
25/0
27/5

*NOTE: Asterisk denotes world record according to the National Fresh Water Fishing Hall of Fame, 2002 Edition. All others
are taken from the International Game Fish Association’s World Record Game Fishes, 2002 edition.

**NOTE: The recognized world record cutthroat trout of 41 pounds was caught in Pyramid Lake in 1925.

Free Fishing Day is June 14, 2003
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Survey shows Kids Want To Go Fishing

By: Les Smith

weekend, a recent Recreational Boating and Fishing
Foundation (RBFF) survey shows that, likely as not,
they want to go fishing.

The nationwide survey of adult and youth anglers
conducted in 2000, showed that 67 percent of all young
people responding to the survey said they would be very
likely to go fishing if an adult would take them. A
similar number of adults, 69.5 percent, said they
would be eight times more inclined to go fishing if a
child asked them, than if they were going on their
own or were asked by another adult.

Fishing was ranked in the top ten on the RBFF
survey as a preferred recreational activity for both
young and old. Some of the reasons given for the
high ranking of fishing were: The desire to spend
time with friends or family, to relax and get away
from daily stress, appreciating nature,
fishing for food, and developing angling skills.
Angler success was important, especially to young
anglers, just starting out, but sharing time with fam-
ily and friends was important, too.

So, what is the best way to make sure that
your kids have a great day fishing, whether the fish
are biting or not?

Stay close -- Only when your “little ones” have
become dedicated anglers can you make the
marathon migrations to prime fishing holes. Pick
fishing waters close at hand, maybe one of our urban
waters, even if success is not as certain. Not only do
you avoid the annoying “Are we there yet?” chant; you
can actually enjoy the drive as part of the whole trip,
instead of dreading the travel. If you hate it, your kids
hate it worse.

Bring snacks — The key to juvenile happiness is
snacking. It provides a diversion when things are slow;
change often - Grandpa always said, “A change is as
good as a rest.” The younger the kids, the more often
you will have to change activities. Plan for all sorts of
fun and simple things to do until the bobber dips or the
bell rings. Make allowances for the kids to throw rocks
in the water, go wading and splashing, and explore the
water’s edges for treasures.

Be prepared - Bring a first aid kit with lots and
lots of Band-Aids. Be prepared for bugs and sun and
snakes. Bring plenty of bait and patience and a pair of
needle nosed pliers to allow catch and release if you
don’t plan to eat your fish.

Catch fish — This may seem obvious, but a sur-
prising number of parents will unintentionally sabotage
their own family fishing trip. Many choose hot-hot or
cold-cold days where it’s impossible to catch fish with
dynamite. Watch the weather. Get up-to-date informa-
tion on fishing at the spot where you want to go. Check

If you’re wondering what your kids want to do this

“Grandpa thinks I’'m a keeper!”
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NDOW’s Angler Information Guide at www.ndow.org/
fish/waters/index.shtm. Go fishing during the time of
day when fish are moving and more likely to take your
bait. If this means an early morning departure, make
sure the kids can sleep comfortably in the car on the
way, or lie down at the fishing hole. They’ll wake up in
a big hurry if there’s a fish on the line.

Pay attention — Until your young anglers are com-
pletely on their own,
you're taking them
fishing. Leave your
rod at home. You
should be completely
focused on making
this the best fishing
experience of their
lives. Fishing for be-
ginners mainly
consists of tangles and
snags. It will be your
mission to untangle,
un-snag, re-bait and
help them cast their
rig out to where the
fish are always anx-
iously waiting to
jump on their hook.
This will seem like all
that you do the whole time. But remember this simple
rule: A baited hook in the water always catches more
fish than any hook out of the water. You may not think
your children even notice your efforts, but years later
they will remember the time you spent with them.

So, if you're wooed by the nostalgic images of
families going fishing — good! Take your kids fishing,
make it safe, comfortable and fun. Youll want to do it
more often and they’ll be begging you, “Take me fishing.”

Photo by Kim Toulouse

Photo by Kim Toulouse
Fishing: A family affair



Nevada’s Hatchery System

State Hatchery Refurbishment Project Continues

By: Dave Sanger

ment Project is progressing. Most of the engi-

neering and design work is done. Over the next
six years, refurbishment projects will be ongoing, and
stocking will continue in selected state waters to meet
public demand. The hatchery refurbishment project is
funded by several sources, including the state Trout
Stamp Fund, a federal Hatchery Refurbishment Grant,
a Southern Nevada Lands Act Grant, Question 1 alloca-
tions and the state bonding authority.

A project of this magnitude is complicated not
only by the scope of work, but also by the constant
change of hatchery conditions. New problems arise as
progress is made, creating a dynamic challenge to re-
pair and reconstruct facilities while they continue to
contain and grow fish. NDOW has used a careful and
systematic approach to construction planning. During
the fall of 2003 and into 2004, NDOW will continue
stocking the southern portions of the state by purchas-
ing trout from a commercial grower. Purchased fish
combined with trout from Gallagher and Mason Valley

Nevada Division of Wildlife’s Hatchery Refurbish-

Hatcheries and Spring Creek Rearing Station will re-
place fish production for Lake Mead Hatchery while it
is under construction. Reconstruction of this facility
will begin in the hatchery building and continue out-
side through the nursery and rearing raceways. Our
fisheries staff will be hatching eggs and rearing fry
while larger raceways are still in the reconstruction
phase. Gallagher Hatchery reconstruction plans are
also under way. Major construction there will not oc-
cur until the fish culture projects are completed at Lake
Mead. Mason Valley Hatchery projects are being com-
pleted and should be finished within a year. Work at
Spring Creek Rearing Station will be held until the
prior projects are completed.

A project of this magnitude requires careful plan-
ning and patience. Use of current fish culture technol-
ogy will turn our older hatcheries into state of the art
production facilities. The state’s anglers will reap the
harvest of the project, as refurbished hatcheries will
support fish rearing and stocking activities for years
to come.

Students take a tour of the Mason Valley Hatchery.
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Nevada Fishable Waters

bluegill sunfish=bg

brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn
bull trout=bt

Species Abbreviations
rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=be

redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb

bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=ce
crappie=cr

cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=1mb
mackinaw trout=mt

spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb
tiger muskie=tm
tiger trout=tt
walleye=wp
white bass=wb
white catfish=we
whitefish=w

northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb

wiper=wi
yellow perch=yp

NOTE: Regional maps are
shown in each Region
Section of these regulations.

They are also available in
a larger sized fishable waters
map at each Division office.

WESTERN REGION - See map on page 10

#  Body of Water

1 Big Springs Reservoir

2 Bilk Creek Reservoir

3 Blue Lakes

4 Boulder Reservoir

5 Carson River, East Fork
6 Carson River, West Fork
7 Catnip Reservoir

8 Chimney Dam Reservoir

9 Davis Creek Park Pond
10 Desert Creek

11 Dufurrena Ponds

12 Fort Churchill Pond

13 Hobart Reservoir

14 Humboldt River

15 Humboldt River

16 Knott Creek Reservoir
17 Lahontan Reservoir

18 Lake Tahoe

19 | Liberty Pond

20 Little Humboldt River, NF
21 Martin Creek

Location/County

Humboldt Co./Sheldon
Humboldt Co./Bilk C. Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Washoe Co./Boulder Mtn.
Douglas Co./Carson Range
Carson, Lyon, Douglas, Churchill

Washoe Co./Sheldon

Humboldt Co./Little Humboldt River
Washoe Co./Washoe Valley

Lyon Co./Sweetwater Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Sheldon

Lyon Co./Mason Valley

Washoe Co./Carson Range
Humboldt Co.

Pershing Co.

Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Churchill Co./Lahontan Valley

Carson City, Douglas, and Washoe Co.

Churchill Co./Fallon
Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns.

Species

rb

rb,bc
rb,bk,ct,bc

rb

rb,bn

rb,bn,bh,
CC,WC,ZS,yP,Wp
ct

rb,wp,cc,cr

rb

rb,bn,bk
Imb,cr,yp,gs,rs
Imb,cc,bg,rs
rb,bk,bc
Imb,smb,cc,
bh,cr,wp,bg
Imb,cc,wp,
smb,sb,wi
rb,bc
rb,cc,bh,Imb, wb
sb,yp,wp,wc,cr,wi
rb,bn,mt ks
rb,cc,wc,bg
rb,bk,bn,ct
rb,bn

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.
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WESTERN REGION continued

#  Body of Water

22 | Mountain View Park Pond
23 | North Pond, Mason Valley
24 | Onion Valley Reservoir

25 | Paradise Park Pond
Pyramid Lake

Quinn River, East Fork

26 | Rye Patch Reservoir

27 | Sparks Marina Park Pond
28 | Spooner Lake

29 | Squaw Creek Reservoir
Star Creek

30 | Topaz Resevoir

Truckee Canal

31 Truckee River

32 | Virginia Lake

33 | Walker Lake

* Walker River

34 | Walker River, East Fork
35 | Walker River, West Fork
36 | Wall Canyon Reservoir
37 | Washoe Lake

Weber Reservoir

38 | Whites and Thomas Creek
39 | Wilson Common Pond

Location/County

Lyon Co./Yerington

Lyon Co.

Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Washoe Co./Reno

Washoe Co./Near Nixon
Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns
Pershing Co.

Washoe Co./Sparks

Washoe Co./Carson Range
Washoe Co./Near Gerlach
Pershing Co./Humboldt Range
Douglas Co./Highway 395
Lyon Co./Fernley

Washoe & Storey Co.

Washoe Co./Reno

Mineral Co.

Lyon & Mineral Co.

Lyon Co./Walker River Valley
Lyon & Douglas Co.

Washoe Co./N of Gerlach
Washoe Co.

Mineral Co./Walker River
Washoe Co./Carson Range
Washoe Co./Washoe Valley

Species

rb

rb,bn,lmb,bg
rb,bk

rb,bn,cc

ct,sp

rb,bk,bn
rb,cc,wp,lmb,sb,
cr,bh,wec wi
rb,bn,cc

ct,bn
rb,bn,Ilmb.sb,bh
rb

rb,bn,bc,bh

rb
rb,bn,ct,w,cc,lmb,bh,gs
rb,bn,cc,be

ct
Imb,cc,we,bh,bg
rb,bn,w

rb,bn,w
rb,bn,bc,smb
cc,bh,wb,sp,wi
Imb,cc,wc,cr
rb,bk

rb

EASTERN REGION - See map on page 14

#  Body of Water

1 Angel Lake

* Barth Pit

2 Bassett Lake

* Big Creek

3 Bruneau River

* Carlin Pond
4 Cave Lake

* Cleve Creek

5 Cold Creek Reservoir
6 Comins Lake
Comins Lake

7 Crittenden Reservoir

Location/County

Elko Co./East Humboldt

Eureka Co./Humboldt River Valley
White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley
Lander Co./Toiyabe Range

Elko Co./Snake R. System

Elko Co./Humboldt River Valley
White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
White Pine Co./Newark Valley
White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley
White Pine Co.

Elko Co./Thousand Springs

Species

rb,bk
smb,lmb,bg,cc,rb
np,lmb
rb,bn
rb,w

rb
rb,bn,bk
rb,bn

rb
rb,bn,lmb
rb, Imb
rb,Imb

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.
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#

10
11
12
9

13
14
15
16

17

4

*

2
18

19
20

21

EASTERN REGION continued

Body of Water

Dorsey Reservoir

Dry Creek Reservoir
Groves Lake

Humboldt River
Humboldt River, NF
Humboldt River
Humboldt River

Illipah Reservoir

Jakes Creek Reservoir
Jiggs Reservoir
Kingston Creek
Lamoille Creek

Owyhee River, East Fork
Ruby Lake NWR
Salmon Falls River
Silver Creek Reservoir
South Fork Humboldt River

South Fork Reservoir

Steptoe Creek

Tabor Creek

Tailings Creek

Jarbidge River, West Fork
White River

Wildhorse Reservoir

Willow Creek Reservoir
Willow Creek Pond
Wilson Reservoir

Location/County

Elko Co./NF Humboldt River
Elko Co./Bull Run Creek

Lander Co./Toiyabe Range

Elko Co.

Elko Co./Indep. Mtns

Eureka Co.

Lander Co.

White Pine Co./White Pine Range

Elko Co./Salmon Falls River Drainage

Elko Co./Jiggs

Lander Co./Toiyabe Range
Elko Co./Ruby Mtns.

Elko Co./Wildhorse Range
Elko Co./Ruby Valley

Elko Co./O’Neil Basin
White Pine Co./Snake Valley
Elko Co./Ruby Mtns.

Elko Co./SF Humboldt R.

White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
Elko Co./Snake Mtns.

White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley

Elko Co./Jarbidge Mtns.

White Pine Co./White Pine Range
Elko Co./EF Owyhee River

Elko Co./Tuscarora Mtns.
Lander Co./Battle Mtns.
Elko Co./Independence Mtns.

Species

rb
rb,smb,lmb
rb,bn

cc,lmb,smb,bn,bb,bg,

bk,ct
rb,lmb,smb,cc,bh
Imb,cc
rb,bn
rb,Imb
rb,Imb,
rb,bk,bn
rb,bk

rb,bk,bn,w,yp,smb
rb,bk,bn,Imb,ct,bc

rb,bn,w
rb,bn

ct,rb,bn,bk,bc,smb,

cc,lmb
rb,bn,smb,lmb,
cc,be,ct

rb,bn

rb,bk

bk

rb,bt,w

rb,bn
rb,bn,smb,
yp,cc,be,lmb
Imb,cr,cc,ct,we
rb,bn

rb,Imb

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.
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#

14

W Nk

12

13
14
15

Body of Water

Adams McGill Reservoir
Barley Creek

Beaver Dam Wash
Boulder City Urban
Fishing Pond
Chiatovitch Creek

Cold Creek Pond

Cold Springs Reservoir
Colorado River

Dacey Reservoir

Eagle Valley Reservoir
Echo Canyon Reservoir
Floyd Lamb State Park
Haymeadow Reservoir
Lake Mead

Lake Mohave

Lorenzi Park Pond
Mosquito Creek
Nesbitt Lake

Pine Creek

Reese River, Upper

San Juan Creek
Schroeder Reservoir
Sportsmans Park Pond
Sunset Park Pond

Trail Canyon Reservoir
Upper Pahranagat Lake

SOUTHERN REGION

Location/County

Kirch WMA, Nye Co.
Nye Co./Monitor Range
Lincoln Co.

Clark Co.

Esmeralda Co./White Mtns.
Clark Co.

Kirch WMA, Nye Co.

Clark Co.

Kirch WMA, Nye Co.
Lincoln Co./Spring Valley
Lincoln Co./Dry Valley
Clark Co./Las Vegas

Kirch WMA, Nye Co.

Clark Co.

Clark Co.

Clark Co./Las Vegas

Nye Co./Monitor Range
Lincoln Co./Pahranagat V.
Nye Co./Monitor Mtns.
Nye Co./Toiyabe Mtns.
Nye Co./Toiyabe Mtns
Lincoln Co./Beaver Dam Wash
Nye Co.

Clark Co./Las Vegas
Esmeralda Co./White Mtns
Lincoln Co./Pahranagat V.

Species

Imb
rb,bk,bn
rb

rb

rb,bk,bn

rb

rb,Imb
rb,cc,Imb,stb,bg
Imb

rb,bn

rb,Imb,cr
rb,cc,Imb,bg,gs,rs
rb,Imb
rb,Imb,cc,stb,
bh,cr,gs,bg
rb,Imb,cc,stb,
bh,gs,bg
rb,cc,Imb,bg,gs
rb,bk,ct

Imb,bh
rb,bk,bn,ct
rb,bk,ct

rb,bk,ct

rb

rb
rb,cc,Imb,bg,gs,cr
rb,bk

Imb,bh,cr

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.

Check'with any Nevada Division of
Wildlife Office to get your own
Regional Fishable Waters-Map and
Angler Information Guides
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Check our fishing forecast on the web at www.ndow.org

Se encuentra un resumen de las reglas en espainol en la pagina 9.
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