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How To Use These Regulations

1. First, review the General Statewide Regulations including seasons, hours, limits,
on pages 4-9.

2. Then, consult the reference map on page 1 to find the area in which you are
interested in fishing -- Western, Eastern, or Southern Region.

3. Turn to the appropriate Region Section and review both the Regional General
Regulations and the Special Regulations for that area.

4. If fishing in a Wildlife Management Area, review pages 42-43.

5. Textin bolded italics indicates changes in regulations.
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The Nevada State Board of
Wildlife Commissioners adopts fishing
regulations under the authority of Nevada
Revised Statutes 501.105, 501.181, 503.290
and 503.300. These regulations are adopted
for the management and protection of

his regulation brochure was developed by the
Conservation Education Bureau and published
March 1, 2004. It contains only a synopsis of
the fishing and boating laws for the State of
Nevada. Complete text of the laws and
regulations may be obtained by contacting the
Nevada Department of Wildlife or by checking

Nevada’s fishery resources. our Internet site at www.ndow.org.
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Licenses and Permits

(NEvADA’s LICENSE YEAR IS MARCH 1 THROUGH FEBRUARY 28)

Resident License Fees and Permits

Qualifications for Resident Licenses. For the purpose of issuing and using resident licenses
or permits, a person is considered to be a resident of the State of Nevada if he is a citizen of, or is
lawfully entitled to remain in the United States, and during the six months preceding his application to
the Department for a license or permit, he was domiciled in this state; was physically present in this
state except for temporary absences; and did not purchase or apply for any resident license, tag or
permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province. A resident license or permit issued by
this state is void if the person to whom it was issued establishes his domicile in, and obtains any
privilege or entitlement conditional on residency from another state, country or province.

A person who is not domiciled in Nevada but who is attending an institution of higher learning in
this state as a full-time student is eligible for a resident license or permit if, during the six months
preceding his application to the Department for a license or permit, he was physically present in
Nevada except for temporary trips outside the state, and did not purchase or apply for any resident
license, tag or permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province.

Annual Fishing License -for persons 16 years of age or older $29.00
Junior Fishing License - for persons 12 through 15 years of age $13.00
Senior Fishing License - for persons 65 years of age or older with 5 years of $13.00

continuous Nevada residency

Combination Hunting and Fishing License - for persons 16 years of age or older $54.00
(Parental signature required at time of purchase for persons 16-17 years of age)

Junior Combination Hunting and Fishing License - for persons 12 through $21.00
15 years of age (Parental signature required at time of purchase)

Senior Combination Hunting and Fishing License - for persons 65 years of $21.00
age or older with 5 years of continuous Nevada residency

Short-Term Fishing Permit - valid until midnight of day specified $ 9.00
Each consecutive day added to a Short-Term Permit to Fish $ 3.00
(must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased)

Serviceman Fishing License - For Nevada resident servicemen on active duty $ 9.00

who are stationed outside of Nevada. Must show duty or leave papers at time of

purchase.

Disabled Veteran Fishing, or Combination Hunting and Fishing License - for Free
veterans residing in Nevada fox six months or longer and have incurred a 50 percent
service-connected disability. First-time applicants must submit an application available

from NDOW along with supporting documentation of the disability before the license

can be issued. Issued at NDOW offices only.

Severely Disabled Person Fishing License - for persons with a severe physi- $13.00
cal disability which materially limits gainful employement. First-time applicants must

submit an application available from NDOW, and supporting documentation of the

disability before the license can be issued. Issued at NDOW offices only.

Severely Disabled Combination Hunting & Fishing License - for persons $21.00
with a severe physical disability which materially limits gainful employement. First-

time applicants must submit an application available from NDOW, and supporting
documentation of the disability before the license can be issued. Issued at NDOW

offices only.

Native American Fishing and Hunting License - for resident Native Americans.  Free
First-time applicants must contact a Nevada tribal council to complete the certificate of
eligibility before the license can be issued. Issued at NDOW offices only.

Nevada Trout Stamp - required for any licenseholder who takes or possesses trout. $10.00
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Licenses and Permits
(NEvADA’s LICENSE YEAR IS MARCH 1 THROUGH FEBRUARY 28)
Nonresident License Fees and Permits

Combination Hunting and Fishing License - for persons 16 years of age $199.00
or older (Parental signature required at time of purchase for persons 16-17
years of age)

Annual Fishing License - For persons 16 years of age or older $69.00
Junior Fishing License - For persons 12 through 15 years of age $21.00
Short-Term Fishing Permit - Valid until midnight of day specified $18.00
Each consecutive day added to a Short-Term Permit to fish $ 7.00
(must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased)
Trout Stamp - required for any licenseholder who takes or possesses trout. $10.00
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Check with any Nevada Department of Wildlife
Office to get your own
Regional Fishable Waters Map and
Angler Information Guides

Nevada’s Free Fishing Day is June 12, 2004
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General Statewide Regulations

License Requirements: All persons fishing are subject to the license requirements listed
below. Except for some “interstate waters,” (Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Colorado River and
Lakes Mead and Mohave - see page 7), anglers 12 years of age and older are required to
obtain and possess a license to fish. Nonresident anglers under 12 years of age are not
required to have a license, but the number of fish taken by such nonresident anglers must not
exceed 50 percent of the limit as provided by law. (For instance, if the limit is five, these young
anglers may take only two fish.)

Trout Stamp: While fishing in Nevada, any person who takes or possesses trout must carry
on his person a state Trout Stamp affixed to his fishing license and validated by his signature in
ink across the face of the stamp. The Trout Stamp fee is $10.

Exceptions: While fishing in Nevada, youth under the age of 12, or any persons fishing under
the authority of a valid short-term permit to fish or during a consecutive day validly added to that
permit, are not required to obtain a Trout Stamp. A Trout Stamp is not required to fish on Free
Fishing Day.

Second Rod Stamp: Only one combination of hook, line and rod may be used by a person
at any one time unless the person purchases, in addition to his fishing license or short-term
fishing permit, a “Second Rod Stamp” which allows the person to use a second combination of
hook, line and rod. The Second Rod Stamp must be signed and affixed to the license or permit
and is valid for the period specified. A person, regardless of age, must first obtain a valid
fishing license or short-term fishing permit before he can use a Second Rod Stamp. The Sec-
ond Rod Stamp fee is $10.

Limits: “Limit” means the maximum number of game fish that may be lawfully taken and reduced
to possession by a person in one day. The “Limit” includes fish caught in Nevada which have
been processed or preserved and are stored at any location. Fish that are caught and
immediately released back to the water alive are not considered to be reduced to possession
or part of the limit. A person shall not reduce fish to possession if he already has a number of
fish in possession (including that held in freezer, creel, cooler, etc.) which equals or exceeds
the limit of the water being fished.

Limits for individual counties are specified under each Region’s General Regulations.
Limits for waters which have special limits or restrictions are listed under each Region’s Spe-
cial Regulations.

Possession Limit vs. Daily Limit?: In this state, there is no distinction between a “daily” limit
and a “possession” limit. There is simply a “limit.” There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily” limits to
establish a “possession” limit. An angler may not have more than one limit in possession. For
example, if an angler fishes one body of water where the limit is four trout and takes his limit, he
may not then move to a body of water where the limit is two trout and keep any more fish. If he
wants to keep fish from the water with the lower limit of two, he should fish there first, then move
to the other water and catch the two additional fish to reach the limit of four. Likewise, if an
angler fishes the same body of water two days in a row, he may not take the limit the first day
then go back and keep fish again the second day unless he has first consumed or given away
some portion of his first day’s catch.

v
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General Statewide Regulations

Size Limit: Unless otherwise noted under Region General
Regulations or Region Special Regulations, there is no size limit.
Where size limits do apply, this shall mean the total length of the fish
including the head and tail, measured as illustrated in the diagram. —Total length

Filleting Fish: Where size limits apply, fish may not be filleted before transport. Where no

size limits apply, fish may be filleted before transport if the fillets are kept in one piece so that the
total number of fish may be determined.

Seasons and Hours: Unless otherwise noted under Region Special Regulations, the season

is open year around and fishing hours are any time of the day or night. Where specified, “open
season” includes the first and last day designated.

Methods of Fishing: Except as noted under “Unprotected Fish” and “Spearfishing” below,

fish may be taken only with hook and line attached to rod or reel and closely attended in the
manner known as angling. Unless a person has a valid second rod stamp, only one combination
of hooks, line, and rod may be used at any one time. No more than three baited hooks, nor more
than three fly hooks, or two lures or plugs irrespective of the number of hooks or attractor blades
attached thereto, may be attached to the line. Some waters have further restrictions.

Spearfishing: Persons may spearfish for unprotected fish in all Nevada waters except Lake

Tahoe and Topaz Lake. Persons may spearfish for striped bass in Lake Mead and Lake Mohave
from Cottonwood Cove to the cable below Hoover Dam. Spearfishing for striped bass is
prohibited in that portion of Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis Dam and from Davis
Dam down river to the Nevada state line. In Lakes Mead and Mohave and the Colorado River
system, spearfishing is prohibited within 1/2 mile of any dock or swimming area. When
spearfishing, a person must display, within 100 feet, an appropriate diver’s flag. A mechanical
spearing device may be used only under the surface of the water, and the spear must be attached
to the device by a lanyard.

Artificial Lures: “Artificial Lures” means any device with a hook or hooks attached which is
made partly or entirely of rubber, wood, metal, glass, plastic or feathers. (Please note: “Power
Bait ®” or similar products are not considered artificial lures).

Only artificial lures may be used in the following waters:

1. Crittenden Reservoir in Elko County.

2. The Collection Ditch at Ruby Lake NWR in Elko County.

3. Hinkson Slough on the Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area in Lyon County.

4. Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka County.

Artificial Lures with Single Barbless Hooks: A “single barbless hook” means a fish hook
having one point, manufactured without barbs or on which the barbs have been bent
completely closed or filed off. Double or treble hooks having a common shank are not a
single barbless hook even when the barbs are closed or filed off. When single barbless
hooks are required, only one single barbless hook may be attached to each hook eye or ring

of the lure.
l .'.-_. .r_--" '

Continued on page 6
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General Statewide Regulations

Continued from page 5

ONLY ARTIFICIAL LURES WITH SINGLE BARBLESS HOOKS MAY BE USED IN
THESE WATERS:
Spooner Lake in Douglas County.
Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County.
Hobart Reservoir, its tributaries and Franktown Creek downstream to Red House.
Truckee River and diversion ditches and tributaries above the 1-80 bridge, which is
upstream from Crystal Peak Park to the California state line.
Catnip Reservoir in Washoe County.
South Fork of the Humboldt River from the access causeway for the Lucky Nugget
subdivision upstream to Lee.
East Walker River from 1/4 mile above the confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to 1/2 mile below the confluence of the East Walker
River and Red Wash Creek.
Beaver Dam Creek in Lincoln County.
Schroeder Reservoir in Lincoln County.

Using Fish for Bait: Please see pages 8-9. Game fish and protected species of fish may not
be used as bait.

Chumming: “Chumming” means placing fish, parts of fish, or other material upon which
fish feed, in the water for the purpose of attracting fish to a particular area so that they may
be taken. Chumming is prohibited in Lake Tahoe, Topaz Lake, Crittenden Reservoir, Spooner
Lake, and the entire Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

Ice Fishing: For the purposes of ice fishing, holes cut through the ice must not exceed 10
inches in diameter.

Unprotected Fish: Unprotected fish are all species not classified as game or protected
(game fish are listed below). Unprotected fish may be taken by bow and arrow, hook and line,
dipnet, cast net, minnow seine or minnow trap, and, except where prohibited, by spear.

Coldwater Game Fish (see pages 22-23): Coldwater game fish are: Bonneville cutthroat

trout, Lahontan cutthroat trout, Snake River (Yellowstone) cutthroat trout, Kokanee salmon, Atlantic
salmon, brook trout, brown trout, bull trout, lake trout, rainbow trout, redband trout, mountain
whitefish, and any hybrid thereof.

Warmwater Game Fish (see pages 22-23): Warmwater game fish are: northern pike, black

bullhead, brown bullhead, channel catfish, white catfish, striped bass, white bass, largemouth black
bass, smallmouth black bass, spotted bass, black crappie, white crappie, yellow perch, Sacramento
perch, bluegill sunfish, green sunfish, redear sunfish, walleye, and any hybrid thereof.

Protected Fish and Amphibians: Protected fish and amphibians are those species listed in

NAC 503.065, 503.075 and 503.067. There is no open season on fish or amphibians classified
as protected. For a list of protected fish and amphibians, check our website at www.ndow.org.

v
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General Statewide Regulations

Bullfrogs: There is no license requirement or limit on bullfrogs, if they are taken by gig, spear,
bow and arrow, or by hand. However, a license is required to take bullfrogs by hook and line.
Season is open year around anytime of the day or night in waters that are open to fishing or

frogging.
Crayfish: Afishing license is required for those 12 and older to take crayfish by hand or trap.
There is no limit on crayfish, but they may not be taken for commercial purposes.

License Requirements for Interstate Waters

Lake Tahoe and Topaz Reservoir - Persons under 16 years of age are not required to have
afishing license. Persons 16 years of age or older must have either a Nevada fishing license
and a Trout Stamp; a Nevada short-term fishing permit, or a California fishing license.

Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the Colorado River- Persons under the age of 14 are not
required to have a fishing license or permit to fish in these waters.

When fishing from the Nevada shore of Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, or the Colorado River,
persons 14 years of age or older must possess one of the following:

(1) A Nevada fishing license; or

(2) A Nevada short-term fishing permit; or

(3) An Arizona license with an Arizona Special Use Stamp; or

(4) An Arizona “Class E” (Colorado River) fishing license with an Arizona Special

Use Stamp.

When fishing these waters from a boat, other floating device, or from the Arizona shore-
line, persons 14 years of age or older must possess one of the following:
1) A Nevada fishing license with a Nevada Special Use Stamp; or
2) A Nevada short-term fishing permit with a Nevada Special Use Stamp; or
3) An Arizona fishing license with an Arizona Special Use Stamp; or
4) An Arizona “Class E” (Colorado River) fishing license with an Arizona Special

Use Stamp.

The fee for the Nevada Special Use Stamp is $3 and it is valid from March 1 through the
last day of the following February.

In addition to a Nevada fishing license, a Nevada Trout Stamp is required to take or pos-
sess trout while fishing these waters from the Nevada shore or from a boat or other floating
device.
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General Regulations Concerning Bait

The Capture, Transport and Use of Bait:
Any person possessing a fishing license
or permit, or otherwise exempted from such
licenses, may capture, transport and use bait
for fishing or personal consumption except
that the use of game fish or protected spe-
cies of fish for bait is prohibited. Aquatic bait
(such as live unprotected amphibians, cray-
fish, clams and snails) may be used only in
the water from which it is taken. Aquatic bait
and live bait fish (live unprotected species of
freshwater fish) may be transported from one
river basin to another or from one area of this
state to another only as provided in the ap-
propriate regional regulation as noted below.
Any bait obtained from a licensed dealer in
live bait fish must be accompanied by a cur-
rently dated receipt issued by that dealer.
NOTE: Artificial lure-only waters are
listed on page 5 - 6.

Western Region Bait Regulations

In the Carson River Basin from Quilici
Dam (12 miles below Dayton) above
Lahontan Reservoir downstream to and in-
cluding Lahontan Reservoir, the Carson River
below Lahontan Dam and all of the waters
within Lahontan Valley, Churchill County: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), speckled dace,
Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, mosquitofish,
carp, tui chub, Sacramento blackfish, fathead
minnows and Paiute sculpin may be used as
live bait fish. Fish used as live bait may be
taken only from the Carson or Truckee River
Basins in Carson City or Churchill, Douglas,
Lyon, Storey or Washoe Counties or pur-
chased only from a dealer who is licensed in
this state and authorized to sell live bait fish
for use in the Carson River Basin.

In the area of the Carson River Basin
from the boundary between California and
Nevada to Quilici Dam: only Lahontan

redside (shiner), speckled dace, Tahoe sucker,
mountain sucker and mosquitofish may be used
as live bait fish. Fish used as live bait may be
taken only from the Carson River above Quilici
Dam or purchased from a dealer who is licensed
in this state and authorized to sell live bait fish
for use in the Carson River Basin.

In the Humboldt River Basin from Stahl
Diversion Dam (near Golconda, Humboldt
County) to and including Rye Patch Reservoir,
the Pitt-Taylor and Chimney Reservoirs, the
Humboldt River below Rye Patch Dam and all
waters of the Humboldt River in Lovelock Val-
ley, Pershing and Churchill Counties: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), tui chub, speckled
dace, Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, Sacra-
mento blackfish, fathead minnows and carp
may be used as live bait fish. Fish used as live
bait in this area may only be taken from the
Humboldt River and its tributaries or purchased
from a dealer who is licensed in this state and
authorized to sell live bait fish for use in the Hum-
boldt River Basin.

In the waters of Lake Tahoe and its
tributaries located in Carson City, Douglas and
Washoe Counties: only Lahontan redside
(shiner), tui chub, Tahoe sucker, mountain
sucker, Paiute sculpin and speckled dace may
be used as live bait fish. Fish used here as live
bait may be taken only from, and must be native
to, Lake Tahoe and its tributaries.

In the main Walker River from the bridge
of the S.P. Railroad near Wabuska, downstream
to and including Weber Reservoir and the lower
Walker River down to and including Walker
Lake: only Lahontan redside (shiner), tui chub,
speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker,
carp and mosquitofish may be used as live bait.
Fish used as live bait here may only be taken
from the Walker River Basin in Lyon or Mineral
Counties or purchased from a dealer who is
licensed in this state and authorized to sell live
bait fish for use in the Walker River Basin. The

use of fish as bait, whether alive or dead, or
Continued on page 9
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General Regulations Concerning Bait

Continued from page 8

parts thereof, is prohibited in the ponds and
sloughs of the Mason Valley Wildlife
Management Area and the Fort Churchill
Cooling Ponds.

In the lower Truckee River Basin which
includes the Truckee River and its tributaries
from below the [-80 bridge located upstream
from Crystal Peak Park in Verdi, downstream
including Paradise Ponds, Virginia Lake, and
Washoe Lake and Fernley Wildlife Manage-
ment Area, to, but excluding Pyramid Lake: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), speckled dace,
Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, Paiute sculpin,
mosquitofish, tui chub, fathead minnows and
carp may be used as live bait fish. Fish used
as live bait may only be taken from the Truckee
River or its tributaries or be purchased from a
dealer licensed in this state and authorized to
sell live bait fish for use in the Truckee River
Basin.

In the Truckee River upstream from the
[-80 bridge, which is above Crystal Peak Park
in Verdi to the California state line, only artifi-
cial lures with single barbless hooks may be
used. Only one single barbless hook may be
attached to each hook eye orring of the lure. In
all other waters of this region, the capture, pos-
session while fishing or the use of fish as bait,
whether dead or alive, or parts thereof, other
than preserved salmon eggs is prohibited.

Eastern Region Bait Regulations

Within this region, which includes Elko,
Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties,
while fishing in this region, the possession or
use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive or
any parts thereof except for preserved salmon
eggs, is prohibited. Other aquatic bait (live,
unprotected salamanders, waterdogs, frogs,
crayfish, clams and snails may be used only
in the water from which it is taken.

Southern Region Bait Regulations

In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the
Colorado River located in Clark County, only
golden shiner, fathead minnow, mosquitofish,
red shiner, threadfin shad, carp and goldfish
may be used as live bait fish. Other forms of
aquatic and animal life, such as the waterdog,
grasshopper, earthworm and crayfish may
also be used as bait. A licensed person may
purchase live baitfish from a licensed bait
dealer in Arizona, California or Nevada, or he
may for his own use, take such baitfish with a
dipnet, a cast net with a radius not exceeding
three feet from horn to leadline,
a seine not exceeding 10 feet in
length and four feet in width, or
a minnow trap not exceeding 12
inches in width, 12 inches in
depth and 24 inches in length. In
all other waters of this region the
capture, possession while fish-
ing or use of fish as bait, whether
dead or alive, or parts thereof,
other than preserved
salmon eggs is prohib-
ited.
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Hatchery Refurbishments Under Way

By Geoff Schneider

An extensive hatchery refurbishment
project is now well under way at Lake Mead
Hatchery in Clark County, while another refur-
bishment project is just getting off the ground
at Gallagher Hatchery in Ruby Valley in Elko
County.

Dave Sanger, staff specialist with the
Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW), says
a frenzy of construction activity is taking place
at Lake Mead Hatchery, which is located along
the shoreline of Lake Mead near Boulder City.

The $8 million renovation includes con-
struction of new raceways incorporating
supplemented oxygen, residences for hatch-
ery workers, office and workshop modifica-
tions and a new hatchery visitors center.

Even though the hatchery is not currently
producing fish, NDOW is stick-

will be located inside the building. The renova-
tion will also see the refurbishment of the final 16
ponds located outside the building.

A new drum filter system is being added to
the existing settling pond system that will filter
the water before it is returned to Lake Mead.

The Lake Mead Hatchery Visitor Center will
be expanded to approximately four times its cur-
rent size. Interpretive displays focusing on
aquatic wildlife and habitats will be installed for
hatchery visitors and school groups.

Plans call for trout eggs to be brought to the
hatchery in the fall of 2004. Fish produced from
those eggs should be ready to be planted into
lakes and streams in 2005.

The refurbishment of Gallagher Hatchery
follows closely on the heels of the Lake Mead
Hatchery project. The first

ing to its normal stocking
schedule for the Southern Re-
gion with fish supplied by the
agency’s other hatcheries and
with fish purchased from com-
mercial suppliers. In mostin-
stances, trout are being
trucked hundreds of miles for
stocking in the region.

Sanger said Lake Mead Hatchery was
builtin 1972 and the hatchery was showing its
age after more than three decades of continu-
ous operation. The renovations will allow the
hatchery to produce healthier fish at a lower
cost.

A new state-of-the-art incubator system
will significantly increase the survivability of
newly hatched fish through better water circu-
lation. After the fish reach twoinches in length,
they will be moved to new fiberglass nursery
ponds that will be located inside the building.
Locating the ponds inside should significantly
reduce the loss of fish to birds and produce
healthier fish that grow at a faster rate.

When the fish are six inches long, they
will be moved into 24 new rearing ponds that

NDOW employees stocking
some hatchery-raised fish

phase, which was com-
pleted in October 2003,
provided a schematic de-
sign and gave decision
makers a general idea of
work that will be done at
the hatchery. Actual con-
struction on the hatchery
begins this spring and will
continue over two consecutive warm weather
periods, with completion set for late 2005.

Some elements of Gallagher Hatchery’s
refurbishment, including residence construction,
power routing and demolition, have already be-
gun.

“The hatchery refurbishment projects are an
exciting pointin the history of trout culture in Ne-
vada,” said Sanger. “By employing careful plan-
ning and review during the hatchery reconstruc-
tion process, we anticipate the end result to be
quality trout, raised in state-of-the-art, safe facili-
ties that will maximize Nevada’s limited water
resources and meet the informational and re-
source needs of residents and visitors to our
state.”

v
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Operation Game Thief Nabs Poachers

By Edwin Lyngar and Jill Olson

Poachers take resources from Nevada
citizens, and the Operation Game Thief (OGT)
Program was designed to give Nevadans a
tool to fight back.

Nevada Department of Wildlife Chief of
Law Enforcement Rob Buonamici says that
historically, there has been tremendous inter-
estin the program by the public. Most hunters
and anglers readily call when they observe vio-
lations, and as a result, certain kinds of wild-
life crimes have been in decline.

Operation Game Thief, created in 1982
to protect Nevada’s wildlife resources, allows
anyone with information about a wildlife crime
to call the toll-free hotline at 1-800-992-3030,
or log on to www.stoppoaching.org to anony-
mously place a report at any time. Case num-
bers are assigned so those who report a crime
can get status reports on the case. Once a
report is filed, a warden begins an investiga-
tion. One simple tip may be the key to crack-
ing a case that may have been pending for
years.

Poaching, or taking wildlife unlawfully, is
against the law and the crime can lead to seri-
ous repercussions. Wardens can confiscate

Nevada Game Warden Dave Patula
performs a routine license check

the poacher’s equip-
ment and charge the
violator with a gross
misdemeanor.

Poachers may
also face up to $2,000
in criminal fines and
$5,000 in civil fines. Poaching crimes in-
clude killing an animal without a tag or per-
mit; killing an animal and leaving it to waste;
and taking or possessing live wildlife like a
hawk or falcon without a permit.

The OGT toll-free 800 number receives
between 200 and 350 calls a year. Even
when those calls don’t result in catching a
poacher, there is an intangible benefit to get-
ting the information. Game wardens are able
to build a pattern of calls to track problem
areas and issues. A prime example is
Spooner Lake in northern Nevada that ex-
perienced increased calls to the OGT num-
ber. Game wardens built a pattern from the
calls and officers were able to patrol during
peak times, effectively solving a problem with
a person taking an overlimit of fish.

Arrests and citations are not the only
way to deal with potential and actual wildlife
violations. Educational signs, increased pa-
trols and public outreach are all used to com-
bat illegal hunting and fishing.

Despite the successes, any 21-year-
old program needs new ideas to keep it
fresh, and the law enforcement bureau at
NDOW is working to keep this program ex-
citing.

OGT is critical to NDOW'’s law enforce-
ment bureau which has only 35 game war-
dens to patrol the seventh largest state in
the union. “We can’t do it without public sup-
port,” said Buonamici.
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Sport Fish Restoration - A Partnership

By Mark Warren, Fisheries Staff Specialist

As Americans, we all pay taxes, but have only a rough idea of where all this money goes.
We know there are roads to drive on, schools for our children, and firemen and policemen for
emergencies. Inthe United States, sportsmen and women pay a 10 percent excise tax on the
majority of the hunting and fishing equipment that are purchased, as well as a tax on outboard
motor fuel. This tax is collected by the Treasury Department and is then distributed to the
states based on their number of licenses sold and landmass.

These taxes are used for the Wildlife Restoration (game) and Sport Fish Restoration
(fish) programs that have been around for more than 50 years. The Sport Fish Program,
created in 1950 and then expanded in 1984, was designed to increase sport fishing and
boating opportunities through the wise investment of angler and boater’s tax dollars in state
fishery development projects. The federal allocation is then matched with state money ob-
tained from the sale of fishing licenses.

Up to 15 percent of the Sport Fish Restoration money may be used for aquatic educa-
tion, and 15 percent must be used for boating access. The Nevada Department of Wildlife’s
(NDOW) 2003 Fiscal Year allocation of this money amounted to almost $3.5 million. So
where does all this money go? In Nevada, the majority (38 percent) is spent for our hatchery
program, 35 percent on fisheries
management, 10 percent on hatch-
ery refurbishment, nine percent on
habitat, seven percent on conserva-
tion education and one percent for
a federal aid coordinator.

Nevada currently has three fish
hatcheries: Gallagher in Ruby Valley
(60 miles from Elko), Mason Valley
(near Yerington) and Lake Mead : :
(near Las Vegas). The state also T eeat. & "&—‘r.:-."f'f"':' .
UEERCLENEENL B ENN RSN | NDOW Fisheries biologists at Marlette Lake
Creek, OUtSide Of Baker. Altogether for the spring spawn-j-'b_g_ 6pe':a'_tton —
they produce more than two million . e e o
trout annually. These fish are then
stocked into some 132 different waters across the state, usually between March and June,
then again between September and October when waters cool down. In 2002, NDOW stocked
mainly rainbow trout, but brook trout, brown trout, cutthroat trout and bowcut trout (rainbow x
cutthroat hybrid) were also planted.

The refurbishment of our state hatcheries is a $22 million, five-year project. Work is
currently under way at the Lake Mead Hatchery, Gallagher, and Mason Valley Hatcheries. The
Spring Creek Rearing Station will eventually follow. This work will ensure that facilities can
continue to support stocking programs statewide.

Seven percent of the $3.5 million pie that goes towards conservation education is used
to support NDOW'’s angler education program, support the Trout in the Classroom program,
and pay for publication of fisheries related articles, news releases and update the website
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and development of the fishing regulations. NDOW’s angler education instructors offer a vari-
ety of free angling classes for youngsters and adults alike ranging from beginning angling to
advanced fly fishing. The Trout in the Classroom program provides a fish tank, chiller, and 100
trout eggs to regional classrooms whose teachers have applied and undergone a training
program. Students in these classes then get to learn and observe first hand the hatching
process. “Trout in the Classroom” represents a partnership between local fishing clubs, pri-
vate funding and NDOW.

In addition to paying salaries and purchasing equipment, the 35 percent that is spent on
fisheries management is also used towards purchasing warmwater fish. All four of our hatch-
ery facilities are dedicated to the production of trout (coldwater fish), whereas the majority of

z the warmwater fish stocked in Nevada come
from out-of-state sources. In 2003, over one
. . i million walleye fry were purchased and
LS CUZIUC I <tocked into Lahontan, Rye Patch and Chim-
Gallagher Hatchery ney Reservoirs. A little over 70,000 catchable
sized channel catfish were released into vari-
ous “put-and-take” summer fisheries in the Las
Vegas and Boulder City areas. In addition, a
little over 5,000 wipers were planted into
Washoe Lake, Rye Patch, Wildhorse and
South Fork Reservoirs. Warmwater fish are
at times, also procured from other states by
Nevada biologists and stocked into appropriate waters. As an example, in 2002, spotted
bass were electrofished from California’s Shasta Lake and then stocked into the Sparks Ma-
rina Pond through a cooperative agreement between the Nevada Department of Wildlife, the
Great Basin Bassers and the California Department of Fish and Game.

The 15 percent of the federal allocation that annually goes towards the boating access
program has been responsible for greatly improving boating facilities across the state. Re-
cent projects include the new restrooms and showers at Rye Patch Reservoir and new boat
launching facilities (ramps) at Lahontan, Wildhorse and Topaz Reservoirs. A solar powered
fish cleaning facility at Cave Lake near Ely was recently completed. This facility is the first such
project in the United States. In 2003, due to the dropping lake levels at Lake Mead, approxi-
mately $500,000 was used by the National Park Service to extend the lake’s boat ramps.

NDOW fishery biologists that work in the field actively manage some 70 ponds, lakes and
reservoirs around the state as well as numerous rivers and a multitude of streams. Manage-
ment activities include angler surveys, fish
population inventories and stocking, habi-
tat management, water quality analysis and
water managementissues. This informa-
tion is then used to fine-tune the individual
waters in order to provide Nevada anglers
with the best recreational experience pos-
sible. That'’s your fishing dollar at work in
Nevada!
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NEVADA TROPHY FISH ENTRY FORM

(Please Print Neatly)
Kind of fish caught Date caught

Weight Ibs. oz. Length (total)inches____ Girth inches

Water where caught

Specific Location (i.e. cove or landmark) in County, Nevada

Type of Tackle Lure or bait

Name of Angler Age

Mailing Address

City State Zip Code

Telephone

Measurements witnessed by:

1. Name Address

2.Name Address

ENTER YOUR FISH - IT MAY BE A TROPHY!
NEVADA’S TROPHY FISH PROGRAM

The following minimum weight qualifications are established for the various species of fish in the Nevada
Trophy Fish Program. Each entry which meets the minimum qualifications will receive a Trophy Fish Certifi-
cate. The largest entry of the year for each species will receive a Record Nevada Fish Certificate. Trophy Fish
Plaques will be awarded to those entries which establish a new state record.

1. Largemouth Bass 5 Ibs. - - -
2. Smallmouth Bass 3 Ibs. For a fish to be considered in the Nevada
3. Spotted Bass 2 Ibs. : H .
4. Striped Bass 20 Ibe. Trophy Fish Program the following must apply:
5. White Bass 2 Ibs. 1. Fish must be taken legally from Nevada waters.
6. Carp 15 Ibs. 2. Weight is to be taken of whole fish before freezing.
7. Bullhead Catfish 11b. 3. Length is to be measured from tip of nose to tip of tail.
8. Channel Catfish 10 Ibs. 4 M t tb it d by t th
9 White Catfish 4 Ibs. - Measurements must be witnessed by two other persons,
10. Black Crappie 2 Ibs. at least one of whom must not be a relative of angler
1. White Crappie 2 Ibs. entering contest.
12. Arctic Grayling 051b. 5. Angler must provide positive means of identifying the
13. Sacramento Perch 2 Ibs. . f fish and includ d te phot h*
14. Yellow Perch 05 b, species of fish and include an adequate photograph.
15. Northern Pike 10 Ibs. 6. Entry must be made within calendar year of date caught to
16. Kokanee Salmon 2 Ibs. be included in that year’s contest.
1;- S'I'L‘J’s;iﬁas"lj‘;i’;h ?I'ES- 7. If the fish being entered is a possible Nevada State
19. Green Sunfish 05 Ib. Record, fl_s_h must be weighed ona scale whlc_h has
20. Redear Sunfish 05 Ib. been certified as accurate. The fish must be witnessed
g; 3’00" TTm“tt g I'ES- by a Nevada Department of Wildlife employee.

. brown I . . . . .
23 Cu(;throat ?rl:out 10 |b: *All photos submitted may be used in NDQW publications
24. Bull Trout 0.5 Ib. and on the agency website unless otherwise requested.
25. Mackinaw Trout 10 Ibs.
26. Rainbow Trout 5 Ibs. A . .
27. Rainbow/Cutthroat Hybrid Trout 10 Ibs. M_a'l entries and photos to:
28. Tiger Trout 2 Ibs. Fisheries Bureau
29. Walleye 6 Ibs = A
30. Mt Whitefish . Nevada Department of Wildlife
31. Wiper (White/Striped Bass Hybrid) 5 Ibs. 1100 VaIIey Rd.
32. Tiger Muskie 5 Ibs.

Reno, Nevada 89512
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Record Fish of Nevada
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Western Region General Reference Map
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Western Region Office Note: This map depicts the
1100 Valley Road Western Region fishable waters
Reno, NV 89512 corresponding with the chart on

(775) 688-1500 adjacent page.

The Western Region includes the nine counties of northwestern Nevada: Carson City,
Churchill, Douglas, Humboldt, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey and Washoe. Several popular
fishing waters are located within this region including Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Walker
Lake, Pyramid Lake, and the Truckee, Carson and Walker River systems. Waters that are
popular for warmwater species are Lahontan, Chimney and Rye Patch Reservoirs, Humboldt
River, Washoe Lake, Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area and several canals and drains
in the Lahontan Valley.
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Western Region Fishable Waters

Body of Water

Big Springs Reservoir
Bilk Creek Reservoir
Blue Lakes

Boulder Reservoir
Carson River, East Fork
Carson River, West Fork
Catnip Reservoir
Chimney Dam Reservoir
Davis Creek Park Pond
Desert Creek

Dufurrena Ponds

Fort Churchill Pond
Hobart Reservoir
Humboldt River
Humboldt River

Knott Creek Reservoir
Lahontan Reservoir

Lake Tahoe

Liberty Pond

Little Humboldt River, NF
Martin Creek

Marilyn’s Pond

Mountain View Park Pond
North Pond, Mason Valley
Onion Valley Reservoir
Paradise Park Pond
Pyramid Lake

Quinn River, East Fork
Rye Patch Reservoir
Sparks Marina Pond
Spooner Lake

Squaw Creek Reservoir
Star Creek

Topaz Reservoir
Truckee Canal

Truckee River

Virginia Lake

Walker Lake

Walker River

Walker River, East Fork
Walker River, West Fork
Wall Canyon Reservoir
Washoe Lake

Weber Reservoir

Whites and Thomas Creek

Wilson Comon Pond

County/Location

Humboldt Co./Sheldon

Humboldt Co./Bilk C. Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Washoe Co./Boulder Mtn.
Douglas Co./Carson Range
Carson, Lyon, Douglas, Churchill
Washoe Co./Sheldon

Humboldt Co./Little Humboldt River
Washoe Co./Washoe Valley

Lyon Co./Sweetwater Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Sheldon

Lyon Co./Mason Valley

Washoe Co./Carson Range
Humboldt Co.

Pershing Co.

Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Churchill Co./Lahontan Valley

Carson City/Douglas/Washoe
Churchill Co./Fallon

Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns.
Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns.
Washoe Co.

Lyon Co./Yerington

Lyon Co.

Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range
Washoe Co./Reno

Washoe Co./Near Nixon
Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns
Pershing Co.

Washoe Co./Sparks

Washoe Co./Carson Range
Washoe Co./Near Gerlach
Pershing Co./Humboldt Range
Douglas Co./Highway 395

Lyon Co./Fernley
Washoe/Storey Co.

Washoe Co./Reno

Mineral Co.

Lyon/Mineral Co.

Lyon Co./Walker River Valley
Lyon/Douglas Co.

Washoe Co./North of Gerlach
Washoe Co./Washoe Valley
Mineral Co./Walker River
Washoe Co./Carson Range
Washoe Co./Washoe Valley

Species

rb

rb,bc

rb,bk,ct,bc

rb

rb,bn
rb,bn,bh,cc,wc,gs,yp,wp
ct

rb,wp,cc,cr

rb

rb,bn,bk
Imb,cr,yp,gs,rs
Imb,cc,bg,rs

rb,bk,bc
Imb,smb,cc,bh,cr,wp,bg
Imb,cc,wp,smb,sb,wi
rb,bc

rb,cc,bh,Imb, wb
sb,yp,wp,wc,cr,wi
rb,bn,mt ks
rb,cc,wc,bg
rb,bk,bn,ct

rb,bn

rb

rb

rb,bn,Imb,bg

rb,bk

rb,bn,cc

ct, sp

rb, bk, bn
rb,cc,wp,Imb,sb,cr,bh,wc,wi
rb,bn,cc

ct,bn

rb,bn,Imb,sb,bh

rb

rb,bn,bc,bh

rb
rb,bn,ct,w,cc,Imb,bh,gs
rb,bn,cc,bc

ct

Imb,cc,wc,bh,bg
rb,bn,w

rb,bn,w

rb,bn,bc,smb
cc,bh,wb,sp,wi
Imb,cc,wc,cr

rb,bk

rb

Species Abbreviations

bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn

bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr

cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=Imb
mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb

rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc

redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp

spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb
tiger muskie=tm
tiger trout=tt

smallmouth bass=smb

walleye=wp
white bass=wb
white catfish=wc
whitefish=w
wiper=wi

yellow perch=yp

* Fishable waters not

labeled on map.
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Western Region General Regulations

Important Note: Within the Western Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Western Region
Special Regulations” on pages 19-21. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Western Region General Seasons/Hours: Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

Western Region Limits: Except as noted under “Special Regulations” on pages 19-21,
the limits are as follows:

Carson City, Douglas County, Mineral
County, Storey County and Washoe
County: The limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain
whitefish, and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 5 may be black bass.

Churchill County and Lyon County: The
limitis 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
5 may be black bass and 5 may be walleye.

Humboldt County: The limit is 10 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 5 may be black bass and 5 may be wall-
eye.

Pershing County: The limitis 10 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 5 may be black bass, 5 may be walleye,
and 5 may be white bass or white bass hy-
brids which are over 14 inches in length. White
bass or white bass hybrids under 14 inches
may be included in the 15 game fish limit.

Artificial Lure Waters: See pages 5-6.
Bait Regulations: See pages 8-9.
Closed Waters: See page 21.
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Western Region Special Regulations

Big Springs Reservoir in Humboldt
County: Season is open the second Satur-
day in May through the last day of February, any
hour of the day or night. Limitis 5 trout.

Bilk Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County:
Season is open year around any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Blue Lakes in Humboldt County: Season
is open the second Saturday in June through
November 15, any hour of the day or night. Limit
is 5 trout. Only boats without motors are permit-
ted and area is closed to vehicular traffic.

Catnip Reservoir, Tributaries and Outlet
Stream in Washoe County: Season is open
September 1 through November 15, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is O trout, catch and
release fishing only. Only artificial lures with
single barbless hooks may be used.

East Walker River in Lyon County: Season
is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5
may be black bass except in that portion of the
East Walker River which is from %2 mile above
the confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to 72 mile be-
low the confluence of the East Walker River and
Red Wash Creek which is catch and release
fishing only. Only artificial lures with single
barbless hooks may be used.

Fort Churchill Cooling Pond Cooperative
Management Area in Lyon County: Season
is open the second Saturday in February
through September 30, 1 hour before sunrise
to 2 hours after sunset. Limitis 15 game fish of
which not more than 2 may be black bass. Mini-
mum size for black bass is 14 inches. Fishing
is prohibited from the center dike and posted
areas. Wading or the use of boats and other
floating devices is prohibited.

Hobart Reservoir and Tributaries and
Franktown Creek downstream from
Hobart Reservoir to Red House in Washoe
County: Season is open May 1 through Sep-
tember 30, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours
after sunset. Limitis 5 trout, only one of which
is longer than 14 inches. Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.

Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt
County: Season is open from the second
Saturday in June through November 15. Limit
is 1 trout, minimum size 18 inches. Hours are
any time of the day or night. Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.
Boats must be operated at a speed that leaves
a flat wake.

Lahontan Reservoir, Carson River and all
waters in Lahontan Valley, plus the Carson
River downstream of Dayton in Churchill
and Lyon Counties: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except for
the Lahontan Dam spilling pool (bowl) which
is closed to fishing. Limitis 5 trout, 10 moun-
tain whitefish, and 15 warmwater game fish
of which not more than 5 may be walleye, and
5 may be black bass. However in accordance
with the Nevada State Health Division advi-
sory, the Department of Wildlife recommends
no consumption of fish from Lahontan Reser-
voir, the Carson River below Dayton, and all
waters in Lahontan Valley due to elevated
mercury levels found in game fish and carp.
NOTE: Stillwater NWR is closed to fishing due
to health advisory.

Continued on page 20
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Western Region Special Regulations

Continued from page 19

Lake Tahoe and tributaries in Washoe, Dou-
glas, and Carson City Counties: Season is
open year around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2
hours after sunset, except for the following
closed areas: Within a 200 yard radius of the
mouths of Third, Incline, and Wood Creeks;
500 yard radius from Sand Harbor Boat
Ramp; and within the boat launch area inside
the jetty at Cave Rock Boat Ramp. Limits are
5 game fish of which not more than 2 may be
mackinaw (lake trout).

Liberty Pond in Churchill County: Sea-
son is open year around, during public park
hours. Limit is 5 game fish.

Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area
in Lyon County: Season is open the sec-
ond Saturday in February through Septem-
ber 30, any hour of the day or night on the
following waters: Bass, Crappie, North
Ponds, Beaver Slough, and that portion of
the Walker River within the Mason Valley Wild-
life Management Area. Limit is 5 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 2 may be black bass. Minimum size for
black bass is 14 inches. Hinkson Slough:
Same season as above; limit is 2 trout and
15 warmwater gamefish of which not more
than 2 may be black bass. Minimum size for
trout is 16 inches, minimum size for black
bass is 14 inches. Eastside Waterfowl Se-
ries Ponds: Season is open Aug. 16- Sept.
30, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not
more than 2 may be black bass. Minimum
size for black bass is 14 inches. All other
waters of the Mason Valley Wildlife Manage-
ment Area are closed.

Onion Valley Reservoir in Humboldt County:
Season is open the second Saturday in June
through November 15, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout.

Ross Gold Pond in Carson City: Season is
open during public park hours. Limitis 3 game
fish.

Rye Patch Reservoir and Humboldt River
in Pershing County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limitis 25
game fish of which not more than 5 may be trout,
5 may be walleye, 5 may be black bass and 5
may be white bass or white bass hybrids over
14 inches. White bass or white bass hybrids
under 14 inches may be included in the 25 game
fish limit.

Spooner Lake in Douglas County: Season
is open year around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2
hours after sunset. Catch and release fishing
only. Only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used.

Topaz Canal and West Walker River in Dou-
glas County: Season is open year around any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 10 moun-
tain whitefish, and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 5 may be black bass.

Topaz Lake in Douglas County: Season is
open January 1 through September 30, 1 hour
before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset, except
for the area within the jetties of Topaz Marina
which is closed to fishing. Limitis 5 trout, 10
mountain whitefish and 15 warmwater game fish
of which not more than 5 may be black bass.

Continued on page 21
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Western Region Special Regulations

Continued from page 20

Truckee River, its Diversion Ditches and
Tributaries above the 1-80 bridge, which is
upstream from Crystal Peak Park (in Verdi),
to the California state line in Washoe
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limitis 2 trout and 10 moun-
tain whitefish. Minimum size for trout is 14
inches. Only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used.

Truckee River and Tributaries from below
the 1-80 bridge which is upstream from Crys-
tal Peak Park in Verdi in Washoe and Storey
Counties: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night except for the area within
1,000 feet downstream of Derby Dam which is
closed to fishing. Limitis 5 trout, 10 mountain
whitefish, and 15 warmwater gamefish of which
not more than 5 may be black bass.

West Walker River in Douglas and Lyon
Counties: Season is open year around any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 10
mountain whitefish, and 15 warmwater game
fish of which not more than 5 may be black
bass.

Washoe County Urban Ponds: Sparks
Marina Pond, Davis Creek Pond, Marilyn’s
Pond, Paradise Pond, Virginia Lake, Idlewild
Ponds, Rancho San Rafael Pond, and Wil-
son Commons: Season is open year around,
during public park hours. Limitis 5 game fish,
of which not more than 2 may be black bass.

Washoe Lake in Washoe County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 10 game fish of which not
more than 5 may be catfish. (Scripps Wild-
life Management Area is closed to trespass
February 1 through June 30).

Carson City: Marlette Lake, its tributaries and outlet
stream Marlette Creek.

Douglas County: Lake Tahoe within the boat launch
area, inside the jetty at the Cave Rock boat ramp, north
end, Glenbrook Creek from Lake Tahoe to Hwy 50,
Topaz Lake within the jetties of Topaz Marina.

Humboldt County: All tributaries to Summit Lake. All
waters of the Sheldon Antelope Range except Big
Springs Reservoir and Dufurrena Ponds. Washburn,
Riser, Crowley, Line Canyon and Sage Creeks in the
Montana Mountains. Andorna and Eightmile Creeks in
the Santa Rosa Range. Coleman Creek and North Fork
Battle Creek in the Blackrock Mountains. Rodeo Creek
in the Bilk Creek Mountains, Donnelly Creek in the Calico
Range.

Lyon County: All waters within the Mason Valley Wild-
life Management Area except for those listed as open.

Closed Waters

In the Western Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

Mineral County: Rose Creek Confluence from the
diversion pipe downstream to Walker Lake and Walker
Lake within a 100-yard radius of the inflow.

Storey County
Five Mile Reservoir, and Truckee River from Derby Dam
downstream 1,000 feet.

Washoe County

Marlette Lake, its tributaries and outlet stream (Marlette
Creek). Third Creek and its tributaries from Lake Tahoe
to the Mt. Rose Highway No. 431. Incline Creek and
its tributaries from Lake Tahoe to Ski Way and the
Mt. Rose Highway No. 431. Wood Creek from Lake
Tahoe to the Mt. Rose Highway No. 431. Lake Tahoe
within a 200-yard radius of the mouths of Third, Incline
and Wood Creeks. A 500-yard radius from Sand
Harbor boat ramp. Five Mile Reservoir: Truckee River
from Derby Dam downstream 1,000 feet.
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BROOK TROUT (CHAR)
Color ranges from olive, blue-gray or black on the
back to white on the belly. Belly and lower fins brilliant
orange in spawning males. Upper body and dorsal fin
have mottled or worm-like markings. Red spots, with
or without bluish rings around them. The most
distinguishing marks are the white and then black strip
along the fore edge of the lower fins. Tail square or
slightly forked. Occurs in about 278 mountain streams
in Nevada where it frequents cooler water. Found in
Ruby Mountain alpine lakes and other coldwater
lakes.

LARGEMOUTH BLACK BASS

Dark green on back and sides, silvery below. Belly is
greenish-white. A broad dark band on the sides which
consists of irregular patches touching together. Dorsal
fin with 9 to 10 sharp spines nearly separated from the
soft rays by a deep notch. Upper jaw when closed
extends at least to the rear edge of the eye in adults,
usually beyond. Abundant in lakes and reservoirs
throughout Nevada.

E

CHANNEL CATFISH

No scales, tail deeply forked with pointed lobes. Body
pale bluish-olive above and bluish-white below. Spots
vary from a few to many over much of the body and
may not occur on large fish. Barbels extend from the
chin and upper jaw. Both dorsal and pectoral fins have
strong, sharp spines. Larger fish may be distinguished
from the white catfish by the longer black barbels and
more streamlined body form. Tail more deeply forked
and head thinner and less rounded than white catfish.
White on belly only to forward edge of anal fin. Found
in warm water streams and reservoirs in northwestern
and southern Nevada.

WALLEYE

Prominent “canine” teeth distinguish this big
perch from its smaller family member the
yellow perch. Color is brassy-olive buff
sometimes shading to yellowish sides and
white beneath. No distinct bars on the sides,
but rather an overall mottling of black or brown.
Large dark blotches at rear base of dorsal fin,
and the lower lobe of tail fin is white tipped. The
tail is moderately forked. Found in a few
western Nevada waters including Lahontan
and Rye Patch Reservoirs, the Humboldt
River below Rye Patch Reservoir, and
Chimney Reservoir.
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BROWN TROUT
Back brown or olive with large black spots. Sides
light brown to yellowish, with numerous black and
red-orange spots surrounded by light blue rings.
Few if any spots on tail. Tail square, not forked.
Brown trout occur widely in central and eastern
Nevada streams and occur in about 73 streams
statewide. Also found in some lakes and
reservoirs. Spooky and difficult to catch.

WHITE BASS

Dark gray to black on the back, with bright silvery
sides and white belly. The sides have dark
stripes or lines (about 5 are above the lateral line).
There are 13 or 14 rays in the dorsal fin, and 11 to
13 in the anal fin. Body strongly compressed from
side to side, forehead is dished and snout is
slightly turned up. Found in Lahontan Reservoir,
Rye Patch Reservoir and Washoe Lake.

WHITE CATFISH

Bluish to grayish above and white below. Talil
deeply forked. No scales. No spots. Barbels
extend from the chin and upper jaw. Both dorsal
and pectoral fins have strong, sharp spines. White
catfish have shorter barbels on the upper jaw than
channel catfish, and barbels on lower jaw are
whiter. Head is more rounded and white on belly
extends to rear of anal fin. Found in Lahontan and
Willow Creek Reservoirs and the Humboldt River
with channel catfish.

ected Game F

Fish illustrations by Ron Pittard. Courtesy of Winds

BULL TROUT (CHAR)

The bull trout is normally olive-green to light green along
the back and sides and appears somewhat washed out.
Back with pale yellow spots and sides with orange or red
spots; fins fringed with yellow orange; pectoral, pelvic,
and anal fins with white margins. This fish is native to
only the Jarbidge River system of northem Elko County
and occurs in tributaries associated with the two forks of
that stream system.

SMALLMOUTH BLACK BASS
Dark olive to brown on back, sides bronze, belly white.
Five dark vertical bands on sides. Eyes reddish. Dorsal fin
with 9 or 10 sharp spines without a deep notch separating
them from the soft rays. Upper jaw when closed does not
extend beyond the rear edge of the eye. Found in only a
few waters in Nevada such as the Humboldt River, Dry
Creek Reservoir, South Fork Reservoir, Wildhorse
Reservoir, all in Elko County; Rye Patch, Carson River,
Lahontan and Wall Canyon Reservoirs.

ULLHEAD
No scales. Tail only slightly forked, with rounded lobes.
Adults are blackish, dark olive or dark brown. Belly is
yellow, greenish-white, or white. Chin barbels are entirely
black. The pectoral fin spine is smooth. Found in farm
ponds and reservoirs throughout Nevada.
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LAKE TROUT OR MACKINAW
Not as highly colored as other trout. Dark gray
or gray-green above, belly light gray or white.
Light gray irregular shaped spots or lines on
back, sides, doral fin and tail. No white edging
appears on lower fins as in brook trout. Tail
deeply forked. Currently found in Lake Tahoe,
Nevada-California, and Liberty and Echo Lakes
in Elko County.

STRIPED BASS

Body olive-green above, shading through
silvery on sides to white on belly with brassy
reflection. There are 7 to 8 longitudinal dark
stripes following the scale rows. A spiny dorsal
fin is barely separated from a soft dorsal fin. The
tail is forked and the body is cylindrical in
shape. Striped bass occur in only a few of the
larger lakes in Nevada including Lake Mead
and Lake Mohave. The fish can become very
large with some specimens larger than 50
pounds.

N
CRAPPIE a

Silver-olive with numerous black or dark green
splotches on the sides. Forehead is dished and
the snout is turned up. Five or more anal spines
and 7 or 8 dorsal spines. Base of the dorsal fin
is about the same length as the base of the anal
fin. Body compressed from side to side. Found

in warmwater lakes and reservoirs throughout
Nevada.

GREEN SUNFISH
Each scale is flecked with yellow or emerald
green. Back and sides olive-green, and lower

belly yellowish-copper or brassy. Body is
short, stocky, and deeply compressed from
side to side, The gill cover has a broad, light
margin, and it often has a black spot on the rear
flap. The gill cover bone is stiff all the way to the
margin which is different from most other
sunfish.

RAINBOW TROUT

Body usually olive to greenish-blue on the back; belly
white to silver; sides usually show prominent red or
pink streak. Fish from lakes sometimes lose all color
and appear silvery. Irregular spots on back, sides,
head, dorsal fin and tail. No teeth on back of tongue.
Native to the Columbia River drainage of northeastern
Nevada, but stocked extensively from hatcheries
throughout Nevada. Nevada’s most abundant game
fish species occurring in 295 streams statewide and in
a large number of lakes and reservoirs.

-

SPAWNING MALE KOKANEE SALMON
During the spawning period male kokanee tumn a bright
red on the back with reddish to olive-colored sides. The
spawning habits of kokanee are like other true salmon
and all adult fish die after spawning which occurs in their
third or fourth year. Female kokanee turn a lighter red in
color and retain a body shape similiar to a trout, while the
male develops a large hooked snout with many irregular
teeth, a hump back and a masky green head.

BLUEGILL

Very colorful. Light to dark blue on bright purple. In
breeding season, the breast of males is red. Gill covers
often blue with a black spot on the rear of the “ear flap”.
Faint vertical bard on the sides. Dorsal fin has 10 spines
followed without interruption by 10 or 12 rays. The mouth
is small and when closed, barely reaches the front of the
eye. Body deep for its length and compressed from side
to side. Found in small farm ponds throughout
northwestern and southern Nevada.

NORTHERN PIKE

Color variable depending upon water from which it is
taken.  Usually bluish-green to gray on back with
irregular rows of light yellow or gold spots. Snout broad
and shaped like a duck bill. Body long and slender with
the dorsal and anal fins well back towards the tail. Found
in a few eastern Nevada reservoirs, including Basset
and Comins Lakes and Dakes Reservoir. There is no
limit on Northern Pike as it is an invasive species that
preys on sportfish populations.

T e v

CUTTHROAT TROUT
Body color is highly variable with three subspecies in
Nevada. Back may be steel gray to olive-green.
Sides may be yellow-brown with red or pink along
belly. Slash marks on either side of the throat beneath
the lower jaw may be yellow, crimson-red or orange.
Fins uniform color with no white tips. Scattered spots
are usually round and black, more closely grouped
towards the tail. Teeth on back of tongue. May
hybridize with rainbow. Native to the Humboldt,
snake, and Bonneville basins of Nevada. Currently
occurs in 112 streams and a small number of lakes
where it's well known for its large size.

o
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KOKANEE SALMON
Back greenish-blue with faint speckling. The
sides and belly are silvery and scales slip easily
when handling. No distinct spotting on dorsal fin or
tail as in the rainbow. Anal fin rays generally
number 14 to 16. During spawning in the fall, skin
becomes leathery and turns dark red to bright
scarlet and the head turns dusky green. Occurs

-
MOUNTAIN WHITEFISH

Back and fins are light brown and the sides and
belly are silver and white. There are no spots.
Tail deeply forked and body is deep and round.
Mouth small with no teeth. Large fleshy adipose
fin. Scales large and rough. The whitefish
occurs in a number of larger streams in western
and northeastern Nevada.

1%LOW PERCH

Rich yellow to brassy-green with 6 to 8 dark
vertical bars on the sides. Dark green back. No
“canine” teeth. The belly is whitish. The dorsal fin

has two sections, the front one contains 12 to 14
sharp spines and the rear 12 to 13 soft rays.

SACRAMENTO PERCH
Color blackish above, with about seven vertical
bars irregular in form and position. This is not a
true perch, but a sunfish.
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Eastern Region General Reference Map
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The Eastern Region includes the four counties of northeastern Nevada: Elko, Eureka,
Lander and White Pine. Popular fishing waters include Wildhorse, Wilson, Willow Creek, Jakes
Creek, Crittenden, lllipah and South Fork Reservoirs, Groves Lake, Bassett Lake, Cave Lake,
Ruby Lake, other high mountain lakes and several streams located throughout the area.
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Eastern Region Fishable Waters
# Body of Water
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Angel Lake

Barth Pit

Bassett Lake

Big Creek

Bruneau River

Carlin Pond

Cave Lake

Cleve Creek

Cold Creek Reservoir
Comins Lake
Crittenden Reservoir
Dorsey Reservoir

Dry Creek Reservoir
Groves Lake

Humboldt River
Humboldt River, NF
Humboldt River
Humboldt River

lllipah Reservoir

Jakes Creek Reservoir
Jiggs Reservoir
Kingston Creek
Lamoille Creek
Owyhee River, East Fork
Ruby Lake NWR
Salmon Falls River
South Fork Humboldt River
South Fork Reservoir
Steptoe Creek

Tabor Creek

Tailings Creek
Jarbidge River, West Fork
White River

Wildhorse Reservoir
Willow Creek Reservoir
Willow Creek Pond
Wilson Reservoir

County/Location

Elko Co./East Humboldt

Eureka Co./Humboldt River Valley
White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley
Lander Co./Toiyabe Range

Elko Co./Snake R. System

Elko Co./Humboldt River Valley
White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
White Pine Co./Newark Valley
White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley

Elko Co./Thousand Springs

Elko Co./NF Humboldt River

Elko Co./Bull Run Creek

Lander Co./Toiyabe Range

Elko Co.

Elko Co./Indep. Mtns

Eureka Co.

Lander Co.

White Pine Co./White Pine Range
Elko Co./Salmon Falls River Drainage
Elko Co./Jiggs

Lander Co./Toiyabe Range

Elko Co./Ruby Mtns.

Elko Co./Wildhorse Range

Elko Co./Ruby Valley

Elko Co./O’Neil Basin

Elko Co./Ruby Mtns.

Elko Co./SF Humboldt R.

White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range
Elko Co./Snake Mtns.

White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley

Elko Co./Jarbidge Mtns.

White Pine Co./White Pine Range
Elko Co./EF Owyhee River

Elko Co./Tuscarora Mtns.

Lander Co./Battle Mtns.

Elko Co./Independence Mtns.

Species

rb,bk
smb,Imb,bg,cc,rb
np,Imb

rb, bn

rb,w

rb

rb, bn, bk

rb, bn

rb

rb, bn, Imb

rb, Imb

rb

rb,smb,Imb

rb,bn
cc,Imb,smb,bn,bb,bg,
bk,ct
rb,Imb,smb,cc,bh
Imb,cc

rb,bn

rb,Imb

rb,Imb,

rb,bk,bn

rb,bk
rb,bk,bn,w,yp,smb
rb,bk,bn,Imb,ct,bc
rb,bn,w

ct,rb,bn,bk,bc,smb,cc,Imb

rb,bn,smb,Imb,cc,bc,ct
rb,bn

rb,bk

bk

rb,bt,w

rb,bn
rb,bn,smb,yp,cc,bc,Imb
Imb,cr,cc,ct,wc

rb,bn

rb,Imb

bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk

cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs

redear sunfish=rs

rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc

tiger trout=tt
walleye=wp
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white bass=wb
white catfish=wc
whitefish=w

Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb
spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb wiper=wi
tiger muskie=tm yellow perch=yp

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.

g

kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=Imb
mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb

brown trout=bn

bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr
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Eastern Region General Regulations

27-29, the limits are as follows:

Important Note: Within the Eastern Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Eastern Region
Special Regulations” on pages 27-29. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Eastern Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Eastern Region General Seasons/Hours: Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

Eastern Region Limits: Except as noted under “Special Regulations” below and on pages

Elko, Eureka, Lander and White Pine
Counties - Lakes and Reservoirs: The limit
is 5 trout, and 15 warmwater game fish of which
not more than 10 may be black bass. No limit
on northern pike (unlimited possession).

Elko County - Streams and Rivers: The
limit is 10 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
10 may be black bass. No limit on northern
pike (unlimited possession). No bull trout
are allowed in possession.

Closed Waters: See page 29.

Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties -
Streams and Rivers: The limitis 10 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more than
10 may be black bass. No limit on northern
pike (unlimited possession).

Bait Regulations: While fishing in this region,
the possession or use of fish as bait, whether
dead or alive or any parts thereof except for
preserved salmon eggs, is prohibited. Other
aquatic bait may be used only in the water from
which itis taken. See pages 8-9 for more regu-
lations on the use of bait fish.

Artificial Lure Waters: See pages 5-6.
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Eastern Region Special Regulations

Angel Lake and Inlet and Outlet Streams in
Elko County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Bruneau River and Tributary Streams in
Elko County: Season is open year around,
any hour of day or night. Limitis 10 trout and
10 mountain whitefish.

Cave Lake and Cave Creek in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. On Cave
Lake, boats must be operated at a speed which
leaves a flat wake and in no case exceeds 5
nautical miles per hour.

Comins Lake in White Pine County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout and 5 black bass. No
limit on northern pike (unlimited possession.)
See page 40 for vessel restrictions.

Crittenden Reservoir in Elko County: Sea-
son is open year around, 1 hour before sunrise
to 2 hours after sunset. Limitis 1 trout and 5 black
bass. Minimum size for trout is 17 inches. Only
artificial lures may be used. No overnight camp-
ing allowed. No waterskiing.

Dry Creek Reservoir in Elko County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout and 15 warmwater game
fish of which not more than 10 may be black
bass.

Groves Lake, Kingston Creek and Big
Creek in Lander County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limitis 5
trout. Only boats without motors and boats with
electric motors are permitted.

lllipah Reservoir and Creek in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. Flat
wake restrictions for boats.

Jarbidge River, West Fork and East Fork
and Tributary Streams in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limitis 5 trout and 10 mountain
whitefish, except the possession of bull troutis
prohibited. All captured bull trout must be re-
leased immediately. (Please report the cap-
ture of bull trout to NDOW Eastern Region Of-
fice).

Marys River and Tributary Streams in
Elko County: Season is open year around,
any hour of the day or night. Limitis 5 trout.

Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge in
Elko and White Pine Counties: Seasonis
open year around in all areas except as
posted. Refuge is open 1 hour before sun-
rise to 2 hours after sunset. From Jan. 1 - June
14 the limit is 3 trout and 5 black bass. Mini-
mum size for black bass is 10 inches. From
June 15 - Dec. 31 the limit is 3 trout and 10
black bass. Minimum size for black bass is
10 inches. Those areas of the Collection
Ditch that are open to fishing may be fished
with artificial lures only. Chumming is prohib-
ited. It is unlawful to clean or fillet fish within
the boundaries of the Ruby Lake National
Wildlife Refuge. For boating regulations (see
page 40 for federal boating regulations) con-
tact the Refuge Manager. The Gallagher
Hatchery rearing, brood and spring ponds,
and Cave Creek on the west side of the
County Road are closed to fishing.

Continued on page 28
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Eastern Region Regulations

Continued from page 27

Ruby Mountain High Lakes (except for
Angel Lake) in Elko County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limitis 10 trout. (The limit for Angel Lake and
its inlet and outlet streams is 5 trout).

Smith Creek Reservoir, including inlet
and outlet streams in Lander County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limitis 5 trout.

Snake Mountain High Lakes in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limitis 10 trout.

South Fork Reservoir and the South Fork
of the Humboldt River from the Lucky
Nugget Subdivision causeway down-
stream to its confluence with the
Humboldt River in Elko County: Season
is open year around any hour of the day or
night. Exception: March 1 - June 30, catch
and release fishing only for black bass. Lim-
its are: 5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish
of which not more than 1 may be black bass,
1 may be white bass hybrid (wiper), and
5 may be channel catfish. Minimum size
for black bass is 15 inches. Minimum size
for black bass and white bass hybrids
(wiper) is 15 inches total length.

South Fork of the Humboldt River from
the Lucky Nugget Subdivision access
causeway upstream to Lee in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limitis 1 trout. Only
artificial lures with single barbless hooks may
be used.

Steptoe Creek, Cave Creek, Silver Creek,
Tailings Creek, Cleve Creek and White
River in White Pine County: Season is open
year around, any hour of the day or night. Limit
is 5 trout.

Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limitis 5 trout. Artificial lures
only. Stream above reservoir is closed to fish-

ing.

Wildhorse Reservoir and all inlet and out-
let streams including Penrod Creek up to
the bridge below the Gold Creek Ranger
Station in Elko County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limits are
5 trout, unlimited yellow perch, 10 mountain
whitefish and 15 warmwater game fish of which
not more than 71 may be black bass and 1 may
be a white bass hybrid (wiper) and 5 may
be channel catfish. Minimum size on black
bass and white bass hybrids (wiper) is 15
inches except from March 1 through June 30
when only catch and release fishing is allowed
for the black bass.

Willow Creek Reservoir in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limitis 5 trout and 15 warmwater
game fish of which not more than 10 may be
black bass and 5 may be channel catfish.
Minimum size for black bass is 11 inches total
length.

Willow Creek Pond and Reservoir includ-
ing inlet and outlet streams in Lander
County: Season is open year around, 1 hour
before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is
5 trout.

Wilson Sink Reservoir its outlet and inlet
stream up to State Route 11 in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limitis 5 trout, 10 mountain white-
fish and 10 black bass. Minimum size for black
bass is 11 inches.

Dol
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ATTENTION
Identify Your Catch in the Jarbidge

TROUT ANGLERS

The possession of bull trout is prohibited! All captured bull trout must be immediately
released unharmed. Knowing how to identify your catch is important.

No black spots on dorsal fin
Bull Trout ,w

Bull trout have light colored spots scattered over a dark (olive-green color) back-
ground. The fins have no black spotting.

Black spots on dorsal fin
Rainbow Trout m

Rainbow trout have a light colored background with a pink to red colored stripe
across the side of the body. In addition, there is black spotting over the body, tail
fin and dorsal fin.

When fishing waters in the Jarbidge River drainage area it is essential to be able to differ-
entiate between rainbow trout and the threatened bull trout. The most common trout you will find
is the rainbow trout. Rainbow trout have a light colored background with a pink to red colored
stripe across the side of the body. In addition, there is black spotting over the body, tail fin and
dorsal fin. Bull trout have light colored spots scattered over a dark (olive-green color) back-
ground. The fins have no black spotting.

Please notify the Department of Wildlife’s Eastern Region Office in Elko of any bull trout
that you catch and release. The Elko NDOW office is located at 60 Youth Center Road in Elko.
Their phone number is (775) 777-2300. Watch for NDOW signs in the Jarbidge area.
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Closed Waters

In the Eastern Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

Elko County White Pine County

In Ruby Valley, fishing is prohibited in hatchery Cold Creek Spring (Spring Pond) and Creek above
rearing, brood and spring ponds of Gallagher Cold Creek Reservoir in the Diamond Range in
Hatchery; in Cave Creek west of the county road; White Pine County.

and on Franklin Lake Wildlife Management Area.
Eureka County
Tonkin Springs Creek (Denay Creek) from origin to

its confluence with Tonkin Springs Reservoir.
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Southem Region General Reference Map
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NDOW Southern Region Office

4747 Vegas Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89108
(702) 486-5127

Note: This map depicts the Southern
Region fishable waters corresponding
with the chart on adjacent page.

The Southern Region includes the four cou

nties of southern Nevada: Clark, Esmeralda,

Lincoln and Nye. Major fishing waters within this region include Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, the
Colorado River, Eagle Valley Reservoir, Echo Canyon Reservoir and the reservoirs on Kirch
Wildlife Management Area. A number of small streams in northern Nye County provide wild
trout fishing and a few are stocked with hatchery-reared rainbow trout.




2004-05 Nevada Fishing Seasons & Regulations

Southern Region Fishable Waters

# Body of Water

1 Adams McGill Reservoir
* Barley Creek

* Beaver Dam Wash

* Boulder City Urban
Fishing Pond
Chiatovitch Creek

Cold Creek Pond

Cold Springs Reservoir
Colorado River

Dacey Reservoir

Eagle Valley Reservoir
Echo Canyon Reservoir
Floyd Lamb State Park
Haymeadow Reservoir
Lake Mead

O~NO Ok F*TWIN *3\

©

Lake Mohave

10 | Lorenzi Park Pond

* Mosquito Creek

" Nesbitt Lake

* Pine Creek

* Reese River, Upper

* San Juan Creek

12 | Schroeder Reservoir

* Sportsmans Park Pond
13 | Sunset Park Pond

14 | Trail Canyon Reservoir
15 | Upper Pahranagat Lake

County/ Location

Nye Co., Kirch WMA
Nye Co./Monitor Range
Lincoln Co.

Clark Co.

Esmeralda Co./White Mtns.
Clark Co.

Nye Co., Kirch WMA

Clark Co.

Nye Co., Kirch WMA
Lincoln Co./Spring Valley
Lincoln Co./Dry Valley
Clark Co./Las Vegas

Nye Co., Kirch WMA

Clark Co.

Clark Co.

Clark Co./Las Vegas

Nye Co./Monitor Range
Lincoln Co./Pahranagat Valley
Nye Co./Monitor Mtns.

Nye Co./Toiyabe Mtns.

Nye Co./Toiyabe Mins
Lincoln Co./Beaver Dam Wash
Nye Co.

Clark Co./Las Vegas
Esmeralda Co./White Mtns
Lincoln Co./Pahranagat Valley

Species

Imb
rb,bk,bn
rb

rb,cc

rb,bk,bn

rb

rb,Imb
rb,cc,Imb,stb,bg
Imb

rb,bn

rb,Imb,cr
rb,cc,iImb,bg,gs,rs
rb,Imb
rb,Imb,cc,stb,
bh,cr,gs,bg
rb,Imb,cc,stb,
bh,gs,bg
rb,cc,iImb,bg,gs
rb,bk,ct

Imb,bh
rb,bk,bn,ct
rb,bk,ct

rb,bk,ct

rb

rb
rb,cc,Imb,bg,gs,cr
rb,bk

Imb,bh,cr

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.

bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn

bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr
cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks

largemouth bass=Imb

mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb

rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc
redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb
spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb

tiger muskie=tm

tiger trout=tt
walleye=wp

white bass=wb

white catfish=wc
whitefish=w

wiper=wi

yellow perch=yp
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Southern Region General Regulations

Important Note: Within the Southern Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Southern Region
Special Regulations” on pages 33-34. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Southern Region General Seasons/Hours: Open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limits: Except as noted under “Southern Region Special Regulations” on pages 33-34,

the limits are as follows: Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln, and Nye Counties: the limitis 10 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more than 10 may be black bass.

Bait Regulations: See pages 8-9 for more
regulations on the use of bait fish.

Tackle and Spearfishing Restrictions:
In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave or the Colorado
River, the use of more than two hooks for bait
or flies is prohibited. See page 5 in General
Regulations.

Artificial Lure Waters: See pages 5-6.

Closed Waters: See below.

Closed Waters

In the Southern Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:

Ash Springs outflow through the River Lakes Mead and Mohave and the Colo-
Ranch to beginning of the concrete ditch, rado River areas as posted closed to ac-
in Lincoln County. cess immediately above and below Hoover

and Davis Dams; and except as otherwise
Crystal Springs and outflow for one half posted by the National Park Service, those
mile to beginning of the concrete ditch, in  waters within the flat wake buoys at the follow-
Lincoln County. ing marinas and harbors: Overton Beach, Echo
Bay Resort, Callville Bay Marina, Las Vegas
Wash, Lake Mead Marina, Cottonwood Cove,

Kirch Wildlife Management Area, Hot e i e

Creek to its confluence with Adams-McGill
Reservoir; Sunnyside Creek above Veterans Memorial Park, Boulder City, all
Sunnyside/Adavin County Road crossingin waters except the Boulder City Urban Fish-

Sec. 36 T 7N, R61E in Nye County. ing Pond as posted.
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Southern Region Special Regulations

Beaver Dam Creek in Lincoln County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout. Only artificial lures with
single barbless hooks may be used.

Boulder City Urban Fishing Pond in Clark
County: Season is open year around and
hours are when park is open to public use. Limit
is 3 game fish.

Carpenter Creek in Clark County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limitis 2 trout.

Cold Creek Pond and Cold Creek in Clark
County: Season is open year around any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 3 game fish.

Colorado River below Davis Dam in Clark
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night except in areas as posted.
Limitis 10 trout, 6 black bass, 10 striped bass
and 25 catfish. Minimum size for black bass is
13 inches. No limit on other game fish. Bait re-
strictions-see pages 8-9. Spearfishing restric-
tions-see page 5.

Angler John Hunt from Essex, England
hooked on to this 251b. 12 oz, 35 1/2
inch carp while visiting Lake Mead

Eagle Valley Reservoir and the Stream
above and below the reservoir, in Lincoln
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limitis 5 trout.

Echo Canyon Reservoir in Lincoln
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limitis 5 troutand 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
10 may be black bass.

Kirch Wildlife Management Area in Nye
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night, except the upper portions of
Adams-McGill, Cold Springs and Haymeadow
Reservoirs, which are closed to trespass Feb-
ruary 15 through August 15 as posted. A 100
yard area as posted around the inflow from Hot
Creek to Dacey and Adams-McGill Reservoirs
shall be closed to fishing January 1 through April
1. Limits are 5 trout, 10 black bass, and 15 other
warmwater game fish. Minimum size for black
bassis 10 inches total length. Dacey and Tule
Reservoirs open Aug. 16 - Feb. 14. Limits are
5trout, 10 black bass, and 15 other warmwater
gamefish. Minimum size for black bass is 10
inches total length. Boat restrictions-see pages
38-39, 43.

Lake Mead in Clark County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night,
except in areas as posted. Limit is 5 trout, 6
black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and 20
striped bass. No limit restriction on other
game fish. Bait restrictions-see pages 8-9.
Tackle and striped bass spearfishing restric-
tions-see page 5.

Lake Mohave in Clark County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night,
exceptin areas as posted. Limitis 10 trout, 6
black bass, 25 catfish and 15 crappie. No limit
on striped bass less than 20 inches total
length. Daily and possession limit on striped
bass 20 inches total length or longer is 20 fish.

No limit on other game fish.
Continued on page 34
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Southermn Region Special Regulations

Continued from page 33

Lorenzi Park Pond in Clark County: Sea-
son is open year around and hours are when
the park is open to public use. Limitis 3 game
fish.

Muddy (Moapa) River System in Clark
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 6 black
bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and 20 striped
bass. No limit restriction on other game fish.

Nesbitt Lake (Key Pittman Wildlife Man-
agement Area) in Lincoln County: Season
is open year around, any hour of the day or night
except the portion above the old fence line as
posted closed to trespass from February 15
through August 15 and closed to fishing during
waterfowl season. Limit is 10 black bass and
10 bullheads. See boat restrictions on pages
38-39, 43.

Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge in
Lincoln County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except North
Marsh which is closed to fishing during the wa-
terfowl hunting season. Limitis 3 troutand 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5
may be black bass.

Schroeder Reservoir and Beaver Dam
Creek in Lincoln County above and below
the reservoir: Season is open year around,
any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.
Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks
may be used. Only boats without motors are
permitted.

Sunset Park Pond in Clark County: Sea-
son is open year around during public park
hours. Limit is 3 game fish.

Tule Lake at Floyd Lamb State Park in Clark
County: Season is open year around and
hours are when park is open to public use. Limit
is 3 game fish.

Virgin River and Muddy (Moapa) River Sys-
tems in Clark County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limitis 5
trout, 6 black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and
20 striped bass. No limit on other game fish.

area, in Clark County:

access area;
parking space; or

consuming an intoxicating liquor.

Laughlin Area
Special Camping, Fishing Access Regulations Apply:

The following activities are prohibited within the Laughlin boating and fishermen’s access

Camping in any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle;

Erecting a tent or structure for the purpose of sleeping or living in it;

Parking any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle or otherwise blocking or
restricting the access of a person or vessel, to the boat ramp;

Parking a bus hired to carry passengers or a semi-trailer anywhere within the

Parking a motor vehicle in the access area in a location other than a designated

Being under the influence of a controlled substance or an intoxicating liquor, or
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Reglas de la Pesca

Una licencia o un permiso de corto plazo

es requerido_para cualquier persona que

tiene 12 afnos o mas cuando estan

Rlescando en la mayoria de las aguas de
evada. Los excepciones son:

. Lake Tahoe y el Depésito Topaz donde
la edad minima es 16 anos; y

. El sistema del Rio Colorado (Lake
Mead, Lake Mojave, y el Rio Colorado)
donde la edad minima es 14 anos.

Por el sistema del Rio Colorado, un “sello
de uso especial” de Nevada o Arizona
puede que sea requerido en ciertas
circunstancias.

Para calificar para una licencia de caza o
pesca de “residente” de Nevada, hay que:

. Ser un ciudadano de los Estados

Unidos o tener derecho legal para
permanecer en los Estados Unidos;

. Ha vivido continuamente en Nevada,
excepto ausencias temporales, para un
periodo de 6 meses antes de de
comprar una licencia de “residente” o
permiso; y

. No ha aplicado para o comprado una
licencia de “residente” para pesca, caza
o desvio en un otro estado durante el
periodo de 6 meses en lo que se ha
vivido en Nevada.

Mientras pescando para la trucha en la
mayoria de las aguas de Nevada, una per-
sona debio haber comprador un sello de
“trucha”, firmado, y fijado a su licencia de
pesca. Un sello dé trucha no es requerido
para una persona que tiene menos de 16
anos en Lake Tahoe Deposito Topaz, una
persona que tiene menos de 14 arios en el
sistema del Rio Colorado, una persona que
tiene menos de 12 afios en otras aguas de
Nevada, o una persona que pesca bajo la
autoridad de un permiso a corto plazo.

Con éaocos excepciones, una persona solo
puede coger peces de “caza” con un
anzuelo y sedal fijado a un carrete que esta
bien atendido por esa persona. Se puede
usar un arpon para pescar para perca
rayada en Lake Mead y partes particulares
de Lake Mojave y el Rio Colorado.

Es prohibido coger o intentar pesca de
“caza’ con un red, trampas, o sedales
puestos”.

Es illegal pescar con una segunda
combinacién de anzuelos, sedales, y
carretes, a menos que tenga un “sello de
segundo sedal”. El sellotiene que ser
firmado y fijado a la licencia de pesca. Es

prohibido para una persona pescar con
mas de dos combinaciones de anzuelo,
sedal, y carrete.

Para cada masa de agua en el estado,
hay “limites” del numero de peces que
se’puede coger y ser poseidos por un
pescador.

Es prohibido usar partes de peces de
caza para cebo.

Una vez que una persona haya cogido y
tiene un limite de pescado, no se puede
coger mas pescado para completar su
limite o el limite de un otra persona.

Barcos

Hay que tener un aparato personal de
flotacion (PFD o chaleco salvavidas) del
tamano aproriado, aprobado por el
Guardacostas de los Estados Unidos,
para cada persona en el barco.

En barcos que miede 16 pies y mas,
tiene que haber un aparato de flotacion
tirable ademas de los aparatos
requeridos que todos llevan.

Un nifio que tiene menos de 12 afios
tiene que llevar un chaleco salvavidas de
tamano aproriado cuando el barco esta
en curso, a menos que el nifio esta en un
lugar completamente incluido en el barco.

Es illegal manejar un barco de motor o
vela mientras estar bajo la influencia de
licor o droga embriagador.

Geina Chavira-Silet proudly displays
a51b. 2 0z., 21 1/2” rainbow trout she
caught on Comins Lake in White Pine
County.
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Boat

Thanks For Boating in Nevada!

Thank you for boating in the great state of Nevada.
Our waterways and scenic mountains offer breathtaking
outdoor experiences. Whether you are sneaking off to
Lake Tahoe for some waterskiing, or taking your boat
down to Lake Mohave angling for a record black bass,
remember to boat safely and follow the “Boating Safety
Seven.” They can not only save you time and trouble, but
could also save your life.

As you operate your boat this year on our pristine
waters, keep safety in mind, and enjoy all the splendor
Nevada’s wide open spaces and waters can provide.

Life Jackets

Life jackets are required for every single person on a boat. Life jackets must fit properly
and be readily accessible in an emergency. Inflatable life jackets are acceptable if they are
worn, but are not approved for individuals under 16 years old. Persons under the age of 12
must wear a life jacket whenever the boat is under way unless in an enclosed cabin.

Boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 must take a boating safety course approved by the
National Association of State Boating Law Administrators before operating a motorboat of
more than 15 horsepower on Nevada’s interstate waters (Tahoe, Topaz, Mead, Mohave and
the Colorado River near Laughlin). NDOW offers a free correspondence course that you can
get by calling or stopping by any NDOW office, or for a small fee you can take a course online
at: www.boatnevada.org.

Personal Watercraft

Personal watercrafts (PWC) also known by the trade name “Jet Skis” have special re-
quirements. You must be at least 14 years old to operate a PWC in Nevada. ltis illegal to wake
jump or perform aerial maneuvers on these vessels when within 5 lengths of another vessel.
PWoCs often lose steering when not under power, so use extra caution while operating these
boats. Keep in mind that most PWC accidents involve people who know each other. Keep
your distance!

Lastly, keep an eye peeled for our game

As part of our Safe Boater Award Program,
game wardens, who enforce boating laws in
Nevada, will have rewards for boaters they see
boating safely. The Nevada Department of
Wildlife is committed to helping you boat safely. je
Take a few moments to consider boating and
water safety before you hit the lake, and your
day will be better for it.




2004-05 Nevada Fishing Seasons & Regulations

\ P Follow the Boating
Safety Seven

If you remember nothing else about boating
rules, remember the Boating Safety Seven. Boat-
ing can be a fun activity for the entire family, but you
should go boating with some safety in mind to
make sure your great day on the water doesn’t turn sour. NDOW reminds you to have a good
time, and be safe...it just makes sense.

WEAR YOUR LIFE JACKET

TAKE A BOATING SAFETY CLASS

CARRY ALL YOUR REQUIRED SAFETY GEAR

KNOW YOUR BOAT AND ITS LIMITATIONS

FOLLOW THE BOATING “RULES OF THE ROAD”

BE AWARE OF WEATHER AND WATER CONDITIONS

BOAT SOBER AND BE CONSIDERATE OF OTHER BOATERS

Don’t Leave Home Without It!

SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS CRITICAL FOR ALL BOATS

\ Life Jackets - One of the correct size for each person on board. Children under the
age of 12 years old must wear it.
v Type IV Flotation Aid - Any boat 16 feet or over must carry a type IV throwable
cushion or ring.
\' Fire Extinguisher - Any boat with a built-in fuel tank must carry one, and it must be
charged. Larger boats require two, or even three, fire extinguishers.
v Muffling Device - Every boat must be properly muffled.
\' Skiand Dive Flags - If you ski or dive you need to carry the appropriate signal flag for
skier or diver down. Use them!
v Lights - If you go out at night, make sure you have appropriate and functioning
navigation lights.
\ Sound Producing Device - All boats should carry a horn, whistle or other sound
producing device.
Anchor - When the boat breaks down, an anchor is essential for protecting yourself
and your boat.
v Signal Devices - Though not required, signal flares and flags can attract attention if

you need help.
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Nevada Boating Regulations

The following information provides a summary of some of the boating laws and regulations for
Nevada anglers who use boats. Safe boating in Nevada starts with knowing Nevada’s boating regu-
lations. Anglers who boat have to follow the same guidelines as any other boater on Nevada’s
waters, and this section of Fishing Seasons and Regulations outlines those requirements. All boats
in Nevada are required to carry safety equipment appropriate to the type and size of vessel used, and
every boater should know and practice safe boating, including learning the rules of the water. To
learn more about boating in Nevada, contact NDOW and request a Nevada Boater’s Handbook. To
learn more about boating on the web, visit Nevada’s safe boating web site: www.boatnevada.org.

Reduced Speed Areas (NAC 488.455)
1. On the following waters, a vessel must be
operated at a speed that leaves a flat wake, but
in no case may a vessel be operated at a speed
in excess of 5 nautical miles per hour:

(a) Bassett Lake in White Pine County

(b) Cave Lake in White Pine County

(c) Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County

(d) Jakes Creek Reservoir in Elko County

(e) Onion Valley Reservoir in Humboldt County

(f) Wayne E. Kirch Wildlife Management Area in
Nye County

(9) The lagoon south of Laughlin in Clark
County within Section 33, T 32 S. R. 66E.
M.D.B.&M., as marked with signs or buoys,
or both

(h) Likes Lake in Churchill County

(i) The Pitt Taylor Arm of Rye Patch Reservoir in
Pershing County

() Nipah Reservoir in White Pine County

(k) Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area in
Lyon County

(I Upper Wall Canyon Reservoir in Washoe
County

(m) Echo Canyon Reservoir in Lincoln County

(n) Silver Creek Reservoir in White Pine County

(o) Key Pittman Wildlife Management Area in

Lincoln County

2. All boat harbors and other areas designated

by buoys on any of the following waters are

zones in which a vessel must be operated at a

speed that leaves a flat wake, but in no case

may a vessel be operated at a speed in excess

of 5 nautical miles per hour:

(a) Lake Mead National Recreation Area in Clark
County

(b) South Fork Reservoir in Elko County

(c) Wildhorse Reservoir in Elko County

(d) Lake Tahoe, Zephyr Cove, Cave Rock, Round
Hill Pines Beach and Glenbrook Bay in
Douglas County, Sand Harbor, Incline Village
General Improvement District Boat Ramp and
Crystal Shores West in Washoe County

(e) Washoe Lake State Park and the County
Boat Ramp in Washoe County

(f) Walker Lake State Recreation Area and
Sportsmen’s Beach in Mineral County

(g) Lahontan Reservoir, Churchill Beach, and
North Shore Marina in Churchill County;
Silver Springs Beach in Lyon County

(h) Rye Patch Reservoir, Rye Patch Dam
Access in Pershing County

(i) Topaz Lake, Boat Ramps in Douglas
County

(j) Colorado River, adjacent to Harrah'’s
Casino in Laughlin in Clark County

(k) Big Bend of the Colorado River State
Recreation Area in the lagoon used for
launching boats in Clark County.

Boating Prohibited Areas (NAC 488.465)

Vessels are prohibited in areas which are desig-

nated by signs or buoys as follows:

1. Within the Lake Mead National Recreation Area;

2. On the Colorado River:

(a) Below Davis Dam; and

(b) The swimming area of Harrah’s Casino in
Laughlin;

3. On Lake Tahoe at:

(a) The main beaches at Sand Harbor and
Divers’ Cove within Lake Tahoe State Park;

(b) The swimming area of the Incline Village
General Improvement District and Burnt
Cedar Beach;

(c) The swimming area of Galilee at theEpiscopal
Camp and Conference Center;

Continued on page 39
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Continued from page 38

(d) The swimming area of the Lakeridge General
Improvement District;

(e) The swimming area of the Glenbrook

(c) Inthe Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area,
located in Lyon County, all vessels are prohibited
from February 15 through August 15 of each year,

ot except on:

Homeowner’s Association; (1) Hinkson Slough:

() Trgﬁ sgimming area of the Hyatt Regency Lake (2) Bass Pond: ,
wimmi (3) Crappie Pond;
(9) 'Il\'/lhaerii\;v]mmmg area of the Zephyr Cove (4) Beaver Slough:
: 5) The Walker River; and

(h) Thz swimming area of Crystal Shores West; EG; Noe:th ;O:J. Iver, an

e (d) In the Fort Churchill Cooling Pond

(i) The swimming and beach area adjacent to
Nevada Beach described in 33CFR 162.215.

4. At the dam and swim beach at the state
recreation area in Rye Patch Reservoir;

5. At Lahontan Reservoir Dam;

6. At South Fork Reservoir Dam;

7. At Wildhorse Reservoir Dam;

8. At Eagle Valley Dam at Spring Valley State Park;

9. At Chimney Reservoir Dam in Humboldt County;

10. At the county swim beach at Topaz Lake; and

11. At the swimming area and dive area at Sparks
Marina Park.

Cooperative Wildlife Management Area, all
vessels and floating devices, except for
vessels used by employees of the Sierra
Pacific Power Company in the performance
of their official duties, are prohibited on the
pond.

2. The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply to
vessels owned, operated and used for official
purposes by the department.

3. For the purposes of this section, a vessel is
being used if the vessel: (a) is upon the
waters of this state, including, without
limitation, if it is tied or fastened to a dock,
mooring or shore; and (b) is not aground on
the shore.

Boating Restrictions in Wildlife Management
Areas (NAC 488.467)

(See page 43 for table of restrictions.)
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, Anchoring/Mooring Vessels (NRS 488.265)

use of vessels is restricted in the following Wild- 1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2,

life Management Areas: .
(a) In the Overton Wildlife Management Area a person shall not anchor or moor a vessel in
' such a position as to obstruct a passageway or-

located in Clark County, vessels are prohibited dinarily used by other vessels. As used in this

on all ponds. Vessels are allowed on the . . L
portion of the area inundated by Lake Mead subsection, a “passageway ordinarily used by
’ other vessels” includes:

except that on Overton Hunt Day_s, vessels may (a) Ariver channel or the entrance to a harbor or
be used only by persons authorized to hunt marina: and

waterfowl. . .
(b) ...In the Humboldt Wildlife Management (b) That area within a 100-yard radius of a boat
Area, located in Churchill and Pershing ramp built and maintained with public money.
Counti’eS' 2. A person may anchor or moor a vessel in an
(1) All vessels are prohibited on the ponds in the area designated for that purpose by the commis-
sion and marked at the corners with yellow can

Humboldt and Toulon Sink areas 5 days buoys. The buoys must emit a flashing yellow
before the opening day of the waterfowl season. ys- y . 9y
light from sunset to sunrise.

(2) Airboats are prohibited on the Humboldt Sink
until 1 hour after the legal shooting time on the Continued on page 40
opening day of the waterfowl season.

(3) Airboats are prohibited on the Toulon portion of

the area during the waterfowl season.
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Nevada Boating Regulations

Continued from page 39
Areas Limited to Boats Without Motors

2. Only vessels without motors and vessels which

& Boats with Electric Motors (NAC 488.470) are powered by electric motors are permitted

1. Only vessels without motors are permitted
on the following waters:

Waters County
(a) Angel Lake Elko

(b) Blue Lakes Humboldt
(c) Schroeder Reservoir Lincoln
(d) Spooner Lake Douglas
(e) Marlette Lake Washoe

on the following waters:

(a) Groves Lake Lander
(b) Sparks Marina Park Washoe
(c) The Lagoon South of Clark

Laughlin within section 33,
T.32S., R66 E., M.D.B. & M.,
as marked with signs or
buoys, or both.

subject to change.

Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (775) 725-3417

Boats without motors (except electric
motors) are permitted on the Upper Lake,
Middle Ponds, and Lower Lake.

The North Marsh is closed to boating,
including float tubes.

Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (541) 947-3315

Big Springs Reservoir, Dufurrena
Ponds and Catnip Reservoir: Anglers
may bank fish, fish by wading, or use
nonmotorized boats, boats with electric
motors, float tubes and similar flotation
devices only.

Stillwater National Wildlife Refuge
Phone (775) 423-5128
Special boating regulations are
now in effect at Stillwater NWR. Con-
tact refuge manager before operating a
boat in this area. Fishing is not allowed.

Federal Boating Regulations

Informational Note: The following areas are subject to Federal Regulations in ad-
dition to the general provisions of the Nevada Boat Act, which include rules for registra-
tion, equipment, and operation. Please contact refuge managers for descriptions of
restricted zones and/or motor and speed regulations prior to your visit. Regulations are

Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge

Phone (775) 779-2237

North of Brown Dike: No boats per-
mitted. Float tubes permitted in Unit 21 as
posted.

South of Brown Dike (South Marsh)

January 1 through June 14: Boats
prohibited. Float tubes permitted at Main
Boat Landing, as posted; at Narciss Boat
Landing, as posted; and at mouth of Collec-
tion Ditch at west end of Brown Dike, as
posted.

June 15 through July 31: ONLY
motorless boats, float tubes and boats with
electric motors are permitted. Boats with
gas motors prohibited.

August 1 through December 31:
Motorless boats, float tubes and boats
propelled by motors with 10 h.p. or less are
permitted.
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Wildlife Management Area Regulations

The Department of Wildlife maintains several areas statewide that are known as Wild-
life Management Areas (WMAs). These areas are managed specifically for their wildlife
values. Fishing is provided on some of the areas and anglers are subject to the following
regulations.

Vehicular Travel (NAC 504.115)

Vehicular travel within a WMA may be controlled so as not to impact area management
and for safe and beneficial use of the area by both the public and the wildlife. Within a
Wildlife Management Area, it is prohibited to operate a motor vehicle off an interior road or
trail that is designated for vehicular travel; or on an interior road or trail that is marked as
closed to vehicular travel.

Removal (nac504.110)

Persons may be removed from a WMA for disorderly conduct, intoxication or any other
conduct which endangers the area, other persons, or wildlife and livestock.

Littering (ac 504.155)

The Department may deny further use of a WMA to any person who abuses or litters the
area.

Boating (ac 4ss.467)
See pages 38-39 and table on page 43.

Additional WMA regulations such as use of campfires, trespass and camping
restrictions are listed 43.




Wildlife Management Area Regulations
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Area Bodies of Trespass Use of Vessels Caums:f-ﬁ.fes Camping
Water and Bonfires
Vessels are prohibited
on all ponds. Vessels
are allowed on the
Overton Lake Mead, Trespass prohib- | portion of the area Permitted Permitted
WMA Honeybee ited from March 1 | inundated by Lake within the within the
(Clark Pond, through Aug. 1 Mead, except that on rest and trails | rest and trails
Co.) Center Pond | on Honeybee Overton Hunt Days, area. area.
Pond and Center | vessels may be used
Pond. only by persons
authorized to hunt
waterfowl.
Dacey Trespass prohib-
Resevoir, Tule | ited from Feb. 15
Kr\:rCthMA Resenvoir, ?hrt‘r’:‘gh AUG- 15 | £t wake restriction in | Permitted Permitted
(Nye Co.) | Cold Springs | in © upper effect. Vessels may within the within the
and portion of Adams- . . .
Havmeadow McGill, Cold no_t exceed 5 nautical David David
R Y ) Springs, and miles per hour. Deacon Deacon
a:gir;g'rrjé_ Haymgea; dow Campground. | Campground.
McGill Reser- | Reservoirs, and
VOIr. all of Dacey and
Tule Reservoirs.
Trespass prohib-
Key ited from Feb. 15 o
Pittman through Aug. 15 Flat wake restriction in . _
W!VIA Nesbitt Lake in the portion of effect. Not permitted. | Not permitted.
(Lincoln Nesbitt Lake
Co,) north of the old
fence line.
Hinkson Trespass prohib- | All vessels are prohib-
Mason Slough, North |ited from Feb. 15 |ited from Feb. 15
Valley Pond, Bass through Aug. 15 |through Aug. 15 each Permitted in Permitted in
WMA Pond, Beaver |in the eastern year, except on Hinkson | {hose sites those sites
(Lyon Co.) |Slough, portion of the Slough, Bass, Crappie | designated for | designated for
Crappie Pond, | main developed | and North Pond, Beaver | camping. camping.
Walker River |pond area, as Slough and the Walker
posted. River. Flatwake
restriction in effect.
Steptoe Waterskiing autho-
Valley : rized between 11 ; :
WMA Comins Lake am. and sunset. Not permitted. | Not permitted.
(White Pine During other hours
Co.) flat wake restriction in

effect.
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RAINBOW TROUT

2004-2005 Nevada Trout Stamp
By Greg Weyrick, Sparks, Nevad

LS

Nevada Artist Wins State Trout Stamp Contest

By Maureen Angel

Having faithfully entered Nevada’s annual
Trout Stamp Art Contest since its inception 18
years ago, Sparks artist Greg Weyrick must
have had the “always the bridesmaid and never
the bride” feeling. Weyrick, 49, had consistently
placed in the top 10 every year he entered, but
had never come closer than second place in
the contest. However, he never gave up on him-
self, or his artwork, believing that one day he
would win the coveted first place. And in Sep-
tember 2003, his spectacular painting of an
underwater scene featuring a pair of rainbow
trout was judged the number one painting out of
the 17 entries submitted by talented artists from
across the United States.

Weyrick says that he’s known since he
was six years old that he wanted to be an artist
when he grew up. He has been painting as long
as he can remember, but has held full-time jobs
in addition to selling his artwork. His most re-
cent employment was working for a local taxi-
dermist. He decided that 2003 was the year
that he would branch out and try to make a living
as a full-time artist.

The rainbow trout is easily the most well-
known species fished for in Nevada. ltis also
the most common species raised in the state’s
hatchery system - well over two million of these
beauties are planted annually throughout Ne-
vada. This troutis also known as a western trout
species. lItis native in Nevada only in northern
Elko streams that are found within the Colum-
bia-Snake River drainage basin. Extensive

stocking programs, which began in Nevada more
than 100 years ago, have made the rainbow the
most widespread trout species in the state. The
state’s record rainbow trout was caught by Ne-
vada angler Mike Soskin in 1971. Soskin’s fish
was caught out of Lake Mohave in southern Ne-
vada. Ittipped the scales at a hefty 16 pounds 4
ounces, and was 31.5 inches long.

Today, many Nevada anglers fish for rainbow
trout. These fish give anglers the opportunity to
get outdoors, not only for the fishing, but also for
the breathtaking views of Nevada that can be
found around Nevada'’s lakes and streams.

Weyrick’s painting is depicted in full color on
the 2004 Nevada State Trout Stamp. Although
there is no financial prize, the artist retains full re-
production rights, and usually produces limited
edition reprints that are sold for approximately
$145 each. In addition, the artist donates 75 spe-
cial Conservation Edition prints that are auctioned
off at various wildlife organization fund-raising ban-
quets each year throughout the state. Conserva-
tion Edition print number one is retained by
NDOW and is publicly displayed.

The state trout stamp is required of all an-
glers 12 years of age and older who fish for, or
possess trout. The cost of the state stamp is $10.
A portion of the proceeds from the sale of the trout
stamps is being used to pay for much needed
repairs and maintenance at Department fish
hatcheries located throughout the state. These
hatcheries are critical to keeping trout in Nevada
waterways and keeping anglers in the great out-
doors.
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NEVADA ANGLER QUESTIONNAIRE

Each year, the Nevada Department of Wildife gathers information on recreational fching fucoess in M in ader To
maintain nd impiove the fsheries mcoones of the state. One of the main methads ized o oblain this nformabon B a

guestionnaie senk dinectly to you, the angler.

Yiour name miny' be seleched from our angling license reoonds. from 2004 to complete this questionnaire, Please keep
track o your days fished, the waters you fished and how many fah were csoght and releated. | you do neceies an Angler
Guestionnaine neadt year, your informmakion will be much mone acourabe i you kédp o log of the past year's (2004) bngling denys.
1f ary childnen under agee 12 were fishing with you, please record their total number of days fished for the year separately in
ow G,

Tobad s oo Sayn fladerd by hddren
]
i of 2300 FireEm, pond, ke or resTEy Total sorsbar of sk |
bl i il G iag DOOT [plsana incisde 4;_,.1_.-& Purhuy £ dirri Mirsbes o ik
Than mzerfam rirege. i brevi, Wl FLTHETS Y8 bl omeach I iy Wafit rebp i
frabeied| Ll
i £ { B L ¥
]

Exampie: Thomas CreesyCanon Rungs Washoa | 1 1] L1

L]
2
<
Z
Z
Q
%)
LL]
=)
O
14
Ll
—
O
Z
<
<
<
T
Z




Congratulations to the runners-up in the
2003 Nevada Free Fishing Day Poster Contest

Tahe M Fishine

Vincen Segura
4th Grade
Las Vegas, Nevada

Juan Carlos Lopez lf{fi w ~ ,..‘

4th Grade B [ &7
West Wendover, Nevada gL f V.
;‘-F i
7 L
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Nevada’s Free Fishing Day is June 12, 2004
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