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1. First, review the General Statewide Regulations including seasons,
hours and limits on pages 6-9.

2. Then, consult the reference map on page 3 to find the area  in which
you are interested in fishing -- Western, Eastern or Southern
Region.

3. Turn to the appropriate Region Section and review both the
Regional General Regulations and the Special Regulations for that
area.

4. If fishing in a Wildlife Management Area, review pages 38-39.
5. Text in bolded italics indicates changes in regulations.

How To Use These Regulations
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   The Nevada State Board of  Wildlife Commissioners adopts fishing regulations
under the authority of  Nevada Revised Statutes 501.105, 501.181, 503.290 and
503.300. These regulations are adopted for the management and protection of
Nevada’s  fishery resources.
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www.ndow.org

Your business can reach 127,000 Nevada anglers by advertising in this publication (per
NRS 501.346). For information on advertising in NDOW publications contact Lynne Foster
(775) 688-1997 or lfoster@ndow.org.
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   This regulation brochure was
developed by the Conservation
Education Bureau and published
March 1, 2005.  It contains only a
synopsis of the fishing and boating
laws for the State of Nevada.
Complete text of the laws and
regulations may be obtained by
contacting the Nevada
Department of Wildlife or by
checking our Internet site at
www.ndow.org.

Nevada Regional Reference Map

Western
Region

Eastern
Region

Southern
Region
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Qualifications for Resident Licenses.  For the purpose of issuing and using resident licenses
or permits, a person is considered to be a resident of the State of Nevada if he is a citizen of, or is
lawfully entitled to remain in the United States, and during the six months preceding his application to
the Department for a license or permit, he was domiciled in this state; was physically present in this
state except for temporary absences; and did not purchase or apply for any resident license, tag or
permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province. A resident license or permit issued by
this state is void if the person to whom it was issued establishes his domicile in, and obtains any
privilege or entitlement conditional on residency from another state, country or province.
A person who is not domiciled in Nevada but who is attending an institution of higher learning in this
state as a full-time student is eligible for a resident license or permit if, during the six months preced-
ing his application to the Department for a license or permit, he was physically present in Nevada
except for temporary trips outside the state, and did not purchase or apply for any resident license,
tag or permit to hunt, fish or trap in another state, country or province.

(NEVADA’S LICENSE YEAR IS MARCH 1 THROUGH FEBRUARY 28)

Resident License Fees and Permits

Severely Disabled Person Fishing License - For persons with a severe physical
disability which materially limits gainful employement. First-time applicants must sub-
mit an application available from NDOW and supporting documentation of the disability
before the license can be issued. Issued at NDOW offices only.

$13.00

Annual Fishing License - For persons 16 years of age or older.

Junior Fishing License - For persons 12 through 15 years of age.

Senior Fishing License - For persons 65 years of age or older with 5 years of
continuous Nevada residency.

$13.00

Combination Hunting and Fishing License - For persons 16 years of age or older
(parental signature required at time of purchase for persons 16-17 years of age).

$54.00

Junior Combination Hunting and Fishing License - For persons 12 through
15 years of age (parental signature required at time of purchase).

$21.00

Senior Combination Hunting and Fishing License - For persons 65 years of
age or older with 5 years of continuous Nevada residency.

Short-Term Fishing Permit - Valid until midnight of day specified.

Each consecutive day added to a Short-Term Permit to Fish
(must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased).

Serviceman Fishing License - For Nevada resident servicemen on active duty who
are stationed outside of Nevada.  Must show duty or leave papers at time of purchase.

Disabled Veteran Fishing or Combination Hunting and Fishing License - For
veterans residing in Nevada for six months or longer and have incurred a 50 percent ser-
vice-connected disability.  First-time applicants must submit an application available from
NDOW along with supporting documentation of the disability before the license can be
issued. Issued at NDOW offices only.

$13.00
$29.00

$21.00

$  9.00

$  3.00

Free

$  9.00

Licenses, Permits, Stamps and Fees
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$10.00

Nonresident License Fees and Permits

Each consecutive day added to a Short-Term Permit to fish
 (must be purchased at the same time Short-Term Permit is purchased).

Combination Hunting and Fishing License - For persons 16 years of age
or older (parental signature required at time of purchase for persons 16-17
years of age).

$199.00

$  7.00

Nevada Trout Stamp  - Required for any license holder who takes or pos-
sesses trout.

Native American Fishing and Hunting License - For resident Native Ameri-
cans.  First-time applicants must contact a Nevada tribal council to complete the
certificate of eligibility before the license can be issued.  Issued at NDOW offices
only.

$21.00
Resident License Fees and Permits - continued from previous page

Nevada Trout Stamp - Required for any license holder who takes or possesses trout. $10.00
Second Rod Stamp - Required for any license holder who wishes to fish with two
combinations of hook, line and rod.

Nevada Special Use Stamp - See page 35 for license and stamp requirements when
fishing in reciprocal waters of Colorado River, Lake Mead and Lake Mohave.

Free

Severely Disabled Combination Hunting & Fishing License - For persons
with a severe physical disability which materially limits gainful employment. First-
time applicants must submit an application available from NDOW and supporting
documentation of the disability before the license can be issued.  Issued at NDOW
offices only.

Annual Fishing License - For persons 16 years of age or older. $69.00

Junior Fishing License - For persons 12 through 15 years of age. $21.00

Short-Term Fishing Permit - Valid until midnight of day specified. $18.00

Second Rod Stamp - Required for any license holder who wishes to fish with
two combinations of hook, line and rod.

Nevada Special Use Stamp - See page 35 for license and stamp requirements $  3.00

Nevada’s Free Fishing Day is June 11, 2005

Licenses, Permits, Stamps and Fees

$10.00

$ 3.00

$10.00

when fishing in reciprocal waters of Colorado River, Lake Mead and Lake Mohave.
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License Requirements:   All persons fishing are subject to the license requirements listed
below. Except for some “interstate waters” (Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Colorado River and
Lakes Mead and Mohave - see pages 10-11), anglers 12 years of age and older are required
to obtain and possess a license to fish.  Nonresident anglers under 12 years of age are not
required to have a license, but the number of fish taken by such nonresident anglers must not
exceed 50 percent of the limit as provided by law. (For instance, if the limit is five, these young
anglers may take only two fish).  Fishing license and permit requirements apply to persons
taking fish by means of spear or bow and arrow.
Trout Stamp:   While fishing in Nevada, any person who takes or possesses trout must carry
on his person a state Trout Stamp affixed to his fishing license and validated by his signature in
ink across the face of the stamp. The Trout Stamp fee is $10.  Exceptions:   While fishing in
Nevada, youth under the age of 12, or any persons fishing under the authority of a valid short-
term permit to fish or during a consecutive day validly added to that permit, are not required to
obtain a Trout Stamp. A Trout Stamp is not required to fish on Free Fishing Day.

Second Rod Stamp:   Only one combination of hook, line and rod may be used by a person
at any one time unless the person purchases, in addition to his fishing license or short-term
fishing permit, a “Second Rod Stamp” which allows the person to use a second combination
of hook, line and rod. The Second Rod Stamp must be signed and affixed to the license or
permit and is valid for the period specified. A person, regardless of age, must first obtain a
valid fishing license or short-term fishing permit before he can use a Second Rod Stamp. The
Second Rod Stamp fee is $10.  No person may use more than two combinations of hook, line
and rod at any time.

Possession Limit vs. Daily Limit:  In this state, there is no distinction between  a “daily” limit
and a “possession” limit. There is simply a “limit.”  There is no ‘adding up’ of “daily” limits to
establish a “possession” limit. An angler may not have more than one limit in possession.  For
example, if an angler fishes one body of water where the limit is four trout and takes his limit, he
may not then move to a body of water where the limit is two trout and keep any more fish. If he
wants to keep fish from the water with the lower limit of two, he should fish there first, then move
to the other water and catch the two additional fish to reach the limit of four. Likewise, if an
angler fishes the same body of water two days in a row, he may not take the limit the first day
then go back and keep fish again the second day unless he has first consumed or given away
some portion of his first day’s catch.

Limits:  “Limit” means the maximum number of game fish that may be lawfully taken and
reduced to possession by a person in one day.  The “Limit” includes fish caught in Nevada
which have been processed or preserved and are stored at any location. Fish that are caught
and immediately released back to the water alive are not considered to be reduced to
possession or part of the limit. A person shall not reduce fish to possession if he already has a
number of fish in possession (including that held in freezer, creel, cooler, etc.) which equals or
exceeds the limit of the water being fished.
       Limits for individual counties are specified under each Region’s General Regulations.
Limits for waters which have special limits or restrictions are listed under each Region’s
Special Regulations.

General Statewide Regulations
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Artificial Lures: “Artificial Lures” means any device with a hook or hooks attached which is
made partly or entirely of rubber, wood, metal, glass, plastic or feathers.  (Please note: “Power
Bait ®” or similar products are not considered artificial lures).

Only artificial lures may be used in the following waters:
1. Crittenden Reservoir in Elko County.
2. The Collection Ditch at Ruby Lake NWR in Elko County.
3. Hinkson Slough on the Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area in Lyon County.
4. Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka County.

Filleting Fish:  Where size limits apply, fish may not be filleted before transport.  Where no
size limits apply, fish may be filleted before transport if the fillets are kept in one piece so that
the total number of fish may be determined.

Seasons and Hours:  Unless otherwise noted under Region Special Regulations, the season
is open year around and fishing hours are any time of the day or night. Where specified, “open
season” includes the first and last day designated.

Methods of Fishing:  Except as noted under “Unprotected Fish” and “Spearfishing” below
(and on page 8), fish may be taken only with hook and line attached to rod or reel and closely
attended in the manner known as angling. Unless a person has a valid second rod stamp, only
one combination of hooks, line, and rod may be used at any one time. No more than three
baited hooks, nor more than three fly hooks, or two lures or plugs irrespective of the number of
hooks or attractor blades attached thereto, may be attached to the line. Some waters have
further restrictions.

Spearfishing:  Persons may spearfish for unprotected fish in all Nevada waters except Lake
Tahoe and Topaz Lake. Persons may spearfish for striped bass in Lake Mead and Lake Mohave
from Cottonwood Cove to the cable below Hoover Dam. Spearfishing for striped bass is
prohibited in that portion of Lake Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis Dam and from
Davis Dam down river to the Nevada state line. In Lakes Mead and Mohave and the Colorado
River system, spearfishing is prohibited within 1/2 mile of any dock or swimming area. When
spearfishing, a person must display, within 100 feet, an appropriate diver’s flag. A mechanical
spearing device may be used only under the surface of the water, and the spear must be attached
to the device by a lanyard.  Fishing license regulations apply to persons taking fish by
means of spear or bow and arrow.

Continued on page 8

Total length

Size Limit: Unless otherwise noted under Region General
Regulations or Region Special Regulations, there is no size limit.
Where size limits do apply, this shall mean the total length of the fish
including the head and tail, measured as illustrated in the diagram.

General Statewide Regulations

“Fishes,” “fishing,” “fished” and “to fish” defined.  As used in this title, the words “to
fish” and their derivatives, “fishes,” “fishing” and  “fished,” mean catching, taking, capturing,
killing, injuring or crippling of a fish or game amphibian, and every attempt  to do so.
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ONLY ARTIFICIAL LURES WITH SINGLE BARBLESS HOOKS MAY BE USED
IN THESE WATERS:

Spooner Lake in Douglas County.
Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County.
Hobart Reservoir, its tributaries and Franktown Creek downstream to Red House.
Truckee River and diversion ditches and tributaries above the I-80 bridge, which is
upstream from Crystal Peak Park to the California state line.
Catnip Reservoir in Washoe County.
South Fork of the Humboldt River from the access causeway for the Lucky Nugget
subdivision upstream to Lee.
East Walker River from 1/4 mile above the confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to 1/2 mile below the confluence of the East Walker
River and Red Wash Creek.
Beaver Dam Creek in Lincoln County.
Schroeder Reservoir in Lincoln County.

Using Fish for Bait:  Please see pages 10-11. Game fish and protected species of fish may
not be used as bait.

Chumming:  “Chumming” means placing  fish, parts of fish, or other material upon which fish
feed, in the water for the purpose of attracting fish to a particular area so that they may be
taken. Chumming is prohibited in Lake Tahoe, Topaz Lake, Crittenden Reservoir, Spooner
Lake, and the entire Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge.

Ice Fishing:  For the purposes of ice fishing, holes cut through the ice must not exceed 10
inches in diameter.

Unprotected Fish:  Unprotected fish are all species not classified as game or protected
(game fish are listed on page 9).  Unprotected fish may be taken by bow and arrow, hook and
line, dipnet, cast net, minnow seine or minnow trap, and, except where prohibited, by spear.  In
the Colorado River and Lakes Mead and Mohave, the taking of fish by bow and arrow is
prohibited within 1/2 mile of any dock or swimming area.

Continued from page 7
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Artificial Lures with Single Barbless Hooks:  A “single barbless hook” means a fish hook
having one point, manufactured without barbs or on which the barbs have been bent completely
closed or filed off. Double or treble hooks having a common shank are not a single barbless
hook even when the barbs are closed or filed off. When single barbless hooks are required,
only one single barbless hook may be attached to each hook eye or ring of the lure.

General Statewide Regulations

Interstate Waters Fishing and License InformationInterstate Waters Fishing and License InformationInterstate Waters Fishing and License InformationInterstate Waters Fishing and License InformationInterstate Waters Fishing and License Information
For information on fishing on interstate waters and license requirements:
Lake Tahoe and Topaz Reservoir, see page 21.
Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the Colorado River, see pages 35-36.
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Crayfish:      A fishing license is required for those 12 and older to capture crayfish for fishing or
personal consumption. There is no limit on crayfish, but  they may not be taken for commercial
purposes.

Bullfrogs:   There is no license requirement or limit on bullfrogs, if they are taken by gig, spear,
bow and arrow, or by hand.   However, a license is required to take bullfrogs by hook and line.
Season is open year around anytime of the day or night in waters that are open to fishing or
frogging.

Warmwater Game Fish (see pages 22-23):  Warmwater game fish are: northern pike, black
bullhead, brown bullhead, channel catfish, white catfish, striped bass, white bass, largemouth black
bass, smallmouth black bass, spotted bass, black crappie, white crappie, yellow perch, Sacramento
perch, bluegill sunfish, green sunfish, redear sunfish, walleye, and any hybrid thereof.

Coldwater Game Fish (see pages 22-23):  Coldwater game fish are: Bonneville cutthroat
trout, Lahontan cutthroat trout, Snake River (Yellowstone) cutthroat trout, Kokanee salmon, Atlantic
salmon, brook trout, brown trout, bull trout, lake trout, rainbow trout, redband trout, mountain
whitefish, and any hybrid thereof.

Protected Fish and Amphibians:  Protected fish and amphibians are those species listed in
NAC 503.065, 503.075 and 503.067. There is no open season on fish or amphibians classified
as protected.  For a list of protected fish and amphibians, check our web site at www.ndow.org.

General Statewide Regulations
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The Capture, Transport and Use of Bait:
Any person possessing a fishing license

or permit, or otherwise exempted from such
licenses, may capture, transport and use bait
for fishing or personal consumption except
that the use of game fish or protected spe-
cies of fish for bait is prohibited.  Aquatic bait
(such as live unprotected amphibians, cray-
fish, clams and snails) may be used only in
the water from which it is taken.  Aquatic bait
and live bait fish (live unprotected species of
freshwater fish) may be transported from one
river basin to another or from one area of this
state to another only as provided in the ap-
propriate regional regulation as noted below.
Any bait obtained from a licensed dealer of
live bait fish must be accompanied by a cur-
rently dated receipt issued by that dealer.

NOTE: Artificial lure-only waters are
listed on pages 7 - 8.

In the Carson River Basin from Quilici
Dam (12 miles below Dayton) above
Lahontan Reservoir downstream to and in-
cluding Lahontan Reservoir, the Carson River
below Lahontan Dam and all of the waters
within Lahontan Valley, Churchill County: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), speckled dace,
Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, mosquitofish,
carp, tui chub, Sacramento blackfish, fathead
minnows and Paiute sculpin may be used as
live bait fish. Fish used as live bait may be
taken only from the Carson or Truckee River
Basins in Carson City, Churchill, Douglas,
Lyon, Storey or Washoe Counties or pur-
chased only from a dealer who is licensed in
this state and authorized to sell live bait fish
for use in the Carson River Basin.

In the area of the Carson River Basin
from the boundary between California and
Nevada to Quilici Dam: only Lahontan
redside (shiner), speckled dace, Tahoe
sucker, mountain sucker and mosquitofish Continued on page 11

may be used as live bait fish. Fish used as live
bait may be taken only from the Carson River
above Quilici Dam or purchased from a dealer
who is licensed in this state and authorized to
sell live bait fish for use in the Carson River
Basin.

In the Humboldt River Basin from  Stahl
Diversion Dam (near Golconda, Humboldt
County) to and including Rye Patch Reservoir,
the Pitt-Taylor and Chimney Reservoirs, the
Humboldt River below Rye Patch Dam and all
waters of the Humboldt River in Lovelock Val-
ley, Pershing and Churchill Counties: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), tui chub, speckled
dace, Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, Sacra-
mento blackfish, fathead minnows and carp
may be used as live bait fish. Fish used as live
bait in this area may only be taken from the
Humboldt River and its tributaries or purchased
from a dealer who is licensed in this state and
authorized to sell live bait fish for use in the Hum-
boldt River Basin.

In the waters of Lake Tahoe and its
tributaries located in Carson City, Douglas and
Washoe Counties:  only Lahontan redside
(shiner), tui chub, Tahoe sucker, mountain
sucker, Paiute sculpin and speckled dace may
be used as live bait fish. Fish used here as live
bait may be taken only from, and must be native
to, Lake Tahoe and its tributaries.

In the main Walker River from the bridge
of the S.P. Railroad near Wabuska, downstream
to and including Weber Reservoir  and the lower
Walker River down to and including Walker
Lake: only Lahontan redside (shiner), tui chub,
speckled dace, Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker,
carp and mosquitofish may be used as live bait.
Fish used as live bait here may only be taken
from the Walker River Basin in Lyon or Mineral
Counties or purchased from a dealer who is
licensed in this state and authorized to sell live
bait fish for use in the Walker River Basin.  The
use of fish as bait, whether alive or dead, or
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Western Region Bait Regulations

General Regulations Concerning Bait
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Continued from page 10
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parts thereof, is prohibited in the ponds and
sloughs of the Mason Valley Wildlife
Management Area and the Fort Churchill
Cooling Ponds.

In the lower Truckee River Basin which
includes the Truckee River and its tributaries
from below the I-80 bridge located upstream
from Crystal Peak Park in Verdi, downstream
including Paradise Ponds, Virginia Lake, and
Washoe Lake and Fernley Wildlife Manage-
ment Area, to, but excluding Pyramid Lake: only
Lahontan redside (shiner), speckled dace,
Tahoe sucker, mountain sucker, Paiute sculpin,
mosquitofish, tui chub, fathead minnows and
carp may be used as live bait fish. Fish used
as live bait may only be taken from the Truckee
River or its tributaries or be purchased from a
dealer licensed in this state and authorized to
sell live bait fish for use in the Truckee River
Basin.

In the Truckee River upstream from the
I-80 bridge, which is above Crystal Peak Park
in Verdi to the California state line, only artifi-
cial lures with single barbless hooks may be
used. Only one single barbless hook may be

Within this region, which includes Elko,
Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties,
while fishing in this region, the possession or
use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive or
any parts thereof except for preserved salmon
eggs, is prohibited. Other aquatic bait (live,
unprotected salamanders, waterdogs, frogs,
crayfish, clams and snails) may be used only
in  the water from which it is taken.

In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the
Colorado River located in Clark County, only
golden shiner, fathead minnow, mosquitofish,
red shiner, threadfin shad, carp and goldfish
may be used as live bait fish. Other forms of
aquatic and animal life, such as the waterdog,
grasshopper, earthworm and crayfish may
also be used as bait. A licensed person may
purchase live baitfish from a licensed bait
dealer in Arizona, California or Nevada, or he
may for his own use, take such baitfish with a
dipnet, a cast net with a radius not exceeding
three feet from horn to leadline, a seine not
exceeding 10 feet in length and four feet in
width, or a minnow trap not exceeding 12
inches in width, 12 inches in depth and 24
inches in length. In all other waters of this re-
gion the capture, possession while fishing or
use of fish as bait, whether dead or alive, or
parts thereof, other than preserved salmon
eggs, is prohibited.

Eastern Region Bait Regulations

Southern Region Bait Regulations

General Regulations Concerning Bait
attached to each hook eye or ring of the lure. In
all other waters of this region, the capture, pos-
session while fishing or the use of fish as bait,
whether dead or alive, or parts thereof, other
than preserved salmon eggs is prohibited.
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Determining how Nevada’s fisheries
are doing and providing that information to
anglers and the public may seem like a
fairly simple task, but the tremendous vari-
ety in our state’s aquatic resources means
NDOW’s fisheries biologists have to use a
variety of methods to evaluate our sport and
native fisheries so
that we can develop
effective strategies
to protect and im-
prove those waters.

On Lake
Mead, the largest
reservoir in North
America, biologists
use gill nets and
e l e c t r o f i s h i n g
equipment to as-
sess the condition of important sport fish
species annually.  They also use trawling
equipment every year in late spring to de-
termine the production of threadfin shad,
which is the primary food source for the
reservoir’s abundant striped bass popula-
tion.  In contrast, sensitive native fish spe-
cies occur in small springs and stream sys-
tems throughout the state.  Determining
their status and condition is essential for
management to prevent their decline and
extinction.  Setting minnow traps, pulling
seines and direct observation by snorkel-
ing or scuba diving are essential tools for
that type of monitoring.

Electrofishing uses a boat mounted
generator or battery powered backpack
shocker to temporarily stun fish with elec-
tric current so that they can be counted and
examined.  This is an important sampling
method that is used on many waters, from
larger lakes and reservoirs to streams sup-
porting cutthroat and rainbow trout.  Used

Monitoring Nevada’s Fisheries
By Jon Sjoberg, Southern Region Supervising Fisheries Biologist

properly, this technique allows biologists to cap-
ture fish from areas that cannot be sampled by
other methods.  Fish are then released, un-
harmed, back to the environment when the
monitoring is done.

Since ancient  times, nets have been used
for fish collection, and they are still an important

tool in the biologist’s
toolbox.  Specialized types
of nets have been devel-
oped which minimize the
injury to fish and allow them
to be released after sam-
pling.  Some examples in-
clude:  trammel nets which
capture fish in an extra
layer of loose mesh, and
hoop nets which look like
giant minnow traps and

are particularly effective for panfish and some
native fish species.

Another important tool for biologists is
creel census, the information collected from an-
glers on catch and success.   Anglers can con-
tact  an NDOW employee, fill out a creel infor-
mation card at the lake, or compile a survey form
received in the mail.  This accurate information
about  an anglers fishing trip and experience is
critical to help us understand our fisheries, vali-
date our monitoring data, and develop manage-
ment strategies to improve Nevada’s aquatic
resources.

Fish sampling

NDOW electroshocking crew
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By Mark Warren, Fisheries Staff Specialist
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The Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW) has a
very active warm water fisheries program.  Warm water
fish include bass, walleye, perch, catfish and the sun-
fishes.  While NDOW is normally self-sufficient in the pro-
duction of trout (a cold water fish) with our three hatcher-
ies and one rearing station, NDOW has to either purchase
any warm water species from private fish rearing facili-
ties or transplant them from other waters in Nevada or
neighboring states.  Federal fish cultural facilities oper-
ated by the US Fish and Wildlife Service also supply
warm water fish to Nevada free of charge; NDOW just
has to pay the transportation costs.  Once the warm wa-
ter species are established in a specific water, they are
often able to reproduce and provide a fishery for anglers.
Some of our waters lack sufficient habitat for the repro-
duction of certain species such as walleye.  Consequently,
these fish must be stocked annually.  In other waters, such
as urban ponds in the Las Vegas Valley, the demand is
such that fish, like channel catfish must be continually
stocked during the summer as catchables (nine-inch fish).  In 2004, a total of 22,000 pounds
of channel catfish were released into four urban ponds in the Las Vegas Valley and one urban
pond in Boulder City.  Other species such as wipers (a cross between a white bass and a
striped bass), are sterile and also must be stocked annually.  Shipments of  walleye and
wipers often are delivered to NDOW as one-day-old fish.  Packed 100,000 per ice chest,
these fry resemble small pins rather than actual fish.

Some warm water fish such as bluegill, crappie, white
bass, bullhead catfish and yellow perch never reach larger
sizes, but are usually very prolific, and provide hours of fish-
ing pleasure with the added bonus of being great to eat.
An example is the yellow perch found in Wildhorse Reser-
voir, located 60 miles north of Elko.  Although seldom reach-
ing 13 inches in length, they provide excellent spring and
early summer sport as well as great ice fishing in winter.

In Nevada fisheries, members of the bass family grow
to respectable sizes.  Records show that Nevada’s record
largemouth bass is 12 pounds; smallmouth bass is 5
pounds, 7 ounces; and spotted bass is 4 pounds, 2 ounces.
Some say Ruby Lake NWR south of Elko has the best large-
mouth bass fishing in the state, but the record for the larg-
est fish falls to Lake Mead near Las Vegas.  Presently, the

Tisdale displays a trophy
sized spotted bass.

NDOW biologist Kim Tisdale
prepares to release a spotted
bass into Sparks Marina.

NDOW’s Warm Water
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Fisheries Program
best smallmouth bass fishing in the state can be found in South Fork Reservoir near Elko.
Spotted bass were netted from Shasta Reservoir in northern California several years ago
with the cooperation of the California Fish and Game Department and then stocked into
Lahontan Reservoir, Rye Patch Reservoir, Squaw Creek Reservoir and Sparks Marina Pond.
The project was partially funded by the Truckee River Bassers, a local bass fishing club.

Other warm water species such as walleye, channel catfish, stripers and wipers grow to
incredible sizes.  The present state record for walleye is 15 pounds, 4 ounces; striper is 63
pounds; channel catfish is 31 pounds, 1 ounce; and wiper 18 pounds, 8 ounces.  Lahontan
Reservoir near Fallon produced the state record walleye, wiper and channel catfish, while
Lake Mohave near Las Vegas produced the state record striper.

To find out which waters contain your favorite fish, go to www.ndow.org, click on fisher-
ies, go to the list of waters by species and select the species you are interested in.  A drop
down list will appear that gives the waters that particular species is found in; its relative abun-
dance and the location of the water.  It’s time to plan that next Nevada fishing trip.

Sharon Hicks holds a 6 pound, 6 oz.,
28.5” walleye caught at Lahontan
Reservoir.

David Bressler shows off his 5
pound, 7 oz, 20” record smallmouth
bass caught at South Fork
Reservoir.

 Larry Baker
proudly displays
his 15 pound, 7 oz,
30.5” channel
catfish caught at
Wildhorse
Reservoir.
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Mail entries and photos to:
Fisheries Bureau
Nevada Department of Wildlife
1100 Valley Rd.
Reno, Nevada 89512

1. Largemouth Bass 5 lbs.
2. Smallmouth Bass 3 lbs.
3. Spotted Bass 2 lbs.
4. Striped Bass 20 lbs.
5. White Bass 2 lbs.
6. Carp 15 lbs.
7. Bullhead Catfish 1 lb.
8. Channel Catfish 10 lbs.
9. White Catfish 4 lbs.
10. Black Crappie 2 lbs.
11. White Crappie 2 lbs.
12. Arctic Grayling 0.5 lb.
13. Sacramento Perch 2 lbs.
14. Yellow Perch 0.5 lb.
15. Northern Pike 10 lbs.
16. Kokanee Salmon 2 lbs.
17. Silver Salmon 5 lbs.
18. Bluegill Sunfish 1 lb.
19. Green Sunfish 0.5 lb.
20. Redear Sunfish 0.5 lb.
21. Brook Trout 2 lbs.
22. Brown Trout 5 lbs.
23. Cutthroat Trout 10 lbs.
24. Bull Trout 0.5 lb.
25. Mackinaw Trout 10 lbs.
26. Rainbow Trout 5 lbs.
27. Rainbow/Cutthroat Hybrid Trout 10 lbs.
28. Tiger Trout 2 lbs.
29. Walleye 6 lbs
30. Mt. Whitefish 1 lb
31.  Wiper (White/Striped Bass Hybrid) 5 lbs.
32. Tiger Muskie 5 lbs.

 NEVADA TROPHY FISH ENTRY FORM
(Please Print Neatly)

Kind of fish caught Date caught

Weight   lbs. oz.   Length (total) inches    Girth inches

Water where caught

Specific Location (i.e. cove or landmark)         in    County, Nevada

Type of Tackle Lure or bait

Name of Angler Age

Mailing Address

City State      Zip Code

Telephone

Measurements witnessed by:

1. Name Address

2. Name Address

1.  Fish must be taken legally from Nevada waters.
2.  Weight is to be taken of whole fish before freezing.
3.  Length is to be measured from tip of nose to tip of tail.
4.  Measurements must be witnessed by two other persons,
      at least one of whom must not be a relative of angler
     entering contest.
5.  Angler must provide positive means of identifying the
      species of fish and include an adequate photograph.*
6. Entry must be made within calendar year of date caught
     to be included in that year’s contest.
7. If the fish being entered is a possible Nevada State
     Record, the fish must be weighed on a scale which has
     been certified as accurate. The fish must be witnessed
    by a Nevada Department of Wildlife employee.
*All photos submitted may be used in NDOW publications
and on the agency website unless otherwise requested.

ENTER YOUR FISH - IT MAY BE A TROPHY!
NEVADA’S TROPHY FISH PROGRAM

The following minimum weight qualifications are established for the various species of fish in the Nevada
Trophy Fish Program. Each entry which meets the minimum qualifications will receive a Trophy Fish Certifi-
cate. The largest entry of the year for each species will receive a Record Nevada Fish Certificate. Trophy Fish
Plaques will be awarded to those entries which establish a new state record.

For a fish to be considered in the Nevada
Trophy Fish Program the following must apply:

Total length

Girth
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##

#

# #

#

#

#
#

#

#

#

# #

#
#

##

Vya

Reno

Denio

Schurz

Fallon
Sparks

Fernley

Gerlach

Orovada

Lovelock

Hawthorne

Yerington

Winnemucca

Carson 
City

McDermit

Gardnerville

#26 Rye Patch Reservoir

#16 Knott Creek Reservoir

#7 Catnip Reservo ir

#21 Martin Creek

#14 Humboldt River
(Humbolt County)

#15 Humboldt River
(Pershing County)

#1 Big Springs Reservoir

#2 Bilk Creek Reservoir

#36 W all  Canyon Reservoir

#29 Squaw Creek Reservoir

#19 L iberty Pond

#12 Fort Church ill Cooling Ponds
#23 North Pond, Mason Valley

#25,27 & 32 Urban Ponds

#38 Thomas & Whites Creeks

#13 Hobart Reservo ir
#28 Spooner Lake

#18 Lake Tahoe

#17 Lahontan Reservoir

#33 W alker Lake

#11 Duffurrena Ponds

#22 Mtn. View Park Pond

#34 W alker River EF

#10 Desert Creek

#30 Topaz Reservoir
#35 W alker R iver W F

#5 Carson River EF
#6 Carson River WF

#3 Blue Lakes
#24 Onion Valley Reservoir

#31 Truckee River

#8 Chimney Reservoir

#37 W ashoe Lake
#39 W ilson Common 
  #9 Davis Ponds

#20 L ittle  Humboldt
       River NF#4 Boulder Reservoir
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NDOW Headquarters/
Western Region Office

1100 Valley Road
Reno, NV  89512
(775) 688-1500

The Western Region includes the nine counties of northwestern Nevada: Carson City,
Churchill, Douglas, Humboldt, Lyon, Mineral, Pershing, Storey and Washoe.  Several popular
fishing waters are located within this region including Lake Tahoe, Topaz Reservoir, Walker
Lake, Pyramid Lake, and the Truckee, Carson and Walker River systems. Waters that are
popular  for warmwater species are Lahontan, Chimney and Rye Patch Reservoirs, Humboldt
River, Washoe Lake, Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area and several canals and drains
in the Lahontan Valley.
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#11 Dufurrena Ponds

Note: This map depicts the
Western Region fishable waters
corresponding with the chart on
adjacent page.

Western Region General Reference Map
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bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn
bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr

rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc
redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb
spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb
tiger muskie=tm
tiger trout=tt

* Fishable waters not
labeled on map.
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Species Abbreviations walleye=wp
white bass=wb
white catfish=wc
whitefish=w
wiper=wi
yellow perch=yp

cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=lmb
mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb

1 Big Springs Reservoir Humboldt Co./Sheldon rb
2 Bilk Creek Reservoir Humboldt Co./Bilk C. Mtns. rb,bc
3 Blue Lakes Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range rb,bk,ct,bc
4 Boulder Reservoir Washoe Co./Boulder Mtn. rb
5 Carson River, East Fork Douglas Co./Carson Range rb,bn
6 Carson River, West Fork Carson/Lyon/Douglas/Churchill rb,bn,bh,cc,wc,gs,yp,wp
7 Catnip Reservoir Washoe Co./Sheldon ct
8 Chimney Dam Reservoir Humboldt Co./Little Humboldt River rb,wp,cc,cr
9 Davis Creek Park Pond Washoe Co./Washoe Valley rb
10 Desert Creek Lyon Co./Sweetwater Mtns. rb,bn,bk
11 Dufurrena Ponds Humboldt Co./Sheldon lmb,cr,yp,gs,rs
12 Fort Churchill Pond Lyon Co./Mason Valley lmb,cc,bg,rs
13 Hobart Reservoir Washoe Co./Carson Range rb,bk,bc
14 Humboldt River Humboldt Co. lmb,smb,cc,bh,cr,wp,bg
15 Humboldt River Pershing Co. lmb,cc,wp,smb,sb,wi
16 Knott Creek Reservoir Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range rb,bc
17 Lahontan Reservoir Churchill Co./Lahontan Valley rb,cc,bh,lmb, wb

sb,yp,wp,wc,cr,wi
18 Lake Tahoe Carson City/Douglas/Washoe rb,bn,mt,ks
19 Liberty Pond Churchill Co./Fallon rb,cc,wc,bg
20 Little Humboldt River, NF Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns. rb,bk,bn,ct
21 Martin Creek Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns. rb,bn
* Marilyn’s Pond Washoe Co. rb
22 Mountain View Park Pond Lyon Co./Yerington rb
23 North Pond, Mason Valley Lyon Co. rb,bn,lmb,bg
24 Onion Valley Reservoir Humboldt Co./Pine Forest Range rb,bk
25 Paradise Park Pond Washoe Co./Reno rb,bn,cc
* Pyramid Lake Washoe Co./Near Nixon ct, sp
* Quinn River, East Fork Humboldt Co./Santa Rosa Mtns rb, bk, bn
26 Rye Patch Reservoir Pershing Co. rb,cc,wp,lmb,sb,cr,bh,wc,wi
27 Sparks Marina Pond Washoe Co./Sparks rb,bn,cc
28 Spooner Lake Washoe Co./Carson Range ct,bn
29 Squaw Creek Reservoir Washoe Co./Near Gerlach rb,bn,lmb,sb,bh
* Star Creek Pershing Co./Humboldt Range rb
30 Topaz Reservoir Douglas Co./Highway 395 rb,bn,bc,bh
* Truckee Canal Lyon Co./Fernley rb
31 Truckee River Washoe/Storey Co. rb,bn,ct,w,cc,lmb,bh,gs
32 Virginia Lake Washoe Co./Reno rb,bn,cc,bc
33 Walker Lake Mineral Co. ct
* Walker River Lyon/Mineral Co. lmb,cc,wc,bh,bg
34 Walker River, East Fork Lyon Co./Walker River Valley rb,bn,w
35 Walker River, West Fork Lyon/Douglas Co. rb,bn,w
36 Wall Canyon Reservoir Washoe Co./North of Gerlach rb,bn,bc,smb
37 Washoe Lake Washoe Co./Washoe Valley cc,bh,wb,sp,wi
* Weber Reservoir Mineral Co./Walker River lmb,cc,wc,cr
38 Whites and Thomas Creek Washoe Co./Carson Range rb,bk
39 Wilson Common Pond Washoe Co./Washoe Valley rb

#   Body of Water      County/Location          Species
Western Region Fishable Waters
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Churchill County and Lyon County: The
limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
5 may be black bass and 5 may be walleye.

Humboldt County: The limit is 10 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 5 may be black bass and 5 may be wall-
eye.

Carson City, Douglas County, Mineral
County, Storey County and Washoe
County:  The limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain
whitefish, and 15 warmwater game fish of
which not more than 5 may be black bass.

Artificial Lure Waters:  See pages 7-8.

Bait Regulations: See pages 10-11.

Pershing County:  The limit is 10 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 5 may be black bass, 5 may be walleye,
and 5 may be white bass or white bass hy-
brids which are over 14 inches in length.  White
bass or white bass hybrids under 14 inches
may be included in the 15 game fish limit.

Western Region Limits: Except as noted under “Special Regulations” on pages 21-25,
the limits are as follows:

Western Region General Seasons/Hours: Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

20

Closed Waters: See page 25.

Important Note:  Within the Western Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Western Region
Special Regulations” on pages 21-25. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Photos by Mike Sevon
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Big Springs Reservoir in Humboldt
County:  Season is open the second Satur-
day in May through the last day of February, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Bilk Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County:
Season is open year around any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Blue Lakes in Humboldt County:  Season
is open the second Saturday in June through
November 15, any hour of the day or night.  Limit
is 5 trout. Only boats without motors are permit-
ted and area is closed to vehicular traffic.

Catnip Reservoir, Tributaries and Outlet
Stream in Washoe County:  Season is open
September 1 through November 15, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 0 trout, catch and
release fishing only.  Only artificial lures with
single barbless hooks may be used.

East Walker River in Lyon County:  Season
is open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain whitefish and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than 5
may be black bass except in that portion of the
East Walker River which is from ¼ mile above
the confluence of the East Walker River and
Sweetwater Creek downstream to ½ mile be-
low the confluence of the East Walker River and
Red Wash Creek which is catch and release
fishing only.  Only artificial lures with single
barbless hooks may be used.

Fort Churchill Cooling Pond Cooperative
Management Area in Lyon County:  Season
is open the second Saturday in February
through September 30, 1 hour before sunrise
to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is 15 game fish of
which not more than 2 may be black bass. Mini-
mum size for black bass is 14 inches. Fishing
is prohibited from the center dike and posted
areas. Wading or the use of boats and other
floating devices is prohibited.

Hobart Reservoir and Tributaries and
Franktown Creek downstream from
Hobart Reservoir to Red House in Washoe
County:  Season is open May 1 through Sep-
tember 30, 1 hour before sunrise to 2 hours
after sunset. Limit is 5 trout, only one of which
is longer than 14 inches.  Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.

Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt
County:  Season is open from the second
Saturday in June through November 15. Limit
is 1 trout, minimum size 18 inches. Hours are
any hour of the day or night.   Only artificial lures
with single barbless hooks may be used.
Boats must be operated at a speed that leaves
a flat wake.

Lahontan Reservoir, Carson River and all
waters in Lahontan Valley, plus the Carson
River downstream of Dayton in Churchill
and Lyon Counties:  Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except for
the Lahontan Dam spilling pool (bowl) which
is closed to fishing.  Limit is 5 trout, 10 moun-
tain whitefish, and 15  warmwater game fish
of which not more than 5 may be walleye, and
5 may be black bass.  However, in accordance
with the Nevada State Health Division advi-
sory, the Department of Wildlife recommends
no consumption of fish from Lahontan Reser-
voir, the Carson River below Dayton, and all
waters in Lahontan Valley due to elevated
mercury levels found in game fish and carp.
NOTE:  Stillwater NWR is closed to
fishing due to health advisory.

Lake Tahoe and Topaz Reservoir: Persons
under 16 years of age are not required to have
a fishing license.  Persons 16 years of age or
older must have either a Nevada fishing li-
cense and a Trout Stamp; a Nevada short-term
fishing permit, or a California fishing license.



Truckee River, its Diversion Ditches and
Tributaries above the I-80 bridge, which is
upstream from Crystal Peak Park (in Verdi),
to the California state line in Washoe
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 2 trout and 10 moun-
tain whitefish. Minimum size for trout is 14
inches.  Only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used.

24

Continued from page 21
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Liberty Pond in Churchill County: Sea-
son is open year around, during public park
hours. Limit is 5 game fish.

Lake Tahoe and Tributaries in Washoe,
Douglas, and Carson City Counties: Sea-
son is open year around, 1 hour before sun-
rise to 2 hours after sunset, except for the fol-
lowing closed areas: within a 200 yard radius
of the mouths of Third, Incline, and Wood
Creeks; 500 yard radius from Sand Harbor
Boat Ramp; and within the boat launch area
inside the jetty at Cave Rock Boat Ramp. Lim-
its are 5 game fish of which not more than 2
may be mackinaw (lake trout).

Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area
in Lyon County: Season is open the sec-
ond Saturday in February through Septem-
ber 30, any hour of the day or night on the
following waters:  Bass, Crappie, North
Ponds, Beaver Slough,  and that portion of
the Walker River within the Mason Valley Wild-
life Management Area.  Limit is 5 trout and
15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 2 may be black bass.  Minimum size for
black bass is 14 inches. Hinkson  Slough:
Same season as above; limit  is 2 trout and
15 warmwater gamefish of which not more
than 2 may be black bass. Minimum size for
trout is 16 inches, minimum size for black
bass is 14 inches.  Artificial lures only. See
pages 7and 8.  Eastside Waterfowl Series
Ponds:   Season is open Aug. 16 - Sept. 30,
any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not
more than 2 may be black bass.  Minimum
size for black bass is 14 inches. All other
waters of the Mason Valley Wildlife Manage-
ment Area are closed.

Onion Valley Reservoir in Humboldt
County: Season is open the second Saturday
in June through November 15, any hour of the
day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Rye Patch Reservoir and Humboldt River
in Pershing County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 25
game fish of which not more than 5 may be trout,
5 may be walleye, 5 may be black bass and 5
may be white bass or white bass hybrids over
14 inches. White bass or white bass hybrids
under 14 inches may be included in the 25 game
fish limit.

Spooner Lake in Douglas County: Season
is open year around, 1 hour before sunrise to 2
hours after sunset. Catch and release fishing
only.  Only artificial lures with single barbless
hooks may be used.

Topaz Lake in Douglas County: Season is
open January 1 through September 30, 1 hour
before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset, except
for the area within the jetties of  Topaz Marina
which is closed to fishing.   Limit is 5 trout, 10
mountain whitefish and 15 warmwater game fish
of which not more than 5 may be black bass.
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Washoe Lake in Washoe County:  Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day
or night. Limit is 10 game fish of which not
more than 5 may be catfish.   (Scripps Wild-
life Management Area is closed to trespass
February 1 through June 30).

Truckee River and itsTributaries from be-
low the I-80 bridge,  which is upstream from
Crystal Peak Park in Verdi, in Washoe and
Storey Counties: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night except for
the area within 1,000 feet downstream of Derby
Dam which is closed to fishing.  Limit is 5 trout,
10 mountain whitefish, and 15 warmwater
gamefish of which not more than 5 may be black
bass.

Washoe County Urban Ponds: Sparks Ma-
rina Pond, Davis Creek Pond, Marilyn’s Pond,
Paradise Pond, Virginia Lake, Idlewild Ponds,
Rancho San Rafael Pond, and Wilson Com-
mons: Season is open year around, during pub-
lic park hours. Limit is 5 game fish, of which not
more than 2 may be black bass.
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Carson City:  Marlette Lake, its tributaries and
outlet stream Marlette Creek.

In the Western Region the following waters are closed to all fishing:
Closed Waters

Washoe County: Marlette Lake, its tributaries
and outlet stream (Marlette Creek). Third Creek
and its tributaries from Lake Tahoe to the Mt.
Rose Highway No. 431.  Incline Creek and its
tributaries from Lake Tahoe to Ski Way and the
Mt. Rose Highway No. 431. Wood Creek from
Lake Tahoe to the Mt. Rose Highway No. 431.
Lake Tahoe within a 200-yard radius of the
mouths of Third, Incline and Wood Creeks.   A
500-yard radius from Sand Harbor boat ramp.
Five Mile Reservoir:  Truckee River from Derby
Dam downstream 1,000 feet.

Storey County: Five Mile Reservoir, and the
Truckee River from Derby Dam downstream
1,000 feet.

Mineral County:  Rose Creek Confluence
from the diversion pipe downstream to Walker
Lake and Walker Lake within a 100-yard radius
of the inflow.

Lyon County:  All waters within the Mason Val-
ley Wildlife Management Area except for those
listed as open on page 24.

Humboldt County:  All tributaries to Summit
Lake. All waters of the Sheldon Antelope Range
except Big Springs Reservoir, Catnip Reservoir
and Dufurrena Ponds. Washburn, Riser, Crowley,
Line Canyon and Sage Creeks in the Montana
Mountains. Andorna and Eightmile Creeks in the
Santa Rosa Range. Coleman Creek and North
Fork Battle Creek in the Blackrock Mountains.
Rodeo Creek in the Bilk Creek Mountains, Donnelly
Creek in the Calico Range.

Douglas County:  Lake Tahoe within the boat
launch area, inside the jetty at the Cave Rock boat
ramp, north end. Glenbrook Creek  from Lake
Tahoe to Hwy 50.  Topaz Lake within the jetties of
Topaz Marina.
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Selected Game 
BROOK TROUT (CHAR)

Color ranges from olive, blue-gray or black on the
back to white on the belly. Belly and lower fins brilliant
orange in spawning males. Upper body and dorsal fin
have mottled or worm-like markings. Red spots, with
or without bluish rings around them.  The most
distinguishing marks are the white and then black strip
along the fore edge of the lower fins. Tail square or
slightly forked. Occurs in about 278 mountain streams
in Nevada where it frequents cooler water.  Found in
Ruby Mountain alpine lakes and other coldwater
lakes.

WHITE BASS
Dark gray to black on the back, with bright silvery
sides and white belly. The sides have dark
stripes or lines (about 5 are above the lateral line).
There are 13 or 14 rays in the dorsal fin, and 11 to
13 in the anal fin. Body strongly compressed from
side to side, forehead is dished and snout is
slightly turned up. Found in Lahontan Reservoir,
Rye Patch Reservoir and Washoe Lake.

LARGEMOUTH BLACK BASS
Dark green on back and sides, silvery below. Belly is
greenish-white. A broad dark band on the sides which
consists of irregular patches touching together. Dorsal
fin with 9 to 10 sharp spines nearly separated from the
soft rays by a deep notch. Upper jaw when closed
extends at least to the rear edge of the eye in adults,
usually beyond. Abundant in lakes and reservoirs
throughout Nevada.

BROWN TROUT
Back brown or olive with large black spots. Sides
light brown to yellowish, with  numerous black and
red-orange spots surrounded by light blue rings.
Few if any spots on tail. Tail square, not forked.
Brown trout occur widely in central and eastern
Nevada streams and occur in about 73 streams
statewide. Also found in some lakes and
reservoirs. Spooky and difficult to catch.

CHANNEL CATFISH
No scales, tail deeply forked with pointed lobes. Body
pale bluish-olive above and bluish-white below. Spots
vary from a few to many over much of the body and
may not occur on large fish. Barbels extend from the
chin and upper jaw. Both dorsal and pectoral fins have
strong, sharp spines. Larger fish may be distinguished
from the white catfish by the longer black barbels and
more streamlined body form. Tail more deeply forked
and head thinner and less rounded than white catfish.
White on belly only to forward edge of anal fin. Found
in warm water streams and reservoirs in northwestern
and southern Nevada.

WHITE CATFISH
Bluish to grayish above and white below. Tail
deeply forked. No scales. No spots. Barbels
extend from the chin and upper jaw.  Both dorsal
and pectoral fins have strong, sharp spines. White
catfish have shorter barbels on the upper jaw than
channel catfish, and barbels on lower jaw are
whiter. Head is more rounded and white on belly
extends to rear of anal fin. Found in Lahontan and
Willow Creek Reservoirs and the Humboldt River
with channel catfish.

BULL TROUT (CHAR)
The bull trout is normally olive-green to light green along
the back and sides and appears somewhat washed out.
Back with pale yellow spots and sides with orange or red
spots; fins fringed with yellow orange; pectoral, pelvic,
and anal fins with white margins. This fish is native to
only the Jarbidge River system of northern EIko County
and occurs in tributaries associated with the two forks of
that stream system.

SMALLMOUTH BLACK BASS
Dark olive to brown on back, sides bronze, belly white.
Five dark vertical bands on sides. Eyes reddish. Dorsal fin
with 9 or 10 sharp spines without a deep notch separating
them from the soft rays.  Upper jaw when closed does not
extend beyond the rear edge of the eye. Found in only a
few waters in Nevada such as the Humboldt River, Dry
Creek Reservoir, South Fork Reservoir, Wildhorse
Reservoir, all in Elko County; Rye Patch, Carson River,
Lahontan and Wall Canyon Reservoirs.

BULLHEAD
No scales. Tail only slightly forked, with rounded lobes.
Adults are blackish, dark olive or dark brown. Belly is
yellow, greenish-white, or white. Chin barbels are entirely
black. The pectoral fin spine is smooth. Found in farm
ponds and reservoirs throughout Nevada.

WALLEYE
Prominent “canine” teeth distinguish this big
perch from its smaller family member the
yellow perch. Color is brassy-olive buff
sometimes shading to yellowish sides and
white beneath.  No distinct bars on the sides,
but rather an overall mottling of black or brown.
Large dark blotches at rear base of dorsal fin,
and the lower lobe of tail fin is white tipped. The
tail is moderately forked. Found in a few
western Nevada waters including Lahontan
and Rye Patch Reservoirs, the Humboldt
River below Rye Patch Reservoir, and
Chimney Reservoir.
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YELLOW PERCH
Rich yellow to brassy-green with 6 to 8 dark
vertical bars on the sides. Dark green back. No
“canine” teeth. The belly is whitish.  The dorsal fin
has two sections, the front one contains 12 to 14
sharp spines and the rear 12 to 13 soft rays.

STRIPED BASS
Body olive-green above, shading through
silvery on sides to white on belly with brassy
reflection. There are 7 to 8 longitudinal dark
stripes following the scale rows. A spiny dorsal
fin is barely separated from a soft dorsal fin. The
tail is forked and the body is cylindrical in
shape. Striped bass occur in only a few of the
larger lakes in Nevada including Lake Mead
and Lake Mohave. The fish can become very
large with some specimens larger than 50
pounds.

LAKE TROUT OR MACKINAW
Not as highly colored as other trout. Dark gray
or gray-green above, belly light gray or white.
Light gray irregular shaped spots or lines on
back, sides, dorsal fin and tail. No white edging
appears on lower fins as in brook trout. Tail
deeply forked.  Currently found in Lake Tahoe,
Nevada-California, and Liberty and Echo Lakes
in EIko County.

SPAWNING MALE KOKANEE SALMON
During the spawning period male kokanee turn a bright
red on the back with reddish to olive-colored sides. The
spawning habits of kokanee are like other true salmon
and all adult fish die after spawning which occurs in their
third or fourth year. Female kokanee turn a lighter red in
color and retain a body shape similiar to a trout, while the
male develops a large hooked snout with many irregular
teeth, a hump back and a masky green head.

KOKANEE SALMON
Back greenish-blue with faint speckling. The
sides and belly are silvery and scales slip easily
when handling. No distinct spotting on dorsal fin or
tail as in the rainbow. Anal fin rays generally
number 14 to 16. During spawning in the fall, skin
becomes leathery and turns dark red to bright
scarlet and the head turns dusky green. Occurs
in Lake Tahoe.

MOUNTAIN WHITEFISH
Back and fins are light brown and the sides and
belly are silver and white. There are no spots.
Tail deeply forked and body is deep and round.
Mouth small with no teeth. Large fleshy adipose
fin. Scales large and rough. The whitefish
occurs in a number of larger streams in western
and northeastern Nevada.

RAINBOW TROUT
Body usually olive to greenish-blue on the back; belly
white to silver; sides usually show prominent red or
pink streak. Fish from lakes sometimes lose all color
and appear silvery. Irregular spots on back, sides,
head, dorsal fin and tail. No teeth on back of tongue.
Native to the Columbia River drainage of northeastern
Nevada, but stocked extensively from hatcheries
throughout Nevada.  Nevada’s most abundant game
fish species occurring in 295 streams statewide and in
a large number of lakes and reservoirs.

CUTTHROAT TROUT
Body color is highly variable with three subspecies in
Nevada.  Back may be steel gray to olive-green.
Sides may be yellow-brown with red or pink along
belly. Slash marks on either side of the throat beneath
the lower jaw may be yellow, crimson-red or orange.
Fins uniform color with no white tips. Scattered spots
are usually round and black, more closely grouped
towards the tail. Teeth on back of tongue. May
hybridize with rainbow. Native to the Humboldt,
Snake, and Bonneville basins of Nevada.  Currently
occurs in 112 streams and a small number of lakes
where it’s well known for its large size.

CRAPPIE
Silver-olive with numerous black or dark green
splotches on the sides. Forehead is dished and
the snout is turned up. Five or more anal spines
and 7 or 8 dorsal spines. Base of the dorsal fin
is about the same length as the base of the anal
fin. Body compressed from side to side. Found
in warmwater lakes and reservoirs throughout
Nevada.

BLUEGILL
Very colorful. Light to dark blue on bright purple. In
breeding season, the breast of males is red. Gill covers
often blue with a black spot on the rear of the “ear flap”.
Faint vertical bars on the sides. Dorsal fin has 10 spines
followed without interruption by 10 or 12 rays. The mouth
is small and when closed, barely reaches the front of the
eye. Body deep for its length and compressed from side
to side. Found in small farm ponds throughout
northwestern and southern Nevada.

GREEN SUNFISH
Each scale is flecked with yellow or emerald
green. Back and sides olive-green, and lower
belly yellowish-copper or brassy.  Body is
short, stocky, and deeply compressed from
side to side. The gill cover has a broad, light
margin, and it often has a black spot on the rear
flap. The gill cover bone is stiff all the way to the
margin which is different from most other
sunfish.

NORTHERN PIKE
Color variable depending upon water from which it is
taken.  Usually bluish-green to gray on back with
irregular rows of light yellow or gold spots. Snout broad
and shaped like a duck bill.  Body long and slender with
the dorsal and anal fins well back towards the tail. Found
in a few eastern Nevada reservoirs, including Bassett
and Comins Lakes and Dakes Reservoir.  There is no
limit on Northern Pike as it is an invasive species that
preys on sportfish populations. SACRAMENTO PERCH

Color blackish above, with about seven vertical
bars irregular in form and position. This is not a
true perch, but a sunfish.
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Fish illustrations by Ron Pittard. Courtesy of Windsor Nature Discovery.
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#

#

#

#

#

#

#
#

#

#

#

#

#

#
#

#

#

#
#

Ely

Elko

Ruth

Cobre

Baker

Oasis

Wells

Austin

Carlin

Tecoma

Currie

Owyhee

Eureka
McGill

Jackpot

Montello

Mountain 
City

West 
WendoverBattle 

Mountain

#2 Bassett Lake
Tailings Creek

#14 Ruby Lake NWR

#19 Wildhorse Reservoir

#17 South Fork Reservoir

#7 Crittenden Reservoir

#9 Groves Lake 
Kingston Creek

#12 Jiggs Reservoir

#5 Cold Creek Reservoir

#8 Dorsey Reservoir

#11 Jakes Creek Reservoir

#4 Cave Lake
Steptoe Creek

#18 Jarbidge River WF

# 3 Bruneau River

#1 Angel Lake

#13 Lamoille Creek

#16 Humboldt River SF

#15 Silver Creek
Reservoir

#20 Willow Creek 
Reservoir

#21 Wilson 
Reservoir

#6 Comins Lake

#10 Illipah Reservoir

NDOW Eastern Region Office
60 Youth Center Road
Elko, NV  89801
(775) 777-2300

The Eastern Region includes the four counties of northeastern Nevada: Elko, Eureka,
Lander and White Pine. Popular fishing waters include Wildhorse, Wilson, Willow Creek, Jakes
Creek, Crittenden, Illipah and South Fork Reservoirs, Groves Lake, Bassett Lake, Cave Lake,
Ruby Lake, other high mountain lakes and several streams located throughout the area.

Note:  This map depicts the Eastern Region
fishable waters corresponding with the
chart on adjacent page.
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Eastern Region General Reference Map
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1 Angel Lake Elko Co./East Humboldt rb,bk, tt
* Barth Pit Eureka Co./Humboldt River Valley smb,lmb,bg,cc,rb
2 Bassett Lake White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley np,lmb
* Big Creek Lander Co./Toiyabe Range rb, bn
3 Bruneau River Elko Co./Snake R. System rb,w
* Carlin Pond Elko Co./Humboldt River Valley rb
4 Cave Lake White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range rb, bn, bk
* Cleve Creek White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range rb, bn
5 Cold Creek Reservoir White Pine Co./Newark Valley rb
6 Comins Lake White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley rb, bn, lmb
7 Crittenden Reservoir Elko Co./Thousand Springs rb, lmb
8 Dorsey Reservoir Elko Co./NF Humboldt River rb
* Dry Creek Reservoir Elko Co./Bull Run Creek rb,smb,lmb
9 Groves Lake Lander Co./Toiyabe Range rb,bn
* Humboldt River Elko Co. cc,lmb,smb,bn,bb,bg,
* Humboldt River, NF Elko Co./Independence Mountains bk,ct
* Humboldt River Eureka Co. rb,lmb,smb,cc,bh
* Humboldt River Lander Co. lmb,cc
10 Illipah Reservoir White Pine Co./White Pine Range rb,bn
11 Jakes Creek Reservoir Elko Co./Salmon Falls River Drainage rb,lmb
12 Jiggs Reservoir Elko Co./Jiggs rb,lmb,
 9 Kingston Creek Lander Co./Toiyabe Range rb,bk,bn
13 Lamoille Creek Elko Co./Ruby Mtns. rb,bk
 * Owyhee River, East Fork Elko Co./Wildhorse Range rb,bk,bn,w,yp,smb
14 Ruby Lake NWR Elko Co./Ruby Valley rb,bk,bn,lmb,ct,bc,tt
 * Salmon Falls River Elko Co./O’Neil Basin rb,bn,w
16 South Fork Humboldt River Elko Co./Ruby Mtns.                             ct,rb,bn,bk,bc,smb,cc,lmb
17 South Fork Reservoir Elko Co./SF Humboldt R. rb,bn,smb,lmb,cc,

bc,ct,wi
 4 Steptoe Creek White Pine Co./Schell Creek Range rb,bn
 * Tabor Creek Elko Co./Snake Mtns. rb,bk
 2 Tailings Creek White Pine Co./Steptoe Valley bk
18 Jarbidge River, West Fork Elko Co./Jarbidge Mtns. rb,bt,w
 * White River White Pine Co./White Pine Range rb,bn
19 Wildhorse Reservoir Elko Co./EF Owyhee River rb,bn,smb,yp,cc,bc,

lmb, wi, tt
20 Willow Creek Reservoir Elko Co./Tuscarora Mtns. lmb,cr,cc,ct,wc
 * Willow Creek Pond Lander Co./Battle Mountain rb,bn
21 Wilson Reservoir Elko Co./Independence Mtns. rb,lmb, tt

#    Body of Water    County/Location Species

bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn
bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr
cutthroat trout=ct

redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb
spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb
tiger muskie=tm

tiger trout=tt
walleye=wp
white bass=wb
white catfish=wc
whitefish=w
wiper=wi
yellow perch=yp

green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=lmb
mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb
rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.



Bait Regulations: While fishing in this region,
the possession or use of fish as bait, whether
dead or alive or any parts thereof except for
preserved salmon eggs, is prohibited. Other
aquatic bait  may be used only in the water
from which it is taken. See pages 10-11 for
more regulations on the use of bait fish.

Eastern Region General Regulations
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Eastern Region General Seasons/Hours:  Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

Eastern Region Limits: Except as noted under “Special Regulations” on pages 29-30,
the limits are as follows:

Elko, Eureka, Lander and White Pine
Counties - Lakes and Reservoirs: The limit
is 5 trout, and 15 warmwater game fish of which
not more than 10 may be black bass. No limit
on northern pike (unlimited possession).

Elko County - Streams and Rivers: The limit
is 10 trout, 10 mountain whitefish, and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
10 may be black bass. No limit on northern
pike (unlimited possession).  No bull trout are
allowed in possession.

Eureka, Lander and White Pine Counties
- Streams and Rivers: The limit is 10 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more
than 10 may be black bass.  No limit on north-
ern pike (unlimited possession).

Closed Waters: See page 30.

Important Note:  Within the Eastern Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Eastern Region
Special Regulations” on pages 29-30. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Eastern Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Identify Your Catch in the Jarbidge
ATTENTION

TROUT ANGLERS

The possession of bull trout is prohib-
ited!  All captured bull trout must be immedi-
ately released unharmed.  Knowing  how to
identify your catch is important.

Bull trout have light colored spots scattered
over a dark (olive-green color) background.
The fins have no black spotting.

Rainbow trout have a light colored background
with a pink to red colored stripe across the side
of the body.  In addition, there is black spotting
over the body, tail fin and dorsal fin.

Artificial Lure Waters: See pages 7-8.

When fishing waters in the Jarbidge River
drainage area it is essential to be able to differ-
entiate between rainbow trout and the threatened
bull trout. The most common trout you will find is
the rainbow trout.

Please notify the Department of Wildlife’s
Eastern Region Office in Elko of any bull trout
that you catch and release. The Elko NDOW
office is located at 60 Youth Center Road in Elko.
Their phone number is (775) 777-2300.  Watch
for NDOW signs in the Jarbidge area.

No black spots on dorsal fin

Black spots on dorsal fin

Bull Trout

Rainbow Trout
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Eastern Region Special Regulations

Continued on page 30

Angel Lake and Inlet and Outlet Streams in
Elko County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.
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Smith Creek Reservoir, including inlet
and outlet streams in Lander County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night.  Limit is 5 trout.

Snake Mountain High Lakes in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 10 trout.

Ruby Mountain High Lakes (except for
Angel Lake) in Elko County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 10 trout. (The limit for Angel Lake and
its inlet and outlet streams is 5 trout).

Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge in
Elko and White Pine Counties:  Season is
open year around in all areas except as
posted.  Refuge is open 1 hour before sun-
rise to 2 hours after sunset. From Jan. 1 - June
14 the limit is 3 trout and 5 black bass. Mini-
mum size for black bass is 10 inches. From
June 15 - Dec. 31 the limit is 3 trout and 10
black bass. Minimum size for black bass is
10 inches. Those areas of the Collection
Ditch that are open to fishing may be fished
with artificial lures only. Chumming is prohib-
ited. It is unlawful to clean or fillet fish within
the boundaries of the Ruby Lake National
Wildlife Refuge. For boating regulations (see
page 44 for federal boating regulations) con-
tact the Refuge Manager. The Gallagher
Hatchery rearing, brood and spring ponds,
and Cave Creek on the west side of the
County Road are closed to fishing.

Marys River and Tributary Streams in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night.  Limit is 5 trout.

Jarbidge River, West Fork and East Fork
and its Tributary Streams in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the day
or night.  Limit is 5 trout and 10 mountain white-
fish, except the possession of bull trout is pro-
hibited. All captured bull trout must be released
immediately. (Please report the capture of bull
trout to NDOW Eastern Region Office - see page
28).

Illipah Reservoir and Creek in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. Flat wake
restrictions for boats.

Groves Lake, Kingston Creek and Big
Creek in Lander County: Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout. Only boats without motors and boats with
electric motors are permitted.

Crittenden Reservoir in Elko County:  Sea-
son is open year around, 1 hour before sunrise
to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is 1 trout and 5 black
bass. Minimum size for trout is 17 inches.  Only
artificial lures may be used. No overnight camp-
ing allowed. No waterskiing.

Comins Lake in White Pine County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout and 5 black bass.  No limit
on northern pike (unlimited possession.) See
page 39 for vessel restrictions.

Cave Lake and Cave Creek in White Pine
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout. On Cave
Lake, boats must be operated at a speed which
leaves a flat wake and in no case exceeds 5
nautical miles per hour.

South Fork Reservoir and the South Fork
of the Humboldt River from the Lucky
Nugget Subdivision causeway down-
stream to its confluence with the
Humboldt River in Elko County: Season
is open year around any hour of the day or
night. Exception: March 1 - June 30, catch
and release fishing only for black bass.  Lim-
its are: 5 trout and 15 warmwater game fish



Wilson Sink Reservoir and its outlet and in-
let stream up to State Route 11 in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 10 mountain
whitefish and 10 black bass. Minimum size for
black bass is 11 inches.
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South Fork of the Humboldt River from
the Lucky Nugget Subdivision access
causeway upstream to Lee in Elko
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night. Limit is 1 trout.  Only
artificial lures with single barbless hooks may
be used.

Steptoe Creek, Cave Creek, Silver Creek,
Tailings Creek, Cleve Creek and White
River in White Pine County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 5 trout.

Tonkin Springs Reservoir in Eureka
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night.  Limit is 5 trout. Arti-
ficial lures only.  Stream above reservoir is
closed to fishing.

Wildhorse Reservoir and all inlet and out-
let streams including Penrod Creek up
to the bridge below the Gold Creek
Ranger Station in Elko County: Season
is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limits are 5 trout, unlimited yellow
perch, 10 mountain whitefish and 15
warmwater game fish of which not more than
1 may be black bass and 1 may be a white
bass hybrid (wiper) and 5 may be channel
catfish.  Minimum size on black bass and
white bass hybrids (wiper) is 15 inches ex-
cept from March 1 through June 30 when only
catch and release fishing is allowed for the
black bass.

Willow Creek Reservoir in Elko County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limit is 5 trout and 15 warmwater
game fish of which not more than 10 may be
black bass and 5 may be channel catfish. Mini-
mum size for black bass is 11 inches total  length.

Willow Creek Pond and Reservoir includ-
ing inlet and outlet streams in Lander
County: Season is open year around, 1 hour
before sunrise to 2 hours after sunset. Limit is
5 trout.

Closed Waters

Elko County
In Ruby Valley, fishing is prohibited in hatch-
ery rearing, brood and spring ponds of
Gallagher Hatchery; in Cave Creek west of
the county road; and on Franklin Lake Wild-
life Management Area.

 In the Eastern Region the following
waters are closed to all fishing:

White Pine County
Cold Creek Spring (Spring Pond) and creek
above Cold Creek Reservoir in the Diamond
Range in White Pine County.

Eureka County
Tonkin Springs Creek (Denay Creek) from
origin to its confluence with Tonkin Springs
Reservoir.

of which not more than 1 may be black bass,
1 may be white bass hybrid (wiper), and 5
may be channel catfish.  Minimum size for
black bass and white bass hybrids (wiper) is
15 inches total length.

South Fork Reservoir and the South Fork
of the Humboldt River- Continued

Eastern Region Special Regulations
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Prevent the transport of nuisance species.
Clean all recreational equipment.
Remember - When you leave a body of water:
Remove any visible mud, plants, fish, or animals before
transporting equipment.
Eliminate water from equipment before transporting.
Clean and dry anything that comes into contact with water -
boats, trailers, equipment, clothing, dogs, etc.
Never release plants, fish, or animals into a body of water,
unless they came out of that body of water.

Check with any Nevada Department of Wildlife Office to get
your own Regional Fishable Waters Map and

Angler Information Guides
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NDOW Southern Region Office
4747 Vegas Drive
Las Vegas, NV  89108
(702) 486-5127

The Southern Region includes the four counties of southern Nevada: Clark, Esmeralda,
Lincoln and Nye. Major fishing waters within this region include Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, the
Colorado River, Eagle Valley Reservoir, Echo Canyon Reservoir and the reservoirs on Kirch
Wildlife Management Area. A number of small streams in northern Nye County provide wild
trout fishing and a few are stocked with hatchery-reared rainbow trout.
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Southern Region General Reference Map
WMA,

Note: This map depicts the Southern
Region fishable waters corresponding
with the chart on adjacent page.
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#

Mesquite

Pahrump

Warm Spring

Pioche

Panaca

Hiko
Caliente

Alamo

Moapa

Boulder  City

Las Vegas

Henderson

Jean
Sandy

Search light

Currant

Laughlin

Beatty

Scotty's 
Junction'

Goldfield

#9 Lake Mohave

#3 Colorado River

#8 Lake Mead

#14 Boulder Pond

#4 Eagle Valley Reservoir

#5 Echo Canyon Reservoir

#15 Upper Pahranagat Lake

#11 Nesbitt Lake
#12 Schroeder Reservoir

#14 Trail Canyon Reservoir
Chiatovitch Creek

#1, #2, & #7 Kirch MWA (Adams McGill, Cold 
Springs & Haymeadow Reservoirs)

#6, #10 &13 Urban Ponds

Tonopah

Round Mtn.
Gabbs

WMA

#16
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1 Adams McGill Reservoir Nye Co./Kirch WMA lmb
* Barley Creek Nye Co./Monitor Range rb,bk,bn
* Beaver Dam Wash Lincoln Co. rb
16 Boulder City Urban Clark Co.

Fishing Pond rb,cc
14 Chiatovitch Creek Esmeralda Co./White Mtns. rb,bk,bn
* Cold Creek Pond Clark Co. rb
2 Cold Springs Reservoir Nye Co./Kirch WMA rb,lmb
3 Colorado River Clark Co. rb,cc,lmb,stb,bg
* Dacey Reservoir Nye Co./Kirch WMA lmb
4 Eagle Valley Reservoir Lincoln Co./Spring Valley rb,bn
5 Echo Canyon Reservoir Lincoln Co./Dry Valley rb,lmb,cr
6 Floyd Lamb State Park Clark Co./Las Vegas rb,cc,lmb,bg,gs,rs
7 Haymeadow Reservoir Nye Co./Kirch WMA rb,lmb
8 Lake Mead Clark Co. rb,lmb,cc,stb,

bh,cr,gs,bg
9 Lake Mohave Clark Co. rb,lmb,cc,stb,

bh,gs,bg
10 Lorenzi Park Pond Clark Co./Las Vegas rb,cc,lmb,bg,gs
 * Mosquito Creek Nye Co./Monitor Range rb,bk,ct
11 Nesbitt Lake Lincoln Co./Pahranagat Valley lmb,bh
 * Pine Creek Nye Co./Monitor Mtns. rb,bk,bn,ct
 * Reese River, Upper Nye Co./Toiyabe Mtns. rb,bk,ct
 * San Juan Creek Nye Co./Toiyabe Mtns rb,bk,ct
12 Schroeder Reservoir Lincoln Co./Beaver Dam Wash rb
 * Sportsmans Park Pond Nye Co. rb
13 Sunset Park Pond Clark Co./Las Vegas rb,cc,lmb,bg,gs,cr
14 Trail Canyon Reservoir Esmeralda Co./White Mtns rb,bk
15 Upper Pahranagat Lake Lincoln Co./Pahranagat Valley lmb,bh,cr

#    Body of Water    County/ Location Species

* Fishable waters not labeled on map.

Southern Region Fishable Waters
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bluegill sunfish=bg
brook trout=bk
brown trout=bn
bull trout=bt
bullhead catfish=bh
channel catfish=cc
crappie=cr

rainbowXcutthroat hybrid=bc
redear sunfish=rs
Sacramento perch=sp
smallmouth bass=smb
spotted bass=sb
striped bass=stb
tiger muskie=tm
tiger trout=tt
walleye=wp
white bass=wb
white catfish=wc
whitefish=w
wiper=wi
yellow perch=yp

cutthroat trout=ct
green sunfish=gs
kokanee salmon=ks
largemouth bass=lmb
mackinaw trout=mt
northern pike=np
rainbow trout=rb



Bait Regulations:   See pages 10-11 for
more regulations on the use of bait fish.

Southern Region General Regulations

34

So
ut

he
rn

 R
eg

io
n 

G
en

er
al

 R
eg

ul
at

io
ns

In Lake Mead, Lake Mohave and the Colo-
rado River, the use of more than two hooks
for bait or flies is prohibited. See below and
on page 7 in General Regulations for further
information.

Southern Region General Seasons/Hours: Open year around, any hour of the day or night.

Tackle and Spearfishing Restrictions:

Important Note:  Within the Southern Region the following general fishing seasons, hours,
limits, and regulations apply to all waters EXCEPT those listed under “Southern Region
Special Regulations” on pages 35-36. (If the water in which you intend to fish is not listed
under the Region’s Special Regulations, then the General Regulations shall apply).

Limits:  Except as noted under “Southern Region Special Regulations” on pages 35-36,
the limits are as follows:  Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln, and Nye Counties:  the limit is 10 trout
and 15 warmwater game fish of which not more than 10 may be black bass.

Artificial Lure Waters:  See pages 7-8.

Closed Waters:  See adjacent column.

Closed Waters

Kirch Wildlife Management Area, Hot
Creek to its confluence with Adams-McGill
Reservoir; Sunnyside Creek above
Sunnyside/Adavin County Road crossing in
Sec. 36  T 7N, R61E  in Nye County.

Ash Springs outflow through the River
Ranch to beginning of the concrete ditch,
in Lincoln County.

Lakes Mead and Mohave and the  Colo-
rado River areas as posted closed to ac-
cess immediately above and below Hoover
and Davis Dams; and except as otherwise
posted by the National Park Service, those
waters within the flat wake buoys at the follow-
ing marinas and harbors: Overton Beach,
Echo Bay Resort, Callville Bay Marina, Las
Vegas Wash, Lake Mead Marina, Cotton-
wood Cove, and Hemenway Harbor in Clark
County.

Crystal Springs and outflow for one half
mile to beginning of the concrete ditch, in
Lincoln County.

Veterans’ Memorial Park, Boulder City,
all waters except the Boulder City Urban
Fishing Pond as posted.

Persons may spearfish for striped
bass in Lake Mead and Lake Mohave
from Cottonwood Cove to the cable be-
low Hoover Dam. Spearfishing for striped
bass is prohibited in that portion of Lake
Mohave from Cottonwood Cove to Davis
Dam and from Davis Dam down river to
the Nevada state line. In Lakes Mead and
Mohave and the Colorado River system,
spearfishing is prohibited within 1/2 mile
of any dock or swimming area. When
spearfishing, a person must display,
within 100 feet, an appropriate diver’s
flag. A mechanical spearing device may
be used only under the surface of the
water, and the spear must be attached
to the device by a lanyard.  Fishing li-
cense regulations apply when
spearfishing.

In the Southern Region the following
waters are closed to all fishing:

Spearfishing Note:



2005-06 Nevada Fishing Seasons & Regulations

35

Southern Region Special Regulations

Continued on page 36
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Beaver Dam Creek in Lincoln County: Sea-
son is open year around, any hour of the day or
night. Limit is 5 trout.  Only artificial lures with
single barbless hooks may be used.

Boulder City Urban Fishing Pond in Clark
County: Season is open year around and
hours are when park is open to public use. Limit
is 3 game fish.

Carpenter Creek in Clark County:  Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night.
Limit is 2 trout.

Cold Creek Pond and Cold Creek in Clark
County: Season is open year around any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 3 game fish.

Eagle Valley Reservoir and the Stream
above and below the reservoir, in Lincoln
County:  Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout.

Echo Canyon Reservoir in Lincoln County:
Season is open year around, any hour of the
day or night. Limit is 5 trout and 15 warmwater
game fish of which not more than 10 may be
black bass.

Kirch Wildlife Management Area in Nye
County: Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night, except the upper portions of
Adams-McGill, Cold Springs and Haymeadow
Reservoirs, which are closed to trespass Febru-
ary 15 through August 15 as posted.  Dacey and
Tule Reservoirs open Aug. 16 - Feb. 14.  A 100
yard area as posted around the inflow from Hot
Creek to Dacey and Adams-McGill Reservoirs
shall be closed to fishing January 1 through April
1. Limits are 5 trout, 10 black bass, and 15 other
warmwater game fish.  Minimum size for black
bass is 10 inches total length.  Limits are 5 trout,
10 black bass, and 15 other warmwater game
fish.  Boat restrictions-see pages 39 and 43.

Fishing in reciprocal waters of
Colorado River, Lake Mead and Lake
Mohave:

1.  When fishing on the reciprocal waters
of the Colorado River, Lake Mead and Lake
Mohave, each person who is 14 years of age
or over must possess:

(a) An Arizona Colorado River special
use stamp, in addition to an Arizona fishing
license; or

(b) A Nevada Colorado River special
use stamp, in addition to a Nevada fishing
license, unless he is fishing from the shore of
the state in which he is licensed.

2.  The fee for the Nevada Colorado
River special use stamp is $3, and the stamp
is effective from March of the year that the
stamp is issued through February of the fol-
lowing year.

3.  A person who holds a Nevada Colo-
rado River special use stamp must validate
the stamp by signing his name in ink across
the face of the stamp and affixing the stamp
to his fishing license or permit to fish, or the
person must provide any other such documen-
tation as the Department provides as proof
that he has paid to the Department the fee for
the special use stamp.



Virgin River and Muddy (Moapa) River Sys-
tems in Clark County:  Season is open year
around, any hour of the day or night. Limit is 5
trout, 6 black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and
20 striped bass. No limit on other game fish.

Lorenzi Park Pond in Clark County: Sea-
son is open year around and hours are when
the park is open to public use.  Limit is 3 game
fish.

Muddy (Moapa) River System in Clark
County:  Season is open year around, any hour
of the day or night. Limit is 5 trout, 6 black bass,
25 catfish, 15 crappie and 20 striped bass. No
limit restriction on other game fish.

Nesbitt Lake (Key Pittman Wildlife Manage-
ment Area) in Lincoln County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night
except the portion above the old fence line as
posted closed to trespass from February 15
through August 15 and closed to fishing during
waterfowl season. Limit is 10 black bass and 10
bullheads. See boat restrictions on pages 39, 42-
44.

Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge in Lin-
coln County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night except North Marsh which
is closed to fishing during the waterfowl hunting
season. Limit is 3 trout and 15 warmwater game
fish of which not more than 5 may be black bass.

Schroeder Reservoir and Beaver Dam
Creek in Lincoln County above and below
the reservoir: Season is open year around,
any hour of the day or night.  Limit is 5 trout.
Only artificial lures with single barbless hooks
may be used. Only boats without motors are
permitted.

Sunset Park Pond in Clark County: Sea-
son is open year around during public park
hours. Limit is 3 game fish.

Tule Lake at Floyd Lamb State Park in Clark
County: Season is open year around and
hours are when park is open to public use. Limit
is 3 game fish.

4.  Persons under 14 years of age may
fish in the reciprocal waters of the Colorado
River, Lake Mead and Lake Mohave without
obtaining a special use stamp, license or
permit to fish.

Fishing in reciprocal waters of Colorado
River, Lake Mead and Lake Mohave:
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Continued from page 35

Lake Mead in Clark County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night,
except in areas as posted. Limit is 5 trout, 6
black bass, 25 catfish, 15 crappie and 20
striped bass. No limit restriction on other
game fish. Bait restrictions-see pages 11.
Tackle and striped bass spearfishing restric-
tions-see pages 7 and 34.

Lake Mohave in Clark County: Season is
open year around, any hour of the day or night,
except in areas as posted. Limit is 10 trout, 6
black bass, 25 catfish and 15 crappie. No limit
on striped bass less than 20 inches total
length. Daily and possession limit on striped
bass 20 inches total length or longer is 20 fish.
No limit on other game fish.

Colorado River below Davis Dam in Clark
County: Season is open year around, any
hour of the day or night except in areas as
posted. Limit is 10 trout, 6 black bass, 10
striped bass and 25 catfish. Minimum size
for black bass is 13 inches. No limit on other
game fish. Bait restrictions-see pages 11.
Spearfishing restrictions-see pages 7 and 34.
See page 35 for Colorado River Special Stamp
information.

Southern Region Special Regulations

Mesquite Urban Pond in Clark County:
Season is open year around and hours are
when the park is open to public use.  Limit is 3
game fish.

36
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NEVADA ANGLER QUESTIONNAIRE
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Vehicular Travel (NAC 504.115)
Vehicular travel within a WMA may be controlled so as not to impact area management

and for safe and beneficial use of the area by both the public and the wildlife.  Within a Wildlife
Management Area, it is prohibited to operate a motor vehicle off an interior road or trail that is
designated for vehicular travel; or on an interior road or trail that is marked as closed to vehicu-
lar travel.

Removal (NAC 504.110)
Persons may be removed from a WMA for disorderly conduct, intoxication or any other

conduct which endangers the area, other persons, or wildlife and livestock.

Littering (NAC 504.155)
The Department may deny further use of a WMA to any person who abuses or litters the

area.

Boating (NAC 488.467)
See pages 39 and 42 - 44.

Additional WMA regulations such as use of campfires, trespass and camping
restrictions are listed 39.

Wildlife Management Area Regulations
The Department of Wildlife maintains several areas statewide that are known as Wildlife

Management Areas (WMAs). These areas are managed specifically for their wildlife values.
Fishing is provided on some of the areas and anglers are subject to the following regulations.
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Camping in any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle;
Erecting a tent or structure for the purpose of sleeping or living in it;
Parking any type of motor vehicle or recreational vehicle or otherwise blocking or
restricting the access of a person or vessel, to the boat ramp;
Parking a bus hired to carry passengers or a semi-trailer anywhere within the
access area;
Parking a motor vehicle in the access area in a location other than a designated
parking space; or
Being under the influence of a controlled substance or an intoxicating liquor, or
consuming an intoxicating liquor.

Laughlin Area
Special Camping, Fishing Access Regulations Apply:
The following activities are prohibited within the Laughlin boating and fishermen’s access
area, in Clark County:
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Camping &
campfires not
permitted.

Area Bodies of
Water

Trespass Use of Vessels
Use of

Campfires

Overton
WMA
(Clark Co.)

Lake Mead,
Honeybee
Pond,
Center Pond

Trespass prohibited
from March 1 through
Aug. 1 on  Honeybee
Pond and Center
Pond.

Vessels are prohibited on all
ponds.  Vessels are allowed on
the portion of the area inundated
by Lake Mead, except that on
Overton Hunt Days, vessels may
be used only by persons autho-
rized to hunt waterfowl.

Camping &
campfires permit-
ted within the rest
and trails area.

Kirch WMA
(Nye Co.)

Dacey Reser-
voir, Tule
Reservoir, Cold
Springs and
Haymeadow
Reservoirs, and
Adams-McGill
Reservoir

Trespass prohibited
from Feb. 15 through
Aug. 15 in the upper
portion of Adams-
McGill, Cold
Springs, and
Haymeadow Reser-
voirs, and all of
Dacey and Tule
Reservoirs.

Flat wake restriction in effect.
Vessels may not exceed 5
nautical miles per hour.

Camping &
campfires
permitted within
the David Deacon
Campground.

Key
Pittman
WMA
(Lincoln
Co.)

Nesbitt Lake Trespass prohibited
from Feb. 15 through
Aug. 15 in the portion
of Nesbitt Lake north
of the old fence line.

Flat wake restriction in effect.

Mason
Valley
WMA
(Lyon Co.)

Hinkson
Slough, North
Pond, Bass
Pond, Beaver
Slough,
Crappie Pond,
Walker River

Trespass prohibited
from Feb. 15 through
Aug. 15 in the
eastern portion of the
main developed pond
area, as posted.

All vessels are prohibited from Feb.
15 through Aug. 15 each year,
except on Hinkson Slough, Bass,
Crappie and North Pond, Beaver
Slough and the Walker River.  Flat
wake restriction in effect.

Camping &
campfires permit-
ted in those sites
designated for
camping.

Steptoe
Valley
WMA
(White Pine
Co.)

Comins Lake Waterskiing authorized between
11 a.m. and sunset.  During
other hours flat wake restriction
in effect.

Camping &
campfires not
permitted.

Camping

Mason
Valley
WMA
(Lyon Co.)

Eastside
Waterfowl
Series Ponds

Trespass prohibited
from Feb. 15 through
Aug. 15. Fishing
season is open Aug.
16-Sept. 30.

All vessels are prohibited from
Feb. 15 through Aug. 15 each
year.  Flat wake restriction in
effect.

Camping &
campfires
permitted in
those sites
designated for
camping.



 WEAR  YOUR LIFE JACKET

 TAKE A BOATING SAFETY CLASS

     CARRY ALL YOUR  REQUIRED SAFETY  GEAR

     KNOW YOUR BOAT AND ITS LIMITATIONS

 FOLLOW  THE BOATING “RULES OF THE ROAD”

 BE AWARE OF WEATHER AND WATER CONDITIONS

 BOAT SOBER AND BE CONSIDERATE OF OTHER BOATERS

Follow the Boating Safety Seven
If  you remember nothing else about boating rules, remember the Boating Safety Seven.

Boating can be a fun activity for the entire family, but you should go boating with safety in mind
to make sure your great day on the water doesn’t turn sour.  NDOW reminds you to have a good
time, and be safe...it just makes sense.

Thanks For Boating in Nevada!
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Boat Safe In Nevada
Thanks for boating the great state of Nevada.  Whether you are sneaking off to Lake

Tahoe for some water-skiing or taking your boat down to Lake Mohave in search of record
sized black bass, remember to boat safely and follow the Boating Safety Seven.

Statistics show that life jackets save lives.  It’s not enough to carry life jackets, they
should be worn.  Few people believe that you have time to
put on a seat belt before a car accident, but many think
there is time to don a life jacket before a boat accident —
this is just not true.

Life jackets are required for every single person on a
boat.  Persons under the age of 12 must wear a life jacket
whenever the boat is under way, unless in an enclosed
cabin.

Life jackets should fit properly, not too big nor too small,
but just right.

Boating Education is also required in the state of Nevada.  Boaters born on or after
Jan. 1, 1983 must take a boating safety course before operating a motorboat of 15 horse-
power or more on Nevada’s interstate waters.

Other reminders include:
Legal age to operate a PWC - 14 years
“Teak surfing” is illegal in Nevada
One type IV throwable PFD is
required on boats 16 feet and longer
The blood alcohol level in Nevada is now only .08 — Boat Sober!
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SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS CRITICAL FOR ALL BOATS
√√√√√ Life Jackets - One correctly sized life jacket is required by law for each person on

board.  Children  under the age of 12 years old must wear it.
√√√√√ Type IV Flotation Aid - Any boat 16 feet or longer must carry a type IV throwable
        cushion or ring.
√√√√√ Fire Extinguisher - Any boat  that uses gasoline must carry one, and it must be
       charged.
√√√√√ Muffling Device - Every boat must be properly muffled.
√√√√√  Water Ski and Dive Flags -  If you ski or dive you need to display the appropriate

signal flag.
√√√√√ Sound Producing Device - All boats must carry a horn, whistle or other sound
        producing device.
√√√√√ Anchor - If the boat breaks down, an anchor is essential for protecting yourself
       and your boat.
√√√√√ Visual Distress Signals - Though not required, signal flares and flags can attract

attention if the need arises.

Many people may have never heard of “teak surfing”
or “platform dragging,” but the activity is one of the most
dangerous activities one can engage in on the water, ac-
cording to the National Association of State Boating Law
Administrators (NASBLA).  This dangerous activity is now
illegal in Nevada after a new regulation was adopted by the
by the Board of Wildlife Commissioners in October of 2004.

“We are extremely pleased that the Wildlife Commis-
sion has stepped up to address this very serious issue,”
said Fred Messmann, the boating law administrator in Nevada and the most recent past president
of NASBLA.  “We have a hard time quantifying the exact number of deaths each year because of
this activity, but the specific examples show how dangerous teak surfing really can be.”

Teak surfing is when a person holds the swim platform while a boat is moving or under way,
surfing his or her body behind the boat.  Aside from the obvious danger of propeller injury, boating
professionals have found dangerous, and often deadly, levels of carbon monoxide at that exact
location at the very back of boats.  Several high-profile cases, resulting in fatalities, have really
brought this issue to the forefront in recent years, according to Messmann.

“Many states have taken a hard look at this activity, and NASBLA has developed a model act
for states, such as Nevada, to meaningfully address this issue,” said Messmann.

Other tow sports, such as wake boarding and wake surfing remain legal in the Silver State.
Boaters that participate in either activity must have an observer on board during the tow and must
display the 12 inch by 12 inch orange ski flag when a skier or boarder falls down.  For more informa-
tion on boating issues in Nevada visit www.boatnevada.org, Nevada’s premier boating web site.

“Teak Surfing,” Banned in Nevada
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1.  On the following waters, a vessel must be
operated at a speed that leaves a flat wake, but
in no case may a vessel be operated at a speed
in excess of 5 nautical miles per hour:
(a) Bassett Lake in White Pine County
(b) Cave Lake in White Pine County
(c) Knott Creek Reservoir in Humboldt County
(d) Jakes Creek Reservoir in Elko County
(e) Onion Valley Reservoir in Humboldt County
(f) Wayne E. Kirch Wildlife Management Area

in Nye County
(g) The lagoon south of Laughlin in Clark

County within Section 33, T 32 S. R. 66E.
M.D.B.&M., as marked with signs or buoys,
or both

(h) Likes Lake in Churchill County
(i) The Pitt Taylor Arm of Rye Patch Reservoir

in Pershing County
(j) Illipah Reservoir in White Pine County
(k) Mason Valley Wildlife Management Area in

Lyon County
(l) Upper Wall Canyon Reservoir in Washoe

County
(m)Echo Canyon Reservoir in Lincoln County
(n) Silver Creek Reservoir in White Pine County
(o) Key Pittman Wildlife Management Area in

Lincoln County
2.  All boat harbors and other areas designated
by buoys on any of the following waters are
zones in which a vessel must be operated at a
speed that leaves a flat wake, but in no case
may a vessel be operated at a speed in excess
of 5 nautical miles per hour:
(a) Lake Mead National Recreation Area in Clark

County
(b) South Fork Reservoir in Elko County
(c) Wildhorse Reservoir in Elko County

The following information provides a summary of some of the boating laws and regulations for
Nevada anglers who use boats. Safe boating in Nevada starts with knowing Nevada’s boating regu-
lations.  Anglers who boat have to follow the same guidelines as any other boater on Nevada’s
waters, and this section of Fishing Seasons and Regulations outlines those requirements.  All boats
in Nevada are required to carry safety equipment appropriate to the type and size of vessel used, and
every boater should know and practice safe boating, including learning the rules of the road.  To learn
more about boating in Nevada, contact NDOW and request a Nevada Boater’s Handbook.  To learn
more about boating on the web, visit Nevada’s safe boating web site: www.boatnevada.org.

Nevada Boating Regulations

Continued on page 43

(d) Lake Tahoe, Zephyr Cove, Cave Rock, Round
Hill Pines Beach and Glenbrook Bay in
Douglas County; Sand Harbor, Incline Village
General Improvement District Boat Ramp and
Crystal Shores West in Washoe  County

(e) Washoe Lake State Park and the County
Boat Ramp in Washoe County

(f) Walker Lake State Recreation Area and
Sportsmen’s Beach in Mineral County

(g) Lahontan Reservoir, Churchill Beach, and
North Shore Marina in Churchill County;
Silver Springs Beach in Lyon County

(h) Rye Patch Reservoir, Rye Patch Dam
Access in Pershing County

(i) Topaz Lake, Boat Ramps in Douglas
County

(j) Colorado River, adjacent to Harrah’s
Casino in Laughlin in Clark County

(k) Big Bend of the Colorado River State
Recreation Area in the lagoon used for
launching boats in Clark County

 Vessels are prohibited in areas which are desig-
nated by signs or buoys as follows:
1. Within the Lake Mead National Recreation

Area;
2. On the Colorado River:
(a) Below Davis Dam; and
(b) The swimming area of Harrah’s Casino in

Laughlin;
3. On Lake Tahoe at:
(a) The main beaches at Sand Harbor and

Divers’ Cove within Lake Tahoe State Park;
(b) The swimming area of the Incline Village

General Improvement District and Burnt
Cedar Beach;

(c) The swimming area of Galilee at the
Episcopal Camp and Conference Center;

42

Boating Prohibited Areas (NAC 488.465)

Reduced Speed Areas (NAC 488.455)
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(See page 39 for table of restrictions.)
1. Except as otherwise provided in this section,

use of vessels is restricted in the following
Wildlife Management Areas:

(a) In the Overton Wildlife Management Area,
located in Clark County, vessels are prohibi-
ted on all ponds. Vessels are allowed on the
portion of the area inundated by Lake Mead,
except that on Overton Hunt Days, vessels
may be used only by persons authorized to
hunt waterfowl.

(b) ...In the Humboldt Wildlife Management
Area, located in Churchill and Pershing
Counties:

(1) All vessels are prohibited on the ponds in the
Humboldt and Toulon Sink areas 5 days
before the opening day of the waterfowl
season.

(2) Airboats are prohibited on the Humboldt Sink
until 1 hour after the legal shooting time on the
opening day of the waterfowl season.

Nevada Boating Regulations
Continued from page 42
(d) The swimming area of the Lakeridge General

Improvement District;
(e) The swimming area of the Glenbrook

Homeowner’s Association;
(f) The swimming area of the Hyatt Regency Lake

Tahoe;
(g) The swimming area of the Zephyr Cove

Marina;
(h) The swimming area of Crystal Shores West;

and
(i) The swimming and beach area adjacent to

Nevada Beach described in 33CFR 162.215.
4. At the dam and swim beach at the state

recreation area in Rye Patch Reservoir;
5. At Lahontan Reservoir Dam;
6. At South Fork Reservoir Dam;
7. At Wildhorse Reservoir Dam;
8. At Eagle Valley Dam at Spring Valley State

Park;
9. At Chimney Reservoir Dam in Humboldt

County;
10. At the county swim beach at Topaz Lake; and
11. At the swimming area and dive area at Sparks

Marina Park.

(3) Airboats are prohibited on the Toulon portion
of the area during the waterfowl season.

(c) In the Mason Valley Wildlife Management
Area, located in Lyon County, all vessels are
prohibited from February 15 through August
15 of each year, except on:

(1) Hinkson Slough;
(2) Bass Pond;
(3) Crappie Pond;
(4) Beaver Slough;
(5) The Walker River; and
(6) North Pond.
(d) In the Fort Churchill Cooling Pond

Cooperative Wildlife Management Area, all
vessels and floating devices, except for
vessels used by employees of the Sierra
Pacific Power Company in the performance
of their official duties, are prohibited on the
pond.

2. The provisions of subsection 1 do not apply
to vessels owned, operated and used for
official purposes by the department.

3. For the purposes of this section, a vessel is
being used if the vessel: (a) is upon the
waters of this state, including, without
limitation, if it is tied or fastened to a dock,
mooring or shore; and (b) is not aground on
the shore.

1. Except as otherwise provided in subsection
2 a person shall not anchor or moor a vessel
in such a position as to obstruct a passage
way ordinarily used by other vessels. As used
in this subsection, a “passageway ordinarily
used by other vessels” includes:

(a) A river channel or the entrance to a harbor or
marina; and

(b) That area within a 100-yard radius of a boat
ramp built and maintained with public money.

2. A person may anchor or moor a vessel in an
area designated for that purpose by the com-
mission and marked at the corners with yell-
ow can buoys. The buoys must emit a flash-
ing yellow light from sunset to sunrise.

Continued on page 44
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Boating Restrictions in Wildlife Management
          Areas (NAC 488.467)

Anchoring/Mooring Vessels (NRS 488.265)



1. Only vessels without motors are permitted
on the following waters:
Waters County
(a) Angel Lake Elko
(b) Blue Lakes Humboldt
(c) Schroeder Reservoir Lincoln
(d) Spooner Lake Douglas
(e) Marlette Lake Washoe

Continued from page 43
Nevada Boating Regulations
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Clark

 Areas  Limited to Boats Without Motors
& Boats with Electric Motors (NAC 488.470)

2. Only vessels without motors and vessels which
are powered by electric motors are permitted
on the following waters:
(a) Groves Lake Lander
(b) Sparks Marina Park Washoe
(c) The Lagoon South of

Laughlin within section 33,
T. 32 S., R66 E., M.D.B. & M.,
as marked with signs or
buoys, or both.

Federal Boating Regulations

Pahranagat National Wildlife Refuge
Phone (775) 725-3417
Boats without motors (except electric

motors) are permitted on the Upper Lake,
Middle Ponds, and Lower Lake.

The North Marsh is closed to boating,
including float tubes.

Sheldon National Wildlife Refuge
Phone (541) 947-3315
Big Springs Reservoir, Dufurrena

Ponds and Catnip Reservoir:  Anglers
may bank fish, fish by wading, or use
nonmotorized boats, boats with electric
motors, float tubes and similar flotation
devices only.

Stillwater National Wildlife Refuge
Phone (775) 423-5128
Special boating regulations are

now in effect at Stillwater NWR.  Con-
tact refuge manager before operating a
boat in this area.  Fishing is not allowed.

Ruby Lake National Wildlife Refuge
Phone (775) 779-2237
North of Brown Dike: No boats per-

mitted. Float tubes permitted in Unit 21 as
posted.

South of Brown Dike (South Marsh)
January 1 through June 14:  Boats

prohibited.  Float tubes permitted at Main
Boat Landing, as posted; at Narciss Boat
Landing, as posted; and at mouth of Collec-
tion Ditch at west end of Brown Dike, as
posted.

June 15 through July 31: ONLY
motorless boats, float tubes and boats with
electric motors are permitted.  Boats with
gas motors prohibited.

August 1 through December 31:
Motorless boats, float tubes and boats
propelled by motors with 10 h.p. or less are
permitted.

Informational Note: The following areas are subject to Federal Regulations in ad-
dition to the general provisions of the Nevada Boat Act, which include rules for registra-
tion, equipment, and operation.  Please contact refuge managers for descriptions of
restricted zones and/or motor and speed regulations prior to your visit. Regulations are
subject to change.
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Reglas de la Pesca
Una licencia o un permiso de corto plazo
es requerido para cualquier persona que
tiene 12 años o más cuando están
pescando en la mayoría de las aguas de
Nevada.  Los excepciones son:

 Lake Tahoe y el Depósito Topaz donde
la edad mínima es 16 años; y
 El sistema del Río Colorado (Lake

Mead, Lake Mojave, y el Río Colorado)
donde la edad mínima es 14 años.

Por el sistema del Río Colorado, un “sello
de uso especial” de Nevada o Arizona
puede que sea requerido en ciertas
circunstancias.
Para calificar para una licencia de caza o
pesca de “residente” de Nevada, hay que:

 Ser un ciudadano de los Estados
Unidos  o tener derecho legal para
permanecer en los Estados Unidos;
  Ha vivido continuamente en Nevada,

excepto ausencias temporales, para un
período de 6 meses antes de de
comprar una licencia de “residente” o
permiso; y
  No ha aplicado para o comprado una

licencia de “residente” para pesca, caza,
o desvío en un otro estado durante el
período de 6 meses en lo que se ha
vivido en Nevada.

Mientras pescando para la trucha en la
mayoría de las aguas de Nevada, una per-
sona debío haber comprador un sello de
“trucha”, firmado, y fijado a su licencia de
pesca.  Un sello de trucha no es requerido
para una persona que tiene menos de 16
años en Lake Tahoe Deposito Topaz, una
persona que tiene menos de 14 años en el
sistema del Río Colorado, una persona que
tiene menos de 12 años en otras aguas de
Nevada, o una persona que pesca bajo la
autoridad de un permiso a corto plazo.
Con pocos excepciones, una persona solo
puede coger peces de “caza” con un

anzuelo y sedal fijado a un carrete que
está bien atendido por esa persona.  Se
puede usar un arpón para pescar para
perca rayada en Lake Mead y partes
particulares de Lake Mojave y el Río
Colorado.
Es prohibido coger o intentar pesca de
“caza” con un red, trampas, o sedales
“puestos”.
Es illegal pescar con una segunda
combinación de anzuelos, sedales, y
carretes, a menos que tenga un “sello de
segundo sedal”.  El sello tiene que ser
firmado y fijado a la licencia de pesca.
Es prohibido para una persona pescar
con más de dos combinaciones de
anzuelo, sedal, y carrete.
Para cada masa de agua en el estado,
hay “limites” del número de peces que
se puede coger y ser poseídos por un
pescador.
Es prohibido usar partes de peces de
caza para cebo.
Una vez que una persona haya cogido y
tiene un limite de pescado, no se puede
coger más pescado para completar su
limite o el limite de un otra persona.

Barcos
Hay que tener un aparato personal de
flotacíon (PFD o chaleco salvavidas) del
tamaño aproriado, aprobado por el
Guardacostas de los Estados Unidos,
para cada persona en el barco.
En barcos que miede 16 pies y más,
tiene que haber un aparato de flotación
tirable además de los aparatos
requeridos que todos llevan.
Un niño que tiene menos de 12 años
tiene que llevar un chaleco salvavidas de
tamaño aproriado cuando el barco está
en curso, a menos que el niño está en un
lugar completamente incluido en el barco.
Es illegal manejar un barco de motor o
vela mientras estar bajo la influencia de
licor o droga embriagador.
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Congratulations to the runners-up in the
2004 Nevada Free Fishing Day Poster Contest

Nevada’s Free Fishing Day is June 11, 2005

Eric Gonzalez
Fifth Grade

Glenn Duncan Elementary
Reno, Nevada

Shannon Walker
Fifth Grade

Wells Combined Schools
Wells, Nevada
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