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In June 2011, the Nevada Legislature passed a bill that would prohibit all 
drivers from texting or using hand-held cell phones while driving.  Senate 
Bill 140 was approved by the Governor, who made it clear that he would 
support a statewide ban on text messaging while driving.  The law will go 

into effect October 1, 2011 

The texting ban will prohibit drivers from using a cell phone or other wireless communications 
device to access or search the Internet, to type, enter, send, or read any non-voice communication, 
including text messages, instant messages (IM), or email. 

 The ban does not apply to emergency personnel, licensed amateur radio operators who are 
communicating certain public information, employees of public utilities who are responding to 
emergencies, or drivers who are reporting emergencies or responding to dangerous situations.  

Violation of the law would be punishable by a fine of up to $50 for a first offense; $100 for a 
second offense within seven years; and $250 for a third offense within seven years. Higher fines 
would be imposed on drivers who violate this law while driving in traffic control zones. The law 
instructs officers to give warnings to those who violate the law beginning October 1, 2011.   

The ban imposed beginning January 1, 2012 would also apply to drivers using cell phones or 
other wireless communications devices to make or receive phone calls, unless they have and use 
hands-free equipment. The same penalties would apply for violation of this provision of the law.  

Distracted driving, in the form of texting or talking on a cell phone, is responsible for thousands 
of vehicle crashes every year. It is good judgment to not drive distracted. Now, it is also the law. 
State of Nevada employees are encouraged to set the example and lead the way for all Nevada 
drivers. 



 

 

BATTERY RISKS 
 
Americans buy almost 3 billion dry-cell batteries 
every year (about 32 per family) to power toys, 
portable tools and electronic devices. 

 
Batteries contain a variety of heavy metals and 
corrosive acids that generate power by converting 
chemical energy to electrical energy.  However, 
these toxic ingredients have the potential to cause 
burns or injury to the skin or eyes.  
 
Rechargeable lithium ion batteries, in rare 
instances, pose a fire risk because they may 
overheat and ignite if they fail.  Lithium ion 
batteries are found in notebook computers, mobile 
phones, cameras, ride-on toy vehicles and radio-
controlled cars and aircraft. 
 
Lithium batteries are not only a choking hazard for 
small children and pets, but they pose the risk of 
serious internal  injuries if  swallowed.  Always  
keep  button - cell  batteries  well   out  of  reach   of 

children  and  pets.   If   you  suspect 
that   one   has   been  ingested,  seek 
medical attention  immediately. 
 

 

  
Decommissioning  
Your  
Building 

 
When the decision has been  
made to vacate your building, you must contact 
State Public Works Division, Mr. Chris Chimits, 
Deputy Manager.   Mr. Chimits will arrange for 
assistance in creating your decommissioning budget 
which will address abandonment of all utilities, 
protection of the vacant building and related 
issues.   
  
Once the building is vacant, the building no longer 
has an applicable Certificate of Occupancy.  To 
obtain a new Certificate of Occupancy, the agency 
desiring to move in must contact Dennis Nolan, 
State Public Works Division Building Official, to 
inform him of the new proposed use.  The facility 
will require re-inspection for compliance with the 
current codes and standards.  The building codes 
and accessibility laws under which the State 
operates change periodically and those changes to 
codes and accessibility laws could have an effect on 
the ability to re-occupy the building as well as 
impact on the agency budget for the proposed use 
of the facility. 

 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Great Success for 

“hands-on” Fire 
Extinguisher Training 

 
The Carson City Fire Department, Las Vegas Fire 
Department, North Las Vegas Fire Department, Ely Fire 
Department, and Elko Fire Department provided hands on 
training on “how to use a fire extinguisher.”  
 
Even the classroom time was very informative and 
interesting. The first session was extended by 45 minutes, 
because those employees in attendance had many questions 
or concerns regarding fire safety. 
 
We had great employee participation in Carson, where we 
trained over 50 state employees in two sessions. Additional classes will be scheduled upon request 
after the fire season is over. We want to thank all the Fire Departments and their staff for providing 

is important training. 

egular basis throughout the state. Once this training is available 
the classes will be posted in NEATS 

th
 
In the fall, the State Fire Marshall will also provide fire extinguisher training via simulated software. 
Those classes will be available on a r



 
DEFENSIVE DRIVING      

DATE CITY ADDRESS 
7/28/2011 Reno  1100 Valley Road  
8/10/2011 Las Vegas  Veterans Affairs-Boulder  
8/16/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St.  Suite 201  
8/30/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St.  Suite 201  
9/1/2011 Reno  1100 Valley Road  
9/6/2011 Las Vegas  4747 Vegas Dr. 

9/13/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St. Suite 201  
9/20/2011 Elko 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. 
9/27/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St. Suite 201  

CPR/AED /1st AID     

8/25/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St. Suite 201 
9/14/2011 Carson City  201 S. Roop St. 
9/22/2011 Elko 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. 

WORKPLACE VIOLENCE  
8/26/2011 Carson City 201 S. Roop St., Suite 201 
9/8/2011 Las Vegas 4747 Vegas Dr. 

9/15/2011 Carson City 201 S. Roop St. Suit 201 
9/21/2011 Elko 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. 

EMERGENCY PLANNING/FIRE EXT.  
9/8/2011 Las Vegas 4747 Vegas Dr. 

9/15/2011 Carson City 201 S. Roop St.  Suite 201 
9/20/2011 Elko 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. 

SAFETY COMMITTEE 
8/25/2011 Carson City 201 S. Roop St. Suite 201 
9/28/2011 Carson City 201 S. Roop St. Suite 201 

BACK INJURIES & SAFE LIFTING 
9/7/2011 Las Vegas 4747 Vegas Dr. 

9/21/2011 Elko 1020 Ruby Vista Dr. 

 
 
  
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                           

Continuing Classes  
From Risk 

Management 
 

 
Risk Management 
offers a wide variety of 
training.  Defensive 
Driving, CPR and First 
Aid are just a few of 
the many classes 
offered.  To see the 
complete list, visit our 
website: 
www.risk.state.nv.us 
 
 
To enroll, please use 
the NEATS System.  If 
you do not have the 
resource to use 
NEATS, or have any 
questions, please call 
(775) 687-3187. 
 
 

 NEED MORE CARS FOR YOUR AGENCY?? 
 

 
The Purchasing Division offers state excess vehicles for sale to state agencies.  Vehicles are available 
primarily at the Purchasing Division Warehouse in Reno.  Vehicles may be inspected in person or viewed on 
their web site at http://purchasing.state.nv.us/property/vehicle.htm  
 

 
 

Workers’ Comp 
Question of the Quarter: 

  

 
   

The Risk Management Division receives inquiries on this type of assignment (modified duty/light duty) 
on a regular basis.  If an injured worker is placed on light duty or modified duty by the treating 
physician and the employer is able to accommodate them, then the injured worker can be on “light 
duty” for 90 days.  If the same injured worker continues to have light duty restrictions after the first 90 
days and the employer is able to accommodate the restrictions, the injured worker can be offered 
another 90 days on “light duty” as long as s/he is performing at least 51% of his/her job duties.  The 
applicable NAC is 284.6004.  If you have questions please contact Risk Management 775-687-3187. 

 

 
 
 
 

What is Temporary Modified Duty Assignment? 
 

 
 

http://purchasing.state.nv.us/property/vehicle.htm
http://www.risk.state.nv.us/

