
Southern Region Office
4747 Vegas Dr. 

Las Vegas, NV 89108  
(702) 486-5127 

 
Henderson Office

744 S. Racetrack Rd. 
Henderson, NV  89015 

(702) 486-6742 
 

Ely Office
1218 N Alpha St. 
Ely, NV  89301 

(775) 289-1655, ext. 21 
Hours: 9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.,  

1:30 p.m. - 5 p.m. 

HUNTING HOURS FOR UPLAND GAME BIRDS 
AND RABBITS ARE SUNRISE TO SUNSET with 
exceptions as indicated in SPECIAL REGULATIONS/
INFORMATION under each season table.	

2009-2010 Upland Game Dates and limits are set 
by the Nevada Board of Wildlife Commissioners in  
CR 07-07, CR 07-07 Amendment #1, Amendment #2, 
and  Amendment #3.

UNITS REFERENCED are Game Management Units 
described in NAC 504.210 and are shown on the hunt 
unit map included in the 2009 Nevada Hunt Book.

Please see the 2009 Nevada Hunt
Book for laws and regulations, or to

find an NDOW office near you.

2009 - 2010 UPLAND GAME 
BIRD, RABBIT, DOVE AND 

CROW SEASONS AND LIMITS 
REGULATIONS

NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE
www.ndow.org

Department of Wildlife Offices

Headquarters/
Western Region Office

1100 Valley Rd. 
Reno, NV  89512
(775) 688-1500

Fallon Office
380 West B St.

Fallon, NV 89406
(775) 423-3171 

M, T, Th, Fr, 
 

Eastern Region Office
60 Youth Center Rd. 

Elko, NV  89801 
(775) 777-2300

Winnemucca Office
815 E. Fourth St. 

Winnemucca, NV  89445 
(775) 623-6565 

Hours: 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.

CALIFORNIA, GAMBEL’S, SCALED AND 
MOUNTAIN QUAIL

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
LIMIT: Limit singly or in the aggregate, except for mountain 
quail where limits may not include more than two daily and 
four in possession.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset daily.
OPEN to nonresidents.
Persons who harvest mountain quail are requested to report 
their harvest to NDOW, 1100 Valley Road, Reno, NV 89512. 
(775) 688-1523.

AMERICAN CROW

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset daily. Shotguns only.
OPEN to nonresidents.
NOTE: All crows must be retrieved and removed from 
the field.
Season closed on common ravens.  See illustration.

Sept. 1 - 
Nov. 17, 2009

and
March 1 -

April 15, 2010

10Statewide

10/20
(See mountain

quail limit 
information

under Special 
Regulations/

Information below)

An upland game bird stamp is required for anyone 
age 12 or older, to hunt upland game birds - except 
turkey and crow.  The $10 stamp is available 
at NDOW offices, authorized license agents 
statewide and online at www.ndowlicensing.com.  
Funds from the stamp sales are used to support 
guzzler maintenance and habitat work that benefits 
upland game bird species.  Upland game bird 
stamps are not required to hunt dove.

The crow (17.5 inches) is bigger than a blackbird (9 inches) 
and noticeably smaller than a raven (24 inches).  Crows 
often flock, while ravens are more solitary birds. Note that 
the crow’s bill is much smaller than the raven, and that its tail 
is square. The raven’s heavy bill, shaggy throat feathers and 
wedge-shaped tail also set it apart from the common crow.

 Attention Upland Game Bird Hunters

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Oct.10, 2009 
-

Feb. 7, 2010
Statewide

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

YOUTH CHUKAR AND 
HUNGARIAN PARTRIDGE

Special Regulations:  Limit singly or in the aggregate.

Open to hunters 15 years of age or younger only.  Youth 
must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 18 
years old.

License and stamp requirements apply pursuant to NRS 
502.010 and NRS 502.292.

YOUTH CALIFORNIA, GAMBEL’S 
AND SCALED QUAIL

Special Regulations:  Limit singly or in the aggregate.

Open to hunters 15 years of age or younger only.  Youth 
must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 18 
years old.

License and stamp requirements apply pursuant to NRS 
502.010 and NRS 502.292.

YOUTH RABBIT

Special Regulations:  Limit singly or in the aggregate.
Species Allowed:  Cottontail, pygmy and white-tailed 
rabbits.
Open to hunters 15 years of age or younger only.  Youth 
must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 18 
years old.

Sept. 26-27, 2009 Statewide 6/12

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Sept. 26-27, 2009 Statewide 10/20

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Sept. 26-27, 2009 Statewide 10/20

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

PICK UP YOUR NEVADA 
HUNTER’S JOURNAL TODAY

	 Small game hunters have 
a new tool to catalog their 
annual take – the Nevada 
Hunter’s Journal.
	 In the free pocket-sized 
journal, sportsmen can 
record their memories 
of pursuing small game. 
The Hunter’s Journal has 
a section with a place to 
record such information as 
species pursued, location, 
conditions, and harvest 
information. It is available 
to sportsmen purchasing 
licenses at NDOW offices.
	 NDOW typically mails out 
small game questionnaires 
well after seasons have 
ended. Hunters who use 
the Hunter’s Journal will 

be able to provide accurate harvest and days afield, 
key information sought within the post-season 
questionnaires.



PHEASANT

   As part of a long-term study of the state’s sage-grouse 
populations, hunters are asked to remove one wing from 
each sage-grouse taken.

BLUE AND RUFFED GROUSE

Sept. 1 - 
Dec. 31, 2009 Statewide 3/6

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
HUNTING HOURS:  Sunrise to sunset daily.
OPEN to nonresidents.
NOTE:  Season applies to cottontail, pygmy and white-tailed 
jackrabbits and resident upland game species except turkey 
and sharp-tailed grouse. The taking of sage-grouse by falconry 
is only allowed in those areas where there is an open season.  
The daily and possession limit for sage-grouse is 2 and 4.
Limits: Singly or in the aggregate.ATTENTION SAGE-GROUSE HUNTERS

Elko County 
except Units 
079, 091 and 

106
Eureka County

Humboldt 
County, except 
Units 033, 035, 

042, 044, 
046 and 151

Lander County, 
except Units 

151, 183 
and 184

Nye County, 
except Units 

132, 133, 181, 
251 and 252

Washoe County, 
except Units 

021, 022, 033, 
194 and 196
White Pine 

County, except 
Units  114, 115 

and 132

2/4

Retain one wing 
from each bird  
and turn in to 

NDOW or  
Sheldon National 
Wildlife Refuge 

personnel 

75 reservations 
per hunt period 
by application  

only

Unit 033 of 
Washoe and 

Humboldt 
Counties 
(Sheldon 

National Wildlife 
Refuge), 

excluding the 
Little Sheldon 

and other areas 
as posted.  
Application 
deadline is 

Aug. 7, 2009.

Hunt Period #1 
Sept. 19-20, 

2009  
Hunt Period #2 

Sept. 26-27, 
2009

Open to
nonresidents

Application 
available  
online at  

www.ndow.org

Sept. 25 - 
Oct. 9, 2009

Closed to
nonresidents

2/4

2/4
Cocks onlyNov. 1 - 30, 2009 Statewide

2/8
Sept. 1, 2009

-
Feb. 28, 2010

Statewide

Oct. 3-4 ,2009 

Closed to
nonresidents

Unit 184 
of Churchill 
and Lander 

Counties
2/4

SAGE-GROUSE

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
LIMIT: Limit singly or in the aggregate.
OPEN  to nonresidents.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset.
NAC 503.185 States that the head or one fully feathered 
wing must be attached to all blue and ruffed grouse until 
the carcass reaches the possessor’s residence or a 
commercial facility for its preservation.  

For further information on 
upland game bird hunting 
regulations, please refer 
to the  2009 Nevada Hunt 
Book.

Complete text of the laws 
and regulations can be 
found on the Department 
of Wildlife website at 
www.ndow.org.

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Persons harvesting blue grouse 
are requested to deposit 

one wing from each bird 
harvested at any Nevada 
Department of Wildlife 
off ice, check station, 
o r  w i th  Depar tment 
employees who contact 
you in the field.

Persons  harves t ing 
ruffed grouse in Humboldt 
County are requested 
to report harvest to the 
Department of Wildlife’s 
Winnemucca sub-office 

at 815 E. Fourth St., 
Winnemucca, NV 89445;  

(775) 623-6565.

   Please keep the wing dry 
and away from flies, 
deposit in a paper 
lunch sack and drop 
it off in any of the 
Department’s wing 
barrels, at check 
stations, or with 
NDOW employees.  
Thank you for your 
assistance!

NEVADA HUNT BOOK

MOURNING AND WHITE-WINGED DOVE*

RABBIT 
(cottontail, pygmy, white-tailed rabbit)

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
Limits: Limit singly or in aggregate.
OPEN to nonresidents.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset.

*White-winged dove season is closed in all counties 
except Clark and Nye counties.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
SHOOTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset 
daily.
Shotguns must be plugged to limit overall shotshell capacity 
to 3 when hunting dove.
OPEN to nonresidents.
Limits:   L imi ts for 
mourning dove and 
white-winged dove 
a r e  s i n g l y  o r  i n 
aggregate in Clark and 
Nye counties.
HIP Requirements: Any 
person 12 years or 
older who hunts 
dove is required 
to obtain a Harvest 
Information Program number 
ANNUALLY by calling 1-866-703-4605 or on the internet at 
www.ndowlicensing.com Note: Reservations are required on 
the Moapa Valley portion of the Overton WMA on opening day 
and the first weekend of the season.

10/20Sept. 1 - 30, 2009 Statewide

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

10/20
Oct. 10, 2009

-
Feb. 28, 2010

Statewide

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

CHUKAR AND HUNGARIAN PARTRIDGE

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
LIMIT: Limit singly or in aggregate.

Oct. 10, 2009 
-

Feb. 7, 2010

SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
LIMIT: Prior to hunting snowcock, persons must obtain 
a snowcock hunting free-use permit from any Nevada 
Department of Wildlife office.  Permits may be faxed to persons 
planning to hunt snowcock once appropriate information has 
been collected from the hunter.
OPEN to nonresidents.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset.

SNOWCOCK

	 Non-toxic shot must be used for all species 
when hunting on wildlife management areas. (NAC 
503.183)
	 The use or possession of shells for a shotgun 
containing shot that is toxic, or larger than standard-
sized T is prohibited on the Overton, Key Pittman, 
W.E. Kirch, Scripps, Mason Valley, Fernley, Alkali 
Lake, Humboldt, Steptoe Valley and Franklin Lake 
Wildlife Management Areas (NAC 504.135).
	 The use of shotguns capable of holding 
more than three shells is prohibited on all wildlife 
management areas unless it has been plugged 
with a one-piece filler, incapable of removal without 
disassembling the gun, so its total capacity does not 
exceed three shells. (NAC 504.135)

Hunting on Wildlife Management Areas

Statewide 6/18

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

Sept. 1, 2009 
-

Nov. 30, 2009

Elko and 
White

Pine Counties
2/2

Season Dates 
(Inclusive)

Open 
Counties

Limits
Daily/Possession

SHOOTING HOURS:  Sunrise to Sunset

OPEN  to nonresidents.
SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise 
to sunset.

FALCONRY SEASONS
For Upland Game/Rabbits

  SPECIAL REGULATIONS/INFORMATION
    OPEN to nonresidents.
    SHOOTING HOURS: Sunrise to sunset.


