
Please visit NDOW.org for new general 
furbearer, trapping and hunting laws and 

regulations as they are currently being updated.

BEAVER • MINK • MUSKRAT • OTTER
KIT FOX • RED FOX • GRAY FOX • BOBCAT

NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE
www.ndow.org

2015 - 2016 FURBEARER
SEASONS AND LIMITS

BEAVER, MUSKRAT AND MINK

Season Open 
Area

Special
Regulations

Oct. 1, 2015 -
April 30, 2016 Statewide Open to

Nonresidents

OTTER

Season Open 
Area

Special
Regulations

Oct. 1, 2015 
-

March 31, 2016

Elko
Eureka

Humboldt 
Lander

Pershing 

Open to 
Nonresidents

Counties 
closed to 

otter trapping:
Carson City, 

Churchill, Clark
Douglas, 

Esmeralda, 
Lincoln, Lyon,
Mineral, Nye

Storey, Washoe
and White Pine

Special Regulations: If an otter is accidentally trapped 
or killed in those counties which are closed or outside 
the prescribed season, the person trapping or killing it 
shall report the trapping or killing within 48 hours to a 
representative of the Department of Wildlife.  The animal 
must be disposed of in accordance with the instructions 
of the representative. 

KIT AND RED FOX

Season Open 
Area

Special
Regulations

Oct. 1, 2015 - 
Feb. 29, 2016 Statewide Open to

Nonresidents



NEVADA FURBEARER SEASONS 2015-2016
GRAY FOX

NOTE:  All jaws should be free of excess tissue and air dried.  Each jaw must have a matching ID tag.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:  Any person of any age who 
sells raw furs of any kind, whether taken by trap or firearm, 
is required to purchase a trapping license. The following 
species can be hunted without a hunting license in Nevada, 
but a trapping license is required to trap them: coyote, black-
tailed jackrabbit, badger, weasel, spotted skunk, striped 
skunk, raccoon and ring-tailed cat.

BOBCAT

Season Open 
Area

Special
Regulations

Dec. 1, 2015
-

Feb. 21, 2016
Statewide Closed to

Nonresidents

Season Open 
Area

Special
Regulations

Nov. 1, 2015
-

Feb. 29, 2016
Statewide Closed to

Nonresidents

City Bobcat Pelt Sealing Dates 2015-2016
Carson City December 29 ( 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.) at NDOW Warehouse on corner of South Carson and Colorado St.

Elko January 19 and March 2 (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.), February 9 (Noon - 5 p.m.) at NDOW Office

Ely January 21 and  February 24 (9 a.m. - 3 p.m.) at NDOW Office

Eureka January 20 (noon - 5 p.m.) at NDOW Office

Fallon January 27 and March 2 (10 a.m. - 3 p.m.) at NDOW Office
February 26, 27 and 28 (7 a.m. - 11 a.m.) at Nevada Trappers Association Fallon Fur Sale

Las Vegas January 21 (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)  and March 2 (1 p.m. - 5 p.m.) at NDOW Office

Panaca February 26 (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.) at Nevada State Parks - NDOW Office

Tonopah February 11 (8 a.m. - 5 p.m.) and March 2 (1 p.m. - 5 p.m.) at NDOW Office

Winnemucca January 28 ( 8 a.m. - 1 p.m.) at NDOW Office

2015-2016 Furbearer dates and limits are set by the 
Nevada Board of Wildlife Commissioners in CR 14-11 and 
CR 14-11, amendment #2.

Per NAC 502.347 - A person shall not possess a pelt of a 
bobcat 10 days or more after the close of the season unless 
the Department’s seal is permanently attached to the pelt.  


