
R e v i e w i n g  O c c u p a t i o n a l   
D i s e a s e  C l a i m  P r o c e d u r e s 

Minor B/P Infractions Reduced 

     Benefit penalties have been a HOT 
TOPIC for quite some time, but recent leg-
islative changes bring good news for some. 
For those who don’t know, a benefit pen-
alty is levied against an insurer, third-party 
administrator or employer who violates 
specific statutes and is paid directly to the 
injured worker. A new subsection has been 
added to NRS 616D.120. Subsection 3(b) 
allows the Division of Industrial Relations 
administrator to levy a reduced benefit 
amount. If the violation involves a late 
payment of compensation or other relief to 
a claimant in an amount which is less than 
$500 or which is not more than 14 days 
late, then the benefit penalty will  only be 
$3,000. In the past, a minimum B/P of 
$5,000 was applied. In the case of these 
less serious infractions, the legislators felt 
a “mini-B/P” would be more appropriate. 
WCS did not propose this change but did 
not oppose it either. In a perfect world, 
WCS would not have to levy benefit pen-
alties and fines, but since they replace bad 
faith action, it is a tool to ensure the in-
jured worker is treated fairly and his claim 
is handled properly. That is our overall 
goal and part of our mission statement.    
                 

Ken Webb, WCS,  
Southern District Manager                     ▪ 
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      General and specified Workers’ Com-
pensation Section trainings focus on many 
parts of Nevada's multifaceted workers’ 
compensation system.  In October, key 
subject matter experts came together for a 
unique question & answer forum to answer 
a wide range of questions from the atten-
dees spanning all aspects of the system. 
     The October 4 Workers’ Compensation 
Experts’ Forum in Henderson drew an 
overflow crowd and brought together the 
following leaders: 
 

- Brian Kunzi, Director, Attorney Gen-  
      eral’s Workers’ Compensation Fraud  
      Unit 
- Nancyann Leeder, Nevada Attorney for  
      Injured Workers 
- Paul Lychuk, Appeals Officer, Hearings 

Division 
- Valerie Rosalin, Director, Governor’s  
      Office for Consumer Health Assistance  

October 4, 2007 Forum - Experts Panel: (from 
left to right) Nancyann Leeder, NAIW; Ken 
Webb, WCS; Brian Kunzi, AG’s Office 

- Ken Webb, WCS Southern District  
     Manager 
     Attendees had the opportunity to sub-
mit questions in advance as well as have 
their questions answered on the spot.  
Anyone interested in receiving informa-
tion about future training opportunities 
should sign up on the WCS e-mail list: 
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/elecroll.htm    

WCS Experts’ Forum Attracts Max Audience 

     The Workers’ Compensation Sec-
tion staff and Education Committee 
welcome a new member to the WCS 
Education Committee. Nancy Jennings 
officially joined the committee in Octo-
ber and attended her first quarterly 
meeting in November. She brings to the 
committee more than 30 years of work-
ers’ compensation experience with the 
State Industrial Insurance System and 
Meadowbrook Insurance Group, having 
been a claims adjuster, supervisor and 
claims manager. In addition, she served 
for nine years as a state employee union 
representative with the State of Nevada 
Employees’ Association.  The Commit-
tee looks forward to her invaluable in-
sights into issues affecting the regulated 
community.  Nancy joins the Education 
Committee with the departure of Lynn 
Grandlund-Terry who served on the 
committee for seven years – since its 
inception with the     (Continued on Page 4) 

Hail and Farewell 
     Most of the focus on Nevada’s work-
ers’ compensation system centers on    
Nevada Revised Statute Chapters 616 
A-D which address industrial injuries. 
However, in 2006 there were 442 occupa-
tional disease claims in Nevada.  NRS 
Chapter 617 is the set of workers’ comp 
laws that deal with occupational diseases. 
NRS 617.450 lists 21 specific occupa-
tional diseases along with a description of 
the disease contraction process.   
     The process for filing a claim for an 
occupational disease closely mimics pro-
cedures for industrial injury claims, al-
though the notion of disease 
“disablement” (NRS 617.060), its timing, 
and discovery create different reporting 
considerations than with workplace inju-
ries. "Knowledge of the disability and its 
relationship to his employment" may not 
be apparent to the injured employee until 
many weeks, months or even years later. 
 The following procedures describe the 
occupational disease     (Continued on Page 3) 
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    PRESCRIPTION DRUG DIVERSION:   
THE HIGH COST OF DRUG ABUSE 

     Workers’ Compensation  providers spent over $3 billion providing prescriptions to 
injured workers last year; 52 % of that amount was spent on “painkillers.” The illegal use 
or subsequent sale of prescription drugs puts a huge strain on our health system. Drug 
diversion can increase costs to health care insurers by a whopping $27 billion per year. 
Drug diversion is defined as any use of legal prescription medications for other than the 
legitimate medical purpose for which the drug was prescribed. We cannot continue to 
overlook this type of fraud. 
     A recent study examined the comparative health costs of treating a drug abuser versus 
a non-abuser. The findings were no surprise. The average cost of treating a non-abuser 
was $1,830.  The cost associated with a drug abuser swelled to $16,000. 
     Workers’ Compensation providers are in the best position to be able to determine if 
drug diversion is occurring. The person paying the bills knows, or should know with a 
little due diligence, the amount of prescriptions being obtained by the recipient. Plan ad-
ministrators are in the best position to detect if medications are being obtained from mul-
tiple sources or if a physician is not prescribing medications in a medically appropriate 
manner. In either event, these suspicions need to be referred for an investigation. 
     An interesting trend is emerging with an increase in drug diversions. The number of 
injured workers taking side jobs to help offset their loss of income while receiving bene-
fits has been decreasing nationally; primarily due to workers finding a more lucrative 
and untraceable source of income – the sale of their prescription meds. 
      The street value for pain medication is staggering. OxyContin, for example, has a 
430% street markup. By prolonging treatment to obtain unnecessary pain medication, 
vast amounts of money can be made. In addition to extending treatment with nonexistent 
pain symptoms, several other drug diversion tactics are common.  
     Forged or altered prescriptions are a popular way to obtain illegal quantities of pre-
scriptions. Older methods of using correction fluid to blot out the amount of pills to be 
obtained have given way to the use of fingernail polish remover. Prescriptions can also 
be altered instead of “washed.” A prescription for 10 tablets can be easily made to look 
like 70. The patient then returns to the medical provider after a week for another pre-
scription and the doctor is none the wiser. “Doctor shopping” is another method. Doctor 
shoppers visit multiple practitioners, which can easily occur if the injured worker is ob-
taining medications from a health insurance provider in addition to the workers’ compen-
sation provider. 
     Although the vast majority of practitioners are honest and provide legitimate medical 
care, a small percentage does engage in true criminal behavior. Investigations have fo-
cused on physicians who exchange improper prescriptions for money, other street drugs 
or in some instances, sex. These physicians are nothing less than drug dealers and should 
be treated as such. 
     Plan managers must become more aggressive in looking for potential drug diversions. 
The time for blindly writing the checks for prescription medications has long passed. If 
the cost of drug diversion is not reason enough, the potential for liability should be a 
wake up call.  Recently, pharmacies have been held liable for failing to exercise due dili-
gence by allowing overuse of pain medications. The same rationale may be applied to 
plan administrators if the overuse of pain medications is blindly approved time after 
time. 
     The abuse of prescription medications certainly has become a national problem. The 
Center for Disease Control now lists the unintentional death from prescription medica-
tions as the number two killer in the United States. With cooperation between plan ad-
ministrators, health care providers and law enforcement, we can start to take a bite out of 
this form of fraud. For more information, readers are encouraged to contact the National 
Association of Drug Diversion Investigators (NADDI) or visit their Web site at www.
naddi.org. 
     Anyone suspecting this type of fraud or any fraud associated with workers’ compen-
sation should contact the Attorney General’s fraud hotline at 1-800-266-8688. 
Other information about detecting workers’ compensation fraud is also    
    available on our Web site:  http://www.ag.state.nv.us/org/wcfu/wcfu.htm. 
           Brian Kunzi; Director, Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit 
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MAKE THE COMPLAINT  
PROCESS WORK FOR YOU 

     A cursory scan of business news re-
veals a common theme in the race to get 
ahead: improving customer service.  
Here in Nevada, to ensure optimum ser-
vice for all stakeholders, the workers’ 
compensation system has many avenues 
for those in the system — injured em-
ployees, employers, health care provid-
ers and insurers/third-party administra-
tors — to make complaints to the 
state’s Workers’ Compensation Section. 
WCS receives more than 6,000 com-
plaints annually, and each is taken very 
seriously. 
     In fact, the WCS Web site has easy-
to-use complaint report forms for 
Northern [http://di rweb.state .nv.us/Forms/

wcscompcc.pdf] and Southern region  [http://

dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/wcscomplv.pdf] com-
plaints. Complainants need to remem-
ber that using the proper complaint 
form is based on the physical location 
of the insurer or TPA — not where the 
injury took place, the complainant’s 
residence or the employer’s address. 
Nevada’s basic north-south boundary 
runs from southwest to northeast, 
through Tonopah and Ely. 
     WCS receives a variety of com-
plaints every month ranging from issues 
in determining the correct average 
monthly wage to employers’ failure to 
follow legal guidelines or late payments 
or responses by an insurer or TPA. The 
auditors who follow up these com-
plaints strongly advise complainants to 
use the complaint forms provided to 
document the basic information of their 
complaint and to whom they spoke  and 
when. Complaints should be specific, 
concise and legible and include neces-
sary documentation. For example, if the 
complaint concerns a specific letter or 
decision, include a copy of that letter or 
decision. WCS determinations are made 
based on the “file of record” (i.e. the 
claim file). 
     If the complaint concerns a possible 
benefit penalty, a specific process is 
required by NRS 616D.120 and ensures 
that the WCS investigation will be com-
pleted  within 90 days. Though not re-
quired by law, WCS strives to resolve 
other complaints within 90 days as 
well. 
     WCS’s Medical  (Continued on page 4) 

C O N F U S I O N  
C O R N E R 
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  WINTER 2007-2008  
TRAINING SESSIONS 

The WCS Orientation is a com-
prehensive overview of workers’ 
compensation in  Nevada. This 
session is beneficial for anyone in-
volved. Specified Forums offer speci-
fied advanced topics. All training ses-
sions are free and open to the public. 

 

S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A 
Division of Industrial Relations 

1301 North Green Valley Pkwy.,  
Ste. 200, Henderson, NV  89074  

WCS Orientation:   
January 8, 2008 

WCS Specified Forum:  
December 19, 2007 
February 7, 2008 

For reservations, please contact:  

 tsimi@business.nv.gov  

℡ (702) 486-9019  

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A   
The Carson City/Reno sessions are  
tentatively scheduled at Western   
Nevada Community College in 

Carson City.                   
WCS Orientation:  

December 13, 2008       
 February 21, 2008  

WCS Specified Forum:  
January 17, 2008 

For reservations, please contact:  


 ktravers@business.nv.gov  
℡ (775) 684-7261 

(Occ. Disease, Cont. from pg. 1) 
claim sequence; and filing requirements of 
the employee, employer and treating phy-
sician or chiropractor. References to  Ne-
vada law and information about the associ-
ated forms may be found on the Workers’ 
Compensation Section Web site  
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 
under “Nevada Law” & “Workers Com-
pensation Forms” links in the left-hand 
column. 
1. Notice of Occupational  Disease: 
(NRS 617.342) – An employee or, in the 
event of the employee’s death, one of his 
dependents, shall provide written notice of 
an occupational disease for which com-
pensation is payable as soon as practica-
ble, but within 7 days after attaining 
knowledge of the disability and its rela-
tionship to their employment. A Form C-1, 
“Notice of Injury or Occupational Dis-
ease” filed with the employer satisfies this 
requirement. 
2. Employee’s Claim for Compensation: 
(NRS 617.344) – An employee or their 
representative shall ensure filing of a 
claim for compensation for an occupa-
tional disease within 90 days after obtain-
ing knowledge of the disability and its re-
lationship to their employment. In the 
event of death resulting from the occupa-
tional disease, a dependent or a person act-
ing on their behalf shall ensure filing of 
the claim within 1 year after the em-
ployee’s death. The Claim for Compensa-
tion must be completed by the employee 
and treating physician or chiropractor, and 
filed by the treating physician or chiro-
practor. The correct form is a Form C-4, 
“Employee's Claim for Compensation/
Report of Initial Treatment.”  
3. Duty of Treating Physician or Chiro-
practor: (NRS 617.352) – A treating phy-
sician or chiropractor shall, within 3 work-
ing days after first providing treatment to 
an employee with an occupational disease, 
complete and file a Form C-4 , claim for 
compensation, with the employer and the 
employer’s insurer.  
4. Duty   of   the   Employer:   (NRS 
617.354) – Within 6 working days after 
receiving a C-4 for compensation from the 
treating physician or chiropractor, an em-
ployer shall complete and file with his in-
surer or third party administrator a Form 
C-3, “Employer’s Report of Industrial In-
jury or Occupational Disease.” Addition-
ally, a Form D-8, “Employer's Wage Veri-
fication Form” must be completed and 
filed with the insurer within 6 working 
days of receipt of the Form C-4  if re-
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STATE  OF  NEVADA 
H o l i d a y  O f f i c e  C l o s u r e s : 

 

Christmas Day  
Tuesday, December 25, 2007 

 

New Year’s Day 
Tuesday, January 1, 2008  

 

Martin L King Jr Day  
Monday, January 21, 2008 

 

Presidents’ Day 
Monday, February 18, 2008 

Locating the 2007 NRS Updates 
     The changes made by the 2007 
Nevada legislative session are now 
available online in the completely up-
dated Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS). 
As an ongoing service, you can find the 
NRS and Nevada Administrative Code 
(NAC) relating to workers compensation 
and occupational disease on the Workers 
Compensation Section Web site at:  
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 
     The statutes and regulations are di-
vided into sections. The sections that re-
late to workers’ compensation and occu-
pational diseases are NRS 616 and NRS 
617, respectively. The sections are then 
divided into chapters: 
 

•     Chapter 616A INDUSTRIAL IN-
SURANCE: ADMINISTRATION  

•     Chapter 616B INDUSTRIAL IN-
SURANCE: INSURERS -- LIABIL-
ITY FOR PROVISION OF COVER-
AGE  

•     Chapter 616C INDUSTRIAL IN-
SURANCE: BENEFITS FOR INJU-
RIES OR DEATHS  

•     Chapter 616D INDUSTRIAL IN-
SURANCE: PROHIBITED ACTS -- 
PENALTIES -- PROSECUTION  

•     Chapter 617 OCCUPATIONAL 
DISEASES 

      

     Once you decide which Chapter you 
need, you can do a Find operation.  
(Most browsers work the same way.) To 
search, follow the directions below: 
1.   Go to the WCS Web site. 
2. In the menu on the top left hand side 
       go to the bottom item: Nevada Law  
       > Nevada Revised Statutes. 
3.   Choose the appropriate chapter. 
Find Citations 
1.    Scroll to find the exact citation num-

ber you require. 
2.    Use the shortcuts on the left to direct 

you to the paragraph needed. 
3.    Embedded shortcuts within the stat-

ute will direct you to other relevant 
information. 

Find Text 
1.    Find a Chapter you want to search. 
2.    On the edit menu, click on Find. 
3.    In the Find What box, type the text 

or citation number you need. 
4.    Click on Find Next. 
5.    Your browser searches the selected 

chapter. 
6. Repeat step four until you have lo-

cated the appropriate text or your 
browser displays a message that you 
have reached         (Continued on Page 4)  

quested by the insurer (if the C-4 indi-
cates the employee will be off work for 5 
days or more in a 20 day period).            
5. Duty of the Insurer: (NRS 617.356) – 
An insurer shall accept or deny the sub-
mitted claim within 30 working days af-
ter the claim is received. Documents re-
quired by the insurer include both the 
Forms C-3 and C-4, and Form D-8 if re-
quired. Insurers must also report certain 
occupational disease claims to WCS 
(NRS 617.357). 
     In short, procedures for reporting of 
both industrial injuries and occupational 
diseases are similar. But the timing for 

mailto:tsimi@business.nv.gov
mailto:ktravers@business.nv.gov
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm


(Confusion Corner, Cont. from pg. 2) 
Unit also processes a steady stream of com-
plaints from injured workers and their attor-
neys; insurers/TPAs; and medical provid-
ers. Complaints range from billing issues to 
medical care to improper or incomplete 
Form C-4s (Employee’s Claim for Com-
pensation/Report of Initial Treatment). 
While the Medical Unit also encourages 
complaints on the “Complaint Report,” they 
will act on any complaint received in writ-
ing if complainants include the nature of 
the complaint, substantiating copies of 
documentation, the complainant’s name 
and address along with name and address 
information for whom the complaint is 
against, as well as the name or names of 
whom they’ve been working with to resolve 
the problem. The name of the workers’ 
compensation insurer and the claim number 
are also required. 
      The WCS Medical Unit begins an in-
vestigation within five working days after 
receiving a complaint, and it can take up to 
six weeks for a determination — much of 
that investigation time depends on the re-
sponse from the company or individual the 
complaint is lodged against. A 30-day re-
sponse time is normally given, and once a 
response is received, assuming no addi-
tional information is required, WCS nor-
mally makes a determination within one 
 week.                                                          ▪ 

 

   Safety Consultation 
           & Training 

 

 Southern Nevada 
   1301 N. Green Valley Pkwy, Ste. 200 
   Henderson, NV  89074 
   Ph: (702) 486-9140/Fx: (702) 990-0362 

N o r t h e r n / C e n t r a l  N e v a d a 
   4600 Kietzke Lane Ste. E-144 
   Reno, NV  89502 
   Ph: (775) 824-4630/Fx: (775) 688-1478 

N o r t h / E a s t e r n  N e v a d a 
   350 Silver Street, Ste. 210 
   Elko, NV  89801 
   Ph: (775) 778-3312/Fx: (775) 778-3412 

W e b  s i t e :  www.4safenv.state.nv.us  
   Or contact us toll free at: 

     1 (877) 4SAFENV / (877) 472-3368 

 To reg i s t e r  for  t ra i n ing  c l a s se s     
     
 Castruita.mary@dol.gov 
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WCS EDUCATION COMMITTEE 

WCS Mission Statement 
 

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Section (WCS) is to impartially serve 
the interests of Nevada employers and em-
ployees by  providing assistance, informa-
tion, and a fair and consistent regulatory 
structure focused on: 

 

Ensuring the timely and accurate deliv- 
   ery of workers' compensation benefits. 

 

Ensuring employer compliance with  
    the mandatory coverage  provisions.  

REPORTING REMINDERS 

ALL NEVADA WORKERS’ 
COMPENSATION INSURERS, 

including private carriers, SIEs (both 
active and inactive), and associations, are 
required to submit the following reports or 
face possible administrative fines. 
 

9 FY07 Workers’ Compensation Claims 
Activity Report and Insurer Information 
Form pursuant to NRS 616B.009 and NAC 
616B.016 were due October 5, 2007.  
Blank forms and instructions were dis-
tributed via e-mail on August 17, 2007 
and can be found on our Web site at http://
dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcsanrp.htm or by 
e-mailing us at WCSRA@business.nv.gov. 
 

9 Permanent Total (PT) Disability Claim 
Reports (NRS 616C.453) The 2007 Form 
and Instructions were distributed via e-mail 
in July and were due to WCS on August 3, 
2007. They can be found on our Web site at 
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcs.htm under 
“Insurer Reporting.” 
 

9 Occupational Disease Claim Report(s) 
(OD-8) or Statement of Inactivity (NRS 
617.357) is an ongoing reporting require-
ment. Certain occupational diseases of the 
heart, lungs, diseases that are infectious or 
relate to cancer are required to be reported 
as outlined in NRS 617.357.  Insurers with 
no occupational disease claims to report 
pursuant to NRS 617.357 during any calen-
dar year must submit a Statement of Inac-
tivity by the first week of January of the 
following year. 
 

PRIVATE CARRIERS must also report 
Proof of Coverage (POC) information to 
NCCI within 15 days of the effective date 
of the issuance, renewal, cancellation, non-
renewal, reinstatement or reissuance of a 
policy of workers’ compensation insurance.  
Carriers must also report endorsements that 
materially affect the proof of coverage (i.e. 
insured name or address changes) within 15 
days of their effective date. NAC 
616B.100-616B.148 outline the require-
ments for reporting proof of coverage and 
possible penalties for failure to report. 
    Questions may be directed to WCS     
Research and Analysis at (702) 486-9080.       

 

(Hail & Farewell, Cont. from pg. 1) 
advent of privatizing Nevada’s workers’ 
co mpensa t ion  sys tem.  Lynn ’s                
hallmarks during her tenure were an ex-
tensive knowledge of workers’ compen-
sation legislation past and present; solid 
labor-employer relations acumen and an 
unflagging sense of humor and humanity. 
All of us in WCS wish her the best.   
- Mike Brooks, Editor,  
Workers’ Compensation Chronicle     ▪ 

Direct comments or suggestions about 
this newsletter to:  

Mike Brooks, Editor, or Terry Simi,   
Assistant Editor, in the Workers’ 

Compensation Section, Henderson 
Office (702) 486-9019 or to:  
WCShelp@business.nv.gov 

H O W  T O  C O N T A C T  W C S 
Department of Business and Industry (DBI) 

Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) 
Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS) 

H E N D E R S O N 
1301 North Green Valley Pkwy, Ste. 200 

Henderson, Nevada 89074 
Ph: (702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364 

C A R S O N  C I T Y 
400 West King Street, Ste. 400 

Carson City, Nevada 89703 
Ph: (775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 

http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 
WCShelp@business.nv.gov  

 

E-mail Notification  
   Stay connected to what’s  

new in the Nevada workers’ com-
pensation system by registering to 
receive e-mail notification of upcom-
ing training sessions, hearings and 
other important events.  
     Simply go to the WCS Web site: 
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm, 
click on the “Update” icon and fill out 
the E-mail Enrollment Request Form 
as a new subscriber or to make up-
dates to your current subscription. 

(2007 NRS, Cont. from page 3) 
       the end of the text. 
Efficient ways to search for text 

1.  If you want to find a specific word, 
such as “PUB,” and you want to ignore 
the word  when it occurs as part of an-
other word such as “publication,” click 
the Match Whole Word Only check-
box to add a check mark. 

2.  If you want to find text that 
matches the exact combination of capi-
tal and lower case letters you typed in 
the Find What box, click the Match 
Case checkbox to add a check mark. 

 

     If you prefer, you may order hard copy 
and CD-ROM versions of the Nevada 
Revised Statutes, the Nevada Adminis-
trative Code and other official publica-
tions from Nevada Legislative Publica-
tions: http://leg.state.nv.us/publications/ 
or (775) 684-6835.                                   ▪  
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