
     Permanent partial disability ratings are often subject to second-guessing by in-
jured workers, workers’ compensation insurers and others. However, there is a panel 
that reviews these PPD ratings as part of WCS’ quality assurance program. State-
wide, raters perform an average of 550 permanent partial disability evaluations every 
month. As of December 1, 2008 there were 128 active raters on the Nevada Rating 
Panel of Physicians and Chiropractors.  
     Per NAC 616C.023, the Division of Industrial Relations, Workers’ Compensation 
Section must establish a panel to review PPD rating evaluations conducted by rating 
physicians and chiropractors. Panel members serve for one year and help WCS re-
view some PPD evaluations to ensure the evaluations comply with the standards set 
forth in the Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment 5th Edition and the 
regulations of DIR. The panel meets roughly every six weeks and is composed of  
two raters from northern Nevada and three raters from southern Nevada. 
     WCS’ objective is to establish and maintain a process for reviewing PPD evalua-
tions to enhance the quality of PPD ratings, provide confidential instructional feed-
back to the rater and identify problem areas for the raters in the Guides or in the im-
pairment process. To carry out this quality assurance mission, WCS requests that 
raters provide the Southern and Northern WCS Medical Unit with copies of 
their PPD evaluation reports every month. Then WCS randomly reviews ap-
proximately 10% of these PPD reports and refers those reports that may con-
tain possible discrepancies, per the Guides and regulations, to the PPD Panel 
for  review.  
     The panel conducts a thorough quality assurance review  and   (Continued on page 3)        

H O T  T O P I C Panel Ensures PPD  Quality, Confidentiality 
DELAYS IN COMPLYING WITH  

DECISIONS AND ORDERS PROVE COSTLY 
     Usually, whenever a Hearing Officer 
(HO) or an Appeals Officer (AO) issues a 
decision and order, somebody wins and 
somebody loses. Either side can then appeal 
that determination. NRS 616C.315 and 
616C.375 describe timelines for some of 
these appeal rights.   
     An HO decision can be appealed to the 
Appeals Office and an AO decision can be 
appealed to District Court. But what if one 
of the parties wants to stop the implementa-
tion of the order while appealing the issue to 
a higher authority? They ask for a “stay.” 
Usually when a stay is granted neither party 
needs to take action until after the appeal is 
heard. The problem arises when a stay is 
denied!   
     If you have been given an HO/AO deci-
sion and order, you have 30 days to comply. 
If you don’t comply within that time frame, 
WCS may issue a Benefit Penalty.  It is im-
portant to note that there are different cir-
cumstances and requirements that govern 
HO versus AO decision and orders. 
     If you apply for a stay from an HO deci-
sion any time during the 30 days after that 
decision and order, it is automatically 
stayed until an AO issues an order denying 
the stay. If the stay is denied, then you have 
10 days to comply with the original decision 
and order.    
     However, if you apply for a stay from an 
AO decision and order, it is not automati-
cally granted! If the stay is not granted by 
the 30th day after the (Continued on page 4)       
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This newsletter is not intended to provide legal advice to the reader. Legal opinions or interpretations of  
statutes and regulations referenced here should be sought from competent legal professionals. 
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D o n ’ t  F o r g e t  t h e  D - 2  

Amy Royce, senior product manager, National Council on 
Compensation Insurance, exchanges information with     
Michael Brooks, manager, WCS Education, Research and 
Analysis Unit, at the National Workers’ Compensation and 
Disability Expo and Conference held in Las Vegas Novem-
ber 19 – 21. Ms. Royce maintains the Coverage Verification 
Service for Nevada, which is accessible from the WCS Web 
site: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/cvs.htm                         *                                 

     Reminder: To ensure that injured workers are aware of their workers’ compensa-
tion rights and benefits, specific laws and regulations address information and notifi-
cation requirements: NRS 616C.050, NRS 616C.095 and NAC 616A.480.  Lately, 
however, the WCS audit staff have noticed recurring noncompliance in disseminating 
the Form D-2 “Brief Description of Rights and Benefits.” 
     The language contained in the Form D-2 must be printed on the reverse side of the 
employee’s copy of the Form C-1 “Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease” or pro-
vided to the employee as a separate document with an affirmative statement acknowl-
edging receipt. 
     The Form D-2 is also printed on the back of page 4 of the original Form C-4. Page 
4 is the page that medical staff should give to the employee. However, some health 
care providers and their staffs are giving injured workers photocopies of the page 4 
front only which does not have the D-2 information on the reverse side.  As with the 
Form C-1, if the D-2 language is not on the reverse side, it must be provided to the 
employee as a separate document with an affirmative statement       (Continued on page 3)       
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C O N F U S I O N  
C O R N E R 

ployer must provide a copy to the injured 
worker and keep a copy of the C-1 for 3 
years. 
     The Form C-1 and all other workers’ 
comp forms are on the WCS Web site 
forms page: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/
wcsform.htm. Depending on circum-
stances, a C-1 may not always be com-
pleted before an injured employee seeks 
medical treatment. Normally, the injured 
worker has 90 days from the date of injury 

to seek medical treatment. 
     When the employee first seeks treat-
ment for an occupational disease or injury, 
the employee and the health care provider 
must complete a Form C-4: Employee’s 
Claim for Compensation/Report of Initial 
Treatment. Some health care providers 
believing the injury was not work-related 
have declined to sign their portion of this 
form. This is not the health care provider’s 
decision. Again, the (Continued on page 4) 

F R A U D  W A T CF R A U D  W A T CF R A U D  W A T C HHH   
 

T H E  M A N Y  F A C E S  O F  T H E  
   UNDOCUMENTED WOR KER PROBLEM   

 W h o  H a s  a  S a y  i n   
Q u e s t i o n a b l e  C l a i m s ? 

     “I suspect my employee is faking 
an injury. What should I do?” 
     This is a common question we get 
from employers. Not only do these 
employers have a moral objection to 
allowing fraud, but also many fear 
their workers’ compensation insurance 
rates will increase unnecessarily. In 
addition, we have received feedback 
from health care providers that some 
employers are reluctant to provide 
coverage information because they 
believe the injured employee’s acci-
dent or disease is not work-related. 
     What many employers do not real-
ize is that withholding information or 
trying to suppress a questionable claim 
is illegal. Subsection 1. of NRS 
616D.120 expressly prohibits an em-
ployer, insurer, third-party administra-
tor, health care provider, or managed 
care organization from inducing a 
claimant not to report an industrial 
injury or occupational disease. The 
administrative fine for an initial viola-
tion is $1,500, while second and sub-
sequent violations carry a $15,000 
fine.  
     It is the insurer providing the work-
ers’ comp coverage that is responsible 
for evaluating whether the claim is 
“work-related” as defined by statute or 
regulation. The entire workers’ com-
pensation claims process provides ade-
quate input and appeal rights to all 
workers’ comp partners to allow those 
parties to address their concerns. In 
most circumstances, if an employee 
incurs an injury on the job or contracts 
an occupational disease, whether re-
quiring immediate medical treatment 
or not, that employee is afforded the 
opportunity by the employer to fill out 
a Form C-1: Notice of Injury or Occu-
pational Disease. Employers are le-
gally required to have an adequate 
supply of these forms for their em-
ployees. 
     The employee signs this form to 
provide notice to the employer/
supervisor that the incident occurred. 
The employer/supervisor must also 
sign the form. The employee normally 
has 7 days from the time of the inci-
dent to complete the form. The em-

T he Attorney General’s Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit investigates and prose-
cutes claimants who make false statements to receive compensation benefits as well 

as employers who fail to provide workers’ compensation for their employees. Being on 
both sides of the equation has offered me a unique view of issues involving undocumented 
workers. 
     All employees injured in an industrial accident, whether undocumented or not, are enti-
tled to workers’ compensation benefits in Nevada. The only restriction is that undocu-
mented workers are not entitled to receive vocational rehabilitation benefits. Not being in-
volved in the claims administration area, I do not have any data regarding the percentage of 
undocumented workers that forego claims for fear of having their status explored. We do, 
however, see a large number of cases involving uninsured employers. 
     Most of the cases filed against employers involve injuries to workers. These workers are 
entitled to file for benefits from the Uninsured Employers’ Claim Account. Benefits are not 
sought in a very large percentage of cases, usually involving workers of Hispanic origin. 
Based on complaints being received by the WCFU, I suspect a major factor is a fear of los-
ing one’s job if a claim is filed. 
     We have to confront the real possibility of employers using a workers’ undocumented 
status against the worker to coerce him or her from trying to collect lawful benefits. Em-
ployers want to reap the benefits of using an undocumented worker, but in some instances 
these employers fail to complete their end of the bargain by disrupting compensation for 
work related injuries. 
     The flip side of the problem is that although an undocumented worker is entitled to 
workers’ compensation, it is illegal to make a false statement “relating to his identity” to 
obtain workers’ compensation. The $64,000 question is the legal implications of using a 
false Social Security number when applying for compensation. 
     There are many conflicting policy issues that may not be reconcilable. With our height-
ened concern with identity theft issues, the use of a false Social Security number is a big 
deal. The problem is that some employers are aware of the status of their workers and then 
complain only when the compensation award hits. This once again sets up a scenario in 
which the injured worker can be exploited. The party left in the middle is the insurance 
carrier.  The reality is that both parties, the injured worker and the employer, may be com-
mitting a fraud on the insurance carrier by permitting an injured worker to knowingly  use  
a false Social Security number or identity. 
     I am soliciting input from all sides of this debate.  Please e-mail me  
at Bkunzi@ag.nv.gov. I want to hear your prospective. If you represent  
injured workers I am interested in your experiences. Employers, most  
of you know  what goes on in  your industry. I am interested to know 
what problems you see from the unscrupulous employers. Carriers, case 
managers and claims administrators, I want to know what challenges you 
face. Your assistance will be helpful in formulating enforcement efforts 
that effectively address this growing concern.  
     As always, anyone suspecting any fraud associated with workers’ compensation should 
contact the Attorney General’s fraud hotline at 1-800-266-8688. Other information about 
detecting workers’ compensation fraud is also available on our  Web site:   
   http://www.ag.state.nv.us/org/wcfu/wcfu.htm. 
        Brian Kunzi, Director, Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit 
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(Form D-2, cont. from page 1) 
 acknowledging receipt. 
     Granted, there are financial and pro-
ductivity savings which may drive auto-
mation of what can be a mountain of pa-
perwork provided to injured workers and 
patients.  However, these efforts must 
ensure that there are no information omis-
sions that deny injured employees critical 
information to which they are lawfully 
entitled. 
     Form C-1 templates are posted on     
the WCS Forms page: http://
dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/c-1.pdf. Multi-
page Form C-4s are available for free 
from the WCS Carson City office. Contact 
Grace Dean,  (775) 684-7266, 
gdean@business.nv.gov for details.         *                
  W h a t  i s  a  N e v a d a  W o r k e r s ’  

C o m p  L i c e n s e ? 
     Many states such as Texas, Oregon 
and Connecticut require that claims ad-
justers who handle workers’ compensa-
tion claims be licensed by the state. Cur-
rently, there is no such requirement in 
Nevada. However, what may cause some 
confusion is that there is indeed a Nevada 
license required for anyone representing 
an employer at a workers’ compensation 
hearing, with the exception of attorneys 
and full-time employer representatives.     
     NRS 616C.325 mandates this licen-
sure. Those representing employees at a 
hearing must be employed full time by the 
employee’s labor organization; admitted 
to practice law in Nevada; be employed 
full-time and be supervised by a Nevada 
attorney; or be appearing without com-
pensation on behalf of the employee. 
     Applicants for a Workers’ Compensa-
tion Representative license must submit a 
Worker's Compensation License applica-
tion, with notary acknowledgement; pro-
vide a copy of their driver’s license; pay a 
$78.00 application fee to the Department 
of Administration; and pass the Workers 
Compensation Representative Examina-
tion. Applicants are tested on NRS and 
NAC 616 and 617. The test is comprised 
of 60 multiple choice and true/false ques-
tions with a minimum 75 percent passing 
score. Applicants have up to three at-
tempts to pass the test before reapplying. 
Tests are given at will. Anyone with ques-
tions on new licenses or license renewal 
should contact Hope Hufstetler, (702)486-
2531, hhufstetler@hearings.state.nv.us 
     Those needing to test should call Paul 
Trepanier (702) 486-2536 in Las Vegas or 
Sondra Amodei at (775) 687-5966 in Car-
son City. More information is online at: 
http://hearings.state.nv.us/WCLisc.htm   *                

REPORTING REMINDERS 
ALL NEVADA WORKERS’ COMPENSA-
TION INSURERS, including private carri-
ers, SIEs (both active and inactive), and as-
sociations, are required to submit the follow-
ing reports or face possible administrative 
fines. 
9Occupational Disease Claim Report(s) 
(OD-8) or Statement of Inactivity (NRS 
617.357) is an ongoing reporting require-
ment.  Certain occupational diseases of the 
heart, lungs, diseases that are infectious or 
relate to cancer are required to be reported as 
outlined in NRS 617.357.  Insurers with no 
occupational disease claims to report pursu-
ant to NRS 617.357 during any calendar 
year must submit a Statement of Inactivity 
by the first week of January of the following 
year.  Note:  Statements of Inactivity re-
ceived prior to calendar year end will not 
be accepted. 
9FY08 WCS Workers’ Compensation 
Claims Activity Report and Insurer Infor-
mation Form pursuant to NRS 616B.009 
and NAC 616B.016 were due October 27, 
2008.  Blank forms and instructions were 
distributed via e-mail on September 15, 2008 
and can be found on our Web site at http://
dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcsanrp.htm or by e-
mailing us at WCSRA@business.nv.gov.  If 
you have not filed these reports, please do so 
immediately to avoid administrative fines.  
Note: The Insurer Information Form is 
one of the most important documents re-
quired by the DIR – please make sure you 
file an updated form with us whenever 
you have contact changes such as TPAs, e-
mail addresses, physical address and 
phone number changes. 
9Permanent Total (PT) Disability Claim 
Reports (NRS 616C.453) The 2008 Form 
and Instructions were distributed via e-mail 
in July and were due to WCS on AUGUST 
4, 2008 and can be found on our Web site at 
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm un-
der “Insurer Information.”  The 2009 PT 
Claim Report form will be sent out in early 
July 2009. 
PRIVATE CARRIERS must also report 
Proof of Coverage (POC) information to 
NCCI within 15 days of the effective date of 
the issuance, renewal, cancellation, nonre-
newal, reinstatement or reissuance of a pol-
icy of workers’ compensation insurance.  
Carriers must also report endorsements that 
materially affect the proof of coverage (i.e. 
insured name or address changes) within 15 
days of their effective date. NAC 616B.100 
through 616B.148 outline the POC reporting 
requirements and possible penalties for fail-
ure to report. 
     Questions may be directed to WCS Re-
search and Analysis at (702) 486-9080.       * 
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E-mail  Notif ication  
 

    Stay connected to what’s  
new in the Nevada workers’ com-
pensation system by registering to 
receive e-mail notification of upcom-
ing training sessions, hearings and 
other important events.  
     Simply go to the WCS Web site: 
h t tp : / / .d i rweb.state.nv.us/WCS/
wcs.htm, click on the “Update” icon 
and fill out the E-mail Enrollment Re-
quest Form as a new subscriber or to 
make updates to your current sub-
scription. 

(Rating Panel, cont. from page 1) 
provides constructive comments and rec-
ommendations for the rater. The panel’s 
recommendations are provided to the indi-
vidual raters under confidential cover. All 
PPD reports reviewed are redacted so that 
all confidential information is deleted in-
cluding the names of the injured workers 
and raters. The disclosure of this informa-
tion is for the individual rater and WCS 
only. 
      Insurers often contact WCS asking if a 
PPD evaluation has been performed per 
the Guides. However, insurers should ini-
tially contact the rater who performed the 
evaluation with their questions about the 
rater’s evaluation. WCS will gladly ad-
dress general Guides and ratings questions; 
however, WCS is not the agency, nor is it 
our charter, to provide an analysis of a 
PPD evaluation. Insurers have various op-
tions if they disagree with a PPD impair-
ment evaluation. In addition to addressing 
their concerns with the actual rater, they 
may address their concerns with their 
medical advisors or request an independent 
review. 
     It is also important for insurers to edu-
cate their claims examiners on the Guides. 
Many independent companies and experi-
enced raters offer excellent seminars on 
the Guides. Not only is this information 
vital to the examiner in reviewing ratings, 
but it is helpful for the insurer to under-
stand what information is essential to the 
rater to provide a thorough, comprehensive 
and fair PPD evaluation for the injured 
worker. For more information on PPD 
quality assurance, call the Workers’ Com-
pensation Section Medical Unit Southern 
District (702) 486-9080 or the Northern 
District (775) 684-7270.                            *                                              
Direct comments or suggestions about this 
newsletter to: Mike Brooks, Editor, or 
Terry Simi, Assistant Editor, in the 
Workers’Compensat ion  Sec t ion , 
Henderson Office (702) 486-9019 or to:  
WCShelp@business.nv.gov 
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(Confusion Corner, cont. from page 2) 
insurer providing coverage makes this de-
termination. However, there is a space on 
the C-4 for health care providers to indicate 
whether they believe the injury or disease 
was work-related. A copy of this form is 
also provided to the injured employee. Af-
ter receiving his copy of the C-4, the em-
ployer now has six working days to com-
plete a copy of the Form C-3: Employer’s 
Report Industrial Injury or Occupational 
Disease and forward it to the insurer or 
TPA. This is the employer’s opportunity to 
provide the insurer with their view of the 
incident and whether they believe the injury 
or disease contraction was work related. 
     Meanwhile, the insurer, upon receipt of 
the C-4, has 30 days to accept or deny the 
claim and begin payment on accepted 
claims. Some insurers have denied or de-
layed the decision to begin payment or have 
denied a claim based on not receiving a 
copy of the C-1. Others have denied or de-
layed making a determination based on not 
receiving a copy of the C-3. However, an 
insurer’s not receiving the C-1 or the C-3 is 
not a valid reason for delaying payment or 
denying a claim for compensation. If the 
insurer denies a claim or requires informa-
tion for acceptance or denial of the claim, 
the insurer must notify the employee and 
the health care provider. The insurer must 
also notify WCS of the claim denial (NAC 
616C.091). 
     Nevada laws and regulations provide 
ample opportunities to appeal decisions 
made by an insurer. Each of the stake-
holders in the process has specific functions 
to perform in a timely manner. If this does-
n’t happen, the process is slowed or dis-
rupted, which is when WCS becomes in-
volved and often fines and penalties ensue.* 

H O W  T O  C O N T A C T  W C S 
Department of Business and Industry (DBI) 

Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) 
Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS) 

H E N D E R S O N 
1301 North Green Valley Pkwy, Ste. 200 

Henderson, Nevada 89074 
Ph: (702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364 

C A R S O N  C I T Y 
400 West King Street, Ste. 400 

Carson City, Nevada 89703 
Ph: (775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 

http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 
WCShelp@business.nv.gov  

S u b s e q u e n t  I n j u r y  A c c o u n t  
S a v e s  E m p l o y e r s  M o n e y  

 

The Subsequent Injury Ac-
counts encourage employers to 

hire workers with a permanent physical 
impairment. The costs of any qualified 
subsequent injury are paid from the ap-
propriate subsequent injury account. 
(NRS 616B.557-590) For more informa-
tion on the SI Account contact Jacque 
Everhart at 702 486-9089 or at 
everhart@business.nv.gov  

S I A  

W C S  M i s s i o n  S t a t e m e n t 

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation 
Section (WCS) is to impartially serve the 
interests of Nevada employers and employ-
ees by  providing assistance, information, 
and a fair and consistent regulatory struc-
ture focused on: 
    Ensuring the timely and accurate deliv- 
    ery of workers' compensation benefits. 
    Ensuring employer compliance with the  
    mandatory coverage  provisions.  

  WINTER 2008-2009  
TRAINING SESSIONS 

The WCS Orientation is a comprehen-
sive overview of workers’ compensation 
in  Nevada. This session is beneficial for 
anyone involved. Specified Forums offer 
specified advanced topics. All training 
sessions are free and open to the public. 

 

S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A 
Division of Industrial Relations 

1301 North Green Valley Pkwy.,  
Ste. 200, Henderson, NV  89074  

WCS Orientat ion:   
December 5, 2008 

WCS Specif ied Forum:  
Medical Fee Schedule 

February 5, 2009 
For reservations, please contact:  

 tsimi@business.nv.gov  

℡ (702) 486-9019  
N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A   

The Carson City / Reno sessions are  ten-
tatively scheduled at Western Nevada 
Community College in Carson City.                   

WCS Orientat ion:   
December 18, 2008 
February19, 2009 

For reservations, please contact:  

 tbixler@business.nv.gov  
℡ (775) 684-7261 

 Dock Williams, Chair, WCS 
 Mike Brooks, WCS 
 Ken Webb, WCS 
 Christi Mosher, Genex 
 Suhair Susan Sayegh, Sierra Nv Adm 
 Nancy Jennings, Sierra Nv Adm 

WCS EDUCATION COMMITTEE 

R e t i r e m e n t  N e w s  
     In December, Tom Crider retires from 
the DIR/WCS after 24 years of service 
with the State of Nevada.  Mr. Crider who 
hails originally from Oneonta in upstate 
New York has been a Las Vegas-area resi-
dent since 1980. Before joining Nevada’s 
State Industrial Insurance System, and 
later WCS, Mr. Crider served in the Air 
Force with decorated tours in Okinawa, 
Thailand and Vietnam. After the service, 
he worked on construction projects in 
Kansas, Oklahoma and Colorado before 
eventually settling in Nevada. 
     “The best part of being an auditor has 
been not just the insurer-TPA visits, but 
getting out and visiting their clients, the 
employers,” said Mr. Crider. “It’s really 
fascinating to see how each one operates 
differently from the others.” 
     Mr. Crider notes that the biggest 
change he saw was the dissolution of SIIS 
and the emergence of hundreds of private 
carriers to fill the opportunities that priva-
tization created. In addition to conducting 
hundreds of audits during his career, he 
also volunteered his expertise as an unoffi-
cial assistant editor for the “Nevada Work-
ers’ Compensation Chronicle” and helped 

answer dozens of 
WCSHelp e-mail 
questions. After he 
retires, he plans on 
working part-time 
and devoting a lot 
more time to fish-
ing.                        * 

(Hot Topic, cont. from page 1) 
decision and order, then you must comply 
timely or face a possible BP.  Requests 
for stays are not necessarily granted. 
Some administrators feel that  applying 
for a stay will keep them from having to 
comply. Not so! Therefore, we suggest 
you don’t wait until after the decision is 
made on the stay to begin compliance. 
Remember you only have 30 days (plus 
mailing time) from the date of the origi-
nal decision and order.    
     So, as we roll into 2009, please, re-
solve to have things in order before the 
last minute arrives. WCS has issued sev-
eral BPs because of late compliance. And 
remember BPs start at $3,000; plus with 
every BP there is a fine.                                             
 

Ken Webb, WCS,  
Southern District Manager                        

S T A T E  O F  N E V A D A  
Holiday Office Closures: 

C h r i s t m a s  D a y  
Thursday, December 25, 2008 

 

N e w  Y e a r ’ s  D a y  
Thursday, January 1, 2009 

 

M a r t i n  L  K i n g  D a y  
Monday, January 19, 2009 

 

P r e s i d e n t ’ s  D a y  
Monday, February 16, 2009 
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