._ @‘“‘

Department of Business & Industry (B&lI)
A Publication of the Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS)

e NEVADA WORKERS’

Division of Industrial Relations (DIR)

Fall Edition (Sept. - Nov.) 2008

This newsletter is not intended to provide legal advice to the reader. Legal opinions or interpretations of statutes and regulations
referenced here should be sought from competent legal professionals.

Insurers Must Administer
Nevada Claims

in State

other requirements.
However, WCS occasionally receives

of open and closed claim file records.

NRS 616B.027 mandates that insurers

There are laws and regulations to ensure that both injured workers and the employ-
ers they work for get the level of service they need from workers’ compensation insur-
ers. Nevada lawmakers have passed statutes that specify basic in-state office require-
ments, claim file maintenance and accessibility, and toll-free telephone service, among

e-mails from insurers wanting to know ex-

actly what they need to do to comply fully with the laws and regulations in force.

To summarize the most important requirements:
workers' compensation claims be administered in Nevada. The law also requires that
the insurer or third-party claims administration company, licensed by the Nevada Di-
vision of Insurance, provide someone in state authorized to act on behalf of the insurer
or TPA. In addition, any checks payable to injured workers should be immediately
negotiable. If an insurer wishes to comply with Nevada statutes regarding this issue,
WCS believes the easiest and most cost efficient method is to hire a TPA.

Here are the applicable laws and regulations that detail these requirements:

Nevada statutes require that

NRS 616B.021 deals with the accessibility; maintenance; inspection and reproduc-
tion of claim files. This statute includes a requirement that an open claim file re-
cord be reproducible within 24 hours during regular business hours for inspection
by the injured employeg, the employer, WCS, or their designated agents. WCS also
has authority to adopt regulations concerning maintenance and electronic storage

provide an office in the State of Nevada

staffed by persons authorized to act on behalf of the insurer. This office must have
a statewide, toll-free telephone number or accept

(Continued on page 3)
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Early Change to Mileage

Rate Made in Mid-Summer

Typically, changes to the State’s mile-
age reimbursement rate are made annu-
ally, usually in January. The unexpected
July 1, 2008, increase to 58.5 cents per
mile was driven by the Internal Revenue
Service’s mid-year reim-
bursement rate hike due to
s rising fuel costs. "Rising

| gas prices are having a ma-

jor impact on individual Americans.
Given the increase in prices, the IRS is
adjusting the standard mileage rates to
better reflect the real cost of operating an
automobile,” said IRS Commissioner
Doug Shulman.

Effective, July 1, 2008, the standard
mileage for transportation incurred for
using a private (Contlnued on page 4)

Special Events In Nevada
Need WC Coverage

Nevada is unique in many ways, some
might even call us special. Certainly, the
state has a wide variety of special events
that are held here yearly. The gamut of
events covers things like Burning Man,
gay rodeos, poker tournaments, desert
racing, weddings, bachelor & bachelorette
parties, divorce parties, political rallies
and conventions that are world famous
(and all the spin off functions such as hos-
pitality suites) etc. You get the idea.

All of these events take a lot of energy
and labor to make happen. It’s the labor
part that WCS is concerned with: conven-
tion services people, vendors, salespeople,
models, bartenders, caterers, security
guards, janitors, limo drivers and other
occupations. Many of these workers are
called independent contractors and their
employers don’t believe they need work-
ers comp coverage for them. WRONG!

It takes a lot of money to put on these
special events, and much of that payroll
money is dispersed as cash. So again,
some less then honorable employers think
that since there is no paper trail they can’t
be considered a worker’s employer.
WRONG AGAIN!

Recently there was a high profile case
involving a special event. The workers
were to be paid in cash, and there was no
workers' compensation (Continued on page 4)

Subsequent Injury Accounts
$aves Employers Money
The Subsequent Injury Accounts en-
courage employers to hire workers with
a permanent physical impairment. The
costs of any qualified subsequent injury
are paid from the appropriate subsequent
injury account. (NRS 616B.557-590) For
~information on the SI Accounts

co tac Jacque Everhart at 702 486-9089
a’@verhart@busmess nv.gov

Terri  Bixler,
a WCS Car-
son City ad-
ministrative
assistant,
tracks down
WC cover-
age for a
recent claim
for compen-
sation.
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CONFUSION
‘L” CORNER

Workers Comp & Drug Testlnq

A question came up during a recent
training session that points to a misun-
derstanding in Nevada’s workers’ com-
pensation community that appears fairly
widespread: How long after an em-
ployee reports an injury must he or she
submit a valid drug test that can be used
in the acceptance or denial of that
claim?

This question seems to be a straight-
forward query about drug testing and
the workers’ comp statutory time line.
What makes the question even more
beguiling is that most stakeholders in
the Nevada workers’ compensation sys-
tem have some familiarity with NRS
616C.230 which covers grounds for
denial, reduction or suspension of com-
pensation; and evidence of and exami-
nation for use of alcohol or controlled
substance.

Among other
616C.230 states:

1. Compensation is not payable pur-
suant to the provisions of chapters
616A to 616D, inclusive, or chapter
617 of NRS for an injury: ... (d)
Proximately caused by the em-
ployee’s use of a controlled sub-
stance. If the employee had any
amount of a controlled substance in
his system at the time of his injury
for which the employee did not have
a current and lawful prescription
issued in his name or that he was not
using in accordance with the provi-
sions of chapter 453A of NRS, the
controlled substance must be pre-
sumed to be a proximate cause
unless rebutted by evidence to the
contrary.

Also, regarding
616.230 states:

2. For the purposes of paragraphs (c)
and (d) of subsection 1:

(a) The affidavit or declaration of
an expert or other person described
in NRS 50.315 is admissible to
prove the existence of any alcohol or
the existence, quantity or identity of
a controlled substance in an em-
ployee’s system. If the affidavit or
declaration is to be so used, it must
be submitted in the manner pre-
scribed in NRS 616C.355.

(b) When an examination requested
or ordered (Continued on page 3)

provisions, NRS

testing NRS

FRAUD WATCH

&Y/ TOLERANCE FOR INSURANCE \/
iy FRAUD ON THE RISE P
A growing roadblock to alleviating fraud could well be our growing tolerance for

all forms of insurance fraud. On some level, most of us realize that any form of insur-

ance fraud costs us something, but as a group we are beginning to minimize the prob-
lem or at least our concerns for the problem.

The annual cost of insurance fraud is estimated to be $80 billion a year. When a
workers’ compensation carrier or self-insured employer pays a fraudulent claim, the
cost of doing business for everyone goes up. We would pay less for insurance if we
reduced the amount of premium fraud committed by employers or if we recovered
into the system the lost premiums not paid by employers that fail to provide workers’
compensation. Shockingly many Americans do not seem to care.

A recent study commissioned by the Coalition Against Insurance Fraud (http://
www.insurancefraud.org/80_billion.htm) highlights our anti-fraud challenges. The
Coalition revisited a study done 10 years ago concerning our tolerance for insurance
fraud. Americans can generally be put into four categories described as the “Four
Faces.”

The group that tolerated fraud the most has grown in the last 10 years (from 20 to
25 percent) while the group that tolerates fraud the least has shrunk (33 to 25 per-
cent). Much of the growing tolerance for fraud could be traced to the growing per-
ception it is no big deal because everyone seems to be doing “it.” For example,
Americans believe 4 in 5 people inflate claims to cover deductibles and 7 in 10 peo-
ple falsify receipts or estimates to increase the payout on a claim.

Ten years ago, 91 percent of the people felt misrepresenting facts on an applica-
tion to lower premiums was fraudulent — 82 percent now believe that is fraud. Many
different forms of fraudulent activities have shown similar increases in our level of
tolerance.

The percentage of people who think it is fraudulent to file a claim for damages
that actually occurred before coverage was obtained is down from 91 to 84 percent.
Those that believe misrepresenting the facts of an incident to be paid for an uncov-
ered loss is fraudulent have dropped from 92 to 84 percent.

Here’s the reality check. This growing trend towards tolerance of fraud is the face
of our jury pool. Our challenge is getting a conviction from a group that seemingly is
becoming more likely to accept “explanations” for fraudulent activity and rationalize
such behavior as being reasonable. This is why everyone within the industry needs to
take seriously our obligation to educate the public that fraud costs all of us, not in the
abstract but in real terms.

Eighty billion dollars flushed away paying for someone else’s fraud. What could
we do with that money? The Coalition puts that figure into perspective: We could
build 293,000 new homes. We could pay for nearly half of all pre- @
scription drugs bought by Americans each year. We could pay
the annual salaries of 2.2 million American workers or pay tui-
tion for more than 15.5 million public university students. Now,
do we really want to look the other way when people line their
own pockets with our money?

As an industry we need to seize every opportunity to stress
the anti-fraud message. In particular we need to ensure our legislators
understand that money spent fighting fraud can have a real and tangible benefit by
reducing the cost of coverage or preventing increases in the amount of premiums all
employers pay, costs which are passed on to consumers. Together we can make a
difference!

Anyone suspecting this type of fraud or any fraud associated with workers’ compen-

sation should contact the Attorney General’s fraud hotline at

1-800-266-8688. Other information about detecting workers’ compensation fraud

is also available on our Web site: http://ag.state.nv.us/org/bcj/wefu/wefu.htm. *
Brian Kunzi, Director, Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit
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Workers’ Comp Basics:

Maximum Compensation, Lodging

Signing the C-4
Pursuant to NRS 616C.020 (3), a claim
for compensation must be on a form pre-
'——————scribed by the Workers’
Compensation  Section
(WCS). This is the Form
C-4: Employee’s Claim
for Compensation/Report
of Initial Treatment.

The top half of the C-
4 must be completed and
signed by the injured employee. How-
ever, there are exceptions to this require-
ment if the employee is incapacitated,
unable to sign the form due to language
problems, etc. In those instances, annota-
tion on the C-4 of the employee’s consent
or signature of a person who is authorized
to act for the employee is required.

The employee’s signature certifies that
the information is true and correct and the
information is being provided in order to
obtain the benefits of the Nevada Indus-
trial Insurance or Occupational Disease
Acts (NRS 616A to 616D, inclusive or
Chapter 617 of the NRS.)

In addition, the employee’s signature
authorizes the medical provider, any
medical facility, or any insurance com-
pany to release to each other, any medical
or other information, including benefits
paid or payable, pertinent to this injury or
disease with the following exception:

The injured employee must give spe-
cific authorization for information
relative to diagnosis, treatment and/or
counseling for AIDS, psychological
conditions, alcohol or controlled sub-
stance. (The C-4 does not qualify as
authorization for these exceptions.)

The treating physician or chiropractor
is required by NRS 616C.040 (1) to sign
the C-4 and submit the completed C-4
form to the correct insurer within 3 work-
ing days after first providing treatment to
an injured employee. However, the filing
duties may be delegated to a medical fa-
cility if both the physician or chiropractor
and an authorized representative of the
medical facility sign the delegation. But
the medical facility must comply with the
same time frames and requirements that
are expected of the treating physician or
chiropractor.

As for signing authority, only a treat-
ing physician or chiropractor from the
Panel of Treating Physicians & Chiro-
practors list may sign the C-4. The medi-
cal facility may not (Continued on page 4)

Form C-4

and Meals Guidelines Posted

The State's Maximum Average Monthly
Wage memo for fiscal year 2009, effective
July 1, 2008, has been posted on the WCS
Web site: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/

maxcomp2009.pdf

The memo is located in the left-hand
column under “Important Changes” - Maxi-
mum Compensation Guidelines — FY09. It
provides an amendment to the computation
of the State's maximum Average Monthly
Wage for workers' compensation purposes.

Still in effect is the Lodging and Meals
Reimbursement Rate memo, effective July
1, 2007, which is also found on the WCS
Web site under "Important Changes.” These
revisions to the State Administrative Manual
are pertinent to NAC 616C.1168 Payment
for Travel Costs and reflect reimbursement
at US General Services Administration per
diem rates.

(Confusion Corner; cont. from page 2)
includes testing for the use of alcohol
or a controlled substance, the laboratory
that conducts the testing must be li-
censed pursuant to the provisions of
Chapter 652 of NRS.

However, despite the presumption of
proximate cause and details verifying the
presence of alcohol or a controlled sub-
stance, there is no explicit drug testing
timeline in Nevada’s workers’ compensa-

tion statutes. Nor is there a legal require-
ment that an injured employee submit a|:

drug test result.

In fact, when it comes to drug testing,
workers’ comp considerations are secon-
dary to personnel policies. In most cases,
the company’s human resource department
needs to have well-understood drug testing
policies and programs already in place
prior to the injury before a worker can be
compelled to submit to a drug test. Ideally,

the worker will have agreed to these poli-|:
cies in writing during the orientation phase |:

of employment.
ments have the latest information on em-
ployer and employee rights regarding drug
testing.

As a reminder, even though there is no
statutory timeline for testing for controlled
substances, per NRS 616C.065 insurers still
have only 30 days after receiving the Form
C-4 to accept a claim, begin payment and
provide required notification or to deny a
claim and provide required notifications. *

Direct comments or suggestions about this
newsletter to: Mike Brooks, Editor, or
Terry Simi, Assistant Editor, in the
Workers’Compensation Section,
Henderson Office (702) 486-9019 or to:
WCShelp@business.nv.gov

Human resource depart-|:

(Nevada Claims, cont. from page 1)
collect calls from injured employees.

NAC 616B.010 requires that copies
of all claim files maintained by an
insurer, third-party administrator or
managed care organization must be
maintained in one of their Nevada
offices. Also all correspondence and
other documents concerning a work-
ers’ compensation claim sent to an
insurer, third-party administrator or
managed care organization must be
addressed to one of their Nevada
offices

NAC 616B.013 requires that with
some exceptions stated in NRS
616B.021 claim files must be kept,
maintained and administered in the
State of Nevada.

Anyone with questions on these re-
quirements should e-mail WCS at
wcshelp@business.nv.gov *

WCS EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Dock Williams, Chair, WCS
Mike Brooks, WCS
Ken Webb, WCS
Christi Mosher, Genex
Suhair Susan Sayegh, Sierra Nv Adm
Nancy Jennings, Sierra Nv Adm

E-mail Notification //M,?

Stay connected to what's new in:
ithe Nevada workers’ compensation
isystem by registering to receive e-i
mail notification of upcoming training
sessions, hearings and other impor-:
tant events.

Simply go to the WCS Web site:
http://.dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/i
wcs.htm, click on the “Update” |con§
‘and fill out the E-mail Enrollmenti

Request Form as a new subscriber
ior to make updates to your current
isubscription.

Southern Nevada
Ph: (702) 486-9140/Fx: (702) 990-0362

Northern/Central Nevada
Ph: (775) 824-4630/Fx: (775) 688-1478

North/Eastern Nevada
Ph: (775) 778-3312/Fx: (775) 778-3412

Web site:www.4safenv.state.nv.us

Safety Consultatlon
Training

Or contact us toll free at:
1(877) 4SAFENV / (877) 472-3368

To register for training classes
< mary.castruita@osha.gov
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GovCha, an Additional
Resource for Injured Workers
Instead of filing a for-
~ mal complaint with DIR/
WCS, injured workers
have the option of getting
free help from the Office
of the Governor Con-
sumer Health Assistance. GovCHA was
created in 1999 to serve as the ombuds-
man, providing a single-point of contact,
to help injured workers understand their
rights and responsibilities under workers’
compensation laws and insurance com-
pany policies, and to advocate for the
injured worker, according to Charles
Quintana, GovCHA Quality Assurance
Specialist —~Workers” Compensation.

In later years, other services were
added to the office including the Bureau
for Hospital Patients, the
RXhelp4ANV.org and the Canadian Phar-
macy prescription drug assistance pro-
grams. GovCHA helps Nevada consum-
ers with information, education and ad-
vocacy, to healthcare covering all aspects
of healthcare from access to care, to hos-
pital/provider billing, quality of care is-
sues, as well as, workers’ compensation.

Mr. Quintana estimated that of the
4,000 help calls GovCHA receives annu-
ally, 23% are for workers’ compensation-
related issues. Some of these can be
quickly resolved by answering a
“process” question while others may re-
quire much more time and assistance
with appeals. Questions related to the
WC process in general, typically range
from injured worker rights and responsi-
bilities, to the appeals process, to identi-
fying the WC insurance carrier. Mr.
Quintana noted that GovCHA also helps
with filing appeals, reporting unreported
injuries, and reporting uninsured employ-
ers to DIR/WCS.

In addition, Mr. Quintana emphasized
that injured workers should report inju-
ries immediately and document the inci-
dent on the C-1 form: Notice of Injury or
Occupational Disease; provide as much
detail on the C-1 and C-4 claim form as
possible; and call GovCHA immediately
with any questions.

The Office of the Governor Consumer
Health Assistance is open Monday
through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m., and may be reached by calling 702-
486-3587 or toll-free at 1-888-333-1597
or, at their Web site: http://
govcha.state.nv.us. *

A Health

Consumer 1y
“:q

(WC Basics, cont. from page 3)

sign the Form C-4. However, an emer-
gency room treating physician does not
have to be on the treating panel, but must
sign the C-4 after first providing treat-
ment to an injured employee. Addition-
ally, in cases where remote services are
provided by a physicians assistant, the
PA may sign the C-4. However, when a
PA signs a C-4, it should be counter-
signed by the attending physician if pos-
sible. In cases where the additional sign-
ing would delay forwarding of the claim,
the form must be annotated with the at-
tending physician’s name and location
information.

The insurer, or third-party administra-
tor (not the employer or physician), is
responsible for determining whether a
claim is truly work-related and com-
pensable. In addition, the insurer/TPA
should verify the circumstances sur-
rounding the presence or lack of an in-
jured employee’s signature. A copy of
the Form C-4 is to be given to the injured
worker, the employer, and the Insurer/
TPA while the treating physician retalns
the original.

Date Notations are Required

Reminder: Per NAC 616C.082, insur-
ers, third-party administrators and man-
aged care organizations must ensure that
all documents relating to industrial injury
or occupational disease claims indicate
the date of receipt. This practice is com-
monly known as “date stamping,” which
make it easier for insurers, TPAs and
MCOs to comply with the second provi-
sion of the regulation that requires all
claims documents to be acted upon

in chronological order, \
as possible.” Note: Faxes with
accurate date stamps satisfy this

requirement. *

(Hot Topic, cont. from page 1)

coverage. Tragically, many workers
were injured with one being paralyzed.
Fortunately, Nevada has the Uninsured
Employers’ Claim Account. The injured
individuals are receiving benefits, but
who pays for these costs? DIR goes
after the employers for any costs in-
volved and assesses the insurance com-
panies an amount to cover anything the
employer can’t pay. From a regulator’s
perspective, how does one efficiently
monitor all of these “special events” in a
wide open state like Nevada? We try to
educate, train and be as high profile as
possible; plus, we will be focusing much
more of our attention on future speC|aI

events.
Ken Webb, WCS,
Southern District Manager

STATE OF NEVADA
Holiday Office Closures:
LABOR DAY
Monday, September 1, 2008
@ NEVADA DAY

Friday, October 31, 2008
VETERAN’S DAY

Tuesday, November 11, 2008
THANKSGIVING
Thursday, November 27, 2008
FAMILY DAY
Friday, November 28, 2008

(Mileage Rate Change, cont. from page 1)
vehicle while traveling on official State
of Nevada business was increased from
50.5 cents per mile to 58.5 cents per
mile. These official rates are important
for workers’ compensation purposes be-
cause per NAC 616C.150: Under appro-
priate conditions, reimbursement for the
cost of transportation for an injured em-
ployee must be computed at a rate equal
to the mileage allowance for State em-
ployees.

The official memo announcing this
change is on the WCS Web site: http://
dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/mileage.pdf *

WCS Mission Statement
The purpose of the Workers” Compensation
Section (WCS) is to impartially serve the
interests of Nevada employers and employ-
ees by providing assistance, information,
and a fair and consistent regulatory struc-
ture focused on:
&Ensuring the timely and accurate delivery
of workers' compensation benefits.
&Ensuring employer compliance with the
mandatory coverage provisions.

HOW TO CONTACT WCS

Department of Business and Industry (DBI)
Division of Industrial Relations (DIR)
Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS)

HENDERSON
1301 North Green Valley Pkwy, Ste. 200
Henderson, Nevada 89074
Ph: (702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364

CARSON CITY
400 West King Street, Ste. 400
Carson City, Nevada 89703
Ph: (775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305

http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm

WCShelp@business.nv.gov




