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A Publication of the Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS)

This newsletter is not intended to provide legal advice to the reader. Legal opinions or interpretations of statutes and regulations referenced should be sought from legal professionals.

Fall Edition (Sept. — Nov 2011)

Nevada Workers’
Educational

Compensation
Conference

makes his point to fellow panelists, Mercer Berens (m), Department of Administra-
tion Hearing Officer, and Erica Tosh (r), an attorney with Workers” Comp Lawyers of
Nevada. Their panel, "Workers’ Comp Supreme Court Cases," kicked off the first-
ever Nevada Workers’ Compensation Educational Conference which was held at the
Rio Hotel, August 11-12, in Las Vegas. This year's conference was presented by DIR/
WCS in cooperation with the non-profit International Workers Compensation Foun-
dation. Roughly 300 workers' comp stakeholders attended a dozen panel sessions
covering a variety of legal, medical and regulatory workers’ compensation topics. *

Second Annual Educational Conference is on for

2012—click here for important one-question survey

| Maximum Compensation Guidelines Posted |

The State's Maximum Average Monthly Wage memo for fiscal year 2012, effec-
tive July 1, 2011, has been posted on the WCS website. The FY 2012 maximum
monthly disability compensation is $3,434.38, a slight decrease from last year’s fig-
ure. http://dirweb.state.nv.us/MWCS/maxcomp.pdf

The memo is located in the left-hand column under “Important Changes” - Maxi-
mum Compensation Guidelines - FY12. It provides an amendment to the computa-
tion of the state's maximum Average Monthly Wage for workers' compensation pur-
poses.

(Photo by Abe Geller) Michael Ryan (N, an attorney with Black and LoBeIIowﬁ

WCSHelp Address
Officially Back in Business

Since December 2008, visitors to the
WCS main Web page might have noticed
that when they clicked on the animated
envelope to send a WCSHelp question,
they were sending it directly to my e-mail
box (mbrooks). This change was made
because a switch to a new server pre-
vented using Microsoft Outlook to alter-
nate access to multiple e-mail accounts.
After working out a Web mail system
with my education counterpart in Carson
City, Dock Williams, the good news is
that the old WCSHelp@business.nv.gov is
once again the e-mail address-link pro-
vided on our main page and on our written
material as the first step in sending your
Nevada workers’ comp questions to WCS.

The not-so-good news is that the
WCSHelp address was supposed to be
disabled and divert all e-mails directly to
my e-mail in-box. That did not happen in
all cases. So | was dismayed to discover
recently a couple dozen unanswered e-
mails from injured workers and other
stakeholders over the past 18 months or
so. | have answered all queries sent to
WCSHelp this year, and | apologize for
this mix up.

This IT glitch presents a good opportu-
nity to examine what you can expect when
you send Dock or me WCSHelp e-mail. If
you do not receive a response within 48
hours (though I strive for a 24-hour turn-
around), send me a “Hey, what’s going
on?” follow-up e-mail directly to
mbrooks@business.nv.gov and note the
date and time of your (Continued on page 3)

Mileage Reimbursement Change for 2011

Jprivate vehicle for official state business increased from 51 cents per mile to 55.5
. cents per mile. Per NAC 616C.150: Under appropriate condi-
‘ tions, reimbursement for the cost of transportation for an in-

’ | jured employee must be computed at a rate equal to the mile-
age allowance for state employees. To minimize any under-
payments of mileage reimbursements, all adjusters should
~ note this change. http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/mileage.pdf *

Effective July 1, 2011, standard mileage for transportation incurred while using a |
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ONFUSION,

Claim Reopening Rights
Often Misunderstood

Nevada is one of the few states that
allows lifetime reopening of a closed
workers’ compensation claim. Not
surprisingly, of the dozens of WCS
Help questions e-mailed to us monthly,
without fail, a handful will ask about
claim reopening. The Nevada Attorney
for Injured Workers website has a
helpful claim reopening primer which
is abridged as follows:

To reopen your claim, you need
to submit a written request to the
insurer or self-insured employer
asking that your claim be reopened
for medical treatment. It is best to
include your name, social security
number, date of injury, employer at
the time of injury, and your current
address and phone number. If you
can include the number of the claim
to be reopened, that will help expe-
dite the process.

A claim may be reopened if it
meets certain requirements. It is
your burden to provide the neces-
sary medical evidence which justi-
fies having the claim reopened for
further treatment. So, to show that
your claim should be reopened, you
must provide medical evidence
showing that: 1) the primary cause
of the change in your condition is
the original work injury; 2) as
shown by objective medical evi-
dence; your condition has changed
since your claim was closed and 3)
you need further treatment to help
improve your condition.

Therefore, you should enclose,
with your request, a letter from
your doctor containing the follow-
ing information:

a. Your condition has changed
since claim closure.

b. You need treatment.

c. A description of the treat-
ment.

d. That there is a direct relation-
ship between your worsened condi-
tion at the time you ask for reopen-
ing and your original injury.

e. Your work injury is the pri-
mary cause for your need to reopen
your claim.

. FRAUD WATCH

__:;'}'IPremium Fraud: Now Clearly Definedk-:_."

S enate Bill 58 that was passed during the 76" (2011) Nevada legislative session and
signed by Gov. Brian Sandoval takes effect on October 1, 2011. This bill amends
NRS 616D. and provides for the punishment of an employer who knowingly misrepre-
sents or conceals a material fact relating to a person’s eligibility for industrial in-
surance benefits (“employer who knowingly makes ...”); granting certain immunities
to persons who disclose information relating to such an employer; directs the Adminis-
trator of the Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry
(DIR) and the Fraud Control Unit for Industrial Insurance of the Office of the Attorney
General (WCFU) to establish procedures concerning the reporting, notification of prose-
cution and sharing of information regarding such an employer; authorizing the Attorney
General to prosecute criminal and civil actions relating to such an employer; providing
that certain books, records and payrolls must be open to inspection under certain cir-
cumstances; providing that such an employer is liable for certain costs of investigation
and prosecution; requiring a provider of healthcare to make certain healthcare records
available for inspection during the investigation of such an employer; making various
other changes relating to an employer who knowingly makes a false statement or mis-
representation or concealment of material fact regarding the eligibility of a person
claiming industrial insurance benefits and providing penalties.

That's a mouthful, so what does it mean?

Section 1 makes it a misdemeanor for an employer to knowingly make ... if the
amount is less than $250. If the amount of benefits obtained or attempted to be obtained
is greater than $250, it is a category D felony. In the old law, it was a gross misde-
meanor, with no distinction in the amount of benefit obtained or attempted.

Section 2 provides immunities to persons who, without malice, disclose information
relating to an employer who knowingly makes .... In the old law immunities for such
individuals were more limited.

Section 3 was amended to add, “As they relate to the amount of payroll upon which
a premium is based.”

Section 4 amends to include employers that knowingly make ... among the other
previously listed violations that information is to be shared between DIR and WCFU.

Section 5 this amendment adds to existing violations employers that knowingly
make ... holding employers liable for certain cost of investigation and prosecution of a
person who committed any of the listed violations.

Section 6 includes employers that knowingly make ... to the existing list of viola-
tions that WCFU can require to provide books, records and payrolls of an employer per-
tinent to the investigation to be open to inspection by an investigator for the Attorney
General to enable WCFU to investigate and prosecute such violations.

Section 7 and 8 amendments include employers that knowingly make ... to the
existing sections making ... as unprofessional conduct or grounds for disciplinaryw

or denial, suspension or revocation of certain (Continued on page 3)

f. Any specified time period you are
not to work at your job (the one you
were injured doing or the one you were
retrained to do).

You must pay the cost of the original
medical examination to substantiate the
reopening of your claim. If the claim is
accepted, you may be reimbursed for the
medical exam.

You should receive a response within
30 days from the date your request and
the doctor's report are received. These

documents are reviewed by the insurer.
You will be notified in writing after a
determination is made as to whether
your application for reopening is ap-
proved or disapproved.

If the reopening is approved, your
claim will be opened retroactive to the
date your application for reopening was
received. However, you may be allowed
the cost of emergency treatment, prior to
your application date, if there is suffi-
cient evidence to (Continued on page 4)
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(WCSHelp, cont. from page 1)
original e-mail or call my direct line at
702-486-9102 and ask about
your inquiry. | can under-
stand that most e-mailers
prefer to put their query in
writing for accuracy and con-
venience; | prefer to respond that way too
— as I’ll often send along information
attachments. Even if you call, I’'ll still
send you an answer in writing.

Either way, your queries deserve a
quick and comprehensive response. One
WCSHelp writer expressed understand-
able frustration with getting no response
and chalked it up to government indiffer-
ence. | cannot speak for the entire State
work force, but the WCS Education Unit
takes its public service obligations very
seriously and asks stakeholders to let us
know if any technological hurdles are
getting in the way of their getting the in-
formation they need.

Micbaed J. Brooks

Manager, Education,
Analysis Unit

Research and

Direct comments or suggestions about
this newsletter to: Mike Brooks, Editor,
or Terry Simi, Assistant Editor, (702)
486-9019 or: mbrooks@business.nv.gov

Subsequent Injury Account
Saves Employers Money

“_

ey N The Subsequent Injury Ac-
==~ —counts encourage employers to
hire workers with a permanent physical
impairment. The costs of any qualified
subsequent injury are paid from the ap-
propriate subsequent injury account
NRS 616B.557-590. For more informa-
tion contact Jacque Everhart at 702 486-
9089 or everhart@business.nv.gov

(Fraud Watch, cont. from page 2)
professional licenses, certificates,
registrations or permits by certain profes-
sional licensing boards.

Section 9 includes employers that
knowingly make ... to the existing list of
violations that WCFU can require of per-
sons to furnish information which would
assist in those prosecutions.

Sections 10 -25 includes employers
that knowingly make ... to the existing
list of violations.

In conclusion, the definition employers
that knowingly make ... has been added
to all of the existing applicable NRS, in so
doing the Legislature has more clearly
defined premium fraud and given DIR and
WCFU the ability to more fully prosecute
premium fraud.

Anyone suspecting this type of fraud or
any fraud associated with workers’ com-
pensation should contact the Attorney

General’s fraud hotline at 1-800-266-8688.

Other information about detecting work-
ers’ compensation fraud is also available
on our Website: http://ag.state.nv.us/org/
bcj/spd/wcfu/wefu.html

Russell Smith, Director, Workers’
Compensation Fraud Unit
: Holiday Office Closures:

Labor Day
Monday, September 5, 2011

Nevada Da
Friday, October 28, 2011

Veterans Day
Friday, Nov. 11, 2011

Thanksgiving
Thursday, November 24, 2011

Family Day
:Friday, November 25, 2011

Fall 201 1 TRAINING SESSIONS
The WCS Orientation is a comprehensive overview of workers’ com- |
pensation in Nevada. Specified Forums offer specified advanced topics. |
All training sessions are free and open to the public.

SOUTHERN NEVADA
Division of Industrial Relations
1301 North Green Valley Pkwy.,
Ste. 200, Henderson, NV 89074
WCS Orientation
Thursday, October 13, 2011
WCS Specified Forum
Legislative Changes
September 14 & 15, 2011
Employee
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
For reservations, please contact:
X

t5|m|@busmess nv. gO

NORTHERN NEVADA
The Carson City / Reno sessions are
tentatively scheduled at Western Nevada
Community College in Carson City.

WCS Orientation
Thursday, November 10, 2011

WCS Specified Forum
Legislative Overview
September 15, 2011

For reservations, please contact:

B

tmllls@busmess nv.gov

ST

I IHaiIs, Farewells
& Promotions

Good news. This time, there are no
farewells to report. And we welcome new
staff in Carson City and Henderson.

Jana Hermann recently joined WCS
as the new Uninsured Claims Coordina-
tor. Jana’s career in the
workers’ compensation
industry began in 1979
when she was first em- | ¥
ployed by the State of
Nevada Industrial Com- ’ !
mission. Jana has
worked for both insur- é
ers and TPAs; there- & - m
fore, she brings a lot of -
diversity to WCS. She has extensive
knowledge with the applicable laws and
regulations, which will be an added bonus
to our agency.

Katherine Godwin, RN, BSN joined
WCS as the workers’ comp nurse heading
the Medical Unit in Henderson. She has

1lived in the Las Ve-

‘1gas area since De-

'cember 1993 and is

new to working for

the State of Nevada

but has worked in

workers’ compensa-

tion in both Colorado

and Nevada. In addi-

tion to workers’ compensation, Katherine

has been involved with Medicare, Medi-

caid and private insurers. She has worked

in various capacities both as a staff nurse

and supervisor/manager. She has experi-

ence in utilization review, peer review,

case management, and rehabilita-

tion. Katherine enjoys an environment

with diverse challenges including a myr-

iad of opportunities for continued learn-

ing. She also enjoys outdoor activities

whenever possible. She loves the moun-

tains as well as the beach and swims regu-

larly. She is an avid reader and animal

lover and can often be seen at local

schools cheering on her children in volley-

ball and swimming. (Continued on page 4)

WCS Mission Statement

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensa-

tion Section (WCS) is to impartially serve

the interests of Nevada employers and em-

ployees by providing assistance, informa-

tion, and a fair and consistent regulatory
structure focused on:

Ensuring the timely and accurate deliv-
“ery of workers' compensation benefits.
'Ensuring employer compliance with
“the mandatory coverage provisions.



http://ag.state.nv.us/org/bcj/spd/wcfu/wcfu.html
mailto:mbrooks@business.nv.gov
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616B.html
mailto:everhart@business.nv.gov
mailto:tsimi@business.nv.gov
mailto:tmills@business.nv.gov
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REPORTING REMINDER

elnsurer Information Form:
Insurers and TPAs must notify
WCS of any changes such as name, ad-
dress, phone and fax numbers. Insurers
must also notify us of TPA changes. In-
surers should use this form to keep this
important information current with WCS.
ePermanent Total (PT) Disability Claim
Reports (NRS 616C.453) The 2011 Form
and Instructions were distributed via e-
mail in July and were due to WCS on
AUGUST 8, 2011.

eThird-Party Administrator (TPA)
Claims Handled Data forms have been
sent to TPAs by certified mail—responses
due by September 30.

*FY11 Workers’ Compensation Claims
Activity Report forms and instructions
will be sent in late September/early Octo-
ber. Insurers will have 45 days to com-
plete the report from the date we distrib-
ute the forms and instructions via e-mail.
*(OD-8) Occupational Disease Claim
Report(s) (NRS 617.357) is an ongoing
reporting requirement. Certain occupa-
tional diseases of the heart, lungs, dis-
eases that are infectious or relate to can-
cer are required to be reported as outlined
in NRS 617.357.

*Proof of Coverage (POC): Private carri-
ers must also report information to NCCI
within 15 days of the effective date of the
issuance, renewal, cancellation, nonre-
newal, reinstatement or reissuance of a
policy of workers’ compensation insur-
ance.

Information on reporting requirements and
forms can be found on our Web site at
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wes/wes.htm  un-
der “Insurer Information” or you can con-
tact the WCS Research and Analysis un|t
at (702) 486-9080.

WCS EDUCATION COMMITEE
Mike Brooks, Chair, WCS

Suhair (Susan) Sayegh, WCS

Dock Williams, WCS p
Christi Mosher, Genex
Kelly Spina, Employers s
Gary Watson, NAIW 3y
Cindi Rivera, Certified Vocatlonal Srvc.
Yvette Bouldin, York Claims Service

HOW TO CONTACT WCS
Department of Business and Industry
Division of Industrial Relations
Workers” Compensation Section
SOUTHERN NEVADA
(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364
NORTHERN NEVADA
(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm
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EumBE“- (Claim Reopening, cont. from page 2)

(Hails & Promotions, cont. from page 3)

Jim Estrada recently earned a promo-
tion from being a compliance auditor to
heading the insurer-
TPA compliance unit
in Henderson. Before
coming to DIR/WCS
in June 2009, he
worked in the Nevada
Department of Em- )\
ployment, Training
and Rehabilitation as A
an unemployment
claims examiner. Prior to that he had more
than 10 years of experience in the workers’
compensation field in California, as a
claims examiner, field investigator, hearing
representative and self-employed private
investigator. Jim enjoys the abundance of
hiking and outdoor activities that southern
Nevada offers. He is also an active propo-
nent of animal rights.

Tricia Barchus joined the Carson City,
DIR/WCS Office in July as a Management
Analyst I, taking over for Jacque Steele who
retired from the Carson City Fines and Pen-
alties Coordinator position in May. Tricia
was formerly with the Nevada Division of
Insurance, where she spent 11 years in the
Producer Licensing Section and two years
in the Corporate & Financial Affairs Sec-
tion. She spends the majority of her free
time chauffeuring two teenagers, birding or
* |making jewelry.

substantiate that the treatment was nec-
essary and done on an emergency basis.
Otherwise, costs of treatment between
claim closure and reopening are not re-
imbursed, not paid.

You and your employer will be noti-
fied of the right to appeal the decision
regarding the approval or disapproval of
your reopening request. If your reopen-
ing request is denied, you immediately
appeal that determination to the hearing
officer. You are given 70 days; however
do not wait until the last few days to
appeal.

Please note the following exceptions:

If you are trying to reopen your claim
within one year of claim closure, you
need to show the above points by clear
and convincing evidence.

If you did not receive a permanent
partial disability award or were not off
work due to your original injury, you
must request reopening within a year of
claim closure.

If you have voluntarily removed
yourself from the workforce before you
reopened your claim, you are not enti-
tled to temporary total disability com-
pensation or vocational rehabilitation
services.

For more information, use the NAIW

\Web link: http://naiw.nv. qov/Reopemnq/
index.html

FORM E@US: D-16, D-17 & D-18

WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

Options for Uninsured Employees

Nevada law ensures that all Nevada employees who are eligible for workers’ com-
pensation coverage and benefits per NRS 616 & 617 receive such protection, regardless
of employer compliance or non-compliance with coverage requirements.

A situation involving the injured worker of an uninsured employer presents that in-
jured worker with choices his covered counterpart does not have. Form D-16, D-17 and
D-18 present and document the available options and decisions made by the injured
employee.

Form D-16, Notice of Election for Compensation under the Uninsured Employer
Statutes, offers two options; the first of which involves the other two forms:

Option 1: File an uninsured employer claim using the D-17 form and, in addition,
complete the D-18, Assignment to Division for Workers” Compensation Benefits —
this form is an additional signed acknowledgment of the accident or occupational dis-
ease contraction; attests that the employer did not provide workers’ compensation
coverage to the employee on the date of injury; specifies election to receive compen-
sation from the Uninsured Employers’ Claim Account; assigns subrogation rights to
the Division per NRS 616C.215 and also signs over litigation and collection rights to
the Division as well.

Option 2: This option notifies the injured employee of the right to arrange for the em-
ployer to pay for benefits arising from the injury or occupational disease. This option
acknowledges that there will be no Division involvement or other claim administrator
involvement and, finally, the injured employee assumes sole responsibility for han-
dling his or her medical costs and compensation benefits.
The D-16 also alerts the injured worker to the right to take legal action against the unin-
sured employer. However, once an injured worker selects option #2, that worker makes
an irrevocable selection which cannot be changed at a later time! *



http://naiw.nv.gov/Reopening/index.html
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcs.htm
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/FORMS/d-16.pdf
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/d-17.pdf
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/d-18.pdf
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcs.htm
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

