
T H E  C O M I N G  A N D  G O I N G  R U L E  
      A question addressed periodically in this newsletter is “What about coming and 
going” in workers’ comp law? Nevada’s workers’ compensation statutes state that if 
an employee who is acting in the course and scope of his or her employment is injured 
that worker is entitled to compensation. Most injuries occur on a specific job site or at 
the business’ location. However, the accidents that occur in other places raise thorny 
coverage questions.  A few years ago, the Nevada Supreme Court elaborated on Com-
ing and Going, especially as related to “special errands” in the case of Bob Allyn Ma-
sonry v. Murphy. 

Basics of  Coming and Going 
      In most cases, if you commute to work and you make it to the company’s parking 
lot, your coverage begins then. Likewise when you leave work, you are covered until 
you leave the lot. Here are some examples of the basic coming and going rule in work-
ers’ compensation: 
     If your boss sends you on an errand such as going to the bank or the office supply 
store, then you are covered the entire time you are gone unless you deviate from that 
errand and take care of some personal business, such as picking up your dry cleaning 
or stopping by the grocery store. These are questionable deviations. 
     If a salesman in a company car is visiting clients and he’s           (continued on page 3)   

M i l e a g e  R e i m b u r s e m e n t  C h a n g e  f o r  2 0 1 1  
Effective January 1, 2011, standard mileage for transportation incurred while using 

a private vehicle for official state business increased from 50 cents per 
mile to 51 cents per mile. Per NAC 616C.150: Under appropriate  
conditions, reimbursement for the cost of transportation for an injured 
employee must be computed at a rate equal to the mileage allowance 

for state employees. To minimize any underpayments of mileage reimbursements,    
all adjusters should note this change.  http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/mileage.pdf        *                                                                                     

W H Y  D O  M Y  F A M I L Y  M E M B E R S  
N E E D  W O R K E R S ’  C O M P ?  PPD Recalculation Explained 

 

     March 2011 marks one year since I 
joined the DIR team as the Southern Dis-
trict Manager. Big thanks 
go to the experienced, 
professional DIR staff 
who have made my tran-
sition so smooth and 
have worked with me to 
improve the way we do 
audits, enforce coverage compliance, store 
information and carry-out our regulatory 
duties. Also, regulated stakeholders have 
been very helpful in increasing our public 
outreach and on-site training. In fact, an 
issue that has surfaced in office visits and 
WCSHelp e-mails is confusion about Per-
manent-Partial Disability present-day value 
recalculation. 
     When making a PPD award offer, the 
third-party administrator or insurer must be 
aware that the date the injured employee 
elects the award is the effective date of the 
award calculation.  The determining fac-
tors for the calculation of an award in a 
lump sum are the year and month of the 
injured employee’s birth date and the year 
and month they elected the award in a 
lump sum.  Pursuant to NRS 616C.495 (5), 
payment of a lump sum must be equal to 
the present value of the compensation 
awarded, less any advance payment or 
lump sum previously paid. Therefore, once 
the injured employee elects the award in a 
lump sum, the award calculations must be 
brought current through the end of the 
month prior to the date of the election.                        
     In cases where     (continued on page 3) 
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Nevada. 
• Employment covered by private dis-

ability and death benefit plans which 
comprehend compensation payments 
of equal or greater amounts than those 
provided in NRS 616 and which have 
been in effect for one year prior to 
July 1, 1947; 

•  Employees who are brought into Ne-
vada on a temporary basis and who are 
insured in another state if extraterrito-
rial coverage provisions are in effect 
with the other state. (NRS 616B.600) 

• Casual employment (employment last-
ing not more than 20 days and having 
a total labor cost of less than $500) is 
exempt if employment is not in the 
course of trade, business, profession or 
occupation of the employer. 

     Construction trade employers are 
always required       (continued on page 4)  

     A common question WCS receives 
comes in many forms but is basically 
“Does an employer have to provide 
workers’ compensation coverage for fam-
ily members working at his business as 
employees?” A short recap of informa-
tion found in the Nevada Employer’s 
Guide to Workers’ Compensation can be 
found at: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/
Brochures/employer.pdf 
     Employers who have one or more em-
ployees must provide workers’ compen-
sation insurance coverage, unless ex-
cluded by law. Some employees are ex-
cluded by NRS 616A.110 due to unique 
criteria. Employment exempt from work-
ers’ compensation insurance coverage 
requirements includes: 
• Employment related to those interstate 

commerce entities that are not subject 
to the legislative power of the State of 
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C O N F U S I O N  
C O R N E R  

W o r k e r s ’  C o m p  &   
D r u g  T e s t i n g  

     A question came up at a recent 
training session suggesting a misunder-
standing in the Nevada Workers’ Com-
pensation community that appears to be 
fairly widespread: “How long after an 
employee reports an injury must he or 
she submit a valid drug test that can be 
used in the acceptance or denial of that 
claim?” 
     This question seems to be a straight-
forward query about drug testing and 
the workers’ comp statutory timeline. 
What makes the question even more 
beguiling is that most stakeholders in 
the Nevada Workers’ Compensation 
System have some familiarity with 
NRS 616C.230 which covers grounds 
for denial, reduction or suspension of 
compensation; and evidence of and 
examination for use of alcohol or con-
trolled substance. 
      Among other provisions, NRS 
616C.230 states:  

1.  Compensation is not 
payable pursuant to the provisions 
of chapters 616A to 616D, inclu-
sive, or chapter 617 of NRS for an 
injury: … 
      (d) Proximately caused by the 
employee’s use of a controlled sub-
stance. If the employee had any 
amount of a controlled substance in 
his system at the time of his injury 
for which the employee did not 
have a current and lawful prescrip-
tion issued in his name or that he 
was not using in accordance with 
the provisions of chapter 453A of 
NRS, the controlled substance must 
be presumed to be a proximate 
cause unless rebutted by evidence 
to the contrary. 

     Also, regarding testing NRS 
616C.230 states: 

2.  For the purposes of paragraphs 
(c) and (d) of subsection 1: 
      (a) The affidavit or declaration 
of an expert or other person de-
scribed in NRS 50.315 is admissi-
ble to prove the existence of any 
alcohol or the existence, quantity or 
identity of a controlled substance in 
an employee’s system. If the affida-
vit or declaration is to  be so used, it 
must be submitted in the manner  
prescribed in NRS 616C.355. 

N e v a d a  A t t o r n e y   
f o r  I n j u r e d  Wo r k e r s  

M e a s u r i n g  S u c c e s s  
E very agency of state government measures its efforts at performing its core functions.  

According to the statutes (616A.435) creating the office of the Nevada Attorney for 
Injured Workers (NAIW), the agency was created to represent injured 
workers without charge and upon appointment by the Appeals Officers 
of the Hearings Division. In addition, the statues provide for NAIW to 
give advice to the public regarding the rights of injured workers and the 
procedures for enforcing those rights. Thus, the agency has two core 
functions: representing injured workers with compensation claims and 
providing information to the public about the process. The agency meas-
ures its success in performing these core functions by constantly reviewing many statis-
tics.   
     The staff at NAIW handled over 4,700 inquiries for information from the public in the 
six month period between July 2010 and December 2010. Our legal research assistants 
manning the phones take calls eight hours a day, five days a week, in Spanish and Eng-
lish, and pride themselves on getting nearly all of the calls returned and answered the 
same day they are received. They are intimately familiar with procedures in the workers’ 
compensation arena and follow up most calls by mailing the caller printed material for 
future use. These assistants also maintain the agency’s website which receives approxi-
mately 1,300 visitors each month, on average.  
     The office of NAIW opened 755 new cases in the six month period from July through 
December. This number includes cases appointed by the Appeals Officers in Carson City 
and Las Vegas and it also includes cases opened by the agency in the state district courts 
and in the Nevada Supreme Court. The caseload is spread among six lawyers in Carson 
City and eight lawyers in Las Vegas, and is in addition to the open cases each lawyer car-
ried from before July of 2010.   
     The initial proceedings in the Hearings Division occur before the Hearings Officer. 
These are generally informal proceedings and the injured worker frequently does not have 
an attorney present. However, the Appeals Officer level is more formal. Quite often ex-
pert medical evidence is presented and the record created in those hearings becomes the 
record on appeal. Many injured workers retain private attorneys to represent them before 
the Appeals Officers. However, for those claimants who wish to be represented but do not 
retain private counsel, the Appeals Officer can appoint an attorney from NAIW. In the 
six-month period recently studied, the fourteen lawyers in the agency received appoint-
ment of more than 30% of the cases filed with the Appeals Officers in Las Vegas and 
more than 40% of the cases filed with the Appeals Officers in Carson City. This is a sub-
stantial percentage of the cases at the Appeals Officer level given the total number of pri-
vate attorneys available for claimants.  
     Looking at the raw number of cases opened or the percentage of the Appeals Officers’ 
cases assigned to NAIW does not, however, tell the complete story. The value of the ser-
vices provided must also be considered. One way to measure that service is the cost the 
clients saved by using NAIW attorneys as opposed to retaining private counsel. Although 
we do not charge for our services, we do keep track of the hours we spend on each case. If 
a client were to retain an attorney for handling a workers’ (continued on page 3)  

      (b) When an examination requested 
or ordered includes testing for the use 
of alcohol or a controlled substance, the 
laboratory that conducts the testing 
must be licensed pursuant to the provi-
sions of chapter 652 of NRS.  

     However, despite the presumption of 
proximate cause and details verifying the 
presence of alcohol or a controlled sub-
stance, there is no explicit drug testing 
timeline in Nevada’s workers’ compensa-
tion statutes. Nor is there a legal require-

ment that an injured employee submit a 
drug test result. 
     In fact, when it comes to drug testing, 
workers’ comp considerations are secon-
dary to personnel policies. In most cases, 
the company’s human resources depart-
ment needs to have well-understood drug 
testing policies and programs already in 
place prior to the injury before a worker 
can be compelled to submit to a drug test. 
Ideally, the worker will have agreed to 
these policies in (continued on page 3) 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616A�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616D.html#NRS616D�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-617.html#NRS617�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-453A.html#NRS453A�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-050.html#NRS050Sec315�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec355�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-652.html#NRS652�


(Coming & Going, cont. from page 1) 
involved in a car accident during the day, 
no question, he’s covered. But if he’s al-
lowed to take the car home at 
night and on weekends, then 
is he covered if the accident 
occurs while he is going to 
the local 7-Eleven to get a 
Slurpee? Probably not! But what if that    
7-Eleven is also a client of his? Then he 
might also be covered.  
     A third scenario might be if an em-
ployee takes the company’s banking with 
her when she goes home at night and is 
also doing personal banking when the ac-
cident occurs. She is probably covered 
because the employer had knowledge that 
the errand was being done as a “special 
errand.” 
      What about the employee who is sent 
out of state for a short time? Is he covered     
24-hours a day? Many insurers would 
probably deny these claims if they oc-
curred outside of normal work hours. The 
burden of proof would be on the injured 
worker to show he was acting within the 
course and scope of his employment. 

Nevada Supreme Court  on  
‘Special  Errands’  

     The Court’s 2008 ruling includes the 
following discussion:  “… It is well estab-
lished that employers are not liable for inju-
ries sustained by employees due to the haz-
ards of daily living. Accordingly, when 
determining whether an injury that is sus-
tained outside of the actual period of em-
ployment or off of the employer’s premises 
nonetheless arose in the course of employ-
ment, we consider ‘whether the employee 
[was] in the employer’s control.’ To ensure 
that employers are not held liable for inju-
ries sustained when an employee is outside 
of the employer’s control, this court has 
adopted the going and coming rule, which 
originated in tort law and ‘preclude[s] com-
pensation for most employee injuries that 
occur during travel to or from work.’”   
     The Court further contends that “…
Under the special errand exception, injuries 
that are normally exempted from coverage 
on the ground that they did not arise in the 
course of employment are brought within 
the scope of coverage if they occur while 
the employee is in transit to or from the 
performance of an errand outside the em-
ployee’s normal job responsibilities.”  
     In addition: “ … we [the Court] now 
clarify that just as injuries sustained while 
traveling to perform a special errand arise 
in the course of employment, so too do in-
juries sustained when returning from the 
performance of the         (continued on page 4)   
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TPAs Delay Claims Waiting For C-3s 
NRS 616C.045 describes in detail an em-
ployer’s requirement to file an employer’s 
report of industrial injury or occupational 
disease on a form prescribed by the Ad-
ministrator. That form is the C-3 – this 
basic fact is well-known. However, it’s 
come to the attention of the DIR/WCS 
staff that some insurers and third-party 
administrators are delaying action on 
claims while awaiting receipt of a C-3 
form. This practice is not supported by any 
statute or regulation and, in fact, contra-
venes the intent of NRS 616C.065 which 
lists an insurer’s duties and a 30-day dead-
line upon receipt of a C-4 claim form. De-
lays caused awaiting C-3s will not be con-
sidered reasonable and as such a late in-
surer or TPA is liable for a benefit penalty 
three times the original payment due.       * 

(NAIW, cont. from page 2) 
compensation claim, the client might ex-
pect to pay $200 per hour for the attor-
ney’s time. Given the total number of 
hours NAIW attorneys spend on their 
cases each year, the value of that service 
when measured at $200 each hour can 
exceed $3 million.   
     Another way to measure the success of 
the agency is to look at the value of the 
award received by the client at the con-
clusion of the case. Depending on the 
nature of the case, the client may get a 
small medical bill paid, or get an opera-
tion costing thousands of dollars, or get a 
large settlement for a lifetime disability, 
or receive substantial benefits as the sur-
viving spouse of a deceased worker. Over 
the course of a year, the value of these 
“wins” can be calculated in the millions.     
     Statistics also track how quickly the 
cases resolve, how many continuances 
are requested, how many cases settle 
without going to hearing, and how many 
cases each attorney is carrying.  Statistics, 
though, do not tell the whole story. Most 
important in measuring the success of 
NAIW is the satisfaction of our clients. 
Our clients come to us in very real need 
of help. For many they are physically 
injured and for the first time they are at 
odds with their employer. Getting each 
client all the benefits to which they are 
entitled promptly and with as little stress 
as possible is true measure of success for 
each of NAIW’s 31 employees.  
Evan Beavers,  
Nevada Attorney for Injured Workers  
http://naiw.nv.gov/  

(Hot Topic, cont. from page 1) 
there is no response to the PPD award offer 
or the injured employee appeals the offer, 
and the TPA or insurer elects to initiate 
forced PPD installment payments, then at a 
later date the employee elects the award in 
a lump sum, the award must be re-
calculated to the present day value by us-
ing the end of the month prior to the lump 
sum election.   
     Also, in cases where the injured em-
ployee initially elects the award in install-
ment payments and then years later decides 
to take the remainder of the balance in a 
lump sum, the award must be re-calculated 
to the present value using the end of the 
month prior to the date of the election as 
the catalyst for the calculation. The previ-
ous amount of the award that has already 
been paid must be deducted from the new 
amount and the injured employee is paid 
the difference.   
     Those with questions on this topic or 
any other regulatory matter are welcome to 
contact me directly at 702-486-9105; or    
e-mail ssayegh@business.nv.gov 
Suhair Susan Sayegh,  
WCS, Southern District Manager 

(Confusion Corner, cont. from page 2) 
writing during the orientation phase of 
employment.  Human resources depart-
ments have the latest information on em-
ployer and employee rights regarding drug 
testing. 
     As a reminder, even though there is no 
statutory timeline for testing for controlled 
substances, per NRS 616C.065 insurers 
still have only 30 days after receiving the 
C-4 Form to accept a claim, begin pay-
ment and provide required notification or 
deny a claim and provide required notifi-
cations.                                                    * 

W C S   M i s s i o n   S t a t e m e n t  
The purpose of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Section (WCS) is to impartially serve 
the interests of Nevada employers and em-
ployees by providing assistance,    infor-
mation, and a fair and consistent regulatory 
structure focused on: 

Ensuring the timely and accurate deliv-    
 ery of workers' compensation benefits. 
Ensuring employer compliance with   
 the mandatory coverage  provisions. 

WCS EDUCATION COMMITEE 
 Mike Brooks, Chair, WCS 
 Suhair (Susan) Sayegh, WCS 
 Dock Williams, WCS 
 Christi Mosher, Genex 
 Kelly Spina, Employers 
 Gary Watson, NAIW 
 Cindi Rivera, Certified Vocational Srvc.  
 Yvette Bouldin, York Claims Service 
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SPRING 2011  
TRAINING SESSIONS 

The WCS Orientation is a compre-
hensive overview of workers’ compensa-
tion in Nevada. Specified Forums offer 
specified advanced topics. All sessions 
are free and open to the public. 

 
N O R T H E R N   N E V A D A    
The Carson City / Reno sessions are    

tentatively scheduled at Western      
Nevada Community College in         

Carson City.                   

WCS  Or i en t a t i on  
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 

Thursday, May 19, 2011 
For reservations, please contact:  

 tmills@business.nv.gov 
℡ (775) 684-7261 

S O U T H E R N   N E V A D A  
Division of Industrial Relations 

1301 North Green Valley Pkwy.,  
Ste. 200, Henderson, NV  89074  

 WCS  Or i en t a t i on  
Tuesday, March 8, 2011 
Thursday, May 19, 2011 

WCS   Spe c i f i e d  Fo rum   
Employer Tuesday, April 19, 2011 

For reservations, please contact:  

 tsimi@business.nv.gov  
℡ (702) 486-9019 

Page 4 

(Coming & Going, cont. from page 3) 
special errand.  But an employer’s liabil-
ity certainly cannot extend indefinitely 
beyond the performance of a special er-
rand.  It is for the fact-finder to deter-
mine, taking into account the totality of 
the circumstances in each individual 
case, when the employee ceased return-
ing from the special errand and resumed 
a journey solely personal in nature.  In 
making this determination, the appeals 
officer should consider whether the loca-
tion at which the injuries occurred was 
on a portion of the roadway that the em-
ployee would not have otherwise been if 
he had not been performing the special 
errand.  An injury will not be com-
pensable if it is sustained after the em-
ployee has resumed the personal portion 
of his journey, as indicated by the em-
ployee’s location at the time of the acci-
dent on a portion of the roadway where 
the employee would have been traveling 
anyway to perform a task solely personal 
in nature.  Injuries sustained after the 
employee is no longer returning from the 
special errand do not fall under its excep-
tion and are thus noncompensable under 
the going and coming rule.” 
     The complete text of this ruling is 
available via this link—once there click 
on document #-8-11434: 
http://caseinfo.nvsupremecourt.us/public/
caseView.do?csIID=15896                     * 

H O W   T O   C O N T A C T  W C S  
Department of Business and Industry 

Division of Industrial Relations  
Workers’ Compensation Section 
S O U T H E R N   N E V A D A  

(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364 
N O R T H E R N   N E V A D A  

(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 

E ‐ m a i l   N o t i f i c a t i o n    
Stay connected to what’s new  in  
Nevada’s workers’ compensation by regis-
tering to receive e-mail notifications. 
http://.dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm 

R E P O R T I N G  R E M I N D E R S  

OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE MANDATORY REPORTING 

     Occupational Disease Claim Report(s) (OD-8) is an ongoing reporting 
requirement as outlined in NRS 617.357, whereby certain occupational dis-
eases of the heart or lungs and infectious diseases or cancer are required to be re-
ported to the Division of Industrial Relations. The claim must be reported to the 
DIR within 30 days after the insurer accepts or denies the claim. Additionally, the 
insurer is required to notify the DIR in writing within 30 days after the claim is ap-
pealed; affirmed, modified or reversed on appeal; or is closed or reopened.   
     Not all occupational disease claims require OD-8 submissions. Some exam-
ples of non-reportable claims are: repetitive motion, non-contagious dermatitis/rash, 
reflux, and hearing loss claims. Insurers who have no reportable claims during a 
calendar year are required to file an Occupational Disease Claim Statement of Inac-
tivity form within 5 working days of the end of the calendar year for which they are 
reporting.  
     Failure to file required OD-8 reports or Statements of Inactivity may result in 
administrative fines pursuant to NAC 616D.415(1)(d).   
     OD-8 reporting forms are available on the Workers’ Compensation Section web-
site at:  http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/insurer.htm. The CY 2010 Occupational 
Disease Claims Report required by NRS 617.357(3) and compiled by the WCS is 
also available at this site. OD-8 questions should be directed to the Research & 
Analysis Unit at wcsra@business.nv.gov or 702-486-9080. 

(Family Members, cont. from page 1) 
to have workers’ compensation insur-
ance. No exemptions. There is no exemp-
tion for family members. If, however, a 
family member working for the business is 
also listed on the business license as a co-
owner, that person also qualifies as an em-
ployer, not an employee. 
     In addition, also note that employers 
who do not provide workers’ compensa-
tion will be charged with an administrative 
fine up to $15,000; appropriate premium 
penalties; may be ordered to close the busi-
ness until insurance has been obtained; and 
will be held financially responsible for all 
costs arising from a work-related injury. In 
addition, the uninsured employer may be 
subject to a criminal penalty for those 
claims resulting in substantial bodily harm 
or death. (NRS 616D.200 & NAC 
616D.345)  
     Those employers’ rationalizing not cov-
ering a family member in the blissful as-
sumption that this unlawful situation will 
never come to light, in addition to the 
harsh penalties mentioned above, should 
realize that they are cheating their relative 
out of substantial benefits designed to help 
injured workers.  
     These benefits may include, among 
others: Medical treatment; lost time com-
pensation; permanent partial disability; 
permanent total disability; vocational reha-
bilitation; dependent’s benefits in the event 
of death; and other claims-related benefits 
or expenses (i.e., mileage and lifetime re-
opening). Besides, as seen on many court 
TV shows, family members are not above 
suing each other when the winds change 
and rancor is mixed with perceived loss of 
money or benefits. 
     However, Nevada has “exclusive rem-
edy,” which means that injured workers’ 
benefits are set forth in the statutes. Em-
ployers who provide coverage for their 
employees, with few exceptions, at the 
time of injury are protected from any addi-
tional damages claimed by their employees 
as a result of an injury on the job.             *                               

Holiday Office Closures: 
 

M e m o r i a l  D a y  
M o n d a y ,  M a y  3 0 ,  2 0 1 1  

Direct comments or suggestions about 
this newsletter to: Mike Brooks, Editor, 
or Terry Simi, Assistant Editor, (702) 
486-9019 or: mbrooks@business.nv.gov 
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