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eviewing Occupational Disease

HOW WVOWPIG

Claim Procedures

Most of the focus on Nevada’s workers' compensation system centers on Nevada
Revised Statute Chapters 616A-D which address industrial injuries. However, in 2010,
there were 947 occupational disease claims in Nevada. NRS Chapter 617 is the set of]

workers’ comp laws that deal with occupational diseases. NRS 617.450 lists 22 specific

occupational diseases along with a description of the disease contraction process.

The process for filing a claim for an occupational disease closely mimics procedures
for industrial injury claims, although the notion of disease “disablement” (NRS
617.060), its timing, and discovery create different reporting considerations than with
workplace injuries.

The following procedures describe the occupational disease claim sequence and
filing requirements of the employee, employer and treating physician or chiropractor.
References to Nevada laws and information about the associated forms may be found
on the Workers’ Compensation Section website under the “Nevada Law” & “Workers
Compensation Forms” links in the left-hand menu box.

1. Notice of Occupational Disease: (NRS 617.342) — An employee or, in the event
of the employee’s death, one of his dependents, shall provide written notice of an
occupational disease for which compensation is payable as soon as practicable, but
within 7 days after attaining knowledge of the disability and its relationship to their
employment. A C-1, “Notice of Injury or Occupational Disease” form filed with
the employer satisfies this requirement.

2. Employee’s Claim for Compensation: (NRS 617.344) — An employee or their
representative shall ensure filing of a claim for compensation for an occupational
disease within 90 days after obtaining knowledge of the disability and its relation-
ship to their employment. In the event of death resulting from the occupational dis-
ease, a dependent or a person acting on his or her (Continued on page 3)
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Workers’ Compensation
Educational Conference
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.

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY

August 16-17, 2012
Tuscany Suites Hotel ¢ Las Vegas, Nevada

Early-bird conference registration deadline: July 1st
Deadline for botel reservations at conference rate: July 16th

This year’s Educational Conference, Aug. 16 — 17, in Las Vegas features ex-
pert speakers and panels on litigation, telemedicine, PPD apportionment, workers’
comp fraud and DIR audits, among other topics. The information brochure which
includes registration forms for attendees, vendors and sponsors is available on the
WCS website: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm *

Missing Claim Files Delay Claim
Reopening & Complaint Investigations

WCS has been receiving numerous
complaints from injured workers and attor-
neys regarding problems
they are experiencing
when attempting to peti-
tion for reopening of their
M claim, which is authorized
£t by NRS 616C.390. The
N most common problem is
that the claim files cannot be located and
the injured worker does not know where to
send the written request for reopening.
This situation usually occurs when the
employer has changed third-party adminis-
trators or insurance carriers and the physi-
cal claim file was not transferred to the
new TPA or insurer. This circumstance
may potentially leave the whereabouts of
the old claim file unknown. Fortunately, a
new regulation, which is in the final stage
of adoption, has been proposed to improve
communication and claim file transfer be-
tween old and new insurers/TPAs (sec 7,
R112-08).

However, a new regulation is not a cure
-all for all possibilities. In some cases, the
new TPA or insurer is contracted by the
employer to only handle the new claims,
which are processed after the contract-
effective date. Pursuant to NAC 616B.448
(3), a self-insured employer is required to
notify the Division of Insurance and the
DIR of such changes in advance. Failure to

do so may result in administrative fines
(Continued on page 4) (Hot Topic, cont. from page
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Regulation Process

Encourages Public Input

Last year, the regular session of the
Nevada Legislature was notable for the
lack of regulation that followed. On Jan.
3, 2011 Governor Sandoval signed an
Executive Order freezing regulation activ-
ity in 2011. Obviously, we’re well into
2012 and the regulation process has re-
sumed with the new executive guidelines
in place making now a good time to re-
view the process of regulation develop-
ment and implementation.

As most know, the Nevada Legislature
enacts the various sections of the Nevada
Revised Statutes. The sections of the NRS
that affect workers’ compensation are
NRS 616A through D and NRS 617.
Shortcuts to each of these sections can be

reached on our website http:/
dirweb.state.nv.us/ WCS/wes.htm  under

the “Nevada Law” menu option. As
changes to the NRS are made by the Leg-
islature and signed into law by the gover-
nor, the laws are then provided to the
Legislative Counsel Bureau (LCB) for
codification. Each of the changes has an
effective date associated with it.

Most laws are relatively straightfor-
ward and do not require any clarification
or description of processes required to
oversee compliance. However, some of
the reasons a regulation may be required
include a need to place them into context
with existing statutes and regulations,
descriptions and development of steps to
comply with the statute, or the Division of
Industrial Relations may need to develop
a form or other product. In those cases,
we may need to develop a regulation
(Nevada Administrative Code). It is
worthwhile to note at this point that the
NRS always takes precedence over the
NAC.

Regulation development and imple-
mentation is a multi-step process that
takes some time to complete. The first
step is for the DIR to consider subject
matter of a potential regulation and notify
the governor’s office to ensure draft lan-
guage complies with the requirements of
Executive Orders 2011-1 and 2011-4.
Then DIR makes a written determination
whether it is likely the regulation will
have an impact on small businesses —
those with fewer than 150 full or part-
time employees.

Workers’ Comp Stakeholders Viewpoint
ocatlonal Rehabllltatlon

experience. The views expressed in the following column are her
own and do not necessarily reflect those of the State of Nevada,
\ Workers” Compensation Section.

“Chronicle” Editor, Mike Brooks, asked Ms. Rivera some
| questions about trends and challenges she sees in Nevada voca-
! tional rehabilitation:

What are the common complaints that you hear about voc
rehab? (MB)

Let’s start with injured employees and then move to the employers:
The most common complaints from the injured employees concern the 66 2/3 pay
maintenance. They would like it to be higher, and the high-wage earners com-
plain about the cap on the maintenance pay.

Injured employees who receive a permanent partial disability (PPD) rating
between one and five percent that affords them nine months of training complain
that this is not enough time to complete a program of interest that will afford them
the necessary marketable skills to return to gainful and competitive employment.
Injured employees would like to see the training time ranges increased to start at |

11%+).

Injured employees also complain about not being referred to a counselor until ||
the end of the claim—not all insurers refer a claim to a counselor after 90 days of P

temporary total disability (TTD) benefits. Many injured employees don’t know
that they are able to request that a counselor complete a written assessment if they
are paid for TTD for more than 90 days.

Another complaint from the injured employee is about the minimum voc rehab
lump sum buyout (VR LSBO) formula of 40 percent. They feel that the percent-

" age should be higher or that the entire cost—including maintenance, school pro-

gram, and job search days—of a program is taken into consideration for the 40%
calculations.

Finally, I hear injured employee complaints about the lack of training pro- | |

grams in languages besides English. However, this shortfall is more about what is
available in a given community and not so much about the voc rehab system it-
self.

When it comes to employers, they do not have many complaints, except that

| workers’ compensation insurance costs too much and when an injury occurs that

eventually requires voc rehab services, their premiums go up later. However, the
lack of complaints may be due to most employers not being knowledgeable about
vocational rehabilitation services, and I do find myself reviewing the process with

them from start to ﬁnlsh They will, then, know What to (Contmued on page 3)

12 months (PPD rating 1-5%), 18 months (PPD 6-10%) and 24 months for (PPD I

The first of two public meetings is a

regulation workshop. There have already
he Faty WOCS ooy

after the regulation(s) has been drafted.
The public is notified of the DIR’s intent

to-nublich a0 20-da hefor

been—tweo—WECS—regulation—werksheps—in
2012, on Feb. 24 and April 30. Interested
parties are notified at least 15 days before
the meeting and asked to make comments
regarding the DIR’s intent to draft a regu-
lation. These inputs are considered, docu-

mented and summarized for possible in- ..

clusion in the pending regulation. After
this meeting, the regulation is drafted and
then reviewed by the LCB.

The next public meeting is a hearing

v th
to-publish-regulations 30-days—before-th
date of the upcoming hearing and pro-
vided draft copies of the regulations.
Comments about the proposed regulations
are received and evaluated for possible

changes to the (Continued on page 4)

I_;\\' E-mail Notification
&°  Stay connected to what’s new in Ne-

vada’s workers’ compensation by regis-
tering to receive e-mail notifications.
http://.dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm
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(Occ. Disease, cont. from page 1)

behalf shall ensure filing of the claim
within 1 year after the employee’s
death. The Claim for Compensation
must be completed by the employee’s
representative and treating physician
or chiropractor, and filed by the treat-
ing physician or chiropractor. The
correct form is a C-4, “Employee’s
Claim for Compensation/Report of
Initial Treatment.”

3. Duty of Treating Physician or
Chiropractor: (NRS 617.352) — A
treating physician or chiropractor
shall, within 3 working days after first
providing treatment to an employee
with an occupational disease, com-
plete and file a C-4 form, claim for
compensation, with the employer and
the employer’s insurer.

4. Duty of the Employer: (NRS
617.354) — Within 6 working days
after receiving a C-4 form for compen-
sation from the treating physician or
chiropractor, an employer shall com-
plete and file with his insurer or third
party administrator a C-3,
“Employer’s Report of Industrial In-
Jjury or Occupational Disease.” Addi-
tionally, a D-8, “Employer's Wage
Verification Form” must be completed
and filed with the insurer within 6
working days of receipt of the C-4
Form if requested by the insurer (if the
C-4 indicates the employee will be off
work for 5 days or more in a 20 day
period).

5. Duty of the Insurer: (NRS
617.356) — An insurer shall accept or
deny the submitted claim within 30
working days after the claim is re-
ceived. Insurers must also report cer-
tain occupational disease claims to
WCS.

In short, procedures for reporting of
both industrial injuries and occupational
diseases are fairly similar, except for the
timing of disablement discovery and the
insurer/TPA having 30 working days
(versus 30 calendar days) for claim deter-
mination. There are other more notewor-
thy differences between NRS 616A-D and
617. A new training examining these
differences, in-depth, will be offered on
July 19 at 1:30 pm in the Henderson
office. Those interested should contact
Terry Simi, (702) 486-9019, to make a
reservation. *
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(Voc Rehab, cont. from page 2)

expect should there be another accident.
Claim Adjusters do not usually have

complaints. They often

call with case scenarios and

questions about the inter- & ?
pretation or application

of voc rehab laws and 7 ///// l

regs based on thelr

particular claims

Overall, employers and claim adjusters
complain about the "high" cost of the

claim and injured employees com-
plain about not being compensated
enough.

What are the most prevalent problems
and misunderstandings that you see re-
garding voc rehab? And what’s the best
way to address them? (MB)

It is difficult to say what the most
prevalent problems are since they vary, but
misunderstandings usually have to do with
interpretation of the laws and regs. I find
the most common question is how the 40
percent VR LSBO calculations are made
(NRS 616C.595). Another question that I
get frequently is regarding meeting 80% of]
an injured employee’s wages in a perma-
nent modified/light/alternative position
(NRS 616C.590 & NAC 616C.586)

Also, questions about out-of-state ser-
vices come up: Does voc rehab mainte-
nance have to be paid to injured employ-
ees living out of state? When is an injured
employee eligible for full voc rehab when
living out of state? The answer to these
questions will vary based on the injured
employee’s residency status at the time of]
injury. For example if the injured em-
ployee resides outside of Nevada but lives
within 50 miles from any Nevada border
on the date of injury and is determined
eligible for voc rehab then he may receive
voc rehab services. If an injured employee
was temporarily working in Nevada and
he can demonstrate that his permanent
residence was outside of Nevada on the
date of injury he may also receive voc
rehab services.

However, if an injured employee does
not meet the above criteria and he resides
outside of Nevada, then he may only be
eligible for a Lump

WCS EDUCATION COMMITTEE
Mike Brooks, Chair, WCS

Suhair Sayegh, WCS

Dock Williams, WCS

Dawn Saucedo, WCS

(Continued on page 4)

Gary Watson, NAIW

Kelly Spina, EMPLOYERS

Cindi Rivera, Certified Vocational Srvc.
Charles Quintana, GovCHA

Panel Hears Emplover
WC Policy Complaints
An employer, other than a self-insured
employer, may request a hearing by the
Nevada Appeals Panel for policyholder
grievances involving premium disputes for
industrial insurance. The Appeals Panel is
authorized to hear disputes by an employer
who determines that circumstances spe-
cific to their case requires a review of:

eThe employers experience rating modifi-
cation;

*The classification of risk assigned to the
employer’s business; or

*The application of the supplementary rate
information assigned to the employer.

e The Appeals Panel is not authorized to
consider matters concerning:

oThe effect of the classifications of risks
or rules that are applied by all insurers to
all similarly classified businesses within
Nevada; or

eGrievances concerning contested cases
for compensation pursuant to the provi-
sions of chapters 616A to 616D, inclu-
sive, or chapter 617 of Nevada Revised
Statutes (NRS).

To request a hearing, the employer
must submit a written grievance to the
Appeals Panel. The grievance must in-
clude:

*A statement requesting a hearing by the
Appeals Panel; and

®A clear, simple statement describing the
issues in dispute and the relief requested.

Direct requests for an Appeals Panel
hearing to:

Nevada Division of Insurance
Property & Casualty Section
1818 College Parkway, Suite 103
Carson City, NV 89706-7986

A party to the hearing who wishes to
appeal a decision of the Appeals Panel
may do so by submitting a written applica-
tion to the Commissioner of Insurance
requesting a hearing within 60 days of
receiving the written decision from the
Appeals Panel. The written request must
include the reason for the appeal of the
decision and a copy of the decision from
the Appeals Panel. Direct requests for an
appeal of a decision to:

Commissioner of Insurance
1818 College Parkway, Suite 103
Carson City, NV 89706-7986

Information on the Appeals Panel is
contained in NRS 616B.760 through
616B.790. Please refer to these statutes for
a full description of the Appeals Panel
authority and hearing procedures. *
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(Confusion Corner, cont. from page 2)

drafts. A final draft of a regulation is com-
pleted which documents public comment
and what was or was not incorporated. The
draft-adopted regulation is then forwarded
to the LCB for codification. When codi-
fied by LCB, it is published in the appro-
priate NAC.

Obviously, this can be a relatively
lengthy process. Changes to specific laws
made by the Legislature may be published
in the appropriate NRS section fairly
quickly following a session. However, the
regulations associated with the specific
NRS sections may take several months to
become effective.

The regulation development and imple-
mentation process is open and participa-
tive. WCS sends e-mail notifications of all
workshops and hearings and posts notices
on the WCS website and in key public
buildings. After regulations have been
codified, WCS posts these regulations and
notifies all contacts in the WCS e-mail
database. Those interested in attending
regulation workshops and hearings should
sign up online to receive notices: http://

(Voc Rehab, cont. from page 3)

Sum Buy Out in lieu of vocational rehab
services. If an injured employee is entitled
to voc rehab, but does not live within 50
miles of Nevada, then there are certain
provisions as outlined in NRS 616C.580
that the injured employee can meet to
receive voc rehab services (i.e. relocating
to Nevada, moving to a state within 50
miles of Nevada - if services are available
at that location).

How do you calculate a VR LSBO
offer for out-of-state injured employee's?
NRS 616C.580 states that the amount of a
lump sum in lieu of voc rehab for out of
state injured employee’s must not exceed
$20,000.00.

The best way to address these issues is
education! This newsletter is very helpful,
and the Orientation, Forums, and commu-
nity outreach DIR provides are great re-
sources for education. And, of course,
anyone can ask voc rehab questions via
WCSHelp or contact me directly at (702)
214-4330; CindiRivera@aol.com *

WCS Mission Statement

dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/handouts/
electronicenroll.htm

The aim of the process it to provide
sensible oversight and implementation
tools to all participants in Nevada’s work-
ers’ compensation system. *

(1] Farewells & Promotions
Darlene Rosenberg was a DIR/WCS
Henderson compliance auditor from June
v 2009 — March 2012. She
S8\ {1 Jremembers her time with
y \\ @ DIR as the shortest three
=

J years of her life. She’ll

y especially miss her col-
“& leagues whom she noted

X ¢ h despite the challenges of]
furloughs and budget

cuts, are “knowledgeable, supportive and
fun. They made coming to work a joy.”
Darlene continues her workers’ compensa-
tion career with the City of North Las Ve-
gas’ Human Resources Department.
/ / Ana Aranda, who
| joined WCS in Hender-
son in November as an
Administrative Assistant
II, has earned a promo-
tion to a Compliance
Audit Investigator posi-
tion in the Insurer/TPA Compliance Unit. *

Direct comments or suggestions about
this newsletter to: Mike Brooks,
Editor, or Terry Simi, Assistant
Editor, (702) 486-9019 or:

mbrooks@business.nv.gov

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Section (WCS) is to impartially serve
the interests of Nevada employers and em-
ployees by providing assistance, informa-
tion, and a fair and consistent regulatory
structure focused on:
@ Ensuring the timely and accurate deliv-
ery of workers' compensation benefits.
@ Ensuring employer compliance with
the mandatory coverage provisions.

1)
being assessed.

In addition, another problem with miss-
ing files is that pursuant to NRS 616B.021
(2), tclosed claim files must be reproduced
within 14 days from the requested date.
When a claim file cannot be located, the
WCS Auditor is unable to access the file to
investigate a complaint. This not only cre-
ates a delay in concluding our investiga-
tion, it also delays the injured worker from
seeking timely resolution to his/her re-
opening request as well as delaying appro-
priate payment of benefits. To avoid the
problem of missing claim files, all work-
ers’ comp insurers should update the WCS
Insurer Information Form for any changes
in contact people, claims administrators
and locations of records, including claim
files. *

SUMMER 2012 I
TRAINING SES-

SIONS
The WCS Orientation is a com-
prehensive overview of workers’
compensation in Nevada. Speci-
fied Forums offer specified ad-
vanced topics. All training ses-
sions are free and open to the public.

SOUTHERN NEVADA
Division of Industrial Relations
1301 North Green Valley Pkwy.,
Ste. 200, Henderson, NV 89074

WCS Specified Forum
CVS/Medical Front Office
AMW/PPD
June 14, 2012
Occupational Disease
July 19, 2012
For reservations, please contact:
>4 tsimi@business.nv.gov
NORTHERN NEVADA

For scheduling information in the
Carson City/Reno area, please contact:

CVS Now Has Captcha Screen
The National Council on Compensation
Insurance which provides the Coverage

Verification Service has "

added an additional —

level of secur]ty to CVS Reuretoaccess e Seachicicaty
[E55 _rotwsh e |

in all states, including
Nevada. A sharp spike in attempted em-
ployer searches coming from a few states’
websites recently prompted an NCCI in-
vestigation that revealed these searches to
be generated by an automated program
rather than an individual public user.

By adding a ‘captcha’ screen that re-
quires manually typing characters and sub-
mitting them to the NCCI server, it can be
determined with a high level of probability
that the user is indeed a human and not an
automated 'bot' attempting to harm the
system. All other aspects of CVS remain

t h e s a m e

EMINDER& REPORTING REMIND-

=

» ERS
Next reporting due: 2012

PT Claims Report. Watch

for the annual PT Claims
Report form to be distributed via e-mail in
early July and due in early August.

If you have any questions about this or
other reporting issues, please contact the
Research and Analysis unit of the Work-
ers’ Compensation Section at (702) 486-

HOW TO CONTACT WCS

Department of Business and Industry
Division of Industrial Relations
Workers’ Compensation Section
SOUTHERN NEVADA

(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364
NORTHERN NEVADA
(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm
WCSHelp@business.nv.gov

>
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