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Don Soderberg Appointed Division of
Industrial Relations Administrator

HOW TOPIGC

DIR Implements New

Bruce Breslow, Director of the Department of
Business and Industry announced that Don Soder-
berg has been appointed Administrator of the Divi-
sion of Industrial Relations. Mr. Soderberg is based
out of the Henderson office and will oversee the
Division’s statewide operations.

He has more than 25 years of legal and regulato-
ry experience which includes eight years as the
Chairman of the Nevada Public Utilities Commis-
sion. He also served terms as Commissioner on the
Public Utilities Commission, Nevada Transportation
Services Authority and Public Service Commission
of Nevada.

He most recently served as the Vice President of
Risk Management and Corporate Compliance at Southwest Gas. Previously he served
as Vice President of Pricing and VP of External Affairs. Prior to that, he was the Reg-
ulatory Affairs Director at R&R Partners.

Mr. Soderberg began his career in public relations and marketing. After attending
law school, he practiced administrative and commercial law with Lionel Sawyer and
Collins from 1987 to 1995.

He holds a bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies from the University of
Nevada Las Vegas and a juris doctor degree from the University of San Dlego
School of Law.

Audit Process for TPAs

Pursuant to the 2011 legislative change
to NRS 616A.400(7), which now allows
the Division of Industri-
al Relations to conduct &&*
investigations and exam-
inations of TPAs, the
Workers’ Compensation §
Section has created a
new audit procedure
called Policy, Proce-
dures & Operations Audit (PPO Audit).
These audits include, but are not limited
to, the examination of the following:

1) Adjusters’ caseloads and claims han-
dling experience (NRS 616C.720);

2) Verifying electronic claims systems
and the calculation of benefits to ensure
accurate and timely payments of bene-
fits;

3) How a TPA processes timely comp-
liance of Hearing; and (Continued on page 4)

WCS Reminds Medical Providers About
Billing Procedures

This is a reminder to all healthcare providers who accept workers’ compensation
patients that, pursuant to NRS 616C.135, a patient who has received services for an
industrial injury or occupational disease may not be charged. The insurer is responsi-
ble for the charges unless the patient received services that are not related to the in-
dustrial injury or occupational disease. If the healthcare provider, managed care or-
ganization, an insurer or employer violates the provisions of this statute, the Division
of Industrial Relations shall impose an administrative fine. Also, pursuant to NRS
616C.137, if payment for some or all of the services is denied on the sole basis that
the services were not related to the industrial injury or occupational disease, the in-
jured employee must be sent written notification and provided with the approprlate
appeal rights.

Mileage Reimbursement Change for 2014
Effective January 1, 2014, standard mileage for transportation incurred while using
a private vehicle for official state business decreased from 56.5 cents per mile to
= =, 56 cents per mile. Per NAC 616C.150: Under
e -, 72288 A appropriate  conditions, reimbursement for the
' cost of transportation for an injured employee
W=l must be computed at a rate equal to the mileage
A allowance for state employees. To minimize any
_"" 5l underpayments of mileage reimbursements, all
- *3‘ adjusters should note this change.
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/mileage.pdf *

@ DIR Announces New Administrator

® WCS Issues Reminder to Medical
Providers

C|® Hot Topics: DIR Introduces New
Audit Process

® 2014 Mileage Reimbursement

@ Confusion Corner: Drug-testing
Injured Employees

N | @ Fraud Watch: Reporting Fraud
Saves Everyone Money

@ Hails & Farewells

T|® Reporting Reminders

® EMPLEO Offers Free Seminars
for Employers & Employees

® Form Focus: Employees Cannot
be Charged for Forms

N |® WCS Contact Information

® Winter Training: Dec 2013-Feb
2014

T|® WCS Community Mourns Loss of
Prominent Doctor

@ SIA Saves Employers Money

8o Changes to PPD Rating Selections

@ Nevada to Adopt ICD 10

@ WCSHelp Provides Service



http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616A.html#NRS616ASec400
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec120
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec135
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616C.html#NRS616CSec150

Page 2

S
CEGNFUSION,
\nC‘ORNERr‘w

Workers Comp & Drug Testing
A frequently asked question during
training sessions points to a misunder-
standing in Nevada’s workers’ compen-
sation community that appears fairly
widespread: How long after an employee
reports an injury must he or she submit to
a valid drug test that can be used in the
acceptance or denial of that claim?

This question seems to be a straight-
forward query about drug testing and the
workers’ comp statutory timeline. What
makes the question even more beguiling
is that most stakeholders in the Nevada
workers’ compensation system have
some familiarity with NRS 616C.230
which covers grounds for denial, reduc-
tion or suspension of compensation; and
evidence of and examination for use of
alcohol or controlled substance.

Among other provisions,
616C.230 states:

1. Compensation is not payable pur-
suant to the provisions of chapters
616A to 616D, inclusive, or chapter
617 of NRS for an injury: ... (d)
Proximately caused by the employ-
ee’s use of a controlled substance. If
the employee had any amount of a
controlled substance in his system at
the time of his injury for which the
employee did not have a current and
lawful prescription issued in his name
or that he was not using in accordance
with the provisions of chapter 453A
of NRS, the controlled substance
must be presumed to be a proximate
cause unless rebutted by evidence to
the contrary.

Also,  regarding
616C.230 states:

2. For the purposes of paragraphs (c)

NRS

testing NRS

FRAUD WATCH

-/ Reporting Workers’” Compensation ¥
Fraud Saves Money for All Nevadans

On a bright and sunny Monday morning, less than 15 minutes into his shift at
ACME Tool & Dye, machinist Joe Johnson reports a work-related injury that he
says happened the previous Friday. There were no witnesses to the Friday accident.
In addition, as Joe’s injury claim progresses through the treatment phase, Joe refuses
the latest diagnostic procedures that could confirm his injury.

Is this a valid workers’ compensation injury claim, given that the first few
minutes of his Monday shift could have aggravated a Friday injury that had been
healing over the weekend? Or perhaps because there are three “red flags” for possi-
ble fraud in the scenario, there is a much greater likelihood that Mr. Johnson is try-
ing to commit workers’ compensation fraud. The red flags as described in the Work-
ers’ Compensation Fraud Unit’s “Tips for Detecting Claimant Fraud are 1) Monday
morning reporting for a Friday injury; 2) No witnesses to the accident; and 3) Re-
fusal of diagnostic treatment to confirm an injury.

However, workers’ compensation fraud involves more than just claimants. It may
also involve employers or healthcare providers. Primary jurisdiction for investigat-
ing workers’ compensation fraud in Nevada belongs to the Investigation Division of
the Office of the Attorney General, specifically, the Workers’ Compensation Fraud
Unit. Workers” Compensation Fraud Investigations offices are located in Carson
City, Las Vegas and Reno. These units are dedicated to investigating allegations of
claimant, employer and provider fraud on behalf of the State and its insurers. The
unit is also generally responsible for investigation of any fraud committed in the
administration of workers” compensation.

Nevada workers’ compensation is based upon principles that include “no fault”
which provide benefits and protection for both the employee and the employers and
cost reduction by efficiencies in number. As with other kinds of insurance, workers’
compensation fraud increases the cost of premiums and adds a burden to the entire
system.

The Workers” Compensation Fraud Unit’s Web page http://ag.nv.gov/About/
Criminal_Justice/Workers_Comp/ provides an overview of warning signs of work-
ers compensation fraud. The unit also has a Workers Compensation Fraud Hotline at
1-800-266-8688 for reporting suspected fraud and questions regarding possible

workers’ compensation fraud. /

(Updated 11/15/2013)

@n Kunzi, former Director, Workers’ Compensation Fraud Unit
i ] Hails & Farewells j_ |

Jennifer Royce, Administrative Assistant 11, recently trans-
ferred from the Nevada Department of Corrections. She has
worked for the State for more than a year and is looking forward
to pursuing future endeavors with the State. She has worked in
sales, administration, and as a dental assistant. Jennifer was raised
. in Nevada and has lived here for 22 years. Jennifer enjoys spend-

" ing time with her family, anything outdoors and all of the activi-
72 'ties Nevada has to offer.

Cynthla Hernandez, Administrative Assistant I, recently
moved to southern Nevada from California. She has Worked in
the clerical business for more than seven years. She enjoys organ-
izing her house, going to the movies and spending time with her
fiancé and family. Cynthia also enjoys photography, dancing,
walking and sight-seeing. She looks forward to working with the
DIR for many years to come. (Continued on page 3)

and (d) of subsection 1:

(a) The affidavit or declaration of
an expert or other person described in
NRS 50.315 is admissible to prove
the existence of any alcohol or the
existence, quantity or identity of a
controlled substance in an employee’s
system. If the affidavit or declaration
is to be so used, it must be submitted
in the manner prescribed in NRS
616C.355.

(b) When an examination requested
or ordered includes testing for the use
of alcohol or a controlled substance, the
laboratory that (Continued on page 3)
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(Hails & Farewells; cont. from page 2)

Natalie McMahon, Administrative
Assistant 11, has been with the WCS for
more than 10 -
months and is hav-§
ing a fabulous time.
She enjoys camping
with her husband of§
27 vyears and her
four sons. Natalie, %
also enjoys any V- —
cation that involves
water.

Cris Carmona
= provided outstanding
administrative  sup-
! port in the WCS
Henderson office as
an  Administrative
Assistant 111 to the
CAO and District
R Manager for the past
two years. She recently accepted a promo-
tional opportunity with another State agen-
cy. Cris will be missed. We all wish her
well in her future endeavors. *

WC Community Mourns Loss

Reporting Reminders
FY13 WCS Workers'’
Compensation Claims Activi-

mation Form pursuant to NRS
616B.009 and NAC 616B.016 were due
December 31, 2013. Links to the blank

¥ forms and instructions were distributed

via email on November 8, 2013 and can

N[be found on our website at http:/

dirweb.state.nv.us/wcs/wcsanrp.htm or by
emailing us at WCSRA@business.nv.gov

FY12-FY13 TPA Information Form
pursuant to NAC 616A.410, NAC
616D.415 and NRS 616D.120(4) was due
November 1, 2013. The form request-
ing basic TPA contact information, off-
site location of records, and statewide
workers’ compensation claims handled
data was sent via certified mail in October
2013 and can be found on our website at
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/
insurer.htm

Failure to submit the required reports
may result in administrative fines.

Questions may be directed to WCS
Research and Analysis at (702) 486-9080.

S
-¥

31ty Report and Insurer Infor-

| EMPLEO Offers Free Seminars
for Employers & Employees
The US Department of Labor, Division
of Wage and Hour sponsors the Employ-
ment Education Outreach. EMPLEO is an
alliance of employers, labor, community
organizations, consulates, and federal,
state, and local agencies committed to the
education of employers and employees in
southern Nevada. EMPLEO received sena-
torial recognition during their 10th anni-
versary celebration this past September.
For more information, contact the DOL at
702 388-6001. *

Kevin Jackson, Manager of
the WCS, ER&A Unit,
shown with Alba Jarrett,
DOL, conducts a WC brief-
ing on December 5, 2013 for
EMPLEOQO’s annual employ-
.| er seminar.

HCPs Cannot Charge Injured
Workers for Completing Forms
The Division of Industrial Relations,
Workers’ Compensation Section, has been
| alerted to a recent trend whereby
treating doctors are charging in-
jured employees to complete

A

of Respected Colleague

The Division of Industrial Relations,
Workers’ Compensation Section extends
condolences to the family and staff of Dr.
Richard Kudrewicz. Dr. K, as he was
known to many, passed away on Saturday,
November 30, 2013.

He treated Nevada’s injured employees
and performed Permanent Partial Disability
(PPD) evaluations for many years in the
Las Vegas area. He was an expert in the
area of PPD evaluations and many of us in
the workers’ compensation community
frequently consulted Dr. K. He will be
missed. Services were held on Friday, De-
cember 06, 2013 at Palm Northwest Mortu-

*

ary.

Winter 2013 - 2014

TRAINING SESSIONS
The WCS Orientation is a com-
prehensive overview of workers’

compensation in Nevada. Specified
Forums offer specified advanced
topics. All training sessions are free
and open to the public.

SOUTHERN NEVADA
For scheduling information in the
Henderson/Las Vegas area, contact:
< tsimi@business.nv.gov
NORTHERN NEVADA
For scheduling information in the
Carson City/Reno area, contact:
< tmills@business.nv.gov

(Confusion Corner; cont. from page 2)
conducts the testing must be licensed
pursuant to the provisions of Chapter
652 of NRS.

However, despite the presumption of
proximate cause and details verifying the
presence of alcohol or a controlled sub-
stance, there is no explicit drug testing
timeline in Nevada’s workers’ compensa-
tion statutes. Nor is there a legal require-
ment that an injured employee submit a
drug test result.

In fact, when it comes to drug testing,
workers’ comp considerations are sec-
ondary to personnel policies. In most
cases, the company’s human resource
department needs to have well-
understood drug testing policies and pro-
grams already in place prior to the injury
before a worker can be compelled to sub-
mit to a drug test. Ideally, the worker will
have agreed to these policies in writing
during the orientation phase of employ-
ment. Human resource departments have
the latest information on employer and
employee rights regarding drug testing.

As a reminder, even though there is
no statutory timeline for testing for con-
trolled substances, per NRS 616C.065
insurers still have only 30 days after re-
ceiving the Form C-4 to accept a claim,
begin payment and provide required noti-
fication or to deny a claim and provide
required notifications. *

workers’ compensation forms.
Reportedly, injured employees are being
charged to complete even the Form C-4,
Employees’ Claim for Compensation/
Report of Initial Treatment. Although this
practice is common in many settings re-
garding patients who have other types of
insurance coverage or want to apply for
disability benefits, it is not acceptable
with workers’ compensation patients. Pur-
suant to NRS 616C.135, a health care pro-
vider must charge the insurer for any
treatment related to the industrial injury or
occupational disease. The health care pro-
vider may charge the patient for services
that are not related to the employee’s in-
dustrial injury or occupational disease.
Completing required forms is a function
directly related to providing care for an
injured employee’s industrial injury or
occupational disease. The required forms
are the primary mechanism for health care
providers to communicate with involved
parties regarding an (Continued on page 4)

HOW TO CONTACT WCS

Department of Business and Industry
Division of Industrial Relations
Workers’ Compensation Section
SOUTHERN NEVADA

(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 990-0364
NORTHERN NEVADA

(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305

http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm

WCSHelp@business.nv.gov
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(Hot Topic, cont. from page 1)
and Appeals Officer’s Decision and
Orders, Stipulated Settlements, etc.;
4) TPA date stamp process of all
claim  file  documents (NAC
616C.082);
5) Knowledge of any DIR revised
forms and how the new forms are
distributed to the appropriate TPA
staff, clients and employers; and
6) What processes are in place to en-
sure timely responses to written re-
quests (NAC 616C.094).

Keep in mind that the PPO Audit varies
from the standard five-year audit of insur-
ers and employers. The five-year audits are
scheduled based on the date when the Di-
vision of Insurance issues a Certificate of
Insurance and every five years thereafter.
These audits focus on the actual claim file
contents, the management of claims and
employers. Whereas, the PPO Audit focus-
es more on the TPA internal policy and
procedures as they relate to the administra-
tion of Nevada workers’ compensation
claims. Also, like the standard five-year
audits, the PPO Audit reports will be sent
annually to the Nevada Legislative Coun-

(No Charge for Forms, cont. from page 3)
individual’s medical status, treatment
plan and work restrictions, if any. In the
workers’ compensation arena, involved
parties may include the injured employee,
insurer, third-party administrator, em-
ployer, bill reviewer and the WCS. The
required forms are also statutorily man-
dated.

Additionally, reimbursement in work-
ers’ compensation is primarily estab-
lished by the Nevada Medical Fee Sched-
ule, not by individual healthcare provid-
ers. It should be noted that charging an
injured worker to complete workers’
compensation forms may lead to discipli-
nary action including administrative
fines. *

sel Bureau.

Since the PPO Audit is a new process,
the WCS is still reviewing the process to
determine its effectiveness at gathering the

required information.
Suhair Susan Sayegh,
WCS Southern District Manager

Important Announcements

From the WCS Med Unit

The Nevada DIR will adopt the ICD 10
coding changes per the Centers for Medi-

care & Medicaid Services
10/01/2014.

Also, the DIR/WCS has posted the
latest Nevada Medical Fee Schedule Max-
imum Allowable Provider Payment, effec-
tive Feb. 1, 2014 - Jan. 31, 2015 per
NRS 616C.260: http://dirweb.state.nv.us/

effective

WCS/2009mfs.pdf

The 2014 MFS re-
flects the 2013 Consumer Price Index for
Medical Services. *

Direct comments or suggestions
about this newsletter to: Kevin
Jackson, Editor or Terry Simi,
Assistant Editor, (702) 486- 9019
or: email t5|m|@busmess nv.gov

Holiday Office Closures:

Martin Luther King Day
Monday, January 20, 2014
Presidents’ Day
Monday, February 17, 2014

Subsequent Injury Account
Saves Employers Money

The Subsequent Injury Accounts, for
Self-insured Employers, Associations,
and Private Carriers, were origi- ___
nally constructed in order to ‘&
help injured employees re- *
tain or acquire employment ~—Eag/
within the State of Nevada. The
Accounts were also intended to be an
incentive for employers to hire or retain
in employment individuals that are phys-
ically challenged.

An employer that is made aware of a
permanent physical impairment, as de-
fined by statute, upon hiring an individu-
al may request reimbursement from the
appropriate Account by following the
statutes and regulations that govern re-
quests for reimbursement. An employer
may also request reimbursement from the
appropriate Account if they have retained
an injured employee that has a qualifying
permanent physical impairment once the
employer has been made aware of the
injured employee’s condition.

Information concerning notification
or submission of a claim against one of
the Accounts can be found in the Nevada
Revised Statues and Nevada Administra-
tive Codes, Chapter 616B. The NRS and
NAC can be found on the WCS website:

http://dirweb.state.nv.us/WCS/wcs.htm

A Form D-37, Insurer’s Subsequent
Injury Checklist must be completed and
submitted along with all requests for re-
imbursement. The Form D-37 can be
found on the WCS website:
http://dirweb.state.nv.us/Forms/d-37.pdf

Please direct any questions regarding
the Subsequent Injury Accounts to
Jacque Everhart at (702) 486-9089 or
everhart@busines.nv.gov

PPD Rater Selection

System Changes

Since June, the Workers Compensa-
tion Section has used a
new Information manage-
ment system to collect
and track many aspects of
data. The WCS Medical Unit
now uses VERSA for perma-
nent partial disability rater ;
selection. This new system still complies
with the rotation requirements of NRS
616C.490(2)(b)

WCS’ previous rater selection system
included the rating examination region in
Nevada as a factor in the rotation process.
However, VERSA assigns raters based on
the order their names appear on the rotat-
ing list regardless of the region where the
rating is to occur. Therefore, many of the
rotating physicians and chiropractors,
who perform ratings in the various areas,
may notice a decrease in the ratings as-
signed in some regions because ratings
are now distributed by name. Any raters
wanting to adjust their areas of service
may contact the WCS Medical Unit,
(702) 486-9095 or (775) 684-7276. *

WCSHelp Provides
Answers to Your Questions

The Workers’ Compensation Section
provides a community outreach connec-
tion through the WCSHelp email link on
the WCS website. By using WCSHelp,
anyone with a question or concern regard-
ing any aspect of workers’ compensation
in Nevada has a valuable tool to get the
information they need. The questions are
thoroughly researched by the appropriate
WCS staff. While some questions may
take longer than others to research, most
are answered within 24 hours, if not soon-
er.

The WCS may also be contacted by
phone. The southern office number is 702
486-9080 and the northern office is 775
684-7270. *

WCS Mission Statement
The purpose of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Section (WCS) is to impartially serve
the interests of Nevada employers and
employees by providing assistance, infor-
mation, and a fair and consistent regulato-
ry structure focused on:
{UJEnsuring the timely and accurate deliv-
ery of workers' compensation benefits.
{_Ensuring employer compliance with
the mandatory coverage provisions.
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