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As I begin the ninth and final year of service as a 
member of the Nevada Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners, I feel inclined to express appreciation to 
a very dedicated staff and fellow board members.  
As I contemplate our purpose as a board as stated in 
our mission statement, the board was created in 1919 
by the Nevada State Legislature for the protection of 
the public and their animals.  The way we do this is 
through consistent review and refining of the practice 
act, the very document that is our collective guide 
in how we practice veterinary medicine.  It not only 
protects the consumer we serve, but if followed as 
written, it protects us from consumer complaints.  I 
encourage you all to keep up to date with the changes 
that have been made and review this document 
regularly.  It can be accessed at the board web site 
www.nvvetboard.us.   

Here is a brief update of the past years happenings.  
We added a new board member, Dr. Ronald Sandoval 
a small animal practitioner from Reno.  We welcome 
our new hospital inspector, Ms. Christina Johnson, 
LVT also from the Reno area. She will continue to 
provide this very informative service to insure our 
hospitals and clinics are compliant in accordance 
to the practice act.  We have retained the services 
of Mr. Louis Ling, Esq., as in house board council.  
He comes with a wealth of experience in medical 
boards.  Several changes in the practice act are 
now revised, adopted regulations as of April 20, 
2010.  These  include a regulation relating to the 
requirement to notice an owner when an animal will 
be left unattended after hours at a veterinary facility, 
revising fees for licensure (no increases here but a 
consolidation of fees into one area of the practice 
act for easy access), and  amended requirements 
for continuing education for veterinarians and 
technicians beginning 2011.  Veterinarians will 
require 20 hours of C.E. and licensed veterinary 
technicians will require 10 hours of C.E. per year 
to meet licensing requirements.  Also, requirements 
have been amended to allow licensed veterinary 
technicians to implant microchips under indirect 
supervision of a veterinarian.
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We invite you to attend our board meetings 
and become a part of the process that keeps our 
profession growing and viable.  We have approved 
up to four hours of C.E. per year for Nevada 
licensed veterinarians and two hours of C.E. for 
Nevada licensed veterinary technicians per year for 
attendance at these meetings. We are confident that 
you will find them to be informative and educational.

I would like to conclude with some good advice 
that I was reminded of this past summer as I had 
the opportunity to spend a week at summer camp 
with a group of very rambunctious Boy Scouts.  It 
follows somewhat in the lines of Dr. Scott Bradley’s 
“Cardiology for the Soul” in this past year’s Board 
Update Newsletter.  We live in a state where the 
economy has had a more devastating effect than 
others mainly because of the high unemployment rate 
of many of its residents, our clients!  I don’t doubt 
that many practices have seen very little growth or 
loss of growth this year.  Even though this weighs 
heavily on our minds, we must not become immersed 
in the “thick of thin things”.  Or to say it in another 
way, don’t spend too much time taking care of 
things that do not really matter in the grand scheme 
of things.  The Boy Scout slogan is “do a good turn 
daily”.  What sound advice!  As we serve one another, 
especially those that may be struggling, it will lighten 
our individual burdens as we come to realize how 
blessed we really are.  Good luck and God bless you 
this coming year.

From The President By Craig Schank, DVM
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My first year with the Nevada State Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners has been a very rewarding experience. The opportunities 
to work with other the other board members, staff, and council have 
given me a renewed appreciation of my career in veterinary medicine. 
In just one short year, I have learned a myriad of things to make my 
veterinary hospital one that I could be proud of. In my career, I have 
had the pleasure of working alongside four previous board members; 
Drs. Cornforth, Talbot, Gorrindo, and Burnett. They provided the 
guidance and mentorship a young veterinarian needs to succeed in 
this profession. Their experience as board members has allowed them 
to see the many facets of veterinary medicine, the good and the bad. 
They encouraged me to become a board member should I ever have 
the chance.

I am a 1986 graduate of Ohio State. Like other contemporary 
graduates, I was faced with the ominous task of passing the Nevada 
licensing exam. The board members contributed questions that focused 
on problems less likely seen in other areas of the country. It was 
rumored (rightfully so) to be far more difficult than the National and 

California tests. Poisonous plants, red water, anthrax, bird silhouettes, 
high altitude sickness, and ophthalmology were all hit pretty hard. The 
board continues to regulate the licensing of applicants and ensures that 
each licensee maintains the continuing education hours needed to stay 
up to date with our ever changing profession.

The board’s role, now, more than ever, is vital to veterinarians. “Dr. 
Google” can make your clients into veterinary specialists in just a few 
minutes time. They arrive at your door with downloaded articles that 
are far more persuasive than your own clinical and surgical experiences. 
Today’s pet owners are more litigious than in the past.  The board has 
placed an emphasis on defining the communication and documentation 
necessary between veterinarian and client.  This protects the patient as 
well as the veterinarian.  The board provides the guide lines that ensure 
that we deliver the proper standard of care and serve as a resource for 
keeping our practices running at the highest levels.  We all benefit 
should we be faced with a civil lawsuit or board investigation. It is a 
privilege to serve the profession in this capacity.

The Early Years as a Board Member	 By Ronald Sandoval, DVM

Data created both in personal and business use is critical for 
users, regardless of the file types or cumulative sizes.  Knowing the 
unpleasant feeling when you’ve just realized that you’ve lost data and 
don’t have it backed up, or discovering your backup is corrupt – these 
feelings can add years of stress.  The cost for data recovery on a failed 
hard drive is, “between – Ouch and Boing!”  Quote from Bing Crosby 
in the movie ‘White Christmas’, and is a great illustration for how 
costly it can be in the data recovery process.

The adage of “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure,” 
is very applicable for backing up data.  The following are great 
prevention measures to build on.

1.	 Operating Systems and programs need to have current updates 
installed and operating properly.

2.	 Anti-Virus (I know, it’s a program and could easily be included 
with the first item) gets a special highlight because you should have 
a commercially licensed copy installed, current with virus definitions 
and running on a regular basis that fits the business needs.  Commercial 
license, this means for everyone that’s running a ‘free’ edition in 
a business environment, you’re usually in breach of the End User 
License Agreement (EULA) and more significantly not getting the 
protection that your business needs.

3.	 Data should flow to a central location, whether you’re in a 
workgroup or server environment – you want to keep all of your data 
consolidated in a central location.  This will help minimize costs to 
effectively backup data.  PS – this doesn’t compromise secure files 
when setup properly.

Once you have a strong foundation in place, you’re ready to begin 
exploring your options for how you want to backup your data.  And 
there are a lot of options!

•	 CD/DVD 
	 •	 Thumb Drive 
	 •	 External Hard Drive 
	 •	 Tape Drive 
	 •	 Removable Hard Drive 
	 •	 RAID configurations 
	 •	 Continuous Data Protection (CDP) devices 
	 •	 Remote Backup

This list includes just the types of media.  There are additional 
variations to these options that include the type of backup that performs, 
how often, and many other options.  There are two crucial things to 
consider when looking at all of these options;

1.	 Use multiple methods for backing up your data.  No we don’t 
want you to spend money just to spend money.  There are cost effective 
combinations that are still considerably less expensive than the $5,000 
and up to have your data recovered from a physical drive failure.   
And nothing costs more than a drive that is too badly damaged to be 
recoverable.

2.	 Testing the backup!  What good is a backup if you never verify 
the data is viable.  Do this routinely and at a minimum, once a year.

ACT offers complimentary consultations regarding your backup and 
technology needs.  Inquire and learn more about the options available 
for effective backups and other technologies.

The Importance of Backing up Data
By Sam Allred, Advanced Computer Technology - databitsnews@databitsnews.com
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ware systems can be set-up to automatically assigned numbers, for 
those systems that cannot or hospitals that are not using a comput-
er software system a manual ledger can be kept in a composition 
book numbered with corresponding prescription labels.  

There are a few hospitals that have been unaware of the need 
for a Radiation Health Certificate granted by the Department of 
Health.  This certificate is reissued every year and must be hang-
ing in the radiology suite.  If there is a dental radiography unit a 
second certificate is required and must be hanging near the unit or 
in the area the mobile unit is used.

A final area of upset has been the posting of licenses and permits.  
The facility permit and the veterinarians and licensed veterinary 
technicians licenses are all to be posted in a conspicuous place, 
meaning in a public area of the hospital.  The Boards thinking be-
hind this is that the public has a right to know who is working on 
their animal, the same way they have the right to know who their 
own personal physician is.  Wallet cards are fine as long as they are 
out where the public can read them.

One thing to remember about hospital inspections, they are to 
help insure and up hold the standard of care here in Nevada.  There 
are no fees associated with routine inspections. There is an attempt 
to inspect all of the hospitals in the state once every one to two 
years.  While an inspection may not seem to come at the best time, 
many have found them to be educational, overriding any incon-
venience.

Should you have more questions on drug logs, sample drug log 
pages, a better description of the manual prescription serial num-
ber process or any phone numbers, please email or contact the 
board office for any questions arising from this article.
 

Other Contact Information: 
DEA Forms:  www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov 
NV Dept. of Human Resources Radiological Section: 
(775)687-7550 then press 3.

By now, many hospitals have experienced at least one inspection 
with a few still anxiously awaiting your first.  Regardless of being 
inspected or not there are always questions and concerns.  Here are 
a few of the most frequently asked questions and greatest concerns 
that have come up in the last year.

The number one question is how to dispose of expired controlled 
drugs. The Pharmacy Board and DEA no longer come to dispose 
of expired controlled substances and the expensive mail disposal 
system is no longer required.  Now expired controlled substances 
can be destroyed in your hospital or clinic.  The current acceptable 
method is to crush tablets, draw up injectables, or cut up fentanyl 
patches and mix with dirty kitty litter or used coffee grounds; once 
mixed the concoction can be disposed of in the trash.  Whenever 
destroying controlled substances a witness must be present and 
the DEA form 41 must be filled out and sent to the DEA, the Phar-
macy Board, and to the State Veterinary Board.  Always keep a 
copy for yourself in case there is ever a question.

Drug logs tend to create headaches in many clinics. There is no 
single form in which a drug log must be presented, but there are 
a few standards that must be present in any drug log-date, client 
name, patient name, drug used and amount drawn.  An ideal drug 
log will have an individual section or book for each drug being 
used to keep things more organized for the person in charge of 
reconciling the controlled drugs.  Many clinics have added an-
other column to the log for the “vial balance”.  In this column the 
volume drawn is subtracted from the volume that should remain in 
the vial to help insure and that all drugs drawn have been recorded. 

An inventory log should also be with your drug logs showing 
exactly what your current stock is for each controlled substance.  
All shipping receipts for controlled substance should be available 
to support your inventory log for four years.

Sterilization of surgical equipment is another very confusing area 
for many hospitals.  There are many different publications cover-
ing sterilization of surgical equipment and how long equipment 
remains sterile depending on sterilization method, storage and 
packaging.  Sterilization times can vary from six months to two 
years depending on these variations.  To simplify and help insure 
sterility the board has adopted a one year expiration policy on all 
surgical equipment and packs from sterilization date.

Another area of confusion during inspections focuses again 
around the sterilization of equipment.  “Why are you writing us up 
for sterilization violations when I just sterilized everything yester-
day?” Dating packs is essential to insuring proper rotation and ste-
rility.  Month, day, and year are required on all packs and pouches 
regardless of how they were sterilized.

The prescription serial numbers statute has been very misunder-
stood during many inspections.  The serial number is simply a 
unique number assigned to an individual prescription and patient, 
similar to the prescription numbers found on human prescriptions.  
This number is required to help track prescriptions information 
back to a patient or a medication if the label has lost all of the 
necessary information in a human medical emergency.  Many soft-

Most Asked Questions at a Routine Hospital Inspection   By Christina Johnson, LVT
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When pet owners make the choice to board their pet in a 
veterinary hospital their expectations for care exceed what they 
would expect to get at a boarding kennel.  When their expectations 
are not met the veterinary board receives a consumer complaint 
naming the hospital and/or veterinarians and claiming neglect 
or negligence. Most all boarding agreements at hospitals have 
a clause that states that if an animal is injured or becomes ill 
while they are boarding the animals will receive treatments 
as determined by a veterinarian. With this in mind, keeping a 
boarding record of the care the animal, including weight during 
admittance and at discharge is important when that owner asks 
questions or when a complaint is filed. 

There are times when the owner places restrictions as to the 
extent of the treatments, usually involving money. They need to 
know ahead of time that this decision could cause harm or further 
injury to their pet. This point stresses the importance of having 
a contact phone number or two where the owner or their agent 
can be reached in an emergency. What types of emergencies have 
occurred while an animal is boarding? Just a few that I remember 
and you must have more: Trauma from dog/ cat fights, trauma 
from dog/dog fights, trauma from cat/cat fights. The worst for 
me was when our hospital cat attacked an African Grey parrot, 
trauma when animals escape and get hit by a car, viral diseases 
that were incubating when you got WNL for your boarding exam, 

blocked Tom cats, GVD, heat prostration when the 
air conditioning failed, dislocated hips from a slip 
in water or on ice, Von Willebrand post surgical 
in a boarder that was spayed, and seizures, just to 
name a few.

There are times when the owners are out of the 
country and cannot be reached. It is important to have an agent 
that can be contacted and has the owners’ authority to consent to 
treatment. It is important that the boarding agreement contains a 
clause that gives permission to resuscitate and an approximate 
estimate of the cost. If the owners wishes a DNR order then that 
needs to be signed in advance. 

Finally, be aware that it matters what you say to or tell an owner. 
If you say you are going to monitor an injured or sick animal that 
means that a veterinarian or LVT under the direct supervision of a 
veterinarian must visually, or in many cases, physically examine 
the animal each day. This responsibility cannot be delegated to 
unlicensed personnel. This is also true for animals that are kept 
overnight in the hospital for observation or monitoring. If the hospital 
does not have staff after hours then the visual or physical exam 
must be done once at night and first thing the following morning 
and the owners must have been informed that there is not staff in 
the hospital after posted hours. Records of these examinations, 
including but  not 
limited to, TPR and 
weight, shall appear in 
the medical record of 
the patient for that day. 
The record shall be 
completed in a timely 
manner and if the entry 
is made by someone 
other than a licensee, 
it must be initialed 
by the veterinarian or 
LVT.

The Nevada State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners was created in 1919 by the Nevada State Legislature for the 
protection of the public and their animals. It is composed of seven members appointed by the Governor. Board membership 
is comprised of six residents of the State of Nevada who have graduated from an approved veterinary college and who 
have been lawfully engaged in the practice of veterinary medicine for at least five years. One member must be a member 
of the general public. The board regulates the standards of conduct for the profession, licenses veterinarians, veterinary 
technicians and veterinary facilities, reviews complaints and takes disciplinary action against licensees who have violated 
the Nevada Veterinary Medicine Practice Act (NRS/NAC 638).

Mission Statement

Boarding In A 
Veterinary Hospital 
By Mike Chumrau, DVM
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Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 638.070, § 2(d) and (NRS 
638.070, §1(a), respectively)* authorize the Nevada State Board 
of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) to adopt regulations 
“concerning requirements for continuing education” (CE) and 
assess fines not to exceed $500 if a licensee “makes a false or 
misleading statement on his application” (such as a false or 
erroneous claim for hours of CE obtained) for renewal of his 
license.  

The Nevada Administrative Code (NAC 638.041 §1.)* requires 
all veterinarians to “complete, during the 12-month period 
immediately preceding the beginning of the new licensing year, 
at least 15 hours of continuing education approved by the Board. 
Except for courses offered by the Veterinary Information Network, 
not more than 5 hours may be completed in distance learning or 
correspondence courses.” NAC 638.041 §2.* requires all “licensed 
veterinary technicians” to “annually complete at least 5 hours of 
continuing education approved by the Board as a prerequisite for 
renewal of his license” during the 12-month period immediately 
preceding the beginning of the new licensing year.  NOTE: 
Effective calendar year 2011, the required number of CE hours for 
veterinarians will be 20 per year and for veterinary technicians will 
be 10 per year.   Other programs must be individually approved 
by the Board prior to award of CE hours.

NAC 638.042* 
spec i f i e s  wha t 
CE courses and 
p r o g r a m s  m a y 
“be  deemed to 
be approved by 
the Board” if the 
course or program 
i s  p rov ided  o r 
approved by the 
o r g a n i z a t i o n s 
listed.  

NAC 638.0423* specifies that veterinarian and veterinary 
technician applicants for renewal of licenses must attest on the 
annual renewal form that they have met the CE requirements and 
must retain records of completion of courses or programs for four 
years after completion of the course or program.  

NAC 638.0425* specifies that the NBVME may conduct random 
audits of renewal applications regarding the number of CE hours 
claimed for the preceding 12 months (approximately 10% of 
licensees are randomly selected for having their renewal application 
audited each year).  Once a licensee receives notification of the 
audit he must respond with proof completion of the claimed hours 
of CE.  The documentation provided must include the name of the 
licensee, the number of hours of CE awarded for the course or 
program, a description of the course or program, and the date(s) 

the course or program was conducted.

NAC 638.043* provides a specified list of circumstances 
which the Board may consider to be grounds for renewing an 
applicant’s license without meeting the requirements for CE.  These 
circumstances are: disability, military service or absence from the 
United States, or because of other circumstances beyond the control 
of the licensee which are deemed sufficient by the Board. 

Most of the cases of non-compliance the Board has found on 
the audits appear to have been failure of the licensee to take the 
time to verify that he has actual documentation for the hours of CE 
claimed, he mistakenly believes that CE taken before or after the 
“preceding 12 months” can be counted (this seems to have been 
a particular problem with non-resident licensees whose primary 
practice licenses and locations are in states with biannual license 
periods!), or a hospital or corporate staff member has  completed 
his renewal application without verifying with the licensee that he 
actual had obtained the required number of CE hours.  

Licensees or management staff personnel with questions about 
the CE requirements or with problems meeting the annual required 
hours of CE are encouraged to contact the Board staff by e-mail 
at vetbdinfo@vetboard.nv.gov or telephone at (775) 688-1788. 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Online full-text versions of all of the applicable NRS and NAC 
statutes and regulations may be found at: https://www.nvvetboard.
us/GLSuiteWeb/HomeFrame.aspx, and then clicking on the 
respective links in the center of the page.

Continuing Education And The Audit Process By Richard C. Simmonds, DVM, MS

•	 A licensed veterinarian or diplomate must complete 
at least 20 hours of continuing education approved by 
the Board. Not more than 5 hours may be completed in 
distance learning or correspondence courses.

•	 A licensed veterinary technician must annually complete 
at least 10 hours of continuing education approved by the 
Board as a prerequisite for renewal of his license.  Not 
more than 5 hours may be completed in distance learning 
or correspondence courses.

Effective in 2011 - 
Continuing Education Hourly Increase
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Disciplinary Action
The following is summary of disciplinary action taken by the Board in the past year:

Case # Area Violations

BS01-041709 Las Vegas NAC 638.045 (2) negligence, in that the Licensee diagnosed and 
treated for renal failure and anemia in a critical patient without 
sufficient diagnostics. 

• Suspension. The suspension is stayed and the licensee is placed on 
Probation for a minimum of one year. 
• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00 and 
a fine of $1000.00
• Respondent shall take an additional fifteen (15) hours of continu-
ing education in internal medicine for each year of the probation.
• Respondent shall send to the board office medical records of one 
completed internal medicine case per month for the period of proba-
tion for review.

FS01-032109 Las Vegas • NAC 638.0475, lack of medical records, in that the Licensee 
failed to maintain a complete medical record for the veterinary 
care.  ”Specifically, all clinical information pertaining to the ani-
mal, including, without limitation, sufficient information to justify 
the diagnosis or determination of the medical status of the animal 
and to warrant any treatment recommended for or administered 
to the animal;   Any medication and treatment administered, 
including, without limitation, the amount and frequency; and the 
progress and disposition of the case;
• NAC 638.047 Neglect in dispensing a dose of Rimadyl that is 
significantly higher than recommended by the manufacturer with 
a lack of communicating to the owner possible side effect.
• NAC 638.046, Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics: Specifi-
cally, if there is an ongoing medical or surgical condition, the 
patient should be referred to another veterinarian for diagnosis, 
care, and treatment. The former attending DVM should continue 
to provide care, as needed, during the transition. 
• NRS 638.140; NRS 639.2801; Violation of a Pharmacy Board 
regulation. Specifically a label was hand written by an unlicensed 
veterinary assistant with a lack of  information including, name of 
the client, their address, prescription number, name of prescribing 
veterinarian, the number of dosage units, and the expiration date 
of the drug. 

• Retake and pass the jurisprudence examination.
• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00.

BS01-062909 Out of State NRS 638.090 Practicing veterinary medicine without a valid 
license.

• The Licensee will pay attorney fees and investigative and Board 
costs of $400.00 and a fine of $1000.00.

PS01-032109 Las Vegas • NAC 638.0475, lack of medical records in that the Licensee 
failed to maintain a complete medical record for the veterinary 
care of  the dog. ”Specifically, all clinical information pertaining 
to the animal, including, without limitation, sufficient informa-
tion to justify the diagnosis or determination of the medical status 
of the animal and to warrant any treatment recommended for or 
administered to the animal.
• NAC 638.047, Neglect in not reviewing the medical record prior 
to evaluating a  situation when the client called with  concerns 
regarding their animals’ health.
• NRS 638.140; NRS 639.2801: Violation of a Pharmacy Board 
regulation. Specifically,  a label was hand written by an unli-
censed veterinary assistant with a lack of information  including, 
name of the client, their address, prescription number, name of 
prescribing veterinarian, the number of dosage units, and the expi-
ration date of the drug.

• Retake and pass the jurisprudence examination.
• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00 and 
a fine of $500.

JS01-071609 Las Vegas • NAC 638.0475 (1) in that the Licensee failed to deliver a copy 
of the medical record to the owner not later than 48 hours after the 
request was made.
• NRS 638.140 (11), in that the Licensee failed to comply with 
a request by the Board for medical records within fourteen days 
after the receipt of a demand letter issued by the Board. 

• Retake and pass the jurisprudence examination, and  
• Pay attorney fees, investigative and board costs of $400.00 and a 
fine of $500.00. 

FS02-081709  Las Vegas NAC 638.045 (2) negligence, a departure  from the standard 
of practice of veterinary medicine in that the Licensee failed to 
perform a procedure that had been consented to by the owner.

• The Licensee will pay attorney fees and investigative and Board 
costs of $400.00.
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PN01-121809 Reno • NAC 638.057 1(e), the supervising veterinarian is responsible 
to insure that unlicensed personnel do not perform duties that are 
specific to licensed veterinary technicians or licensed veterinar-
ians. Specifically the dispensing of Rimadyl by an unlicensed as-
sistant without the knowledge of the doctor; and 1)  NAC 638.045 
(2), Negligence in that the Licensee dispensed a 3cc syringe of 
Cerenia without clear instructions to the owner of when the drug 
should be administered; and medical records are incomplete in 
that medication that was dispensed and administered is not spe-
cific to the amount and frequency of the drug; and
• NAC 638.0475 (f), there is not a complete examination of the 
dog.  Specifically there is no record of abdominal palpitation. 

• Licensee must take an additional three (3) hours of continuing edu-
cation in gastrointestinal disease with emphasis on the treatment of 
Pancreatitis and the diagnostic approach to vomiting by December 
31, 2010 and shall provide to the Board written proof of the comple-
tion of these hours by January 31, 2011.  These hours must be over 
and above those that are required by state law; and
• Licensee must take and pass the jurisprudence examination; and  
• Licensee must pay attorney fees, investigative costs and Board 
costs, totaling $400.00.  

DS01-022510 Las Vegas • NAC 638.045 (2), Negligence in that the Licensee did not 
provide appropriate fluid support for a hemorrhaging dog and 
the Licensee did not mention a swollen vulva as part of his pre-
anesthesia examination.
• The medical records made and maintained were inadequate and 
less than required by applicable law.
•  The Licensee’s dealings with the secondary hospital and the 
emergency hospital, especially in getting both to agree to take the 
dog upon his assurance of payment and then subsequently failing 
to pay their charges, was unethical. (NAC 638.046)

• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00.

SR01-092609   Reno NAC 638.045 (3), Incompetence, in that the Licensee did not rec-
ognize the significant weight loss and further diagnose or assess 
possible treatments.

• Take an additional three (3) hours of continuing education in 
internal medicine; 
• Retake and pass the jurisprudence examination. 
• Pay attorney fees, investigative costs and Board costs, totaling 
$400.00.  

IO01-040910 Out of State NAC 638.041 in that the Licensee failed to obtain the required 
continuing education for 2009.

• The Licensee shall provide to the Board written proof of the satis-
factory completion of four hours of continuing education.	
• The Licensee shall be audited for the next three renewal periods. 
• The Licensee will pay attorney fees, investigative costs, and Board 
costs of $400.00 and a fine of $250.00, for a total due of $650.00.  

GN01-033110  Reno NAC 638.041 in that the Licensee failed to obtain the required 
continuing education for 2009.

• The Licensee shall provide to the Board written proof of the 
satisfactory completion of one and one-half hours of continuing 
education. 
• The Licensee shall be audited for the next three renewal periods.
• The Licensee will pay attorney fees, investigative costs, and Board 
costs of $400.00 and a fine of $100.00, for a total due of $500.00.  

PR01-032310  Rural NAC 638.041 in that the Licensee failed to obtain the required 
continuing education for 2009.

• The Licensee shall provide to the Board written proof of the satis-
factory completion of five hours of continuing education.	
• The Licensee shall be audited for the next three renewal periods. 
• The Licensee will pay attorney fees, investigative costs, and Board 
costs of $400.00 and a fine of $100.00, for a total due of $500.00.  

JS01-020910 Las Vegas NAC 638.045 (2), was negligent in that it departed from the stan-
dard of practice in that the Licensee failed to perform appropriate 
diagnostics on a diabetic dog in critical condition.

• The Licensee shall provide to the Board written proof of the 
satisfactory completion of three hours of continuing education in 
critical care.  
• The Licensee will pay attorney fees, investigative costs, and Board 
costs of $400.00.

FS01-020910 Las Vegas NAC 638.045 (2), Negligence, a departure from the standard of 
practice in that during the course of diagnosis and treatment of a 
cat with renal failure the Licensee failed to perform a urinalysis,  
failed to monitor weight throughout the course of treatment, and 
did not discuss with the owner the option of euthanasia.

• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of 400.00.
• The Licensee shall provide to the Board written proof of the 
satisfactory completion of three hours of continuing education in the 
treatment of renal failure.  

DN01-020110 Reno NAC 638.045 (2) negligence in that the Licensee is responsible 
for determining the competency of an unlicensed assistant to 
perform a particular task and in supervising the assistant’s perfor-
mance of the task.

• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00.

AN01-022010 Reno • NAC 638.045 (2), Negligence in that the Licensee released the 
animal post-surgically to his owner when the animal  was non-
responsive and non-ambulatory.
• NAC 638.045 (2), Negligence, in dispensing two vials of inject-
able morphine to the owners without any labeling or directions 
for use,
• NAC 638.045 (2), Negligence, in taking samples and payment 
for laboratory analysis and then in failing to provide those 
samples to the laboratory for testing and analysis.
• The Licensee did not perform a post-anesthetic examination on 
the animal and released him when he was not ambulatory (NAC 
638.710(1) (c)).

• 2 year Probation
• The Licensee shall attend three hours of board approved continu-
ing education pertaining to critical care
• Pay attorney fees and investigative and board costs of $400.00.
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At long last, the Board has begun the process to create a set of 
regulations regarding prescription drugs specifically about and for 
veterinary practices.  Up to this time, Nevada’s veterinarians have 
had to navigate through the Veterinary Practice Act (Nevada Revised 
Statutes chapter 638) and its accompanying regulations (Nevada 
Administrative Code chapter 638) and as many as six different sets 
of laws administered by the Nevada Board of Pharmacy.  We know 
that this has resulted in confusion and frustration that the Board hopes 
to alleviate.

The proposed regulations contain rules addressing such issues as: 
•	 Who must have a DEA and Nevada CS registration 
•	 Who may have access to prescription drugs 
•	 Who may prepare prescriptions for dispensing prescription drugs 
•	 How prescription drugs must be stored and secured 
•	 How prescription drug records must be made and maintained

In addition to addressing issues related to prescription drugs in 
veterinary practices, the proposed regulations also update the duties 
that may be performed by veterinary technicians.  (Suturing; anal 
gland expression; taking of vitals) and address what must be included 
in a surgery log.

Comments can be made in writing by mailing them or e-mailing them 
to the Board’s Executive Director. A complete copy of the proposed 
regulation is published at www.nvvetboard.us.  “What’s New”.

 
Sec. 1.
Chapter 638 of NAC is hereby amended by adding the following:   
 
Sec. 2 
“Prescription drug” means any drug, including a controlled 
substance as defined in NRS  0.031 or a dangerous drug as 
defined in NRS 454.201, that may be dispensed only upon a 
prescription order which is issued by a veterinarian for its use. 
 
Sec. 3
1. A veterinary facility at which controlled substances are possessed, 
administered, or prescribed or dispensed shall ensure that one or 
more veterinarians who practice at that veterinary facility register and 
maintain a registration with the Drug Enforcement Administration 
of the United States Department of Justice and the State Board of 
Pharmacy. The certificates of registration with each agency must be 
available for inspection at the facility. 

 2. A veterinarian who is not registered with the Drug 
Enforcement Administration of the United States Department 
of Justice and the state Board of Pharmacy as described in 
subsection 1 may possess, administer, prescribe, or dispense a 
controlled substance at a veterinary facility if the veterinarian: 
		  (a)Is an employee or agent of the veterinarian who is registered  
		  pursuant to subsection 1; 

		  (b)Practices in the same veterinary facility as the veterinarian  
		  who is registered pursuant to subsection 1;

		  (c) Possesses, administers, prescribes or dispenses the controlled  
		  substance in the normal course of his or her employment; and 

		  (d) Complies with all the requirements and duties prescribed  
		  by law relating to the possession, administration, prescription, and  
		  dispensing of a prescription drug. 

	 3 .  A veter inary faci l i ty  which maintains  a  s tock of 
controlled substances for administration or dispensing shall:  
		  (a)Secure the stock of controlled substances in a locked container 
		  that is:

			   (1)Affixed to the structure and located within a locked room; or 

			   (2) Located within a second locked container which is affixed  
			   to the structure. 

		  (b) Ensure that only a veterinarian or veterinary technician  
		  designated by the veterinarian has the keys or combination to 
		  unlock the two separate locks at the start of a business day or  
		  beginning of a shift, if the veterinary facility has veterinarians 
		  on successive shifts. 	

		  (c) Restrict access to the controlled substances to veterinarians  
		  or veterinary technicians only. 

		  (d) Ensure that each veterinarian or veterinary technician who  
		  accesses the secure container which stores controlled substance  
		  records in a log:

			   (1) The name of the veterinarian or veterinary technician who  
			   accessed the secure container and the date that he or she  
			   accessed the secure container. 

			   (2) The name, strength, and quantity of the controlled  
			   substance removed from or placed into the secure container  
			   and the total amount of all quantities of that particular  
			   controlled substance remaining inside the secure container. 

		  (e) Ensure that the veterinarian who intends to destroy an  
		  unused portion of a controlled substance records in a log the  
		  name and quantity of the controlled substance that will be  
		  destroyed and the date and time that the controlled substance  
		  will be destroyed. An entry made pursuant to this paragraph  
		  must be verified by an employee of the veterinary facility. 

		  (f)Ensure that the purchasing, storage, and recordkeeping of  
		  controlled substances comply with all applicable state and 
		  federal laws. 

		  (g) Ensure that any controlled substance is purchased by a  
		  veterinarian or with the knowledge of a veterinarian and that  
		  all controlled substances received by the veterinary facility are 
		  verified by a veterinarian or with the knowledge of a 
		  veterinarian. 

New Proposed Regulations 
LCB File No. R116-10   By Louis Ling, Esq.
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		  (h) Maintain separate files for the records of the purchase of  
		  each controlled substance listed in schedule II of controlled  
		  substances in NAC 453.520 and records of the dispensing  
		  of each controlled substance listed in schedule II of controlled  
		  substances in NAC 453.520

 4 .  Any record  made pursuant  to  th is  sec t ion must 
be maintained for at least 4 years and must be available for 
inspection by the Board or its representative, the State Board 
of Pharmacy or its representative or any authorized federal, 
state or local regulatory agency or law enforcement agency. 
 

Sec. 4
1.  A veterinary facil i ty that 
dispenses prescription drugs shall:  
	 (a) Ensure that at least one 
veterinarian who practices at that  
ve te r ina ry  f ac i l i ty  r eg i s t e r s 
and mainta ins  a  regis t ra t ion  
w i th  the  Drug  Enfo rcemen t 
Administration of the United  
States Department of Justice and 
the State Board of Pharmacy  
pursuant to section 3 of this regulation. 

	 ( b )  A l l o w  o n l y 
veterinarians, veterinary technicians or  
veterinary technicians in training 

		  at that facility to prepare the prescription drug for dispensing. 
		  If a veterinarian prepares the prescription drug for 
		  d i s p e n s i n g ,  t h e  p r e s c r i p t i o n  d r u g  m a y,  b u t  i s 
		  not required to, be verified by another veterinarian  
		  at that facility. If a veterinary technician or veterinary  
		  technician in training prepares the prescription drug for  
		  dispensing, the prescription drug must be verified by a  
		  veterinarian at that facility before it is dispensed. 

		  (c)Ensure that a prescription drug which is new for an animal  
		  is not dispensed unless a veterinarian is at the veterinary  
		  facility at the time the prescription is dispensed. 

		  (d)Ensure that a notation is made in the medical record of the  
		  animal that contains: 

			   (1) The name, strength, and quantity of the prescription drug. 

			   (2) The date the prescription drug was prescribe and dispensed. 

			   (3) The directions for use. 

			   (4) The name, signature, or initials of the veterinarian who  
			   prescribed the prescription drug. 

			   (5) The name, signature or initials of the veterinarian,  
			   veterinary technicians or veterinary technician in training  
			   who prepares the prescription drug for dispensing. 

			   (6) The name, signature, or initials of the veterinarian who  
			   verified the prescription before the prescription drug was  
			   dispensed, if applicable. 

		  (e)Ensure that each vial or container which contains a  
		  prescription drug has affixed to the vial or container a label  
		  that contains: 

			   (1)Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the name  
			   or unique identifier of the animal and the name of the owner  
			   of the animal for which the drug is prescribed. 

			   (2) The name strength, and quantity of the prescription drug. 

			   (3) The date the prescription drug was dispensed. 

			   (4) The name of the veterinarian who prescribed the  
			   prescription drug. 

			   (5) The expiration date of the prescription drug. 

		  	 (6) A unique number identifying the prescription drug dispensed. 

			   (7) The directions for use. 

		  (f) Maintain a stock of prescription drugs necessary to serve the  
		  foreseeable needs of the veterinary practice. 

		  (g) Ensure that drugs which are inappropriate or unlawful to the  
		  practice of veterinary medicine are not ordered or maintained  
		  in the stock of prescription drugs of the veterinary facility. 

	 2. A label affixed to a vial or container that contains a prescription 
drug may contain a generic identifier for a group of animals of the 
same species in place of the name or unique identifier for a group of 
animals of the same species in place of the name or unique identifier 
of one animal if: 

		  (a) The group of animals identified on the label is owned by  
		  that same person; 

		  (b) The prescription drug is dispensed for more than one of the  
		  animals in the group; and 

		  (c) The directions for use of the prescription drug are the same  
		  for each animal in the group for which the prescription drug is  
		  dispensed. 

	 3. The authorization to possess a drug is not transferrable upon the 
sale or other transfer of the animal or animals for which the drug was 
dispensed. 

	 4. Any record made pursuant to this section must be maintained for 
at least 4 years and must be available for inspection by the board or its 
representative, the State Board of Pharmacy or its representative or any 
authorized federal, state, or local regulatory agency or law enforcement 
agency. 
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So who cares?  Well we do, of course. So I trust some or most of 
you scheduled your physical since the last newsletter and some of 
you had a spiritual check up and are working on nourishing your 
hearts.  So now that our hearts are in better shape we are able to go 
after the big prize, the hearts of others.  

Those we love, those that are closest to us.  
Those we like, those we work with, and those that we serve.
And yes, those we don’t like so much either.
Saw one of those on an emergency call this afternoon.  
I’ve known this guy since grade school.
Nobody much liked him then either.
Trying to figure out what makes those around us tick and their                      	

  basic communication styles is the key.
The key to interactive listening.  
The key to understanding their concerns.  
The key to effectively getting your message across to them.  
And the key to really enjoying being around them.   

Still working on that with this guy.  Probably been 50 years. But 
I’m learning.  Maybe in another 50 I’ll get it figured out. Until then 
will keep trying to get it right.

It’s fairly easy with some, those with similar values, the clients 
that own the really cool pets that are your favorite breed and have 
great, easy going personalities.  The kind that agree with any treat-
ment option you feel is best, don’t want an estimate, don’t care 
what it costs, leave a big deposit, understand that there is no guar-
antee of a positive outcome and are just grateful that you are trying 
to help them and their beloved pet.

The kind we dream of so that we don’t have to stretch ourselves 
too far out of our comfort zone.  For the other 99% of the clients 
out there and 100% of our spouses and kids we have to come up 
with better strategies for communicating and it starts with listen-
ing.

There are some great writings about active listening, verbal com-
munication styles, the importance of non-verbal signals, body 
language, personality types, emotional intelligence, etc.  Many of 
our professional journals feature articles covering these topics in 
depth and at length.  The publication that accompanies the Clini-
cian’s Brief every few months titled ‘exceptional veterinary team’ 
covers these topics well, you can check it out at myevt.com.  Love 
the stuff on personality types and the breed and species that cor-
responds with them.  It’s a real challenge to figure this out with 
some clients and can be fun.  A couple of side note on learning 
types—auditory, visual, tactile, etc. if the client walks in with his/
her smart phone and won’t put it down long enough to pay atten-
tion to their pet or you then directing them to a website, preferably 
yours, for information may be a better use of your time.  If they 
don’t even bring a cell phone into the exam room (or the barn) 
then handouts may be a more effective means of communication 
for the visual types that have to have analyzed all of the informa-
tion before making a decision.  For the auditory listeners there is 
no substitute for just spending quality time with them, listening 
to their concerns and making sure each one is addressed properly.  
Utilizing multiple approaches, i.e., quality time and visual learn-
ing aids can be time consuming but result in very effective com-
munication, most of all communicating that you care about them 
and their concerns.

Most of the articles suggest or allude to the big issue but fail to 
deal directly with it because it’s very difficult to cover in anything 
smaller than an encyclopedia. It’s about the heart.  The root of all 
effective communication is about the heart. Always. So whatever 
we can do to find out what makes their heart beat with regards to 
their pets will tell us how to effectively communicate our recom-
mendations to them. But it goes far beyond that, because it helps 
us to care more about them, initiating a positive feedback cycle 
that ultimately blesses all involved.  So go after their heart. Your 
clients, your staff, your friends, and most importantly your family.

Gary Chapman’s book The Five Love Languages is an excellent 
resource for communication at the friends and family level. 

So be blessed and a blessing.  Make a difference.  It’s a worthy 
legacy to pursue.   

Go After Their Heart   By Scott Bradley, DVM
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Are you prepared for the unexpected?  We live in an ever 
changing world and veterinarians are well suited to provide 
expertise in many areas.  We have a background in zoonotic 
diseases, communicable diseases, herd health, public health and 
we believe in the tremendous power of the human-animal bond.  
At some time in our careers we will be called upon to help with 
anything from an overturned semi-trailer full of pigs, cattle, or 
sheep to a possible outbreak of a foreign animal disease.  Throw 
in the natural disasters that can cause mass evacuations of people 
and animals and at some level our skills will be needed.  Disaster 
preparedness is extremely important for people in areas of the 
country that experience flooding, hurricanes, fires and tornadoes.  
Nevada has some flooding and fires, but for the most part has 
been lucky when it comes to a large scale disaster.  Just because 
we don’t have hurricanes doesn’t mean we can be complacent.  
Preparedness is the key to any response.  The more prepared we 
are, the better we can respond to any possible contingency and 
strive for the best possible outcome.  As veterinarians our clients 
and in many cases our communities will look to us for guidance.  

Any emergency 
response starts 
on the local level.  
You and your 
family have to be 
prepared before 
you can help your 
community.  If 
your family isn’t 
safe you won’t 
leave them to 
help elsewhere.  
Eve ry  f ami ly 
should have a 
preparedness kit 

that will supply food, water, medications and any special provisions 
needed for a minimum of 72 hours -- 7 days is more desirable.  
This kit can be utilized for in place sheltering (stay in your home) 
or loaded in your car if an evacuation is ordered.  I have heard the 
expression, “YOYO” which stands for, “You’re On Your Own” 
and that is exactly correct.  Help will not arrive immediately and 
you need to be self sufficient.

Our clients and staff also depend on us.  All of us, professionals 
and clients, should have pet emergency kits that include food, 
water, medications, medical history and identification.  Pets are 
members of the family and should be saved.  The old message of 
“leave your pet behind with food and water” has changed to “never 
leave your pet behind”.  Many of our clients will gladly sacrifice 
anything for their pets.  This brings us to the last “preparedness” 
and that is hospital preparedness.  In the event of an evacuation it 
is likely your hospital will become a drop off zone for your clients.  
When I was volunteering at the LSU Veterinary School Hospital 
after Hurricane Katrina I visited with a veterinarian from Baton 
Rouge that had more than 250 pets in his hospital.  Many belonged 

to his clients, but many were dropped off by people that had to 
evacuate New Orleans.  He and his staff did what was necessary 
to stay open and provide care to these patients.  When our NVRT 
team was deployed to Beaumont, TX after Hurricane Rita the entire 
town had been evacuated.  National Guard soldiers were at all of 
the entry points.  I visited multiple veterinary hospitals and with the 
exception of one hospital all were staffed and functional.  Everyone 
left town but the veterinarians and their staff!  The hospitals were 
full of pets and it was hot, humid and miserable.  When asked what 
supplies were needed the only request we usually received was for 
a generator.  All of them had enough food, water, medicine, etc. to 
go for a long period of time.  One hospital had its own generator 
and even had its computers running.  This type of dedication isn’t 
surprising to any of us because we belong to a profession that 
exemplifies caring.  

A functional evacuation plan that has been practiced may prove 
crucial and possibly save lives in our hospitals.  Who is in charge 
if you have to evacuate?  Where will you and your staff members 
meet?  Who will be sure everyone (animals and staff) is accounted 
for?  These are just some of the many things we need to think about.  
The AVMA stresses the importance of having a written disaster 
plan for your practice which includes five elements: emergency 
relocation of animals, medical record back-up, continuity of 
operations, security, and legal issues.  They have an excellent 
website on practice preparedness at www.avma.org/disaster/
vetpractices.asp. 

 
Other helpful websites on preparedness are: 
•	 Department of Homeland Security www.ready.gov 
•	 American Red Cross www.redcross.org 
•	 AVMA www.avma.org  
•	 National Weather Service www.nws.noaa.gov 
•	 USDA www.usda.gov 
•	 Southern Nevada Health District www.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org
•	 City of N. Las Vegas www.cinorth-las-vegas.nv.us 
•	 CDC www.cdc.gov 
•	 EPA www.epa.gov 
•	 Medical Reserve Corps www.medicalreservecorps.gov

 
  There are many opportunities to learn more about preparedness and 
volunteering.  In Southern Nevada the Medical Reserves Corps is 
very active and is always looking for veterinarians and technicians.  
Please contact Paula Martel at 702-759-0877 or Martel@snhdmail.
org.  Dr. Keith Forbes is in charge of NVMA’s Disaster Preparedness 
Committee and may be contacted at Keith.Forbes@agri.state.
nv.us.  On the national level USDA has NAHERC (National 
Animal Health Emergency Response Corps), AVMA has VMAT 
(Veterinary Medical Assistance Teams) and NDMS has NVRT 
(National Veterinary Response Teams).  My e-mail is jonrpenn@
netscape.com if I can be of assistance.

Are You and Your Staff Prepared for the Unexpected?  By Jon R. Pennell, DVM, MS, NREMT-I
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2010 Statistics

2011 RENEWAL ENCLOSED

State of Nevada Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
4600 Kietzke Lane, Bldg. O, #265
Reno, NV 89502



 

State of Nevada Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
               4600 Kietzke Lane, Bldg. O, #265, Reno, NV 89502 
                 (775) 688-1788 phone / (775) 688-1808 fax 
Website:  www.nvvetboard.us          E-mail: vetbdinfo@vetboard.nv.gov 
 

2011 RENEWAL - DUE BY 12/31/2010 OR LATE FEES APPLY 
 

SECTION I – License Type/Renewal Fee/Personal information: 
Please check the box that applies:          $250.00 Veterinarian/Diplomate (active)        $130.00 Veterinarian/Diplomate (Inactive)    
       $75.00 Licensed Veterinary Technician          $100.00 Euthanasia Technician                 $25.00 Animal Chiropractor 
        $25.00 Animal Physical Therapist           Late Fee $50.00 a month after 12/31/2010 
 
License Number:_____________   Email Address:_____________________________________________________ 
First Name:_____________________________ Last Name:______________________________________________ 
Home Street Address:_____________________________________________________________________________ 
City:______________________ State:______________________ Zip:_________ Home Phone #_______________ 
 
Facility Name/Address:_________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
City:______________________ State:______________________ Zip:__________ Phone #_________________ 
Please use my _____Home  or   _____Facility as my mailing address. Your facility address is public information and will appear on 
our website. 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
SECTION II -  Continuing Education Verification: - ALL LICENSEES EXCEPT EUTHANASIA TECHNICIANS  
CE hours required – (DVM 15hrs)  (LVT’s 5hrs)  (Animal Physical Therapist 5hrs)  (Animal Chiropractor 15hrs)  
The total number of hours completed MUST be filled in    
         I certify that I have completed____ hours of continuing education between Jan. 1, 2010 and Dec. 31, 2010. 
         I am a licensee renewing my license for the FIRST TIME. (Continuing education hours not required for first time renewals) 

         I am on Inactive status. Veterinarians only (Continuing education hours not required for inactive status)  
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
SECTION III  -  Waiver: 
Since your last renewal or recent licensure have you: 
Been diagnosed or treated for any mental illness, including alcohol or substance abuse, or physical condition that would 
impair your ability to perform the essential functions of your license?.................................        ___ Yes ___ No 
1) Been charged, arrested or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in any state?................      ___  Yes  ___  No 
2) Been the subject of an administrative action involving a professional license whether  
completed or pending in any state?    ___ Yes ___ No 
3) Had your license subjected to any discipline for violation of veterinary laws in any 
 state (Except Nevada)? ___ Yes ___ No 
4) Have you surrendered a professional license?..............................................................             ___ Yes ___ No     
If you marked YES to any of the NUMBERED questions above, please include the following information and any 
supporting documentation: 
Board Administrative Action: State________ Date:_____________________Case#:_____________________________ 
Criminal Action:  State:_______________Date:______Case #:_______________County:__________Court:___________ 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
SECTION IV-  Child Support Information: 
Are you the subject of a court order for the support of a child?....................................      ____Yes   ____No 
If you marked yes to the question above are you in compliance with the court order?  ____Yes   ____No 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
SECTION V- Signature 
I hereby certify under the penalty of perjury that the information furnished on this document is true and 
correct.  Signature___________________________________    Date __________________________________ 
 
For Office Use Only 
Date of Check__________________________ Check No.____________________________ Check Amount____________ 

 



STATE OF NEVADA 
BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS 

2011 RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 

ON-LINE RENEWAL/LOG-IN INSTRUCTIONS (WWW.NVVETBOARD.US) 
INDIVIDUAL       FACILITY 

1) www.nvvetboard.us  (website) 
2) License Renewal/Licensee Log-in 
3) Log-in – Last four digits of your social security 

number and license number EXACTLY as it 
appears on mailing label. 

4) Easy to follow instructions – Change your mailing 
address/home address, or your facility address.  
( if applicable) 

5) Payment with Visa/ MasterCard/ American Express. 
6) Log out or renew another license. 

1) www.nvvetboard.us (website) 
2) Licensee Renewal/Facility Log-in. 
3) Log-in – Business name – Enter Business name 

EXACTLY as it appears on mailing label. 
4) File Number – Facility License # (HXXX) 
5) Easy to follow instructions. 
6) Payment with Visa/MasterCard/American Express 
7) Log-out or renew another license. 

 
MAIL-IN FACILITY RENEWAL 

Complete all information; include a list of all licensed personnel at your facility (veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and 
veterinary technicians-in-training). 
 

MAIL-IN RENEWAL – INDIVIDUAL 
Section I – License type/Renewal Fee/Personal Information – All Licensees 
Check the appropriate box for your license type and include a check/money order for the correct amount. 
Made payable to: Nevada Veterinary Board.      Remit to: 4600 Kietzke Lane, Building O Suite 265, Reno, Nevada 89502. 
The Facility address you provide will be public information and displayed on our website. 
 
Section II – Continuing Education Verification – Active Veterinarians(15hrs)/Veterinary Technicians(5hrs)/Animal 
Chiropractors(15hrs)/Animal Physical Therapists(5hrs). 
Do NOT send continuing education documents with your renewal. Random audits will take place during renewal periods. If 
audited, you will be required to send copies of documentation verifying attendance. CE documentation must be retained for 
4 years. 
NOTE: CE HOURS FOR 2011 HAVE BEEN INCREASED TO THE FOLLOWING:  
ACTIVE VETERINARINS/DIPLOMATES – 20 HOURS; LICENSED VETERINARY TECHNICIANS – 10 HOURS. 
 
Section III – Waiver-All Licensees 
Please answer ALL questions. If you mark “yes” to any of the questions include supporting documentation. 
 
Section IV – Child Support Information – All Licensees 
Professional or occupational licenses or registrations may be denied or restricted if back child support is owed by the person 
holding the license. All licensees’ are subject to this requirement by the federal government. 
 
Section V – Signature – All Licensees 
Please sign and date your renewal. If you have any questions about your renewal, please contact the office at (775) 688-
1788. 
 

Euthanasia Technician 
Include a current copy of your Pharmacy Board Controlled Substance Registration with your Renewal. 
 

Animal Physical Therapists and Animal Chiropractors 
Provide a Letter of Good Standing or a verified on-line status of your license and, if applicable, a copy of discipline. 


